View Full Version : The Rod Petrie poll

AngusHibby
08-04-2014, 04:09 PM
Following on from a few threads calling for the sacking of our Chief Executive thought it would be interesting to see how many people want him to stay and how many want him away. I for one want don't think getting rid of him will make things worse and leave the club in even greater uncertainty. Leave your feelings and reasons below.

EDIT: Meant Chairman not Chief Exec, I'm sure you all knew what I meant...

VivaHiberńa
08-04-2014, 05:02 PM
I don't see an immediate alternative. Petrie has made mistakes but he's only human; plenty of his managerial appointments have been met with the approval of the supporters, the most recent included. He handled the Collins situation badly but overall he has done the best for the club with the resources we have available.

The fact is, that we can't spend more than we take in and we can't not pay off our debts. That's the real world.

This is not to say that I'm not sick of the past few years of utter s**** on the park, I just don't see how a man who has backed his manager and generally made what we considered to be sound choices at the time can be held responsible for that.

08-04-2014, 05:05 PM
This poll could be 100% No, it still won't change a thing.

I, for one don't want him out at this point. It's not going to happen any time soon. :agree:

08-04-2014, 05:43 PM
I'd keep Rod on but only in charge of the financial-side - what we desparately need is a Chief Executive with a football background as, currently, there's too much emphasis on 'Business' rather than 'Football' at ER. Think everyone is employed on their CV and supporting Hibs doesn't even come into it. Not vital, I know but the players must feel they're at a library rather than a passionate football-club.

AngusHibby
08-04-2014, 06:32 PM
I'd keep Rod on but only in charge of the financial-side - what we desparately need is a Chief Executive with a football background as, currently, there's too much emphasis on 'Business' rather than 'Football' at ER. Think everyone is employed on their CV and supporting Hibs doesn't even come into it. Not vital, I know but the players must feel they're at a library rather than a passionate football-club.

Perhaps a director of football or general manager is what the club needs, good point.

08-04-2014, 07:13 PM
only 2 alternatives :confused:

What about stay but as p/t Non Exec Chairman only...with new CEO with full responsibility & authority for running club and meeting footballing and business targets...

08-04-2014, 07:16 PM
only 2 alternatives :confused:

What about stay but as p/t Non Exec Chairman only...with new CEO with full responsibility & authority for running club and meeting footballing and business targets...and you think anybody will have that with Petrie still there looking over their shoulder?

08-04-2014, 07:40 PM
and you think anybody will have that with Petrie still there looking over their shoulder?

Farmer & Petrie own & have directorships in various companies - presumably they can't / don't micro manage all of those.....but its a valid question / concern

08-04-2014, 07:43 PM
29 people think he should stay. :shocked:

08-04-2014, 08:00 PM
Where's the "Hope he bumps into DD in a dark alley" option?

08-04-2014, 08:04 PM
I like Rod, nice chap and he's done some really good things with Hibs but we are going downhill fast and he has no answers to stopping that. Time to go..

08-04-2014, 08:15 PM
How many other Scottish Teams - gave the manager a couple of hundred thousand to splash on a striker ??

Mistakes have Been made.. but I think with all good intentions...

They are Not going Pay a small fortune and sack terry and co and walk away from this..

08-04-2014, 09:30 PM
The history books will tell our grandchildren that Rod was instrumental in building our stadium and training facility, they will read that he supplied his managers with budgets the envy of most teams in the country and that he was prepared to offload managers that weren't doing the business....whether they are told he was useless at picking managers or not is another question but his legacy will be kind to him. It's really not his fault that successive managers have failed to entertain us, they've all been backed with hard cash.

08-04-2014, 09:54 PM
Most chairmen of companies that have performed as badly as we have over the last four or five years would have left long before now.

How he's still in a job is beyond me.

We need real change and that won't come in the form of a couple of wingers and a left back in the summer transfer window.

08-04-2014, 10:02 PM
Most chairmen of companies that have performed as badly as we have over the last four or five years would have left long before now.

We need real change and that won't come in the form of a couple of wingers and a left back in the summer transfer window.

It sure as hell ain't gonna happen on a football fans forum either, just saying. :wink:

beensaidbefore
08-04-2014, 10:03 PM
Can anybody say for absolute certainty how player budgets and funding are organised within the club. ie is the manager given a budget and told to get on with it, or does the manager have to go cap in hand and 'sell' the players to the board before they give a go ahead?

beensaidbefore
08-04-2014, 10:09 PM

All depends what the business plan was. Get in some diddy mamagers, pay them peanuts ,meanwhile build a new stadium when its cheaper to do so and get it paid off. Not good for the fans, but purely business sense, it might not be that bad. The stadium seems to be getting more recognition for being a decent seized venue for semi finals etc, and the training ground has also been built. In terms of building the club, it cannot be denied that we are in a far better position in terms of facilities than before he came. On the park, maybe not so!!

Criswell
08-04-2014, 10:34 PM
People say he has financially backed every manager the Board has appointed; I would dispute that. I will restrict my comments to recent seasons; ie, post the great sell-off! It is true they all brought in players, but remember they also released players, so I would imagine that the wage bill remained largely the same.

The problem is that each manager has brought in players that were really no better than the ones being released. This suggests to me that Petrie operated a strict wage ceiling and we got what we were willing to pay for; for the most part mediocrity.

If Petrie had really backed his managers he would have told them to identify a better quality of player than we have at the moment and then he would try to match their wage demands (within reason of course) With relegation now a real possibilty, the misguided false economy of under-investment is coming back to bite us big time!

08-04-2014, 10:39 PM
People say he has financially backed every manager the Board has appointed; I would dispute that. I will restrict my comments to recent seasons; ie, post the great sell-off! It is true they all brought in players, but remember they also released players, so I would imagine that the wage bill remained largely the same.

The problem is that each manager has brought in players that were really no better than the ones being released. This suggests to me that Petrie operated a strict wage ceiling and we got what we were willing to pay for; for the most part mediocrity.

If Petrie had really backed his managers he would have told them to identify a better quality of player than we have at the moment and then he would try to match their wage demands (within reason of course) With relegation now a real possibilty, the misguided false economy of under-investment is coming back to bite us big time!
So you'd speculate to accumulate? That doesn't usually have a happy ending in football.

The fact is that Petrie, for all his faults, has provided our managers with arguably the largest wage budget in Scottish football (outwith Septic, Huns RIP and Yams) so spending more money isn't the answer. It's spending the budget we do have better, and the ability to do that explains why teams like Motherwell, Dundee Utd or Inverness can consistently outperform us despite having smaller budgets.

Criswell
08-04-2014, 11:09 PM
So you'd speculate to accumulate? That doesn't usually have a happy ending in football.

The fact is that Petrie, for all his faults, has provided our managers with arguably the largest wage budget in Scottish football (outwith Septic, Huns RIP and Yams) so spending more money isn't the answer. It's spending the budget we do have better, and the ability to do that explains why teams like Motherwell, Dundee Utd or Inverness can consistently outperform us despite having smaller budgets.

So why has Petrie's largesse not resulted in a competitive team, punching our weight in the Scottish game? It is not about speculating to accumulate, it is about getting the correct level of investment the club needs and can afford. All I am saying is that we need to be more competitive in attracting a better quality of player. Clubs can get into difficulties from over-investing, they can also get into difficulties by under-investing. A few seasons in the Championship, anyone?

HKhibby
09-04-2014, 01:56 AM
Perhaps a director of football or general manager is what the club needs, good point.

It may well be what the club needs, but i dont think Butcher and Malpas would work under a Director of Football or General Manager, and i still think they should be given time until next season to see who they can bring in and what type of team they can put out.

09-04-2014, 02:41 AM
As it stands, no.

But if there was someone better waiting in the wings I'd be all ears.

ManBearPig
09-04-2014, 02:48 AM
Unless there is better option then he should stay. Quite simply.....it could be a lot worse. Stability is what you want from business side of things.

09-04-2014, 05:29 AM
Unless there is better option then he should stay. Quite simply.....it could be a lot worse. Stability is what you want from business side of things.

What's 'stable' about plummeting attendance?

09-04-2014, 06:07 AM
Like what, relegation ?. DD says it all.

09-04-2014, 06:42 AM
The history books will tell our grandchildren that Rod was instrumental in building our stadium and training facility, they will read that he supplied his managers with budgets the envy of most teams in the country and that he was prepared to offload managers that weren't doing the business....whether they are told he was useless at picking managers or not is another question but his legacy will be kind to him. It's really not his fault that successive managers have failed to entertain us, they've all been backed with hard cash.

Must be good to be able to see into the future with such clarity. :wink:

A few years ago, most would have agreed with you but unfortunately history is still being written and Petrie has not finished growing his list of failures and has relegation in his sights. There seems to be no limit to the level of mediocrity that Petrie will not accept.

09-04-2014, 06:48 AM
Folk forget that included in the so called budget is pay offs to silence failed management appointments who have been 'mutually' terminated...

09-04-2014, 06:55 AM
Hibs don't have a CEO.

The two options to change things are:

- Rodders remains as Chairman but cedes all his day-to-day power and control over decision-making to a dedicated CEO.

- Rodders resigns as Chairman and a new CEO and Chairman are appointed.

Neither will happen any time soon.

09-04-2014, 07:06 AM
Must be good to be able to see into the future with such clarity. :wink:

A few years ago, most would have agreed with you but unfortunately history is still being written and Petrie has not finished growing his list of failures and has relegation in his sights. There seems to be no limit to the level of mediocrity that Petrie will not accept.
Good article in Scottish herald today interview with jackie McNamara senior .there is no doubt what he would vote in this poll Petrie to go jackie has history and still retains socialist principles, but he still cares about the club as do we .

09-04-2014, 07:21 AM
]Most chairmen of companies that have performed as badly as we have over the last four or five years would have left long before now.[/B]

This is where football is different in that there are different measurements of "performance". The primary task of a company is to remain profitable, which in football does not always equate to,or assist in achieving, success on the pitch.

09-04-2014, 07:22 AM
I have to say I am surprised at the findings of the poll so far. Thinking of the Hibbies I know who don't post much and haven't voted and those who aren't members of Hibs.net, I don't know anyone who wants Petrie to stay.

09-04-2014, 07:27 AM
How many other Scottish Teams - gave the manager a couple of hundred thousand to splash on a striker ??

Mistakes have Been made.. but I think with all good intentions...

They are Not going Pay a small fortune and sack terry and co and walk away from this..

Outwith Celtic?

None, including Hibs.

09-04-2014, 07:40 AM
Rod Petrie is not the Chief Executive of Hibernian Football Club.

As with all polls if you ask the wrong question you will get the wrong answer.

Glesgahibby
09-04-2014, 07:52 AM
Didnt think I had the right to vote here as I only go to a few games a season(trying hard to change that).I wrote an email to the club after the derby.
i asked if the club would officially complain regarding officials and pointed out other derby decisions.
i explained I am trying to encourage my 13 year old daughter (again)into us getting season tickets for next season and feel I'm losing the battle,I have had no proper reply as yet.
i met rod Petrie at the last game we played at the old love st and he came across as a decent/dedicated/ambassador/fan. We lost that game 2-1 (tommy Craig's last game)and he was moaning about how poor we were that day.
i have voted yes but only because I think what's done is done and TB needs next season to really show what he can do,after that ????

09-04-2014, 07:54 AM
I voted that he should go but know that there's no chance of this ever happening while Farmer is around. The age-old argument that Petrie runs a tight business and that at least we should always have a club at ER where we can go to view mediocrity or waste bandwidth moaning about mediocrity drags on. If the product was more appealing it would be a different kettle of fish altogether.

09-04-2014, 07:57 AM
He should go, how many times have we lost out on decent players like Rooney and flood to teams like Aberdeen purely due to wages and contracts? Then the fans get on Petries back and he then gives the manager money to panic buy and sign utter ***** on decent contracts when it should have been spent on a better proven player. Clubs a shambles and has been for years.

09-04-2014, 08:54 AM
He should go, how many times have we lost out on decent players like Rooney and flood to teams like Aberdeen purely due to wages and contracts? Then the fans get on Petries back and he then gives the manager money to panic buy and sign utter ***** on decent contracts when it should have been spent on a better proven player. Clubs a shambles and has been for years.

Why is this now a .net FACT? I don't remember reading Rooney or Flood coming out and saying Hibs were too tight in contract negotiations. I havent heard from anyone that that's the case infact, unless we're now counting rumours as facts, well as long as they show Hibs (or Rod) in a bad light.

09-04-2014, 08:55 AM
Rod Petrie is not the Chief Executive of Hibernian Football Club.

As with all polls if you ask the wrong question you will get the wrong answer.Who cares what his title is, he holds all the power. That's what people are voting on and they ken what they are voting on (without any free 'advice') and that is whether he should or shouldnae hold that power.

09-04-2014, 08:55 AM
I have to say I am surprised at the findings of the poll so far. Thinking of the Hibbies I know who don't post much and haven't voted and those who aren't members of Hibs.net, I don't know anyone who wants Petrie to stay.

I could say the same for the opposite argument. The only people I know who blame Petrie for everything are on .net.

09-04-2014, 09:01 AM
I have to say I am surprised at the findings of the poll so far. Thinking of the Hibbies I know who don't post much and haven't voted and those who aren't members of Hibs.net, I don't know anyone who wants Petrie to stay.:agree: I ken dozens of people who dinnae go any mair and he is if no their main reason, he is certainly one of them.

09-04-2014, 09:02 AM
Does Rod Petrie pay attention to polls on a fans website?

09-04-2014, 09:05 AM
I voted that he should go but know that there's no chance of this ever happening while Farmer is around. The age-old argument that Petrie runs a tight business and that at least we should always have a club at ER where we can go to view mediocrity or waste bandwidth moaning about mediocrity drags on. If the product was more appealing it would be a different kettle of fish altogether.

Why is this now a .net FACT? I don't remember reading Rooney or Flood coming out and saying Hibs were too tight in contract negotiations. I havent heard from anyone that that's the case infact, unless we're now counting rumours as facts, well as long as they show Hibs (or Rod) in a bad light.

You need to look at the posts re Flood then as I certainly said it at the time. Rooney was only offered a loan by Hibs - TB has said so. Dons offered improved terms than he was on. I wonder how that has worked out for the Sheep? :rolleyes:

09-04-2014, 09:20 AM

You need to look at the posts re Flood then as I certainly said it at the time. Rooney was only offered a loan by Hibs - TB has said so. Dons offered improved terms than he was on. I wonder how that has worked out for the Sheep? :rolleyes:

I suppose I should start by saying I'm not even a fan of Willo Flood. I think he's average. I think if you swapped out Willo Flood with Liam Craig or Scott Robertson into the Aberdeen team, they'd look just as good.

The bit in bold. It's quite clearly worked out well. It's Petries fault is it? Let's completely ignore the fact Butcher said he wanted him on loan. He must be lying cos this is quite obvious tight arse Rod Petries fault. Is that how it is aye?

09-04-2014, 09:40 AM
Incredible that the vote is nearly neck and neck, scary and defo yam infiltration.

09-04-2014, 09:55 AM

Agree with TQM's plummeting attendance response.

I did have to ponder before casting my vote which was that it is time for him to go.

How many managers in the past 6 years? How many journeyman players who have been, shall we say 'disappointing? How many players have we sold on? Falling crowds. Not exactly business stability. Stability comes from putting a good product on the field for a sustained period.

I will give credit for the obvious improvement in the bricks and mortar of the club. However, I think it is time when a slightly more imaginative approach is required. I think Petrie now has developed his own financial formula and is sticking to it regardless of the teams actual needs. Occasionally Hibs are going to have to gamble as in the Griffiths situation I am not saying we would have gotten him but it seems we never even tried. The day of picking up gems for 75-100k are gone. Of course a team can be lucky and get even get a freebie, or a real cheap signing (usually from us) and it turns out great and then it is a huge bonus, but it cannot be a long term team building strategy. Occasionally we are also going to have to say to a player who wants to leave....'tough, you are seeing out your contract here'. We need to get a much more imaginative team with regards to foreign fields. Even now we only ever seemed to be associated with domestic names from teams like St. Johnstones, Falkirk, etc. I know Butcher just got three English loans but he had effectively just arrived at the club and the time available to him forced his hand.

Even as a club within the Lothian communities I think we are failing to show imagination. Our team, or even our U20's, should be hopping on buses and visiting kids hospitals and local regional schools 'unannounced', handing out balls and kids strips etc, playing more fun games for charities, anything to widen our fan base. Hibs are a good 'club' to support. In this time of uncertainty for our city neighbours we should be showing the community the positive side of Edinburgh football. Instead we watch our team disintegrate pretty much on a yearly basis with the occasional bright period that seem to be getting shorter.

There is something wrong at Hibs. Managers seem unable to change it. Players who, let's be honest, have been half decent prior to coming to ER and have been at least reliable and effective now don't even look semi professional standard. Our record at ER the past couple of years is simply embarrassing. The shambolic performaces of the past several years are simply embarrassing. Talk of turning Easter Road into a fortress is laughable. The only thing we can keep out is fans.

But I come here to praise Hibs....not to bury them. I was underwhelmed by the Willamson, Fenlon and Butcher appointments but I am not going to give up on Butcher and his team yet. He deserves this summer and next season. I am sure he is stunned by the pall of defeat that hangs over our squad. Like all Hibs fans I am disappointed with the failure to improve the basic organization of the team though it seemed to have turned around just before the Christmas period. Maybe we just have to accept that some of the players we have simply are not good enough and no matter how much coaching and spirit building someone tries to instil in them they are unable to respond. I respect that Butcher did not 'force' a quick buy in the last transfer to please the fans. Loans are not disastrous as they are not binding beyond the end of the season.

I appreciate that I drifted from the 'should he stay or should he go now' topic but I just felt it necessary to say that the managing executive is responsible for the overall progress of the business which includes all the staff decisions. The buck stops at Petries desk and as I have said in previous postings he has not exactly proven hinslef a financial genius with great and imaginative revenue creation for Hibs. He was the lucky recipient of that Mowbray period that allowed him, Petrie, to sell off a few players for a few million and make changes to the ground and develop East Mains.

I do not wish to appear to 'blame' Petrie. We have a nice stadium. great training facilities in place. I just think with regards to the product on the field it is time for a more flexible and imaginative approach. Not a let's put Hibs in hock strategy, but watching crowds slowly decrease even hampers any future manager's ability to sign decent players.

But maybe we should be looking to the man who said he wishes he had a 100 Petries. Even as a successful businessman, if not an 'interested fan' surely he wont stand by and watch his club die on the field. Time to call Mr Farmer to account. Thanks but please take an interest or sell to someone who will.

Ok, I know I have rambled on, but like all on here it is just out of frustration. It is hard for an outsider like me to pinpoint exactly what is wrong at Easter Road.....but something is wrong. Answers on a postcard please.........

09-04-2014, 10:08 AM
Incredible that the vote is nearly neck and neck, scary and defo yam infiltration.

Aye of course there is. The poll isnt coming out quite how some people expected and obviously those of us who voted that he should stay are undercover yams. We've been found out good and proper now. :rolleyes:

09-04-2014, 10:11 AM
Incredible that the vote is nearly neck and neck, scary and defo yam infiltration.Lets not, people are entitled tae their opinions whether others agree with them or not.

09-04-2014, 10:20 AM
Took me a while to ponder this but for me, its time for Rod to move on. I appreciate everything he has done for the club and am quite happy for him to remain a shareholder but we need a new chairman.Rod is too soft for me! He does not appear to be hard with players in terms of performance and discipline; tough with the SFA when we have been quite obviously cheated and does not lead from the front when all is quite literally up in the air.

We need a strong hand, a football minded individual with a disciplined performance related view on how a team should work and play together. A freshness about the place that will take away the rotten stench of failure that has been lurking about for too long now!

Thanks Rod for all your hard work and sometimes doing the right thing isn't easy but you just have to get on and do it!

09-04-2014, 10:39 AM
I could say the same for the opposite argument. The only people I know who blame Petrie for everything are on .net.

Blaming him for everything?

I don't think that the folk I know are particularly unrepresentative of your average Hibbie.

09-04-2014, 10:48 AM
I don't think that the folk I know are particularly unrepresentative of your average Hibbie.

This poll (small sample I know) might suggest otherwise.

09-04-2014, 10:51 AM
For me, he has to go. We need to look at the bigger picture. As long as Rod stays, nothing will change.

Sure, you can argue "but at least we'll exist for many years to come". But for what? What good is existing, when there is nobody left that actually wants to go to the games?

09-04-2014, 10:56 AM
I suppose I should start by saying I'm not even a fan of Willo Flood. I think he's average. I think if you swapped out Willo Flood with Liam Craig or Scott Robertson into the Aberdeen team, they'd look just as good.

The bit in bold. It's quite clearly worked out well. It's Petries fault is it? Let's completely ignore the fact Butcher said he wanted him on loan. He must be lying cos this is quite obvious tight arse Rod Petries fault. Is that how it is aye?

TB said he was unable to offer him a permanent deal - and only a loan.

09-04-2014, 10:58 AM
TB said he was unable to offer him a permanent deal - and only a loan.

You got a link to that TQM? I'm not saying you're making it up, I just dont remember reading that anywhere.

09-04-2014, 11:08 AM
You got a link to that TQM? I'm not saying you're making it up, I just dont remember reading that anywhere.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/aberdeen-close-finalising-deal-adam-3053146

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/terry-butcher-hibs-didn-t-offer-rooney-a-deal-1-3281432

He says that we couldn't offer a contract and/or pay money for Rooney.

09-04-2014, 11:10 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/aberdeen-close-finalising-deal-adam-3053146

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/terry-butcher-hibs-didn-t-offer-rooney-a-deal-1-3281432

Well this says enough for me

“A load of rubbish,” stressed Butcher. “I spoke to Adam’s agent and he wanted a permanent deal, whereas we are looking more at loan deals. But we never got around to talking figures or anything like that,” he added. “I couldn’t commit to a long- term contract, albeit I’ve worked with him before and I was optimistic he would come to us on loan.

09-04-2014, 11:14 AM
Well this says enough for mesays enough for me too. :wink:

09-04-2014, 11:15 AM
says enough for me too. :wink:

We agree on independance DD, we'll just have to agree to differ on the much bigger matter of Petrie :greengrin

09-04-2014, 11:17 AM

That link is hillarous. So we don't actually get "out bidded" for players, because it doesn't even reach that stage when we tell them that we're only offering them a loan deal. :faf:

I shouldn't laugh. But this just sums up everything that is wrong with the way that Petrie runs the club.

09-04-2014, 11:17 AM
We agree on independance DD, we'll just have to agree to differ on the much bigger matter of Petrie :greengrin:thumbsup:

09-04-2014, 11:24 AM
That link is hillarous. So we don't actually get "out bidded" for players, because it doesn't even reach that stage when we tell them that we're only offering them a loan deal. :faf:

I shouldn't laugh. But this just somes up everything that is wrong with the way that Petrie runs the club.Butcher says we were only offering loans, the question is why. I dinnae believe for a minute Butcher wouldnae have wanted him in and made the offer if he could have got him on a permanent contract. We were offering loans because that's all we could afford.

Other teams can offer deals in january for decent players, we can only afford loans because once again our money is being spent on new management teams while we're still paying off the previous duds, that's why there's never anything in the pot.

09-04-2014, 11:26 AM
Butcher says we were only offering loans, the question is why. I dinnae believe for a minute Butcher wouldnae have wanted him in if he could have got him on a permanent contract. We were offering loans because that's all we could afford.

Other teams can offer deals in january, we can only afford loans because our money is being spent on new management teams while we're still paying off the auld yins, that's why there's never anything in the pot.

Correct. The board are spending all of the cash on paying off all of their mistakes. This has started an endless spiral of new managers not having the money available to sign decent quality, which results in them getting paid off, then another manager coming in who doesn't have the funds available and so on and so forth. :aok:

09-04-2014, 11:48 AM
This poll (small sample I know) might suggest otherwise.

Yeah looks like it...you can spot my mates by the pitchforks they regularly carry ;)

I've just asked one and his brief response was "no PR skills. Won't go the extra mile to get the right player. Too much control. Appointing 3 poor managers in a row"

09-04-2014, 11:55 AM

Hisb coach/scout told me this on Monday also.. it was a loan take it or leave it.