View Full Version : Sparky starting songs in the Roseburn
04-04-2014, 07:27 PM
True................... he's a footballing God :wink:
Ha Ha! I had to laugh at "Pat's no angel"! Tell us more, we cry!
Tom Hart RIP
05-04-2014, 11:55 AM
Just watching Dundee United v Celtic on Sky. Celtic fans have been singing Leigh Leigh Super Leigh and the Gearts are going bust song so it appears his Roseburn Bar appearance hasn't upset them.
Leigh on bench.
Samaras just scored 1-0
hibbypostie
05-04-2014, 12:07 PM
Just watching Dundee United v Celtic on Sky. Celtic fans have been singing Leigh Leigh Super Leigh and the Gearts are going bust song so it appears his Roseburn Bar appearance hasn't upset them.
Leigh on bench.
Samaras just scored 1-0
also singing Leigh Griffiths he sings what he wantshttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/taunt%20smiley.gif
Don't forget he's disliked by the Arabs too from his Dundee days
05-04-2014, 10:46 PM
That'll change tomorrow when the mail apparently run with the story that they have mobile video footage of him singing the skacel song.
Sure that'll go down well with the Celtic faithful. Stupid tit.
Sunday Mail. ?
Been a few rumours going about a video on facebook of him singing the rudi song.
05-04-2014, 11:09 PM
Front page and back.
Celtic quite simply have to sack him for gross misconduct for this. Yup, just get rid now so he's immediately available on a free transfer.
05-04-2014, 11:21 PM
Front page and back.
Celtic quite simply have to sack him for gross misconduct for this. Yup, just get rid now so he's immediately available on a free transfer.
:agree: It's an absolute disgrace.
He should be sacked with immediate effect.
05-04-2014, 11:26 PM
Was it a hibs fan who took the video or was it a local ?
05-04-2014, 11:41 PM
Was it a hibs fan who took the video or was it a local ?
A hibs fan.
05-04-2014, 11:50 PM
A hibs fan.
how did the press get it,I hope he never sold it
05-04-2014, 11:53 PM
it has been doing the rounds on facebok
05-04-2014, 11:54 PM
it was a well known hibs fan singing a perfectly legit song.
total over-reaction by the authorities.
whoever let the footage out did nothing wrong whatsoever, and neither did sparky.
06-04-2014, 12:12 AM
I hope it wasn't sold to the papers that would be wrong,I can't see it though,it is an over reaction,the papers just love it when he does anything
06-04-2014, 12:20 AM
Sunday Mail
CELTIC STAR RACE SHAME. front page
GRIFF FACES TOP UP CHARGE. back page
celt in bigger trouble after "refugee" song.
06-04-2014, 07:05 AM
Oh dear oh dear
If I were a Celtic fan, I'd want him sacked :wink:
In all fairness, Leigh is doing his best to get sacked so he can come back to his home
He should stick the nut on Lennon - win/win really
06-04-2014, 07:11 AM
I hope this isn't true...I hope he didn't sing it , and I wonder why any Hibs fan would put it on fb even if it was true - surely they would think about the consequences
06-04-2014, 07:23 AM
Surely the refugee song is now sung in some kind of ironic manner? Pretty sure nobody thinks the tube is a refugee?!
06-04-2014, 07:26 AM
Surely the refugee song is now sung in some kind of ironic manner? Pretty sure nobody thinks the tube is a refugee?!
I don't think there's much in the way of "thinking" going on when that song is sung.
Zondervan
06-04-2014, 07:31 AM
That's it up online now.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/exclusive-celtic-star-leigh-griffiths-3380576
They even make reference to Celtic and their immigrant history, and say the song is racist?
Offensive maybe, but not racist.
Here we go again with this one!
06-04-2014, 07:35 AM
Given that I haven't seen or heard of that video I presume someone sold it to the DR. If that's a Hibee then that is a very poor show.
In saying that, Leigh has nobody to blame but himself for this one.
06-04-2014, 07:40 AM
always been a fairly nasty song in my opinion
06-04-2014, 07:45 AM
That's it up online now.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/exclusive-celtic-star-leigh-griffiths-3380576
They even make reference to Celtic and their immigrant history, and say the song is racist?
Only Hibs fans will try and claim the refugee song isn't racist using exactly the same arguments that the Old Firm use to defend their 'non sectarian' songs.
06-04-2014, 08:02 AM
That's it up online now.
Someone please send this to Neil Lennon ASAP.
Hopefully this will be him past his final warning that Lennon spoke about a few days ago!
Unless Griffiths has already told him about this before it's hit the media. I did find Lennon's reaction to Griffiths singing about Hearts going bust a total over reaction so maybe he already knows about this.
06-04-2014, 08:05 AM
A refugee is a person who has left their home country under threat of their life, or for political, religious or economic gain and cannot or will not return there.
He came to Edinburgh because an employer was willing to pay him over the odds for his skills
Would he have got his reported 8k-10k a week by staying in the Czech Republic? Doubt it
Plus despite being told on several occasions he can't resign for hearts and no other club (apart from a pal favour from Paul Hartley while at Arbroath) wants him - he's still hanging around Edinburgh
Maybe not friendly or PC but it's not racist
Would the hibs support be up in arms if the hearts had sung this about Sauzee?
Another example of yams being able to dish it out but can't take it
Correct, it's not racist at all. In fact the daily record could be hit with legal action for accusing Leigh.
06-04-2014, 08:12 AM
whoever let the footage out did nothing wrong whatsoever, and neither did sparky.
What? He did nothing wrong singing Satchel is a ****** refugeee! You're having a laugh surely, even Leigh himself knows he's been an idiot and was totally out of order with his actions in the Roseburn.
Are Refugees a race? Is there a place called Refugeeland?
06-04-2014, 08:17 AM
Are Refugees a race? Is there a place called Refugeeland?
Yes but its more commonly known name is Gorgie.
bigstu
06-04-2014, 08:18 AM
Who gave this footage the paper!!? Whoever it is is a total bellend!
06-04-2014, 08:18 AM
Whether anyone wants to accept its racist or not, LG will know fine well what happened to Deek when he was caught for this exact same thing. LG has been very silly.
06-04-2014, 08:19 AM
A refugee is a person who has left their home country under threat of their life, or for political, religious or economic gain and cannot or will not return there.
He came to Edinburgh because an employer was willing to pay him over the odds for his skills
Would he have got his reported 8k-10k a week by staying in the Czech Republic? Doubt it
Plus despite being told on several occasions he can't resign for hearts and no other club (apart from a pal favour from Paul Hartley while at Arbroath) wants him - he's still hanging around Edinburgh
Maybe not friendly or PC but it's not racist
Would the hibs support be up in arms if the hearts had sung this about Sauzee?
Another example of yams being able to dish it out but can't take it
Brilliant. Inventing a new definition of what constitutes a refugee in this country and highlighting the bits that suit your argument really does prove that the refugee song isn't racist.
06-04-2014, 08:20 AM
Its been floating about social media for a few days now. Daily Ranger like must of their exclusives must've lifted it from there.
After what happened to Derek in the Ferry boat, he's only got himself to blame.
06-04-2014, 08:23 AM
What a ****ing idiot he's been here.
06-04-2014, 08:25 AM
What? He did nothing wrong singing Satchel is a ****** refugeee! You're having a laugh surely, even Leigh himself knows he's been an idiot and was totally out of order with his actions in the Roseburn.
We will soon find out at next Derby. Suspect he will be in main stand for that one if he goes at all . Will be interesting to see as Media are bound to be looking for a follow up story on this .
06-04-2014, 08:28 AM
In it's context it is racist but you gotta laugh at the irony of the indignant Jambos taking the moral high-ground of a small number of Hibs fans (gypo, peg-sellers etc) singing a racist song!
06-04-2014, 08:28 AM
Strange if it was a Hibs fan who passed it to the press. Can only think money was on offer.
LG will learn a very painful lesson here. He needs to grow up and realise that he's an ambassador for Celtic and football. He'll have to take his medicine, just as the Yams are now suffering the consequences of their foolish actions.
06-04-2014, 08:31 AM
What a ****ing idiot he's been here.
Agreed. It was just Sparky being Sparky, no thought would have gone in to it at all. We love him because despite being a high profile footballer at heart he is still as daft a Hibby as the rest of us.i doubt that any of us would have a clean record when it comes to songs or chants of a dubious nature.
06-04-2014, 08:31 AM
The papers have actually held this story back and are leading with it today!!! sad sad b******s :bitchy:
06-04-2014, 08:33 AM
Griffiths may come home now though :wink:
06-04-2014, 08:37 AM
We will soon find out at next Derby. Suspect he will be in main stand for that one if he goes at all . Will be interesting to see as Media are bound to be looking for a follow up story on this .
Who cares about Skatchel :wink: His dream of playing Hibs ever again is dead, and all the Yam fans are boycotting ER. They are a meaningless, lower league rabble and will forever be in our shadow.
06-04-2014, 08:37 AM
Brilliant. Inventing a new definition of what constitutes a refugee in this country and highlighting the bits that suit your argument really does prove that the refugee song isn't racist.
Look at the plight of people displaced from their home ,town and country in Syria suffering and getting chemical warfare unleashed on them .The world doesn't care ,they have just been forgotten about .Tagging refugee on to a football song does us no favours ,there are plenty of other stuff we could sing about Rudi .
06-04-2014, 08:51 AM
Look at the plight of people displaced from their home ,town and country in Syria suffering and getting chemical warfare unleashed on them .The world doesn't care ,they have just been forgotten about .Tagging refugee on to a football song does us no favours ,there are plenty of other stuff we could sing about Rudi .
I was being sarcastic. I think the song is racist.
06-04-2014, 08:52 AM
Strange if it was a Hibs fan who passed it to the press. Can only think money was on offer.
LG will learn a very painful lesson here. He needs to grow up and realise that he's an ambassador for Celtic and football. He'll have to take his medicine, just as the Yams are now suffering the consequences of their foolish actions.
Interesting how quick the papers are to run with the Leigh story but how reluctant they have been to question hearts sporting integrity and role others played in getting hearts into the mess they have got themselves into .They seem to have had more sympathy than Sevco got and there seems to be a pulling together to try and portray their fall from grace in a more sanitised way while happy to demonise Griffiths . He will now need to wise up or the goldfish bowl of playing for old firm will swallow him up Wouldn't want to see him waste his talent just because he is still a Hibee. .
06-04-2014, 08:54 AM
Is it just me or does this look like another angle of the hearts going bust song and someone has put the audio of the refugee song in there. Don't want to sound like im paranoid but this could be a stitch up.
06-04-2014, 08:56 AM
Is it just me or does this look like another angle of the hearts going bust song and someone has put the audio of the refugee song in there. Don't want to sound like im paranoid but this could be a stitch up.
That was my first thought but I watched it on my phone and I'm not fully awake yet.
Josh 01
06-04-2014, 09:24 AM
The song was 100% started by griffiths, i thought to myself at the time it would come back to bite him, surprised its taken this long tbh.
06-04-2014, 09:30 AM
Jonathan Sutherland @BBCjsutherland (https://twitter.com/BBCjsutherland) 2m (https://twitter.com/BBCjsutherland/status/452738561088163840)
Neil Lennon has said players will be sacked instantly for discriminatory behaviour. Leigh Griffiths has just given him a massive problem.
Where's Meh? :greengrin
06-04-2014, 09:34 AM
The song was 100% started by griffiths, i thought to myself at the time it would come back to bite him, surprised its taken this long tbh.
My word what an idiot then. His Celtic career could be a short one
06-04-2014, 09:36 AM
Jonathan Sutherland @BBCjsutherland (https://twitter.com/BBCjsutherland) 2m (https://twitter.com/BBCjsutherland/status/452738561088163840)
Neil Lennon has said players will be sacked instantly for discriminatory behaviour. Leigh Griffiths has just given him a massive problem.
Where's Meh? :greengrin
We'll take him!!!!!
06-04-2014, 09:36 AM
My word what an idiot then. His Celtic career could be a short one
Turning his hibs career into a long one :D
06-04-2014, 09:37 AM
Turning his hibs career into a long one :D
That would be nice haha
06-04-2014, 09:51 AM
He needs to screw the head on quickly or he'll end up another promising young Scottish player with a short lived career.
"Hearts are going bust" is one thing but the Skatchel song is disgusting.
kentao
06-04-2014, 09:53 AM
The boys playing a blinder. Welcome home sparky the hoops never suited you anyway.
06-04-2014, 09:57 AM
The boys playing a blinder. Welcome home sparky the hoops never suited you anyway.
Is he? Would Terry Butcher welcome such ill discipline?
06-04-2014, 10:04 AM
He would need to do something of Craig Thomson proportions for me to not want him back playing with Hibs.
06-04-2014, 10:06 AM
Celtic fans want him sacked.
http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/topic/9048248/66/
06-04-2014, 10:06 AM
He would need to do something of Craig Thomson proportions for me to not want him back playing with Hibs.
Fair enough, but would TB be of the same opinion, that's the question.
06-04-2014, 10:19 AM
The comments on that board really illustrate just how out of touch OF fans are about everything else except their respective clubs, they simply don't want to know or are oblivious to whats going outside their four walls.
If they don't want him then **** them, we will take him back in a second.
Perhaps this is part of a Sparky plan to get back to ER? :wink:
kentao
06-04-2014, 10:24 AM
Would TB really be that stupid to ignore a easy 20 goals a season striker who wants to play for the jersey because he has the same opinion as most fans when it comes to sing songs in the roseburn.
06-04-2014, 10:31 AM
Would TB really be that stupid to ignore a easy 20 goals a season striker who wants to play for the jersey because he has the same opinion as most fans when it comes to sing songs in the roseburn.
If he was a hibs player he wouldn't be in the roseburn on derby days as he would be lining up for us. Won't be a derby for years anyway.
06-04-2014, 10:34 AM
One of the guys on kerrydale street makes a valid point, cod the audio not have been edited over? The way he acts in the hearts going bust video is exactly the same as in this. How hard would it be to take grainy mobile phone footage and edit another audio track over it?
Was anyone on here actually there? Could they say otherwise?
Hibs07p
06-04-2014, 10:40 AM
Never a truer word!
He's welcomed lots of talented footballers into his teams, not very sure about their activities of the pitch though.
Rudi's nose is big enough for three, big enough for three, big enough for three.
06-04-2014, 10:43 AM
Interesting how quick the papers are to run with the Leigh story but how reluctant they have been to question hearts sporting integrity and role others played in getting hearts into the mess they have got themselves into .They seem to have had more sympathy than Sevco got and there seems to be a pulling together to try and portray their fall from grace in a more sanitised way while happy to demonise Griffiths . He will now need to wise up or the goldfish bowl of playing for old firm will swallow him up Wouldn't want to see him waste his talent just because he is still a Hibee. .
Completely agree. The amount of sympathy Hearts have had in the media last 12 months is disturbing.
06-04-2014, 10:48 AM
jonathan sutherland @bbcjsutherland (https://twitter.com/bbcjsutherland) 2m (https://twitter.com/bbcjsutherland/status/452738561088163840)
neil lennon has said players will be sacked instantly for discriminatory behaviour. Leigh griffiths has just given him a massive problem.
Where's meh? :greengrin
yyaaaaaaassssss
06-04-2014, 10:49 AM
PLEASE.... :pray:
Would love to have LG back at the club. We need a few players at Hibs who support/love our club (however irreverent).
Come home Leigh.
Hibs07p
06-04-2014, 10:49 AM
:agree: :top marks
06-04-2014, 10:50 AM
:tbgwa:
Thats hilarious !
Clearly LG was a bit daft, has been caught and will be punished, you cant defend racist stuff - but what about all the sectarian nonsense in their ground EVERY FLIPPING WEEK.
Double standards, aye just a wee bit......
06-04-2014, 10:53 AM
Celtic should just terminate his contract. Make him a free agent and he can come back here in time for the St Mirren game, we can then romp through the bottom six and build a squad around him in the summer :duck:
Hanny
06-04-2014, 11:02 AM
One of the guys on kerrydale street makes a valid point, cod the audio not have been edited over? The way he acts in the hearts going bust video is exactly the same as in this. How hard would it be to take grainy mobile phone footage and edit another audio track over it?
Was anyone on here actually there? Could they say otherwise?
I was there. The video is legit.
06-04-2014, 11:06 AM
Pots and kettles spring to mind here.
I'm guessing this will be from the same people who think it's fine to sing songs glorifying terrorists and murderers every week.
06-04-2014, 11:08 AM
What I don't understand is for all the Hibs fans in there that love Griffiths, not one of them thought to try and stop him and warn him about the trouble he was certainly going to get into. We saw Riordan get hit with the book years ago, it's clear that the same thing will happen here, so why didn't anyone pull him down and stop it? Fair enough for the Hearts are going bust, I can see why people would enjoy that one, but everyone knows how the Skacel song is viewed.
Such a silly guy, he really is his own worst enemy at times.
correct, you've said it all!! silly silly laddie
Silly boy. But thats it - SILLY BOY. Got caught up in the moment along with everyone else in the pub. Doesn't make him a racist or anyone else. Our dislike for big nose Skacel is clear, just like the unemployed footballer loves to get it right up us as Hibs fans.
I will predict here and now:-
1. Celtic will sack or transfer list him after a whole week of outrage and drama (just about to begin).
2. Sparky will come out with unconditional apologies etc.
3. Dust will settle and he will sign for us before the end of the transfer window but warned heavily re behaviour.
4. We will have a top drawer 25+ goal a season striker and season ticket sales will go from poor to better then last year.
5. Skacel will still not have a club.
Welcome home sparky.
06-04-2014, 11:16 AM
Silly boy. But thats it - SILLY BOY. Got caught up in the moment along with everyone else in the pub. Doesn't make him a racist or anyone else. Our dislike for big nose Skacel is clear, just like the unemployed footballer loves to get it right up us as Hibs fans.
I will predict here and now:-
1. Celtic will sack or transfer list him after a whole week of outrage and drama (just about to begin).
2. Sparky will come out with unconditional apologies etc.
3. Dust will settle and he will sign for us before the end of the transfer window but warned heavily re behaviour.
4. We will have a top drawer 25+ goal a season striker and season ticket sales will go from poor to better then last year.
5. Skacel will still not have a club.
Welcome home sparky.
That's clearly going to be the way of it. :greengrin
kentao
06-04-2014, 11:17 AM
Never a truer word!
He's welcomed lots of talented footballers into his teams, not very sure about their activities of the pitch though.
Rudi's nose is big enough for three, big enough for three, big enough for three.
Thats the words I heard him singing but it was the hibs fans singing the other version
06-04-2014, 11:18 AM
Still don't think he'll come to us though. Hope I'm wrong.
QMU-1875
06-04-2014, 11:24 AM
Was surprised that this has taken so long to get out, remember reading the outrage about the going bust song thinking surely someone has a copy of him singing the skacel song. Was so stupid of him like, he got everyone to shut up and started belting it out. Hopefully means he will be coming home but he may not want to as it appears a hibs fans has landed one of their own in it!
Still don't think he'll come to us though. Hope I'm wrong.
If he is sacked and therefore transfer fee not a factor i would be astonished if he DIDNT come here. Petrie made a mistake not securing him before (in hindsight) - he is not stupid - he wouldn't miss the opportunity again.
He would becomes THE biggest boost to the club and fans since Deek resigning.
06-04-2014, 11:28 AM
He won't be signing for us for a few years I doubt. Unfortunately.
06-04-2014, 11:29 AM
If he is sacked and therefore transfer fee not a factor i would be astonished if he DIDNT come here. Petrie made a mistake not securing him before (in hindsight) - he is not stupid - he wouldn't miss the opportunity again.
He would becomes THE biggest boost to the club and fans since Deek resigning.
His wages would be an issue?
06-04-2014, 11:33 AM
Leigh Griffiths scored almost as many goals for us last season as our whole team has managed to score this season.
Butcher would be mental not to go for him in the summer if he's made available by Celtic.
His wages would be an issue?
Maybe but he would be in same bargaining position. Not convinced teams in england would take him so it would have to be Hibs.
Hibs07p
06-04-2014, 11:45 AM
Thats the words I heard him singing but it was the hibs fans singing the other version
I was just next to him, and that's how it sounded to me. He stood on the stool, he sang that version, everyone else sang the refugee version.
What's the problem.
In fact some were singing,
Craig Thompson's no a referee, no a referee, no a referee.
06-04-2014, 11:51 AM
The video is definitely real as I was there. I was about 3 or 4 metres away from him when this was recorded and from what I remember he didn't actually sing the whole song. After people sang 'Griffiths, Griffiths gives a song' he stood up and shouted Ruuuddiiii Skaaacel is... and everyone else took over. He didn't actually sing the '******g refugee' part.
The video doesn't show Leigh singing it either. It shows he was bouncing up and down in the pub when lots of people were, but it doesn't show him singing the offensive part of the song, because he didn't.
06-04-2014, 11:52 AM
Come on. If we're going to take the moral high-ground and have a go at the ****bos for singing about all Hibees being "gay" we can't try and pretend there's nothing wrong with singing aggressively about someone for no reason other than him being "a refugee".. which of course he isn't. It's one of many dated, cringey, pointless songs that still lingers among our supporters and (as is the case here) serves to give that lot one over on us rather than the other way around.
I had absolutely no issue with him singing about Hearts going bust (I enjoyed it) and said at the time if the SFA had addressed the sectarian problem in our sport as quickly as they we their nickers over that then we'd be in a better place as a league setup.
However, Sparky has made an erse of himself here..... still hope he comes back mind :flag:
QMU-1875
06-04-2014, 12:11 PM
The video is definitely real as I was there. I was about 3 or 4 metres away from him when this was recorded and from what I remember he didn't actually sing the whole song. After people sang 'Griffiths, Griffiths gives a song' he stood up and shouted Ruuuddiiii Skaaacel is... and everyone else took over. He didn't actually sing the '******g refugee' part.
The video doesn't show Leigh singing it either. It shows he was bouncing up and down in the pub when lots of people were, but it doesn't show him singing the offensive part of the song, because he didn't.
That's exactly what happened, he stopped and the rest of the hibs fans took over. Hate that song with a passion but technically he didn't sing it, he started it however.
QMU-1875
06-04-2014, 12:13 PM
Get the supporter that leaked the video to the rag named and shamed. ****.
If it turns out it was a supporter, could of been a journalist who heard leigh was going to be in the roseburn with a bunch of wrecked hibees. They would of known something would happen to get some headlines!
06-04-2014, 12:16 PM
The song is wrong, and Griffiths was in the wrong whether he started it or sang the whole thing.
Septic now have to decide if they can find a buyer for him in the summer to recover enough of the transfer fee that they paid for him. If they can't, expect them to announce that this is part of the same incident as the Yams are going bust song and so has been dealt with. Septic went OTT in punishing him for that, but it would be fair to discipline him for the refugee song so it evens itself out.
06-04-2014, 12:18 PM
Boys a ****ing idiot. But it's the clipe that really needs to have a word with themselves. Pathetic toady clipe.
06-04-2014, 12:21 PM
I was just next to him, and that's how it sounded to me. He stood on the stool, he sang that version, everyone else sang the refugee version.
What's the problem.
In fact some were singing,
Craig Thompson's no a referee, no a referee, no a referee.
Must get myself to the Roseburn soon, it sounds a great laugh before games. :rolleyes:
06-04-2014, 12:21 PM
Can't see Celtic writing off the transfer fee they paid Wolves for him
06-04-2014, 12:26 PM
That Leigh Griffiths will go to any lengths to get back to his beloved Hibs:greengrin
06-04-2014, 12:30 PM
Must get myself to the Roseburn soon, it sounds a great laugh before games. :rolleyes:
Believe me, it's barry. :greengrin
Hibs07p
06-04-2014, 12:31 PM
You should try it sometime, more passion displayed from the fans, than the team ever shows when turning up at Tynecastle.
06-04-2014, 12:36 PM
Believe me, it's barry. :greengrin
You should try it sometime, more passion displayed from the fans, than the team ever shows when turning up at Tynecastle.
Nah, you're alright lads, I'm a prawn sandwich man myself. :greengrin
06-04-2014, 12:40 PM
Stupid song that everyone knows is perceived as racist. No idea what Leigh was thinking, or not thinking, when getting involved.
Whoever posted that on Facebook or sold it to the papers or whatever needs to have a word as well. However if people are going to persist with singing such a cringeworthy song then it's going to continue to cause us problems.
06-04-2014, 12:46 PM
Can't see Celtic writing off the transfer fee they paid Wolves for him
I agree, celtc may do a Tony Watt on him and send him abroad on loan for a season, celtc won't sack him so that he can just sign for another club.
I will hazard a guess and say that celtc will ban Griffiths from playing football for the rest of the season, Vince Lunny will also hammer Griffiths, and Sparky better pray that the polis don't get involved.
06-04-2014, 12:55 PM
I agree, celtc may do a Tony Watt on him and send him abroad on loan for a season, celtc won't sack him so that he can just sign for another club.
I will hazard a guess and say that celtc will ban Griffiths from playing football for the rest of the season, Vince Lunny will also hammer Griffiths, and Sparky better pray that the polis don't get involved.
He needs to watch what he's doing - I can't remember if any action was taken against him for the racist tweet but if he's charged with a second racist offence then he could find himself in real bother.
Celtc may well sack him, I hope for Sparkie's sake that they don't, but if they do I hope Hibs are waiting in the wings to take advantage.
06-04-2014, 12:58 PM
Stupid song that everyone knows is perceived as racist. No idea what Leigh was thinking, or not thinking, when getting involved.
Whoever posted that on Facebook or sold it to the papers or whatever needs to have a word as well. However if people are going to persist with singing such a cringeworthy song then it's going to continue to cause us problems.
Aye, totally. If you don't like the song, be a man and say it there and then. Groups of young men can achieve great things but only if they have wise leaders.
06-04-2014, 01:11 PM
Whatever he sang it wasnae one of his better ideas, its the dummy that posted it up on FB that needs to have a word, what did they think would happen? Erse, particularly if it was a Hibs man.
06-04-2014, 01:19 PM
Is this all part of his master plan to get back to Easter Road??
andyf5
06-04-2014, 01:22 PM
QUOTE=Filled Rolls;3958486]Must get myself to the Roseburn soon, it sounds a great laugh before games. :rolleyes:[/QUOTE]
Minibus load of Rangers fans drinking there just now. Not sure why as far from ER. Looking for Leigh?
06-04-2014, 02:15 PM
I don't see how calling something they're obviously not can be held as offensive by the football authorities. After all, I'm accused of being gay at every Edinburgh derby and apparently at most hertz games, I'm not. I've been called a Fenian every time I visit Ibrox and that's by the police as well as the home fans, I'm not. sNo action has ever been taken by the SFA, SPL/SPFL or Police Scotland against either team or their fans so why should a player on his day off get such a hard time from everyone?
06-04-2014, 02:19 PM
I don't see how calling something they're obviously not can be held as offensive by the football authorities. After all, I'm accused of being gay at every Edinburgh derby and apparently at most hertz games, I'm not. I've been called a Fenian every time I visit Ibrox and that's by the police as well as the home fans, I'm not. sNo action has ever been taken by the SFA, SPL/SPFL or Police Scotland against either team or their fans so why should a player on his day off get such a hard time from everyone?
We've been here before, many times.
06-04-2014, 02:38 PM
Given our own history I find it mental that we have so people willing to sing a long with racist types of singing or chants.
06-04-2014, 03:41 PM
He needs to watch what he's doing - I can't remember if any action was taken against him for the racist tweet but if he's charged with a second racist offence then he could find himself in real bother.
Celtc may well sack him, I hope for Sparkie's sake that they don't, but if they do I hope Hibs are waiting in the wings to take advantage.
Scottish Police now investigating incident.
andrew_dundee
06-04-2014, 03:53 PM
Of course the song is racist, the agressive use of '******ing' makes clear that whoever is singing it doesn't lke refugees, therefore it is against refugees. Skacel may not be a refugee, but the song is based on stereotyping, would it be sung if he was, say, French for example? I highly doubt it.
Whether or not Leigh sang the racist version it's fairly clear from the video that he had no problem with those around him singing it, and when he started belting it out he would have known exactly what he was doing.
Anyone singing that song needs to have a serious word with themselves, not only is is stupid and offensive but it also makes Hibs look terrible when people do it. The excuses are familliar to anyone who has ever had a conversation about the 'traditional folk songs' Celtic sing.
Griffiths has been an idiot. It's easy to blame whoever filmed it, but if Griffiths hadn't been partaking in racist songs in the first place then there would be no scandal.
kentao
06-04-2014, 03:55 PM
Yawn
06-04-2014, 03:56 PM
Not sure they have anywhere near enough evidence to press charges. I'm sure anyone that was near him at the time will confirm he didn't actually sing the offensive part of the song. Shouting 'Ruuudi Skaaacel is' isn't against any law I know of.
He was daft to start the song but he didn't break any laws IMO.
06-04-2014, 04:00 PM
Surely somebody can come up with a better word than refugee. Never understood the inference in the song anyway, it's just stupid.
"Rudi Skacel is a ****ing..............." Come on surely someone can come up with something better.:cb
06-04-2014, 04:09 PM
Rudi Skacel has a ****ing massive beak
06-04-2014, 04:18 PM
They have obviously been inundated with complaints .He is like public enemy number one just now it's great that they have resources to deal with this one man crime wave .
06-04-2014, 04:19 PM
As a club that were founded by refugees, any attempt to use the term in a mocking manner from our own support is utter stupidity.
Add that to the fact that Skacel is not and never has been a refugee* and you then have to question the IQ of anybody that sings such an idiotic song.
* Unless you consider someone that moves to another country for a well paid job a refugee, in which case that makes me one as well.
06-04-2014, 06:33 PM
Surely somebody can come up with a better word than refugee. Never understood the inference in the song anyway, it's just stupid.
"Rudi Skacel is a ****ing..............." Come on surely someone can come up with something better.:cb
Rudi Skacel effing hates Dundee. Might be something to do with Albert Kidd, or could be that Desperate Dan statue they've got up there. Quite impressive that a .net poster has had a statue erected in his name. In saying that every sandwich shop I've been in has Filled Rolls underlined on a sign on the wall, so it may not be such an achievement after all!
happiehibbie
06-04-2014, 07:25 PM
I was in the Gorgie Suite for this game and so was Mr Skactel Scott willson introduced him to the crowd and then called him a refugee, he was not pleased , Scotty then says and I quote "thats what the internet says" the hall then laughs. What is the difference
I agree he should not be singing this as a pro footballer but ffs We are bad enough can we now not have a laugh
OsloHibs
06-04-2014, 07:27 PM
I cant view the video- does he really sing it?
06-04-2014, 07:32 PM
I cant view the video- does he really sing it?
No he was doing a karaoke version of Gloria Gaynor s I will Survive :wink:
06-04-2014, 07:32 PM
Celtic sack him.
We sign him :-)
06-04-2014, 07:43 PM
As a club that were founded by refugees, any attempt to use the term in a mocking manner from our own support is utter stupidity.
Add that to the fact that Skacel is not and never has been a refugee* and you then have to question the IQ of anybody that sings such an idiotic song.
* Unless you consider someone that moves to another country for a well paid job a refugee, in which case that makes me one as well.
Very embarrassing footage, not only Griffiths but the other clowns singing along should be ashamed. Disappointing that everyone appears to have went along with it.
06-04-2014, 09:48 PM
I was there. The video is legit.
Damn, I just wanted the chance to say the "conspiracy" word ;)
Stupid, stupid laddie if true. Doesn't matter if he'd had a few beers or whatever, he's always going to be in the public eye and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he was given his jotters tomorrow
06-04-2014, 09:59 PM
Okay, help me out here. When hibs were founded Ireland were part of the UK I believe. How then were they refugees? They surely moved from one part of thr UK to another? Surely the same could be said of Scots leaving the poverty of Scotland to go to England?
06-04-2014, 10:08 PM
Very embarrassing footage, not only Griffiths but the other clowns singing along should be ashamed. Disappointing that everyone appears to have went along with it.
Naked mam on crack sits in east stand and doesn't join in singing what's the world coming to .:confused:
06-04-2014, 10:17 PM
Lennon is a guest on MOTD2!!!!
06-04-2014, 10:20 PM
I doubt if he'll be asked about this to be honest.
I'd be surprised if anyone down south even knows who Leigh Griffiths is, never mind actually care about what he gets up to in his spare time.
06-04-2014, 10:23 PM
Obviously trying to raise his profile so he can escape before start of next season Why would he want to hang around and win another meaningless league title and fail to qualify for Champions a League :greengrin
06-04-2014, 10:27 PM
They have obviously been inundated with complaints .He is like public enemy number one just now it's great that they have resources to deal with this one man crime wave .
Yams. Nap
06-04-2014, 10:28 PM
Norwich City job. Cert
06-04-2014, 10:36 PM
Norwich City job. Cert
Lennon will sack Sparky tomorrow and then sign him for Norwich in the summer. :greengrin
06-04-2014, 10:42 PM
Lennon will sack Sparky tomorrow and then sign him for Norwich in the summer. :greengrin
Queue meltdown on here
06-04-2014, 10:43 PM
I,ll be one of those clowns then. Your easily disappointed
heid the baw
06-04-2014, 10:59 PM
I,ll be one of those clowns then. Your easily disappointed
Anyone who sang along is a poor quality Hibby. My opinion and I'm proud of it.
06-04-2014, 11:03 PM
Anyone who sang along is a poor quality Hibby. My opinion and I'm proud of it.
I would've joined in
06-04-2014, 11:05 PM
I would've joined in
Likewise
kentao
07-04-2014, 02:18 AM
Im sparky
Hibs07p
07-04-2014, 06:57 AM
Im sparky
I'm Sparky.
I don't give a what the PC brigade think, we sing songs about our rivals, they don't like it, tough. The pc brigade don't like it, wear headphones so as not to upset their delicate ears.
07-04-2014, 07:16 AM
I'm Sparky.
I don't give a what the PC brigade think, we sing songs about our rivals, they don't like it, tough. The pc brigade don't like it, wear headphones so as not to upset their delicate ears.
This is what is known as the Old Firm defence, employed by them for years to justify their folk songs. You keep good company.
07-04-2014, 07:22 AM
I'm Sparky.
Are "refugees" our rivals?
If this is a majority view amongst Hibs fans I never want to hear whining about the Old Firm ever again on this board.
07-04-2014, 07:35 AM
Sorry but the song is totally unacceptable. If Celtic sack him I'd be surprised if Petrie sanctioned the signing of him even if we could afford him. He's a cracking player but is destined to follow in a long line of Scottish players and muck up his chances at playing at the top level.
erin-go-bragh87
07-04-2014, 07:47 AM
This is what is known as the Old Firm defence, employed by them for years to justify their folk songs. You keep good company.
Are you honestly comparing one song, admittedly not the most politically correct song, to the decades of sectarianism and religious hatred of the old firm. You've really wet the bed on this eh, get a grip of yourself.
07-04-2014, 07:49 AM
Police investigating now :confused:
Are the "Police" going to investigate the vile sectarian singing by Rangers fans yesterday?
Thought not.
Weststandwanab
07-04-2014, 07:57 AM
Damn, I just wanted the chance to say the "conspiracy" word ;)
Stupid, stupid laddie if true. Doesn't matter if he'd had a few beers or whatever, he's always going to be in the public eye and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he was given his jotters tomorrow Unlikely unfortunately
Lennon is a guest on MOTD2!!!!Because of Norwich vacancy
Sorry but the song is totally unacceptable. If Celtic sack him I'd be surprised if Petrie sanctioned the signing of him even if we could afford him. He's a cracking player but is destined to follow in a long line of Scottish players and muck up his chances at playing at the top level. I would be surprised if RP did not.
07-04-2014, 08:03 AM
Surprised the media have largely ignored a pub full of 200 Hibs fans bouncing about to it aswell while they have Griffiths hung drawn and quartered for his part. Especially with this offensive behaviour act recently brought in that has seen others charged with much less.
07-04-2014, 08:36 AM
Surprised the media have largely ignored a pub full of 200 Hibs fans bouncing about to it aswell while they have Griffiths hung drawn and quartered for his part. Especially with this offensive behaviour act recently brought in that has seen others charged with much less.
Anyone who can be clearly identified in the footage as participating should maybe be a bit concerned, as they could end up having to defend it in a more difficult environment than Hibs.net.
07-04-2014, 08:37 AM
Are you honestly comparing one song, admittedly not the most politically correct song, to the decades of sectarianism and religious hatred of the old firm. You've really wet the bed on this eh, get a grip of yourself.
Is there any need for that sort of reply just because I express an opinion you don't agree with? Wet the bed on this one? Read comment number 287 on this thread, hardly bedwetting.
Let's be honest here though, it really doesn't matter what you or I think of the song, we will never agree anyway. It's what people outside of the Hibs support think that matters and it really doesn't look good. As a football song surely we can all agree that it divides the support more than it unites it so it fails on that score alone.
07-04-2014, 08:49 AM
I'm Sparky.
Aah the PC Brigade defence, it took longer than I expected but here it is. We really need this named as it's a Godwins Law for the 21st century.
07-04-2014, 09:05 AM
It's a stupid song and makes no sense. Griffiths will get hammered for this, SFA and the rozzers will be all over this like a fat lad at a buffet.
Hibs07p
07-04-2014, 09:12 AM
Aye, whatever. Don't particularly care what other teams sing about, though.
Are "refugees" our rivals?
If this is a majority view amongst Hibs fans I never want to hear whining about the Old Firm ever again on this board.
I've never whined about the old firm fans before, and I'm not starting now.
Aah the PC Brigade defence, it took longer than I expected but here it is. We really need this named as it's a Godwins Law for the 21st century.
I believe the majority of football supporters don't particularly care what their opponents sing, and if they do, tough, they should develop a thicker skin.
TheFamous1875
07-04-2014, 09:18 AM
This isn't about being PC. I hate political correctness, but you can't go about calling people "refugees". People choose to get offended about the most disparate things these days, but making light of the people of this planet who have had to flee their home countries due to war and poverty isn't on.
It's about education, really. I assume that most in that pub signing that song think a 'refugee' is the same as 'someone who is foreign' and therefore don't see the fuss.
If you're going to make light of something, choose something that's absurd, such as: "Skacel's nose is fae Sesame ****ing Street" or whatever. If the 'Prevention of Cruelty to Those of Endowed Beakery Federation' get in touch, most people would tell them to take a joke and blow their nose.
My point is: people have the choice to be offended and there's a lot of idiots like those of the SFA who'll choose to make a point of something such as "Hearts are Going Bust". The least you can do is make the offended seem the absurd one!
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
07-04-2014, 09:30 AM
It's about education, really. I assume that most in that pub signing that song think a 'refugee' is the same as 'someone who is foreign' and therefore don't see the fuss.
:agree: Also, people equate 'refugee' with foreign, and Johnny Foreigner is evil, what with them coming over here, stealing our jobs and other assorted nonsense.
The song has no redeeming features at all other than it targets an arch-Jambo.
nickwhibs
07-04-2014, 09:57 AM
I've got to say, I absolutely hate the song and cringe when fellow fans sing it. However, I do feel that Sparky, along with the vast majority of the fans who sing it, don't harbour racist views. It's more that people are getting caught up singing a stupid song as those around them are doing the same, or like to be slightly risqué. The bottom line though is that it can be construed as being racist, and racism has no place at Hibs or anywhere else.
07-04-2014, 10:14 AM
The song is probably racist and certainly obnoxious in its intent, but content wise it's actually pretty ludicrous and makes no sense whatsoever.
It's one of those songs that people sing along with gusto because it's anti-Hearts and feels 'bad' and with most folks that's as deep as it goes. It started though when right wing elements in the tabloid press were politically trying to associate political and economic refugees as 'scroungers' as part of their ongoing virulence against immigrants.
As a club founded by immigrants I'd have hoped our support had the savvy to resist these pernicious influences of this reactionary *****.
07-04-2014, 10:15 AM
A disgusting song to sing about a disgusting player.
07-04-2014, 10:38 AM
On a day when we can anticipate further blood letting, I can't be arsed being balanced about this.
Nine years we've been arguing whether or not this song is acceptable. Now the law has finally involved itself, some are still saying there's nothing wrong with it.
Years and years we've asked you to stop.
The song has brought shame on Hibs. The irony, of course, is that the club was founded by immigrants, who were refugees in their time.
Sod political correctness. You are a bunch of welts, with no love or understanding of what Hibs are about. Please leave, and don't come back you racist nonentities.
Go and join the fascist groups that have been encouraging this, and don't ever say it was just banter. Banter involves the other party laughing.
TheFamous1875
07-04-2014, 10:41 AM
On a day when we can anticipate further blood letting, I can't be arsed being balanced about this.
Nine years we've been arguing whether or not this song is acceptable. Now the law has finally involved itself, some are still saying there's nothing wrong with it.
The song has brought shame on Hibs. The irony, of course, is that the club was founded by immigrants, who were refugees in their time.
Sod political correctness. You are a bunch of welts, with no love or understanding of what Hibs are about. Please leave, and don't come back you racist nonentities.
Go and join the fascist groups that have been encouraging this, and don't ever say it was just banter. Banter involves the other party laughing.
Well said. GGTTH
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
07-04-2014, 10:42 AM
The song is probably racist and certainly obnoxious in its intent, but content wise it's actually pretty ludicrous and makes no sense whatsoever.
It's one of those songs that people sing along with gusto because it's anti-Hearts and feels 'bad' and with most folks that's as deep as it goes. It started though when right wing elements in the tabloid press were politically trying to associate political and economic refugees as 'scroungers' as part of their ongoing virulence against immigrants.
As a club founded by immigrants I'd have hoped our support had the savvy to resist these pernicious influences of this reactionary *****.
The tabloid press were kicking at an open door though Bob. Those that sing it are all to happy to join in, to divert attention from their own failure as human beings.
07-04-2014, 10:46 AM
Your just as daft as the fannies who still sing it if your suggesting everyone singing this song is a soon to be member of the BNP/NF/EDL etc etc with extreme right wing fascist views.
I'll harbour a guess and say 99.999999% off those who continue to sing it don't really have a clue what they are actually singing about, and like alot of football fans, infact like alot of human beings, are just thick as f***. Not the future Nick Griffins.
The song should be binned. And should've been a while ago, along with that Edinburgh song p1sh which thankfully i havn't heard in years. Rather we went down the educating route though.
07-04-2014, 10:48 AM
Your just as daft as the fannies who still sing it if your suggesting everyone singing this song is a soon to be member of the BNP/NF/EDL etc etc with extreme right wing fascist views.
I'll harbour a guess and say 99.999999% off those who continue to sing it don't really have a clue what they are actually singing about, and like alot of football fans, infact like alot of human beings, are just thick as f***. Not the future Nick Griffins.
**** it, I can't be bothered being sensible today. However, ignorance is no excuse - thick as **** is probably the kindest thing you can say.
07-04-2014, 11:02 AM
The song should be binned. And should've been a while ago, along with that Edinburgh song p1sh which thankfully i havn't heard in years. Rather we went down the educating route though.
Ignorance should be challenged, not used as a defence.
07-04-2014, 11:08 AM
Ignorance should be challenged, not used as a defence.
We've been challenging it for nine years on here. The conclusion is that these are people who are too thick to understand reason.
Now Hibs are going to be painted in a bad light, due to the stupidity of a section of our support. The hacks in Glasgow are dusting off the cliches about bigotry being a problem for the whole of Scotland, as we speak.
AllyF
07-04-2014, 04:12 PM
This is all a rouse for Celtic to sack Griffiths and give him to us for free.
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 04:26 PM
iv heard far worse songs sang by hibbies and fans of other clubs
and for the hearts fans - who threw bananas at mark walters - thinking they can take the moral high ground about racism is beyond me
skacel is a welt and deserves every bit of abuse thats thrown at him
07-04-2014, 04:43 PM
Okay, help me out here.
Certainly, read this, it explains what a refugee is. - http://www.thefreedictionary.com/refugee
..... When hibs were founded Ireland were part of the UK I believe. How then were they refugees? They surely moved from one part of thr UK to another?...
Syria currently has millions of refugees, some refered to as 'internal' refugees because they are in refugee camps in their own country. They are all suffering from the same devastating problems, irrespective of where they are currently housed. The same applied to people who fled Ireland to Canada, USA or other parts of what then constituted the UK.
...Surely the same could be said of Scots leaving the poverty of Scotland to go to England?
That would depend on the situation but you could potentially make the same argument, yes. However, as far as I'm aware, people were not starving to death in Scotland, as they were in Ireland. I don't think you really care about that, TBH, as you're most likely just trying to fudge the issue.
07-04-2014, 04:47 PM
and for the hearts fans - who threw bananas at mark walters - thinking they can take the moral high ground about racism is beyond me
Whitabootery at its finest, I applaud you.
hibbypostie
07-04-2014, 05:10 PM
He should be sacked at once
can we then sign him as a fee agent for the run in :dunno:
07-04-2014, 05:15 PM
This message has been deleted by sleeping giant.
07-04-2014, 05:59 PM
Well that's just capital, then.
07-04-2014, 06:33 PM
this message has been deleted by sleeping giant.
filled rolls agrees!
sadtom
07-04-2014, 06:38 PM
Well said.
Could any of the brainiacs who think this song is acceptable in any way please explain a couple of things to me. Ta.
1. Do you like Skacel? (I will make the leap and assume the answer is 'no'.)
2. When you sing it are you trying to insult him and attempt to put him off his game? Or is I to praise and encourage him? (again i'll assume the former).
So from those two easy questions it is simple to work out that the word used to insult RS is 'refugee'. The F word gives added emphasis/venom/spite but it is being a 'refugee' that the 'singer' finds objectionable and is deemed 'wrong' and worthy as a term of abuse.
It does not matter if the person that the song is aimed at is, or is not, a refugee (Snatchall clearly isn't) the only thing certain about the song is that those singing it think there is something wrong with being a refuge. So bad in fact that they deem it a worthy insult to bestow on that big mouthed hertz fandan.
Any decent human being should be disgusted by this song never mind fans of a club who were effectively founded by 'refugees'.
Anyone singing this song is either a dodgy bigot or just thick as shi7 in the neck of a bottle!
You decide. (then gie yersels a shake).
07-04-2014, 06:40 PM
Well said.
Could any of the brainiacs who think this song is acceptable in any way please explain a couple of things to me. Ta.
2. When you sing it are you trying to insult him and attempt to put him off his game? Or is I to praise and encourage him? (again i'll assume the former).
So from those two easy questions it is simple to work out that the word used to insult RS is 'refugee'. The F word gives added emphasis/venom/spite but it is being a 'refugee' that the 'singer' finds objectionable and is deemed 'wrong' and worthy as a term of abuse.
It does not matter if the person that the song is aimed at is, or is not, a refugee (Snatchall clearly isn't) the only thing certain about the song is that those singing it think there is something wrong with being a refuge. So bad in fact that they deem it a worthy insult to bestow on that big mouthed hertz fandan.
Any decent human being should be disgusted by this song never mind fans of a club who were effectively founded by 'refugees'.
Anyone singing this song is either a dodgy bigot or just thick as shi7 in the neck of a bottle!
One of the best posts I've read on this subject. :aok:
07-04-2014, 07:40 PM
Couldn't have put it better myself.
I ****ing hate that song almost as much as I hate Skacel.
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 08:40 PM
Well said.
anytime i hear that particular song break out i join in and sing it as loud as my lungs will allow so il answer for you
1 - i dont like skacel
2 - when i sing it , im just doing my duty as a hibby nothing more
07-04-2014, 08:44 PM
anytime i hear that particular song break out i join in and sing it as loud as my lungs will allow so il answer for you
1 - i dont like skacel
2 - when i sing it , im just doing my duty as a hibby nothing more
Your duty?
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 08:47 PM
Your duty?
yes my duty
it is the duty of every hibee to wind up the jambos at every opportunity , and that song winds them up big time
07-04-2014, 08:49 PM
Blimey I didn't realise we had to dissect every song we sing?
For what's it's worth I don't actually hate dundee.
With the shambolic state our whole team/club is currently in excuse me for being more concerned about non song related issues
07-04-2014, 08:51 PM
With the shambolic state our whole team/club is currently in excuse me for being more concerned about non song related issues
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 08:52 PM
post of the day
07-04-2014, 09:36 PM
yes my duty
it is the duty of every hibee to wind up the jambos at every opportunity , and that song winds them up big time
It is the duty of every Hibs fan to conduct themselves in a manner that does not shame our club, and that song is shameful.
07-04-2014, 09:39 PM
Well if it's confession time quite often I can hear the Jambos sing....
07-04-2014, 09:44 PM
yes my duty
I'm sure shouting at abuse at the young lad Tapping based on his race would 'wind them up' as well.
I probably wouldn't join in with that or see that as my duty either though.
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 09:55 PM
I'm sure shouting at abuse at the young lad Tapping based on his race would 'wind them up' as well.
I probably wouldn't join in with that or see that as my duty either though.
i dont believe singing the skacel song 3 or 4 times a year makes someone a racist
abusing tapping based upon his race is a completely different matter if you ask me
07-04-2014, 09:57 PM
i dont believe singing the skacel song 3 or 4 times a year makes someone a racist
Whether its sung 3 or 4 times a year or every morning after breakfast makes no difference to it's factual error and bigoted intent.
Moon unit
07-04-2014, 10:02 PM
It is the duty of every Hibs fan to conduct themselves in a manner that does not shame our club, and that song is shameful.
Well said...no room for people who sing shameful songs at ER , that's O.F and Yam territory!
Gustavo Fring
07-04-2014, 10:04 PM
my last word on this
is the skacel song any more shameful or abusive than any of the following
the wallace mercer songs
the edinburgh is wonderful song
the fat jim jeffries songs
the hartley is gay song (most of the home end to a man singing this)
the jimmy savile song
the craig thomson songs
the smelly weegie song
etc etc
07-04-2014, 10:06 PM
abusing tapping based upon his race is a completely different matter if you ask me
If Skacel was from say Northern Ireland would people still sing about him being a refugee?
The song has a nasty racial element to it whether people admit it or not. Probably to do with a mistaken belief that the Czech Republic is in Easter Europe (it's not, it's in Central Europe) and some of the tabloid fallacies that go with that.
07-04-2014, 10:12 PM
my last word on this
is the skacel song any more shameful or abusive than any of the following
the wallace mercer songs
the edinburgh is wonderful song
the fat jim jeffries songs
the hartley is gay song (most of the home end to a man singing this)
the jimmy savile song
the craig thomson songs
the smelly weegie song
etc etc
It's every bit as bad as most of those listed.
07-04-2014, 10:27 PM
Skacel is not a refugee, I think we all know that.
He is probably best described as a .... Job-seeking itinerant worker from the east of the European economic zone.
But that's kinda difficult to put to verse. :greengrin
He is also a tax dodging barsteward, IMHO.
Hibs07p
08-04-2014, 08:26 AM
I think that some of the people on here that are branding other people as thick, for singing the "refugee" song, have probably been guilty of singing songs that are perceived to be racist by other people, such as the National Anthem and Flower of Scotland. They all must be thick and racists also. Skacel and the Jambos deserve, to receive the abuse they get, they dish it out, they've got to be big enough to take it back. I hear the gay activists groups are none too happy about being branded as Hibbys.