View Full Version : El Classico

23-03-2014, 06:57 PM
Ok so for the 90 mins let's watch a couple of real football teams. As long as the diving and play acting is to a minimum it shoul be an interesting game. Think real wilk come out on top though 3 -1

23-03-2014, 06:59 PM
Ok so for the 90 mins let's watch a couple of real football teams. As long as the diving and play acting is to a minimum it shoul be an interesting game. Think real wilk come out on top though 3 -1

It will be nothing compared to the Edinburgh Classico next week.:cb

23-03-2014, 07:08 PM
Wow!

1-0 Barcelona.

23-03-2014, 07:10 PM
Put his foot right through that.

23-03-2014, 07:13 PM
Benzema misses a sitter.

23-03-2014, 07:14 PM
Benzema misses sitter after good play by di maria

23-03-2014, 07:21 PM
1-1.

Benzema.

23-03-2014, 07:22 PM
Keeper needs to be keeping that out. Good start to game

23-03-2014, 07:23 PM
1-1.

Benzema.

:boo hoo:

23-03-2014, 07:24 PM
What happened to Di Maria?

2-1 Madrid.

Benzema.

2-1 Madrid

23-03-2014, 07:26 PM
Some control and strike took it like Collins!

This seems to be one of those rare occasions where a match that you're looking forward to watching actually lives up to its potential.

Great to watch.:thumbsup:

23-03-2014, 07:27 PM
Almost a hat-trick for Benzema.

Ball cleared off the line.

23-03-2014, 07:28 PM
Di Maria is on drugs, surely!:cb

23-03-2014, 07:30 PM
2-1 Madrid.

Benzema.

:boo hoo: :boo hoo:

23-03-2014, 07:43 PM
2-2.

Messi.

It's all kicking off now!

23-03-2014, 07:44 PM
2-2.

Messi.

It's all kicking off now!

Get in there! :thumbsup:

I know this won't be a patch on our own derby, but what a thrill in any case. :greengrin

23-03-2014, 07:44 PM
Pepe and Fabregas doing their best to get a nomination for next year's Oscars.

23-03-2014, 07:45 PM
Dearie me, what is this strange exciting sport they are playing?

23-03-2014, 07:46 PM
As the old dinosaur Bruce Forsyth would say "Good game, good game!"

23-03-2014, 07:50 PM
Really good game but the Spanish director is trying to be too arty with his choice camera angles

SmashinGlass
23-03-2014, 07:55 PM
Really good game but the Spanish director is trying to be too arty with his choice camera angles

Glad it's not just me that thinks there have been some dodgy camera angles. At least he's not missed any of the key moments though

23-03-2014, 07:56 PM
It's like watching a different sport this - magic !!

scuttle
23-03-2014, 07:59 PM
Anybody else think the ref looks like Craig Thomson. That's where the similarities end though this guy has ben outstanding so far.

23-03-2014, 08:04 PM
Now that really is fitba!

23-03-2014, 08:11 PM
Gerry Armstrong does my head in!

23-03-2014, 08:13 PM
No way a penalty!

23-03-2014, 08:13 PM
3-2 Madrid.

Ronaldo penalty.

Clearly outside the box.

23-03-2014, 08:14 PM
shocking decision

23-03-2014, 08:14 PM
Replays show its not a pen, but I have to admit I thought it was at normal speed. ..... ronaldo tucks away 3 2 Real

23-03-2014, 08:15 PM
Anybody else think the ref looks like Craig Thomson. That's where the similarities end though this guy has ben outstanding so far.

3-2 Madrid.

Ronaldo penalty.

Clearly outside the box.

23-03-2014, 08:17 PM
football at its absolute best. What a game! absolutely great to watch. Di Maria in particular has been outstanding!

23-03-2014, 08:20 PM
Penalty Barca!! Ramos off!

23-03-2014, 08:22 PM
3-3.

Messi penalty.

Ramos sent off.

Don't believe any contact was made at all.

3-3

Justice done though I'm not sure about that pen either!

23-03-2014, 08:24 PM
It's been a poor game.

23-03-2014, 08:25 PM
It's been a poor game.

Not "Hibs class".

23-03-2014, 08:26 PM
Not "Hibs class".

:agree: Defo not in the same class!

23-03-2014, 08:26 PM
It's been a poor game.

Defences on top.

23-03-2014, 08:28 PM
Defences on top.

23-03-2014, 08:33 PM
Amazingly slack defending by Real there. I always think Alves is Barca's big threat.

23-03-2014, 08:40 PM
Another dodgey pen

23-03-2014, 08:40 PM
Another penalty for Barcelona.

23-03-2014, 08:41 PM
4-3 Barcelona.

Messi penalty.

David_D
What a way to take a penalty

Another scrappy goal! 3-4 Barca

23-03-2014, 08:42 PM
The most likely penalty of the three I suppose.

It was only a matter of time before Barca scored. Real seem to have lost all impetus.

23-03-2014, 08:43 PM

He makes Stephen Craigan sound decent.

23-03-2014, 08:44 PM
Another dodgey pen

I thought it was a stonewaller.

23-03-2014, 08:45 PM
He makes Stephen Craigan sound decent.

I'm watching on a French channel. No probs!

23-03-2014, 08:50 PM
Ramos is such a liability. Class defender but 19 career reds?! :confused:

23-03-2014, 08:52 PM
Hardly a classic despite the score but the atmosphere was exciting.

I'd rather watch that than the dross on offer in these parts.

23-03-2014, 08:56 PM
The ball was round but other than that I can't think of any other similarity between that magnificent entertainment and the gash which we've got to endure on an all to regular basis.

23-03-2014, 08:58 PM
Didnae enjoy that :wink:

AndyB_70
23-03-2014, 08:58 PM
I thought Bale should have got a penalty. He git to the ball first and then had his leg taken away. Referee was pretty rubbish. That was never a penalty for Barcelona's 4th.

23-03-2014, 09:00 PM
And to think that we beat Barca many moons ago, sad to think we will never see the likes of them at ER ever again as the structure being what it is these teams are in a different stratosphere football wise and financially.

23-03-2014, 09:00 PM
Now who really wants to watch that rubbish each week?

Give me a 0-0 Edinburgh Derby scrapefest everytime.

23-03-2014, 09:02 PM
I thought Bale should have got a penalty. He git to the ball first and then had his leg taken away. Referee was pretty rubbish. That was never a penalty for Barcelona's 4th.

The problem with Bale is that his feet are often taken away by the ball, whenever he gets into the box.

23-03-2014, 09:05 PM
And to think that we beat Barca many moons ago, sad to think we will never see the likes of them at ER ever again as the structure being what it is these teams are in a different stratosphere football wise and financially.

Not to mention Real Madrid!

23-03-2014, 09:12 PM

Agreed. The man is a grade A trumpet and invariably fails to hide his bias against Barcelona. Ronaldo's elbow into Mascherano's coupon "minimal contact but he's got Cristiano booked so job done" and the penalty for the winning goal "no contact there, Iniesta went down far too easily"

Man's an erse

23-03-2014, 09:24 PM
Agreed. The man is a grade A trumpet and invariably fails to hide his bias against Barcelona. Ronaldo's elbow into Mascherano's coupon "minimal contact but he's got Cristiano booked so job done" and the penalty for the winning goal "no contact there, Iniesta went down far too easily"

Man's an erse

Yep, watches these games with his Madrid scarf on.

SmashinGlass
23-03-2014, 09:40 PM
For me, tonight has confirmed why Ronaldo will never be as good as Messi. When the chips are truly down, the only one to stand tall and be counted is messi. Tonight proved that beyond all doubt

23-03-2014, 09:46 PM
For me, tonight has confirmed why Ronaldo will never be as good as Messi. When the chips are truly down, the only one to stand tall and be counted is messi. Tonight proved that beyond all doubt

23-03-2014, 10:41 PM
Yep, watches these games with his Madrid scarf on.

What's the story behind his allegiance to Madrid?

24-03-2014, 12:25 AM
Not to mention Real Madrid!

And Napoli and Porto and Sporting .... :agree:

24-03-2014, 12:33 AM

It's his local team.

Why else would he care about a team from Spain? :greengrin:

24-03-2014, 02:09 AM
By the by its "El Clasico" One 's' there might be an accent above the 'a' as well ?! "Clįsico" ? Just a pet peeve when people call it "El Classico"

Miles better than our Derby will be next weekend though, sadly...

24-03-2014, 04:55 AM
By the by its "El Clasico" One 's' there might be an accent above the 'a' as well ?! "Clįsico" ? Just a pet peeve when people call it "El Classico"

Yep, can't stand that when people put extra letters in words. The English mis-spelling on here is bad enough, but when peeps start doing it in Espanish as well, it's just not good enough. :bitchy:

Comparing the two derbies, Messi now has the record for most goals in the Spanish Giants' derby. This makes him the John Robertson of today. :agree:

24-03-2014, 06:32 AM

That last statement must be the understatement of the year .its so sad it doesn't bear thinking about .:rolleyes:

24-03-2014, 07:06 AM

Different type of player but both unbelievable in their own right, tonight it was Messi's turn to shine.

24-03-2014, 07:52 AM
The media are all raving about what a great game it was last night. Well it was certainly eventful and I enjoyed the atmosphere but I thought both defences were shaky. Alves was given far too much space on the right and Barca seem not to cope with crosses very well. I wonder how these sides would get on if they were in The Prem for a season or two.

24-03-2014, 10:42 AM
That last statement must be the understatement of the year .its so sad it doesn't bear thinking about .:rolleyes:

I prefer the Catalan "El Classic".

hibbyhabit
24-03-2014, 10:47 AM
The media are all raving about what a great game it was last night. Well it was certainly eventful and I enjoyed the atmosphere but I thought both defences were shaky. Alves was given far too much space on the right and Barca seem not to cope with crosses very well. I wonder how these sides would get on if they were in The Prem for a season or two.

Partick would skelp their erse 4 times.

24-03-2014, 10:57 AM

Alves may have had a lot of space on the right but he was also partlY at fault for all 3 Madrid goals. Madrid allowed Alves the space up the right and in return Di Maria was able to get in behind Alves more often. Tactics were working well until the sending off/penalty.

24-03-2014, 11:34 AM

There isn't one! :greengrin

24-03-2014, 11:41 AM

There are guys on here who can't spell the name of a single Hibs player correctly, and you expect them to get it right in Spanish?

How many posts have you read about that young defender we have, Jordan Foster?

24-03-2014, 12:04 PM

I thought it was a penalty. Alonso made sure he took out the guy going in as he did with his knee.

Teo10
24-03-2014, 12:07 PM
I thought it was a penalty. Alonso made sure he took out the guy going in as he did with his knee.

My thoughts aswell, Iniesta played the ball between the two men into space that wasn't there. Alonso came steaming in and clearly connected as Iniesta tried to get through... Penalty.

24-03-2014, 01:38 PM
My thoughts as well, Iniesta played the ball between the two men into space that wasn't there. Alonso came steaming in and clearly connected as Iniesta tried to get through... Penalty.

Yup. That's the way I read it. Clear enough to me.

What definitely wasn't a penalty was the one Real got. A free outside the box, but a pretty wee stumble and swan dive from Ronaldo to make sure the ref gave the pen.

24-03-2014, 02:25 PM

Eye hatte baad gramer to.

Trying doing that with auto-correct on, bloody hell! :greengrin

24-03-2014, 03:00 PM
Alves may have had a lot of space on the right but he was also partlY at fault for all 3 Madrid goals. Madrid allowed Alves the space up the right and in return Di Maria was able to get in behind Alves more often. Tactics were working well until the sending off/penalty.

You're right. Di Maria was excellent early on in the match.

I think the point I'm making is whenever I watch Barca Alves seems to be allowed a load of room by opposing defences - even the best ones i.e. Real Madrid.

It strikes me that defences in Spain are not great.

24-03-2014, 03:14 PM
Yup. That's the way I read it. Clear enough to me.

What definitely wasn't a penalty was the one Real got. A free outside the box, but a pretty wee stumble and swan dive from Ronaldo to make sure the ref gave the pen.

We're not the only country where the officials get things wrong.

24-03-2014, 03:26 PM

We're not the only country where the officials get things wrong.

Things can happen very quickly in a match, and sometimes the ref can be unsighted. The Barca player caught Ronaldo about a foot (at the very most) outside the box, Ronaldo's momentum, aided by a wee bit of artistic throwing of himself forwards and downwards, carried him well inside. One of those things, but a lot more clearly NOT-A-PEN than the one for 4-3. But the ref had to have been in the right place to see it.

I do remember one Darren Jackson being caught by a Rangers defender - Scandinavian guy, in the game where Jim Leighton saved twice from Brian Laudrup penalties right at the end of the match? Dazza was fouled in the middle of the 'D', 3-4 feet outside the box, and ended up sliding on his chest almost right up to the penalty spot. PENALTY!

It wasn't deliberate, I'm sure. It was just his momentum. :not worth

Bjorklund!

24-03-2014, 05:21 PM
None of these penalty wizards are close to the Eric Stevenson/Joe Davis combo.

24-03-2014, 07:46 PM
None of these penalty wizards are close to the Eric Stevenson/Joe Davis combo.

I agree. They were class :thumbsup: