View Full Version : Gay England Player
Bronson
07-03-2014, 12:52 PM
Premier League footballer and England international to come out as being gay on sunday, anyone know who it is?
Not that it really matters, just curious. Think it's a bit of a shame that such a big deal is being made of it, it's 2014 it really shouldn't matter what his sexuality is. Although having said that, making it a big announcement himself doesn't help that case.
07-03-2014, 12:56 PM
Darren Bent?
sixtwo
07-03-2014, 12:58 PM
Rumours are it's Jordan Henderson. It's a brave boy who does come out and I wish whoever it is is judged only on his footballing ability
Bronson
07-03-2014, 12:58 PM
Darren Bent?
:faf: good effort
ChooseLife
07-03-2014, 01:05 PM
David Seaman
WestEndHibee
07-03-2014, 01:07 PM
Rumours are it's Jordan Henderson. It's a brave boy who does come out and I wish whoever it is is judged only on his footballing ability
It's a very brave guy that does and could really be a turning point. Its amazing to think how many footballers are gay but don't feel able to come out. This day and age there will still be those backward sections of crowds that will persecute him for it so hopefully he can handle that, not that he should have to. I hope however that this means that we're coming to a time when footballers don't have to hide who they are.
07-03-2014, 01:07 PM
David Seaman
What about Nicky Butt?
07-03-2014, 01:09 PM
Premier League footballer and England international to come out as being gay on sunday, anyone know who it is?
Not that it really matters, just curious. Think it's a bit of a shame that such a big deal is being made of it, it's 2014 it really shouldn't matter what his sexuality is. Although having said that, making it a big announcement himself doesn't help that case.
Where did you hear this?
I'd bet it's a former England player rather than one who's boarding the plane to the World Cup this summer.
I'd be surprised if it's Henderson considering Liverpools position in the table right now as i'd expect Liverpool would't want any distractions now.
I'm sure Sol Campbell's book begins his serialisation in the Times on Sunday:hmmm:
Bronson
07-03-2014, 01:10 PM
Has he not got a daughter? Be surprised if it is him if that's the case.
I agree but I'm sure the days of cases like Justin Fashanu are long gone. Or at least I hope.
Bronson
07-03-2014, 01:11 PM
Where did you hear this?
I'd bet it's a former England player rather than one who's boarding the plane to the World Cup this summer.
I'd be surprised if it's Henderson considering Liverpools position in the table right now as i'd expect Liverpool would't want any distractions now.
I'm sure Sol Campbell's book begins his serialisation in the Times on Sunday:hmmm:
All over twitter mate, apparently a current player in both the England national team and the Prem.
07-03-2014, 01:12 PM
Phil McCracken
07-03-2014, 01:12 PM
I don't understand why sportsmen and sports women have to "come out". Personally I don't care, I have no interest in any hibs players private life. If he does the job for hibs then I don't care who he's sleeping with... Unless it's the mrs... Depending on what player ;)
ChooseLife
07-03-2014, 01:14 PM
What about Nicky Butt?
Tony Woodcock
WestEndHibee
07-03-2014, 01:17 PM
I don't understand why sportsmen and sports women have to "come out". Personally I don't care, I have no interest in any hibs players private life. If he does the job for hibs then I don't care who he's sleeping with... Unless it's the mrs... Depending on what player ;)
07-03-2014, 01:17 PM
Jordan Henderson does run funny right enough...
i think its laughable some england players are quick to point out its not them :rolleyes: i pity the guy who will be "unveiled"
07-03-2014, 01:20 PM
Some female England international has come out and it's certainly benefited her. She's been doing punditry on SSN every week since she hid it.
GlenrothesHibee
07-03-2014, 01:22 PM
John Terry? It was maybe all just a cover up
07-03-2014, 01:25 PM
Hope whoever it is doesn't pull the announcement because of any comments associated to leaks of the news.
Hope they aren't waiting until Sunday to announce it because they have beeen paid a decent fee for a news paper story as whoever it is obviously earns enough money as it is. That said it is nowhere near as bad as those who flog their wedding or the unveiling of their new three piece suite to tabloids and celeb mags. If they are selling their story it would be nice if they were giving the fee to charity.
He could of course have been black mailed by the paper - either we run a story about you being gay or you announce it in our paper as an exclusive.
LioNeilMessi
07-03-2014, 01:26 PM
Phil McCracken
He's not an England player mate.
Bronson
07-03-2014, 01:32 PM
Hope whoever it is doesn't pull the announcement because of any comments associated to leaks of the news.
Hope they aren't waiting until Sunday to announce it because they have beeen paid a decent fee for a news paper story as whoever it is obviously earns enough money as it is. That said it is nowhere near as bad as those who flog their wedding or the unveiling of their new three piece suite to tabloids and celeb mags. If they are selling their story it would be nice if they were giving the fee to charity.
He could of course have been black mailed by the paper - either we run a story about you being gay or you announce it in our paper as an exclusive.
Wouldn't happen and if it did he could sue for a hell of a lot more than they offered for the story.
dirtydirk
07-03-2014, 01:33 PM
if its a player on the periphery of the world cup squad then lets be be honest, its perfect timing to guarantee a place on the flight.
07-03-2014, 01:33 PM
They will all get buggered in Brazil.
may 21/05/2016
07-03-2014, 01:34 PM
Liverpool striker
Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk
Lester B
07-03-2014, 01:40 PM
This line about why do they have to come out always appears on these discussions. I'd support anyone who comes out in any walk of life because they are finally taking a step to be honest about who they are. The fact that it doesn't bother you one way or the other is great but not everyone thinks like that. The way some people react you'd think it was about to be made compulsory.
Nevi_SOL
07-03-2014, 01:53 PM
Liverpool striker
Sturridge or sterling. Personally I'm not bothered its 2014 for Christ sake
may 21/05/2016
07-03-2014, 01:55 PM
Sturridge or sterling. Personally I'm not bothered its 2014 for Christ sake
Agreed
07-03-2014, 01:55 PM
Been rumours around about sterling for a long time. Personally don't really think they should have to "come out" as it's not anybodies business anyway?
07-03-2014, 01:58 PM
;3924951']Been rumours around about sterling for a long time. Personally don't really think they should have to "come out" as it's not anybodies business anyway?
Sterling has 2 or 3 kids I'm sure. Maybe even 4. He's worse than sparky.
people on this thread wondering why it matters. Then cracking hilarious bum jokes ffs.
Woodrow
07-03-2014, 01:59 PM
Ashley Cole ... he's a Chelsea Batty Boy
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8NFkhfrUZDo
Lester B
07-03-2014, 02:00 PM
people on this thread wondering why it matters. Then cracking hilarious bum jokes ffs.
AngusHibby
07-03-2014, 02:02 PM
If its a Liverpool player they'll get absolutely slated for going to the Sun
07-03-2014, 02:03 PM
Nothing to do with the video just posted, but Ashely Cole is a little cretin. We know you're not gay Ashely, you're just a creep who cheats on his wife and sends pics of yourself naked to random birds. MUCH better :aok:
07-03-2014, 02:03 PM
This is a big story if true. Professional sport is one of the last bulwarks of macho culture. Indeed I can't think of any openly gay players. If Gareth Thomas, the Welsh rugby international, can come out, then surely it can be acceptable to have gay footballers in the twenty-first century. It's a brave move indeed: there will inevitably be the homophobic goading of opposition fans, so let's hope stewards and police are ready for it. A big name footballer who comes out as gay could do a huge amount of good in terms of public attitudes. The days of celebrities/public figures feeling forced to remain in the closet are gone, yet sport hasn't moved on much at all. The guy could be at the forefront of breaking down barriers through his career alone.
If this turns out to be true, I wish the guy well and hope he emerges unscathed from the media hype. One day we'll have a society where gay athletes are no more an issue than gay pop stars, and perhaps we'll point back to this moment as significant.
brian6-2
07-03-2014, 02:09 PM
ive got it on good authority that its jermaine defoe. the guy that told me told me months ago, he also told me months ago he had agreed a deal in the states where it will be accepted better which i laughed off, then about a month later it was confirmed he was moving to toronto.
i know defoe is known as a bit of a f@nny rat but he apparantly hires all sorts of models to pose with him in the papers to keep the attention off him.
boy might be at the wind up but he was right about him moving to the states and he does freelancing work for FHM and four four two.
WestEndHibee
07-03-2014, 02:12 PM
I heard that too about Sterling but IIRC he debunked it as an internet myth and just has one kid.
Second point I couldn't agree more with.
Newry Hibs
07-03-2014, 02:13 PM
Wouldn't happen and if it did he could sue for a hell of a lot more than they offered for the story.
I'm absolutely positive they have done this type of thing before (can't think off hand who). Some of the stories about the press trying to get dodgy photos beggars belief. Maybe in the post Leveson world it has changed.
Also if it's true that Mr X is gay, then they can't sue anyway.
Personally I wish it wasn't an issue, but clearly it is.
07-03-2014, 02:20 PM
Beat me to it.
This is a big story if true. Professional sport is one of the last bulwarks of macho culture. Indeed I can't think of any openly gay players. If Gareth Thomas, the Welsh rugby international, can come out, then surely it can be acceptable to have gay footballers in the twenty-first century. It's a brave move indeed: there will inevitably be the homophobic goading of opposition fans, so let's hope stewards and police are ready for it. A big name footballer who comes out as gay could do a huge amount of good in terms of public attitudes. The days of celebrities/public figures feeling forced to remain in the closet are gone, yet sport hasn't moved on much at all. The guy could be at the forefront of breaking down barriers through his career alone.
If this turns out to be true, I wish the guy well and hope he emerges unscathed from the media hype. One day we'll have a society where gay athletes are no more an issue than gay pop stars, and perhaps we'll point back to this moment as significant.
On the subject of who it actually is, it could be anyone. Kids aren't an indicator as he might be bisexual.
07-03-2014, 02:25 PM
He's not an England player mate.
think he meant Ben Doon? :-)
07-03-2014, 02:30 PM
On the subject of who it actually is, it could be anyone. Kids aren't an indicator as he might be bisexual.
Except he'd be coming out as bisexual in that case, and not gay...
07-03-2014, 02:36 PM
They care.
The Tubs
07-03-2014, 02:39 PM
If countless gay comedians can make a career out of it, then I don't know why a few jokes on here can make any difference.
Unlike racism, which subjugated sets of people on the basis of skin colour, gay humour allows us to laugh at human functions and the idiosyncrasies of desire.
WestEndHibee
07-03-2014, 02:39 PM
think he meant Ben Doon? :-)
never heard of him either. I don't think he has played for England.
Except he'd be coming out as bisexual in that case, and not gay...
According to 99% of the papers, bisexual Tom Daley came out as gay.
Probably a better headline.
07-03-2014, 02:52 PM
There are many gay players in our game and it's sad they can't come out. I know of one and sure it will come out eventually. Not a high profile player as such but played in the EPL now plays in the championship.
A lot of players know about it and like most descent people have no issue.
Mikeystewart
07-03-2014, 02:54 PM
ive got it on good authority that its jermaine defoe. the guy that told me told me months ago, he also told me months ago he had agreed a deal in the states where it will be accepted better which i laughed off, then about a month later it was confirmed he was moving to toronto.
i know defoe is known as a bit of a f@nny rat but he apparantly hires all sorts of models to pose with him in the papers to keep the attention off him.
boy might be at the wind up but he was right about him moving to the states and he does freelancing work for FHM and four four two.
The Rumor is the player in question played against Denmark, Defoe was an unused sub. Not doubting your story just making an observation.
Edit: I guess there is no reason for your story to be true and for Defoe to be gay. i.e. Defoe isn't the only one.
If countless gay comedians can make a career out of it, then I don't know why a few jokes on here can make any difference.
Unlike racism, which subjugated sets of people on the basis of skin colour, gay humour allows us to laugh at human functions and the idiosyncrasies of desire.
Black comedians make a living using stereotypes so I don't understand your first point. I'm afraid I couldn't disagree with your last paragraph any more.
MartinfaePorty
07-03-2014, 02:57 PM
Tubs, fair play to you for trying to make a cogent argument for the 'hilarious' comments on this thread, but they prove to me that we're not yet at the stage where something like this is not a big issue or that homosexuality is not stigmatised (perhaps why a number, although would argue not 'countless', comedians make a living out of it). Also, there are still stories about people being beaten up, where their sexual orientation is an issue. When it becomes the case that this is not newsworthy or worth comment on boards such as this, then great, but until then if the story is true then hats off to whoever it is.
brian6-2
07-03-2014, 02:57 PM
The Rumor is the player in question played against Denmark, Defoe was an unused sub. Not doubting your story just making an observation.
Edit: I guess there is no reason for your story to be true and for Defoe to be gay. i.e. Defore isn't the only one.
yeah i seen that, as i said, the boy that told me might be at it, but he's usually spot on.
WestEndHibee
07-03-2014, 03:04 PM
Its not just a few jokes on here though. Its a reaction that too many people have across football.
khib70
07-03-2014, 03:08 PM
Its not just a few jokes on here though. Its a reaction that too many people have across football.
Exactly. This thread is not exactly Hibs.net's finest hour.....
07-03-2014, 03:15 PM
Pat McGroin
07-03-2014, 03:17 PM
To me, the fact that a player coming out is going to be front page news is part of the problem. If a player is gay, hes gay, I dont have a problem with it. But with the papers reacting like "Oh my god '..' is gay wow lets read all about it" to me it makes homosexuality much more of a talking point than it needs to be.
Slightly different but I suppose related in a way is a quote from Morgan Freeman about a 'black history' month
"Mike Wallace: Black history month you find ridiculous. Why?
Morgan Freeman: You’re going to relegate my history to a month?
Mike Wallace: Oh, c’mon.
Morgan Freeman: What do you do with yours? Which month is white history month? Well, c’mon, tell me.
Mike Wallace: I’m Jewish.
Morgan Freeman: OK, which month is Jewish history month?
Mike Wallace: There isn’t one.
Morgan Freeman: Oh, oh. Why not? Do you want one?
Mike Wallace:No.
Morgan Freeman: No, I don’t either. I don’t want a black history month. Black history is American history.
Mike Wallace: How we gonna get rid of racism until…
Morgan Freeman: Stop talking about it. I’m going to stop calling you a white man. And I’m going to ask you to stop calling me a black man. I know you as Mike Wallace. You know me as Morgan Freeman."
Stop speaking about homosexuality as if it is some sort of phenomenon that needs to be discussed with shock when somebody comes out and just shrug our shoulders and say 'fair enough, good on him'
Mr Grieves
07-03-2014, 03:39 PM
:agree: Some of the replies on this thread are an embarrassment.
07-03-2014, 03:42 PM
Face palm at some of these witty jokes. Good on the lad, whomever it is.
Hope it makes a few dinosaurs squirm, but 90% of folk will be fine with it IMO
Chibs
07-03-2014, 03:58 PM
Name them
Fair play to whoever it is no doubt they'll get some abuse at games or on twitter. Big step and hopefully it will lead to other feeling confident enough to come out.
Really is pathetic that things like this are a big deal.
07-03-2014, 04:05 PM
Name them
With a username like that, I'm sure you can work which ones he's talking about by yourself.
07-03-2014, 04:06 PM
Maybe the yams should try to sign him. They need someone who can make a stand.
07-03-2014, 04:09 PM
Does this mean we'll get some BAG's to go with the WAG's?
07-03-2014, 04:11 PM
Indeed. And yet people wonder why such a big deal is made of it.
07-03-2014, 04:23 PM
I couldn't be gay.
Couldn't handle being turned down by men as well as women.
07-03-2014, 04:32 PM
I know a fair few guy people and I spend quite a lot of time with them. As with anyone else, there are those I would consider to be my friends and there are others that I'm not fussed for. I'll often crack gay jokes whether or not I'm in their company, but I can assure you that their's are often more 'offensive' than mine.
I'm certain that many on here say things among their real world friends that they would never set in writing on here - this is certainly the case with me. If that's hypocritical then so be it, however I wouldn't take kindly to being classed a homophobe or a dinosaur if I did post some un-pc comment regarding gays on here. I am neither.
I am regularly faced with jokes about my nationality, my height, my accent, you name it. Are my friends racist, heightist or whatever? No, their simply my friends.
Chibs
07-03-2014, 04:35 PM
With a username like that, I'm sure you can work which ones he's talking about by yourself.
My user name is a joke about myself.
However I do have the ability to write a sentence without missing out.
07-03-2014, 04:37 PM
Does this mean we'll get some BAG's to go with the WAG's?
Suerly has to be HAB's - Husbands and Boyfriends?!
I believe the player in question is going to claim that he isn't actually Gay but he reckons his Boyfriend might be.
Lester B
07-03-2014, 04:38 PM
Oh brilliant. Three pages in and we get the first comment about 'political correctness'. Add in a some of my friends are gay, stir on the word 'gays' as a descriptive term and there we have it; a redundant debate.
Can this thread be closed now? It's going to go nowhere.
Oh brilliant. Three pages in and we get the first comment about 'political correctness'. Add in a some of my friends are gay, stir on the word 'gays' as a descriptive term and there we have it; a redundant debate.
Can this thread be closed now? It's going to go nowhere.It has ..the dug out ..
07-03-2014, 04:46 PM
Can this thread be closed now? It's going to go nowhere.
So you would deny me the right to my opinion? It's okay for people to shout down those making jokes but it doesn't work both ways? Dearie me! I agree, close the thread before you post more crap.
Lester B
07-03-2014, 04:50 PM
So you would deny me the right to my opinion? It's okay for people to shout down those making jokes but it doesn't work both ways? Dearie me! I agree, close the thread before you post more crap.
I don't there's any need for that do you? I disagree with what you wrote. More than happy to debate in a reasonable fashion. Not resort to minor swear words.
07-03-2014, 04:52 PM
Who in the EPL supports Hibs?
07-03-2014, 04:53 PM
I don't there's any need for that do you? I disagree with what you wrote. More than happy to debate in a reasonable fashion. Not resort to minor swear words.
What's there to disagree with? I'm honestly interested.
07-03-2014, 05:17 PM
Well said. :top marks
07-03-2014, 05:34 PM
the big issue with gay footballers is the culture of footballers themselves. Let's face it, footballers get dogs abuse from opposing fans (and quite often their own supporters) no matter what sexuality they are. They are used to being abused from the terraces and it eventually becomes water off a ducks back (although I honestly believe one of the reasons that some players don't make it, is because they don't have the capacity to shrug off the abuse they get when they have a bad game and let it effect their confidence). However the way they are treated by their team-mates and peers is another matter entirely. Telling a bunch of undereducated, overpaid, sexist footballers that you are gay is the problem. There is a very real threat of being bullied and shunned by dressing room culture and also the worry that managers won't want to sign a gay player, either because of their own prejudice or the worry that it might undermine the dressing room moral.
The big problem for gay footballers is other footballers…not the fans.
Lester B
07-03-2014, 06:10 PM
What's there to disagree with? I'm honestly interested.
Peevemor: Firstly my sincere apologies for the post you described as crap. Probably somewhat knee jerk in retrospect by me which is the sort of thing we are both against it seems I hope. I do know what you mean about a certain amount of banter between gay and straight mates. There are some friends you can make certain jokes with and some of the humour of some guys of my acquaintance can be near the knuckle but as you say, as long as both sides are cool with it no problem. A particular gay friend of mine however did tell me that after one night of comments he was seriously offended by a couple of things one of us said; comments weren't in malice or to cause offence but for some people they find it hard after years of neanderthal comments from others to always pass it off as such. We thought all was fair game but sometimes it's more complicated than that. I don't think there is such a thing as PC or non-PC just respect for the individual and their own feelings. A poor but Hibs example is a Jambo mate of mine. If he moans about how bad his team is I sympathise (or try to - it ain't easy) but the first mention of 1902 or 5-1 and he gets it both barrels from me.
I do think that some of the joke names were abysmal on this thread. Equally importantly I didn't find them funny. I don't post often on here but will think twice before doing a reactionary post like that one again.
LB
07-03-2014, 06:27 PM
There are many gay players in our game and it's sad they can't come out. I know of one and sure it will come out eventually. Not a high profile player as such but played in the EPL now plays in the championship.
A lot of players know about it and like most descent people have no issue.
I've never understood why a person's sexuality should condition, in some people's minds, their social status or the regard thy should be held in........
.......same for skin colour...............wouldn't it be hilarious if God was a gay negro,,,,,,,,,,,
07-03-2014, 06:40 PM
I wonder if it's possible that this could be the turning point for gay footballers? Sadly I think not, ridicule and abuse await the guy in football stadiums across the country not to mention social media sites, football forums and the gutter tabloid press.
07-03-2014, 06:43 PM
Peevemor: Firstly my sincere apologies for the post you described as crap. Probably somewhat knee jerk in retrospect by me which is the sort of thing we are both against it seems I hope. I do know what you mean about a certain amount of banter between gay and straight mates. There are some friends you can make certain jokes with and some of the humour of some guys of my acquaintance can be near the knuckle but as you say, as long as both sides are cool with it no problem. A particular gay friend of mine however did tell me that after one night of comments he was seriously offended by a couple of things one of us said; comments weren't in malice or to cause offence but for some people they find it hard after years of neanderthal comments from others to always pass it off as such. We thought all was fair game but sometimes it's more complicated than that. I don't think there is such a thing as PC or non-PC just respect for the individual and their own feelings. A poor but Hibs example is a Jambo mate of mine. If he moans about how bad his team is I sympathise (or try to - it ain't easy) but the first mention of 1902 or 5-1 and he gets it both barrels from me.
I do think that some of the joke names were abysmal on this thread. Equally importantly I didn't find them funny. I don't post often on here but will think twice before doing a reactionary post like that one again.
LB
Apology accepted, even if it wasn't required - my reaction was as jerky kneed as your own. I honestly don't care who's gay - as long as he doesn't play for Hibs (he said in a gruff, booming voice), I'm simply surprised by some of the reactions on here, a male dominated football fans' forum. OK, it's no longer the 70s, but I'm fairly certain people will be making similar crap jokes come 2050.
And my main point was about those without sin casting the first stone....
07-03-2014, 06:45 PM
So this person is Defoe, Sterling and Henderson.
So much pish in this thread.
07-03-2014, 07:04 PM
I've never understood why a person's sexuality should condition, in some people's minds, their social status or the regard thy should be held in........
.......same for skin colour...............wouldn't it be hilarious if God was a gay negro,,,,,,,,,,,
Who??????
07-03-2014, 07:08 PM
A Ugandan one of course :-)
07-03-2014, 07:19 PM
Nonsense rumour spread by attention seeking erse, no truth in it.
08-03-2014, 12:54 AM
I work in an environment where at least 99% of my colleagues are gay. Many of them are real good blokes that I share a lot in common with but a few are absolute dickheads. In other words they're no different to any other fringe group in our society.
Get over it people!
08-03-2014, 09:36 AM
I wonder if it's possible that this could be the turning point for gay footballers? Sadly I think not, ridicule and abuse await the guy in football stadiums across the country not to mention social media sites, football forums and the gutter tabloid press.
Your right he will be ridiculed at stadiums all over the country, but it will be by an increasingly small minority of idiots. The more sportsman who come out as being gay the more normal it will become and will be less of an issue.
08-03-2014, 12:33 PM
The Sun has moved to deny rumours it is about to reveal the first English international gay footballer. Personally, I think it's disgusting that in the 21st century homosexuals still don't feel comfortable enough to come out and admit that they play for England...
08-03-2014, 01:13 PM
If he ever existed.
08-03-2014, 01:16 PM
I work in an environment where at least 99% of my colleagues are gay. Many of them are real good blokes that I share a lot in common with but a few are absolute dickheads. In other words they're no different to any other fringe group in our society.
Get over it people!
At least 99%, really?
08-03-2014, 03:22 PM
At least 99%, really?
Meant to tip 90% but my sausage fingers failed me again.
And yes really 90%!
08-03-2014, 11:53 PM
I work in an environment where at least 99% of my colleagues are gay
Supermarket Sweep cameraman IMO.