View Full Version : EEN front page: pervert back in Scottish football
The Gorf
06-03-2014, 03:01 PM
Looks like the perv is back playing for Arniston Rangers.:confused:
Sorry, should have said it was Craig Thompson.
So it was the convicted sex offender they continued to employ, not the convicted sex offending "hero" who was "tricked".
...they sold their soul in more ways than one.
06-03-2014, 04:42 PM
So he'd be playing with the juniors?
Best if i say no more............
craigmounthibby
06-03-2014, 06:11 PM
Best if i say no more............
06-03-2014, 07:20 PM
Think yous should give it a break.
What he did was wrong. But he's a young lad who has paid a price.
This goes beyond fitba.
06-03-2014, 07:37 PM
Which jambo pervert Craig Thompson is it?
06-03-2014, 07:43 PM
This goes beyond fitba.
First time I've agreed with you.
Shame on the Evening News
06-03-2014, 07:56 PM
This goes beyond fitba.
And what about the price his victims paid / are continuing to pay?
Weren't they young people? (far far younger people too) He knew exactly how old they were. Are they just supposed to say oh well he was young, we shouldn't be too hard on him for abusing his celebrity and blighting our lives?
Are they supposed to just accept that his apologists will minimise the crime and blacken their names and reputations because it ruined a promising football career.
Would anybody be going on like this about career's ruined etc if he were a plumber, civil servant, whatever, would they ****? He would be castigated for what he was and is.
With respect if you don't know the victims, don't pontificate. You have no idea what their lives are like.
You are correct it goes way beyond football and people like him should never be allowed to forget what they did or be forgiven for it.
It should also be brought up whenever possible so people know what's living amongst them.
Its noticeable that when the Cypriots found out what he was they bumped him double quick.
That's exactly the way people like that should be treated.
There are some crimes that are beyond redemption, abusing children in whatever form it takes is definitely one of them
Weren't they young people? (far far younger people too) He knew exactly how old they were. Are they just supposed to say oh well he was young, we shouldn't be too hard on him for abusing his celebrity and blighting our lives?
Are they supposed to just accept that his apologists will minimise the crime and blacken their names and reputations because it ruined a promising football career.
Would anybody be going on like this about career's ruined etc if he were a plumber, civil servant, whatever, would they ****? He would be castigated for what he was and is.
With respect if you don't know the victims, don't pontificate. You have no idea what their lives are like.
You are correct it goes way beyond football and people like him should never be allowed to forget what they did or be forgiven for it.
It should also be brought up whenever possible so people know what's living amongst them.
Its noticeable that when the Cypriots found out what he was they bumped him double quick.
There are some crimes that are beyond redemption, abusing children in whatever form it takes is definitely one of them
I couldn't agree more :top marks
AltheHibby
06-03-2014, 08:27 PM
What he did was wrong and the court has punished him. Lets leave it at that and kill the thread please admins.
06-03-2014, 08:31 PM
Absolutely spot on.
06-03-2014, 08:33 PM
What he did was wrong and the court has punished him. Lets leave it at that and kill the thread please admins.
Behave, if people want to comment on it let them
A few posts and your running the show
06-03-2014, 08:41 PM
This goes beyond fitba.
No chance, the more people that know about these sick perverted guys the better
06-03-2014, 09:08 PM
And suspected ones would be escorted along
Jesus f****** Christ.
06-03-2014, 09:19 PM
Best if i say no more............Aye, the ones in the swing park :agree:
http://i59.tinypic.com/2qc4h7p.png
06-03-2014, 09:28 PM
You are joking right?
The guy is a convicted peadophille....and in my world he would be hung in parliament square... And suspected ones would be escorted along,and told if you do that ****...you'll be next
It's a disease.....and so ******g wrong in anyone's book!
Playing Devil's Advocate here.
If it is, as you claim, a disease, would it not be better for society if you kept such people alive to find out what causes the disease, thereby giving a better chance of finding a cure?
06-03-2014, 09:42 PM
You'd think by now the guy would give up in football
06-03-2014, 09:50 PM
Sneaky little creep so he is
hibeemikey21
06-03-2014, 09:51 PM
You'd think by now the guy would give up in football
The juniors is a rough enough league as it is, let alone when you are an ex-SPL convicted sex offender!
Few dull ones coming his way!
06-03-2014, 10:22 PM
There has to be shades of grey.
Purple & Green
06-03-2014, 11:39 PM
There has to be shades of grey.
He's been hawked around the juniors, he's clearly a player with a level of ability far higher than the juniors.
Where do you start?
My laddie plays age group for Arniston, they are working towards or have community club status, so I'd guess that this kind of thing will go down a bomb - spectacular own goal from the news here as that was the angle for the story.
I do kind of agree that he's been convicted, and should be rehabilitated, but I'd feel differently if he had messed with my 12 year old daughter.
Someone has placed this in the Evening News - maybe for cash - but clearly with an agenda.
07-03-2014, 07:18 AM
You have to wonder what this story had to do with football. If the guy worked as a tire fitter it's most unlikely that it would make the news. One for the Holy Ground IMO.
Then again, noting some of the comments on here, and the number of people defending him on Kickback, maybe this story does tell us a lot about football.
One post on KB in particular makes me wonder. Basically they ask why is the story about ex Hearts player Thomson, and not about Hibs fan Thomson?
What all this suggests to me is that football attracts some nasty, sick, twisted people. People that see everything from the perspective of their own team. If its Hibs it's right, if its Hearts it's wrong. And vice versa.
This leads to a whole load of crocodile tears from people that don't care about the victims but just want to vent their spleen on their enemy of choice.
For paedophile, read Jew, Homosexual, or Witch. It doesn't really matter, as long as people ave something that covers up their own failings and makes them appear righteous.
What he did was wrong. To suggest he should be treated the same as Hindley and Brady - which is basically the same as saying they should all be treated the same - just belies a blood lust in society. No wonder the papers put it on their front page.
Comparing someone that sends a picture of his tadger to a pubescent girl to someone that rapes and murders babies suggests that whoever is doing it doesn't understand what they are talking about.
AltheHibby
07-03-2014, 08:23 AM
Not trying to run the show, more appealing for a bit decency. I actually know someone with a similar conviction. Left alone after being released he has apologised to his victim, rebuilt his life and both are doing well.
I repeat, what he did was wrong.
number 27
07-03-2014, 10:04 AM
You have to wonder what this story had to do with football. If the guy worked as a tire fitter it's most unlikely that it would make the news. One for the Holy Ground IMO.
Then again, noting some of the comments on here, and the number of people defending him on Kickback, maybe this story does tell us a lot about football.
One post on KB in particular makes me wonder. Basically they ask why is the story about ex Hearts player Thomson, and not about Hibs fan Thomson?
What all this suggests to me is that football attracts some nasty, sick, twisted people. People that see everything from the perspective of their own team. If its Hibs it's right, if its Hearts it's wrong. And vice versa.
This leads to a whole load of crocodile tears from people that don't care about the victims but just want to vent their spleen on their enemy of choice.
For paedophile, read Jew, Homosexual, or Witch. It doesn't really matter, as long as people ave something that covers up their own failings and makes them appear righteous.
What he did was wrong. To suggest he should be treated the same as Hindley and Brady - which is basically the same as saying they should all be treated the same - just belies a blood lust in society. No wonder the papers put it on their front page.
Comparing someone that sends a picture of his tadger to a pubescent girl to someone that rapes and murders babies suggests that whoever is doing it doesn't understand what they are talking about.
That really is an excellent post.
07-03-2014, 10:18 AM
Totally agree with you. Very well said. What the guy did makes my skin crawl, but these distressing cases must be discussed within a sane public debate.
07-03-2014, 10:39 AM
You will note that I don't subscribe to the hang them and flog them theory and get fully that there are different levels of abuse.
I do however think they need to be held accountable for their actions both then and now and so forgive me if I don't shed the crocodile tears for the perpetrator that many do.
It is a fact that all journeys start with a first step, for many paedophiles doing what he did is that first step, whether he will take any further steps I wouldn't know, the fact that he did though take that step, by definition marks him as a threat to children and the law, not my opinion or anyone else's, dictates what has happened to him from a child protection standpoint.
Like any sportsman he is a marketable commodity and his actions have removed his marketability and he has been dumped by his employers, this isn't the victims fault, they didn't make it happen, his employers dispensed with his services as he was harming them commercially, not for any altruistic reasons.
The fact for sports people / celebrities or whatever is that they are lauded for their achievements or even their celebrity and prosper from this, its hardly a surprise that when they fall from the light their discretions are similarly reported, I cant personally see why they or anyone else should expect anything different?
I also think that people have a right to know who or what is living amongst them and that they can take, within the law, the steps they deem appropriate to protect their children accordingly.
This to me has nothing about football and I had hoped I had made that clear?
If society cant protect its vulnerable then it is failing, if that means that those that prey on the vulnerable are judged more harshly than other criminals, then that is absolutely fine by me.
I probably come at this from a different perspective as I know more about this particular case than many, the great irony for me is that folk are queuing up to feel sorry for the perpetrator, but that sympathy seems to be strangely absent for the victims.
Just so as we are all clear, he broke the law knowing full well how old they were, they did nothing wrong.
Maybe time to re-assess you priorities in the hard done by stakes?
07-03-2014, 10:51 AM
I don't recognise the comparisons that you're making there at all.
I'm pretty sure this thread would have appeared on here regardless of which football team Craig Thomson used to play for. To suggest that most Hibs fans are only interested in talking about this because he used to play for Hearts is wrong in my opinion.
The guy's an ex-SPL footballer who seems to be back in football again so of course this news is going to appear on the main board.
If Thomson had played for us, I'm quite certain that people on here would have condemned him in exactly the same way that they have done already.
I can't speak for anyone else but my concern for his victims are certainly not "crocodile tears". What he did may not be on the scale of Myra Hindley or Ian Brady (that's reflected in the fact that he wasn't given a life sentence in prison) but, again, I don't see anyone apart from yourself making any sort of comparison between Thomson and these two individuals.
I think the way you've described his crimes is very dismissive. What he did was not only "wrong", it was a massive abuse of trust in that he was a friend of the family of one of the girls that he had contacted online and he had known her since she was a small child. He knew perfectly well what age they both were at the time and whilst he was only 19 years old himself at the time, there is a huge difference between a 19 year old and a 12 or 14 year old.
Being exposed to that sort of content, at that age, can leave a lasting impression on those people who are affected and who knows how that will affect those girls when they're older in their own relationships.
Somehow I don't think you would be coming out with the above if those girls had been your daughter or niece etc.
07-03-2014, 10:56 AM
I think the way you've described his crimes is very dismissive. What he did was not only "wrong", it was a massive abuse of trust in that he was a friend of the family of one of the girls that he had contacted online and he had known her since she was a small child. He knew perfectly well what age they both were at the time and whilst he was only 19 years old himself at the time, there is a huge difference between a 19 year old and a 12 or 14 year old.
Being exposed to that sort of content, at that age, can leave a lasting impression on those people who are affected and who knows how that will affect those girls when they're older in their own relationships.
Somehow I don't think you would be coming out with the above if those girls had been your daughter or niece etc.
100% correct in content and absolutely bang on in comment :top marks
07-03-2014, 11:10 AM
Firstly, I'm talking about what I've read elsewhere on the Internet as well.
That said, there is at least one post on this thread that, more or less, says all sex offenders are the same.
As you say, who knows what effect this man/boys actions have had on the victim. Seems to me that constant discussion of the crime can't help. Sorry if you have expertise in the area of victim support. I don't.
Finally, if I was related to the victim I would hardly be in a position to make balanced decisions about the crime. When something bad happens, people sometimes need protected from themselves.
07-03-2014, 11:20 AM
Maybe time to re-assess you priorities in the hard done by stakes?
I'm not really trying to defend anybody. I'm commenting on how bizarre it is that people link all this to football.
I think from a child protection issue, we are getting it wrong if we apply the same remedies to every crime. It is a waste of resources that probably makes it easier for the hard core criminals to escape justice.
There has to be a bit of common sense. This blanket approach just doesn't work, and gives licence to the more hysterical, and plain bad, in our society to act in ways that otherwise wouldn't be acceptable.
At its most extreme, is a 16 year old boy a paedophile if he has sex with a 15 years and 364 days old girl? According to the law yes.
But people don't all mature at the same rate. It's the definition if what is a child, and when we take responsibility for our actions that is most difficult IMO.
07-03-2014, 11:22 AM
No chance, the more people that know about these sick perverted guys the better
That's why they introduced Megin s Law . But have no wish to comment further on him .
07-03-2014, 11:26 AM
Behave, if people want to comment on it let them
A few posts and your running the show
Harsh he is hardly running the show as Admins haven't closed the thread down:wink:
AltheHibby
07-03-2014, 02:22 PM
Thanks, i think, ronnie! The thread has changed to debate and away from wanting to remove his bits with a rusty knife. That'll do me.
Rehabilitation for the criminal and support for the victim is, like it or not, the way a civilised country should move forward. In the case of the guy i know, it worked and he is now married to a wonderful woman who knows his past and was herself abused as a child.
The Gorf
07-03-2014, 02:22 PM
Sorry admins. I did try to delete this thread but failed miserably.:rolleyes:
07-03-2014, 02:35 PM
Sorry admins. I did try to delete this thread but failed miserably.:rolleyes:
So far some really interesting points being made so why delete it? It might be better placed on one of the other boards but thus far it reflects the spectrum of views we would typically find across a cross section of society. Unless it gets out of hand, just let it be.
Agree. There are couple of other threads on this board that need deleted before this one IMO.
hibbill2002
07-03-2014, 02:56 PM
I don't recognise the comparisons that you're making there at all.
I'm pretty sure this thread would have appeared on here regardless of which football team Craig Thomson used to play for. To suggest that most Hibs fans are only interested in talking about this because he used to play for Hearts is wrong in my opinion.
The guy's an ex-SPL footballer who seems to be back in football again so of course this news is going to appear on the main board.
If Thomson had played for us, I'm quite certain that people on here would have condemned him in exactly the same way that they have done already.
I can't speak for anyone else but my concern for his victims are certainly not "crocodile tears". What he did may not be on the scale of Myra Hindley or Ian Brady (that's reflected in the fact that he wasn't given a life sentence in prison) but, again, I don't see anyone apart from yourself making any sort of comparison between Thomson and these two individuals.
07-03-2014, 06:36 PM
I actually agree with the point I think you're trying to make, but the bit in bold is a bit unfortunate. Giving someone a hard time for being Jewish or gay is a lot different to giving someone a hard time for being a peadophile, relatively minor degree of paedo-ing or no.
07-03-2014, 07:39 PM
I actually agree with the point I think you're trying to make, but the bit in bold is a bit unfortunate. Giving someone a hard time for being Jewish or gay is a lot different to giving someone a hard time for being a peadophile, relatively minor degree of paedo-ing or no.
Depends on the time and the culture what societies choose to vilify. It's the attitude that you can hate something or someone because they are part of a group that is common.
In Tennessee in the 50s you could marry your 14 year old cousin. But if you were black you couldn't sit at the front of the bus; and if you went out with a white lady you could be hanged.
I'm not defending anyone, I'm criticising the attitude that hatred is acceptable if it fits societal norms, or if the victim is part of another tribe.
I'd like to say at this point that the debate on here has been balanced on the whole. Other fans forums are available and some of the stuff I have read has been quite sad.
07-03-2014, 08:24 PM
Thanks, i think, ronnie! The thread has changed to debate and away from wanting to remove his bits with a rusty knife. That'll do me.
Rehabilitation for the criminal and support for the victim is, like it or not, the way a civilised country should move forward. In the case of the guy i know, it worked and he is now married to a wonderful woman who knows his past and was herself abused as a child.
Seems fair enough. We don't want lynch mobs in this country. Let him who is without sin.....
07-03-2014, 10:10 PM
Seems fair enough. We don't want lynch mobs in this country. Let him who is without sin.....
Let him who is without sin f off and let the rest of us enjoy our weaknesses.:agree:
portycabbage
07-03-2014, 11:11 PM
Depends on the time and the culture what societies choose to vilify. It's the attitude that you can hate something or someone because they are part of a group that is common.
In Tennessee in the 50s you could marry your 14 year old cousin. But if you were black you couldn't sit at the front of the bus; and if you went out with a white lady you could be hanged.
I'm not defending anyone, I'm criticising the attitude that hatred is acceptable if it fits societal norms, or if the victim is part of another tribe.
I'd like to say at this point that the debate on here has been balanced on the whole. Other fans forums are available and some of the stuff I have read has been quite sad.
I don't think negative attitudes to paedophiles can really be compared to tribalism or the peculiarities of individual societies' norms. Tribalism/different norms exist, but that doesn't mean they're all morally equivalent - eg it's reasonable to be uncomfortable about a convicted paedophile being on the same bus as your 12 year old daughter, but not reasonable to be uncomfortable that a black guy is on the same bus (I'm not suggesting anyone on here would say otherwise by the way).
I agree that people do like to have someone to vilify, and often it does make people feel better to look at those whose actions we dislike and label them "animals" or "s**m", as if we're not the same species. But at the same time, people who do what CT did are surely deserving of some vilification. Despite his public profile, and the fact it was a family friend, he wasn't deterred from 'grooming' a 12 year old who he'd known since they were 5. I realise that no-one is defending CT, but it makes me a bit uncomfortable when crimes like his are downplayed. Although his victims may well recover well, they may equally carry it about for the rest of their lives, like a lot of people do when they have childhood traumas. And the recovery of the victim doesn't lessen the wrongness of the crime - I know people through working in care that have recovered in some senses, but have still lost a lot in the process which they can't get back (putting it mildly).
08-03-2014, 07:48 AM
I don't think negative attitudes to paedophiles can really be compared to tribalism or the peculiarities of individual societies' norms. Tribalism/different norms exist, but that doesn't mean they're all morally equivalent - eg it's reasonable to be uncomfortable about a convicted paedophile being on the same bus as your 12 year old daughter, but not reasonable to be uncomfortable that a black guy is on the same bus (I'm not suggesting anyone on here would say otherwise by the way).
I agree that people do like to have someone to vilify, and often it does make people feel better to look at those whose actions we dislike and label them "animals" or "s**m", as if we're not the same species. But at the same time, people who do what CT did are surely deserving of some vilification. Despite his public profile, and the fact it was a family friend, he wasn't deterred from 'grooming' a 12 year old who he'd known since they were 5. I realise that no-one is defending CT, but it makes me a bit uncomfortable when crimes like his are downplayed. Although his victims may well recover well, they may equally carry it about for the rest of their lives, like a lot of people do when they have childhood traumas. And the recovery of the victim doesn't lessen the wrongness of the crime - I know people through working in care that have recovered in some senses, but have still lost a lot in the process which they can't get back (putting it mildly).
I'm not talking about the justification for hating people, I'm talking about the role they fill in society. Namely as the catch all that everyone can agree about.
It would be interesting to try and have this discussion in a pub. The fact is that it's got to the stage you can't discuss these people in anything other than hateful and angry terms. You run the risk of bring branded one yourself.
I can't comment on the Thomson case, other than to wonder how well the girl involved is being served by being constantly reminded of the offence.
It also gets on my nerves how much some people seem to relish talking about it, joking about it and describing the punishments they'd inflict.
The biggest irony is that these people know a paedophile, or there is a kid being abused round the corner from them, and they are none the wiser. The real bad men aren't as daft as to use Facebook, and most people haven't got a clue how to spot an abused child.
The Gorf
08-03-2014, 06:39 PM
Thanks mate, I just didn't want animosity between Hibees.
08-03-2014, 06:53 PM
Thanks mate, I just didn't want animosity between Hibees.
Ha!! You clearly haven't read all the threads on here. :greengrin
It's a mark of this board that we all come from different backgrounds and experiences, with a multitude of perspectives, agendas and opinions. The only common ground is our football team. Therefore of course we're going to fall out and have barneys.
Ya fud :greengrin
09-03-2014, 09:49 PM
Agree with Filled Rolls on most points.
While not defending CT or any paedophile at all, I struggle to understand the need that some people (completely unrelated to the victims) have to shout so loudly from the rooftops about what they'd do to them, what should be done to them (i.e. hanged, genitals removed, bullet to the head, put in a room with the victims family, put on an island...). These people don't seem to be completely 'balanced' to me either tbh.
And as for the "If it was your child..." arguments - it is obvious that if it was your own child you'd have strong views, but that is why we have a justice system to dish out punishments, i.e. to provide some objectivity in the matter.
The above doesn't just apply to this type of crime incidentally, but even in general, there seems to be mass hysteria about every single crime the media choose to run with. Sentences are too short, we should be more like the US (discounting their high violent crime rate), bring back the death sentence etc - people seem to become incredibly emotive about certain incidents that have little or absolutely nothing to do with them, aided by the media stirring it further and putting labels on people such as 'evil', 'monster' and other things to make it clear that these people are not humans just like us (even though they are).