View Full Version : (NHC) Scotland v Nigeria 28th May 2014 Craven Cottage

05-03-2014, 10:51 AM
Not officially confirmed yet, but, should be a fun trip.

05-03-2014, 12:31 PM
Why on earth are they playing at Fulham?

green.and.white
05-03-2014, 12:43 PM
Does it get any more random than that?

Marty-Hibee
05-03-2014, 01:01 PM
That on the Wednesday, Froch v Groves on the Saturday. Anyone know how much 4 nights in London would set you back?

05-03-2014, 01:02 PM

Another London trip doesn't excite me to be honest......Warsaw on the other hand........

05-03-2014, 01:07 PM
Similar capacity as Easter road, but an absolute hole...and in the English capital. What the **** next? Lets play Poland on mars

green.and.white
05-03-2014, 01:15 PM
I'm starting to think they just threw 3 darts at a map to choose who is playing and where :greengrin

05-03-2014, 01:18 PM
Its Nigeria's home game, so, another money spinner for The SFA.

I do enjoy a wee trip down to the gold paved streets tho!

05-03-2014, 01:23 PM
That on the Wednesday, Froch v Groves on the Saturday. Anyone know how much 4 nights in London would set you back?

Depends what sort of digs you want. If you just want somewhere to sleep try accomodation close to the big train stations, you could probably get 4 nights for around £150, the internet is your friend!

05-03-2014, 01:49 PM
Nigeria played a 'home' game there last year, good idea for them in terms of loads of players having a short journey and a large Nigerian presence in the area anyway.

05-03-2014, 02:18 PM
I'm starting to think they just threw 3 darts at a map to choose who is playing and where :greengrin

Hahaha

HibeeEmma
05-03-2014, 02:20 PM

Where would you get tickets, once confirmed?

WestEndHibee
05-03-2014, 02:22 PM

Its more common than you think! I heard that this is how Hibs used to decide Lewis Stevenson's starting position.

05-03-2014, 02:37 PM
Where would you get tickets, once confirmed?

If you are not in the SFA Travel Club then direct from Fulham will be your best bet, it'll be nowhere near a sell out. I got tickets direct from Arsenal when we played Brazil at The Emirates.

HibeeEmma
05-03-2014, 02:39 PM
Great, thanks!

05-03-2014, 03:05 PM
While a bit random that is fantastic for me!

05-03-2014, 03:24 PM
While a bit random that is fantastic for me!

Free accommodation at Haymaker's :greengrin

05-03-2014, 03:27 PM
Someone change the thread title to Nigeria v Scotland before everyone has a meltdown...

green.and.white
05-03-2014, 03:31 PM
Its more common than you think! I heard that this is how Hibs used to decide Lewis Stevenson's starting position.

And today Lewis you will be playing... *covers eyes and throws dart*..... at right back :greengrin

05-03-2014, 03:35 PM
Free accommodation at Haymaker's :greengrin

If you're buying a round aye! :greengrin

05-03-2014, 03:37 PM
If you're buying a round aye! :greengrin

Nah you're alright ;-)

05-03-2014, 03:39 PM
Nah you're alright ;-)

Aye, a hotel room for the weekend is probably cheaper than a round in West London!

brian6-2
05-03-2014, 03:44 PM
rubbish that its midweek, would have been up for this if it was a sat/sun.

06-03-2014, 01:37 AM

It is.

Except it's one of those spinning things you get at the circus. Big Mo goes up and spins it while all the players give a wee drum roll. TB then hurls a javelin sized dart from one end of East Mains to the board on the other

06-03-2014, 02:32 AM
Depends what sort of digs you want. If you just want somewhere to sleep try accomodation close to the big train stations, you could probably get 4 nights for around £150, the internet is your friend!

Would it be cheaper to live in a hotel in London than have a house there?

sven nil
06-03-2014, 07:32 AM
If you are not in the SFA Travel Club then direct from Fulham will be your best bet, it'll be nowhere near a sell out. I got tickets direct from Arsenal when we played Brazil at The Emirates. I think it will be a sell out , 1 million Nigerians in london ,2.5 million in England And we would want 12,000 at least ,move it to the Emmerites

06-03-2014, 07:56 AM

I've often wondered that myself :greengrin

Trying to convince the 3 Nigerians in the office to go along to this - will definitely be trying to get a ticket and head into the City for it! :thumbsup:

06-03-2014, 11:33 AM
I think it will be a sell out , 1 million Nigerians in london ,2.5 million in England And we would want 12,000 at least ,move it to the Emmerites

They've played a game there before and not many turned up.

06-03-2014, 11:36 AM
Nigeria played a 'home' game there last year, good idea for them in terms of loads of players having a short journey and a large Nigerian presence in the area anyway.

By that rationale, Poland may as well play their home games at our place!

07-03-2014, 12:47 PM
Match now confirmed.

07-03-2014, 01:02 PM
Seen enough Nigerians to last me more than one life thanks. I will miss this one :greengrin

07-03-2014, 01:28 PM
Similar capacity as Easter road, but an absolute hole...and in the English capital. What the **** next? Lets play Poland on mars

London isn't very English. it's the least English city in England.

it's a great place for international games for almost any country as there's an expat community for everywhere here.

There are over 200 000 Scottish people in London, it's not far off being Scotland's 3rd biggest city.

brian6-2
07-03-2014, 03:19 PM
Match now confirmed.

whats the date? is it midweek?

07-03-2014, 05:02 PM

There was a study recently done by some guy who worked out it was actually cheaper per month to rent a flat in Barcelona, commute to London everyday then fly back home than rent a flat in London the whole month, Madness!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2477291/London-rents-high-cheaper-live-BARCELONA-commute-heres-.html

07-03-2014, 07:33 PM
Nice ground with loads of good pubs nearby. Perfect fit for me although not sure why the SFA would pick it

07-03-2014, 07:36 PM
Nice ground with loads of good pubs nearby. Perfect fit for me although not sure why the SFA would pick it

I think its Nigeria's home game

07-03-2014, 07:59 PM
I think its Nigeria's home game

Yep, going to guess that most of Nigerias team will be Europe based sp will be easiet/cheaper!

08-03-2014, 09:11 AM
Delighted it's just up the road for me, I'll be there hail hail

08-03-2014, 01:55 PM
EC Rewards points used to pay for the train, happy days.

21-03-2014, 01:21 PM
Public Sale of tickets via Fulham started today, ticket secured in the Scotland end.

Off the bar
21-03-2014, 01:56 PM
Public Sale of tickets via Fulham started today, ticket secured in the Scotland end.

thanks for the heads up! 3 tickets secured in the Hammersmith end! where you sitting Hutchy?

21-03-2014, 02:10 PM
I'm in section H2 in the same end as you

Off the bar
21-03-2014, 02:14 PM
I'm in section H2 in the same end as you

we're H7, looking forward to this one, never been to Craven Cottage before

21-03-2014, 02:19 PM
Its another one to tick off the list for me too.

HibeeEmma
21-03-2014, 02:39 PM
Seen enough Nigerians to last me more than one life thanks. I will miss this one :greengrin

You would think it would apply to me too

Likewise and fyi I also live next to Hoxton :hmmm:

tartanhibee
21-03-2014, 02:44 PM
Are these tickets through the SSC or from Fulham?

I got 2 this morning from the SSC but wasn't able to pick seat or section.

Off the bar
21-03-2014, 02:45 PM
You would think it would apply to me too

Likewise and fyi I also live next to Hoxton :hmmm:

I'm not living in Hoxton anymore (too expensive) still got the studio here though, you can see my Scotland and Hibs scarves pinned to the wall through the window if you're walking past the buidling!

Off the bar
21-03-2014, 02:46 PM

through the Fulham website, big sections where blocked booked so I'd guess that's the SSC allocation, all good seats before you start to worry!

tartanhibee
21-03-2014, 02:49 PM
That cool, that's good that there selling tickets at either side so all Scotland fans can be together.

London Hibs FC
21-03-2014, 05:39 PM

Cheers Kiddo, tickets secured :aok:

21-03-2014, 05:47 PM
Nae bother! The more the merrier.

21-03-2014, 06:07 PM

I got mine today through the SSC, also my mate popped into Fulham and bought six today, ( lives next door to it).

21-03-2014, 08:27 PM
Never tick it off, some of us have played there :wink:

22-03-2014, 11:48 AM
Tickets in the Hammersmith end! First Scotland game for me.

22-03-2014, 01:25 PM

its a Scotland away game , nobody sits where they're supposed to

25-03-2014, 10:55 AM
Ticket arrived this morning, in fact two arrived for the same seat!

Off the bar
27-03-2014, 11:00 AM
Ticket arrived this morning, in fact two arrived for the same seat!

my tickets arrived yesterday, and like you I've got 2 tickets for each seat!

anyone else who ordered through Fulham get duplicates?

27-03-2014, 12:07 PM

Yep! Ordered 4, got 8!

28-03-2014, 02:10 AM
Bought 6 via Fulham today hoping to get 4/5 tomorrow through SSC memberships as we all have 1point.

Delighted game is in London, May weather is normally great down here plus London only 70miles up the road.
5 the Rangers, 2 Celtic, 1 Hearts & 2 Hibs in our group, the banter is always top notch following Scotland. By the time the game happens 6 of them will be supporting teams in the Championship haha
Q. Where will the bulk of the TA drink? Kings road, covent garden, trafalquar square, other?

HibeeEmma
28-03-2014, 06:57 AM

I also got 2 for each seat

28-03-2014, 08:26 AM
Bought 6 via Fulham today hoping to get 4/5 tomorrow through SSC memberships as we all have 1point.

Delighted game is in London, May weather is normally great down here plus London only 70miles up the road.
5 the Rangers, 2 Celtic, 1 Hearts & 2 Hibs in our group, the banter is always top notch following Scotland. By the time the game happens 6 of them will be supporting teams in the Championship haha
Q. Where will the bulk of the TA drink? Kings road, covent garden, trafalquar square, other?

Putney Bridge area seems to be popular on the TAMB board.

28-03-2014, 04:10 PM
Putney Bridge area seems to be popular on the TAMB board.

Thanks, I'll keep an eye on the tamb for updates looking forward I an afternoon in London on the beer

28-03-2014, 04:14 PM
I may well have a spare ticket for this game if anyone needs one :thumbsup:

Off the bar
28-03-2014, 04:19 PM
For anyone who got duplicate tickets I checked with Fulham what the story was and they said;

Hi Gerry,

Thanks for your email..

I’ve checked with our Ticket Office and they have asked that you please use the set of tickets with the higher numbered barcode.

Apologies for any confusion caused and the spare tickets can be disposed of.

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kindest regards,
Nicola

28-03-2014, 05:55 PM
Sell the ticket with the low number on then? ;-)

Off the bar
28-03-2014, 05:57 PM
Sell the ticket with the low number on then? ;-)

then make sure you get in early! Possession being nine tenths and all that!

EH54
23-04-2014, 10:06 AM
How is everyone traveling down? Im leaving from Glasgow Central at 5:50 and on the midnight megabus back which should be fun

23-04-2014, 10:43 AM

is it for the Scotland section or bought from the Fulham site ?

23-04-2014, 01:48 PM
How is everyone traveling down? Im leaving from Glasgow Central at 5:50 and on the midnight megabus back which should be fun

OFT, I've done the bus before. Good luck :)
Hope your no on the one that takes 14 hours.

EH54
23-04-2014, 02:01 PM
OFT, I've done the bus before. Good luck :)
Hope your no on the one that takes 14 hours.

8 and a half hours which at 12:00 at night and half p**ed it shouldn't be too bad, hopefully

23-04-2014, 07:59 PM
8 and a half hours which at 12:00 at night and half p**ed it shouldn't be too bad, hopefully

Nah, you'll be laughing. Would imagine the bus will be full of drunken Scotsman. Should be a good laugh :aok:.

23-04-2014, 08:22 PM

If it's in the Scotland end, paint me interested...

Putney has quite a few good pubs, is a nice area and is proximate to the ground. 10 minutes (if that) on the train from London Waterloo or just along the Circle/District lines towards Wimbledon (to Putney Station, rather than Putney Bridge (as there's not much in Putney Bridge itself).

24-04-2014, 07:00 AM
Going on The Loony Alba pre-match riverboat disco which should be a bit different.

EH54
24-04-2014, 07:59 AM
Going on The Loony Alba pre-match riverboat disco which should be a bit different.

Was thinking about doing this but by the time i decided to go it was sold out, got other plans now but would have been a fun trip,

25-04-2014, 05:27 AM
On the 10:55 from Chippenham to Paddington, then District line West bound to Putney Bridge.

Quick walk over the bridge to Putney and we are in a Business.

A few cool ciders on the Thames in late May, what's not to like about that?

25-04-2014, 07:24 AM
If anyone has a couple of spare tickets for the Germany away game in September, please keep me in mind :wink:

John_HFC
17-05-2014, 03:16 PM
I have a spare in Scotland end. PM me if interested.

CalgaryHibs
18-05-2014, 12:03 PM

Lol
This is probally true mate lol
SFA are f ,,,,, joke at times

19-05-2014, 07:10 AM
I have a spare in Scotland end. PM me if interested.

For Nigeria or Germany?

edit - don't think Germany tickets on sale yet so most like a stupid question by me!

HarpyHibby
19-05-2014, 11:07 AM
I'm needing to get rid of my ticket as well. Exam timetable was released last week and I have two exams on the 30th so not a chance I'll be going down.

£25 o.n.o

27-05-2014, 10:53 AM
Just arrived at KX cannae get myself up for this whatsover!

27-05-2014, 11:35 AM
Where's the pre match booze up?

27-05-2014, 11:53 AM
Loony Alba boat trip pre-match for me, not impressed with the weather though!

27-05-2014, 01:40 PM
Just arrived at KX cannae get myself up for this whatsover!
Was thinking the same Hutchy after Sundays result.

Come tomorrow after a couple o pints and the announcement that Butchers away I'll be ready for the sing song :saltireflag

27-05-2014, 03:53 PM
National crime agency are looking into match fixing into the game tomorrow :confused:

27-05-2014, 04:10 PM
Who's getting backed? ;-)

CyberSauzee
27-05-2014, 04:14 PM
Loony Alba boat trip pre-match for me, not impressed with the weather though!

Indeed HH. It's a bit dreich doon here. Can just make out the Millennium Wheel from my desk at the moment. Can't see the Gherkin, the Walkie Talkie or anything else behind it.

27-05-2014, 04:19 PM
National crime agency are looking into match fixing into the game tomorrow :confused:

"Unusual betting patterns " apparently...

Someone must have put a bet on Scotland to win!

I work in London, but have had to go to Leeds today!

Should be back in time for the game though..

27-05-2014, 06:08 PM
I wonder if Petrie will turn up at this game in his SFA (freeloading) role? Love to stumble across him in London tomorrow night.

28-05-2014, 02:52 PM
Leaving in an hour, a few :cheers: on the train and a couple somewhere near the ground. Not the best weather but who cares! :agree: