View Full Version : Watching Poland vs Scotland.

hibby rae
04-03-2014, 06:40 PM
Apologies if already posted but I notice the game isn't on the tv tomorrow. Instead it's streaming free on the Daily Record website. Apparently no registration needed though so that's good. I just really hope they don't use their own 'journalists' as pundits!

04-03-2014, 10:00 PM
Think I might boycott this one.

04-03-2014, 10:40 PM
Seriously, is this not on the telly at all?

04-03-2014, 10:49 PM

No. Thank god.

05-03-2014, 12:57 AM
No. Thank god.

Scotland are a decent team to watch these days and have improved tenfold since Strachens came In. I for one find watching a Scotland game a breath of fresh air from a Hibs game in recent times.

Nevi_SOL
05-03-2014, 07:06 AM
Peter Martin and Alan Rough commentating.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/watch-poland-v-scotland-free-3168419

hibby rae
05-03-2014, 07:39 AM

Apparently it was originally going to be pay per view. So at least it's free! Alan Rough will be fine. Thank Christ they didn't get Ewan Cameron!

05-03-2014, 07:54 AM
I'm going along to watch Scotland v Switzerland under 19's this afternoon. I'm hoping Jason Cummings gets to play a part

05-03-2014, 08:10 AM
Going to make a point of watching this on a stream site rather than the DR.

cwilliamson85
05-03-2014, 08:54 AM
Do you think this will work on an ipad (other tablet devices are available)?

05-03-2014, 09:14 AM
Do you think this will work on an ipad (other tablet devices are available)?

It says its available on all devices

andyg
05-03-2014, 10:45 AM
It says you can watch it on the big screen through your ipad how would that work?

05-03-2014, 11:10 AM
If online, do I have to watch it on a Windows PC or is it on any machine?

I realise us non-Windows users are a small percentage of the PC/Laptop world but it irritates me when proprietary Windows Software is chosen for no good reason.

Rant over, and breathe.............. :greengrin

EDIT: It doesn't matter, it's ony available online in the UK. I"ll need to find some other way to watch it.
---FWIW, it only mentions having an updated version of Flash, so should be available on Mac/Linux machines

05-03-2014, 11:20 AM
I think it's a pretty decent offer by the DR, the TV is garbage otherwise and STV mercifully not showing the england game.

Lendo
05-03-2014, 11:30 AM
Does anyone know if any of the Leith pubs will be streaming the game?

Joe Baker II
05-03-2014, 01:21 PM
Similarly, are any South Edinburgh pubs screening it that anyone aware of?

Godsahibby
05-03-2014, 01:29 PM
Polwarth Tavern are showing the game.

Hanny
05-03-2014, 01:31 PM
Similarly, are any South Edinburgh pubs screening it that anyone aware of?

I believe Swany's on Ratcliffe Terrace is showing it.

WestEndHibee
05-03-2014, 01:39 PM
I believe Swany's on Ratcliffe Terrace is showing it.

Good old Swany's :thumbsup:.

hibby rae
05-03-2014, 01:45 PM

Might be a more attractive option than the flat!

05-03-2014, 01:46 PM
Good old Swany's :thumbsup:.

One of my local bars, The Old Bell is my favourite though :wink:

05-03-2014, 01:54 PM
I believe The Baillie and Broughton St Mathers are showing it.

05-03-2014, 03:19 PM
Is this available outside the UK, the old bell is my favourite pub in the area!

Joe Baker II
05-03-2014, 03:41 PM

Cheers and thanks to Swanny's poster too, think will head to Polwarth.

05-03-2014, 04:08 PM
Peter Martin and Alan Rough commentating.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/watch-poland-v-scotland-free-3168419

Thanks for the link :aok:

Seriously? You'll be able to get it in HD on the Record site (720p 1800kbps) v stutter mode via a dodgy stream. It's not as if the DR are going to be devastated by your absence...or notice even. Sounds like you're cutting off your nose to spite your face.

05-03-2014, 04:29 PM
I wouldnt open my blinds if scotland were playing outside my house.

05-03-2014, 04:51 PM

Thats good to know, thanks.

05-03-2014, 05:01 PM
Thats good to know, thanks.

05-03-2014, 05:05 PM

Why post on this thread if thats how you feel?

andy1875
05-03-2014, 05:15 PM
I just plugged my USB/iphone connection cable into the back of my tv but a message came up saying it didn't support this connection so plan b for me.

Will watch on iPad but would have preferred watching on tv with iphone or iPad connected up.

05-03-2014, 05:17 PM
In all seriousness, think its a bit of a joke the games no on the telly box. England, Wales and Ireland are all on which is fair enough but Spain vs Italy, S.Africa vs Brazil and Germany vs Chile are all on as well.

05-03-2014, 05:17 PM

Thanks for that very enlightening piece of information. We're all very grateful.

05-03-2014, 05:22 PM
Thanks for that very enlightening piece of information. We're all very grateful.

Glad to help cheers

05-03-2014, 05:33 PM
I just plugged my USB/iphone connection cable into the back of my tv but a message came up saying it didn't support this connection so plan b for me.

Will watch on iPad but would have preferred watching on tv with iphone or iPad connected up.

It's a bit late now, but for future reference, you need one of these

http://www.theipadguide.com/devices/apple-digital-av-adapter

andy1875
05-03-2014, 05:42 PM
It's a bit late now, but for future reference, you need one of these

http://www.theipadguide.com/devices/apple-digital-av-adapter

Thanks mate, will look into this for future!:aok:

05-03-2014, 05:42 PM
For anyone else outside UK, bet365 are streaming it

05-03-2014, 05:46 PM
Marshall

Hutton
Martin
Greer :(
Mulgrew

Bannan
Morrison
Brown
Anya

McCormack
Fletcher

05-03-2014, 06:02 PM

Plan B? Cannae see him being involved in the game. ;-)

05-03-2014, 06:10 PM
Marshall

Hutton
Martin
Mulgrew

Bannan
Morrison
Brown
Anya

McCormack
Fletcher

We are really lacking at Centre Half. The rest of the team isn't far off the startin XI v Germany.

Hibs_dot_com
05-03-2014, 06:14 PM
If online, do I have to watch it on a Windows PC or is it on any machine?

I realise us non-Windows users are a small percentage of the PC/Laptop world but it irritates me when proprietary Windows Software is chosen for no good reason.

Rant over, and breathe.............. :greengrin

EDIT: It doesn't matter, it's ony available online in the UK. I"ll need to find some other way to watch it.
---FWIW, it only mentions having an updated version of Flash, so should be available on Mac/Linux machines

Surfeasy VPN app available for ipad. 500 meg free each month. May be enough to watch match. Easy to install and set up for UK IP address. I have used it and it works well :cb

05-03-2014, 06:15 PM
Thanks mate, will look into this for future!:aok:

Search for them on Amazon UK. There are some cheap ones available

05-03-2014, 06:17 PM
Surfeasy VPN app available for ipad. 500 meg free each month. May be enough to watch match. Easy to install and set up for UK IP address. I have used it and it works well :cb

There are various bitrate options for the match on the DR player. Choose a lower bitrate to get under the 500MB limit

05-03-2014, 06:28 PM
Is anyone getting this loop right now

andy1875
05-03-2014, 06:35 PM
Plan B? Cannae see him being involved in the game. ;-)

Haha very good Hutchy.

My stream has frozen 3 or 4 times already.

It's now completely frozen!

05-03-2014, 06:36 PM
Haha very good Hutchy.

My stream has frozen 3 or 4 times already.

It's now completely frozen!

This :(

05-03-2014, 06:39 PM
40,000 attendance expected, that's 40,000 more than will be able to watch the DR stream(full 90 mins)

05-03-2014, 06:39 PM
Smart tvs are the future.

05-03-2014, 06:41 PM
Error message for me. This is what happens when ***** institutions take on tasks they're not equipped for.

05-03-2014, 06:42 PM
Anyone else keep getting so far then it freazing

yeezus.

What site are you watching it on? The Daily Record site isn't loading for me :confused:

Keeps feezing then i get an error message saying stream not found.
Tried it on Opera and IE :rolleyes:

Error:

Chrome

05-03-2014, 06:43 PM
Marshall

Hutton
Martin
Mulgrew

Bannan
Morrison
Brown
Anya

McCormack
Fletcher

Hutton is absolutely dreadful these days, never an Internationalist anymore.

05-03-2014, 06:43 PM
Keeps feezing then i get an error message saying stream not found.
Tried it on Opera and IE :rolleyes:

I'm watching it on Polish tv ;)

semaj64
05-03-2014, 06:44 PM
Error:

Chrome

I get the same message

Greenblood70
05-03-2014, 06:45 PM
Given up trying to watch it on the Daily record site...would freeze after 5 secs then get an error message.

05-03-2014, 06:47 PM
Given up trying to watch it on the Daily record site...would freeze after 5 secs then get an error message.

Aye..., 'tis a dead duck.

NYHibby
05-03-2014, 06:48 PM
The DR's website is working for me. It is just something like 3 minutes behind the radio.

semaj64
05-03-2014, 06:49 PM
Got a picture then froze a bit like some shares

NYHibby
05-03-2014, 06:50 PM
I selected the lowest resolution, 176p. You should try that.

05-03-2014, 06:51 PM
Hutton is absolutely dreadful these days, never an Internationalist anymore.

Think he normally plays well for scotland

How predictable! Radio commentary for me then unless i can find a link.

QMU-1875
Working now

Hovehibby
05-03-2014, 06:53 PM
Think he normally plays well for scotland

Hasn't played for Villa ages and just loaned to Bolton but he starts tonight. Don't we have anyone else to play in his position?

05-03-2014, 06:55 PM
Yarmolenko goal separates Ukraine and the USA at half-time. For anyone interested in any other games you can get streams of Gibraltar v Estonia online, might be worth the watch

semaj64
05-03-2014, 06:55 PM
I selected the lowest resolution, 176p. You should try that.

Cheers seems to work now, just at the anthems!

05-03-2014, 06:56 PM
Cheers seems to work now, just at the anthems!

Same. Crystal clear HD but 10 minutes behind. Now adverts :rolleyes:

coco22
05-03-2014, 06:56 PM
Why did the DR go to bother of advertising their exclusive showing of the game when everybody knew the streaming, if it worked, would be useless at best.

andy1875
05-03-2014, 06:57 PM
Just been kicked of link saying "could not load"

What a waste of time!

cwilliamson85
05-03-2014, 06:57 PM
It's fine on the mirror website :)

semaj64
05-03-2014, 06:59 PM
Well, worked until adverts now back to error.

05-03-2014, 07:01 PM
Jittery nonesense pretty unwatchable stop start bullcrap

Stroking the ball around well so far.

Polish commentary for me but I'm not sure that's a bad thing :greengrin

Seriously? You'll be able to get it in HD on the Record site (720p 1800kbps) v stutter mode via a dodgy stream. It's not as if the DR are going to be devastated by your absence...or notice even. Sounds like you're cutting off your nose to spite your face.

Dodgy streams 1-0 Daily Record

05-03-2014, 07:02 PM
Fed up with it freezin on me - Anyone got a Radio Link !! please.. say no !!! :wink:

yeezus.
05-03-2014, 07:04 PM
Not working for me, every time I refresh it goes back to the 10 minute mark. Radio Scotland for me.

Newcastlehibby
05-03-2014, 07:05 PM
Stroking the ball around well so far.

Polish commentary for me but I'm not sure that's a bad thing :greengrin

Would you be kind enough to enlighten the rest of us how you are managing to watch it on Polish TV. More importantly, can we emulate this feat?

05-03-2014, 07:05 PM
Mines nice and smooth here although in 'foreign' ...excuse my ignorance ;-)

NYHibby
05-03-2014, 07:06 PM
Fed up with it freezin on me - Anyone got a Radio Link !! please.. say no !!! :wink:

Radio
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/21267690

Must say I'm digging that strip....like the blue shorts

Not working for me, every time I refresh it goes back to the 10 minute mark. Radio Scotland for me.

When I clicked on the radio Scotland website - it was playing Music..:greengrin

Juice-Terry
05-03-2014, 07:07 PM
On at The Four in Hand just now. :thumbsup:

05-03-2014, 07:08 PM
Radio
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/21267690

Cheers for that.. :aok: Very Kind of you.. :rolleyes:

05-03-2014, 07:08 PM
Stream just doesn't work. If ever you needed another reason to hate the daily record.

05-03-2014, 07:10 PM
It's fine on the mirror website :)

What mirror site? As in the paper?

05-03-2014, 07:11 PM
Stream just doesn't work. If ever you needed another reason to hate the daily record.

Where there is adversity, may there be laughter ;)

yeezus.
05-03-2014, 07:13 PM
When I clicked on the radio Scotland website - it was playing Music..:greengrin

Aye same here, I went onto Sky and typed in 0116 to get it.

Hibby-Nessie
05-03-2014, 07:14 PM
Daily Mirror web stream works fine

05-03-2014, 07:14 PM
Neither stream working for me. Pathetic that we pay for a BBC licence and can't even watch or national team playing our national game. I now feel soiled visiting two red top websites

05-03-2014, 07:15 PM
Anyone any idea how the games going?

Greenblood70
05-03-2014, 07:16 PM

I didn't but somehow they've managed to increase the contempt I hold them in. Bit of a PR disaster so its not all bad I suppose!:greengrin

05-03-2014, 07:17 PM
Aye same here, I went onto Sky and typed in 0116 to get it.

The Radio link posted just up the page a bit - worked fine for me.. :wink:

yeezus.
05-03-2014, 07:18 PM
The Radio link posted just up the page a bit - worked fine for me.. :wink:

cheers man just saw that :thumbsup:

05-03-2014, 07:18 PM
This actually works - http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/watch-poland-vs-scotland-live-3204266

semaj64
05-03-2014, 07:20 PM
Daily Mirror web stream works fine

Yes got that now DR was stuck on 11 mins when I refreshed, now seems to be working fine

05-03-2014, 07:21 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2612025783/8ggy6hh0x6odyhqxfdpf_bigger.pngPie and Bovril ‏@pieandbov (https://twitter.com/pieandbov) 3m (https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/441306475634233344)
A sneak peak inside the @Daily_Record (https://twitter.com/Daily_Record) Server Room. pic.twitter.com/GzBaathoBs (http://t.co/GzBaathoBs)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bh_V5r1CQAA8_U-.jpg
(https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/441306475634233344/photo/1/large)

05-03-2014, 07:22 PM
My stream was working but now I'm getting error message: Stream for found, when i refresh the webpage it loops the playback of the Poland shot (high and wide).

05-03-2014, 07:24 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/2612025783/8ggy6hh0x6odyhqxfdpf_bigger.pngPie and Bovril ‏@pieandbov (https://twitter.com/pieandbov) 3m (https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/441306475634233344)
A sneak peak inside the @Daily_Record (https://twitter.com/Daily_Record) Server Room. pic.twitter.com/GzBaathoBs (http://t.co/GzBaathoBs)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bh_V5r1CQAA8_U-.jpg
(https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/441306475634233344/photo/1/large)

I Had one of them.. ended up using it for Years - as a doorstopper.. :greengrin

Rocky
05-03-2014, 07:24 PM
This actually works - http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/watch-poland-vs-scotland-live-3204266

The Mirror links to exactly the same URL as the Record so I think it's just luck if you get in. I got a cracking picture for the 90 seconds or so that it actually worked...

semaj64
05-03-2014, 07:25 PM
Giving up even the mirror is freezing now stuck on 16 mins now

higgy0418
05-03-2014, 07:26 PM
went to the u21 game tonight at tannadice. ended up walking away 15 mins after kick off, was probably going to have at least another 20 min wait before i got in. spoke to 1 of 3 stewards that appeared to be on duty outside the stadium, was informed there was only 3 cash gates open and 3 ticket gates. both queues were equally as long. now back in the flat and i cant even watch the big team cause of the Daily Record having a mince stream. SFA have had a shocker

05-03-2014, 07:29 PM
We've looked OK - comfortable in possession and relatively untroubled at the back, though Marshall has made 2 good saves.

Very little opportunities in front of goal sadly and we look a little lightweight against their pretty physical lineup.

In terms of how I'm watching it, VIPs ken' whit's goin' on :greengrin

05-03-2014, 07:29 PM
Tried the Mirror website. Get the game but it plays for about a minute and goes back to 36mins of play. Done it four times now.

I'm conceding defeat and away to watch Coronation Street recorded from earlier.

05-03-2014, 07:32 PM
HT 0-0.

Hutton with a good chance to put us ahead just before half-time but a draw is probably fair based on the opening 45.

05-03-2014, 07:32 PM
Devic makes it 2-0 to Ukraine, experimental USA side were on top and the goal came on the break. Not that anyone is interested :greengrin

gramskiwood
05-03-2014, 07:37 PM
This is working

http://firstrowusa.eu/soccer/first-poland-scotland-row44818b#

05-03-2014, 07:41 PM
I dont know how any of you have........... time4tv :wink:

05-03-2014, 07:41 PM
Dodgy streams 1-0 Daily Record

Gave up on DR and opted for a dodgy stream...not the best quality but smooth and uninterrupted.

Once again, we're miles in front of the Le Vain era...has it really been only a year? Scotland very good in possession and tight in defence. Poland's only efforts on goal have been long range and Marshall did well saving. Hutton wasted our best chance right on HT.

All in all, they've been good to watch, which in itself is a vast improvement over Potters teams

05-03-2014, 07:43 PM
Some of these Polish adverts are ace.

05-03-2014, 07:44 PM
20:36:
If you could see the live photos - we understand a rival site is having problems showing them - you would know why I have a Polish partner. A bevvy of beauties in black lycra are entertaining the crowd with a dance routine in the centre circle that is more entertaining than anything seen so far tonight at Stadion Narodowy.

damn you Daily Record...GTF :boo hoo:

NYHibby
05-03-2014, 07:48 PM
Devic makes it 2-0 to Ukraine, experimental USA side were on top and the goal came on the break. Not that anyone is interested :greengrin

As the token American here, I'm interested.

Our new jerseys are ugly. I miss the Waldo jerseys...

http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/236x/06/de/fc/06defc294292e0bea53af162b56763a8.jpg

05-03-2014, 08:03 PM
As the token American here, I'm interested.

Our new jerseys are ugly. I miss the Waldo jerseys...

http://media-cache-ec0.pinimg.com/236x/06/de/fc/06defc294292e0bea53af162b56763a8.jpg

Love that strip, I've got the centennial jersey on it's way to me as we speak after it eventually became available to buy from UK stockists :cb

Full-time and 2-0 to Ukraine, mostly European based players in the squad and it was a night for Klinnsman to have a serious think about his squad. For me the centre-back pairing wasn't up to scratch, John Brooks of Hertha Berlin is too inexperienced for the World Cup and Oguchi Onyewu is not as good a choice as Omar Gonzalez. He should have been given food for thought from that, some of his questions he asked of the team were not answered and it was not a stellar performance. Gonzalez and Brad Evans for centre-backs I think, although Matt Besler is a good shout too.

05-03-2014, 08:18 PM
1-0 broonaldo :thumbsup:

05-03-2014, 08:19 PM
:thumbsup: 1-0

Broon cracker. 'Mon the jocks

:thumbsup: 1-0

78 mins

05-03-2014, 08:20 PM
Boom, you don't save them, some hit!

05-03-2014, 08:22 PM
there will be many unhappy people in Leith tonight if the result stays like this,or little Warsaw as it is sometimes called

Hero76
05-03-2014, 08:22 PM
Is there highlights on later

05-03-2014, 08:23 PM
1-0 broonaldo :thumbsup:

Spoiled it for the folk watching on the DR website. :bitchy:

05-03-2014, 08:25 PM

It'll be in the paper before the stream catches up :greengrin

05-03-2014, 08:26 PM

05-03-2014, 08:28 PM
Scott Brown MoTM. Great performance

05-03-2014, 08:33 PM
Into 3 mins added time

05-03-2014, 08:34 PM

FT :thumbsup:

05-03-2014, 08:35 PM
FT 0-1, our first win in poland, were you watching craig LeVain

05-03-2014, 08:36 PM

DR site is great if you want to read about what Paul Ferris' nephew is studying at Stevenson College or what his bird eats at Nandos.

05-03-2014, 08:36 PM
Excellent result. Only a friendly, but on the strength of that display, we're going to be the team to beat for 2nd place in the Euro Group

Gordon Strachan :not worth:not worth:not worth

05-03-2014, 08:40 PM
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/73398000/jpg/_73398540_scotsfans.jpg

05-03-2014, 08:41 PM
Cracking group of players we've got now, still maintain it will be difficult to qualify automatically, playoff more likely IMO.

05-03-2014, 08:44 PM
All just shows what a poor manager Levein was. Onwards and up.

05-03-2014, 08:44 PM
We played superbly, Barry Bannan my MOM, onwards and upwards with wee ginger baws :agree:

05-03-2014, 08:45 PM
DR site is great if you want to read about what Paul Ferris' nephew is studying at Stevenson College or what his bird eats at Nandos.

Chicken?

05-03-2014, 08:46 PM
All just shows what a poor manager Levein was. Onwards and up.

Don't worry, he's Hearts problem now which should delight us all 😀

Tinribs
05-03-2014, 08:51 PM
Love Broony in a Hibs/Scotland strip, never understood the hard time he gets here from us tbh.

Met the guy and had a wee chat last year, he is a Hibs man..and quite sweet to boot.

As to the group we have for the Euros, the team under GS is way better than anything since Andy Roxburgh so quite upbeat for it, but Poland in a friendly is dif from hard qualifying matches...so we will see.

05-03-2014, 08:51 PM
Don't worry, he's Hearts problem now which should delight us all 

It does....cannae wait for him to take over. Don't know what he's going to do for players though. Didn't he have a problem with Jordan Rhodes because he was 'only' 22?

btw....will this win take us above Cape Verdi Isles in the FIFA rankings? :greengrin

05-03-2014, 09:27 PM
Good result. But don't think the performance was that great overall.

Nevi_SOL
05-03-2014, 09:34 PM
I think the positive going into the euro now is that we can and have beat them which will only bring better performances

05-03-2014, 09:45 PM
Theyre a different team with Lewandowski and the other fella from Dortmund in there. Still confident of a home win against them though and even sneaking a draw away from home :aok:

06-03-2014, 03:17 AM
Scotland are a decent team to watch these days and have improved tenfold since Strachens came In. I for one find watching a Scotland game a breath of fresh air from a Hibs game in recent times.

This chap knows what he's talking about. Again, we have improved tenfold under Strachen! Onwards and upwards.

06-03-2014, 08:24 AM
Just saw the "highlights" on the DR site - Poland certainly seemed to cause us lots of problems, they were the better, more dynamic, creative team with most of the game's chances, Marshall had a few decent saves - Brown took his goal well. Group game will be different I would imagine; we're a long way from being a decent team on this showing (I only saw the highlights though, perhaps not enough to make a fair assessment)

06-03-2014, 08:30 AM
Just saw the "highlights" on the DR site - Poland certainly seemed to cause us lots of problems, they were the better, more dynamic, creative team with most of the game's chances, Marshall had a few decent saves - Brown took his goal well. Group game will be different I would imagine; we're a long way from being a decent team on this showing (I only saw the highlights though, perhaps not enough to make a fair assessment)

I've looked at the highlights too..three times in fact and every time I watch we seem to score more goals than them. I've checked in my 1953 "Sports for Boys" book and seemingly it's the goals thing that is the whole point of football. Admittedly FIFA might have changed the rules since then, but I'm struggling to find any details of the points you get for dynamism or creativity…are you suggesting there is an artistic impression score as well as goals scored ? I think you might be wrong on this one…are you getting mixed up with ice dancing ?

06-03-2014, 08:40 AM
I've looked at the highlights too..three times in fact and every time I watch we seem to score more goals than them. I've checked in my 1953 "Sports for Boys" book and seemingly it's the goals thing that is the whole point of football. Admittedly FIFA might have changed the rules since then, but I'm struggling to find any details of the points you get for dynamism or creativity…are you suggesting there is an artistic impression score as well as goals scored ? I think you might be wrong on this one…are you getting mixed up with ice dancing ?

Just my opinion like - if you're happy with that fair enough - in a way you're right of course, but a team looking to improve needs to look beyond the score sheet, particularly when it's just a friendly. We'll see just how many goals this lot manage to score in the group stages, when it counts ...

06-03-2014, 08:52 AM
Just my opinion like - if you're happy with that fair enough - in a way you're right of course, but a team looking to improve needs to look beyond the score sheet, particularly when it's just a friendly. We'll see just how many goals this lot manage to score in the group stages, when it counts ...

I was of course being a bit sarcastic, but the thing that Scotland as a National team need the most right now is confidence. We have some quite reasonable players, but very few "stars" if any. If we are going to progress in the qualifiers it will be by grit, determination and teamwork, especially in the away matches. We have definitely progressed under Strachan and in the last year we have put together a string of good results. We are unbeaten in our last 5 matches and have won four of them. Even prior to that, other than a 2-0 defeat to a very good Belgium side we had the terrific performance against England and a 1-0 away win at Croatia. To dismiss this "Big Picture" run of form and watch 3 minutes of highlights and decide that we are "A long way from being a decent team" is in my opinion a little bit naive. There is a tendency amongst football fans my sons age (15) to think that every team need to play like Barcelona or they are rubbish…I think you may be guilty of falling into that trap somewhat.

06-03-2014, 09:04 AM
I was of course being a bit sarcastic, but the thing that Scotland as a National team need the most right now is confidence. We have some quite reasonable players, but very few "stars" if any. If we are going to progress in the qualifiers it will be by grit, determination and teamwork, especially in the away matches. We have definitely progressed under Strachan and in the last year we have put together a string of good results. We are unbeaten in our last 5 matches and have won four of them. Even prior to that, other than a 2-0 defeat to a very good Belgium side we had the terrific performance against England and a 1-0 away win at Croatia. To dismiss this "Big Picture" run of form and watch 3 minutes of highlights and decide that we are "A long way from being a decent team" is in my opinion a little bit naive. There is a tendency amongst football fans my sons age (15) to think that every team need to play like Barcelona or they are rubbish…I think you may be guilty of falling into that trap somewhat.

Some fair points - I did actually write however, that the highlights may not give a fair appraisal of the game (5 minutes only) - I couldn't see the game over here - watched Germany given the runaround by a super Chile side instead -(Chile had loads of dynamism, skill and creativity, but no goals ...) :greengrin

06-03-2014, 10:26 AM
there will be many unhappy people in Leith tonight if the result stays like this,or little Warsaw as it is sometimes called

There'll be a few folk that post on here not happy with a Scotland win last night.

brian6-2
06-03-2014, 10:48 AM
There'll be a few folk that post on here not happy with a Scotland win last night.

very sad, and very true :agree: