View Full Version : Terry Butcher want's to make Easter Road a fortress?

Iain Bradwell
01-03-2014, 02:54 PM
Just watched Terry Butcher's message to the fans on Hibernian TV, Does any body buy into his vision that that's ever going to happen?

01-03-2014, 03:00 PM
Just watched Terry Butcher's message to the fans on Hibernian TV, Does any body buy into his vision that that's ever going to happen?

We've got to buy in to it. What else can we do?:dunno:

Sounds like a good idea, at least we wouldnae be able to get in! :-)

Iain Bradwell
Just wanted an opinion, calm doon.

davidw
What are you hoping for as a reply?

Maybe some guidance on the use of apostrophes?

01-03-2014, 03:02 PM
What are you hoping for as a reply?

LTYF maybe? :greengrin

hibee316
01-03-2014, 03:03 PM

Yea guys, the above responses are way over the top and frankly sickening.

01-03-2014, 03:03 PM
It's already repelling fans

01-03-2014, 03:06 PM
Easter Road is already becoming a fortress. Less and less people are getting in.

01-03-2014, 03:07 PM

I'd rather go over the top with Butcher than you if that attitude is representative of you .

01-03-2014, 03:08 PM

How can your name be an anagram of "the phantom flan flinger"?

01-03-2014, 03:09 PM
Yea guys, the above responses are way over the top and frankly sickening.

The only thing in this thread that is over the top is your reply

01-03-2014, 03:12 PM
A vision will only work if you do buy into it and all pull together in the bad times. Yes we are bad right now. Nothing will change this season.

It's about being patient. Sadly what's happened is we hired bad managers who were given to long. So when we do get a good one he doesn't get time because we're fed up waiting. It's not TB fault. His signings in the summer will decide who it goes! The more season tickets we have the better the budget.

So it's the chance you take. It is dear and the value is poor but I'm going to buy one and back him fully. He's a good manager as he's proved it in this league with ICT.

01-03-2014, 03:14 PM

Whoosh? :greengrin

hibee316
01-03-2014, 03:16 PM

I think we all need to just calm the flip doon.

*sorry for the language*

01-03-2014, 03:20 PM
The only time ER has been a "fortress" was in the Mowbray era. Maybe Collins too. The football we played then is night and day compared to now.

Chibs
01-03-2014, 03:21 PM
Don't know if it will ever be a fortress.
But rest assured Iain it will never become Tescos,flats, or some groundfill site.

01-03-2014, 03:23 PM
Ambition and setting goals. I'd expect nothing less. TB aims to set high standards. So a bit of a moot question.

Sent from my brain via Tapatalk

01-03-2014, 03:25 PM

We could say we're buying into it, and then just not pay. :greengrin

GREEN WARLORD
01-03-2014, 03:27 PM
I buy into it and I think he will make Easter Road a fortress.

Niffy
01-03-2014, 03:32 PM
A fortress ??? It's a sandcastle just now.

01-03-2014, 03:33 PM
If we are going to make ER a fortress, there are some fannies in the crowd that need to stop hurling abuse at the players and start supporting them and stop booing for the sake of it when things are not going our way. But, we need to get things on the park sorred out first.

01-03-2014, 03:33 PM

What are you going to do with it?

01-03-2014, 03:34 PM
If we are going to make ER a fortress, there are some fannies in the crowd that need to stop hurling abuse at the players and start supporting them and stop booing for the sake of it when things are not going our way. But, we need to get things on the park sorred out first.

Correct. They are doing the away fans job for them.

GREEN WARLORD
01-03-2014, 03:35 PM
A fortress ??? It's a sandcastle just now.

That's stating the obvious.

01-03-2014, 03:36 PM

Yup. Malpas needs to calm the F down.

01-03-2014, 03:37 PM
I thought this was going to be a thread about self scanners

I'm still at the ground trying to get in. Have we scored yet?

01-03-2014, 03:38 PM

Thats what the Hearts fans said about Romanov. Nonetheless, Ive got a feeling we could be in for the biggest summer overhaul in a long time.
If we get the right folk in summer we could see a huge surge in interest.

01-03-2014, 03:39 PM
I thought this was going to be a thread about self scanners

I'm still at the ground trying to get in. Have we scored yet?

Wouldn't bother mate.

Section 43 are being a-holes, and as for Hanlon......his dress sense is appalling.

01-03-2014, 03:40 PM

There's a difference between things not going our way and players who just aren't bothered.

Fans boo, because they're paying to watch players who just aren't bothered.

01-03-2014, 03:46 PM
There's a difference between things not going our way and players who just aren't bothered.

Doesn't make us play better though, just worse. Players loose confidence etc. Creates a ***** atmosphere and not a way to make the place a fortress. But as I said, we need players to start performing.

01-03-2014, 03:49 PM
We could say we're buying into it, and then just not pay. :greengrin

Im tending towards paying, and just not forcing myself to watch.

01-03-2014, 03:51 PM
Don't know if it will ever be a fortress.
But rest assured Iain it will never become Tescos,flats, or some groundfill site.

:greengrin:top marks

To answer the op, we won`t know the answer until Butcher has his own team in after the summer.

02-03-2014, 10:31 AM

A fortress it will be. But the drawbridge will be left open.

02-03-2014, 11:40 AM

Who are these players? :confused:

02-03-2014, 11:43 AM
It already is a fortress in that it's designed to keep the fans outside.

02-03-2014, 11:47 AM
A vision will only work if you do buy into it and all pull together in the bad times. Yes we are bad right now. Nothing will change this season.

It's about being patient. Sadly what's happened is we hired bad managers who were given to long. So when we do get a good one he doesn't get time because we're fed up waiting. It's not TB fault. His signings in the summer will decide who it goes! The more season tickets we have the better the budget.

So it's the chance you take. It is dear and the value is poor but I'm going to buy one and back him fully. He's a good manager as he's proved it in this league with ICT.

Wish this had a 'like' button!

HiBremian
02-03-2014, 12:07 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Battle_of_Fort_Eben-Emael (http://Terry Butcher want's to make Easter Road a fortress?)

Fortresses aren't necessarily what it says on the tin. :cb

02-03-2014, 07:19 PM
If we lie down any easier, we could always go for making it a mattress?

02-03-2014, 07:42 PM
A fortress made of Lego.

02-03-2014, 08:00 PM
A fortress made of Lego.

Lego fortresses are extremely strong. I can normally stand on any I build and I usually do :-)

02-03-2014, 08:00 PM
If we lie down any easier, we could always go for making it a mattress?

:greengrin:

02-03-2014, 08:04 PM

I remember when it used to be, seems so long ago!!!!!

02-03-2014, 09:26 PM

I buy into it - Butcher & Malpas have shown before that they can spot a player and build a team and we need to show a bit of patience with them. Fans can help of course by doing less bitching and more supporting (eg - singing! Many areas of the ground seem to think the evolution of a singing section excuses them from this :confused:).

Of course there will always be some who will bitch they're little hearts out at the slightest excuse, and the team can always help generate an atmosphere themselves by playing decent football and scoring some goals! But we WILL need to show a little patience - the primary factor in making ER a fortress will be the players on the pitch being good enough together to win football matches and right now we are watching pretty much the same bunch who started the season in such murderous fashion.

02-03-2014, 09:30 PM
5 wins and 2 draws from first 7 home games last season was probably as good a home run as we`ve had in last decade at least . Home record in recent years has been bad but is it not the same with other teams too ? We won 3 times at Killie in 2013 , I remember when we went about 20 years without one win there .

02-03-2014, 09:34 PM
I buy into it - Butcher & Malpas have shown before that they can spot a player and build a team and we need to show a bit of patience with them. Fans can help of course by doing less bitching and more supporting (eg - singing! Many areas of the ground seem to think the evolution of a singing section excuses them from this :confused:).

Of course there will always be some who will bitch they're little hearts out at the slightest excuse, and the team can always help generate an atmosphere themselves by playing decent football and scoring some goals! But we WILL need to show a little patience - the primary factor in making ER a fortress will be the players on the pitch being good enough together to win football matches and right now we are watching pretty much the same bunch who started the season in such murderous fashion.Murderous fashion then went on a reasonably good run . Lets hope the same happens now . So far of 5 repeat matches with same players or better ( winter window and return of Harris , Cairney and Forster ) we`ve done worse in 4 .

02-03-2014, 09:43 PM

Of course there will always be some who will bitch they're little hearts out at the slightest excuse, and the team can always help generate an atmosphere themselves by playing decent football and scoring some goals! But we WILL need to show a little patience - the primary factor in making ER a fortress will be the players on the pitch being good enough together to win football matches and right now we are watching pretty much the same bunch who started the season in such murderous fashion.

Agree with most of that, except some people don't fancy singing at games. Not much wrong with that.

02-03-2014, 09:47 PM
Lego fortresses are extremely strong. I can normally stand on any I build and I usually do :-)

In that case I believe I am in the presence of the next Hibs manager.

02-03-2014, 09:48 PM

Terry Butchers Lego army

02-03-2014, 10:39 PM
Still fuming about what I witnessed on Friday but to channel my energy positively I am going to singlehandedly convert my garden shed into a full scale model of Blackpool tower complete with lights. I should finish about the same time as Tel gets this fortress arrangement set up. We have been soft as shiote at home for years now and the playing squad continues to be bottom six standard.

03-03-2014, 08:26 PM
The weej view not too far off the mark
http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/opinion/shell-shocked-commander-in-chief-has-a-battle-on-his-hands-with-hibs.23582045?_=9797d3ad6c3e60da6f454f6e70d7f566d1 402e71

03-03-2014, 08:38 PM
The weej view not too far off the mark
http://www.heraldscotland.com/mobile/sport/opinion/shell-shocked-commander-in-chief-has-a-battle-on-his-hands-with-hibs.23582045?_=9797d3ad6c3e60da6f454f6e70d7f566d1 402e71

"He has been cloaked by the Hibs malaise"

03-03-2014, 08:40 PM
Terry Butchers Lego army

Aye, and the one's that will be Lego in the summer are bricking it.

04-03-2014, 07:11 PM

yes, I buy it.

Tb is going to place a big chastity belt around the club, making penetration difficult. Easter rd will be impregnable again.

04-03-2014, 07:37 PM
Part of all this army /Camouflage P R campaign to promote Season Ticket Sales I think . I bet he is Privately regretting this already after Fridays un fortress like performance:wink:

Wighty76
04-03-2014, 08:24 PM

this is pretty much sums it up for me. This will be my first ever season ticket and it's going to be a bit of a gamble. I am hoping a sizeable number of fellow fans are with me on this. Hopefully Rod and co will help out by loosening the purse strings and bump up the season ticket kitty.

04-03-2014, 08:43 PM

Do you live in Eskbank?