View Full Version : Pitch.

01-03-2014, 11:12 AM
It's one of the worst pitches in Scotland right now. It's about time we had a team of guys in full time to look after this. The public park near me looks in better shape and that has 3 games a week played on it.

The football pitch is just as important as the players on it. No one can play on that surface or should I say no one can expect to play good football on that. Petrie must invest in this and get it looked after each year.

01-03-2014, 11:17 AM

01-03-2014, 11:18 AM
The opposition do a fine job on our pitch. It only seems to effect us? :dunno:

01-03-2014, 11:29 AM

That's not the point though is it? Our pitch is in a shocking state and has been for as long as I can remember, I'd go for a artificial pitch.

01-03-2014, 11:35 AM

Yeah but I can't remember the opposition playing great either. They just do better than us. Football is about playing it along the deck to your team mate. Thing when a pitch is so bad like ours it bobbles all over the place and makes the simple things very difficult.

01-03-2014, 11:45 AM
Bring back Tam McCourt !

01-03-2014, 11:52 AM
It used to be the rule in the SPL that artificial pitches weren't allowed. Has that changed as was at Falkirk v QOS last week and Falkirk have a next generation pitch which seemed ok but as they are in contention for a play off, I assume they wouldn't want to rip it up if they came up.

01-03-2014, 11:55 AM
I thought the pitch looked patchy as far back as the Malmo game. Never looked like it was cultivated turf, more a bunch of unconnected tufts - like a bad hair weave. It's probably better at pitch level but I see brown rather than green from the West upper......

01-03-2014, 12:29 PM
Artificial pitch is approved at top level again which makes sense as it's used in Champs league.
I would have no problem with Hibs using it. Be better than the cabbage patch we 'played' on last night.

01-03-2014, 12:36 PM
Bring back Tam McCourt !

Chinaldo needs to get his finger oot !

01-03-2014, 12:56 PM
It's one of the worst pitches in Scotland right now. It's about time we had a team of guys in full time to look after this. The public park near me looks in better shape and that has 3 games a week played on it.

The football pitch is just as important as the players on it. No one can play on that surface or should I say no one can expect to play good football on that. Petrie must invest in this and get it looked after each year.

That public park isn't surrounded by four big stands that keep the grass in the shade, much of the time.

We'd need to bring in those artificial lights and i don't think they're cheap, which won't please Rod.

I agree that the pitch is in terrible condition though and if something doesn't get done, the chances of Easter Rd being used as a neutral venue will lessen too.

01-03-2014, 01:04 PM
We maybe need the players to come out and slate it? Petrie could then fine them and we could generate some money for next season

Spudster
01-03-2014, 01:07 PM
A decent pitch would have befitted Utd more than us last night!

01-03-2014, 01:09 PM
Been poor for a few years - was our headgroundsman not headhunted to go down to work at England's training base - St Georges Park? 100% the guy in charge at St Georges Park used to work at Hibs!

Anyway...this season and recently the pitch has looked and played terrible - not an excuse for us doing badly as other teams seem to cope but when yu have poor players it makes them even worse.

After Motherwell it will have a 2 week break - I think it's the lack of light due to the stands height causing problems. Don't think the weather can be blamed - even Tynecastle was green last week and can they even afford a groundsman?! However Murrayfield is a joke and is worm infested.

The way forward in England is the grass/artificial combos sewn in but cost is about 1 million each. Many English teams also have the lights on it but again far from cheap.

Don't forget we have Ramsdens Cup final the day before the Aberdeen in April also to come :rolleyes:

01-03-2014, 01:24 PM
We maybe need the players to come out and slate it? Petrie could then fine them and we could generate some money for next season

Three weeks fine is the Petrie rate for bad mouthing the pitch, as you say, a nice wee earner for funds next season.

Emerald
01-03-2014, 01:27 PM
The pitch is in a shocking state, its just mud punctuated by some sprigs of grass. I was shocked watching Hearts v Celtic last week where even they have a full pitch of green turf. What has went wrong with our grass?

01-03-2014, 01:40 PM
Bring back Tam McCourt !

Pitch has never been the same since he went upstairs mate

East Fife's pitch is perfect

The Gorf
01-03-2014, 03:01 PM
That's not the point though is it? Our pitch is in a shocking state and has been for as long as I can remember, I'd go for a artificial pitch.
We wouldn't have to go full artificial. You can get 50/50 pitches now. Half natural grass and half artificial. Maybe wouldn't skelp your thighs so much when tackling.

seven nowt
01-03-2014, 03:19 PM

Bollocks. Real Madrid - get rid of Ronaldo, Bale and Modric. I'd much prefer to have a nicer pitch. :nanasplit:

01-03-2014, 03:21 PM
Bollocks. Real Madrid - get rid of Ronaldo, Bale and Modric. I'd much prefer to have a nicer pitch. :nanasplit:

It plays as much a part as they players is what I meant. No point having good players if they can't play it along the deck because of the state of the pitch.

01-03-2014, 03:29 PM
It plays as much a part as they players is what I meant. No point having good players if they can't play it along the deck because of the state of the pitch.

In our case, no point having a good pitch. :wink:

01-03-2014, 03:35 PM
In our case, no point having a good pitch. :wink:

Haha good point to be fair!!

PerfectlyFranck
01-03-2014, 04:10 PM
We wouldn't have to go full artificial. You can get 50/50 pitches now. Half natural grass and half artificial. Maybe wouldn't skelp your thighs so much when tackling.

We already have a good quality hybrid pitch: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desso_GrassMaster
This surface is the one that saved Wembley, after years of appalling pitches.

There's no point having a good pitch when it isn't cultivated, especially with the weather, environment and layout of the stadium.
The undersoil heating can also affect the growth/recovery of the grass if it isn't used correctly.
Most of the clubs that use hybrid surfaces also use heating lights; Newcastle's pitch is always in near-perfect condition though they will have full-time groundsmen.

The pitch has looked poor since we played Malmö!

01-03-2014, 04:19 PM
Would it come with it's own Artificial Team as the real one is wearing as thin as the grass on our pitch

01-03-2014, 04:42 PM
We already have a good quality hybrid pitch: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desso_GrassMaster

There's no point having a good pitch when it isn't cultivated, especially with the weather, environment and layout of the stadium.
The undersoil heating can also affect the growth/recovery of the grass if it isn't used correctly.
Most of the clubs that use hybrid surfaces also use heating lights; Newcastle's pitch is always in near-perfect condition though they will have full-time groundsmen.

We don't have that at Easter Road....despite what wiki says. Our pitch is a mixture of sand, mud and a few sprouts of grass.

Weir7
01-03-2014, 04:48 PM

No point in having a good pitch when butcher's tactics are smash it long

01-03-2014, 06:30 PM
No point in having a good pitch when butcher's tactics are smash it long

Can you play good football on that pitch? As for smashing it long. We do seem to do this still but not as much as under Fenlon.

01-03-2014, 06:36 PM
We could be playing on the lawns of Wimbledon and it wouldn't make us look like a football team at the moment.

01-03-2014, 06:38 PM
Crap pitch...

Crap team...

Crap over priced food at the stadium...

The Hibs experience :rolleyes:

01-03-2014, 08:00 PM
The pitch - an embarrassment

The team - even more of an embarrassment

woody47
02-03-2014, 12:19 AM
It used to be the rule in the SPL that artificial pitches weren't allowed. Has that changed as was at Falkirk v QOS last week and Falkirk have a next generation pitch which seemed ok but as they are in contention for a play off, I assume they wouldn't want to rip it up if they came up.

Wouldnt want to play on that surface. My son played a game there last week and it ripped the skin off his knee with one slide tackle. It might be ok for a non contact sport but grass is where football should be played. What it needs is decent groundsman/investment made to ensure we get the proper grass and look after it.

02-03-2014, 01:14 AM

In that case I think the Dunbar end should have the real grass.

WHUHibs
02-03-2014, 08:31 AM

I am a director of this company and the mixture of nylon and grass works well. It's a specialised system that inserts nylon into the ground and wraps itself around natural grass which then grows and keeps it strong and is cut normally. It's also true the grass needs additional heat lamps which can prove a costly exercise.
If you look at the English pitches Wembley, Arsenal, Liverpool, Huddersfield, Manchester City, Spurs to name a few it works well. We also have the contract for a number of a World Cup pitches after our success in South Africa. Interestingly we also do Rugby and all the Four nations had out pitches apart from Murrayfield until this summer when we will change the pitch to ours.....the playing time and other uses ensure the pitch is always in prime condition,,scottish Football however, don't want to invest in this playing surface and has nothing to do with undersoil heating etc,,,it's simply money !

The Gorf
02-03-2014, 11:41 AM
Wouldnt want to play on that surface. My son played a game there last week and it ripped the skin off his knee with one slide tackle. It might be ok for a non contact sport but grass is where football should be played. What it needs is decent groundsman/investment made to ensure we get the proper grass and look after it.
Has to be oor Tam.

02-03-2014, 04:32 PM

rip it up and start again ,but we need to invest in new team so can't afford it .

02-03-2014, 04:38 PM
I am a director of this company and the mixture of nylon and grass works well. It's a specialised system that inserts nylon into the ground and wraps itself around natural grass which then grows and keeps it strong and is cut normally. It's also true the grass needs additional heat lamps which can prove a costly exercise.
If you look at the English pitches Wembley, Arsenal, Liverpool, Huddersfield, Manchester City, Spurs to name a few it works well. We also have the contract for a number of a World Cup pitches after our success in South Africa. Interestingly we also do Rugby and all the Four nations had out pitches apart from Murrayfield until this summer when we will change the pitch to ours.....the playing time and other uses ensure the pitch is always in prime condition,,scottish Football however, don't want to invest in this playing surface and has nothing to do with undersoil heating etc,,,it's simply money !

Could you not persuade your company to Sponsor Hibs but not with cash but in offering to put down this new Pitch . if it proved successful other teams may follow suit .If the weather climate is changing ,and this is now the norm ,then unless we move to summer football the pitches are all going to suffer.Even Rugby Park which has always been a good pitch looks in poor nick .It doesn't help play passing football and when games go out live and other countries see the state of our pitches it's not a great advert .

02-03-2014, 05:45 PM

Amazing what you can see from your front room!! :greengrin

Was hardly anyone in our section on Friday night! :agree:

02-03-2014, 05:53 PM
We could be playing on the lawns of Wimbledon and it wouldn't make us look like a football team at the moment.

Can't really argue with that! :rolleyes:

PerfectlyFranck
02-03-2014, 08:12 PM
Could you not persuade your company to Sponsor Hibs but not with cash but in offering to put down this new Pitch . if it proved successful other teams may follow suit .If the weather climate is changing ,and this is now the norm ,then unless we move to summer football the pitches are all going to suffer.Even Rugby Park which has always been a good pitch looks in poor nick .It doesn't help play passing football and when games go out live and other countries see the state of our pitches it's not a great advert .

We already have this pitch! I mentioned in the post that Russian Hibs was quoting.
It needs to be treat properly otherwise it's useless. The other teams I have seen use this surface, also use the heating lamps.
I don't know if that's the sole reason that our pitch is awful, but I assume it is a significant factor.

02-03-2014, 08:40 PM
Amazing what you can see from your front room!! :greengrin

Was hardly anyone in our section on Friday night! :agree:

Haha, I'll be there next game :D

Yeah Darren was telling me it was pretty empty around our section.

02-03-2014, 08:44 PM
Haha, I'll be there next game :D

Yeah Darren was telling me it was pretty empty around our section.

Aye, really only Darren, me and his mate and the usual Hibs staff with maybe a couple of others! :rolleyes:

More empty seats than I think I've ever seen there! :agree:

02-03-2014, 08:46 PM
Aye, really only Darren, me and his mate and the usual Hibs staff with maybe a coupe of others! :rolleyes:

More empty seats than I think I've ever seen there! :agree:

Think folk know our season is pretty much done now sadly. Once we get rid of some players this summer and freshen it up I'm hopeful the fans come back.

Been grim lately and not much at all to shout about.

02-03-2014, 09:33 PM
We already have this pitch!

No we don't.

02-03-2014, 09:38 PM
We already have this pitch! I mentioned in the post that Russian Hibs was quoting.
It needs to be treat properly otherwise it's useless. The other teams I have seen use this surface, also use the heating lamps.
I don't know if that's the sole reason that our pitch is awful, but I assume it is a significant factor.

No we don't.

This type of pitch is about 1 million to lay and ER would be in better state than it is now if it was this type.

The heating lamps are probably needed but this and the pitch won't happen due to cost.

PerfectlyFranck
02-03-2014, 09:50 PM
No we don't.

This type of pitch is about 1 million to lay and ER would be in better state than it is now if it was this type.

The heating lamps are probably needed but this and the pitch won't happen due to cost.
Then apologies if the page has incorrectly sourced Easter Road as using Grassmaster.

Even when the pitch was relaid, it looked very poor around the corners of two stands, with rounded lines that led to me thinking it could be the undersoil heating. What are those lines caused by?

mikethehibee69
02-03-2014, 10:20 PM
Then apologies if the page has incorrectly sourced Easter Road as using Grassmaster.

Even when the pitch was relaid, it looked very poor around the corners of two stands, with rounded lines that led to me thinking it could be the undersoil heating. What are those lines caused by?
Crop circles mysteriously appearing at ER!! Quick call Mulder and Scully:wink:

02-03-2014, 10:41 PM
No we don't.

Lighting rigs cost a fortune to run. No way we can afford them.

cam75
02-03-2014, 10:55 PM
Think folk know our season is pretty much done now sadly. Once we get rid of some players this summer and freshen it up I'm hopeful the fans come back.

Been grim lately and not much at all to shout about.
Could be worse
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2570095/Crawley-sack-groundsman-five-home-games-called-off.html

Northern Hibby
04-03-2014, 11:06 AM
So we constantly train at EM, which, in pictures always looks Green, possible reason no stands, then once a fortnight we play in this strange environment, with a bad pitch called Easter Road, it's like the old days in reverse Train on perfect surface then try to play on Public park, are the 1st Team every on the pitch at ER apart from the day we play?

04-03-2014, 01:15 PM
The grass is always greener on the other side:wink: