View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1 v 3 Dundee Utd (Forster)

Pages : [1] 2 3

Paloschi
27-02-2014, 10:49 AM
Can't imagine there being too many changes.

My team would be:

Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Taiwo

Haynes
Stanton
Craig
Stevenson

Heffernan

Subs: Grant, Boateng, Thomson, Cairney, Harris, Collins, Handling (or Watmore if fit)

27-02-2014, 10:56 AM
Watmore, if fit, in for Harris is the only change I would make.

27-02-2014, 10:59 AM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Watmore(if fit)
Stanton
Taiwo
Stevenson

Craig

Haynes

27-02-2014, 11:10 AM
Think it will be the same team as last Saturday as we played well, can't see him dropping handling as he would of picked up alot of confidence from the Scotland cap

yekimevol
27-02-2014, 11:29 AM
Williams
Forster Nelson Hanlon McGivern
Stevenson Craig Taiwo Handling
Stanton
Haynes

27-02-2014, 11:34 AM
I wish we attacked more as a "unit" like ICT did under TB rather than playing it up to a loan striker who always seems to need support.

I know it won't be popular but how about dropping Stevenson from the wide left position, putting Harris there and Watmore into the wide right. Apart from adding pace to the attack that could provide support for Hayes and Handling and maybe help our lack of goals. I just always feel, much as I like him, Lewis doesn't get into the box often enough to support a loan striker. At home that is costing us. My big concern would be who would cover for McGivern when he goes forward as Lewis always steps back.

An argument for Lewis in Centre left/holding midfield could be made as he doesn't misplace many passes. Sort of like John Rankine at Dundee Utd.

27-02-2014, 11:48 AM
Think we may see Craig in for Handling with Stanton playing a bit further forward. I thought Handling was really poor last week.

From what Butcher says I don't think Watmore will be fit enough to start so I'd imagine he'll go with Harris again. He's been back the best part of two months now so I think we need to see a bit more from him.

27-02-2014, 12:42 PM
I wish we attacked more as a "unit" like ICT did under TB rather than playing it up to a loan striker who always seems to need support.

I know it won't be popular but how about dropping Stevenson from the wide left position, putting Harris there and Watmore into the wide right. Apart from adding pace to the attack that could provide support for Hayes and Handling and maybe help our lack of goals. I just always feel, much as I like him, Lewis doesn't get into the box often enough to support a loan striker. At home that is costing us. My big concern would be who would cover for McGivern when he goes forward as Lewis always steps back.

An argument for Lewis in Centre left/holding midfield could be made as he doesn't misplace many passes. Sort of like John Rankine at Dundee Utd.

Harris has no left foot. He repeatedly runs with the ball on his right and has to check back inside to put a cross in. This makes is easy for defenders to tackle him, as the ball is on the side that makes it more accessible. It also makes strikers have to check their runs, because he can't deliver a cross. Butcher would be doing him a big favour by playing him on the right side (or in fact by resting him). I think you're point regarding covering for McGivern is one of the reasons why Lewis in needed wide left. The two seem to compliment each others style of play.

patlowe
27-02-2014, 12:46 PM

Did we not play with something similar against Raith Rovers? I wouldn't be against trying it again though, particularly now that Haynes appears to be offering us something different up top.

27-02-2014, 01:10 PM
Harris has no left foot. He repeatedly runs with the ball on his right and has to check back inside to put a cross in. This makes is easy for defenders to tackle him, as the ball is on the side that makes it more accessible. It also makes strikers have to check their runs, because he can't deliver a cross. Butcher would be doing him a big favour by playing him on the right side (or in fact by resting him). I think you're point regarding covering for McGivern is one of the reasons why Lewis in needed wide left. The two seem to compliment each others style of play.

Harris played some of his best football on the left when he first came in to the team.

27-02-2014, 01:21 PM
Is Stevenson fit? Went off injured last Saturday

27-02-2014, 01:24 PM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Watmore if fit
Taiwo
Stanton
Stevenson

Handling

Haynes

27-02-2014, 02:58 PM
Heff up top with Haynes or, Craig just being Haynes will do me.

27-02-2014, 03:07 PM
Harris played some of his best football on the left when he first came in to the team.

That was then and this is now:na na:

The guy has lost form and looks poor. He needs to play to his strengths and at the moment it's not wide left. I've cringed at some of his play and noticed defenders are trying to make him take the ball on his left. He just can't do it. Perhaps the initial impact was a case of flattering to deceive? I really Harris comes on but at the moment he's adding nothing to the team.

27-02-2014, 03:44 PM
Craig for Harris maybe? If we are going lone striker then Haynes up top. Ideally Thomson and Taiwo as a middle 2, then a 3 of Craig on the left, Stanton through the middle and Harris on the right.

HappyHibby93
27-02-2014, 04:06 PM
Williams

Forster
Hanlon
Nelson
Mcgivern

Watmore
Stanton
Craig
Harris

Collins
Haynes

I think Harris would be more effective cutting in from the left, and i would bring Collins in for Handling. Never really feel like Handling puts a stamp on a game.

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2

27-02-2014, 04:57 PM

Harris was great until he got blootered by that Mother******* thug Hutchinson. His recent dip in form is probably due to me ordering a black away top with Harris 7 on the back. I'll cycle down the coast and wear it sailing a few times just in case a yam postie handled the package and put the stink on it.

27-02-2014, 09:01 PM
Same as last week

tab said earlier in week that Watmore likely to be on bench if fit

27-02-2014, 09:12 PM
Is Stevenson fit? Went off injured last Saturday

Yes he is expected to be fit unless injury flares up again as he trains today

007 Mickey Weir
27-02-2014, 09:37 PM
So same team with Craig, Watmore, Bouteng,Heff, Thomson and Collins on bench. Pretty strong bench!!

27-02-2014, 10:05 PM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGirven

Watmore
Taiwo
Stanton
Craig

Haynes
Handling

ehf
27-02-2014, 11:51 PM
Not convinced with Forster at rb; would try Boetang there instead.

patlowe
28-02-2014, 09:25 AM
Harris was great until he got blootered by that Mother******* thug Hutchinson. His recent dip in form is probably due to me ordering a black away top with Harris 7 on the back. I'll cycle down the coast and wear it sailing a few times just in case a yam postie handled the package and put the stink on it.

I personally thought Harris was poor against Malmo at ER and looked woefully low in confidence in the 1st half against Motherwell before said blootering. I have high hopes for him and have no doubts about his ability but I think there is a bit of work to do to get him psychologically ready for top level football.

Hibstrooper
28-02-2014, 11:31 AM
The team will be 4-2-3-1

Williams
Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern
Taiwo
Craig
Harris
Stanton
Stevenson
Haynes

I'd rather we stuck with the 4-4-1-1 formation we played against Killie as our form wasn't great using that 4-2-3-1.

I don't think Craig can play a holding midfield role and would rather see him as a straight swap for Handling if anything but I wouldn't change the team from last week.

Paloschi
28-02-2014, 12:17 PM
I'd actually change my team as I feel different today :agree:

Lewis has been superb at left mid. But I'd go for it 4-3-3 with Haynes, Heffernan and Harris as the front 3. Midfield trio of Taiwo, Stanton, Craig.

Handling and Stevenson on the bench.

I have a good feeling about today. 2-1 or 3-1. :tbgwa:

28-02-2014, 01:17 PM
Williams

Forster
Nelson
Hanlon
McGivern

Taiwo
Stanton
Craig

Haynes
Heffernan
Harris

28-02-2014, 02:34 PM
Definitely 2 up front to stop utd's full backs bombing on. One up and one behind would play right into there hands in my opinion. Would like to see Haynes and Heff up there but will trust terry as he knows his players, and utd's better than me!!!!:tbgwa:

28-02-2014, 03:22 PM
Not convinced with Forster at rb; would try Boetang there instead.

TB wants a wee bit more time working with Boateng before considering a first team start

28-02-2014, 03:34 PM
Williams

Forster
Hanlon
Nelson
Mcgivern

Watmore
Stanton
Craig
Harris

Collins
Haynes

I think Harris would be more effective cutting in from the left, and i would bring Collins in for Handling. Never really feel like Handling puts a stamp on a game.

Sent from my GT-S5830i using Tapatalk 2

Why drop Taiwo when he has played well recently? Especially in the 2nd half last week.

I would drop Harris and bring in Craig or Watmore if fit.

Hibdan12
28-02-2014, 03:51 PM
whats the news on watmore and thompson?

jimmyboco1875
28-02-2014, 03:57 PM
whats the news on watmore and thompson?

Thompsons in watmores out mate

28-02-2014, 04:22 PM
Thompsons in watmores out mate

Do you mean Thomson is in the team or just in the squad.

jimmyboco1875
28-02-2014, 04:54 PM
In squad

john18722
28-02-2014, 05:55 PM
@HibernianFCClub: #Hibs Williams, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Craig, Stevenson, Stanton, Haynes #HFCvDUFC

28-02-2014, 05:58 PM
Thought KT might have made the bench tonight

28-02-2014, 05:59 PM
@HibernianFCClub: #Hibs Williams, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Craig, Stevenson, Stanton, Haynes #HFCvDUFC

Looks like team is built around Stanton.

28-02-2014, 06:01 PM
No Heff or KT on the bench? FS...

erin-go-bragh87

Really don't see how Craig deserves to be straight back in the team. He's been dreadful for weeks. I'd be happy to be proved wrong though if he gets the winner tonight!!

Is Craig playing DM?

007 Mickey Weir
28-02-2014, 06:05 PM
So 4-5-1

With Stanton in behind Haynes?

jimmyboco1875
28-02-2014, 06:06 PM
Poor poor decisions...... Where is heffernan

WestEndHibee
28-02-2014, 06:07 PM
Is Craig playing DM?

I'm guessing you hope he is? Otherwise what else can we complain about?

28-02-2014, 06:08 PM
Clearly Butcher doesn't think Heffernan is good enough. Bizarre.

28-02-2014, 06:08 PM
To me it looks like taiwo sits deep. Harris n stevenson on wing with craig in the middle. Haynes up top and stanton in the hole/free role

28-02-2014, 06:09 PM
Clearly Butcher doesn't think Heffernan is good enough. Bizarre.

We've got 2 other forwards on the bench

28-02-2014, 06:09 PM
I'm guessing you hope he is? Otherwise what else can we complain about?

I'm hoping he isn't.

jimmyboco1875
28-02-2014, 06:10 PM
We've got 2 other forwards on the bench

Handling over heffernan?

AngusHibby
28-02-2014, 06:12 PM
Think we may see Craig in for Handling with Stanton playing a bit further forward. I thought Handling was really poor last week.

From what Butcher says I don't think Watmore will be fit enough to start so I'd imagine he'll go with Harris again. He's been back the best part of two months now so I think we need to see a bit more from him.
Nice guess

007 Mickey Weir
28-02-2014, 06:15 PM
We need to start planning ahead. Butcher obviously doesn't fancy Heff and Thomson still. In Butcher we trust!!

28-02-2014, 06:18 PM
I really like TB but the Heffernan situation baffles me.

Our only proven SPL goalscorer yet he has had almost no chance to prove himself.

Can only assume he is showing nothing in training.

28-02-2014, 06:19 PM
Hopefully Craig behind Haynes and stayin playing deep

Stanton Is far more influential than Craig there IMO

28-02-2014, 06:20 PM
Otherwise what else can we complain about?

The state of the pitch ;-)

28-02-2014, 06:29 PM
The state of the pitch ;-)

Chick Dung's only mentioned it 5 times so far :(

28-02-2014, 06:41 PM
The pitch does look terrible. I am hoping Gary McAllister is co commentating but I fear it's that arse Craigan

28-02-2014, 06:45 PM
Mcallister thank god. Mascot walked out and did 7. Quality

Off the bar
28-02-2014, 06:46 PM
What's with the camo netting on the tunnel?

28-02-2014, 06:50 PM
What's with the camo netting on the tunnel?

Helloooo. ... Have you not seen the new promotion for season tickets !!!

28-02-2014, 06:51 PM
Mon the cabbage

Off the bar
28-02-2014, 06:53 PM
Helloooo. ... Have you not seen the new promotion for season tickets !!!

bit of a commute from east London so I tend to ignore season ticket info!

28-02-2014, 06:58 PM
How come we cannae get a decent pitch? It's hardly overused. Shocking when compared with some lower league pitches or EPL ones

28-02-2014, 06:59 PM
Decent start from taiwo, broken up a few attacks and spread the ball well.

28-02-2014, 07:03 PM
Decent game so far.

Taiwo is well worth another year.

28-02-2014, 07:04 PM
Decent game so far. Taiwo is well worth another year.

Spooky there PB was just about to post something similar.

Btw the boy Cifti looks a player

28-02-2014, 07:07 PM
Come on Hibs

Billy McKirdy
28-02-2014, 07:08 PM
How come we cannae get a decent pitch? It's hardly overused. Shocking when compared with some lower league pitches or EPL ones

5 games in 5 weeks according to Chic Young on Sportsound, don't know if that explains it though.

28-02-2014, 07:08 PM
What a difference Haynes up top than Collins. A player with pace! We need to get Stanton Harris and Haynes in the game all have great pace

28-02-2014, 07:09 PM
Looks, from a distance, like a bit heavy handed Policing in Section 43.

28-02-2014, 07:09 PM
Another piss poor refereeing decision.

A yard out the box? Have a penalty.

28-02-2014, 07:10 PM
outside the box per thre tv pictures. nonsense.

Green Reaper
Outside the box ffs!!!!

FFS another penalty decision against us. Never a penalty. Very very poor decision

Off the bar
So far outside the box aweful decision

Big Ben saves easily. Justice.

Boys a wall with penalties!!!!

Outside the box but GIRfUY - WILLIAMS! Yass

Yet another pish poor decision goes against us.

Green Reaper
28-02-2014, 07:11 PM
Yessss!!!! Big Ben !

Hibby-Nessie
Phew

AngusHibby
Get in ben!

Off the bar
Not sure what worse the decision or the penalty, terrible pen

Holy ***** ma 4 year old could of saved that.

Williams put down his paper and can of bru before he went down.

Utd turning the screw a bit

Just incompetence though eh? No cheating here.

28-02-2014, 07:13 PM
Was Ciftci trying to miss that?

Was he not the one who didn't let leigh's goal in last season?? The guy needs to get his eyes tested.

Just incompetence though eh? No cheating here.

Thing is it was a basic /simple decision and he got it o so wrong. Doesn't bode well for other decisions does it.

Off the bar
28-02-2014, 07:14 PM
Thing is it was a basic /simple decision and he got it o so wrong. Doesn't bode well for other decisions does it.

and he really took his time to think about it, not a snap judgement

28-02-2014, 07:15 PM
and he really took his time to think about it, not a snap judgement

He did. He blew had a think and pointed. Looked to me like he took his time

28-02-2014, 07:16 PM
In a bizarre way I am glad they got an unjust pen and missed it as apart from a goal for hibs, it was about the only type of thing that was going to lift what had been a dire atmosphere.

28-02-2014, 07:17 PM
Norris just **** off!!!

Shouldn't you have a think before you make a decision and then blow

communicating with his linesman. Linesman made the decision.

Mackay-Stevens is getting a foul every time he falls down ffs.

HibeeHendo
28-02-2014, 07:18 PM
If I was as this incompetent as these referees constantly are in my own job I'd be fired. Why doesn't it go the same way?

oramhibee
Was the whistling/booing of the fans that put him off I think

communicating with his linesman. Linesman made the decision. Mackay-Stevens is getting a foul every time he falls down ffs.

Didn't see that. But the linesman is an arse as well then.

Haynes when he has had the ball has had some nice touches.

28-02-2014, 07:20 PM
craig has a dig from 25 yards out. 20 yards wide...

28-02-2014, 07:20 PM
Was he not the one who didn't let leigh's goal in last season?? The guy needs to get his eyes tested.

Yip,same ref who didn't give Griffiths goal v hearts.. Useless *******

28-02-2014, 07:21 PM
Anyone know why Craig gets a start?

Never seems to be involved to me.

28-02-2014, 07:22 PM
Pitch really shocking yet again at this time of year and has been for years. Must be really difficult to play on. Yet another factor contributing to our woeful home form in recent seasons.

28-02-2014, 07:23 PM
If I was as this incompetent as these referees constantly are in my own job I'd be fired. Why doesn't it go the same way?

You need a ref or you cant play. Looks like they they dont have many to pick from!

28-02-2014, 07:23 PM
Pitch really shocking yet again at this time of year and has been for years. Must be really difficult to play on. Yet another factor contributing to our woeful home form in recent seasons.

Maybe if we played with the ball on the deck it would!! Dundee United are having no problems passing it about. It's a lack of ability, nothing to do with the pitch.

OsloHibs
28-02-2014, 07:24 PM
Yip,same ref who didn't give Griffiths goal v hearts.. Useless *******

I'm in agreement- he can't see in distance. Really, do they have to go for eye tests regularly?? I refuse to believe this idiot would pass.

How's it impacted away teams?

Agreed - pitch is dreadful.

Dun Utd look like a football team (passing, movement). Sadly we don't!

Pretty dreadful fayre so far.

kdhibees1
28-02-2014, 07:25 PM
Maybe if we played with the ball on the deck it would!! Dundee United are having no problems passing it about. It's a lack of ability, nothing to do with the pitch.
What he said. Simple passing football seems to be something we constantly struggle with. The baws no oan fire FFS!!!

28-02-2014, 07:26 PM
A plea from a long way away to keep the updates coming through.

Trying to follow the game purely on the updates provided here.

Ta

Great tackle by McGivern

TV just panned into a girl eating something, she was knicknamed with her mate the tango twins in Maribor. :greengrin

28-02-2014, 07:27 PM
I think it's fair to say there will be a few comings and goings in the summer. No fluency at all

How's it impacted away teams?

Ha ha. Good point!

SonOfTortolano
A plea from a long way away to keep the updates coming through.

Trying to follow the game purely on the updates provided here.

Ta

Agreed, aways go ispy before anything else ie BBC, Twitter etc

:not worth

28-02-2014, 07:28 PM
1 up front at home! No shots on goal! Buy yer 14/15 season ticket quick before they sell out

28-02-2014, 07:28 PM
ALOT of players are hiding out there

Taiwo playing well, breaking up play and keeping ball well

28-02-2014, 07:29 PM
Dire

Since the pen, we've been dire.

Good save Williams.

Craig being selected is mystifying. offering nothing. Again.

Off the bar
Great save big Ben

They are starting to out play us. 0-0 ht would do now. Great save Williams.

Good save by ben williams. We've really fallen out of this. Not competing at all

I take it Liam Craig is doing his usual shift of absolutely **** all in the centre of midfield? How many times has he aimlessley lumped it forward without looking?

28-02-2014, 07:30 PM
Utd turning the screw, we are standing off them too much now. Need to get much closer, FFS Hanlon. :rolleyes:

0-1.

Exactly what we deserve. McGivern to blame.

Total pish.

Craig hoofs it away from the centre. Sums us up.

Dear oh dear

mcgivern gives the ball away.......again

It's coming. Good save Williams.

Harris hardly been in it, same with Stanton

FFS Hanlon very very poor. Simple simple simple.

Aaaaaaaggggggghhhhhh

Hanlon soft as **** again! Dearly me 100+ games for us far Hanlon

Hanlon outpace and outmuscled. ridiculous.

That goal was coming. First error I can think of Hanlon making this season.

Hanlon shows why teams are battering down our door trying to sign him!

0-1.

Exactly what we deserve. McGivern to blame.

Total pish.

Don't think him getting fouled was his fault to be fair!

Off the bar
28-02-2014, 07:31 PM
been coming

kdhibees1
'kin dire. absolutely 'kin dire!! Surprised.....not!!

And there's your reason why Hanlon will never be in the he Scotland squad

How weak is Hanlon. McGivern couldnae pass water. Awful

Weak physically, weak mentally. Being totally bullied all over the pitch.

OsloHibs
28-02-2014, 07:32 PM
Ffs

Hanlon shows why teams are battering down our door trying to sign him!

Great player.

Boooooooo

United doing what Hibs can't.

Pass the ******* ball

28-02-2014, 07:33 PM
McGivern poor pass and Hanlon soft as putty.

Another absolutely Dreadful performance.

Bunch of losers.

People blaming mcgivern is laughable

All that happened was Hanlon fell over

why does our back 4 have such poor distribution? Forster and Nelson don't even try and find green shirts, Hanlon and Mcgivern seem incapable of doing so. Just heaps the pressure straight back on us.

I would take a draw right now.

We have no shape fluency etc nowt.

I actually feel quite sorry for Haynes.

Can someone explain to me, in simple terms, what Liam Craig brings to the team?

We just haven't looked like we can be bothered. What is wrong with this team?

Great player.

Sadly we don't have any great players. yeeeeeesssssss

28-02-2014, 07:34 PM
Goal Hibs.

Great player.

No he's not

Get in daylight robbery.

1-1 Easy ! What was the keeper doing ?

Goal Hibs from a shockong bit of goalkeeping.

Forster.

Green Reaper
Yeeeehaaaah!!!!

Bang. That'll do.

Has Terry retained Pat Fenlon as an adviser? the 40 minutes I have just watched is fenlonesque, right down to the striker running about on his own up front.

Off the bar
Yesssssssss

1-1 Forster

1-1 get in!!!!!

Totally undeserved but we'll take it!!!!!

kdhibees1
Bit of luck. Nice!! Come on Hibs!!! Need to sort this out in the second half!!

28-02-2014, 07:35 PM
Robbery of the daylight variety!!!!!

Got that was awful

What does Craig bring to team again cos on this showing I'd have Stanton back in middle and Handling or Collins in line up

AngusHibby
Haynes looking pretty isolated up front, if he had back up I'm certain he'd score

HibeeHendo
And there's your reason why Hanlon will never be in the he Scotland squad

He must be the only centre back to ever make a mistake.....

OsloHibs
Was just gonna post a massive rant... then we scored. I'll shut my face then!

Off the bar
28-02-2014, 07:36 PM
The keeper had an almost identical punch at the start of the half the hit Hanlon and went out for a goal kick, this one straight onto forsters head! Great time to score!

It's coming. Good save Williams.

Harris hardly been in it, same with Stanton

FFS Hanlon very very poor. Simple simple simple.

Aaaaaaaggggggghhhhhh

:agree: but a special mention for McGivern, giving the ball away far too often. Again.

Green Reaper
What does Craig bring to team again cos on this showing I'd have Stanton back in middle and Handling or Collins in line up

Agree with this

28-02-2014, 07:37 PM
No he's not

Ok maybe he is not. On his day he is good at a push. He would be league 1/2 defender in England no doubt about it.

Second time their keeper's punched it onto a Hibs player's head... crowd him, lads, crowd him.

I really don't get it.

We have upset a team unbeaten in 2 games to try and fit in a midfielder who has offered nothing for weeks.

28-02-2014, 07:38 PM
Hope he gives them a massive boot up the arse after that

Drop Stanton deep so he can pass the pass and put Craig attacking mid, if Craig doesn't improve the out Collins/Cummings/handling on to join Haynes

MileHighBees
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f__5zImdcM4

Almost exactly a year ago.
Forward to 04:10 for penalty incident.

Bit of luck. Nice!! Come on Hibs!!! Need to sort this out in the second half!!

TB needs to give them all a rocket. Hibs players need to stick a bloody foot in and at least TRY to tackle and be stronger when going in the ball. DUFC having things FAR too easy.

And if we ever get into the DUFC box, we need to be claiming a Penalty every time. The ref will under pressure to give us something.

28-02-2014, 07:39 PM
Hope he gives them a massive boot up the arse after that

Drop Stanton deep so he can pass the pass and put Craig attacking mid, if Craig doesn't improve the out Collins/Cummings/handling on to join Haynes

The only place for Craig is the bench or the shower. Sub needed I think.

28-02-2014, 07:39 PM
well 1-1 at half time is better than I expected half a minute ago!

Need to really pick it up though, Haynes needs support and we need to try and keep the ball.

Williams and Taiwo are the only players I would give pass marks to.

Andy Robertson looks very good.

28-02-2014, 07:40 PM
Anyone know what happenend in Section 43 during the 1st half?

Can someone explain to me, in simple terms, what Liam Craig brings to the team?

We have to have at least one ginger player in the team at all times!

hibby67
McGivern doing ok defensively but absolutely pish going forward

Hovehibby
28-02-2014, 07:41 PM
McGivern. Good in defence, but his 40yd run then pass to the DU fans, then his hoofball which led to the DU free kick ( sorry Penalty- my a**e) shows that he can't pick a pass out when attacking.

I really don't get it. We have upset a team unbeaten in 2 games to try and fit in a midfielder who has offered nothing for weeks.

That's the thing I can't either. Craig, before his suspension had been woeful for weeks, barring his brace at Tannadice.

It should be about the team and not the individual and Craig hasn't done anything for me to suggest he should be starting.

Ok maybe he is not. On his day he is good at a push. He would be league 1/2 defender in England no doubt about it.

Hes too slow, he is too soft, his distribution is pish and his positional sense is non existent. He is not our worst player by any stretch of the imagination. He is an average player in a below average side. Possibly div 2 in England.

Guilty until proven innocent football fans again no doubt.

Pretty awful performance all round from Hibs - Dundee Utd. are much more industrious, creative and generally up for it as a team ... I've no idea what "tactic" we are supposed to be playing, and neither have the players it seems. We've offered next to nothing "going forward" - players mentally and physically second best on the 1st half showing ...

Hovehibby
28-02-2014, 07:42 PM
Haynes looking pretty isolated up front, if he had back up I'm certain he'd score

Playing the Miller role, chasing lost balls really well, but needs to midfield to support him

Brave penalty decision by the ref according to Craigan. I too am grateful we've got such a courageous referee.

Would be nice to play 2 up front!

Utterly dreadful

Terrible performance, terrible tactics, terrible pitch

kdhibees1
Just heard there was fighting with police. Outragious if true

28-02-2014, 07:43 PM

Sure we'll find out soon, lots of folk seemed to filming whatever it was.

Please Terry, find a replacement for Hanlon...fast

Just seen the replay of their goal. Ryan Mcgivern misplaces a two yard pass ffs. Hanlon should also have done far far better, but we need to be passing better. It's shocking.

Utterly dreadful Terrible performance, terrible tactics, terrible pitch

Yeah but both teams are on the pitch however one team seems to be playing just fine on it. O and it's not us.

28-02-2014, 07:45 PM
Anyone for a wee prediction 2nd half? 2-2 FT

28-02-2014, 07:45 PM
Would be nice to play 2 up front!

Yes, somebody is needed alongside Haynes, the ball to him up front has been poor and we don't get up to support him quickly enough when he does receive it

28-02-2014, 07:46 PM
Can't see Hibs getting anything from this match. They have been hopeless. A lot of the time the pass goes adrift and sometimes midfielders are putting speculative balls forward instead of holding on and trying to build. And the defence stands about like guys in a pub.

What does TB teach them in training?

Tbh after the first half I would gladly take that result.

Hanlon proving to be a complete and utter jessie. Needs replaced pronto.

Just seen the replay of their goal. Ryan Mcgivern misplaces a two yard pass ffs. Hanlon should also have done far far better, but we need to be passing better. It's shocking.

Our passing in the main has been dreadful and there are no excuses to misplacing 2 yard passed under no pressure

Hovehibby
28-02-2014, 07:47 PM
It's almost Fenlon-esque in the hoofball tactics. You can clearly see DU playing from the back, TB had Caley playing the same way. Why can we not play the ball out from back to front?

5-1 ;)

Can't see Hibs getting anything from this match. They have been hopeless. A lot of the time the pass goes adrift and sometimes midfielders are putting speculative balls forward instead of holding on and trying to build. What does TB teach them in training?

Can't highlight but your last line.... Maybe they are just not good enough to do as he wants?? Simple as that.

Yes, somebody is needed alongside Haynes, the ball to him up front has been poor and we don't get up to support him quickly enough when he does receive it

Yeah we are missing Kujabi badly.

Hanlon proving to be a complete and utter jessie. Needs replaced pronto.

Oh dear.

28-02-2014, 07:49 PM
Yet another disappointing half and certainly don`t deserve to be drawing . Not making any clear chances - apart from penalties , free kicks and odd header from corners we haven`t looked like scoring for a few months and running around like headless chickens won`t win anything except odd Derby against present Hearts team . Looking forward to improved second half though .

28-02-2014, 07:49 PM
5-1 ;)

shhhh you, get finding out what happened in the east;-)

Where was you at Killie?

28-02-2014, 07:50 PM
Oh dear.

Really?

Dan Sarf
Very interested in this new compressed deodorant. How on earth did they manage it?

JCHibby
It's almost Fenlon-esque in the hoofball tactics. You can clearly see DU playing from the back, TB had Caley playing the same way. Why can we not play the ball out from back to front?

It's not the tactics, coach or manager. Quite simply some of these players are not good enough and won't be here next year.

Glesgahibby
5-1 ;)
Hope so,I've got a quid on 5-1 125/1:greengrin

Can't highlight but your last line.... Maybe they are just not good enough to do as he wants?? Simple as that.

No quality, no composure, no-one who can pass or shoot, no pre-emptive intelligence, nothing.

Apart from that, I feel we've done well.

28-02-2014, 07:51 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f__5zImdcM4

Almost exactly a year ago.
Forward to 04:10 for penalty incident.

Which contributed to us missing out on top 6.

I've been through the youthful stupidity of thinking ALL refs are against us, to the maturer stage where I understand that some decisions are just plan mistakes and that refs have a really hard job and am now at the stage where I don't care if people think I'm paranoid - refs have it in for us. Far too many decisions against us and zero sign of mythical evening itself out.

No quality, no composure, no-one who can pass or shoot, no pre-emptive intelligence, nothing. Apart from that, I feel we've done well.

Can't say fairer than that speeders!!

The lack of pace and creativity is still so evident.

28-02-2014, 07:52 PM
again utd launch a counter attack from a misplaced pass.

I don't mind it so much from Nelson, he's of that vintage. But Forster, Hanlon and Mcgivern need to be better.

Nice sweeping move from United there.

Those were the days :greengrin

Taiwo booked for a perfectly good tackle.

Standard. Just incompetence though.

28-02-2014, 07:53 PM
Brilliant tackle from Taiwo Utd boy goes down Yellow card. Easily our best player this evening so far

We go forward with about 4 players united attack with 5/6 players. More players need to get forward

Off the bar
Never a booking for tt

28-02-2014, 07:54 PM
Craig takes about 10 minutes to do nothing. 2 passes later and United almost score.

How slow and poor was Craig there. Good play from Haynes looking for the return but Craig.... Poor

Never a booking for tt

Agreed solid challenge imo

Off the bar
Cifti just wide

28-02-2014, 07:55 PM

Watching it on I pad on bt sport Another gift of a goal McGivern has several momentary lapses every game ,there was no need to pass to United player the way he diid and Hanlon will always loose goals like that he lacks positional sense and strength and makes it look so easy for attacker to take him to cleaners .Harris is not managing to create anything which was way it went at Killie ,he really needs to get back into under 20 s to find his form.United have worked out how to play us and that will lead to increased chances in second half unless we change things .Wish we could Camoflage how poor we are but it's there for all to see .

Another good bit of goalkeeping from Williams.

Arabs running straight through us so far 2nd half.

Watch the way Dundee Utd shut the ball down when we have it. Then compare it to us.

28-02-2014, 07:56 PM
So static, loose possession, not using width, too much space between midfield and Hayes - we are playing with fear, hence we are never comfortable.

I'd drop Sam Stanton deeper, put Jason Cummings on and ditch Liam Craig.

28-02-2014, 07:56 PM
Right this very moment I'd have Craig off and Collins on with Stanton dropping back into the middle of the park.

28-02-2014, 07:57 PM
Why do we look so uncomfortable on the ball?

Hanlon loses it, pulls player back, silly bookong.

Hanlon is having a mair. That was shocking.

oh Paul:rolleyes:

28-02-2014, 07:58 PM
Right this very moment I'd have Craig off and Collins on with Stanton dropping back into the middle of the park.

Stanton wasted where he is. Craig just a waste of a strip.

Off the bar
Hanlon booked pulling down chifci prob fair

Ciftci is knocking Hanlon off the ball way too easily

28-02-2014, 07:59 PM
I reckon this will end up about 4-1 United.

Hope I'm wrong but this is terrible

Hanlon having his own horror show.

interesting that he wasn't booked for the pen.

It's like he's not interested. 2nd to every ball cannae pass just nowt. Really disappointed with his contribution.

Hanlon is having one of his games where he is ripped a new one by an opponent and can't handle it and goes to pieces. He hasn't had one of these games for a while to be fair. I thought he had grown out of them.

Stanton wasted where he is. Craig just a waste of a strip.

It's where he wants to play though to be fair (Stanton that is).

northern-hibee
Hanlon loses it, pulls player back, silly bookong.

please take Hanlon off now and never play him again, he's useless

Hovehibby
28-02-2014, 08:00 PM

Agree. Craig still not right,

It's where he wants to play though to be fair (Stanton that is).

He's had about 5 touches of the ball all game.

Only one winner on this evidence.......(cue a hibs goal!!!!!)

I reckon this will end up about 4-1 United.

Hope I'm wrong but this is terrible

Think you're right.

2-1.

And a hammering is on the cards here.

Cracking goal

please take Hanlon off now and never play him again, he's useless

The refs really got it in for us, he's let him back on

28-02-2014, 08:01 PM
Only one winner on this evidence.......(cue a hibs goal!!!!!)

Nope and your right.

Green Reaper
Boo!

Off the bar
Baws