View Full Version : Friday Nights game, who's all going?

26-02-2014, 10:50 PM
Been looking forward to a Friday night fixture at ER for while and now we have one. Should be a decent game and crowd. Who's all going then? :greengrin

26-02-2014, 10:54 PM
me - I'll wave :greengrin

26-02-2014, 10:59 PM
I'm not, I work on a Friday night.

26-02-2014, 11:03 PM
Selfishly I would have Friday Night after 3pm Sat a pref...so looking forward t the first at ER

Weststandwanab
27-02-2014, 05:18 AM
4 of us

Berwickhibby
27-02-2014, 07:17 AM
I'll be watching online in the company of Boozy and Cliff Pike :flag:

27-02-2014, 07:56 AM
Selfishly I would have Friday Night after 3pm Sat a pref...so looking forward t the first at ER

Me to. Like the idea of fri footy then free weekend.

gegs70
27-02-2014, 08:03 AM
Me usually working Friday night but will pop along....

27-02-2014, 08:10 AM
If weather and helicopters are ok, i'll be there.

27-02-2014, 08:12 AM
Work for me....:-(

27-02-2014, 08:21 AM
I think that the Club's business of securing as many ST's as possible for the forthcoming season can only be damaged by a number of games being played at times which don't suit a lot of fans as much as the more conventional ko times! :confused:

However, as long as TV pays for covering matches played at these "different" times, Clubs will just need to accept that the other side of getting the TV revenue is that guys who like to watch football from their seat at the stadium will be thinking about whether a "walk up" ticket purchase approach might be better for them in these financially challenging times for them and many other such people! :agree:

WestEndHibee
27-02-2014, 08:23 AM
The MYB are all in! :flag:

Paloschi
27-02-2014, 08:26 AM
Me plus the misses (mate is in Germany :rolleyes:)

Quite excited to see Dundee Utd actually! Alot of good promising young players from both sides. I can see us sneaking a 2-1.

27-02-2014, 08:41 AM
Double booked. Didnae realise game was on the Friday. In this case the ladyfriend takes priority!

QMU-1875
27-02-2014, 08:43 AM
Can't wait for it. Quite like the Friday night fixtures!

Gustavo Fring
27-02-2014, 09:07 AM
want to go but canny as am skint and dinny get payed till next week

27-02-2014, 09:16 AM
Is the game on the telly?

27-02-2014, 09:37 AM
I winnae be there, have something else on. Friday night fitba now in Edinburgh, just one mair way for season ticket holders tae be dicked about by TV and probably one mair no tae bother with one next time.

Jay
27-02-2014, 09:52 AM
I want to be there but have to work. :( my ST will be getting used though ;)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

27-02-2014, 09:56 AM
I'll be there.

Looking forward to it.

itslegaltender
27-02-2014, 10:02 AM
ticket office online experiencing high demand all morning, mate is just getting the loading bar.

hibseleven
27-02-2014, 10:06 AM
yup. 4 of us going. Hopefully get the weekend off to a flier wi three points!!!!

27-02-2014, 10:13 AM
I'll be there.

Purehibee_MYB
27-02-2014, 10:16 AM

Damn right we are!! :thumbsup:

nickwhibs
27-02-2014, 10:17 AM
First game since Malmo (I fled the country!). Really looking forward to being back at the Holy Ground, love an evening game!

Purple & Green
27-02-2014, 10:54 AM
Been looking forward to a Friday night fixture at ER for while

Last competitive Friday night game at ER outwith holiday periods was 18th April 1958 when Hibs lost to East Fife 0-1.

27-02-2014, 10:59 AM
First game since the new year derby! Buzzing for it

27-02-2014, 11:08 AM
Last competitive Friday night game at ER outwith holiday periods was 18th April 1958 when Hibs lost to East Fife 0-1.

I thought all the bsb games were on a Friday night?

MichelleHibs
27-02-2014, 11:14 AM
Want to and so do the kids given its a hibs kids game but I'm working n can't get down on time :-(

27-02-2014, 01:27 PM
me - I'll wave :greengrin

I'll booo back. :greengrin

27-02-2014, 01:34 PM
Count me in, laddie has finally managed to get a swap so it's pre and post match drinks for us :thumbsup:

27-02-2014, 01:46 PM

Purple & Green
27-02-2014, 05:05 PM
I thought all the bsb games were on a Friday night?

Were they? I can't remember tbh, but I don't remember Hibs being on the telly much around then. By my reckoning we've had 4 competitive Friday games at ER out with holiday periods, and two of those were at tynecastle in 1924 or 1925 when the old main stand was being built.

Anything to add hibstorians? JC or hibbybrian?

27-02-2014, 05:12 PM
Were they? I can't remember tbh, but I don't remember Hibs being on the telly much around then. By my reckoning we've had 4 competitive Friday games at ER out with holiday periods, and two of those were at tynecastle in 1924 or 1925 when the old main stand was being built.

Can't think of any Friday nights at ER outwith holiday periods for competitive matches.

Can recall Motherwell away twice and Aberdeen away this season in recent years and a Friday Scottish Cup semi against Celtic at Ibrox in the 90's.

Only Friday night game at ER I can recall was a friendly against either Luton or Millwall.

Purple & Green
27-02-2014, 05:15 PM
Can't think of any Friday nights at ER outwith holiday periods for competitive matches.

Can recall Motherwell away twice and Aberdeen away this season in recent years and a Friday Scottish Cup semi against Celtic at Ibrox in the 90's.

Only Friday night game at ER I can recall was a friendly against either Luton or Millwall.

I think there was a Friday game in john blackleys time against either Moscow dynamo or feyenoord. Don't have my big file handy to check.

27-02-2014, 05:20 PM
Aye.

We've never lost a game when hibs.net has done a half time cheque presentation :smokin

27-02-2014, 05:20 PM
I think there was a Friday game in john blackleys time against either Moscow dynamo or feyenoord. Don't have my big file handy to check.

Sure it was the former and if I remember correctly they were in quarters of one of the euro comps. Think we won 2-0

27-02-2014, 05:29 PM
Is the game on the telly?

Aye BT Sport 2

KingFranck
27-02-2014, 05:42 PM
I'll be in the East with mini Franck c'mon the Cabbage

27-02-2014, 05:47 PM
Assuming that there is no further news in the next 24 hours from the PBS/Lithuania to rupture already badly damaged sides, I should be there.

Weststandwanab
27-02-2014, 06:26 PM
Aye.

We've never lost a game when hibs.net has done a half time cheque presentation :smokin If that is the case can they give out cheques at every home game ?

Assuming that there is no further news in the next 24 hours from the PBS/Lithuania to rupture already badly damaged sides, I should be there. Stop it sore ribs are temporary the BIG L is permanent.

27-02-2014, 06:33 PM
I suspect all games could be played on Friday nights in the future like the Irish league,I'll be there but would prefer sat 3pm

27-02-2014, 06:37 PM
Friday night games are the business and if I had my way we'd be playing every game at this time. Much better than this Saturday afternoon/Sunday morning carry on. :-)

I'll be there to see a win!

Adniston Burn
27-02-2014, 06:53 PM
Been looking forward to a Friday night fixture at ER for while and now we have one. Should be a decent game and crowd. Who's all going then? :greengrin

Me and the laddie will be there.

semaj64
27-02-2014, 07:05 PM
yes me and daughter will be there looking forward to it.

27-02-2014, 07:08 PM
I suspect all games could be played on Friday nights in the future like the Irish league,I'll be there but would prefer sat 3pm

One of the reasons I think football is played on a Friday in Ireland is so it doesn't clash with the more popular GAA to try and entice more fans along.
Friday is fine for something different in Scotland, and maybe a preferred telervision slot, but I suspect the overwhelming majority of fans would want the traditional 3pm on a Saturday.

27-02-2014, 07:24 PM
GAA and EPL as the pubs are always mobbed when the likes of Liverpool and man Utd are on they just wouldn't go

27-02-2014, 07:40 PM
I'll be there. Looking forward to it already!

27-02-2014, 07:43 PM
What does everyone think the attendance will be then?

27-02-2014, 07:48 PM
What does everyone think the attendance will be then?

About 8,500.

27-02-2014, 07:50 PM
About 8,500.

Sounds about right to me :agree:

Weir7
27-02-2014, 08:18 PM

Played Moscow dynamo on a Friday evening at ER I think 1985, won two nil a double from Gordon Durie

EastCalderHibby
27-02-2014, 08:29 PM
Me and son going his turn to drive so 1 or 10 drinks for me happy days :tbgwa: :hibees

27-02-2014, 08:33 PM
Taking my granddaughter but not a great idea having a Hibs Kids game on a Friday night.

Purple & Green
27-02-2014, 09:12 PM

Luton - 30th July 1993.

27-02-2014, 09:14 PM
Played Moscow dynamo on a Friday evening at ER I think 1985, won two nil a double from Gordon Durie

I remember that game . Always thought it was a Thursday night for some reason . Looking forward to watching Hibs under the floodlights .
Were the bsb games not on a Sunday at 6.20 pm .

27-02-2014, 09:22 PM
About 8,500.

Not going but think United will bring decent support so might creep up to over 9 000 United have some exciting young players and if on form play attractive football so if dry night a few more locals might be tempted to turn up TB billing it as a Classic let's hope so Best we can get I think is another 2. 2 draw to keep our unbeaten run going

27-02-2014, 09:24 PM
I'm going. Both teams have good young home-grown players coming through so could be very entertaining.

27-02-2014, 09:31 PM
Me and 6 others. All for goals and glory!

27-02-2014, 09:32 PM
Not going but think United will bring decent support so might creep up to over 9 000 United have some exciting young players and if on form play attractive football so if dry night a few more locals might be tempted to turn up TB billing it as a Classic let's hope so Best we can get I think is another 2. 2 draw to keep our unbeaten run going

Dundee Utd have a terrible support.

I think we'll have about 8,000 fans there tomorrow night so if they bring down anything like 1,000 fans, I'll be stunned.

28-02-2014, 07:11 AM
I'll booo back. :greengrin

28-02-2014, 07:46 AM

Did we not also play Swansea in a Friday friendly at ER the night before an egg chasing game?

jamiehibee
28-02-2014, 08:21 AM
Got a rare day off today and tomorrow so two of us going. Few drinks in Musselburgh before I think as well.

28-02-2014, 08:25 AM
Dundee Utd have a terrible support.

I think we'll have about 8,000 fans there tomorrow night so if they bring down anything like 1,000 fans, I'll be stunned.
You underestimate the power of Friday night football for away fans .