View Full Version : New Scotland Away Shirt

24-02-2014, 11:33 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-nKPKW2AHaac/UwvQATSTFEI/AAAAAAAANAc/UCRTkOGIUQw/s650/Scotland+2014+Away+Kit.jpg

:sick:

24-02-2014, 11:35 PM
:wtf:

24-02-2014, 11:35 PM
Wow...:rolleyes:

24-02-2014, 11:41 PM
this is sick......or rather, a sick joke is it not. some sort of crossbread Aberdeen/Motherwell away strip.

Mixu62
24-02-2014, 11:44 PM
It's part of the new game-plan to give opposing teams a migraine.

24-02-2014, 11:47 PM
It's part of the new game-plan to give opposing teams a migraine.certainly does it for me

PerfectlyFranck
25-02-2014, 12:35 AM
The shirt above must have been mocked-up by someone on a forum or from that website, after seeing the actual shirt in person.
If they had claimed that this was from Adidas or an official source then it could be rubbished, as you can see that it isn't the original image.

Though it probably is the former (sadly), I would be cautious in believing any of these websites as a couple of them featured a [clearly fake] mock-up I done on here, with them claiming they were 'leaked' shirts for the current season.

It goes well with the home kit in that they're both horrendous.

They'll no doubt be claimed as some form of 'classic' like the godawful watermark kits from the 90s.

DarrenSQH
25-02-2014, 08:42 AM
I love that kit. Hope its real.

25-02-2014, 08:51 AM
What did everyone expect? I like it, it's different. Our colours are not Green and white or orange and white, they are blue, red and yellow.

25-02-2014, 09:01 AM
I love that kit. Hope its real.

I like it too.

Away kits are the ones you can afford to be a bit different with imo.

25-02-2014, 09:02 AM
I liked it until i saw the yellow.

25-02-2014, 09:17 AM
I liked it until i saw the yellow.

It should have been a block of yellow rather than stripes. Everyone knwos that a Yellow Stripe is for cowards.

25-02-2014, 09:51 AM
I think we're long overdue a green away strip

:devil:

25-02-2014, 10:18 AM
Would look so much better if the yellow stripes were dark Scotland blue!

25-02-2014, 10:51 AM
It looks shopped to me. I hope it's real, I love a wacky away kit.

25-02-2014, 10:53 AM

Matty_Jack04
25-02-2014, 02:13 PM
http://m.youtube.com/watch?list=UUsaS5aZjlJPJCzNwjEc3waw&feature=share&v=xXhDxWa_OF0

Hopefully that works looks like the OP is spot on

25-02-2014, 02:36 PM
That's bogging (if real).

25-02-2014, 02:40 PM
That's bogging (if real).

Its real.. you can buy it tomorrow in JD sports.

25-02-2014, 02:46 PM
Bowfing. Horizintal bands will not be flattering for H18SRY :kettle:

25-02-2014, 02:50 PM
Bowfing. Horizintal bands will not be flattering for H18SRY :kettle:

Forever_Green93
25-02-2014, 03:12 PM
Looks awesome

25-02-2014, 03:45 PM
remember this one

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BhVNMWWIIAAZi_C.jpg

Barman Stanton
25-02-2014, 04:59 PM
remember this one

I remember thinking that was amazing at the time. Dear oh dear!

25-02-2014, 05:09 PM
remember this one

That strip was bowfin. On the plus side, it probably gave a few opposing players a migraine.

As for the new one.......I think i that's bowfin too.

25-02-2014, 05:11 PM
utterly bowfin!

25-02-2014, 05:31 PM
Would have been ok if it had been white and red or white and yellow. I'll be sticking to the traditional dark blue and leave that for the bairns.

scott7_0(Prague)
25-02-2014, 05:37 PM
I like it, traditional lion rampant colours. We have had similar under Umbro with thinner stripes.

McLeod1875
25-02-2014, 05:45 PM
I think its top notch :greengrin

I will be buying it tomorrow, first Scotland strip in a good 5 years!

Think its definitely a love/hate kind of strip, as we can see...

25-02-2014, 05:56 PM
I think it's horrible, but quite often when I see them worn they don't look so bad.

PerfectlyFranck
25-02-2014, 05:56 PM
What did everyone expect? I like it, it's different. Our colours are not Green and white or orange and white, they are blue, pink and yellow.

I like it, traditional lion rampant colours. We have had similar under Umbro with thinner stripes.

The colours are based on the primrose & pink of early Scotland kits.
Some things are better left in the past, but since this is the actual kit it's worth pointing out why the kit looks like it does.
I don't believe the Lion Rampant has ever been pink either… :confused:

Excerpts from Historical Kits article -

"In 1881 the team turned out in the primrose yellow and rose pink racing colours of Archibald Primrose, the 5th Earl of Rosebery (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Archibald_Primrose,_5th_Earl_of_Rosebery), an important Scottish Liberal peer and devotee of the turf who became one of the Scottish FA's early patrons. The following year the team played in blue and white hoops before navy tops were restored in 1883, when the British Home Championship was inaugurated.

In 1900 Earl Rosebery's distinctive colours were reinstated but the lion rampant badge was replaced (at least for the match with England) with a crest depicting the Scottish thistle versus the English rose. Navy blue and white was reinstated between 1901 and 1904 (change shirts being worn when playing Ireland (http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/international/ireland/ireland-1882-1921.html) in Belfast) and then the Scottish team played in yellow and pink until 1909. Rosebery's colours were then retired until after the Second World War.

Lord Rosebery's colours made their final appearance in 1951 when Scotland beat France 1-0 at Hampden Park."

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/international/scotland/images/scotland-1881-b.gifhttp://www.historicalkits.co.uk/international/scotland/images/scotland-1905-1909.gif
http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/international/scotland/images/scotland-1949-1951-16-may-franceA.gifhttp://www.historicalkits.co.uk/international/scotland/images/scotland-1900-1901-c.gif

davy malcolm
25-02-2014, 06:43 PM
I'm no buying that it's bloody awful

Sent from my HTC One X+ using Tapatalk

scott7_0(Prague)
25-02-2014, 06:58 PM
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-nKPKW2AHaac/UwvQATSTFEI/AAAAAAAANAc/UCRTkOGIUQw/s650/Scotland+2014+Away+Kit.jpg

craigmounthibby
25-02-2014, 06:58 PM
Looks like it's figure hugging too, like the kappa Italy shirts. The ladies will love the spare tyre look....:wink:

25-02-2014, 06:59 PM
Definitely buying if it looks like that. Whats the damage?

25-02-2014, 08:33 PM
'Fraid it's a HUUAAAARGH from me - :sick:

25-02-2014, 08:48 PM

Torto7062
25-02-2014, 09:10 PM

I actually like it...Some of our away tops
Have been dire over the years.

Hopefully the Mrs buys it for my birthday
on Thursday lol

25-02-2014, 09:34 PM
I like it tbh. The best Scotland away tops over the years have always been wacky efforts.
This will forever be my favourite...12103

25-02-2014, 10:26 PM
When is this out to buy??

25-02-2014, 10:34 PM
When is this out to buy??

Tomorrow mate

25-02-2014, 10:57 PM
Tomorrow mate

Brilliant thanks think I'll go get this.

26-02-2014, 02:23 AM
Good grief it's horrid. The lovely Mrs Hobo might wear it is a nightie but that's about it for me......

26-02-2014, 05:51 AM
remember this one

That strip was bowfin. On the plus side, it probably gave a few opposing players a migraine.

As for the new one.......I think i that's bowfin too.

That wasnt a playing kit just a training shirt it also came in a Blues and purples colourway :wink:

26-02-2014, 07:20 AM
I like it tbh. The best Scotland away tops over the years have always been wacky efforts.

Still got that one, a classic.

26-02-2014, 07:53 AM
I think its top notch :greengrin

I will be buying it tomorrow, first Scotland strip in a good 5 years!

Think its definitely a love/hate kind of strip, as we can see...
More hate so far you are one of the few that love it Reminds me of going for an eye test the bands get smaller as you move eyes down and harder to see ,

26-02-2014, 07:56 AM
I actually like it...Some of our away tops
Have been dire over the years.

Hopefully the Mrs buys it for my birthday
on Thursday lol

Remember and keep receipt so you can take it back if she does buy you it .:wink: it's more like a rugby league top

26-02-2014, 08:13 AM
I don't think it's too bad

26-02-2014, 11:36 AM
I think it's smart as. Cannae wait to stroll down the strip in Cancun wearing it :greengrin

26-02-2014, 11:54 AM
As if we don't make a big enough arse of ourselves on the pitch. What a terrible strip

26-02-2014, 11:58 AM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_02_2014/post-35247-13934143420889.jpg

26-02-2014, 12:06 PM
Usually a fan of the wacky kits but based on the squad pictures today - bowfin....

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/

26-02-2014, 12:06 PM
Looks really smart on imo.

Might buy it for wearing at 5s.

26-02-2014, 02:35 PM
1st thought was yuck, but the top alone I think wouldn't be too bad.

Full kit looks awful.

26-02-2014, 02:51 PM
Definitely buying if it looks like that. Whats the damage?
Ģ52 adults :shocked:
15% off for SSC members instore only though :thumbsup:

26-02-2014, 02:54 PM
First impression was yukkkkk but I'm warming to it now :greengrin

Wouldn't buy it though, especially at Ģ52!

26-02-2014, 03:06 PM
Will we now have to stick a maypole in the middle of the centre circle. The opposition will tear us to shreds if they can stop laughing long enough.

26-02-2014, 03:51 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_02_2014/post-35247-13934143420889.jpg

Nice gussets Broony
Horrendous strip IMO

26-02-2014, 03:55 PM
Thought it was April 1st until I checked the calender .
Can't think of a single thing to say in its favour
CRASS !!!!

SmashinGlass
26-02-2014, 04:17 PM
It's ****ing horrific. END OF

26-02-2014, 04:38 PM

im sure they a worth a bit on ebay.i sold the mostly white with yellow and dark blue striped one crom the 90's for more than forty quid and it was well worn

26-02-2014, 04:39 PM

the picture on the internet makes the red look more like pink ????

26-02-2014, 04:47 PM
the picture on the internet makes the red look more like pink ????

It does look more pink than red - nice touch. I think the shirt's a winner. :thumbsup:

Jay
26-02-2014, 04:53 PM
Its real.. you can buy it tomorrow in JD sports.

I won't be though! :) hideous looking thing.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

26-02-2014, 05:21 PM
Its real... And that red looks more like pink !

26-02-2014, 05:22 PM
Anyone else tempted to order the full kit

;-)

26-02-2014, 05:35 PM
strip was just ridiculed on STV news. And rightly so!

26-02-2014, 05:58 PM
Mingin :greengrin

26-02-2014, 06:00 PM
Mingin :greengrin

bit like the team, so should both go together

26-02-2014, 08:21 PM
strip was just ridiculed on STV news. And rightly so!

Aye, by a few old wifies and a guy who looked mortally offended when asked if he ever wore anything pink :greengrin

26-02-2014, 08:33 PM
Embarrassing strip tbh. Lets hope the team arent too when they wear it!

26-02-2014, 10:45 PM
I think its great and i will buy a long sleeved version in about 2 years time when they are selling them off for 15 quid.

27-02-2014, 08:30 AM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/sport/sport-headlines/new-scotland-kit-reflects-countrys-tradition-of-twee-indie-music-2014022784082

CH-ibbie
27-02-2014, 09:29 AM
Quite simply ugly as f***! I don't mind though if they will be playing better with it....

27-02-2014, 06:37 PM
http://www.thedailymash.co.uk/sport/sport-headlines/new-scotland-kit-reflects-countrys-tradition-of-twee-indie-music-2014022784082

Adniston Burn
27-02-2014, 06:55 PM
That is truly awful.

27-02-2014, 06:58 PM
Probably up there with the brown Coventry strip. WTF were they thinking??

27-02-2014, 07:04 PM
So I went buy this today after reading on here it was released yesterday! Nowhere to be seen!!!! No happy!

27-02-2014, 07:44 PM
So I went buy this today after reading on here it was released yesterday! Nowhere to be seen!!!! No happy!

Released to view yesterday. Available to buy Saturday.

VivaHiberņa
27-02-2014, 07:55 PM
I don't know why, but I quite like it. Tempted to buy it but not at fifty quid! :grr:

27-02-2014, 08:13 PM
Released to view yesterday. Available to buy Saturday.

There's a first, it's clearly so horrendous it comes with a cooling off period!

27-02-2014, 08:14 PM
I have ordered the shirt :duck:

27-02-2014, 08:15 PM
That is truly awful.

indeed. and not because it has pink splashed over it.
The stripes are ghastly and, just, why?

27-02-2014, 11:13 PM
looks ok for a top to wear on holiday in the sun, 52 notes is taking the piss though.

27-02-2014, 11:48 PM
Thats horrific. It looks like it was designed by some bairn having a jolly on MS Paint.

04-03-2014, 06:48 PM
You think this one's bad? Have a gander at these!

http://www.shortlist.com/style/wardrobe/50-worst-football-kits-ever

05-03-2014, 08:45 PM

The 1990's was a truly shameful period for football strip designers. Indeed, 1992-93 through to 1997-98 saw some of the worst strips in Hibs history.

VivaHiberņa
05-03-2014, 08:51 PM
The 1990's was a truly shameful period for football strip designers. Indeed, 1992-93 through to 1997-98 saw some of the worst strips in Hibs history.

There's a sizeable contingent of us who love those beautifully garish designs. Truly magnificent.

Being a product of the '90s myself though, maybe it's just a case of like attracting like.

05-03-2014, 09:08 PM

OMG!!!

Talk about an explosion in a paint factory

05-03-2014, 09:09 PM
There's a sizeable contingent of us who love those beautifully garish designs. Truly magnificent.

Being a product of the '90s myself though, maybe it's just a case of like attracting like.

Being a product of the 90`s

You might remember the guy on the right..

05-03-2014, 09:51 PM
I liked it more when I thought it was ted and yellow, was seriously growing on me. Seen it in the flesh and really didn't like how pink it was. Not for me.

05-03-2014, 09:53 PM
Got it last Sunday. It's even more beautiful in the flesh. The fit is outstanding as well. Best Ģ52 I've spent in months

05-03-2014, 10:03 PM

Seen that Gold, Black and Red striped one and thought that's not bad for a Germany kit.

Then realised it was Birmingham! Wtf is that all about :hilarious:

05-03-2014, 10:18 PM
I don't know why, but I quite like it. Tempted to buy it but not at fifty quid! :grr:I know why. ...your weird, and that's why you think it's worth buying, in a quirky sort of way, but hey, each tae their ain. it gies me the dry boak btw

05-03-2014, 10:34 PM
The new USA home kit has not gone down well, personally I think it looks quite smart, but a lot of people are panning it for being plain and too much like a polo shirt. Not a good month for football shirts it seems...

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bhze0wcCYAEIv_m.jpg