View Full Version : Tonight's games

18-02-2014, 07:57 PM
City getting dragged all over the pitch from Barca but still 0-0.

18-02-2014, 08:03 PM
is Neymar injured/suspended? or do they have a problem fitting him into the system the manager wants?

18-02-2014, 08:04 PM
City getting dragged all over the pitch from Barca but still 0-0.

Funny that Barca are making City look like a team of donkeys.

That said, I think that City will win. Close for City as was typing that.

18-02-2014, 08:05 PM
Sub. Think he's been injured as well.

18-02-2014, 08:05 PM
is Neymar injured/suspended? or do they have a problem fitting him into the system the manager wants?

He's been out injured for a while, he is back relatively fit now though

18-02-2014, 08:13 PM

:confused: by keeping possession.

18-02-2014, 08:14 PM

City looking the better team now. Their superior physical presence may well see them through this.

18-02-2014, 08:16 PM
City looking the better team now. Their superior physical presence may well see them through this.

Need to try and keep the ball a bit better?

18-02-2014, 08:17 PM
What a piss poor atmosphere at the City game.

18-02-2014, 08:18 PM
I spoke too soon, Barca shift up a gear.

18-02-2014, 08:23 PM
The ITV commentator is the worst in football. Clive "they don't like it up 'em" Tyldesley. I've got the radio commentary on but it's not in synch!

18-02-2014, 08:30 PM
Referee injured in the Bury Town/Carshalton match - match in doubt.

18-02-2014, 08:30 PM
That was pish!

18-02-2014, 08:32 PM
these 1st leg games are often an anti climax, think ill body swerve the 2nd half and wait on the return leg.

18-02-2014, 08:33 PM
That was pish!

Come on, Carshalton aren't that bad.

18-02-2014, 08:33 PM
Not many top teams play with a 5'8'' centre half!

18-02-2014, 08:36 PM
Come on, Carshalton aren't that bad.

Match back on - Lino took over as ref and the match proceeds with one ref and one lino.

yeezus.
18-02-2014, 08:36 PM
Stranraer 1-0 down to a flukey Ross goal. Mon the Toon

18-02-2014, 08:54 PM
Half-time. Bury Town 0 Carshalton Athletic 0. Possibly the most bizarre half of football (if you can call it that) - 15 minutes added stoppage time and a new ref on the way to Ram Meadow by taxi (hope he's sober).

18-02-2014, 08:54 PM
Barca pen one nil

18-02-2014, 08:55 PM
Demichelis (humpty, always has been) sent off after conceding a penalty. Messi scores it.

Any news from Ram Meadow?

Messi!

Not a pen.

18-02-2014, 08:56 PM
Half-time. Bury Town 0 Carshalton Athletic 0. Possibly the most bizarre half of football (if you can call it that) - 15 minutes added stoppage time and a new ref on the way to Ram Meadow by taxi (hope he's sober).

Any news from Ram Meadow?

Ahead of the game as always. :aok:

18-02-2014, 08:56 PM
Not a pen.

Stonewaller according to my bad eyesight :greengrin

18-02-2014, 08:57 PM
Stonewaller

Thought that was a harsh penalty. Looked like the initial contact was outside the box.

Stonewaller

We'll soon see!

18-02-2014, 08:58 PM
Not a pen.

I thought it was bang on the line when initial contact was made.

18-02-2014, 08:59 PM
Stonewaller

might have been just outside when first bit off tackle was made but hard to decide at pace

I thought it was bang on the line when initial contact was made.

Yup.

And the line is in.

Nomeancity
That's another game ruined by the stupid last man red card and a penalty rule. Spoils the game. If it's in box pen and yellow. Outside the box it's a red. Too many games turn into a non event.

We'll soon see!

:agree: You're correct it wasn't. I stand corrected.

18-02-2014, 09:00 PM
We'll soon see!

Fair enough, from that replay it looks outside.

I had Barca to score first though, so three cheers for the noble Swede in the yellow.

18-02-2014, 09:03 PM
I've only just realise Zabelleta is playing. He's been very very quite the nite.

18-02-2014, 09:08 PM
That Negredo looks hopeless

18-02-2014, 09:09 PM
Back under way with the farce at Ram Meadow - new lino is from South London (Carshalton area, seemingly).

18-02-2014, 09:10 PM
David Silva is a fantastic player, he really is a joy to watch

18-02-2014, 09:12 PM
:agree: You're correct it wasn't. I stand corrected.

To be fair, I only realised after the replay!

18-02-2014, 09:18 PM
That would have been a lovely goal.

18-02-2014, 09:19 PM
Was about to post that there has not been many bad fouls, then up pops Mascherano with a cruncher

That would have been a lovely goal.

Indeed. City are playing ok since the red card.

Not many top teams play with a 5'8'' centre half!

Hope for Stefan Scougall as he nears the end of his (short) legs!

18-02-2014, 09:22 PM
Pique scores, but Fibreglass had been called offside - he wasn't, but maybe that evens things up for the penalty.

18-02-2014, 09:23 PM
First effort on target at Ram Meadow after 59 minutes - easy save...

...and folks think Hibs are dire...

18-02-2014, 09:25 PM
First effort on target at Ram Meadow after 59 minutes - easy save...

...and folks think Hibs are dire...

I like to think that at the nadirs of the Calderwood and Fenlon eras, there was a Carshalton fan gleefully backing against us every week.

18-02-2014, 09:28 PM
Pique scores, but Fibreglass had been called offside - he wasn't, but maybe that evens things up for the penalty.

18-02-2014, 09:31 PM
Game and tie over

2-0. All done.

0-2, Alves.

18-02-2014, 09:32 PM
I like to think that at the nadirs of the Calderwood and Fenlon eras, there was a Carshalton fan gleefully backing against us every week.

Still 20 minutes to go at Ram Meadow - Carshalton just had a shot cleared off the line.

New lino looks decent.

Caley 2-0 Stranraer

How pish is Joe Hart.

18-02-2014, 09:33 PM
I really fear for Hearts if they get Barca next year.

18-02-2014, 09:33 PM
How pish is Joe Hart.

Williams esque:greengrin

18-02-2014, 09:35 PM
Alves MOM for me.

Outstanding and deserved his goal

18-02-2014, 09:38 PM
Wasn't a pen. The leg Messi is kicked on he grounds outside the box after the kick. It was outside the box :nerd:

18-02-2014, 09:40 PM
Good crowd of 239 announced at Ram Meadow - especially as the CL was on Pikey TV

18-02-2014, 09:41 PM
Wasn't a pen. The leg Messi is kicked on he grounds outside the box after the kick. It was outside the box :nerd:

Correct but I think we all agree that at the pace they were moving at it was almost impossible to tell in real time.

18-02-2014, 09:42 PM
Kompany not seeming to understand that Barca were better than City. :wtf:

18-02-2014, 09:44 PM
I was spot on - replays show it was ootside!

18-02-2014, 09:47 PM

Great stuff, and only half an hour behind the rest of the thread. :wink:

18-02-2014, 09:49 PM

18-02-2014, 09:51 PM
Two golden chances for the visitors at Ram Meadow in the closing moments - Dunn should have scored (shot wide) and somehow Wilson misses (again wide).

Unbelievable Jeff.

18-02-2014, 09:52 PM
Don't say I didn't tell you it was coming - Bury Town 0 Carshalton 1 - Henry header in last minute.

18-02-2014, 09:56 PM
FULL TIME - Bury Town 0 - Carshalton Athletic 1 - Neither side deserved the win, but Carshalton nicked it at the death.

18-02-2014, 10:04 PM
Trust those who criticise Hibs for giving the ball away easily were watching MC V Barca tonight.
City must have set some sort of record for giving the ball away while under no pressure , in the first half especially. Improved a bit in second 45 but were made to look very ordinary indeed by a workmanlike Barca side.
As someone posted earlier what a poor crowd atmosphere - have heard more noise on the Links when there was no fitba on :greengrin

18-02-2014, 10:09 PM

Look on him as a kind of downmarket Hawkeye.

SJNB Hibby
18-02-2014, 11:03 PM
The shocking state of Crowds in Scotland
2200 at Cambridge v Wrexham, in the Conference

1400 at a Scottish Cup Match, where ICT were odds on favourites to go thru. OK you wouldnt expect many Stranrear fans, but this was almost half the size of their WORST crowd of the season so far

19-02-2014, 01:48 AM
The shocking state of Crowds in Scotland
2200 at Cambridge v Wrexham, in the Conference

1400 at a Scottish Cup Match, where ICT were odds on favourites to go thru. OK you wouldnt expect many Stranrear fans, but this was almost half the size of their WORST crowd of the season so far
then again look at scotlands population in comparison to england, our small clubs do quite well considering geography. what is peoples fascination with attendances?. we are a small country as such our clubs get small attendances, pretty simple id say.

19-02-2014, 08:45 AM
That's another game ruined by the stupid last man red card and a penalty rule. Spoils the game. If it's in box pen and yellow. Outside the box it's a red. Too many games turn into a non event.

The red card was for "denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity" I believe! :rolleyes:

19-02-2014, 09:30 AM

Aye my post at 9.40pm was made earlier than that .. fugg knows why it took an age to apear. I thought I had posted right after 3pm! :confused:

19-02-2014, 09:45 AM

The tackle was soooo slow that is started outside and continued for a yard or so inside. Its a pen. And he is a terrible defender.

19-02-2014, 11:16 AM
Wasn't a pen. The leg Messi is kicked on he grounds outside the box after the kick. It was outside the box :nerd:Rules state that if the foul continues inside the box then its a penalty.

19-02-2014, 03:16 PM
Aye my post at 9.40pm was made earlier than that .. fugg knows why it took an age to apear. I thought I had posted right after 3pm! :confused:

Now that would have been prescient!