View Full Version : Match Updates Under 20's Hibs 3 v Hearts 2 (Handling 2, Smith) FT

11-02-2014, 01:18 PM
Any idea if this game is likely to be on tonight?

I notice Boateng might be playing. Fancy heading along

11-02-2014, 01:30 PM
Any idea if this game is likely to be on tonight?

I notice Boateng might be playing. Fancy heading along

Game is still on as far as I know. Going to be a cold one though! Better wrap up warm

11-02-2014, 02:03 PM
6pm KO ???

Saturdays Hero
11-02-2014, 02:12 PM
It'll be Hibs U20s v Herts 1st team,their bonnie young lads & all that,so proud so proud !!

Billy
11-02-2014, 02:16 PM
6pm KO ???

6pm kick off. I will be doing my usual updates via Twitter for those not able to make it along.

If you are in the area, our fans or any Hearts fans reading this, then get yourself along to Livingston's ground and watch the game. The young lads really appreciate the support they are given :thumbsup:

11-02-2014, 02:19 PM
6pm kick off. I will be doing my usual updates via Twitter for those not able to make it along.

If you are in the area, our fans or any Hearts fans reading this, then get yourself along to Livingston's ground and watch the game. The young lads really appreciate the support they are given :thumbsup:

Heading along, looking forward to it

11-02-2014, 02:24 PM
Last time the game was moved (v The Huns) and decided I was not going the Murray Park.

This time my van is in garage, so no wheels.... :-(

18/03/07
11-02-2014, 02:31 PM
Game deffo on, Hibs team will have a few 1st team players playing

11-02-2014, 02:37 PM

Good Man. I'll be there.

11-02-2014, 02:43 PM
Pretty much the whole hearts first team will be playing:hilarious

11-02-2014, 03:11 PM
Game deffo on, Hibs team will have a few 1st team players playing

Just watched Terry's interview on Hibs TV, and we're putting out a strong side, as some of the 1st team players need some game time

11-02-2014, 03:17 PM
No matter what team hearts put out hibs must work hard and play football.

11-02-2014, 04:11 PM
Grant, Black, Boateng, Gardiner, Baptie, Smith, Robertson, Harris, Heffernan, Handling, Cummings

subs: Perntreou, Dunsmore, Wilson, Martyniuk, McCaffrey, Martin, Beaton

nribs
11-02-2014, 04:11 PM
[QUOTE=oconnoris there a limit to how many over 20s can play ?

11-02-2014, 04:12 PM
Hope it survives the weather crucial we give some game time to those able to stake a claim.

11-02-2014, 04:17 PM
Hope it survives the weather crucial we give some game time to those able to stake a claim.

It's fine out here just now, just a bit cold

Edit
Starting to snow just now

jakeshibs
11-02-2014, 04:23 PM
keep the updates on the game as cant get there, any win against them is a good win

11-02-2014, 04:23 PM
James Gardiner ‏@jimbo911 6m
@nikki1875 @billybryson07 hearts have 9 first team in their squad and 8

NGP
11-02-2014, 04:28 PM
Heavy snow here in Livi - any news on the game going ahead?

11-02-2014, 04:29 PM
Hearts
ridgers, L.Smith, Ford, Gordon, McHattie, Beith, Paterson, Tapping, Cragie, Oliver and King.

Subs: Hamilton, K. Wilson, Daniels, Simpson

Just had a heavy snow storm, but its blown over

11-02-2014, 04:41 PM
One of my pals is on the bench for them tonight, Kai Wilson.

11-02-2014, 04:47 PM
Heading down now. Do you just park at the ground?

11-02-2014, 04:52 PM
Heading down now. Do you just park at the ground?

Yeah just park outside main stand. Will be busy

11-02-2014, 04:53 PM
Hearts
ridgers, L.Smith, Ford, Gordon, McHattie, Beith, Paterson, Tapping, Cragie, Oliver and King.

Subs: Hamilton, K. Wilson, Daniels, Simpson

Just had a heavy snow storm, but its blown over

Yet another fixture for the poor wee lambs. I can only hope that H&S inspectorate are taking note of the situation.

It's cruel and smacks of exploitation I tell ye.

:violin:

GlenrothesHibee
11-02-2014, 04:57 PM

What is your name on Twitter mate?

11-02-2014, 05:05 PM
What is your name on Twitter mate?

His twitter is billybryson07

11-02-2014, 05:09 PM
1-0 hearts

GlenrothesHibee
11-02-2014, 05:14 PM
His twitter is billybryson07

Cheers bud

11-02-2014, 05:16 PM
Early doors but hows Boetang, Robertson & Heff looking?

11-02-2014, 05:19 PM
Hearts miss a great chance - they've been the better team so far

11-02-2014, 05:27 PM

Is early aye not much created going forward and Boateng looked like he was caught out by the ball skidding on the wet pitch.

Passing it about a bit better now

Leishy1995
11-02-2014, 05:29 PM

And Harris..

11-02-2014, 05:31 PM
And Harris..

Forgot he was playing...

11-02-2014, 05:37 PM
One for the regular U20 watchers but what happened to the centre half called Wilson? Is he still here, out on loan or left?

11-02-2014, 05:38 PM
One for the regular U20 watchers but what happened to the centre half called Wilson? Is he still here, out on loan or left?Sub ..

Grant, Black, Boateng, Gardiner, Baptie, Smith, Robertson, Harris, Heffernan, Handling, Cummings

11-02-2014, 05:42 PM
Sub ..

haha, so he is. What a muppet :greengrin

11-02-2014, 05:46 PM
haha, so he is. What a muppet :greengrin:whistle:..:greengrin

11-02-2014, 05:47 PM
Glad Harris is getting a run out as I thought he still looked miles away at the weekend.

11-02-2014, 05:52 PM
Whiteout here at livi, lines getting cleared by officials and players. Hopefully ref had an orange ball for second half

11-02-2014, 05:52 PM
Harris has been awful since his return. Still got really high hopes for him, might not be this season however.

11-02-2014, 05:53 PM
Ref out having a look at pitch game might be over

jakeshibs
11-02-2014, 05:54 PM
how are we playing, how are Robertson, Harris, Heffernan, Handling, Cummings getting on as consider them as first team players... what is your impression of Boateng???? will he add to our defence hoping for a comfortable win !! mon the Hbs

11-02-2014, 06:01 PM
Looks like game still on. Conditions are terrible though and making it difficult to pass it about.

Snow off now .

Harris not showing much so far

jakeshibs
11-02-2014, 06:03 PM
thanks and grateful for the updates

11-02-2014, 06:09 PM
Robertson shot from 20 yards out deflected for corner.

Ball breaks to Harris outside the box but he snatches at shot and goes wide

11-02-2014, 06:12 PM
Another corner after some good passing but again comes to nothing

11-02-2014, 06:13 PM
Sounds as if conditions make it not a night to judge players too harshly.

11-02-2014, 06:13 PM
Suprised Harris is starting after playing at the weekend

Thought would of been more chance of Thomson,zoubir etc playing

Saying that Harris still qualifies with his ages

11-02-2014, 06:16 PM
1-1 Handling

11-02-2014, 06:19 PM
1-1 Handling

yes get in !!!

11-02-2014, 06:19 PM
Handling misses a great chance after good work from Harris and Heff

11-02-2014, 06:21 PM
Red card against hearts after a bad one against Cummings

jakeshibs
11-02-2014, 06:24 PM
mon the hibs get in tae them !!!!

11-02-2014, 06:25 PM
2-1 Handling again after great play from Robertson

Robertson injured now though

11-02-2014, 06:26 PM
YAAASS, come the wee Hibs.

11-02-2014, 06:27 PM
All Hibs this half

Robbo off now but on his feet

11-02-2014, 06:30 PM
3-1 no sure who scored

11-02-2014, 06:31 PM
Yipeeee game over now.

11-02-2014, 06:32 PM
:jmcp:

11-02-2014, 06:32 PM
3-1 no sure who scored

Euan Smith according to Billy's twitter.

11-02-2014, 06:33 PM
Euan Smith according to Billy's twitter.

Aye he's played well

11-02-2014, 06:33 PM
3-1 no sure who scored

Smith scored

11-02-2014, 06:34 PM
We want 7, we want 7

hibeesathampden
11-02-2014, 06:34 PM
What's the significance of A4?

11-02-2014, 06:35 PM
Laptop went done there for a while, seeing " Hibs 3" vs Hearts was on par with handling the millennium bug:agree:

jakeshibs
come on hibs yesssssssss

Handlings scored quite a bit recently

11-02-2014, 06:36 PM
Clearly it's all Petrie's fault....

11-02-2014, 06:38 PM
Clearly it's all Petrie's fault....

I blame the infrastructure

TheFamous1875
11-02-2014, 06:39 PM
How's Boateng done tonight?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Twiglet
11-02-2014, 06:40 PM

It was David Pauls number. It's been retired for the season as a mark of respect.

hibbymick
11-02-2014, 06:40 PM
Can anyone keep me up to speed here.......what age group is it that these young Hearts world beaters are meant to be coming through at ?:dunno:

11-02-2014, 06:43 PM
3-2 Good free kick

ancienthibby
11-02-2014, 06:46 PM
Can anyone keep me up to speed here.......what age group is it that these young Hearts world beaters are meant to be coming through at ?:dunno:

Aged 84?

11-02-2014, 06:51 PM
MacTwattie scored for the Jam-Twats

11-02-2014, 06:52 PM
Billy Bryson ‏@billybryson07 29s
FT: Hibs 3 Hearts 2 #A4

11-02-2014, 06:53 PM
Well done Hibs! :thumbsup:

jakeshibs
11-02-2014, 06:54 PM
well done Hibs

11-02-2014, 06:57 PM
Good, lets beat them at every level, every time at everything #ourtimetodominate

11-02-2014, 06:57 PM
Well done Hibs.
How much are we likely to be paying Livi in rent for these games?

11-02-2014, 06:58 PM
Well done the under20's keeping the flag flying high for the Hibs just now GGTTH

11-02-2014, 07:03 PM
first team players out....u20 players in

if that's ok with the Health and safety regulations

Stax
11-02-2014, 07:04 PM
Well done laddies, good to instill a winning mentality at all age groups.

11-02-2014, 07:06 PM
Easter Road out, Almondvale in. :duck:

11-02-2014, 07:13 PM
Forever in their shadow!

:jmcp:

11-02-2014, 07:17 PM
Back home now. Must say I enjoyed that.

Hard to judge any performances given the conditions

Definitely going to go again

11-02-2014, 07:30 PM
Good game. Hearts better in the 1st half and Hibs completely dominated the 2nd. Conditions really poor, but Hibs continued to play decent football and should have added to the score at 3-1

11-02-2014, 07:33 PM
Good game. Hearts better in the 1st half and Hibs completely dominated the 2nd. Conditions really poor, but Hibs continued to play decent football and should have added to the score at 3-1

How bad was Robbo's injury Billy ?

007 Mickey Weir
11-02-2014, 07:33 PM
How does that leave us in the league?

11-02-2014, 07:36 PM

He seemed to get the knock before the 3rd goal, but took a pass from a free kick, squared it and Hibs scored. Then lay behind the goals for a few minutes before limping to halfway line with the physio. Hoping its just a twist, but its not giving him much time to recover before Saturday

11-02-2014, 07:41 PM

At first I thought he had feigned it as he crept into free space and got the ball from the free kick. He drived into their box and squared it but he then ended up in a heap behind the goal. Laddie thought there was a cut on his knee but I couldn't see it.

Tom Hart RIP
11-02-2014, 07:42 PM
Terry & Maurice there.
Spotted Paul Hanlon in the crowd and also Ross Caldwell.
Thought Euan Smith was our best player.
Heff did well.
Boatang Ok.
Robertson limped off and looks a doubt for Saturday. Poss sprained ankle???

11-02-2014, 07:48 PM
He seemed to get the knock before the 3rd goal, but took a pass from a free kick, squared it and Hibs scored. Then lay behind the goals for a few minutes before limping to halfway line with the physio. Hoping its just a twist, but its not giving him much time to recover before Saturday

Thanks
Hopefully just a knock, could do with him in the squad.

11-02-2014, 07:49 PM
At first I thought he had feigned it as he crept into free space and got the ball from the free kick. He drived into their box and squared it but he then ended up in a heap behind the goal. Laddie thought there was a cut on his knee but I couldn't see it.

Hopefully not too bad

11-02-2014, 08:23 PM

Agree with itch that mate, hibs were very poor first half, midfield non existent. Second half hibs had obviously had a rocket from mcdonaugh and looked far more capable, and suddenly wanted to get involved physically. Thought hibs number 14 (smith?) had an outstanding second half, and the young laddie who came on for Robertson looked very good as well

11-02-2014, 08:24 PM
Terry & Maurice there.
Heff did well.
Boatang Ok.

Forster and ross Caldwell were there also. They were talking to quite cluster of other young men at half time but didn't recognise any others

11-02-2014, 08:25 PM
Terry & Maurice there.
Heff did well.
Boatang Ok.

Seemed to be more of a twisted knee.

11-02-2014, 08:40 PM
Back home now. Must say I enjoyed that.

Hard to judge any performances given the conditions

Definitely going to go again

Cheers for updates, much appreciated

11-02-2014, 08:43 PM
Forster and ross Caldwell were there also. They were talking to quite cluster of other young men at half time but didn't recognise any others

Worth remembering that they are effectively team mates of these boys.

11-02-2014, 08:53 PM

was good to see so many of the 1st team and youth players there, also a few ex youth players. :thumbsup:

11-02-2014, 08:55 PM
Terry & Maurice there.
Heff did well.
Boatang Ok.

Delighted to hear that Euan dome well, a player who must be knocking on June door of the first team and in the last year of his contract so needs to impress.

Pat 0-7
11-02-2014, 08:58 PM
Agree with itch that mate, hibs were very poor first half, midfield non existent. Second half hibs had obviously had a rocket from mcdonaugh and looked far more capable, and suddenly wanted to get involved physically. Thought hibs number 14 (smith?) had an outstanding second half, and the young laddie who came on for Robertson looked very good as well

Yep, thought Smith played well, Hibs much better second half when we got the ball on the deck and passed it, and got stuck in. Should have had at least one more goal. But of course, only Hibs can end up in the last 5 minutes with backs to the wall against 10 men after they scored their second........

My feet have only now warmed up !!!!! :snowman1

11-02-2014, 09:08 PM
I see Hearts had a guy named Craigie. Wonder if they call him Craigie Boy? :wink:

11-02-2014, 09:32 PM
Just had my dinner and about to type up the post-match interviews. I spoke to James McDonaugh, as always, and I also spoke with Danny Handling. I also saw that Ryan Baptie spoke to the Evening News so there's quite a lot of reaction from the Hibs camp regarding this game going out tomorrow.

GlenrothesHibee
11-02-2014, 10:00 PM
Just had a wee look on their match thread. Going on about 5-1. It must be hurting us because we won the game. To any Jambos looking in....cmon lads its getting really, really embarrassing

11-02-2014, 10:06 PM
I see Hearts had a guy named Craigie. Wonder if they call him Craigie Boy? :wink:

Or "fksakecraigieyacnt!!!"

11-02-2014, 10:13 PM
Was the goalkeeper Murdoch injured or is this a hint of him getting a game on Saturday.

11-02-2014, 10:15 PM
Just had a wee look on their match thread. Going on about 5-1. It must be hurting us because we won the game. To any Jambos looking in....cmon lads its getting really, really embarrassing

Pity more of them didn't make it along tonight.

It's not very often that you are able to watch your club's first team play in exchange for a small donation to a bucket collection.

11-02-2014, 10:18 PM
Was the goalkeeper Murdoch injured or is this a hint of him getting a game on Saturday.

Murdoch got injured last week.

Grant was on the bench on Saturday.

11-02-2014, 10:18 PM

Injured mate.

11-02-2014, 10:21 PM
Injured mate.

Cheers mate

11-02-2014, 10:46 PM
Can anyone give some insight as to what smiths best position is and what type of player is he?

12-02-2014, 12:06 AM
Can anyone give some insight as to what smiths best position is and what type of player is he?

He is a right-sided midfielder, but he can play through the middle as a forward as well. He is offensive minded and regularly chips in with assists and goals at under-20 level, he has great stamina as well. For a wide midfielder he is also quite tall, I think he is about 6 foot.

12-02-2014, 12:27 AM
It'll be Hibs U20s v Herts 1st team,their bonnie young lads & all that,so proud so proud !!

Pretty much the whole hearts first team will be playing:hilarious

It's not very often that you are able to watch your club's first team play in exchange for a small donation to a bucket collection.

Maybe these posts were made in jest but it actually all makes sense.

Every time hearts play in the SPFL we are told that this is their youth team, therefore this must have been their first team playing tonight.

Maybe if the tiny team had got this right from the start they wouldn't be so far behind everyone else.:rolleyes:

Latapy1911
12-02-2014, 08:08 AM
I thought Euan Smith played well yesterday, he looks like he has a bit of calmness and intelligence which is rare in Scottish Football these days I hope to see him in the first team soon.

Heffernan had a quiet game however his flick ons and runs seemed clever enough.

Handling took his goals well, Harris and Cummings were lively, Harris needs to work on his crossing a bit more though It was difficult weather I suppose.

Boateng wasn't convincing but didn't have much to do really.

The game overall was full of aggression, no space and time for anyone to play slick passing football. It was a proper derby game. Though it was clear to me Hibs were the better side, have the better players and it's clear were miles better than them,

However the lack of technical ability and putting the foot on the ball and playing the David Silva, Xavi way didn't happen much. It was proper Scottish hard tackling match with the lack of 1-2s, through balls and real technical football. This makes me concerned as I think we should be adopting a Spanish Philosophy at young level.

Though the weather did make playing difficult I guess.

Bill Milne
12-02-2014, 08:13 AM
Usual reaction on Keechback. They got beat so Hibs fans are crowing about a nothing game, much stronger Hibs team blah blah blah ad nauseam. Funny how it changes when they get a result in these games.

12-02-2014, 09:08 AM
I thought Euan Smith played well yesterday, he looks like he has a bit of calmness and intelligence which is rare in Scottish Football these days I hope to see him in the first team soon.

Handling took his goals well, Harris and Cummings were lively, Harris needs to work on his crossing a bit more though It was difficult weather I suppose.

The game overall was full of aggression, no space and time for anyone to play slick passing football. It was a proper derby game. Though it was clear to me Hibs were the better side, have the better players and it's clear were miles better than them,

However the lack of technical ability and putting the foot on the ball and playing the David Silva, Xavi way didn't happen much. It was proper Scottish hard tackling match with the lack of 1-2s, through balls and real technical football. This makes me concerned as I think we should be adopting a Spanish Philosophy at young level.

Pretty much how I saw it.

Smith was one of the few to show some composure and get his foot on the ball.

Deserved his goal and hopefully he can make the step up

12-02-2014, 09:14 AM

Not sure about that at all, Hearts were the better team and looked sharper than Hibs in the first half. The sending off changed the game to a large extent however Hibs did well second half though we were holding on near the end when they hit the post and looked anything but convincing when the ball was in the air.

Billy
13-02-2014, 04:59 PM

This article in today's EEN explains: http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-under-20s-emerging-from-david-paul-tragedy-1-3304865