View Full Version : Hibs in pop culture

James McPique
01-02-2014, 02:14 AM
I'm a new poster here but when I was watching Phoenix Nights the other day I noticed this classic reference to Mixu and thought it needed posting. Although I'm sure somebody has probably done it at some point before.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FU64cDx69f8

It got me thinking though, can the posters here remember many other incidents like this where something so Hibs related is mentioned in pop culture in a completely random but hilarious way? Obviously disregarding examples such as those raised by the Proclaimers or those actually making fun of Hibs.

Scottiedog007
01-02-2014, 03:14 AM
I think reference to Mixu was because he played for Bolton Wanderers 1994-1997 and as we all know Peter Kaye is from Bolton !!!!

01-02-2014, 05:59 AM
This classic moment in Absolutely. :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MnD7q7EFt0

01-02-2014, 07:33 AM

:faf:never seen that before, fair tickled me!

01-02-2014, 07:39 AM

Is that Jack Docherty?

01-02-2014, 07:41 AM

Is that Jack Docherty?

No its McGlashan ;). (Yes it is)

01-02-2014, 09:05 AM
Mixu is still a folk hero in Bolton.

Luckily for him, and Bolton, he was never offered the manager's position!

01-02-2014, 09:29 AM
Dev mentioned us in an episode of Corrie a few years ago

Rocky
01-02-2014, 09:33 AM

That's a belter - I remember looking for Absolutely on DVD before and couldn't find it. On Amazon for a tenner now though - ordered!

TamHibs
01-02-2014, 10:49 AM
We've been mentioned in an episode of Holby City before aswel

01-02-2014, 10:59 AM
That was funny ................. was that the programme which had the character Callum Gilhooley ( sorry boot spellin' ) I was talking about him the other day ... very funny.

01-02-2014, 11:00 AM
Andy Warhol and Lady GaGa are both massive fans.

Weej1875
01-02-2014, 11:30 AM
We get a mention in the Scots translation of the latest Asterix book.

01-02-2014, 11:32 AM
From the Acid house film - COCO BRYCE HIBS BOY!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=liAjt2Vi_a0

01-02-2014, 11:44 AM
E.T. Is a Hibby, BT advert from late 90s:aok:.Anybody got a link?

Leishy1995
01-02-2014, 11:48 AM
We once got beat of Dundee United on Corrie

01-02-2014, 11:50 AM
Is it too early to mention Finlay Quaye?

01-02-2014, 11:51 AM
E.T. Is a Hibby, BT advert from late 90s:aok:.Anybody got a link?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqeXndn0qyQ

01-02-2014, 11:53 AM
Dev mentioned us in an episode of Corrie a few years ago

We once got beat of Dundee United on Corrie

:boo hoo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SWMTOZ2o0F4

01-02-2014, 11:55 AM
I'm in the middle of a future fiction novel Halting State, written in 2007 by Charles Stross (a sassenach now living in Edinburgh) and he gives Hibs and Easter Road a wee shout. There is no mention of the hertz, but then again, the story is set in 2018....you have to admire the mans prescience :greengrin

Highly recommended to any scifi fans btw. :aok:

01-02-2014, 11:56 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqeXndn0qyQ

Engels74
01-02-2014, 12:35 PM
Boxer Craig McEwan, hows a massive Hibby (literally) got legendary boxing coach Freddie Roach to wear a Hibs top during this fight in the US a few years back. :thumbsup:
Go to 3.28 to see the great man in green and white :flag:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0Dnqi6RZbM

Engels74
01-02-2014, 12:41 PM
And here is him at the end of the fight go to 4.01 :flag:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JQi-H0LqUlY

01-02-2014, 01:06 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMA0JUsu0Fo

01-02-2014, 01:22 PM
Mixu is still a folk hero in Bolton.

Luckily for him, and Bolton, he was never offered the manager's position!

Couldn't do much worse at the minute! I can confirm that Mixu still has his name chanted at Bolton games, even as recently as Tuesday night at QPR!

Fergos
01-02-2014, 01:36 PM
Primal Scream and Irvine Welsh as the Hibee nation doing a kinda dub Scots hip hop tune called Irvine meets the Barry army up town...or summit....in homage no doubt to the old King Tubby reggae album of similar title....it's not as food as it sounds...

CraigK
01-02-2014, 07:36 PM
It was 'The Big Man And The Scream Team Meet The Barmy Army Uptown'. I actually think it's really good.
Welsh was also in a band with Kris Needs called 'Hibee Nation'.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o-tUgDprqlM

Russell Brand mentions us in the first chapter of 'Irons In The Fire'.

01-02-2014, 09:41 PM
Got a mention in the Dennis Waterman show 'On The Up', early 90s/late 80s I think.

01-02-2014, 10:11 PM
Rebus's sidekick Siobhan is a regular at ER (in the books).

01-02-2014, 10:59 PM
That's a belter - I remember looking for Absolutely on DVD before and couldn't find it. On Amazon for a tenner now though - ordered!

Have got the lot on DVD and they are just brilliant :thumbsup:

Topographic Hibby
01-02-2014, 11:51 PM
Got a mention in the Dennis Waterman show 'On The Up', early 90s/late 80s I think.
Correct. His Scottish secretary/PA was a Hibbee. Not an entirely positive mention though. She was being crabbit with DW, and he asked her "What's the matter with you? Hibs get beat again?" ...or similar IIRC.

leithsansiro
01-02-2014, 11:52 PM
Scottish folk band Admiral Fallow reference Hibs in their song Subbuteo - talks about childhood memories of the "red Subbuteo team painted green". Singer is a Hibby and, as I think I've posted before, reminds me of an older, more folky Lewis Stevenson http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDU8Q5ErlJ0

02-02-2014, 12:13 AM
Tenuous link, but the girls in this band are Hibbies, and are wearing Hibs strips in part of the video.

Once watched a gig by one of them at Henry's Cellar Bar. She walked up to the mike and said "Testing, testing, 6-2, 6-2, 6-2" :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb--coPI_dc

02-02-2014, 01:33 AM
Train spotting references? Or is that too obvious? ;)

Actually I'm quite surprised at there being pretty much none in the film.

Renton gets as close as to say "some football team that never ****ing wins" in a monologue about having an honest and sincere junk habit :greengrin:

02-02-2014, 01:41 AM

Renton gets as close as to say "some football team that never ****ing wins" in a monologue about having an honest and sincere junk habit :greengrin:

In the 5s scene, Begbie's wearing a hibs top

02-02-2014, 02:31 AM
In the 5s scene, Begbie's wearing a hibs top

Aye but I define a reference as spoken word, as opposed to that scene and the stikers on rentons bed at his parents house.

If we're counting that then it boosts the numbers a wee bit, so I suppose we can count that :greengrin:

02-02-2014, 05:03 AM
Aye but I define a reference as spoken word, as opposed to that scene and the stikers on rentons bed at his parents house.

If we're counting that then it boosts the numbers a wee bit, so I suppose we can count that :greengrin:

:greengrin Fair enough about spoken references. I still reckon we can sneak Begbie in there!! There's also the references to Hibs in the Rebus books...

02-02-2014, 07:34 AM
Correct. His Scottish secretary/PA was a Hibbee. Not an entirely positive mention though. She was being crabbit with DW, and he asked her "What's the matter with you? Hibs get beat again?" ...or similar IIRC.

That makes sense as Dennis Waterman also mentioned Hibs in an episode of New Tricks last year when he was speaking to Denis Lawson.

02-02-2014, 09:31 AM
Pat Stanton playing the barman in the Granton Star Cause short film.

02-02-2014, 10:42 AM
Tenuous link, but the girls in this band are Hibbies, and are wearing Hibs strips in part of the video.

Once watched a gig by one of them at Henry's Cellar Bar. She walked up to the mike and said "Testing, testing, 6-2, 6-2, 6-2" :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gb--coPI_dc

Good song, the female Proclaimers! Good to see your cultural knowledge extends beyond insolvency! :greengrin

02-02-2014, 10:46 AM
Good song, the female Proclaimers! Good to see your cultural knowledge extends beyond insolvency! :greengrin

If I'm boring about work, I'm even more boring about music. Don't get me started :greengrin

The girls in that band are old mates of mine. The whole family are a famous jazz dynasty in Scotland and, AFAIK, are all Hibbies.

There is a Proclaimers link, actually, in that they had the same manager.

02-02-2014, 11:05 AM
If I'm boring about work, I'm even more boring about music. Don't get me started :greengrin

The girls in that band are old mates of mine. The whole family are a famous jazz dynasty in Scotland and, AFAIK, are all Hibbies.

There is a Proclaimers link, actually, in that they had the same manager.

I know Gina though I'm not sure how, possibly through Jim Sutherland.

02-02-2014, 11:12 AM
Scottish folk band Admiral Fallow reference Hibs in their song Subbuteo - talks about childhood memories of the "red Subbuteo team painted green". Singer is a Hibby and, as I think I've posted before, reminds me of an older, more folky Lewis Stevenson http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MDU8Q5ErlJ0

Was just going to post that - great band and great song.

02-02-2014, 01:34 PM
Can't mind name of film but the Stephen fry art heist movie had a nice wee hibs flavour to it

02-02-2014, 01:58 PM
I'm a new poster here but when I was watching Phoenix Nights the other day I noticed this classic reference to Mixu and thought it needed posting. Although I'm sure somebody has probably done it at some point before.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FU64cDx69f8

It got me thinking though, can the posters here remember many other incidents like this where something so Hibs related is mentioned in pop culture in a completely random but hilarious way? Obviously disregarding examples such as those raised by the Proclaimers or those actually making fun of Hibs.

forgot how good phoenix knights was, might just fire up the dvd later :greengrin

02-02-2014, 02:08 PM
Finley Quaye's debut album, Maverick A Strike, thanks Hibernian FC in the credits.

alnewhaven
02-02-2014, 02:11 PM
Can't mind name of film but the Stephen fry art heist movie had a nice wee hibs flavour to it

Doors open. Ian rankin book

02-02-2014, 02:26 PM
This may seem tenuous, I'm going to ignore the spoken reference suggestion as this visual joke is so obvious. I remember the hilarity from my pals in Yorkshire back in the '90s when I told them Hibs had a sloping pitch.

Just check from 4 minutes in, but whole film is worth checking out for half-time team talk against Pontefract Athletic/Hibs alone. 'Bostock's Cup'.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDxT-D5sXf8

02-02-2014, 06:00 PM

When Rentin is going cold turkey, hibs badge on his bed ( the old football with the crown one)

02-02-2014, 06:38 PM

Superb, I'm borrowing that one. :thumbsup:

02-02-2014, 06:43 PM
The film Sunshine on Leith

As mentioned The Acid House

Can't remember if Hibs get a mention in Filth - I think with a sex case corrupt policeman as the lead it was inevitable that Hearts would figure more in that film

02-02-2014, 06:45 PM
I know Gina though I'm not sure how, possibly through Jim Sutherland.

Her brother, John, used to have a band called Celtic Feet. In the album notes for their one album, credit is given to Franck Sauzee :agree: