View Full Version : Duncan Watmore

Bronson
31-01-2014, 05:55 PM
First interview on hibernian tv https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOw5ozwJWak&feature=c4-overview&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw

Comes across really well i think, very level-headed lad and from what i've seen on twitter from sunderland fans, very highly rated. Could be a very good signing for us:aok:

31-01-2014, 06:16 PM
Seen 6 mins of his best bits on twitter , looks some player on that showing , very tricky and direct .scored some crackers as well .

DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 06:16 PM
Where's his bowler hat & droogs?

31-01-2014, 06:18 PM
Welcome to Hibs hail hail

31-01-2014, 06:19 PM
Seen 6 mins of his best bits on twitter , looks some player on that showing , very tricky and direct .scored some crackers as well .

Seen it as well. Looks a good prospect.

Sounds like a sensible lad as well!

Tynie01011973
31-01-2014, 06:24 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xnBS6WmQ_I

31-01-2014, 06:26 PM
And if he's at home studying in his spare time at least it will keep him away from George Street :wink:

We have been rubbish since all the players stopped going to George Street getting pished(mowbray and mcleish eras)

personally i hope Watmore bottles Harris after a 3 day drinking binge while Collins pishes on Hollisters window, Stevenson will be running over the top of parked cars shouting at innocent passers by that he is better than Lahm

31-01-2014, 06:26 PM

31-01-2014, 06:29 PM
First interview on hibernian tv https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XOw5ozwJWak&feature=c4-overview&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw

Comes across really well i think, very level-headed lad and from what i've seen on twitter from sunderland fans, very highly rated. Could be a very good signing for us:aok:

Good to see a footballer with brains. Wish some of our golden generation had his dedication.

Chibs
31-01-2014, 06:45 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4xnBS6WmQ_I:thumbsup:Looks a cracking player.Thought it was blatant simulation from the ref though at around 50 seconds into the video.

Technofob
31-01-2014, 07:04 PM
We have been rubbish since all the players stopped going to George Street getting pished(mowbray and mcleish eras)

personally i hope Watmore bottles Harris after a 3 day drinking binge while Collins pishes on Hollisters window, Stevenson will be running over the top of parked cars shouting at innocent passers by that he is better than Lahm

:agree:http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif Can't imagine Lewis has ever had a bevvy- someone would have to have spiked his bottle of Perrier.

31-01-2014, 07:06 PM
Looks a cracking player.Thought it was blatant simulation from the ref though at around 50 seconds into the video.:agree::greengrin

31-01-2014, 07:34 PM
Looks like he doesnt know what a backwards pass is .... get the ball head down and just go for it. I presume the opposition in these clips is a good bit below the level of the SP but even so the kid looks up for it, fast and skillfull.

DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 07:36 PM
Looks a cracking player.Thought it was blatant simulation from the ref though at around 50 seconds into the video.

Still a better referee than Craig Thomson

31-01-2014, 07:59 PM
It always makes me smile seeing a referee fall over :)

31-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Looks like he doesnt know what a backwards pass is .... get the ball head down and just go for it. I presume the opposition in these clips is a good bit below the level of the SP but even so the kid looks up for it, fast and skillfull.

There was another clip of him doing more of the same against Arsenal U21s, who presumably aren't s***e, although admittedly some of them will be about 12.

31-01-2014, 08:04 PM
Crikey he's quick and just as speedy with his answers!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7K6dnlKQQCw&list=UUXKLs14yjDc5s7GJ1txkWxw

DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 08:07 PM

Would we have flogged him in the middle of the pitch if he'd say'd maroon?

31-01-2014, 08:11 PM

How are his hashtags?

31-01-2014, 08:11 PM
Would we have flogged him in the middle of the pitch if he'd say'd maroon?

Indeed. TBF he looked a little bit confused by the question. Clearly Hearts and their maroon jersey's are not so well known after all :greengrin

DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Indeed. TBF he looked a little bit confused by the question. Clearly Hearts and their maroon jersey's are not so well known after all :greengrin

Could see it in his eyes "Maroon? I thought they wore pink? sh*t better answer"

Finbar
31-01-2014, 08:13 PM

Daddy or chips?

gaz1875
31-01-2014, 08:28 PM
How many times does he look like he's over hit the ball then leaves the defenders trailing!! lol looking forward to see if he can bring that to ER.

31-01-2014, 09:55 PM

The boy has a set of wheels on him, sign him up uncle Rod.

Leigh who..........

31-01-2014, 09:56 PM
The boy has a set of wheels on him, sign him up uncle Rod.

Leigh who..........

£150K does it right now FACT.

31-01-2014, 10:07 PM

The ginger Messi has arrived.

Magic to watch a winger running at people like that. No had that since Ivan 1st time round :aok:

Welcome Duncan

31-01-2014, 10:13 PM
Looks like what we have been crying out for for last 2 seasons!! Fair play to TB for recognizing in 2 months what wee pat failed to in 2 years. Be great to see some pace in team again...been sadly missed

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Tynie01011973
31-01-2014, 10:27 PM
The ginger Messi has arrived.

Magic to watch a winger running at people like that. No had that since Ivan 1st time round :aok:

Welcome Duncan

TBH think he looks better than Ivan - no just a head down an run guy.

Looks like he has pace, skill, control and awareness - hope he produces it all in the short time we have him

31-01-2014, 11:05 PM
TBH think he looks better than Ivan - no just a head down an run guy.

Looks like he has pace, skill, control and awareness - hope he produces it all in the short time we have him

The King is dead (gone west) - Long Live King Duncan!

DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 11:26 PM
New number 9 since Vine has (thankfully) gone?

Or would that be too much pressure and expectation?

wazoo1875
31-01-2014, 11:44 PM
That boy looks a special talent. You can't put a price on pace like that. Can someone send that video to Kevin mchattie ;-)

The Pointer
01-02-2014, 12:13 AM
"And if he's at home studying in his spare time at least it will keep him away from George Street."

Oh so niaive. He's a student and a footballer so an appalling set of tats and daft coiff will be next! :rolleyes:

01-02-2014, 12:17 AM
Ian Watmore ‏@ianwatmore (https://twitter.com/ianwatmore) 7m (https://twitter.com/ianwatmore/status/429405659365658624) Terry Butcher key to Duncan moving to @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub). 10 clubs were in for him, so difficult choice. But football development paramount.

DAVE1875
01-02-2014, 12:21 AM
And EA have deleted him from FIFA :grr:

01-02-2014, 01:30 AM
How many times does he look like he's over hit the ball then leaves the defenders trailing!! lol looking forward to see if he can bring that to ER.

Hutchinson of well must be getting a boner thinking about scything him down in the next game

01-02-2014, 08:19 AM
Ian Watmore ‏@ianwatmore (https://twitter.com/ianwatmore) 7m (https://twitter.com/ianwatmore/status/429405659365658624) Terry Butcher key to Duncan moving to @HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub). 10 clubs were in for him, so difficult choice. But football development paramount.

Good to hear that. Given our managers reputation and fantastic playing career down South sounds like he will be able to attract players to the club others may not have been able to.

Saw the interview with Duncan and is a very impressive young kid very keen to do well both in his football and academic careers just hope he stays fit and we see the best of him in his short time here.

01-02-2014, 08:58 AM
Gus Poyet on why Hibs?

http://www.sunderlandecho.com/sport/sunderland-afc/hibernian-deal-good-for-sunderland-youngster-watmore-1-6412083

01-02-2014, 09:49 AM
Watmore against Mullen next week could be interesting :-)

01-02-2014, 10:05 AM

:applause:

01-02-2014, 10:07 AM
He looks really strong for quite a wee guy.

Wasn't bullied off the ball once in those clips.

01-02-2014, 10:16 AM

Aye, we were talking about that yesterday :cool2:

MADE IN LEITH
01-02-2014, 11:27 AM
Watmore looks a great wee player and not only has the hunger on the park but has a thirst for Education. I Attained an MA in Acc and Finance myself and it is tough. However the rewards of learning are not just about your chosen discipline but are aslo learniing how to apply yourself in the world of academia and beyond.

Anyway, enough of that, welcome Duncan and hope you find happiness and prosperity at Hibernian which will help see you through your studies.

Glory Glory to the Hibees and Watmore

01-02-2014, 11:33 AM

What more can you add to that ?

01-02-2014, 11:34 AM

A kind of Hare and Tortoise scenario? :greengrin

01-02-2014, 11:45 AM
Penalties galore if he's as fast and direct as that. Goal around 2:15 and 3:55 worth a view, the blue boots need to go though. Black - that's the colour of football boots :soapbox:

01-02-2014, 11:55 AM
Penalties galore if he's as fast and direct as that. Goal around 2:15 and 3:55 worth a view, the blue boots need to go though. Black - that's the colour of football boots :soapbox:

Not if Craig Thomson is ref.

I have a feeling they won't be blue while he plays for Hibs.

01-02-2014, 12:45 PM

That video is a cracker. About 1 minute in the ref goes flying, then in the same bit of play one of the players takes a shot that smacks his team mate in the face and goes in! He must have been a nightmare for teams at that level, in all the clips he is just driving at them with pace, and they are all over the place!

Being serious I think he will be a very good signing for us, and he comes across very well in his interview - seems to be very level headed, and I like the fact hes going to keep up with his degree despite being in full time football now.

01-02-2014, 02:23 PM

would be against Booth - which will let Terry see how he has progressed or not as well

01-02-2014, 02:25 PM
would be against Booth - which will let Terry see how he has progressed or not as well

Is Booth allowed to play?

(Back on topic) I think we've got a real prospect on our hands here, I love the fast, direct style he's got and he seems to tease defenders into thinking he's over-hit the ball, only for him to skip past them with another touch and a change of direction. Would hate to play against him!

01-02-2014, 02:36 PM
Any chance of us signing him permanently if he does well?

01-02-2014, 02:42 PM

Post of the year :agree:

I can reveal i have seen Lewis drinking Fosters. Which proves he isnt totally perfect, a manky lager IMO.

01-02-2014, 02:50 PM

I'd say no chance.

He's very highly thought off at Sunderland.

swordin
01-02-2014, 03:15 PM
Yes the lad looks a great prospect :thumbsup:. Lets give him a chance to settle in and hopefully he can prove his worth in the coming weeks.:agree:
I think he will be competing with Alex Harris ,Stanton or Zouby unless he will play him behind a main striker. Fingers crossed all the new signings add some strength to the squad.

01-02-2014, 03:34 PM
A wee terrier, and plenty of smarts both on and off the park. Really liking this kid :aok:

CapitalHibs
01-02-2014, 03:35 PM

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/terry-butcher-i-may-make-hibs-loans-permanent-1-3289705

Leighonel
01-02-2014, 03:55 PM

Paaaaaaaaaaacccccccccccceeeeeeeee!!! A front three of Harris Haynes Watmore would be very quick. It might not work in every game but if we are looking to hit a team on the break this could work.

GlenrothesHibee
01-02-2014, 04:53 PM
I was speaking to a Sunderland fan on Twitter who was raving about him. Sounds a talent

01-02-2014, 04:56 PM

Quality. The Old Skool approach eh?

01-02-2014, 05:06 PM
This kid needs a chant of his own. The surname Watmore does not make that easy.

He's fast, he's bright, he ****in dynamite...

01-02-2014, 05:19 PM

The Toure brothers song but with Duncan's name :greengrin

Nevi_SOL
01-02-2014, 05:28 PM

Do do do do duncan watmore
(Makalamby Tune)

01-02-2014, 05:33 PM
When he scores we should chant "Wee Watmore" (We want more) :wink:

01-02-2014, 06:33 PM

Doubt it

Read an article in daily mail on twitter earlier and potent and kevin ball rate him really highly. They wanted him to come to Hibs for first team footy under TB. Both said he will learn more here than at other clubs who were after him.

We obviously got better of the deal from the boy that Kille got fromSunderland as potent hinting he's happy to let him go if loan goes well as it hasn't worked out for hom

01-02-2014, 06:42 PM
Remember how good Zarabi looked on youtube :tumble:

just saying.

01-02-2014, 06:54 PM

just saying.

Yup but i'm going on the recommendation made several times from Sunderland's Academy director to Terry that he should take him and the fact that 10 teams wanted him on loan....not a few Clips (good as they are)

01-02-2014, 06:56 PM
Yup but i'm going on the recommendation made several times from Sunderland's Academy director to Terry that he should take him and the fact that 10 teams wanted him on loan....not a few Clips (good as they are)

Thats all very well, but the boy is ginger.

01-02-2014, 07:16 PM

That has just got to be racist.....or something :slipper:

01-02-2014, 07:17 PM

That's catchy!! :-d

01-02-2014, 07:17 PM
"Wee Watmore" (We want more) :wink:

DAVE1875
01-02-2014, 07:23 PM

Singing in the rain?

01-02-2014, 07:37 PM

Like it.. :aok:

01-02-2014, 07:43 PM
That's catchy!! :-d

Like it.. :aok:I don't do ginge ..ginger hair ..ginger baw hair ..gingernut biscuits ..ginger minge ...but if ginge Watmore does what he says on the tin ..Im gonna turn ..welcome tae hibs :thumbsup:

01-02-2014, 07:46 PM
I don't do ginge ..ginger hair ..ginger baw hair ..gingernut biscuits ..ginger minge ...but if ginge Watmore does what he says on the tin ..Im gonna turn ..welcome tae hibs :thumbsup:

:-D

01-02-2014, 07:50 PM

:thumbsup: Pacy,direct,tricky,uses both feet, eye for goal and a pass. Exactly what we've needed for a long long time. Looking forward to seeing this guy at easter road, collins could make good use of some of the crosses in those clips.

01-02-2014, 08:04 PM

The rest of the lyrics may need some adaptation, but here's a starting point -

Watmore, Watmore's what we want (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BL5sIQcCLPM)

01-02-2014, 10:34 PM
:singing: He scores goals for fun
He can't go out in the sun...

hibbymick
01-02-2014, 10:37 PM

He reminds me of this bloke.

Blocks Biloxi
02-02-2014, 12:48 AM
There was another clip of him doing more of the same against Arsenal U21s, who presumably aren't s***e, although admittedly some of them will be about 12.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U80ZyTRiBjA

No.6 is Boateng, at the first goal trying and failing to play the offside trap... then beaten all ends up by Watmore for the second :greengrin

AngusHibby
02-02-2014, 01:09 AM

just saying.

True. I remember getting a bit excited after this clip of Kujabi as well https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwcZgdkN19s

Hoping Watmore is an exception to this though!

02-02-2014, 01:13 AM
Haven't heard of any of the new arrivals but I trust the team especially what gems they found with a smaller budget at Inverness,good luck to them all and I will be in the front line giving my full support as usual

02-02-2014, 02:34 AM
Smart laddie. Never hear footballers talking about life away from have a career in football!

duffers
02-02-2014, 10:59 AM
Lyrically could probably be better, or lengthened, but the tune works pretty well.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3a7cHPy04s8 1.10 - 1.40 in this vid.

We just want more, do do deh, Duncan Watmores, do do deh
and he tries, and he tries, and he tries, and he tries
We just want more, do do deh, Duncan Watmores

:chop:

GlenrothesHibee
02-02-2014, 11:02 AM
He's Watmore
He is good
He has Celtic on the run

02-02-2014, 12:43 PM

It's good, but there's nothing about his gingerness or his legendary drinking habits.

02-02-2014, 01:26 PM
He's ginger he's fizzy he's phenomenal

02-02-2014, 02:53 PM

Spicist? :dunno:

02-02-2014, 06:59 PM
Really looking forward to seeing this boy play for HIBS along with the other two on loan to HIBS.
Shouldn't be long before we see HIBS climbing the league.

posted on HIBS.NET

I'm sure you're trying to make a point about something, just Cannae put my finger on what it is though?!

02-02-2014, 07:00 PM
Really looking forward to seeing this boy play for HIBS along with the other two on loan to HIBS.
Shouldn't be long before we see HIBS climbing the league.

posted on HIBS.NET

How do you think he'll do against Hearts at Tynecastle?

02-02-2014, 08:23 PM
Not really, just chillin

1 city, 1 forum.

Eh?

02-02-2014, 10:10 PM
I'm sure you're trying to make a point about something, just Cannae put my finger on what it is though?!

Nice one :tee hee:

02-02-2014, 10:20 PM
I hope wee watty does well as he seems like a decent player

03-02-2014, 11:54 AM
Eh?

Eh?

03-02-2014, 09:15 PM
Gus obviously rates the young fella & good to see the respect for TB
http://www.tribalfootball.com/articles/sunderland-boss-poyet-hibs-good-move-watmore-4005724?mobile=off#.UvAF7nggGc0

03-02-2014, 09:44 PM
Friend and near neighbour and both his sons are Sunderland fans, they go along quite a bit and rate Watmore very highly, they have seen him play and were a bit surprised he was even released as they thought he'd be getting a run out in the first team sooner rather than later. A real prospect by the sound of it, they are definitely expecting him to come back after the loan.

edwards
03-02-2014, 09:54 PM
Lets just enjoy him and hope he helps win us a trophy :wink:

Bronson
03-02-2014, 11:27 PM
hope he does which will bring the clamour to sign him on a permanent deal.
Probably could have had him for £150k.

fact.

04-02-2014, 10:07 AM

If he is any good he might make my all time best Hibs Ginger XI. I am always trying to improve the competition for places in the team :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH
04-02-2014, 10:48 AM
Got a sneaky fealing that Watmore is going to be a star for us.

Hope we can keep him if he does play well.

CapitalHibs
04-02-2014, 01:24 PM
got a sneaky fealing that watmore is going to be a star for us. agree

hope we can keep him if he does play well. nae chance

04-02-2014, 01:36 PM
Got a sneaky fealing that Watmore is going to be a star for us.

Hope we can keep him if he does play well.

Agreed. If we cant keep him permenantly then we should 100% look at extending his loan.

GlenrothesHibee
04-02-2014, 01:40 PM
I'm sure he will do well. Might take some of the pressure off Harris and let him continue his recovery and regain match sharpness. It's important to remember Duncans a youngster and will make the odd poor decision and mistake and really hope the fans get right behind him. Football is all about confidence.

04-02-2014, 01:42 PM
Best we can hope for is a season long loan next year. If Sunderland feel that he'll get more benefit from that, as opposed to playing reserve and getting the odd first team appearance.