View Full Version : Door to door canvassers?

speedy_gonzales
27-01-2014, 07:56 PM
Is there any laws protecting you from the perpetual harassment from these guys?

Was sitting on my comfy couch in my boxers watching yesterdays game (was in hospital during the game) when the door just went at ten to nine at night.
Answered the door to face a charity canvasser, the usual, very nice and chatty, asking if I already donate, if I'd like to donate more by direct debit etc etc.
I was perfectly reasonable with them, said no thanks and bid them goodnight, then I started to think about my elderly neighbours. They don't need nor want unsolicited door knocks from random strangers at this time of night so is there a code of conduct these guys should abide by.
For the record, most of us have 'no cold calling' signs near our doors that were handed out by our MP a few years back but they don't make much of a difference.
Does anyone live in a 'no cold calling zone' set up by the council, does it make a difference?

27-01-2014, 08:57 PM
I live in one these 'zones', we have the wee notice on our door but it doesn't deter them.
I am totally useless at getting shot of them once I have answered the door.

vein
27-01-2014, 09:10 PM
We get the pests round here too. I always just tell them there's no way im signing up a direct debit at the front door. Had one cheeky bint say will I go to your back door then :-)

I don't get why they do it though, surely nobody is daft enough to hand out their bank details to some randoms at their front door!

27-01-2014, 09:15 PM
I live in one these 'zones', we have the wee notice on our door but it doesn't deter them.
I am totally useless at getting shot of them once I have answered the door.Dinnae let them start, that's the best way. I cut them off as soon as they open their gob, tell them I'm no interested and shut the door in their face.

Should have said, if it's traders as opposed tae scranners I also point them in the direction of the notice on the door and tell them they're getting reported, that usually keeps them away. If the same company turns up again they will get reported, worked so far, never had the same company twice.

28-01-2014, 04:01 PM
I can just imagine DD at the door. Hahahaha.

I have to say that we dont usually get anyone at the door if i am honest.

28-01-2014, 06:10 PM
We get the pests round here too. I always just tell them there's no way im signing up a direct debit at the front door. Had one cheeky bint say will I go to your back door then :-)

I don't get why they do it though, surely nobody is daft enough to hand out their bank details to some randoms at their front door!The cheeky bint would either have laughed or been back wi the polis at my reply to her.

I normally try to be as polite as possible to them.

yeezus.
28-01-2014, 06:58 PM
I can just imagine DD at the door. Hahahaha.

I have to say that we dont usually get anyone at the door if i am honest.

Either do we. Had a Tory at the door in the run up to the 2010 election but I think that was the last time anyone knocked my door :greengrin

30-01-2014, 12:45 PM
The door bell went, I opened the door and was greeted with "good evening sir, before I continue let me assure you I'm not trying to sell you anything" to which I replied............."Good I don't want to buy anything" and slammed the door in his face.

Now I just open the door and say "I'm not interested" and close the door again before they have time to reply, I love doing it too :greengrin