26-01-2014, 05:46 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25906041

Can't disagree with any of that TBH

26-01-2014, 05:55 PM
He's spot on with what he says there.

26-01-2014, 05:59 PM
It's encouraging to read/hear comments from our manager which accurately reflects what I have just witnessed for a change.

That was never a 4-0 game today and there were some positive signs there today.

26-01-2014, 06:00 PM
I don't think there's a manager in Scotland that interviews as well at Terry. He tells it how it is, in a calm, rational manner. He is positive whenever he can be, but doesn't ignore the teams failings when home truths need to be aired. Compared to some of the slavering we hear from other SPL managers and indeed from some of our past managers, he is a breath of fresh air.

Gus Fring
26-01-2014, 06:02 PM
Thomson told Butcher it's not a penalty because he dived after it. Irrelevant. It's a penalty. It's not for Craig Thomson to decide what a players reaction to contact is.

He also told Nelson that it wasn't a hand ball but because it stopped a pass to a Celtic player. If it's not deliberate then it's just tough.

That's 2 mistakes he's contradicted himself for. I hope the SFA are informed.

26-01-2014, 06:03 PM
Thomson told Butcher it's not a penalty because he dived after it. Irrelevant. It's a penalty. It's not for Craig Thomson to decide what a players reaction to contact is. He also told Nelson that it wasn't a hand ball but because it stopped a pass to a Celtic player. If it's not deliberate then it's just tough. That's 2 mistakes he's contradicted himself for. I hope the SFA are informed.

The guys a complete **** Witt. Simple as that. Defo penalty and if it was at he other end then he would of given it I've no doubt in my mind.

Something needs to be done to prevent him reffing our games again

26-01-2014, 06:05 PM
Terry - welcome to the world of Hibernian and our nemesis Craig Thomson :wink:

Encouraged by the last bit.

"So, we'll regroup; hopefully get in a couple of new players next week, and go again."

Inch Hibs
26-01-2014, 06:05 PM
It's not being paranoid at all either. This is highlighted time and time again when that Fernando Counto officiates any of our games.

Well said Terry. Should have went one further and called him a dirty cheating hertz loving welt :agree:

Groathillgrump
26-01-2014, 06:07 PM
We'll never get anything from Thomson. As soon as I saw he was the ref for today's match the outcome was a foregone conclusion. He hates Hibs and doesn't hide the fact! :bitchy:

26-01-2014, 06:13 PM
Thomson told Butcher it's not a penalty because he dived after it. Irrelevant. It's a penalty. It's not for Craig Thomson to decide what a players reaction to contact is.

He also told Nelson that it wasn't a hand ball but because it stopped a pass to a Celtic player. If it's not deliberate then it's just tough.

:top marks Spot on.

This is why Scottish refs have resisted being interviewed after the match. Their actions suggest they are incompetent/cheaters when on the pitch. Having to justify their decision afterwards would just confirm it.

Don Giovanni
26-01-2014, 06:20 PM
Wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Butcher gets cited by Lunny for his (measured & honest) post-match analysis.

Gerard
26-01-2014, 06:32 PM
TB is a fair and honest man. Celtic have more money that buys better players than all the teams in Scotland. They will always be favourites to win games. The result today is not a fair reflection on Hibs' labours. I hope that TB will always be honest in his interviews. Today has been an unfortunate day for our team. I am confident that TB will bring success to our team and there will be many more good days than bad.
G

h1bs4life
26-01-2014, 06:44 PM
Wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if Butcher gets cited by Lunny for his (measured & honest) post-match analysis.

Wouldn't surprise me either ,but Butcher was very guarded what he said although we all could work out what he was meaning. Listening on the radio on the way home was thinking good on you Terry ,time someone from the club said something about that ####. Why did Thomson have to run over and lecture Butcher for having the audacity to jump out his seat in the dug out with his hands in the air while still remaining in the technical area after yet another poor decision

26-01-2014, 06:50 PM
Wouldn't surprise me either ,but Butcher was very guarded what he said although we all could work out what he was meaning. Listening on the radio on the way home was thinking good on you Terry ,time someone from the club said something about that ####. Why did Thomson have to run over and lecture Butcher for having the audacity to jump out his seat in the dug out with his hands in the air while still remaining in the technical area after yet another poor decision

To put it simply he wanted the attention on him. He wanted to try and show he was in control. Dosent really work when you let one side away with various fouls throughout the game as well as allowing their management team onto the pitch.

26-01-2014, 06:52 PM

I don't think he said anything out of order, was just seeking clarity on decision making

Eternal Hibbie
26-01-2014, 06:54 PM

When managers are cited for expressing their opinion of a match official, an opinion totally justified once again by the bias and ineptitude of a blatant cheat, why do they have to go like lambs to the slaughter for sentencing, can they not be represented by legal means to defend their stance ?

If not we shall never have impartial refereeing as the system does not allow for it.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

26-01-2014, 07:06 PM
Definitely a pen but not too sure we can grumble about the handball and then use an example of Thomson getting it wrong not give a pen against us at Pittodrie. However, that previous mistake does help highlight how rubbish a ref he is.

Don Giovanni
26-01-2014, 07:06 PM

Yep, thought he did well walking that particular tightrope but he may receive an invitation to explain his comments.

It's bonkers that a manager is unable to give a frank and honest opinion of any of the performances on the pitch for fear of receieving a suspension or fine.

h1bs4life
26-01-2014, 07:10 PM
I don't think he said anything out of order, was just seeking clarity on decision making

'Wouldn't surprise me either ' was a bit of a tongue in cheek comment , was just glad to hear Butcher commenting on him , especially the ' if i told you what I thought of ref's performance I would be in front of Lunny '.

26-01-2014, 07:18 PM
To put it simply he wanted the attention on him. He wanted to try and show he was in control. Dosent really work when you let one side away with various fouls throughout the game as well as allowing their management team onto the pitch.

Nothing new there mate , ONeill was never off the pitch

Don Giovanni
26-01-2014, 07:22 PM
When managers are cited for expressing their opinion of a match official, an opinion totally justified once again by the bias and ineptitude of a blatant cheat, why do they have to go like lambs to the slaughter for sentencing, can they not be represented by legal means to defend their stance ?

If not we shall never have impartial refereeing as the system does not allow for it.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

There's plenty of corroborating "evidence"!

It's appalling that the antiquated practices of the the Scottish footballing authorities prevent open and accountable processes that can be challenged, reviewed and questioned. No-one should be beyond reproach.

What other organisation operates in such a manner in the 21st century?

Gustavo Fring
26-01-2014, 07:29 PM

It's appalling that the antiquated practices of the the Scottish footballing authorities prevent open and accountable processes that can be challenged, reviewed and questioned. No-one should be beyond reproach.

north korea springs to mind

kim jong lunny

Stax
26-01-2014, 07:48 PM
Thought his comments were well measured and articulate. Got his point across and quite rightly highlighted that stroker Thomson's ineptitude / inconsistency. A lot of positives today from a result that flattered Celtic. As big Tel said, we move on.

26-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Can't argue with any that what tel said in that piece. What I can't get my head around is this, we didn't get a penalty today because after contact Collins has dived.... So what about that wee hearts ******* who he gave a penalty to in that final??? If my memory serves me correctly PK pulls the boy 3 feet outside the box, runs four feet and drops like a fly. He gets a penalty?

Thomson is a shocking ref, mistake after mistake and nothing gets done about it.

26-01-2014, 08:17 PM
Can't argue with any that what tel said in that piece. What I can't get my head around is this, we didn't get a penalty today because after contact Collins has dived.... So what about that wee hearts ******* who he gave a penalty to in that final??? If my memory serves me correctly PK pulls the boy 3 feet outside the box, runs four feet and drops like a fly. He gets a penalty?

Thomson is a shocking ref, mistake after mistake and nothing gets done about it.

What's worse is when he dived he was still outside the box IIRC.

26-01-2014, 08:43 PM
Tel is a breath of fresh air. When we're rubbish he says so, when we've been cheated he stands his ground & highlights the discrepancies. We learn more from TB in a 5 minute interview than we did from some of our prior managers over their career at ER. I was hugely encouraged by a lot of things today, we created more chances in open play against the best team in our league than we have done in almost any other game this season.

Eternal Hibbie
26-01-2014, 08:43 PM

Question :

Is it actually forbidden for a manager to have representation at a disciplinary hearing to determine whether he has valid reasons for complaint and to ensure he is dealt with even handedly ?

Mr Thomson will be smug tonight in the knowledge that he has shafted us once again with no real threat of reproach.

26-01-2014, 08:47 PM
What's worse is when he dived he was still outside the box IIRC.

Yep, with the ref in a perfect position, compare and contrast with his non-award today. Simply bent, IMO.

26-01-2014, 08:52 PM

I don't want to get banned from .net so I will refrain from any more comments on that specimen of a man so my silent protest on him begins

26-01-2014, 09:15 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25906041

Can't disagree with any of that TBHHe's just paranoid :agree:

It's just a pity naebody is really allowed tae speak the truth about that cheating **** and the others who are incompetent clowns. Whatever the SFA say about these clowns at least FIFA have got them sussed.

26-01-2014, 09:17 PM
He's just paranoid :agree:

It's just a pity naebody is really allowed tae speak the truth about that cheating **** and the others who are incompetent clowns. Whatever the SFA say about these clowns at least FIFA have got them sussed.

For once i agree with you 100% !

26-01-2014, 09:37 PM
"If I really said what I wanted to say about the referee's performance today I'd be in trouble with Vincent Lunny"

Says it all really, he can dae what he likes and naebody can speak out about it. ****in' pathetic really.

Weststandwanab
26-01-2014, 09:54 PM
The guys a complete **** Witt. Simple as that. Defo penalty and if it was at he other end then he would of given it I've no doubt in my mind.

Something needs to be done to prevent him reffing our games again After that final he should never have reffed again.

It's not being paranoid at all either. This is highlighted time and time again when that Fernando Counto officiates any of our games.

Well said Terry. Should have went one further and called him a dirty cheating hertz loving welt :agree: That implication was clear in the interview.

TB is a fair and honest man. Celtic have more money that buys better players than all the teams in Scotland. They will always be favourites to win games. The result today is not a fair reflection on Hibs' labours. I hope that TB will always be honest in his interviews. Today has been an unfortunate day for our team. I am confident that TB will bring success to our team and there will be many more good days than bad.
G I agree.

north korea springs to mind

kim jong lunnyBrilliant.

26-01-2014, 11:55 PM
One of the worst referees I've ever had the misfortune to have to repeatedly watch. Personally I think he is an utter cheat against us, there's just too much evidence for it to just be incompetence. BUT, lets say he's not actually cheating us. Lets say it is just pure incompetence, how the **** is he allowed to keep referring?!? How can the SFA still claim he's top ref. There's barely a game goes by that he doesn't make a complete Noel Hunt of at least one decision

Gustavo Fring
27-01-2014, 12:03 AM
craig thomsons c.v - courtesy of wikipedia .

In the 2011 Scottish League Cup Final (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2011_Scottish_League_Cup_Final), Thomson awarded Rangers a penalty kick, but then changed his decision.[14] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-2011_lc-14) Rangers manager Walter Smith described this course of action as "dangerous".[14] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-2011_lc-14)

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-15)

In 2011, Thomson was criticised[by whom? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Manual_of_Style/Words_to_watch#Unsupported_attributions)] for his refereeing of a France (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/France_national_football_team) v Bosnia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bosnia_and_Herzegovina_national_football_team) UEFA Euro 2012 qualification (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UEFA_Euro_2012_qualification) match.[16] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-france_pen-16) With Bosnia requiring a win to qualify for Euro 2012 and leading 1–0, Thomson awarded France a penalty kick.[16] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-france_pen-16) Video evidence indicated that the offence was outwith the penalty area.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-france_pen-16)

Thomson was appointed for the 2012 Scottish Cup Final (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2012_Scottish_Cup_Final), which was won 5–1 by Hearts against their Edinburgh derby (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh_derby) rivals Hibs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.).[17] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-2012_SCF-17) Thomson awarded a penalty kick for Hearts for an offence committed outside the penalty area.

(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-2012_SCF-17)

Thomson was heavily criticised by Romanian observers, with former referee Ion Craciunescu (http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Ion_Craciunescu&action=edit&redlink=1) describing Thomson as "useless" and having "no sense of fair play".[20] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-romania-20) The Romanian head coach, Victor Pițurcă (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Victor_Pi%C8%9Burc%C4%83), claimed that Thomson had incorrectly awarded a penalty kick (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Penalty_kick) to the Netherlands.[20] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-romania-20)

In March 2013, Thomson refereed a UEFA Champions League quarter-final between Borussia Dortmund and Malaga, which Dortmund won with two late goals.[21] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-malaga-21) Each side scored goals, including the match winning goal, from what appeared to be offside positions.[21] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Craig_Thomson_%28referee%29#cite_note-malaga-21) Scottish FA chief executive Stewart Regan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stewart_Regan) spoke in defence of Thomson, saying that he had performed well to earn the high profile appointment and that the problems in the Dortmund v Malaga match had been due to his assistants.

27-01-2014, 06:55 AM
It would be interesting to see a video of all thomson's 'errors' either against hibs or for all matches.

Maybe we could make one if we list them all here first

Tom Hart RIP
27-01-2014, 12:03 PM
Terry's after match press conference in full

http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2014/01/terry-butchers-reaction-to-celtic-defeat/

27-01-2014, 02:04 PM
He's just paranoid :agree:

Kenny Shiels tried it (I know he can go OTT) and look where it got him?? Officials are untouchable, at most levels in football, and I can't see this changing any time soon.......

27-01-2014, 04:32 PM
Kenny Shiels tried it (I know he can go OTT) and look where it got him?? Officials are untouchable, at most levels in football, and I can't see this changing any time soon.......

Romanov, bless his cotton socks, wasn't too far off the mark when he referred to the blazers as Mafia.

27-01-2014, 08:37 PM
Romanov, bless his cotton socks, wasn't too far off the mark when he referred to the blazers as Mafia.

Wasn't it monkeys too? Mowgli and all that? :greengrin