View Full Version : Match Updates Official Match Thread - Hibs v Celtic
26-01-2014, 01:16 PM
Really? The guy is just coming back into the team after a long lay off, and before his injury had shown he was well good enough at this standard. :confused:
That's what I'm saying BH. He's not ready. I rate him but he shouldn't be near the first team yet. He's been shocking this game. Corners and free kicks can't beat first man. Love how Maybury gets it tight on here but Harrris has a mare and it gets unnoticed.
He needs loaned for me. Get his confidence back.
26-01-2014, 01:17 PM
I thought it was just me that has an irrational hatred for the big malaka but the chorus of '**** you Samaras' suggests not :greengrin
We deserve a point at least here - we've played very well this second half.
AL-Qaholik
26-01-2014, 01:18 PM
Looking increasingly like this will be the second game in a row in which we've had a clear penalty not awarded which would've given us the chance to take points from both games.
Sincerely hope Butcher highlights this and asks for answers - although we all know none would be forthcoming...
I hope you're taking the piss
Nope, so Harris hasn't been woeful?
FFS I'm sick of folk defending their fav players. He's been injured and is NOT ready IMO. He's a very good player who I think would benefit from a loan.
Bring him on and take Harris off, the wee man just isn't as sharp today as he has been - end product i.e cross / pass
26-01-2014, 01:19 PM
Liam Craig has been awful today!
26-01-2014, 01:19 PM
How Craig is still on the Park is beyond me?
26-01-2014, 01:20 PM
Craig should be subbed and quickly
Balls plays man - a free kick is maybe fair enough but Nelson should never have been booked.
What a goal.. That's stunning.
**** sake! ****ing hate them.
0-2 Baws!
Superb free kick.
Forever_Green93
26-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Lucky *****!!!!!
F*** you Thomson
What a goal.. That's stunning.
What the ****. **** off dirty smelly twats
That would beat most keepers to be honest.
Didn't deserve that, we've been the better team this half :confused:
Craig needs to be taking off.
26-01-2014, 01:22 PM
Some goal.:cb
Craig Thomson at it again.
How he's not been investigated for his incompetance (to use that word in a naive sense) is beyond me.
Have to say we have more than matched Celtic this half and very unlucky to be 2-0 down.
26-01-2014, 01:23 PM
Can't argue with the finish but never a free kick IMO - how does Nelson get his hand out the way (when it's by his side) at such close proximity?
nribs
Nope, so Harris hasn't been woeful?
FFS I'm sick of folk defending their fav players. He's been injured and is NOT ready IMO. He's a very good player who I think would benefit from a loan.
Harris isn't my fav player and thought he was overhyped. Thinkbhes been a positive today. Your allowed your opinion. Just don't assume every one will agree with it.
Craig Thomson at it again.
How he's not been investigated for his incompetance (to use that word in a naive sense) is beyond me.
In his last 2 games with us he has missed 3 penalties, he's utterly incompetent.
26-01-2014, 01:24 PM
That's what I'm saying BH. He's not ready. I rate him but he shouldn't be near the first team yet. He's been shocking this game. Corners and free kicks can't beat first man. Love how Maybury gets it tight on here but Harrris has a mare and it gets unnoticed.
He needs loaned for me. Get his confidence back.
Cant agree matey, i'd never loan him out, it could all click for him next week and we then have the player we all know is there right where we want him.
Craig should be subbed and quickly
Now that's it's gone two nil who do you bring on that's going to make any real difference?
Harris isn't my fav player and thought he was overhyped. Thinkbhes been a positive today. Your allowed your opinion. Just don't assume every one will agree with it.
I do t mind opinions mate, but he's done nothing today. Suppose folk view games different.
26-01-2014, 01:25 PM
Craig has been totally incompetent today
26-01-2014, 01:26 PM
0-3 score flatters the lesser greens
Berwickhibby
How did Williams not save that FFS
Cant agree matey, i'd never loan him out, it could all click for him next week and we then have the player we all know is there right where we want him.
Hope so, as like I have said I rate him. But just think his confidence has gone.
Don't deserve this scoreline now. Need final whistle now.
Williams FFS and Forster have been **** today.
I do t mind opinions mate, but he's done nothing today. Suppose folk view games different.
I agree TC - he's been far from effective today - couple of nice runs but his final deliveries have been poor.
**** off you Tim ***** :rolleyes:
Now that's it's gone two nil who do you bring on that's going to make any real difference?
It should have been done long before 2-0
We don't deserve to be losing, never mind by 3.
williams getting a bit stick for that goal...
26-01-2014, 01:27 PM
Williams should have stopped that....
0-3 great finish from Pukki - commentator saying that Williams should have saved it - erm...
Ffs! Collapse on the cards.
Never been a 0-3 game today, very unlucky, Williams should've done better though with Pukki's.
Hibs have played well in stages but loosing cheap goals which is not good enough. Goals 1 and 3 are shocking. Soft as ****
26-01-2014, 01:28 PM
3-0 is harsh as ****.
26-01-2014, 01:28 PM
Ben Williams makes yet another howler, but he's apparently the best goalkeeper we have had in years?
I wonder just how many more goals he should be saving but doesn't he will let in before this opinion changes?
26-01-2014, 01:29 PM
I'd be surprised if Butcher doesn't publicly question the refereeing after this
26-01-2014, 01:29 PM
Craig needs to be taking off.
You saying Craigs a rocket like?
26-01-2014, 01:30 PM
Ben Williams makes yet another howler, but he's apparently the best goalkeeper we have had in years?
I wonder just how many more goals he should be saving but doesn't he will let in before this opinion changes?
You forget who we have had the last few years obviously! :greengrin
att: 12,942 450 more than what i would have predicted
We don't deserve to be losing, never mind by 3.
Total injustice and a very unlucky day.
Sammy has played very well. At least one positive!
Williams should have done better. Score line flatters them
Forster stands off pukki too much. Makes it easy
Thomson has to get investigated another disgusting display from the cheat
Don't deserve 3-0, for all the resources celtic are murder
26-01-2014, 01:31 PM
0-3 great finish from Pukki - commentator saying that Williams should have saved it - erm...
Commentator is right
More like a damp squib today.
I'm fizzing at his performance today, bang out of order.
Suppose it could be worse, at least it's not seven.
Haha I'm having one with this phone. Taken!! :D
26-01-2014, 01:32 PM
The shot for the third was moving like a bullet. IMO Williams did well to more the right way and get a hand to it.
Harsh criticism from the commentator and on here.
He's a decent keeper who is a very good one on one shot stopper but does make a good few mistakes regularly, I think he's the best we've had for a few years but would like us to look for a better younger keeper.
Only good thing is we matched them for 76mins today but we need some more quality added before the window closes. With Harris and Stanton in the team we look better as they have some pace. We still need some pace through the middle as Collins and Heff are slow.
**** off :rolleyes:
Total implosion, totally undeserved score line for Celtic.
Top that with Craig getting booked for dissent. If I was a manger I would be ****ing raging at a player for that, so needless. They manage to keep a lid on it in rugby, why football is any different is beyond me.
And that **** couldn't wait for that, penalty Celtic.
Forever_Green93
GTF Thomson ya ******* stupid useless ****
maybury dearie me
Maybury tries a shoulder to shoulder but is so slow he hits his back, really poor from him. :confused:
I'd be surprised if Butcher doesn't publicly question the refereeing after this
He ****ing has too. That cock should never ref another game we're involved in again. Cheating bassa
26-01-2014, 01:33 PM
OH DEAR!! penalty to them and Commons scores.
HA HA Brilliant.
Penalty???? Farce.
You forget who we have had the last few years obviously! :greengrin
:greengrin Even although the 2nd goal was well struck, watch Williams when the ball goes past him, he's more worried about hurting himself against the post, bad positioning by the keeper. And wtf is Maybury doing there? :rolleyes:
Yay...penalty.... :rolleyes:
It should have been done long before 2-0
But who would you bring off bench to replace him .Am not defending Craig .
No blaming Thomson there - that was just stupidity from Maybury.
Mikey_1875
I'm fizzing at his performance today, bang out of order.
He must improve if he wants to reignite his season
wow talk about capitulation jeezo
Maybury has been rotten all day.
Wow Craig Thomson is such a cheat
Berwickhibby
26-01-2014, 01:34 PM
Strange how Thompson saw that as being a penalty>>>> cheating Hearts ****
Mr Grieves
There's a surprise...
HibernianJK
Stupid stupid challenge. Mind you Thompson couldn't have had the whistle to his mouth quick enough.
**** off Thomson
Unreal... But not going to lie, stuck £10 on 0-4 when the first went in. Least I have something to smile about if it finishes like this.
Dear dear. Meltdown on here later.
Wonder if butcher realises the size of the task in hand.
Before we get the inevitable comparison with the 1-1 draw earlier in the season, I'll just point out that we've had more shots, more shots on target and more corners today.
And Butcher didn't put ten men behind the ball.
26-01-2014, 01:35 PM
Second half Thomson has clear view of penalty and gives it.
First half Thomson has clear view of penalty.............
You finish sentence.:rolleyes:
It was a penalty. But it was still softer than ours.
Strange how Thompson saw that as being a penalty>>>> cheating Hearts ****
It was, a clear push by Maybury into the back, caught for pace.
Cairney has been playing ok, cummings has been not to bad, we have options
Second half Thomson has clear view of penalty and gives it. First half Thomson has clear view of penalty............. You finish sentence.:rolleyes:
Thompson is a ****ing cheating ******* and sorry needs brought to task.
Mikey_1875
26-01-2014, 01:36 PM
What chance do you have when a coach leads by that example. Madness. Few positives though, Stanton particularly.
26-01-2014, 01:36 PM
Bit harsh booing at the end IMO as the shoreline was very flattering for Celtic.
26-01-2014, 01:37 PM
:greengrin Even although the 2nd goal was well struck, watch Williams when the ball goes past him, he's more worried about hurting himself against the post, bad positioning by the keeper. And wtf is Maybury doing there? :rolleyes:
Justa tad harsh. The shot went right over the wall into the corner at speed. Keeper has to position himself at the other side of the goal. Few goalkeepers in the world would have done anything differently or better.
Berwickhibby
No blaming Thomson there - that was just stupidity from Maybury.
The foul against Collins in the first half was just as much a penalty as that ..... so yes Thompson is a cheat
Cairney.
Bit harsh booing at the end IMO as the shoreline was very flattering for Celtic.
Not really, we were gash, we had about 5 minutes of decent play, cant defend and cant score. Just not a very good team
26-01-2014, 01:38 PM
Liam craig is murder...massive mistake by butcher making him skipper...truly awful again today
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
May bury was always going to be exposed as game went on for lack of pace Williams to me of late looks like someone who is pondering his future and isn't focused .Thats costing us combined with recent changes to back four . In the end it's what I thought would happen . For me the next three games are crucial to regaining momentum .:flag:
Surely right back is a priority❔
26-01-2014, 01:39 PM
worst home league defeat against them for 10 years
The Tubs
26-01-2014, 01:39 PM
I liked Harris, Stanton and Zoubir. But please Terry, find a new right back or centre half so we can drop Maybury.
What bout Craig. By all accounts he was our worst player or is he exempt from criticism
26-01-2014, 01:40 PM
Not really, we were gash, we had about 5 minutes of decent play, cant defend and cant score. Just not a very good team
Dunno what game you were watcing, but for me we more than matched them for 3/4 of this match
Capitulated at the end, 0-4 really flatters though
The foul against Collins in the first half was just as much a penalty as that ..... so yes Thompson is a cheat
I've no arguments with that but it was a penalty, irrespective of whether he gave the one against Collins (which he should have) or not.
The inconsistency between the 2 decisions is certainly questionable as he had a clear sight to both.
Inch Hibs
Rubbish. We where the better of the teams the majority of the second half. Our defence is ***** though.
Maybury's a good, solid pro though eh? :rolleyes:
We are in a relegation battle! 7 points ahead of Partick and we still need to play them twice.
1. Goals 1,3 and 4 are terrible today
2. We have injuries to key players, our squad is poor
3. Can't score goals
4. No pace apart from Harris and Stanton and
5. We are getting no decisions from refs! Yet another stone wall penalty denied.
Two defeats in a row at home terrible Hibs.
Half the defence is injured and we created several good chances. 5 minutes is just a tad of an understatement.
26-01-2014, 01:41 PM
Dear dear. Meltdown on here later.
Wonder if butcher realises the size of the task in hand.
If he doesn't we'll be playing Hearts again sooner than you think. Too many players not close to being SPFL quality, not enough depth and no strike force.
Feeling more and more like 2012 revisited - get to the end of the season without being relegated.
Incidentally, it's no surprise they've gone so long without conceding. They have a very impressive back line at the minute with Ambrose, van Dijk, Mulgrew and Fisher!
Inch Hibs
Dunno what game you were watcing, but for me we more than matched them for 3/4 of this match
I don't even think we capitulated. A wonder free kick and mistakes by Ben and Maybury made the scoreline look a lot more of a hiding than it really was. :agree:
Craig is never a captain in a million years, you need a leader out there and he is no leader.
75 mins we gave as good as we got and with a bit of luck could've been level.
Youth showed they way forward, maybe be a rethink and give them a go for the rest of the season, particularly Maybury who was pretty poor.
Stanton was my MOM for us, looks a talent, Harris tired near the end but then again he's had a long time out and Zoubir looked lively too.
We matched them for about a quarter of the 2nd half, when tbey wanted to they opened us up with ease
We are in a relegation battle! 7 points ahead of Partick and we still need to play them twice.
1. Goals 1,3 and 4 are terrible today
2. We have injuries to key players, our squad is poor
3. Can't score goals
4. No pace apart from Harris and Stanton and
5. We are getting no decisions from refs! Yet another stone wall penalty denied.
Two defeats in a row at home terrible Hibs.
Aye so we are
The Tubs
26-01-2014, 01:42 PM
What bout Craig. By all accounts he was our worst player or is he exempt from criticism
Aye, he didn't pass to well today, but I thought the middle of the park was ok at backing up the attacking players until the players lost their heids towards the end.
Rubbish. We where the better of the teams the majority of the second half. Our defence is ***** though. Maybury's a good, solid pro though eh? :rolleyes:
See the guy makes a mistake when we are 3 down and gets crucified. He's the best we have. What bout Williams or Craig or Forster for that. Are they exempt from criticism.
Do you fancy a dig at Lewis while you at it.
26-01-2014, 01:42 PM
Harris, Stanton, Zoubir and Taiwo were our best players
26-01-2014, 01:44 PM
Harris, Stanton, Zoubir and Taiwo were our best players Stevenson put in a shift too.
4 nil flattered them...
Craig Thomson there best player
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2
Half the defence is injured and we created several good chances. 5 minutes is just a tad of an understatement.
We didnt create several good chances, if u are happy to watch that kind of performance then fire in but we were 2nd best today and no one can argue
That's 7 goals is the passed 2 week shipped by our defence.
How long is Hanlon out ?
26-01-2014, 01:45 PM
Craig Thomspson is either a cheat or totally incompetent - the SFA should decide!
Berwickhibby
26-01-2014, 01:45 PM
My thoughts, Positives, Harris, Stanton and Twaio played really well.
The Rest, At the first goal WTF were Nelson and Foster thinking..... so we handed them the lead. A clear penalty denied by Thompson (No shock there then) At the second goal Celtic were offside when Nelson handled so it should have been a Hibs free kick.... nope, Williams positioning was also awful.
Again I felt that Williams should have saved the 3rd. Finally WTF was Maybury thinking about being so stupid giving away such a penalty,the Celtic player was running away from goal.
Liam Craig had to be the worst player on the park today, I dont think he managed a pass to a team mate all day.
Now I think Terry understands how big a task he has in front of him.
26-01-2014, 01:46 PM
That's 7 goals is the passed 2 week shipped by our defence.
How long is Hanlon out ?
Meant to be back for Raith.
Nothing wrong with his positioning, if there are any questions with regards the second goal it would be the wall.
He almost got there, you realise you are criticising how he is falling down after attempting to save a shot?
Seems to me 4-0 is very harsh.
Maybe a bit inexperience showing whilst chasing the game.
Seems like 3 individual mistakes and 1 piece of brilliance was our undoing.
My thoughts, Positives, Harris, Stanton and Twaio played really well. The Rest, At the first goal WTF were Nelson and Foster thinking..... so we handed them the lead. A clear penalty denied by Thompson (No shock there then) At the second goal Celtic were offside when Nelson handled so it should have been a Hibs free kick.... nope, Williams positioning was also awful. Again I felt that Williams should have saved the 3rd. Finally WTF was Maybury thinking about being so stupid giving away such a penalty,the Celtic player was running away from goal. Liam Craig had to be the worst player on the park today, I dont think he managed a pass to a team mate all day. Now I think Terry understands how big a task he has in front of him.
I think you'll find folk with disagree with you about Craig???
26-01-2014, 01:47 PM
Rubbish. We where the better of the teams the majority of the second half. Our defence is ***** though.
Maybury's a good, solid pro though eh? :rolleyes:
Our defence is dire and we have no strike force = one outcome .... defeat.
Thought we played and competed quite well in patches in the second half, but we lack quality and have weaknesses in key players/areas. If TB cannot bring in any players this week, this will become yet another relegation battle.
26-01-2014, 01:48 PM
Our defence is dire and we have no strike force = one outcome .... defeat.
Thought we played and competed quite well in patches in the second half, but we lack quality and have weaknesses in key players/areas. If TB cannot bring in any players this week, this will become yet another relegation battle.
Simmer
Celtic can beat any team in the league 4-0. Hibs were unfortunate at times as Fraser Forster and Van Dijk showed their class and quality when it mattered. Add that to us gifting a few goals and not getting a stonewall penalty and it looks lot worse.
We have injuries to 3 centre backs though and it's thrown what was a solid defence into disarray at times.
A few good signings and season could still be a success
Aye so we are
We are face facts. No top six for us this year again and we are 7pts off 11th. It's hard to admit but that's where we are. 28 points from 24 games is pathetic with no Rangers and a pish Hearts team. We have a seven point lead with 14 games to go. Advantage Hibs plus we don't have to play Celtic again. We will be fine but we are in the mix now
26-01-2014, 01:49 PM
Let's get intae this pish, Hibs!
Zoubir and Harris to rip Celtic apart.
3-0 Hibs.
It's easy to say that but realistically on paper and on the park they showed why they are top of league once butcher has his own team on the park we will certainly give them better game at home than today For me Harris has been thrown back into full games too soon but will improve his match fitness..
26-01-2014, 01:49 PM
Yep me :D folk who think Harris was a positive must be drunk. Craig though was so bad he wouldn't get in my 7's side. Stanton was good, looked hungry and not afraid to have a go.
We played the League champions who are unbeaten all season. Was always going to be an uphill battle. Don't think we are going to be in any sort of relegation battle but think we might struggle to make top 6 unless we get some quality in.
26-01-2014, 01:50 PM
Harris, Stanton, Zoubir and Taiwo were our best players
Agree. Three players with pace going forward. Twaio played well today
Craig Thomspson is either a cheat or totally incompetent - the SFA should decide!
Think you'll find that's a requirement for a job as ref in Scotland these days.
Celtic can beat any team in the league 4-0. Hibs were unfortunate at times as Fraser Forster and Van Dijk showed their class and quality when it mattered. Add that to us gifting a few goals and not getting a stonewall penalty and it looks lot worse.
We have injuries to 3 centre backs though and it's thrown what was a solid defence into disarray at times.
The voice of common sense.:top marks
I thought he looked like a poor version of Kevin Thomson, wasn't aggressive enough and some really slack passing gifting them possession over and over again.
Relegation battle :faf:
Gustavo Fring
26-01-2014, 01:52 PM
thought stanton was 1 of the best players on the park , harris and zoubir did well . had celtic on the back foot for large parts of the 2nd half , we were unlucky not to get an equaliser
liam craig , there are no words for how utterly gash he was today . he's on a shocking bit of form just now and surely taiwo has to start along side robbo in the centre of midfield next time
the sooner hanlon and mcgivern are back the better
I thought he looked like a poor version of Kevin Thomson, wasn't aggressive enough and some really slack passing gifting them possession over and over again.
We are weak at the centre of the park, even with Robertson
nribs
Agree. Three players with pace going forward. Twaio played well today
Stanton and Harris were definate possitives today. Harris gets another game under his belt. Stanton looks like he could be a quality player.
Agree but some folk think he did ok from their comments. Has been woeful for weeks. Needs dropped IMHO. I would play Stanton alongside Robertson next game.
This is what I think today as well, Craig Thomson will be feeling quietly pleased with himself, he managed to do just enough to make sure we never got close at an important time, felt he was building up to a sending off as well.
Relegation battle :faf:
Shocking eh! :faf:
26-01-2014, 01:53 PM
4-0 flatters them massively.
We forced their keeper into a few good saves in 2nd half, Harris, Zoubir & Stanton were our driving force. Defensively we were all over the place with both Forster & Nelson both having mares.
Won't even mention Craig.
Taiwo had a good solid game IMO
Don't panic Mr Mannering.
Relegation battle :faf:Knicker twisters & bed wetters out in force today ..:rotflmao:
26-01-2014, 01:53 PM
Cannot understand why butcher wants to bin taiwo. ..far better and more committed that our so called captain...who has been poor for weeks
26-01-2014, 01:54 PM
Good post, optimistic view but yes we are not far from getting better. Today's humping and getting beat from St Mirren last week have been shocking results. I can't see us getting top six this year.
For me bottom six is failure. Butcher needs players in now not 31st of August (4 games into next season)
26-01-2014, 01:55 PM
Seems to me 4-0 is very harsh.
Maybe a bit inexperience showing whilst chasing the game.
Seems like 3 individual mistakes and 1 piece of brilliance was our undoing.
:agree: Could not agree more, the scoreline reads like a PF dream, but I really liked some of the link up play going forward.
Harris, Zoubir or Stanton more than competed with that Celtic team. TB would have learnt a lot about our team from this game.
Couple of weeks ago apparently we could challenge for second.
Now after 3 defeats we're getting relegated!
Nothing wrong with his positioning, if there are any questions with regards the second goal it would be the wall.
He almost got there, you realise you are criticising how he is falling down after attempting to save a shot?
I'm not criticising the way he falls, he was more worried about colliding with the post than saving the ball. A simple half step forward takes that situation out the equation.
It was a well struck free kick, but i don't believe he made the best effort he could have to save it.
James Mcpake would just love to see his mate Leigh Griffiths playing in a Celtic jersey as they're such a great club.
Jeez, give it a rest James - that's not what we want to here from a Hibs player.
:agree: Could not agree more, the scoreline reads like a PF dream, but I really liked some of the link up play going forward. Harris, Zoubir or Stanton more than competed with that Celtic team. TB would have learnt a lot about our team from this game.
Surely Craig needs a wee seat on the bench next week with Stanton retaining his place??
26-01-2014, 01:56 PM
Aye mate :faf:
26-01-2014, 01:56 PM
Cannot understand why butcher wants to bin taiwo. ..far better and more committed that our so called captain...who has been poor for weeks
He doesn't but Taiwo wants to go back south mate personal reasons.
Gustavo Fring
26-01-2014, 01:57 PM
Surely Craig needs a wee seat on the bench next week with Stanton retaining his place??
26-01-2014, 01:58 PM
James Mcpake would just love to see his mate Leigh Griffiths playing in a Celtic jersey as they're such a great club.
Jeez, give it a rest James - that's not what we want to here from a Hibs player.
Total minter
**** off James
"who wouldn't wanna join a club like celtic "
"i think we'd all love to see it"
"they are such a massive club"
"its a step up".
I'm sorry if this is me over reacting but those comments would make me seriously think about telling him to GTF, injured or not. Terrible attitude!
Cheers TC didnt know that mate...shame as I like Taiwo
26-01-2014, 01:59 PM
We matched them for about a quarter of the 2nd half, when tbey wanted to they opened us up with ease
The scored a gift, a wonder free kick, another good strike/poss dodgy goalkeeping and a penalty
Not really goals of a team opening us up with ease!
26-01-2014, 01:59 PM
Agree but some folk think he did ok from their comments. Has been woeful for weeks. Needs dropped IMHO. I would play Stanton alongside Robertson next game.
The thing is if Craig is being asked to hold position,look up and pick passes then thats not his strengths. He's better driving forward and arriving late in the box.
Thomson would be ideal for the role Butcher wanted played there today.he can read a game and with more options ahead of him would automatically be more aggressive in his play.
For what it's worth I like Craig I just don't think we are playing to his strengths.
Cheers TC didnt know that mate...shame as I like Taiwo Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
TT was excellent in the final quarter if last season and I was hoping he would continue on where he left off. Shame cos I really like him and he never stops.
HibeeHendo
26-01-2014, 02:00 PM
Zoubir deserves to keep his place for Raith.
26-01-2014, 02:01 PM
We are in a relegation battle!
We will be fine
So which is it :dunno:
The thing is if Craig is being asked to hold position,look up and pick passes then thats not his strengths. He's better driving forward and arriving late in the box. Thomson would be ideal for the role Butcher wanted played there today.he can read a game and with more options ahead of him would automatically be more aggressive in his play. For what it's worth I like Craig I just don't think we are playing to his strengths.
Thing is he's a professional football player and this is his job. He cannot pass wind at the moment and that's part of the game. Simple as that.
He's the captain and needs to lead by example and he's just not doing that.
26-01-2014, 02:02 PM
"its a step up".
I'm sorry if this is me over reacting but those comments would make me seriously think about telling him to GTF, injured or not. Terrible attitude!
Yep, not the chat you want to hear from a Hibs player.
The scored a gift, a wonder free kick, another good strike/poss dodgy goalkeeping and a penalty
It was what we did, or the ref, they didn't really have to do much creative today.
I'm not criticising the way he falls, he was more worried about colliding with the post than saving the ball. A simple half step forward takes that situation out the equation.
It was a well struck free kick, but i don't believe he made the best effort he could have to save it.
It looked a bit awkward but to criticise him for that is ridiculous, he was at fault for the 3rd I thought.
What McPake is saying is not wrong. Why wouldn't he want to play for a team that are in the CL every year and will win the league every year and make a lot of money doing so. If any of us were offered it we would take it. The only thing that would show a lack of ambition is if another big English club were in for him
26-01-2014, 02:03 PM
Zoubir deserves to keep his place for Raith.
So which is it :dunno::faf:
26-01-2014, 02:04 PM
So which is it :dunno:
Both. We are in a relegation battle but I think we will be fine.
By fine I think we should have enough to stay out of 11th place but by what margin? Goal difference? 1 point? I don't no.
Hibs need to get points on the board ASAP. StMirren and Killie right on our heels, and we still have to play County and Partick twice. Gap is 7points just now.
26-01-2014, 02:04 PM
Thing is he's a professional football player and this is his job. He cannot pass wind at the moment and that's part of the game. Simple as that.
He's the captain and needs to lead by example and he's just not doing that.
Totally agree, just trying to look a bit deeper into the tactics etc...
26-01-2014, 02:05 PM
TB just said that if he was to say what he really thought of craig thomsons performance today he would get himself in trouble
Chibs
26-01-2014, 02:05 PM
Club should make up a DVD of all his **** ups and make a complaint to the powers that be. If it's not against us it's for us.
Cheating cheating cheating
Please stop being so sickback
Sorry. What's that *****hole got to do with it. And you know what they do over there??
TB just said that if he was to say what he really thought of craig thomsons performance today he would get himself in trouble
Remaining professional but deep down wanted to rip him a new one.
26-01-2014, 02:08 PM
where did he say that - didn't see it on the sky interview
26-01-2014, 02:09 PM
where did he say that - didn't see it on the sky interview
on the BBC radio interview, SKY don't own the whole world you know :wink:
26-01-2014, 02:10 PM
Accidental handball last week, we get nothing. Accidental handball this week and it's given against us. Butcher asking for consistency.
patch1875
26-01-2014, 02:10 PM
"its a step up".
Think fellow pro's see players moving to other clubs differently from fans also he's aint coming back to hibs anytime soon so why worry.
Mr Grieves
26-01-2014, 02:15 PM
He also **** it when trying to collect a high ball, which he fumbled. Pukki was a yard away and didn't even challenge him.
26-01-2014, 02:21 PM
Think fellow pro's see players moving to other clubs differently from fans also he's aint coming back to hibs anytime soon so why worry.
If he has a nightmare game against his beloved Celtic then accusations will be flying. Somethings are best left unsaid and his public idolising of Celtic was not advisable.
26-01-2014, 02:26 PM
Jeez, give it a rest James - that's not what we want to here from a Hibs captain .
Sorted , joke hes another one that can f*** off
inglisavhibs
26-01-2014, 02:27 PM
Surely right back is a priority❔
Our defence of Forster Nelson Hanlon and McGivern was doing fine and will do again when fit. The problems are all further forward. Stanton and Harris are a massive bonus. That gives us the basis of a really good team. The other four positions are up for grabs in my opinion. Robertson, Collins and Cummings should play a part and with a few new signings in the summer we could at last be moving in the right direction.
26-01-2014, 02:27 PM
I think Ben should have saved the free kick - good up and over bit he was slow to get there and seemed more concerned about the post clattering him. Maybe harsh but he'd offered Van Dyjk the area to hit by edging towards his right - a wee bit static when the ball is kicked for me.
As for Alan at the end - he'd been steady but that was horrendous decision making from an experienced pro. That for me was AM allowing Thomson's decisions to get to him - they'd had a barney moments before and at Nelson's free kick.
My huge disappointment was we'd played okay, Stanton and Zoubir wanted the ball and really tested Forster, but Celtic came to ER and didn't have to work for any of their goals - each was an utter gift.
Sam Stanton was superb for his first real game, take a bow Sammy son
26-01-2014, 02:28 PM
on the BBC radio interview, SKY don't own the whole world you know :wink:
Inch Hibs
26-01-2014, 02:39 PM
See the guy makes a mistake when we are 3 down and gets crucified. He's the best we have. What bout Williams or Craig or Forster for that. Are they exempt from criticism.
Do you fancy a dig at Lewis while you at it.
Maybury misplaced passes and gifted them possession all game. He was horrific as was Craig.
He's the best we have but nowhere near good enough. Players like him are the reason we have been brutal for the past 5 years. Complete Humpty "but he tries hard"
26-01-2014, 02:47 PM
It looked a bit awkward but to criticise him for that is ridiculous, he was at fault for the 3rd I thought.
I'm sorry, i just think our keeper should not be worried about colliding with the post on the side he's shown the taker by lining the wall up accordingly.
Williams HAS let in some howlers in hi time at Hibs, i wouldnt class that as a howler but it is certainly a goal he could have done a lot better at. And dont even mention the 3rd goal, that was just another really soft goal he's let in, and one of a worrying rising amount. :rolleyes:
26-01-2014, 02:47 PM
You really dont think they opened up our defence?
26-01-2014, 02:56 PM
I don't think they opened us up much, just ask yourself which keeper made the best saves today?
The goals we conceded were ALL avoidable, individual errors caused the final result today, yes we lost by 4 but there were lots of positives from us today especially when you consider the team we had to put out.
26-01-2014, 02:59 PM
They had too much freedom in the midfield area thanks to Liam Craig not being switched on all game - but Celtic never carved us open, no - can't remember Ben having to make a save really, other than a Scott Brown shot which was bread n butter.
Contrast that to ourselves getting in behind Celtic a few times, particularly second half. We were on the front foot, but tiring a wee bit, just before they scored the second. Stanton had three shots on goal, one drawing a wonderful save, Zoubir made Forster work with two fine efforts, Collins had an angled drive off target, Alex Harris got in behind and chose the wrong option with 3 waiting. I'd say Hibs were the side who opened up Celtic more often.
Like I said earlier, Celtic never had to work for their goals - Pukki's strike was decent right enough, but all their goals came from Hibs errors in my opinion - either by failing to close down, failure to communicate, or a bad decision by our player (Maybs).
26-01-2014, 02:59 PM
I'm sorry, i just think our keeper should not be worried about colliding with the post on the side he's shown the taker by lining the wall up accordingly.
Williams HAS let in some howlers in hi time at Hibs, i wouldnt class that as a howler but it is certainly a goal he could have done a lot better at. And dont even mention the 3rd goal, that was just another really soft goal he's let in, and one of a worrying rising amount. :rolleyes:
Happens too often Imo
Hes a terific shot stopper on his day but makes too many mistakes Imo.
Realise ill be in the minority but I womt be arsed if he leaves in the summer
26-01-2014, 03:00 PM
Happens too often Imo
Hes a terific shot stopper on his day but makes too many mistakes Imo.
Realise ill be in the minority but I womt be arsed if he leaves in the summer
26-01-2014, 03:01 PM
I don't think they opened us up much, just ask yourself which keeper made the best saves today?
The goals we conceded were ALL avoidable, individual errors caused the final result today, yes we lost by 4 but there were lots of positives from us today especially when you consider the team we had to put out.
Im not saying there wasnt positives, i thought stanton played well as did taiwo, doesnt really matter who made the best saves when you concede 4 goals. If we had better players then maybe these mistakes wouldnt happen as often as they do, we were outplayed for most of the match today
26-01-2014, 03:03 PM
They had too much freedom in the midfield area thanks to Liam Craig not being switched on all game - but Celtic never carved us open, no - can't remember Ben having to make a save really, other than a Scott Brown shot which was bread n butter.
Contrast that to ourselves getting in behind Celtic a few times, particularly second half. We were on the front foot, but tiring a wee bit, just before they scored the second. Stanton had three shots on goal, one drawing a wonderful save, Zoubir made Forster work with two fine efforts, Collins had an angled drive off target, Alex Harris got in behind and chose the wrong option with 3 waiting. I'd say Hibs were the side who opened up Celtic more often.
Like I said earlier, Celtic never had to work for their goals - Pukki's strike was decent right enough, but all their goals came from Hibs errors in my opinion - either by failing to close down, failure to communicate, or a bad decision by our player (Maybs).
Does it matter if he had no saves to make when we conceded 4 goals, id rather concentrate on the crap defending that led to each goal in the first place, with exception of the free kick as i didnt think it should have been given
26-01-2014, 03:06 PM
Craig was woeful today, thinks he is better than he is, passed the ball to a ball boy and then had a go at Harris for making the run, he was lucky to start today after his performance last week, hope TB gives him a rocketing for his recent play and picking up silly yellow cards for back chatting refs.
26-01-2014, 03:07 PM
Im not saying there wasnt positives, i thought stanton played well as did taiwo, doesnt really matter who made the best saves when you concede 4 goals. If we had better players then maybe these mistakes wouldnt happen as often as they do, we were outplayed for most of the match today
I disagree.
26-01-2014, 03:08 PM
Incidentally, it's no surprise they've gone so long without conceding. They have a very impressive back line at the minute with Ambrose, van Dijk, Mulgrew and Fisher!
But Mulgrew wasn't part of there back four though.
26-01-2014, 03:11 PM
I disagree.
Fair enough, everyone is entitled to their opinion
26-01-2014, 03:13 PM
Liam Craig is having his typical lapse during a season
As for the 2nd goal, anyone who has played at a decent level will know how difficult a free kick like that is to save.
26-01-2014, 03:13 PM
Does it matter if he had no saves to make when we conceded 4 goals, id rather concentrate on the crap defending that led to each goal in the first place, with exception of the free kick as i didnt think it should have been given
You posed a question 'you really don't think they opened up our defence' - I answered that question, no, I don't think Celtic opened us up at all. Certainly not as much as they have previous opposition.
The game is all 'ifs and buts' now anyway - had we scored from a penalty that we should have had, it may have changed the complexion of things, who knows. The crap defending you mention was 1) stupidity from Jordon to even go for a ball that Nelson had covered, 2) Liam Craig allowing too much space for Pukki to get, turn, go, and shoot (resulting in handball), 3) again poor midfield closing down, and 4) a rash, terrible decision by an experienced player, ball going away from goal - however AM's temperament was already seething at Thomson's incompetence and for me let this cloud his judgement - the game was well and truly lost at that point so it proved unimportant.
For 60-70 minutes Hibs held their own, defended well, didn't let heads drop after a disastrous opening goal and slowly came into the game, taking it to Celtic and forcing Forster into some really good saves. Played some decent stuff on the deck between 45-65 minutes too - nice triangles, shifting it quicker, pressing the ball and getting corners.
The game says 0-4 however breaking the game down I think it flatters Celtic big time - but they look strong, quick and powerful and fitness and ability eventually shon through. Hibs tired and looked lightweight in comparison.
I've seen us beat and get something against Celtic playing way way worse than today put it that way.
26-01-2014, 03:18 PM
The thing is if Craig is being asked to hold position,look up and pick passes then thats not his strengths. He's better driving forward and arriving late in the box.
Thomson would be ideal for the role Butcher wanted played there today.he can read a game and with more options ahead of him would automatically be more aggressive in his play.
For what it's worth I like Craig I just don't think we are playing to his strengths.
He should still be able to pass the ball to a Hibs player.
26-01-2014, 03:18 PM
You posed a question 'you really don't think they opened up our defence' - I answered that question, no, I don't think Celtic opened us up at all. Certainly not as much as they have previous opposition.
The game is all 'ifs and buts' now anyway - had we scored from a penalty that we should have had, it may have changed the complexion of things, who knows. The crap defending you mention was 1) stupidity from Jordon to even go for a ball that Nelson had covered, 2) Liam Craig allowing too much space for Pukki to get, turn, go, and shoot (resulting in handball), 3) again poor midfield closing down, and 4) a rash, terrible decision by an experienced player, ball going away from goal - however AM's temperament was already seething at Thomson's incompetence and for me let this cloud his judgement - the game was well and truly lost at that point so it proved unimportant.
For 60-70 minutes Hibs held their own, defended well, didn't let heads drop after a disastrous opening goal and slowly came into the game, taking it to Celtic and forcing Forster into some really good saves. Played some decent stuff on the deck between 45-65 minutes too - nice triangles, shifting it quicker, pressing the ball and getting corners.
The game says 0-4 however breaking the game down I think it flatters Celtic big time - but they look strong, quick and powerful and fitness and ability eventually shon through. Hibs tired and looked lightweight in comparison.
I've seen us beat and get something against Celtic playing way way worse than today put it that way.
If you think we defended well then thats up to you but i thought we were terrible, how many times did they bang into each other or end up tackling each other, celtic had a few corners also if you want to go there, we had a good couple of shots at goal but most were easily saved amd would expect a good keeper to get them, although stantons was a cracking save, all in all a rubbish team performance, stanton and taiwo were only positives for me
26-01-2014, 03:19 PM
"its a step up".
Whether it's the truth or not that comment is unbecoming of a Hibs captain IMO and James has let himself and the club down. He's obviously looking out for and talking up a mate whilst forgetting who his paymasters are. There's free speech, opinions and then there's tact Jeez do we need to educate our "captains".
He should still be able to pass the ball to a Hibs player.
This. He's not the only one but be he's suppose to be one of our better players.
26-01-2014, 03:24 PM
I disagree.
Result counts though as you've told us many times recently. Four nil was harsh but I don't think the team available was any worse than any other point recently.
Inch Hibs
26-01-2014, 03:32 PM
Result counts though as you've told us many times recently. Four nil was harsh but I don't think the team available was any worse than any other point recently.
Hanlon has been our player of the year and he's not playing which means Forster at CH and Maybury at full back - that alone makes it a lot worse than any other point barring last week.
We have a complete lack of depth and too many players who play similar positions in the middle of midfield. The squad is a complete shambles as has been proven when we get a couple of injuries or suspensions.
I really hope we sign a centre half and a full back this window. Hopefully McPake will agree to leave with Clancy, Thomson and Vine this week.
Nomeancity
26-01-2014, 03:45 PM
If you think we defended well then thats up to you but i thought we were terrible, how many times did they bang into each other or end up tackling each other, celtic had a few corners also if you want to go there, we had a good couple of shots at goal but most were easily saved amd would expect a good keeper to get them, although stantons was a cracking save, all in all a rubbish team performance, stanton and taiwo were only positives for me
First time I have ever seen someone slide tackle one of their own team. First half - can't remember who the 2 hibs players were. Some comical defending today.
Galahibby
26-01-2014, 03:55 PM
Whether it's the truth or not that comment is unbecoming of a Hibs captain IMO and James has let himself and the club down. He's obviously looking out for and talking up a mate whilst forgetting who his paymasters are. There's free speech, opinions and then there's tact Jeez do we need to educate our "captains".
Can't say I was too impressed with his "no disrespect to Hibernian, but Harris should be looking to move down south" comments either. How many days after he just signed a new contract?! No wonder young players heads get filled with *****! Thankfully, Alex seems to have a bit more sense than his 'captain'.
26-01-2014, 04:48 PM
Results are what matters, and we have not had enough good results over the last few years. What i saw today was a 4 nil defeat where i could take some positives out of it, would you rather there were none?:confused:
26-01-2014, 04:52 PM
Really? Hanlon missing is huge when playing against the Champions, Robbo we missed as well. Defo some positives though in Stanton.