View Full Version : Getting expelled from GP Surgery.

25-01-2014, 05:09 PM
I know someone who has just been told she has been kicked out of her GP surgery due to missing appointments.

I realise non attendees are a big problem for the NHS but was wondering how many missed appointments result in expulsion ?

She has missed 3 appointments in 4 years.
She also has a very rare auto immune disease called Still's disease. Not too many folk have it and not many doctors know much about it.

So she goes to the surgery for blood tests every week and to the hospital twice a month for an infusion. Add to that her various smear test , birth control etc and she has numerous appointments for various things.

She missed 3 smear tests and got kicked out.

Is this the norm or could it be a case of getting a patient with a virtually unknown condition off their books ?

25-01-2014, 06:38 PM
I'd advise her to get onto Citizen's Advice, if the case is as you've said. AFAIK, she'd have had to have been given previous warnings for missing appointments before being removed from the register.

25-01-2014, 07:08 PM
She had received a letter to say that she had missed 2 appointments and if she missed a third she'd be kicked out.

Now , the 3rd appointment was moved , by her , and she attended for her blood tests.
They say that 3rd appointment was missed even though she got it moved to another date and her bloods were taken.

Does the budget for patients prescriptions come out of the surgery's budget ?

I'm suspicious they didn't want the hassle of her illness.

I honestly do realise that non attendees cause a lot of grief and waste a slot someone else could have had.

25-01-2014, 07:22 PM
What annoys me most about stuff like this is that if you have an appointment with a GP, Dentist or whatever and they're running an hour late, then it's basically tough s**t. These things should work both ways.

25-01-2014, 07:42 PM
Yes the practice is within its rights.

I suggest your someone gets in touch with the Practice Manager to discuss.

I am absolutely certain it will have nothing to do with the conditions someone has.

25-01-2014, 07:51 PM
You never see the same doctor twice at our surgery. It's a new face each time. And they can't wait to get you out the door. Thankfully I don't have to go often, touch wood.

I always laugh when I hear the phrase "My doctor is very concerned about me". Aye right!

25-01-2014, 08:28 PM
Yes the practice is within its rights.

I suggest your someone gets in touch with the Practice Manager to discuss.

I am absolutely certain it will have nothing to do with the conditions someone has.

Been in touch Jack . She wrote a very apologetic letter to the Dr and the Practice manager. Made no difference.
3 times in 4 years ??? I've never heard of anyone being excluded from a surgery.

25-01-2014, 10:16 PM
What annoys me most about stuff like this is that if you have an appointment with a GP, Dentist or whatever and they're running an hour late, then it's basically tough s**t. These things should work both ways.

How would kicking your dentist out of his practice help (or even work)? :devil::stirrer:

26-01-2014, 06:37 AM
She had received a letter to say that she had missed 2 appointments and if she missed a third she'd be kicked out.

Now , the 3rd appointment was moved , by her , and she attended for her blood tests.
They say that 3rd appointment was missed even though she got it moved to another date and her bloods were taken.

Does the budget for patients prescriptions come out of the surgery's budget ?

I'm suspicious they didn't want the hassle of her illness.

I honestly do realise that non attendees cause a lot of grief and waste a slot someone else could have had.

She should definitely go to CAB. They'll be able to assess the case dispassionately and tell her if she has a case for complaint (and help her complain). As Jack said, they're within their rights to take someone off the register but it has to be for valid reasons.

Like Jack though, I'd be absolutely convinced that it's nothing to do with the conditions, medication costs or anything like that.

The entire system would be chaos if GPs etc had to wait for folk turning up whenever they wanted.

26-01-2014, 09:24 AM
You never see the same doctor twice at our surgery. It's a new face each time. And they can't wait to get you out the door. Thankfully I don't have to go often, touch wood.

I always laugh when I hear the phrase "My doctor is very concerned about me". Aye right!

Well, you shouldn't laugh.

I go to the Murrayfield Medical Practice across from the Murrayfield Hotel, and I can assure you that my doctors have been very concerned.

I've not been well and I went to my doctor last thing on Friday 17th. He examined me and suggested I make an appointment to have blood tests on the Monday. I got one for 2.50pm.

I was also given an appointment to come back first thing on Monday morning to see another doctor.

On Monday morning, to save me traipsing back in the afternoon, she decided to take blood herself.

At 7.30 that evening, I got a call from the Western General telling me to go there immediately. From there I was referred to the Royal and eventually admitted around 4.30 am.

The first doctor I saw, phoned me on the Tuesday afternoon as he had received notification about my blood test results from the Western.

It seems my doctors, and the hospitals, did care.

I'm guessing you go to Ladywell House?

26-01-2014, 09:46 AM
Been in touch Jack . She wrote a very apologetic letter to the Dr and the Practice manager. Made no difference.
3 times in 4 years ??? I've never heard of anyone being excluded from a surgery.

That surprises me.

Patients being removed from lists is a fairly regular thing, not common, there's a number of reasons this happens BUT the surgery has to be belts and braces its done the right thing.

I don't think there is an official appeals system, I'm only aware of folk using the complaints system to 'appeal'.

CAB, as Beefster says, can guide a someone through the procedure which is basically making a complaint to the local health board and they'll investigate. If the investigation finds the practice has followed the correct procedure there's not much more a patient can do as the correct procedures have been gone through. IMO the ombudsman would be a waste of time.

26-01-2014, 11:04 AM
Just like to say thanks for the information I have received via pm and on the thread.
It does indeed seem protocols have not been followed and she will be looking into it further.

26-01-2014, 01:00 PM

I go to the Murrayfield Medical Practice across from the Murrayfield Hotel, and I can assure you that my doctors have been very concerned.

I've not been well and I went to my doctor last thing on Friday 17th. He examined me and suggested I make an appointment to have blood tests on the Monday. I got one for 2.50pm.

I was also given an appointment to come back first thing on Monday morning to see another doctor.

On Monday morning, to save me traipsing back in the afternoon, she decided to take blood herself.

At 7.30 that evening, I got a call from the Western General telling me to go there immediately. From there I was referred to the Royal and eventually admitted around 4.30 am.

The first doctor I saw, phoned me on the Tuesday afternoon as he had received notification about my blood test results from the Western.

Hope things turn out well for you Mr Radge.

26-01-2014, 01:40 PM

Sorry to hear that Radge. Hope all goes well for you.

yeezus.
26-01-2014, 08:03 PM

Had the same problem in Aberdeen, now it's just my GP who wants me out the door as quick as possible.

27-01-2014, 09:10 AM
I've heard of people being excluded but that was for their behaviour rather than missing appointments.

27-01-2014, 06:35 PM

Guess you are unlucky Heretoday ..... I've had the same GP for about 20 years and she is utterly brilliant.

27-01-2014, 06:56 PM
I got thrown out of mine, for not making an appointment for the asthma clinic. Yes, not for being a DNA but for not making an appointment. The only way I found out was when I went to pick up a repeat for inhalers and got refused. When telling the receptionist that I'd no inhalers left and given the fact it was Friday afternoon what was I supposed to do if I had an attack, her response was "phone an ambulance!!"

27-01-2014, 08:28 PM

The thing is I am a great believer in the NHS but I suppose I'm alarmed when I witness what I feel is a deterioration of the service in any way.

You are clearly in good hands though and I hope all goes well.

11-02-2014, 08:22 PM
Just a wee update on this.
She wrote another letter to say she hadn't met with the practice manager as per their procedures .
They then sent a letter to her telling her her children would have to leave the practice too.
She wrote back asking why would the children have to leave as their Dad was still registered there and he had NEVER missed an appointment. They said it was policy. If the Mother is out , so are the children.

She ended up registering with another practice and while telling the Doctor what had happened he informed her the practice had not followed the proper procedures as the practice manager had refused to see her to discuss it in the first instance.

She has now received another letter from the original practice manager stating that there had been a misunderstanding and she was welcome to re-register herself and her children.

She has done this as she has a very good Doctor who knows her problems well.

So , she is back in the original practice and although annoyed at the fannying about , she is happy enough with the outcome.

can't see her missing any appointments again :greengrin

What a carry on though. Expelling the kids because the mother was expelled:confused:

11-02-2014, 09:12 PM
The thing is I am a great believer in the NHS but I suppose I'm alarmed when I witness what I feel is a deterioration of the service in any way.

You are clearly in good hands though and I hope all goes well.

I do a lot of work for the NHS and am utterly gobsmacked at the amount of money wasted on external service contracts.
This actually benefits me as i am an external contractor but the money wasted is shocking.

I service machines every year at certain hospitals that have not been used since the last time i serviced them. They seem to think if they have a medical device onsite , it must be serviced whether its being used or not.

One example ( hospital not named) had booked the servicing of 27 Spirometers at the cost of just over £10k. Only 10 out of the 27 had been used since last year. And 5 out of the 10 were nearly as old as me.

I see some shocking stuff going on.

11-02-2014, 10:04 PM
I do a lot of work for the NHS and am utterly gobsmacked at the amount of money wasted on external service contracts.
This actually benefits me as i am an external contractor but the money wasted is shocking.

I service machines every year at certain hospitals that have not been used since the last time i serviced them. They seem to think if they have a medical device onsite , it must be serviced whether its being used or not.

One example ( hospital not named) had booked the servicing of 27 Spirometers at the cost of just over £10k. Only 10 out of the 27 had been used since last year. And 5 out of the 10 were nearly as old as me.

I see some shocking stuff going on.

I wonder if some or all of that over-servicing is caused by ambulance-chasing lawyers encouraging patients to sue the NHS, and as a result the NHS beaks having to be able to show that all their equipment is regularly maintained? :dunno:

19-02-2014, 06:11 PM
I wonder if some or all of that over-servicing is caused by ambulance-chasing lawyers encouraging patients to sue the NHS, and as a result the NHS beaks having to be able to show that all their equipment is regularly maintained? :dunno:

This sounds like the most likely scenario. If anything goes wrong with the patient the lawyers get involved and sink their teeth in wherever they can. I hate this Americanisation fad that seems to have developed here. Personal injury specialists on TV telling you you are within your rights to sue a British institution that, since it's inception, has saved so many lives and drastically improved countless others.

The amount of crap the Nhs gets is unbelievable. It is the best healthcare system in the world and yet there is constant moaning and criticism coming from all angles. We are so bloody lucky in this country. Some folk don't know they're born!

19-02-2014, 07:11 PM
A couple of years ago we were thrown out of our surgery of more than 20 years when they redefined their "catchment" area due to the huge amount of new housing built closer to the surgery than us.

19-02-2014, 07:59 PM
This sounds like the most likely scenario. If anything goes wrong with the patient the lawyers get involved and sink their teeth in wherever they can. I hate this Americanisation fad that seems to have developed here. Personal injury specialists on TV telling you you are within your rights to sue a British institution that, since it's inception, has saved so many lives and drastically improved countless others.

The amount of crap the Nhs gets is unbelievable. It is the best healthcare system in the world and yet there is constant moaning and criticism coming from all angles. We are so bloody lucky in this country. Some folk don't know they're born!

I know, indirectly, someone who had very minor surgery that was completely ****ed up by the surgeon, leaving them with life-long implications and further major surgery required.

The NHS, like any other large organisation, does good things but also has appalling failures. I don't have an issue with it having to pay when it ****s up someone's life.

19-02-2014, 08:19 PM
I know, indirectly, someone who had very minor surgery that was completely ****ed up by the surgeon, leaving them with life-long implications and further major surgery required.

The NHS, like any other large organisation, does good things but also has appalling failures. I don't have an issue with it having to pay when it ****s up someone's life.

Without boring you to death with the details :greengrin i look after pre and post op CardioPulmonary exercise machines. If a patient cannot reach a certain level of anerobic threshold they get sent away to either loose weight or exercise as , using the number (anabolic threshold) they can work out what percentage of chance they have of surviving an operation.
These machines do save hospitals money as it means less time recovering in Intensive Care but they are also responsible for falling death rates at certain hospitals. That sounds good i hear you say but its covering up the amount of patients who die away from the hospital due to not getting operated on as they cannot reach that level of anabolic threshold.

The patient gets sat down and told they have an 10,15,20 percent chance of dying on the operating table due to their AT.

I also KNOW that at least one Hospital in Scotland who uses this piece of kit has users who do not know how to work it properly.
Eg , trying to do a live ECG trace during an exercise test without a delay or filter.

That particular Hospital has cost us thousands in repeat visits , manufacturer flying over , swapping the kit etc.
Funnily enough , its all came to a head today.
They are loosing their service contract on Monday as we don't want to be held responsible for someone dying during testing due to user error.

I have many many stories that would make your toes curl and never want to go into hospital:greengrin

Just to balance it out , i also meet some extraordinary nurses ,Doctors and Consultants who were born to do their chosen profession.

19-02-2014, 08:22 PM
A couple of years ago we were thrown out of our surgery of more than 20 years when they redefined their "catchment" area due to the huge amount of new housing built closer to the surgery than us.

That doesn't sound too fair.
When we moved through to Broxburn , we all stayed registered with our Dentist in Clermiston. Still there now.
Why is it different :confused:

19-02-2014, 09:01 PM
When we moved through to Broxburn , we all stayed registered with our Dentist in Clermiston. Still there now.

I don't think dental practices have the same responsibility to provide patient care to specific catchment areas.

goosano
20-02-2014, 06:25 AM

The obligation to provide home visits if clinically necessary

20-02-2014, 11:28 AM

I agree that it is the best system but systems do fall down occasionally, usually due to human error.