View Full Version : Griffiths to Celtic?
31-01-2014, 01:02 PM
Never. No chance.
It was 9,500 he was on.
31-01-2014, 01:02 PM
Thanks Leigh:boo hoo:
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=J0-_MPKiCiA#
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=w_FaVUK-Vuk#
31-01-2014, 01:06 PM
It was 9,500 he was on.
No he wasn't
31-01-2014, 01:09 PM
No he wasn't
How much was he on then? His new deal was worth 9,500 I was told? 7,000 originally?
Celtic are very fast becoming non-entities in Europe.Can't see them qualifying for the champions league group stage again.
31-01-2014, 01:13 PM
Really?
What if you had 2 offers on the table. One from Hibs, one from Hearts, same terms from either side, let's say Ģ1,000 p/w. You're a below average SPL player, who would be worse than all the senior players at both clubs.
Do you fulfill the selfish childhood dream of signing for Hibs and taking a bite out of our wage structure? Or do you take one for the team and systematically rob money from the tramps across the road, all the while being a pretty crap player?
I'd sign for Hearts every time.
It's very easy for folk on here to say they would never sign for whatever team, but i'm sure if you are a footballer you can't think like that, they still have to pay the bills, remember many moons ago i knew this lad who was playing for Hutchie, he was a Hibby along with the rest of his family and there was talk that Hibs would give him his first contract, it never happened and h****s offered him a contract, it was his only offer and he took it, his old man was obviously delighted his son had got a team, but a bit gutted it was with them, but he was never going to turn it down just because it was them.
31-01-2014, 01:14 PM
You sure ? If you had the desire and drive to be a footballer would you not sign for a club offering the chance to 'live your dream' ?
I trained/played with Hearts in a youth tournament as a early teenager but I'm utterly in love with Hibs - wouldn't have stopped my love for Hibs either (nor did it). I wanted to be a pro footballer, that was all I thought about morning, noon and night until you couldn't see the goalposts due to darkness.
Good luck to Leigh - he is a Hibee and will always be a Hibee - just so happens he is signing for a bigger club who offer a Euro stage and more cash for him. He owes Hibs nothing, he gave us 2 seasons of brilliant football and cherished moments in such a short space of time.
:agree: :top marks
31-01-2014, 01:18 PM
It was 9,500 he was on.
Never. No chance.
31-01-2014, 01:20 PM
How much was he on then? His new deal was worth 9,500 I was told? 7,000 originally?
Do you really think he would take a wage cut to go to celtc.
31-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Never. No chance.
Thats what his pal told me.
31-01-2014, 01:23 PM
Do you really think he would take a wage cut to go to celtc.
If he is desperate to come back to Scotland to be closer to his kids , then possibly.
mmmmhibby
31-01-2014, 01:26 PM
It's very easy for folk on here to say they would never sign for whatever team, but i'm sure if you are a footballer you can't think like that, they still have to pay the bills, remember many moons ago i knew this lad who was playing for Hutchie, he was a Hibby along with the rest of his family and there was talk that Hibs would give him his first contract, it never happened and h****s offered him a contract, it was his only offer and he took it, his old man was obviously delighted his son had got a team, but a bit gutted it was with them, but he was never going to turn it down just because it was them.
100% agree
31-01-2014, 01:29 PM
I would never sign for Hearts.
Not under any circumstances.
If I had to sign for hearts, I would score a spectacular own goal hat-trick in the relegation playoffs.
31-01-2014, 01:35 PM
Lennon on SSN...
31-01-2014, 01:39 PM
Thats what his pal told me.
I really can't see a football player divulging how much he gets paid each week to one of his mates. imo :aok:
TheFamous1875
31-01-2014, 01:40 PM
Lennon on SSN...
What's he saying?
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
hibsmad
31-01-2014, 01:41 PM
If I had to sign for hearts, I would score a spectacular own goal hat-trick in the relegation playoffs.
:agree: Then rip off your shirt to celebrate, throw it on the centre circle, before pissing all over it!!
Now come on, no one can say this isn't a genuine option for any Hibs fan offered a contract at one of our rivals.
hibsmad
31-01-2014, 01:45 PM
At least he looks gutted to be there in the pic I suppose.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25977707
31-01-2014, 01:45 PM
I really can't see a football player divulging how much he gets paid each week to one of his mates. imo :aok:
I can especially when its his best pal:aok:
31-01-2014, 01:47 PM
What's he saying?
Deals been agreed and he'll be Celtic player, subject to a medical.
Inch Hibs
31-01-2014, 01:50 PM
Good luck to Leigh. Hopefully peforms well in the Champions League.
Start by ramming the jambos in a couple of weeks please. :aok:
Bronson
31-01-2014, 01:54 PM
Unbelievably gutted about sparky going to septic. Will be heart-wrenching seeing him in that horrible top, even worse than Riordan and that stung like a b*tch.:boo hoo:
I still love the guy, gave me some cracking memories:not worth
31-01-2014, 01:56 PM
Unbelievably gutted about sparky going to septic. Will be heart-wrenching seeing him in that horrible top, even worse than Riordan and that stung like a b*tch.:boo hoo:
I still love the guy, gave me some cracking memories:not worth
Me too:boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 01:57 PM
Imagine Leigh scoring the winner against us in a SC final .......
31-01-2014, 01:58 PM
Wish leigh all the best. Just hope Celtic play the boy and he isn't playing as a bit part player. He's far to good for that sort of role. Good luck sparky son..... :not worth
31-01-2014, 01:58 PM
Don't say that:boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 01:59 PM
Wonder if he will celebrate a goal against us
31-01-2014, 02:00 PM
And running away celebrating with the soapdodgers :greengrin
Wonder if he will celebrate a goal against usProbably not at first,then after acouple of seasons he will then we'll end up hating him.money is the root of all evil.
31-01-2014, 02:02 PM
I think Leigh has too much class to do that.
31-01-2014, 02:02 PM
Wonder if he will celebrate a goal against us
Nah. Or atleast I hope not. Did he celebrate against Dundee? Im sure he did actually, ran over to the East, slid on his knees and kissed the badge.
31-01-2014, 02:07 PM
As others have said I wouldn't be at all surprised to see this similar to the Riordan set up where we'll have him back in 2-3 years.
In the mean time Leigh and his twitter/wind up issues are Celtc's problem now and anything that can weaken them against us is a good thing.
31-01-2014, 02:09 PM
Cant understand all this grief over a Wolves player signing for ceptic? He's never been our player, we couldnt afford him or his wages, and the lad is making a terrific wedge for signing for them.
Plus he gave us 2 great seasons while with us on loan. Good luck Leigh, hurry home. :wink:
Inch Hibs
31-01-2014, 02:11 PM
Cant understand all this grief over a Wolves player signing for ceptic? He's never been our player, we couldnt afford him or his wages, and the lad is making a terrific wedge for signing for them.
Plus he gave us 2 great seasons while with us on loan. Good luck Leigh, hurry home. :wink:
:agree: spot on mate.
Bronson
31-01-2014, 02:18 PM
I agree, don't grudge him the move and he's certainly out of our league now. It's just the fact he's somewhat of a cult hero at ER and it will be horrible watching him play for one of the Ugly Sisters.
Definitely a good career move for him personally though.
H1B33 1875
31-01-2014, 02:29 PM
Will be a hard 1 to take watchin Sparky back at Easter Road in a Celtic top. Looks like he was fed up at Wolves, not playing and homesick, he'd signed the long contract so his only real option was Celtic, only team who could afford him. If he hadnt signed that contract we could have offered him a pre-contract about now, would he have signed? I think he might have being a die hard Hibs fan...In terms of celebrating, I dont think he will if he scores against us, he loves the club too much.
31-01-2014, 02:33 PM
Always a hero in my eyes. Pulled my ticket out for the Happy Hibby draw:greengrin
Stringer
31-01-2014, 02:36 PM
Why do people care if he celebrates! You don't become a hibs legend after one good season.
I've asked.
The only thing we know for sure is that he doesn't get off at Haymarket. :wink:
quote of the week:greengrin
TheFamous1875
31-01-2014, 03:26 PM
Why do people care if he celebrates! You don't become a hibs legend after one good season.
Hibs hero?
Think it will be very similar as to when he scored for us against dundee... No celebration
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2
31-01-2014, 03:48 PM
Retweeted by Gerry Braiden (https://twitter.com/GerryBraiden) https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/1138884884/Jockstein_header_bigger.png Celtic Underground @celticrumours (https://twitter.com/celticrumours) 24m (https://twitter.com/celticrumours/status/429288673453285376)
Rumours that we are paying Leigh Griffiths entirely in child care vouchers are, at this time, unconfirmed
31-01-2014, 04:26 PM
Leigh needs to be close to home and the various mouths that need fed. It's a very responsible decision of his to go to Celtic at this time.
Mind you if I was him I'd head for Canada or somewhere!
31-01-2014, 04:43 PM
Can't see him doing a Deek mate. :-)
I may be in the minority here but I am quite pleased for Leigh. Would prefer he was coming here, but I am just glad he has left Wolves. I don't think that club treated him with any respect what so ever and his talent was utterly wasted there. I wish Leigh nothing but the best for the future and hope to see him back at Easter Road, where he belongs, one day. The soap dodgers really don't seem to get what a great signing this is for them. He's already a great player and I think he can develop further as well. Will tear this league up with the players around him at Celtic. Don't misunderstand my sentiments here though, I wish Leigh well, but certainly not Celtc.
31-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Can't see him doing a Deek mate. :-)
31-01-2014, 04:53 PM
Stop torturing yourself. We're all gutted at him going to the lot, but most understand why he did. IMHO it's not LG's fault - he's been kidnapped by a bunch of unwashed, dirty, manky wannabes who are insignificant in world football. He'll do his few years, score barrel loads of goals and leave with piles of cash. Once he's made his fortune, he'll escape from that West Coast Midden and return to play for the great Hibees.
31-01-2014, 04:58 PM
When he scored against us at ER after he signed for the smellies.
Seemed to love scoring that goal.
DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 05:01 PM
Leigh seems to be the type to not celebrate against former clubs. Refused to celebrate after scoring against Dundee IIRC
DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 05:04 PM
Personally I hope Leigh has a bust up with Lennon during training in which he nuts Lennon before punching John Mjallby to the ground, racing into the building to get his things from his locker, hopping in his car & racing away from the training complex
:duck:
DAVE1875
31-01-2014, 05:11 PM
I think he didn't celebrate the first time but when we played them at Easter Road later in the season he celebrated then.
Did he celebrate? I just remember him running back to our half to wait for the kick-off
31-01-2014, 05:17 PM
If we are still talking about Deek , he nearly jumped in amongst the Celtic fans when he scored. SH I have it on pretty good authority that he LOVED scoring that goal against us.
31-01-2014, 05:24 PM
Leigh needs to be close to home and the various mouths that need fed. It's a very responsible decision of his to go to Celtic at this time.
Mind you if I was him I'd head for Canada or somewhere!
mmm... more responsible than earning his coin at Wolves and dedicating himself to his career? Plenty of fathers work away from home for whatever reason, doesn't make them irresponsible.
I think he's moving back primarily because he wants to live in Scotland, and Celtic will pay him the most money to do that. I'm not judging him for that, but I think he's doing what suits him best.
31-01-2014, 05:25 PM
If we are still talking about Deek , he nearly jumped in amongst the Celtic fans when he scored. SH I have it on pretty good authority that he LOVED scoring that goal against us.
That is spun beyond belief :greengrin
31-01-2014, 05:31 PM
Had to switch off the telly when Lemon's face came on the screen.
Felt sick to my stomach.
On the bright side, I think this Sunderland laddie could be the fans' new fav. Hope so. :greengrin
31-01-2014, 05:33 PM
Really, you think that, can't remember him celebrating that goal.
31-01-2014, 05:38 PM
Get the video up then and lets have a look at it.
Didn't look like it.
31-01-2014, 05:42 PM
Really, you think that, can't remember him celebrating that goal.
I seem to recall Derek's momentum carrying him into the hoarding and the crowd grabbed him - I just hope Deek showered well afterwards :greengrin Anyway, why wouldn't a player, absorbed in a game, celebrate a goal - jeez some folk haven't played football, do folk want players acting like a 1950's gentleman and tip their bowler and apologise to the opposition for having the temerity to score a goal - Derek you bounder :greengrin
31-01-2014, 05:43 PM
Get the video up then and lets have a look at it.
Didn't look like it.
:agree: He said on sportsound he couldn't stop himself from running at the speed he was running at to prevent him from going into their fans.
jimmyboco1875
31-01-2014, 05:45 PM
Link to riordans goal anyone?
31-01-2014, 05:49 PM
Garbage. Derek himself explained on the recent Sportsound broadcast (with Garry O'Connor) how he was a bit embarrassed that day when the momentum after scoring from the tight angle propelled him towards the Celtic fans.
31-01-2014, 05:51 PM
What happened to 'Derek Riordan The Goals' video?
31-01-2014, 05:53 PM
Great player and Celtic have one of the best finishers in the game. I'll not boo him I'll not cheer him. He's with them not us couldn't care less now to be fair.
31-01-2014, 05:59 PM
Had to switch off the telly when Lemon's face came on the screen.
Felt sick to my stomach.
On the bright side, I think this Sunderland laddie could be the fans' new fav. Hope so. :greengrin
Nelly on the telly always gives me the boak. However, at least it's going to be difficult for Scottish football 'journalists' to come out with their usual pish and wind about how Celtic's latest signing has always wanted to play for the smellies, dream come true, blah de blah... He's only at Celtic for the money.
31-01-2014, 06:03 PM
Garbage. Derek himself explained on the recent Sportsound broadcast (with Garry O'Connor) how he was a bit embarrassed that day when the momentum after scoring from the tight angle propelled him towards the Celtic fans.
I remember that now you've jogged my memory. Think it might have looked like he was celebrating because he was mobbed by team mates, similar to when Sparky scored the pen v Dundee.
31-01-2014, 06:04 PM
What happened to 'Derek Riordan The Goals' video?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU
31-01-2014, 06:11 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spQ3ihnxWNU
Not working for me? Doesn't come up when i search for it these days.
"This video contains content from WMG and UMPI, one or more of whom have blocked it in your country on copyright grounds."
Shame that, as I used to like watching it... :-(
Weststandwanab
31-01-2014, 06:19 PM
Not working for me? Doesn't come up when i search for it these days.
"This video contains content from WMG and UMPI, one or more of whom have blocked it in your country on copyright grounds."
Shame that, as I used to like watching it... :-( worked for me cheers
31-01-2014, 06:24 PM
Passed his medical and now agreeing personal terms...
31-01-2014, 06:30 PM
worked for me cheers
But as we got on the Riordan video links, whilst looking for another source I read Deek's Wiki page...actually says 'f****n refugee'. (Admin, I'm only quoting Wikipedia)
Born in Edinburgh, Riordan signed for Hibernian on 14 May 1999 and made his debut for Hibs the in 2001 in an Edinburgh derby.[1][4] In January 2003, Riordan went on loan to Cowdenbeath, along with team mate Paul Hilland. Riordan scored four goals in three games for Cowdenbeath, including a hat-trick in a 75 win away to Brechin City.
Riordan was given an extended opportunity in the Hibs first team towards the end of the 200203 season, as Hibs had finished in the bottom half of the Scottish Premier League. He became a first team regular the following season.[4] Riordan was the club's top goalscorer for each of the next three seasons, with 18, 23 and 20 goals respectively. This earned him recognition in the form of the Scottish PFA Young Player of the Year award in 2005, and selections for the full Scotland international squad later that year.[5]
At the end of the 200405 season, Riordan rejected an offer of an extension to his contract, and Hibs made him available for transfer.[6] A Ģ500,000 fee was agreed with Cardiff City in August 2005, but Riordan rejected the move.[7] During the January 2006 transfer window, Rangers made a Ģ400,000 bid for Riordan that was rejected by Hibs.[8] Bids from Lokomotiv Moscow and Kaiserslautern were accepted by Hibs, but Riordan rejected these moves because he did not want to move overseas.[8]
Riordan caused controversy in 2005 when he appeared in a video that showed him singing that Hearts player Rudi Skacel was a "****in' refugee", to the tune of The Beatles's "Yellow Submarine". Riordan later apologised for his actions.[9]
Looks like this video is one of the streamed videos and has not been uploaded. Can't even download it using Free Studio.
try this link
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IXQo1Sxm8qQ Music is lousy
31-01-2014, 06:43 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_01_2014/post-35247-13911971565404.jpg
Delight as Leigh Griffiths joins the champions By: Mark Henderson on 31 Jan, 2014 18:31
CELTIC are delighted to confirm the signing of Scotland internationalist Leigh Griffiths on a four-year deal from Wolverhampton Wanderers.
The 23-year-old striker is regarded as one of the countryīs hottest properties, having enjoyed a prolific spell at Hibernian last season, which earned him Scotlandīs Young Player of the Year prize.
He has continued to bang in the goals for Wolves since returning to the Midlands in the summer and will now add further firepower to Celticīs in-form attack.
And in his first exclusive interview with the official Celtic website, the new Bhoy spoke of his excitement at getting his Hoops career underway.
"Iīm over the moon," he said. "Itīs been a long time coming. Ever since I heard Celtic were interested there was only one place I wanted to play and Iīm just glad itīs done now.
"It was the middle of December and my agent gave me a phone and said Celtic could be interested in January and I have just been counting down the days.
"Unfortunately, itīs taken to the last day but Iīm just glad that itīs been done now and I canīt wait to get started.
"We are the Scottish champions to begin with, and this is a massive club with a massive fanbase and a massive stadium. I have watched the Champions League nights on the TV and there is no better place to play. This is where I want to be.
"I was just really keen. I know what it takes to become a Celtic player. I had a great season last year at Hibs and then I have went down back the road and started scoring goals as well."
Griffiths struck 28 times for the Easter Road side during the previous campaign in which he underlined his qualities as a natural-born finisher, scoring every type of goal. Nothing gives him greater satisfaction.
"I want to bring goals thatīs what I am all about and what I love doing," he said. "I did it last season for Hibs and have done it for Wolves and now itīs my time to shine in the Hoops and hopefully I can do it.
"I am just thankful to get my chance here and hopefully I can prove that I am a good signing and start scoring goals for fun.
"My message to the fans is that Iīm looking forward to playing and scoring goals and winning things here."
Having successfully completed his medical to become Celticīs third signing of the January transfer window, following Holmbert Fridjonsson and Stefan Johansen, Griffiths will get put through his paces alongside his new team-mates at Lennoxtown tomorrow.
"I trained yesterday and have been involved with Wolves games up to now and have done all my fitness tests," he said. "I have been here as an away player but it will be nothing like running out as a home player, and I cant wait."
31-01-2014, 06:46 PM
Spew
31-01-2014, 06:48 PM
It's over Leigh. You're the enemy now :take that
31-01-2014, 06:50 PM
Whilst wishing the wee man all the best with his career, I like most of you boak at the thought of him playing for them, mon Celtic, Riordan him.
31-01-2014, 06:51 PM
Sickening but he"s not the first to sign for Celtc and sadly he won't be the last. He wants to come back to Scotland, they are the only club who can afford him and Lennon is keen so hardly a surprise. As long as he doesn't rub it in or do any badge kissing I'll tolerate him. At least we won't see him at ER this season.
31-01-2014, 06:51 PM
http://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_01_2014/post-35247-13911971565404.jpg
Delight as Leigh Griffiths joins the champions
By: Mark Henderson on 31 Jan, 2014 18:31
CELTIC are delighted to confirm the signing of Scotland internationalist Leigh Griffiths on a four-year deal from Wolverhampton Wanderers.
The 23-year-old striker is regarded as one of the countryīs hottest properties, having enjoyed a prolific spell at Hibernian last season, which earned him Scotlandīs Young Player of the Year prize.
He has continued to bang in the goals for Wolves since returning to the Midlands in the summer and will now add further firepower to Celticīs in-form attack.
And in his first exclusive interview with the official Celtic website, the new Bhoy spoke of his excitement at getting his Hoops career underway.
"Iīm over the moon," he said. "Itīs been a long time coming. Ever since I heard Celtic were interested there was only one place I wanted to play and Iīm just glad itīs done now.
"It was the middle of December and my agent gave me a phone and said Celtic could be interested in January and I have just been counting down the days.
"Unfortunately, itīs taken to the last day but Iīm just glad that itīs been done now and I canīt wait to get started.
"We are the Scottish champions to begin with, and this is a massive club with a massive fanbase and a massive stadium. I have watched the Champions League nights on the TV and there is no better place to play. This is where I want to be.
"I was just really keen. I know what it takes to become a Celtic player. I had a great season last year at Hibs and then I have went down back the road and started scoring goals as well."
Griffiths struck 28 times for the Easter Road side during the previous campaign in which he underlined his qualities as a natural-born finisher, scoring every type of goal. Nothing gives him greater satisfaction.
"I want to bring goals thatīs what I am all about and what I love doing," he said. "I did it last season for Hibs and have done it for Wolves and now itīs my time to shine in the Hoops and hopefully I can do it.
"I am just thankful to get my chance here and hopefully I can prove that I am a good signing and start scoring goals for fun.
"My message to the fans is that Iīm looking forward to playing and scoring goals and winning things here."
Having successfully completed his medical to become Celticīs third signing of the January transfer window, following Holmbert Fridjonsson and Stefan Johansen, Griffiths will get put through his paces alongside his new team-mates at Lennoxtown tomorrow.
"I trained yesterday and have been involved with Wolves games up to now and have done all my fitness tests," he said. "I have been here as an away player but it will be nothing like running out as a home player, and I cant wait."
Every Picture Tells a Story .He may be saying the right sound bites but look closely .He isn't smiling and his left hand is sticking two fingers up at the Celtic top:rolleyes:
I've yet to see him smile.
I'm sure he wishes that the shirt he was holing up was a different shade of green.
31-01-2014, 06:53 PM
http://www.celticfc.tv/freeview
Darren1875
31-01-2014, 06:59 PM
Hes a celtic player, time to move on.
HibeeHendo
31-01-2014, 07:02 PM
It just doesn't look right.
B'Briggs Hibee
31-01-2014, 07:04 PM
Going to be sick ! I know its all about winning stuff but I personally couldn't play against hibs. Obviously just my opinion but I swear on my kids lives I just couldn't do it.
31-01-2014, 07:12 PM
Going to be sick ! I know its all about winning stuff but I personally couldn't play against hibs. Obviously just my opinion but I swear on my kids lives I just couldn't do it.
Getting on a bit but still recall being depressed when Pat Stanton went to Celtic. (A great swap for McNamara Snr?). At least he never scored for them ;)
In fact I remember being shocked when Stein when to Rangers and then completely deflated when he came back and stuck in 3 against us. However I did like his replacement, McBride.
Time to move on as has been said by others. Indeed, not sure if I mentioned that I am a part time supporter of ICT in semi finals, so feeling upbeat already :greengrin
31-01-2014, 07:16 PM
http://www.celticfc.tv/freeview
"the hoops" "king Henrik" strange comments from a Hibby. :wink:
Looks like Leigh is LOVING it there already eh Sleeping Giant. :greengrin
31-01-2014, 07:18 PM
But he had to answer.....I suppose he said the hoops as he could not say 'the Green' becasue as we all know as he does...we wear THE GREEN !
31-01-2014, 07:19 PM
What's the context of 'king Henrik'?
(I'm not turning SSN off to watch it, not today!)
31-01-2014, 07:22 PM
Leigh :boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 07:32 PM
What's the context of 'king Henrik'?
(I'm not turning SSN off to watch it, not today!)
"Who would you like to emulate at celtc Leigh", "the king" Henrik Larrson and Gary Hooper"
31-01-2014, 07:35 PM
I'm devastated. Just want to say thanks for the memories, especially Killie away, the Falkirk game, the free kick vs Hearts and many more. Never been this gutted about a player before! Good luck Leigh. He's one of our own... :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 07:39 PM
If he was in any way interested in being a Hibs player he could have fine something about it in the summer. Then he could have not signed a new contract.
31-01-2014, 07:40 PM
That's just minging :-( Proper gutted.
As for the chat on celebrations. Leigh never celebrated his goal at Dens as it was in the 90th min and we were 3-0 down! He did celebrate his free kick at ER last Jan. He isn't a Dundee fan, however. Don't think he'll celebrate against us(it's a certainly that he'll score), at least not in the first season or so. Can only hope he's pish and finds his way back here in a couple of yrs. doubtful though, he'll score for fun in that side!
Deeks didn't jump into the crowd to celebrate against us, he literally had no option but to hurdle the advertising boardings with the speed he was moving at
31-01-2014, 07:42 PM
He doesn't exactly look thrilled to be there.
Every picture I've seen he looks ready to burst into tears.
Easy to say that as a fan. When you've got a massive pay packet put in front of you it's a different story. Also, it's probably his only chance of ever getting a game in the Champions League.
He was never going to be back at Easter Road so it really doesn't bother me. Just a shame that despite us doing a lot more than Wolves for him it's not us getting a fee for him.
I retract my previous sentiments about him, soon as I see him in their gear make me boke.
31-01-2014, 07:43 PM
"Who would you like to emulate at celtc Leigh", "the king" Henrik Larrson and Gary Hooper"
Ah-ha, he deliberately spelled 'Larsson' wrong to let us know that it's all a sham, and he's been forced into it by his agent with an air rifle to his head.
Nice one Sparky!
31-01-2014, 07:43 PM
Thanks for scoring some memorable goals, but **** him he's a Celtc player now, lets concentrate on developing players better than him instead of clamoring about him coming back one day
31-01-2014, 07:44 PM
Do we still sing 'he's one of our own' to wind up the Celtc fans?
31-01-2014, 07:45 PM
Do we still sing 'he's one of our own' to wind up the Celtc fans?
At least everyone can move on and stop talking about him coming back now. Feel for the younger fans, probably feeling like I did when Riordan went there.
31-01-2014, 07:47 PM
F*** it. I'm gonna sing it anyway.
31-01-2014, 07:48 PM
Do we still sing 'he's one of our own' to wind up the Celtc fans?He is one of them now so no.
wait until his first night on the Buckfast.. :wink: - us Devon Monks ken whits goin oan at the Abbey.. :greengrin
31-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Hes a celtic player, time to move on.
ah well good luck to him,thought he had it in him to play in a bigger league,as long as he doesn't score against us i can see him being one of their top scorers ever
31-01-2014, 08:00 PM
Ah-ha, he deliberately spelled 'Larsson' wrong to let us know that it's all a sham, and he's been forced into it by his agent with an air rifle to his head.
Nice one Sparky!
My poor spelling mistake, sorry, :greengrin
31-01-2014, 08:00 PM
What else did anyone expect him to say, it's for celtc tv and he knows he's not really wanted, but has to prove himself to them. I have no doubt this is about money and family, rather than a football decision. Ģ10k and living in Edinburgh will suit him nicely.
31-01-2014, 08:11 PM
What else did anyone expect him to say, it's for celtc tv and he knows he's not really wanted, but has to prove himself to them. I have no doubt this is about money and family, rather than a football decision. Ģ10k and living in Edinburgh will suit him nicely.
Thought he didn't drive, how will he get to Lennoxtown
31-01-2014, 08:11 PM
Could jump in the Vengabus if it's on its way back?
31-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Could jump in the Vengabus if it's on its way back?
Goes nowhere near Lennoxtown, do you know where it is, the back of nowhere
31-01-2014, 08:13 PM
Pay one of his mates to be his personal driver?
A couple of the younger Celtic players stay in the east so can catch a lift
31-01-2014, 08:13 PM
My post wasn't entirely serious...
Earning Ģ10k a week opens the door to a lot of solutions.
...or he could get a lift from Broonie.
31-01-2014, 08:16 PM
Oh well............at least James McPake will be happy ! :rolleyes::grr::boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 08:23 PM
Lennoxtown will be a nightmare for him to get too, needs to learn to drive.
31-01-2014, 08:25 PM
Lennoxtown will be a nightmare for him to get too, needs to learn to drive.
Surely Celtc have resorted to type and got themselves a Vengabus by now?
31-01-2014, 08:25 PM
celtc may want him to stay in the West and away from Edinburgh.
31-01-2014, 08:27 PM
celtc may want him to stay in the West and away from Edinburgh.
Going to be a mass exodus from Edinburgh then
31-01-2014, 08:30 PM
"If it wasn't Hibs I was to come to it would only be Celtic. I'll still be a Hibee as long as I live"
31-01-2014, 08:35 PM
31-01-2014, 08:37 PM
He said that he first learnt Celtc where interested in mid December, is that not tapping?
31-01-2014, 08:39 PM
"If it wasn't Hibs I was to come to it would only be Celtic. I'll still be a Hibee as long as I live"
Is that an actual quote?
31-01-2014, 08:40 PM
Is that an actual quote?
Yup. Taken from the beeb.
31-01-2014, 08:42 PM
Yup. Taken from the beeb.
He's a wee star.
31-01-2014, 08:44 PM
"I've got 13 goals so far this season. The first time I spoke to Neil was this morning at the training ground. He was very easy to talk to. He told me what he wanted from me and I told him what I would bring to the team. If it wasn't Hibs I was to come to it would only be Celtic. I'll still be a Hibee as long as I live. It will be good to go back there to play against them but to play for Celtic is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that you can't turn down."
Fair play to him, good luck Leigh (expect 4 games against us)
pontius pilate
31-01-2014, 08:48 PM
His misses or ex misses isn't happy on twitter seemingly they finished and he is no longer in their life's.
31-01-2014, 08:52 PM
His misses or ex misses isn't happy on twitter seemingly they finished and he is no longer in their life's.
:agree: Called him a liar and a cheat.
31-01-2014, 08:52 PM
I am really not that bothered or surprised - footballers need to make a living and we simply couldn't afford him.
He will be back at ER one day - with Champions League experience and will always be a Hibee.
As already mentioned he's moved due to money and being closer to his close family / kids - he won't be kissing the badge that's for sure.
Depending if we get into top 6 - we may not have to face him till next season.
31-01-2014, 08:53 PM
A miserable barsteward says if he really did want to play for us he would've made it easy and not signed that Contract extension :wink:
pontius pilate
31-01-2014, 08:54 PM
:agree: Called him a liar and a cheat.
That's the one. Initially I thought she was just pissed of because he signed for the smellies lol
bigstu
31-01-2014, 09:05 PM
Fair play to Lee, he didn't have to make mention of Hibs & that he'll always be a Hibbee, many players would never make mention of their previous club with fear of winding up their new team's supporters.
A modern day Hibs legend! It's tough to see but that i still like the guy.
31-01-2014, 09:11 PM
Number 28 as well :-( That brings back the memories. No doubt make the move to 9 next season
31-01-2014, 09:12 PM
A miserable barsteward says if he really did want to play for us he would've made it easy and not signed that Contract extension :wink:
Correct!
31-01-2014, 09:30 PM
The extension he signed was due to Wolves wanting to make money when they sold him and his agent wanting a signing on fee!
31-01-2014, 09:31 PM
Some of those celtic fans cant believe that we hate them take this guy called celticswede for instance
saying that he never knew we hated them. Errrrrr douh!!!!
31-01-2014, 09:38 PM
Horrible.
My head is absolutely fine with it.
My heart that thinks football is a gentleman's sport, where people only play for those who they love, is disgusted. Reminds me of the time Gabriel Batistuta signed for Roma. Horrible horrible moment.
31-01-2014, 09:46 PM
Hope he enjoys the money, fancy meals, designer clothes. Could have played for his boyhood hero's and could have done something different instead of following the trend, like brown, Thomson, riordan, Whittaker. Could have earned good money here nothing compared to celtics finance mind you. If he was such a big hibee he would have ignored the contract extension from wolves an signed with us and earned a good wage. Sure not as big as celtics. Sorry it might be my heart talking but the guys just said yes to money and not heart. Good luck to him though, obviously not against us.
31-01-2014, 09:47 PM
I will die a little inside when I see him pull on that shirt.
31-01-2014, 09:51 PM
Spot on. I can understand why he's gone there: nearer his kids, good money, big team, champion's league-but... I too dread to see him wearing the hooped rodents' shirt :(
31-01-2014, 09:53 PM
Hope he enjoys the money, fancy meals, designer clothes. Could have played for his boyhood hero's and could have done something different instead of following the trend, like brown, Thomson, riordan, Whittaker. Could have earned good money here nothing compared to celtics finance mind you. If he was such a big hibee he would have ignored the contract extension from wolves an signed with us and earned a good wage. Sure not as big as celtics. Sorry it might be my heart talking but the guys just said yes to money and not heart. Good luck to him though, obviously not against us.
Christ, what do you expect from the guy? He obviously loved playing for us. It's not like he's sold out for an extra Ģ500 a month or something, he'll be looking at triple what he could get here, if not more.
Derry Hibee
31-01-2014, 09:55 PM
His Twitter profile pic is him in full sellick kit :(
31-01-2014, 09:56 PM
The extension he signed was due to Wolves wanting to make money when they sold him and his agent wanting a signing on fee!
Griffiths knew fine well that if he signed it we'd not be getting anywhere near him for years :wink:
31-01-2014, 09:57 PM
It will also help him provide for his kids.
31-01-2014, 10:15 PM
Why would he not sign an extension maybe he knew hibs werent gonna come back with an offer? Did we not have the chance to buy him last jan but petrie not offer wolves enough dosh?
imagine that you have 4 kids and a competitor of your employer offers you possibly 2x your wages would you not take it up? I know most folk wud take it up.
He can still be a huge hibby and support us and play for the soapdodgers.
good luck to him but hopefully not against us!
Hibby_G
31-01-2014, 10:15 PM
He is gone to Celtic but who cares he is the past
Leishy1995
31-01-2014, 10:23 PM
It's amazing seeing the amount of people who believe the Petrie was offered him for 150k and the amount who use it as bait.
His head went for the cash, can't blame him. I won't treat him like a legend after one good season. But I'd love to have him back.
31-01-2014, 10:24 PM
Hope he warms the bench for they bar stewards , then we take him off their hands for a nominal fee .
31-01-2014, 10:24 PM
i reckon he'll be back, one day...
davym7062
31-01-2014, 10:25 PM
He is gone to Celtic but who cares he is the past
this
31-01-2014, 10:29 PM
Will pain me to see him in the wrong green. Wish he'd have stayed down south although probably too lucrative to turn down and close to home...
that doesnt come as a shock
31-01-2014, 10:39 PM
Its the right move for Leigh. He will be closer to his family, biggest wages he would get doing that and the best chance of winning trophies, sadly this meaning signing for Celtic.
Nonetheless it is utterly horrible to see him in those hoops. Turns me stomach. :boo hoo:
31-01-2014, 10:40 PM
Turns me stomach. :boo hoo:
More than that, it seem to have turned ye Northern.
31-01-2014, 10:43 PM
Not read the whole thread so probably already mentioned but Dundee to get a six figure sum from the deal.
Take it this was due to his age when they sold him.
31-01-2014, 10:50 PM
Usually is every Saturday :greengrin
Time For Heroes
31-01-2014, 10:51 PM
Good luck Leigh, thanks for the memories!
31-01-2014, 11:07 PM
Not read the whole thread so probably already mentioned but Dundee to get a six figure sum from the deal.
Take it this was due to his age when they sold him.
Was it Ģ150,000 FACT? :greengrin
31-01-2014, 11:10 PM
I don't hold any grudges against him at all, although for the duration of his Celtic career, I won't be wishing him any luck either.
He's signed for one of the most nauseating football clubs on the planet and seeing him play for them against us will seriously turn my stomach.
So sad to see him in that disgusting strip.
The Pointer
31-01-2014, 11:26 PM
I don't hold any grudges against him at all, although for the duration of his Celtic career, I won't be wishing him any luck either.
He's signed for one of the most nauseating football clubs on the planet and seeing him play for them against us will seriously turn my stomach.
Agree entirely and wish he'd had other offers from down south, but can't blame him for his decision. As for needing the money to bring up his bairns, I think we all know it takes a lot less than what he'll be earning, even if the number of them is more than the average bloke has!
31-01-2014, 11:33 PM
That's where I am.
Grateful for the memories, can understand why he made the decision to go there but I don't wish him any luck at that club.
Understandable move but he'll be getting f--- all 'best wishes' from me.
heidtheba
31-01-2014, 11:47 PM
Damn, wished he hadn't signed for 'them' but I can't say I blame him. More money, better job highlights etc etc.
Ok he could have signed for his boyhood heroes but to be honest I've seen, only on here to be fair, how some people turned against Colin Nish and how some gave a consumate professional like Chris Hogg a hard time and many football fans are a fickle bunch. The ideal player is one who plays for his boyhood heroes, puts in a shift and is good, if not bl&*dy brilliant.
Sadly that means they will always get better financial offers from other places. Even along the ruddy M8. Pains me to admit it but their careers are so short that I can't blame them at all for going for the cash. If Leigh ended up getting injured or, worse having a mare of a time, how long would some posters (and I know not all by a long shot) on here give it before the knives were out? How forgiving is our loyalty to crap but loyal players v the loyalty of club supporting good players who want more money? Not sure its as much of a competition as some would believe.
Ah well. Lets hope we get someone else soon who gives us the same buzz.
31-01-2014, 11:58 PM
Guys who have the ability to make a living from playing football are never going to be on the same wavelength and mindset as those of us who work hard each week and pay a lot of money to support our beloved teams and experience the rollercoaster and emotional torment that goes with that. Leigh Griffiths isn`t "one of us" as we know it, and never will be close to unless he is wearing a Hibs shirt.
Don`t particularly wish the guy any ill, but if it doesn`t work out for him I won`t be losing any sleep over it. Might be back one day, and hopefully when he is older Easter Road is where he will be watching his football as a fan, but for the foreseeable future he is adversary of Hibs.
31-01-2014, 11:59 PM
Understandable move but he'll be getting f--- all 'best wishes' from me.
This. Gutted. **** him.
'Til he comes home :greengrin
Sad to see him sign for THEM, but understand he wants to be closer to his kids, still riles me the fact that Lennon said he wasn't good enough for them last year but now he seems he is. :confused:
No matter what everyone feels about Leigh and being one of us, please feel free to boo every touch he makes when he plays against us, he needs to see we are not happy about his move.
01-02-2014, 12:10 AM
Sad to see him sign for THEM, but understand he wants to be closer to his kids, still riles me the fact that Lennon said he wasn't good enough for them last year but now he seems he is. :confused:
No matter what everyone feels about Leigh and being one of us, please feel free to boo every touch he makes when he plays against us, he needs to see we are not happy about his move.
As long as we don't get the reply he usually battered past Jamie MacDonald when the Merricks did it.
01-02-2014, 12:11 AM
I will never boo Leigh Griffiths but I won't be subscribing to any attempts to sing his name or cheer him when he warms up before the game or give him a clap when he gets subbed.
01-02-2014, 12:23 AM
No matter what everyone feels about Leigh and being one of us
Leigh Griffiths isn`t "one of us". Aye, he might have a soft spot for us but he is in no way of the same ilk as those of us who pitch up week in week out to support our club. Courtesy of his supreme skills as a a footballer, he is a football man. We, because we were not so good at the sport and have deeply rooted ourselves into supporting our club from the terraces and the emotions that go with that, are Hibs men (and women). There is a world of difference between the two.
01-02-2014, 12:29 AM
If it was anyone else in any other league I would wish him all the best. But as it is, **** that.
Having said that I don't blame him. Money talks.
he wasnt deemed good enough in english league 1 despite scoring 11/13 goals, once teams wised up on how to 'play' him the goals dried up, he was too easily brushed off the ball in that league and i doubt he would have made it any higher , we wont know either as he has bottled it in my opinion and come running back to scotland for easy games against rubbish defences where he will score loads and pick up a healthly wage doing so, cant blame him for coming back for the money, but feel disappointed he didnt stick it out longer in england and really push himself on as a player, hes coming back to the spl like linus finding his comfort blanket.
01-02-2014, 03:46 AM
:-) quite happy to pm you with the details mate. I was actually in a member of your family's house when this was revealed to me. Couldn't wait to score against us. No offence intended but its the truth.
01-02-2014, 03:51 AM
Garbage ? No offense mate , I heard him say that 2,weeks ago but I heard differently years ago. Don't give a **** if you don't believe me but I've been on this board for around 10 years and you think I'm talking **** ??????
01-02-2014, 03:57 AM
I seem to recall Derek's momentum carrying him into the hoarding and the crowd grabbed him - I just hope Deek showered well afterwards :greengrin Anyway, why wouldn't a player, absorbed in a game, celebrate a goal - jeez some folk haven't played football, do folk want players acting like a 1950's gentleman and tip their bowler and apologise to the opposition for having the temerity to score a goal - Derek you bounder :greengrin
NO temerity about it TH. He loved scoring that goal. I know for certain. I have never said anything about Hibs that I do not know. O know he loved that goal and had been waiting on scoring against us. If you don't believe Mr I couldn't really give a ****. PM SH , I'm sure he will confirm my source.
01-02-2014, 04:07 AM
I can't believe some of the stuff being said. He's a footballer earning a living that will be playing in the champions league. That's what people dream about and as much as we don't like to admit it Celtic is a massive club.
People forget he is a hibs fan and he gave us brilliant service during his time here.
I don't blame him for not coming back, he's a young lad with plenty of skill and obvious ambition to play at the highest level. At wolves he was their top goal scorer and for whatever reason was put on the bench. Then the best team in Scotland come in with big money and offer him champions league football, it's also a big shop window for teams in the premiership etc if he does well.
Remember aswell he is a family man, he has his kids family etc up here, where he will be earning more money for a much bigger team.
No brainier IMO, it's nothing to do with who he supported as a kid at this stage in his career.
People even mentioning booing him need their head examined for a player who gave his all for us week in week out, and without him I would hate to see where we ended up.
You don't need to sing his name when he's back but Jesus. Wee bit of respect and understanding wouldn't go a miss
I really don't understand all this stuff about not celebrating goals against teams you like. It's actually insulting the team who you are now associated with. Not only do you wear their shirt and take wages off them, you now have their fans trusting you with their emotions.
If I was lucky enough to play football for a living I would have no problem pulling on a hearts or celtic shirt and I would definitely celebrate with my own fans if I scored at the holy ground. I wouldn't rub it in anyone's face but I definitely wouldn't stand motionless with a frown telling my team mates to calm down. It's a team game and your team has achieved an objective so you should acknowledge that with your team mates. Those who don't celebrate are in a way saying "look at me" and aren't immersing themselves for 90 minutes which should be a minimum requirement.
It's a job. You go to work, put 100% in and switch off when you get home. If you've hurt the club you support in the process then you can think about that when your career is over and you can concentrate 100% on them. At least you know you've done the best you can to give everything you can to your children....which is what it's all about for the majority people, including footballers.
01-02-2014, 04:56 AM
I can't believe some of the stuff being said. He's a footballer earning a living that will be playing in the champions league. That's what people dream about and as much as we don't like to admit it Celtic is a massive club.
People forget he is a hibs fan and he gave us brilliant service during his time here.
I don't blame him for not coming back, he's a young lad with plenty of skill and obvious ambition to play at the highest level. At wolves he was their top goal scorer and for whatever reason was put on the bench. Then the best team in Scotland come in with big money and offer him champions league football, it's also a big shop window for teams in the premiership etc if he does well.
Remember aswell he is a family man, he has his kids family etc up here, where he will be earning more money for a much bigger team.
No brainier IMO, it's nothing to do with who he supported as a kid at this stage in his career.
People even mentioning booing him need their head examined for a player who gave his all for us week in week out, and without him I would hate to see where we ended up.
You don't need to sing his name when he's back but Jesus. Wee bit of respect and understanding wouldn't go a miss
:top marks well said.
Hibs could not get close to the financial deal Celtic have offered. Nor can Hibs offer him the chance of winning trophies and Euro football. IMHO the only possibility of him signing for Hibs over Celtic at this point was if Hibs had shown some genuine ambition for the future by bringing in quality players like Aberdeen have. Why would Leigh want to come back to the same team he carried last season ? TB may change all that, but at the moment Hibs are not a great proposition for a player with Leigh's qualities and ambition. He is too good for us.
:top marks well said.
Hibs could not get close to the financial deal Celtic have offered. Nor can Hibs offer him the chance of winning trophies and Euro football. IMHO the only possibility of him signing for Hibs over Celtic at this point was if Hibs had shown some genuine ambition for the future by bringing in quality players like Aberdeen have. Why would Leigh want to come back to the same team he carried last season ? TB may change all that, but at the moment Hibs are not a great proposition for a player with Leigh's qualities and ambition. He is too good for us.
This might not be what people want to hear but it's true. Market forces dictate that players of his quality can command wages that only a team like Celtic can match in Scotland.
Hibs, or Aberdeen could show as much ambition as they want but they could never get near what Celtic can offer. It's actually unfair to suggest that loosening the purse strings would have influenced things. The gap is too big.
We should be thankful that he is one of us and as a result we got one excellent season seeing him in our shirt.
Baker9
01-02-2014, 05:14 AM
Exactly this :top marks Thanks for everything Leigh and best of luck against all but us.
01-02-2014, 06:20 AM
We'll he didn't seem all that excited about signing for them having watched his interview on sky sitting there in that nasty hoopy top. May have said what he was told to but his face told a different story. I think for him signing for Celtic is just work but when a player does sign for them they are expected to say certain things to placate their manky fans and the media.
01-02-2014, 06:28 AM
he wasnt deemed good enough in english league 1 despite scoring 11/13 goals, once teams wised up on how to 'play' him the goals dried up, he was too easily brushed off the ball in that league and i doubt he would have made it any higher , we wont know either as he has bottled it in my opinion and come running back to scotland for easy games against rubbish defences where he will score loads and pick up a healthly wage doing so, cant blame him for coming back for the money, but feel disappointed he didnt stick it out longer in england and really push himself on as a player, hes coming back to the spl like linus finding his comfort blanket.
Is this really true? Seems to me he had a really good start to the season, Wolves fans seemed really happy with him and were perplexed he wasn't getting a game. Maybe he form dipped or he had a falling out with the manager, not sure he was 'found out'.
01-02-2014, 06:37 AM
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/72688000/jpg/_72688368_griffiths.jpg
Gutted...
01-02-2014, 06:41 AM
http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/72688000/jpg/_72688368_griffiths.jpg
Gutted...
Me tae :grr:
Niffy
01-02-2014, 07:03 AM
Can see us losing another S Cup thanks to him. Just to make it worse.
01-02-2014, 07:44 AM
I really don't understand all this stuff about not celebrating goals against teams you like. It's actually insulting the team who you are now associated with. Not only do you wear their shirt and take wages off them, you now have their fans trusting you with their emotions.
If I was lucky enough to play football for a living I would have no problem pulling on a hearts or celtic shirt and I would definitely celebrate with my own fans if I scored at the holy ground. I wouldn't rub it in anyone's face but I definitely wouldn't stand motionless with a frown telling my team mates to calm down. It's a team game and your team has achieved an objective so you should acknowledge that with your team mates. Those who don't celebrate are in a way saying "look at me" and aren't immersing themselves for 90 minutes which should be a minimum requirement.
It's a job. You go to work, put 100% in and switch off when you get home. If you've hurt the club you support in the process then you can think about that when your career is over and you can concentrate 100% on them. At least you know you've done the best you can to give everything you can to your children....which is what it's all about for the majority people, including footballers.
I understand what you're saying but i wouldn't celebrate a goal against Hibs. Football's an emotive game and you get an attachment to the team you support and also with your fellow fans, especially guys like Griffiths who was idolised by the Hibs fans.
It only seems natural to me to not want to celebrate against the team you support and i don't think it's disrespectful to the team you play for.
Weir7
01-02-2014, 08:01 AM
His Twitter profile pic is him in full sellick kit :(
And he tweeted Hail Hail.
Be interetsing to see if he still comes to ER when his new team isn't playing.
01-02-2014, 08:20 AM
No best wishes or good luck from me...loved sparky and cant believe he has followed that well trodden path along M8...if he really wanted to play for us he could have sat tight at wolves and let his contract run down. Rod would have made him our highest earner and Ok not as much as rancid's offer but enough to see him and his kids comfortable! ! So enough of the Griffiths love in...I wish him no luck with the soap dodgers as I despise everything about them...rant over
Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
01-02-2014, 08:28 AM
Time to move on my good people.
As TB said in his interview he thought Stanton was this best player on the park versus Celtic!!!
The king is dead, long live the king.
Time to find our new cult hero!!!
Ianhibee
01-02-2014, 08:29 AM
No best wishes or good luck from me...loved sparky and cant believe he has followed that well trodden path along M8...if he really wanted to play for us he could have sat tight at wolves and let his contract run down. Rod would have made him our highest earner and Ok not as much as rancid's offer but enough to see him and his kids comfortable! ! So enough of the Griffiths love in...I wish him no luck with the soap dodgers as I despise everything about them...rant over
Totally agree with this - Great at Easter Road but hes playing for the team I despise more than Rangers or Hearts - no good luck or best wishes - hope he fails miserably like Riordan did.
01-02-2014, 08:31 AM
Great post.
Maybe for some players who do the statue routine after scoring against their old team its genuine, but for a lot of those who take part in this increasing trend it seems to me its just a bit of a pose. If Leigh or any other ex player celebrates after scoring against us that's fine with me as long as it doesn't cross the line from celebrating with his new team mates and fans into a GIRUY display in front of us. This mb would be in meltdown if one of our players refused to celebrate after scoring against his former team. The thread would be full of stuff about disrespect to the people who are paying their wages.
Leigh has various mouths to feed and from what I understand had a complicated upbringing. If he can get long term financial security and a sense of stability for his family (ies :wink:) fair enough. Given his situation at Wolves its a move he couldn't turn down. For his sake I hope he can cope with the weedgiecentric media and fans from both sides of the OF who will be taking a microscopic interest in trying to find off field indiscretions to use against him. Elements of the Celtc support have already gone into hypocrisy overdrive as its obvious that they view Leighs off field misdemeanours far worse than Stokesys RIRA and Dublin organised crime publicity.
I wish Leigh hadn't gone to Celtc but wont be joining in any calls of traitor etc against him. He will undoubtedly score a barrow load of goals for them in our pishy wee league. I have my doubts he will survive the 24/7 OF goldfish bowl scrutiny. I wouldn't be surprised to see him back at his rightful home ER sometime down the line.
01-02-2014, 09:01 AM
The "If it can't be Hibs...." chat is probably something that I would have lapped up when I was younger but it doesn't stand up to the slightest bit of scrutiny. If he wanted to be playing for Hibs, he could be now or on his way to becoming a permanent Hibs player this summer.
I don't feel betrayed or hurt and I have no issue with him signing for Celtic or grabbing the cash when the opportunity arises but yesterday's interviews were mainly a sop to the hordes with a little tidbit thrown in for us to mitigate the criticism that he's likely to get from parts of the Hibs support.
As far as I'm concerned, he may well be the best striker that I've seen play for Hibs in the last decade but he's now just another soap-dodging *******. Thanks for the memories but you're now the enemy.
01-02-2014, 09:03 AM
Sent from my GT-I9505 using TapatalkThis exactly, same with Brown, Riordan and the rest, when he is playing for them he can GTF
coco22
01-02-2014, 09:05 AM
LG is no traitor. He has done nothing wrong and has no loyalty to us. Saying that, it will sting to see him playing for them, scoring goals for fun no doubt while wishing he was playing for hibs.
I wish him luck as a footballer and a guy but hope he doesn't get brainwashed and become a victim of lennonism. Will give him a wee extra shout when he is knocking them in for scotland.
01-02-2014, 09:08 AM
The "If it can't be Hibs...." chat is probably something that I would have lapped up when I was younger but it doesn't stand up to the slightest bit of scrutiny. If he wanted to be playing for Hibs, he could be now or on his way to becoming a permanent Hibs player this summer.
I don't feel betrayed or hurt and I have no issue with him signing for Celtic or grabbing the cash when the opportunity arises but yesterday's interviews were mainly a sop to the hordes with a little tidbit thrown in for us to mitigate the criticism that he's likely to get from parts of the Hibs support.
As far as I'm concerned, he may well be the best striker that I've seen play for Hibs in the last decade but he's now just another soap-dodging *******. Thanks for the memories but you're now the enemy.
Maybe a bit more harsh than I would have put it but I largely agree with the sentiment! :greengrin
Certainly don't intend to applaud him or sing his name when he comes back to Easter Road with them and I'm sure there will be a thread (or ten) about it on here in the lead up to the next game we have against them, with some people saying they're going to do just that.
He was fantastic for us and I wish he was still a Hibs player and I don't doubt for a second that he is a dyed in the wool Hibs fan. However, his job now is to score goals against us. End of story.
01-02-2014, 09:23 AM
agree 100%. The selfish attitude of those criticising LG is really disappointing. The guy is entitled to have ambition.........and secure the best wage he can in a profession with a VERY short lifespan. Being a supporter is one thing........letting that short change you is another.
How many of those slating him would refuse a huge pay increase.....and the chance to maximise your potential. Exactly!
In no way is Leigh a traitor.hopefully he'll come to us later in his career an even better player.
Still wish he didn't sign for that mob.
I despise them more each year.
01-02-2014, 09:32 AM
agree 100%. The selfish attitude of those criticising LG is really disappointing. The guy is entitled to have ambition.........and secure the best wage he can in a profession with a VERY short lifespan. Being a supporter is one thing........letting that short change you is another.
How many of those slating him would refuse a huge pay increase.....and the chance to maximise your potential. Exactly!
I agree with your sentiment however, of all the clubs in the world there are only three he could have picked that would upset cabbagers somewhat and, guess what .....
01-02-2014, 09:32 AM
Totally agree with this - Great at Easter Road but hes playing for the team I despise more than Rangers or Hearts - no good luck or best wishes - hope he fails miserably like Riordan did.
This. Agree with both posts entirely.
01-02-2014, 09:44 AM
And he tweeted Hail Hail.
Be interetsing to see if he still comes to ER when his new team isn't playing.
Indeed he did but 'Hail, Hail' is as much a Hibs song as it is a Celtc one.
As for Riordan "Loving" scoring against Hibs, he probably did. Every striker loves scoring goals. Doesn't mean he celebrated it though.
Reading through it, people understand the move and everything that goes with it. The fact it's Celtic pisses folk off though.
01-02-2014, 09:51 AM
Find myself agreeing with you again. Until the day he leaves Celtic he's just another mercenary playing for the most vile club in the country. He will receive absolutely no preferential treatment from me next time Hibs play Celtic.
Deek01
01-02-2014, 09:54 AM
Gutted to see him at another Scottish club but don't grudge him it. In the summer there I tweeted Leigh asking if I sent my Hibs top with his name and number down to Wolves would he sign it. He replied saying it wouldn't be a problem and I got the top back with a personal signature from LG. For showing me this kindness, I will always have time for LG.
01-02-2014, 09:56 AM
Reading through it, people understand the move and everything that goes with it. The fact it's Celtic pisses folk off though.
That's what I'm seeing and where I am.
Think most understand why Leigh went there but, whilst not wishing ill on him, I can't wish any Celtic player good luck or good fortune.
01-02-2014, 10:14 AM
Roll on transfer window 2016 - we'll be first in the queue to help resurrect his career.
01-02-2014, 10:43 AM
:-) quite happy to pm you with the details mate. I was actually in a member of your family's house when this was revealed to me. Couldn't wait to score against us. No offence intended but its the truth.
Got your PM mate, all i can say is Derek never mentioned that to me, i do remember the day he scored that goal and meeting him after the game and he never gave that impression that he loved scoring that goal, he was getting a bit of a ribbing and i remember him saying wait until you see it on TV and the angle i scored from i had no option as my momentum took me in to the crowd.
No offence taken. :aok: :greengrin
MADE IN LEITH
01-02-2014, 10:52 AM
Good luck Leigh on your move.
Finbar
01-02-2014, 12:50 PM
Who is this Lee Griffin anyway?
01-02-2014, 02:36 PM
Find myself agreeing with you again. Until the day he leaves Celtic he's just another mercenary playing for the most vile club in the country. He will receive absolutely no preferential treatment from me next time Hibs play Celtic.
You say that as if that's a bad thing! :greengrin
Don't worry, it happens to everyone eventually. :wink:
01-02-2014, 03:09 PM
It's not big or clever of me I know, but I despise anyone who pulls on that strip. I can't help it.
Can't think of many players going to that mob saying publicly I'll always be a hibee after signing for them..Said enough to placate them but we all know he's there for professional reasons. I'm gutted but unless he comes back & acts like a shereen nanjani he'll not get to much grief from me..
Dirty wee soap dodging Bassa! :greengrin
stevenhibs
01-02-2014, 03:20 PM
It's not big or clever of me I know, but I despise anyone who pulls on that strip. I can't help it.
I'm with you there. I'm 36 and know it's daft but can't help it. Same with that maroon mob.
Salisbury Hibby
02-02-2014, 08:58 AM
I hope he gets off to a frustrating start, the fans start giving him abuse resulting in a GIRUY at Parkhead during a televised game. A training ground bust up resulting in a Glasgow Kiss for Lennon. All served up with a thermo-nuclear level Twitter War with Celtic/Rangers fans giving him the wind up.
This could be delicious.