View Full Version : NHC Barry Ferguson, Caretaker Manager

23-01-2014, 07:50 PM
Do you think he will be a success as a Manager?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2544525/Barry-Ferguson-makes-moves-THREE-Scotland-internationals.html

There is not a "Who Cares" option. If you are not interested, don't click on the thread!

Inch Hibs
23-01-2014, 07:53 PM
Yes I do.

Iceman1875
23-01-2014, 07:55 PM
He wants bob Malcolm on his management team, says it all!

Iceman1875
23-01-2014, 07:56 PM
Oooh KT for Blackpool?

23-01-2014, 07:57 PM

Being a skillful player doesn't mean you are going to be good or great manager. Just look at Kenny Black.:faf:

Iceman1875
23-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Barry ferguson nor bob Malcolm were skillful players IMO I think they will flop. Tom ince will be sold next week too.

23-01-2014, 08:04 PM
No idea how he'll do.

Was a good player though imo.

23-01-2014, 08:53 PM
Maybe one day, but not right now.

23-01-2014, 09:02 PM
I think he will do ok. Quite liked him as a player apart from the v- sign stuff when dropped for Scotland.

23-01-2014, 09:15 PM
Nope.

23-01-2014, 09:17 PM
Yes I do.

Me too.

24-01-2014, 02:29 AM
Me too.

The current generations Paul McStay....; )

Personally hope he falls flat on his face....

24-01-2014, 08:00 AM
Nope.

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 08:13 AM
The current generations Paul McStay....; )

Personally hope he falls flat on his face....

Did Mcstay captain many league winning sides? His country and play in the premiership?

24-01-2014, 08:48 AM
A big no from me - unless its at they yam as he is certainly yam class.

24-01-2014, 08:54 AM
Did Mcstay captain many league winning sides? His country and play in the premiership?

As overrated a player as McStay simply because he played in an Old firm team...I suppose Barry at least tried another league before becoming homesick....

24-01-2014, 08:56 AM
Blackpool to arrange a few purchases or loans from Sevco to help with their cash flow problems perhaps?

24-01-2014, 09:04 AM

McStay was surrounded by utter dross for most of his Celtic career, not really his fault whereas Barry played in a Rangers team spending silly money. McStay could have left, including to Serie A which at the time was much superior to the Premiership, but chose not to.

Don't like defending Celtic players much, but to compare the two using league titles "won as a captain" as a metric is daft.

24-01-2014, 11:24 AM
this gives only an excuse at new year some material with the fud. cant wait.............:wink:

24-01-2014, 02:29 PM
Where's the "only time will tell" option?

24-01-2014, 03:00 PM
Probably not. There's only ever been a handful of good managers in the history of the game. Only the likes of Ferguson, Stein, Clough and a few others can really be called good managers. The other 98% are made up of those that get lucky with some teams and then flop with others and those that are completely hopeless.

24-01-2014, 03:57 PM
Ferguson **** **** ****

24-01-2014, 03:59 PM
Probably not. There's only ever been a handful of good managers in the history of the game. Only the likes of Ferguson, Stein, Clough and a few others can really be called good managers. The other 98% are made up of those that get lucky with some teams and then flop with others and those that are completely hopeless.

Is this post serious?

So 98% of managers who have any success are just lucky? Aye ok

24-01-2014, 04:47 PM
I thought he was an excellent player. When he came into the Rangers team they were spending silly money and had excellent players so he did well to even get near the team let alone force his way into it.

Over the years when they tended to waste their money on foreign duds he was often head and shoulders above them, if not purely in terms of ability certainly when this was applied to work ethic.

I remember one game at ER when Prso and that were playing when he single-handedly carried them through the game. It may have been a Sunday night, I can't quite remember, but I always respected him after that performance.

I was less than impressed with much of his Scotland carry on - pulling out of squads for games he didn't fancy, the Vs etc, but he certainly put in a few decent shifts for Scotland too.

hibbydog
24-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Barry ferguson. A dirty smelly bitter wee rangers so and so with a face only a mother would love. He carried on the 'rangers face' phenomenon started by Iain ferguson and durrant - you know - deep set eyes and an expression that just makes you angry.

And that's before I go on about his conduct when given the privilege of a Scotland Jersey...

Overall, an utter horror of a human being and I hope he flops in management.

magpie1892
24-01-2014, 04:53 PM
Thick as mince, can barely talk, thought the 'v-signs' at Hampden were appropriate aged, what, 33?

He's got no chance.

Tinribs
24-01-2014, 04:57 PM
He never came across as particularly articulate in interviews, so not sure how he would be at communicating his ideas to a squad..but he seemed to be liked and respected by team mates.

Too soon to tell how he will do, but i don't really wish him any ill so good luck to Barry The Crab :greengrin

24-01-2014, 05:50 PM
Blackpool to arrange a few purchases or loans from Sevco to help with their cash flow problems perhaps?

If the guy wants to be taken seriously, he'd best avoid Ibrox at all costs.

24-01-2014, 06:21 PM

If I were a Pool man I'd be scared! Ferguson AND Malcolm? OMG.
More brain cells in a couple of penguins than those 2.

Lester B
24-01-2014, 07:09 PM

Hun Fud dream team!

24-01-2014, 07:14 PM
Thick as mince, can barely talk, thought the 'v-signs' at Hampden were appropriate aged, what, 33?

He's got no chance.

:agree: Barry "the patriot" Ferguson - guy I know who spends all his football £'s following the team with the Tartan Army says this is what all the non huns in his wee travelling group christened him - does it for me. Or Ally McCoists' even stupider wee brother.:wink: