View Full Version : John 'Budgie' Burridge

Hibs History
20-01-2014, 03:56 PM
New player profile online from the Hibernian Historical Trust

The skol cup winning keeper John 'Budgie' Burridge (http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/181-john-burridge)

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/181-john-burridge

Please discuss your memories of Budgie below

:flag:GGTTH

20-01-2014, 04:30 PM
New player profile online from the Hibernian Historical Trust

The skol cup winning keeper John 'Budgie' Burridge (http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/181-john-burridge)

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/player-profiles/item/181-john-burridge

Please discuss your memories of Budgie below

:flag:GGTTH

His quote to Mark Hately in the tunnel before the Skol Cup semi - "Hately, keep out of my box or I'll break your foot."

GlenrothesHibee
20-01-2014, 04:33 PM
Did he not sleep in his goalie gloves? Some character

20-01-2014, 04:34 PM
A real character.

Made a really good stop at 1-0 in the 91 final. Shot from just outside the box, was creeping in the bottom corner and he got to it and held it.

The rebound save from fat Sally in the semi was absolutely different class as well.

Exactly the kind of personality we needed at such a tough time imo.

20-01-2014, 04:36 PM
Amazing to think that the same manager took the squad of players that finished second bottom in the league and won the cup 5 months later with the additions of only wright, burridge and eh, dave beaumont. While keiths contribution was pretty clear I think budgie played a massive part in improving morale in the squad and confidence in a defence that had been pretty shaky with andy goram in goals.

20-01-2014, 04:42 PM
Sure the story went that he would sit with his gloves on whilst watching telly with his wife, and she would now and again fire an apple or an orange towards him at pace without warning, so as to keep his reflexes in top shape. A character all right! Sure he used to cycle to station in North East England, train to Edinburgh then cycle to training?

20-01-2014, 04:51 PM
He loved Hibs but didn't like mogadon Miller that's for sure.

Saw an old clip of him on the match revisited recently and he was playing for Crystal Palace from memory.

20-01-2014, 04:57 PM

Sorry about the orientation...

20-01-2014, 05:00 PM
I was thinking about Budgie during the game on Saturday.

He used to do a lap of honour after every home game! :thumbsup:

20-01-2014, 06:30 PM
I was thinking about Budgie during the game on Saturday.

He used to do a lap of honour after every home game! :thumbsup:

Did he not also do handstand walks in his box ?

20-01-2014, 06:36 PM
His quote to Mark Hately in the tunnel before the Skol Cup semi - "Hately, keep out of my box or I'll break your foot."

Think it was "break your back" :thumbsup:

20-01-2014, 06:39 PM
Think it was "break your back" :thumbsup:

Correct !! With expletive as well !!

20-01-2014, 06:45 PM
Loved "Budgie" He was exactly what the club needed, real character, great rapport with the fans and an excellent keeper as well, He certainly sorted der hun out in the semi and he had a great game in the final as well. a great player and definitely deserving of recognition for his part in our recent history.

20-01-2014, 07:05 PM
He loved his time at Hibs. Get him back as a guest and a half time appearance!

20-01-2014, 07:25 PM

That would be fantastic :thumbsup:

20-01-2014, 07:44 PM
That green and white checked jacket in The Team That Wouldn't Die... outstanding.

20-01-2014, 07:59 PM
He stayed at the Ellwyn Hotel while up here, while my missus worked there. He came down to the bar the night before the cup final asking for the noise to be kept down as he had a " big game".:thumbsup:
Would often ask the bar staff to wash his goalie gloves.Gave a signed strip for a raffle which was duly won by the wife. Eccentric but a great character.( Budgie, not the wife )
:hibees

20-01-2014, 08:46 PM
He's still very much a Hibby - https://twitter.com/thebudgietweets/status/419121792171524096

Green Man
20-01-2014, 08:54 PM
Budgie is a proper Hibs legend. His autobiography is well worth a read.

20-01-2014, 09:49 PM
Budgie is a proper Hibs legend. His autobiography is well worth a read.

Fantastic book.

20-01-2014, 09:56 PM
Fantastic book.

One of the best fitba books I've read... And he really, really disnae like Miller!

20-01-2014, 09:57 PM
Fantastic book.

One of the best fitba books I've read... And he really, really disnae like Miller!

Co-written by a very good Hibby too :agree:

21-01-2014, 04:52 AM
Anyone got a link to buy the book?

21-01-2014, 05:35 AM
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/1857826655

21-01-2014, 06:16 AM
He's the reason I play as a keeper, albeit 5 a side.. Too small for 11's !

21-01-2014, 06:54 AM
It was quite a sight to see him using a table to warm up. He would hold the table by the legs and parry the shots away with the table top.

21-01-2014, 07:11 AM
It was quite a sight to see him using a table to warm up. He would hold the table by the legs and parry the shots away with the table top.

Thats as random as some of my full stops.:greengrin

21-01-2014, 08:49 AM
Anyone got a link to buy the book?

I was kindly sent a copy by a Hibs.net poster, more than happy to forward it on to you, PM me your address if you would like the book

gorgie greens
21-01-2014, 09:58 AM
Had the good fortune to sit next to him in the asbestos stand at a derby game,it wasn't the hospitality or centre,it was the one nearest the gorgie rd he was in with the fans and not lording it end,also met him at Murrayfield when he used to come and watch his son play ice hockey,top guy and spoke fondly of his time at Easter Road

21-01-2014, 04:24 PM
He was a great character,sure Andy Watson went to wake him when sleeping in for training on tour and he jumped out of bed with just his gloves on lol

21-01-2014, 04:34 PM
Did he not sleep in his goalie gloves? Some character

Jeez, they must have been helluva big for him to manage that. :wink:

21-01-2014, 04:47 PM
I was kindly sent a copy by a Hibs.net poster, more than happy to forward it on to you, PM me your address if you would like the book

Top guy, will pm you shortly.

Thanks

Lester B
22-01-2014, 01:09 PM
That would be fantastic :thumbsup:

Tweeted him last summer saying 'come back and visit us!' He replied 'Love to' :thumbsup:

Roxyhibee
22-01-2014, 01:23 PM
Budgie was a genuinely important figure to our whole club during that vulnerable time. His presence gave us a much needed boost of confidence both on the park and off it too. And he knew we needed that after what we'd been through. Loved him during that period.

He should be invited back regularly and would be absolutely brilliant to have around the tables on Corporate days.

Paperboy
22-01-2014, 03:56 PM
Budgie is one of my favourite players. He was absolutely radge, but also a really good keeper!

i do remember though in the semi against Rangers I'm sure he dropped the ball on the line and someone had to clear it?

i also remember my mates said they were passing Easter road and there was Budgie selling football tops from the back of his car! One of my mates bought an Inter Milan top off him!

an Evening With Budgie - that would be an event that would sell out!

22-01-2014, 04:05 PM
Mind his laps of honour after every game :greengrin

22-01-2014, 05:17 PM
Bear in mind that Budgie was nearly 40 when he played for us and went onto sign for 20 clubs AFTER he'd left us.

HibbySpurs
22-01-2014, 06:50 PM
I was about 13/14 whrn budgie played for us. Always remember his running along the side of the east terrace to applaud the fans after every home game.

Hes up there with Le God as far im concerned. A great guy and a model pro.

Didnt realise he played in the epl at 43. What a teastament to his devotion to the game.

Sent from my GT-S5570 using Tapatalk 2

HibbyRod
22-01-2014, 07:08 PM

Paul,

give me a call re. this,

would really like this book!

ja, ja!

;-)

22-01-2014, 07:23 PM
Legend. Hates Michael Carrick too.

22-01-2014, 07:24 PM

Don't we all? :greengrin

22-01-2014, 10:31 PM

He certainly does!

H13BYM
23-01-2014, 10:40 AM
Always remember when he gathered the ball in a crowded penalty area he would clutch it to his chest and before he would move a muscle,once the area had cleared- keeping his feet still he would swivel round both ways to make sure there were no opponents hiding behind him before he released the ball.
Was a massive breath of fresh air and as a young goalkeeper myself at the time he was inspirational the way he carried himself and controlled his area! Get him back!!!!

The Hibee Harp
23-01-2014, 10:52 AM
Got to be honest I found Budgie a hugely frustrating keeper. Whilst he was a fine keeper he wasn't on the same level as his predecessors (Rough and Goram). He regularly killed the momentum and we were never able to hit on the counter attack with him in the side. He took an age to clear the ball in he came and caught it (as an early poster mentioned he would wait until his box was clear before turning round again to check) and he took forever to take goal kicks. I remember in his second season he struggled to hold onto the number one spot and I can recall being disappionted if he was named in the team rather than Chris Reid.

A character and solid pro at a time when we needed one I think sums him up best.

23-01-2014, 10:57 AM
Why does he hate Michael Carrick?

23-01-2014, 12:09 PM
Why does he hate Michael Carrick?

Thinks he is only doing half a job!

23-01-2014, 01:32 PM
Paul,

give me a call re. this,

would really like this book!

ja, ja!

;-)

Rod you have a PM

23-01-2014, 09:36 PM
Bear in mind that Budgie was nearly 40 when he played for us and went onto sign for 20 clubs AFTER he'd left us.

He had a lot of clubs but that surely can't be right?

23-01-2014, 10:21 PM
He had a lot of clubs but that surely can't be right?

21 according to wiki.

24-01-2014, 11:36 AM
21 according to wiki.

Yes, now had a look at that. Extraordinary.