View Full Version : Hartley

ginger_rice
18-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Just read a tweet saying Paul Hartley has resigned as Alloa boss anyone else heard that?

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 04:48 PM
I'll be delighted if it was down to Ian Murray hammering his side today.

18-01-2014, 04:50 PM
All over Twitter - apparently announced at his press conference following the game that 'he's taken the club as far as he could with the resources he has'.

ginger_rice
18-01-2014, 04:50 PM
I'll be delighted if it was down to Ian Murray hammering his side today.

Appears to be :greengrin

Thought he was destined for greater things??

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 04:53 PM
Appears to be :greengrin

Thought he was destined for greater things??

He will probably still get an SPL gig but until then I await the rat tramp appearing on bbc Scotland with all the other ex Jambo dobbers.

Robinho08
18-01-2014, 05:01 PM
Locke 's assistant then?

ancienthibby
18-01-2014, 05:07 PM
Locke 's assistant then?

Departure confirmed on Beeb radio.

18-01-2014, 05:08 PM
Mmmmm strange one

Potty78
18-01-2014, 05:11 PM
No compensation required. Hearts been in touch. Certainty!

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:16 PM
No compensation required. Hearts been in touch. Certainty!

It's the tramps way!

18-01-2014, 05:17 PM
He probably fancies the hearts gig next season.

18-01-2014, 05:19 PM
He probably fancies the hearts gig next season.

i hope Dumbarton clobber his new club as well then

18-01-2014, 05:21 PM
He'll be at Hearts by next week.

allmodcons
18-01-2014, 05:30 PM
Great to see his side get horsed by Ian Murray's Dumbarton.
Amazing how Hartley is continually talked up on BBC Sportsound whilst the great job IM is doing at Dumbarton is largely ignored.
Hartley's resignation today completely flies in the face of what he was saying as a guest on Sportsound only last week.

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:33 PM
Amazing how Hartley is continually talked up on BBC Sportsound whilst the great job IM is doing at Dumbarton is largely ignored.
Hartley's resignation today completely flies in the face of what he was saying as a guest on Sportsound only last week.

He's a lying weasly rat tramp who cheated on his wife. What do you expect?

Eternal Hibbie
18-01-2014, 05:35 PM

Don't you like him then ? :)

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:35 PM
Don't you like him then ? :)

You could say that :)

allmodcons
18-01-2014, 05:36 PM

Are you very small or do you live in Inch?

18-01-2014, 05:37 PM

so did craig levein....must be a hertz 'thing'

Confirmed now that he has left Alloa.

I wonder if theres been a bit of underhand dealing going on between Hartley and Hearts. :hmmm:

Will be interesting to see if Locke's position is held.

18-01-2014, 05:38 PM
Exactly. I heard him on the programme and he sounded very contended to be "learning his trade" at a "great club like Alloa." Someone's telling porkies.

18-01-2014, 05:39 PM
Exactly. I heard him on the programme and he sounded very contended to be "learning his trade" at a "great club like Alloa." Someone's telling porkies.

jim jefferies once said he just happened to be in the hertz shop when he got a call to join them..... all yamboids are liars

andy1875
18-01-2014, 05:40 PM
Hammered 5-1 from a good Hibby. Well done Ian Murray!

18-01-2014, 05:42 PM
jim jefferies once said he just happened to be in the hertz shop when he got a call to join them..... all yamboids are liars

Hartley supports Celtic. Still has a yammish wiff about him though.

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:43 PM
Are you very small or do you live in Inch?

I'm from the Inch.

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:44 PM

The club with no morals. It's not surprising mate.

18-01-2014, 05:44 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25796364

18-01-2014, 05:46 PM
Hartley supports Celtic. Still has a yammish wiff about him though.

the wee scruff got yamified

18-01-2014, 05:46 PM
Was a mediocre manager of a mediocre club.

Perfect fit for Hearts.

Good of Nid to kill off Alloa and Hartley today with that scoreline :greengrin

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:48 PM
Was a mediocre manager of a mediocre club.

Perfect fit for Hearts.

Good of Nid to kill off Alloa and Hartley today with that scoreline :greengrin

Murray is doing an utterly fantastic job at Dumbarton. He saved them from certain relegation last season and now amazing this season. Wish him all the luck in the world.

18-01-2014, 05:54 PM
Murray is doing an utterly fantastic job at Dumbarton. He saved them from certain relegation last season and now amazing this season. Wish him all the luck in the world.

And Paul Hartley has also done a great job at Alloa since taking over there.

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 05:57 PM

And that I can't deny. Keeping Dumbarton in the league is a bigger achievement though in my opinion.

allmodcons
18-01-2014, 05:57 PM
I'm from the Inch.

Not many Hibbies in Inch. I'm from Keith, not many Hibbies here either!

crewetollhibee
18-01-2014, 06:00 PM
Suppose that's him been places and done things too then ?

18-01-2014, 06:01 PM
I was told last night that he was going to Jack it in at alloa and return to hearts as a player coach and will be joined at hearts by skacel neilson and another ex player but cant remember the name..........first bits came true

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 06:03 PM

Naw mate I'm meaning Inch in Edinburgh ;)

18-01-2014, 06:06 PM
I was told last night that he was going to Jack it in at alloa and return to hearts as a player coach and will be joined at hearts by skacel neilson and another ex player but cant remember the name..........first bits came true

Hearts cannot register new players even if he wants to be player coach. BBC announced as our game kicked off that Hearts have offered Skatchel for King under their one in one out attempt. 17 yr old who hasn't made a start versus 34 year old. Interested to see what the SFPL say and how Caley react given they want him eligible for the semi....

18-01-2014, 06:08 PM

He cancelled training for the players on Thursday night at the last moment.

What i have heard was that he wanted to bring in a couple of players to keep up there and push for a place in the play-off's but the chairman wasn't for splashing the cash.

18-01-2014, 06:08 PM

he's aboot 45 stone now ffs :faf: is he going to be the whole midfield for them

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 06:11 PM
He cancelled training for the players on Thursday night at the last moment.

What i have heard was that he wanted to bring in a couple of players to keep up there and push for a place in the play-off's but the chairman wasn't for splashing the cash.

Derek perhaps?

18-01-2014, 06:18 PM
Clearly Alloa will have been ended as a club today after losing 5-1, so you can understand why he felt he had to go.

18-01-2014, 06:21 PM
Hartley playing again :faf:

100% that won't be happening again.

If they are saving money by getting rid of Brown then Hartley will only go to the yams in the summer or for free now.

Think it's pretty poor him leaving now - especially with how long he's been there - at least get to the end of the season.

I think although he's brought them up Alloa and improved them he's very over rated and will struggle in the SPFL if he ever manages in it.

18-01-2014, 06:22 PM

I remember that.

Guy said he burst out laughing when he saw who his wife was having a 'passionate affair' with.

18-01-2014, 06:45 PM
Hartley's experience of the lower leagues could prove vital for Hearts over the next few years...

Great appointment of true!

18-01-2014, 06:56 PM

Yip couldn't agree more Silver.

18-01-2014, 08:14 PM
I'm from the Inch.

I spent my childhood growing up in the Inch :wink:

18-01-2014, 08:21 PM
Just to be totally different from everybody on here, I thought Hartley was a good manager of Alloa, took them up 2 leagues. And probably just as controversially I thought he was a good player at Hibs as well. Don't expect many to agree with me, but it's just my opinion.

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 08:29 PM

Knew you weren't all bad mate :) where about?

18-01-2014, 08:29 PM
Knew you weren't all bad mate :) where about?

Was Northfield when I moved there and street name was changed to Claverhouse Drive

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 08:31 PM
Was Northfield when I moved there and street name was changed to Claverhouse Drive

I see, the other side from me :)

18-01-2014, 08:35 PM
I see, the other side from me :)

Ah 'the other side' - do folk still call it that? :greengrin

gringojoe
18-01-2014, 08:46 PM

Did he cheat on her with a young boy or a school girl?

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 08:48 PM
Ah 'the other side' - do folk still call it that? :greengrin

They do mate aye. Also the other side to mines is called china town these days but that's another story haha.

18-01-2014, 08:50 PM

My mum and uncles were brought up in the Inch. (Think we've had this conversation before JB)

Inch Hibs
18-01-2014, 08:51 PM
Did he cheat on her with a young boy or a school girl?

Either/or it wouldn't surprise me.

18-01-2014, 08:51 PM
They do mate aye. Also the other side to mines is called china town these days but that's another story haha.

Long time since I lived there mind so now't to do with me :greengrin

My mum and uncles were brought up in the Inch.

All the best people were Aldo :greengrin

18-01-2014, 08:52 PM
Long time since I lived there mind so now't to do with me :greengrin All the best people were Aldo :greengrin

Greendykes for me.

18-01-2014, 08:52 PM
Greendykes for me.

My Granny lived in Greendykes :thumbsup:

18-01-2014, 08:53 PM
My Granny lived in Greendykes :thumbsup:

Unrecognisable now though.

18-01-2014, 08:55 PM

Who? My Granny? :greengrin

I pass through there now and again and you're dead right. Quite a change

18-01-2014, 09:37 PM

Its all been flattened. Great place when growing up.

18-01-2014, 09:41 PM
Its all been flattened. Great place when growing up.

I lived there till I was 8. Worked in the area between 97 and 2007 and the change was unbelievable.

Regeneration after regeneration.

19-01-2014, 07:44 AM

Neilson is already coaching there and has been for months. They've tried to get him registered already without success.

alley balley0-7
19-01-2014, 08:57 AM
could not hack it getting pumped from ian murrays side :thumbsup:

19-01-2014, 09:21 AM
Defo yam tendencies . You can just tell . :cb

19-01-2014, 09:22 AM
Clearly Alloa will have been ended as a club today after losing 5-1, so you can understand why he felt he had to go.

Also, Nid now owns Hartley, so presumably will have the final say on his next career move?

19-01-2014, 10:21 AM
He certainly finished him as a manager yesterday. Wonder if Dumbarton will be in Administration within 12 months of such a victory? It's how real big teams do it

19-01-2014, 10:23 AM
I for one feel happier walking around Alloa today knowing I won't bump in to that greasy wee scrote.:cb

19-01-2014, 10:27 AM
If I was a chairman on the lookout for a Manager, I'd be looking at Ian Murray.

What a job he is doing.

19-01-2014, 10:37 AM
Greendykes for me.

Shouldnt be a problem mate .... I hear Hibs have a fairly decent Lesbian support. :greengrin

19-01-2014, 10:38 AM
Shouldnt be a problem mate .... I hear Hibs have a fairly decent Lesbian support. :greengrin

Dearie me. You've been thinking bout that reply all nite haven't you?? ;-)

19-01-2014, 10:43 AM
Dearie me. You've been thinking bout that reply all nite haven't you?? ;-)

Nah ..... I've always been amused by the name ... just waiting for a chance to use it :greengrin

19-01-2014, 10:47 AM
Nah ..... I've always been amused by the name ... just waiting for a chance to use it :greengrin

I'll believe you. Thousands wouldn't tho. :-)

19-01-2014, 10:53 AM
Just to be totally different from everybody on here, I thought Hartley was a good manager of Alloa, took them up 2 leagues. And probably just as controversially I thought he was a good player at Hibs as well. Don't expect many to agree with me, but it's just my opinion.

I'm not sure many, if any, are saying otherwise tbh. Any apersions cast appear to be on the intergrity and honesty of his character, along with his apparent inabilty to groom or dress himself to a socially acceptable standard

19-01-2014, 11:48 AM
Looks like Hartley was only contracted until the end of this season, so there shouldn't be too much compo due if he joins Hearts...

19-01-2014, 08:43 PM

Cheers for that,it really made me laugh after a long weekend working !!!!

19-01-2014, 08:46 PM

I used to get kids together for football at the astro at the primary school and virtually all of them were hibs fans,or maybe i didnt allow yams in to play !!!

rosco-hibee
19-01-2014, 11:50 PM
Just looked at the championship table and Dumbarton are 4th, though there's only 2pts splitting 4th and 8th place Alloa.
Dumbarton and IM appear to be a good fit, 1-5 as hartleys last contribution has a whiff of irony about it. Pleasing.

GGTTH.

20-01-2014, 12:13 AM
Just to be totally different from everybody on here, I thought Hartley was a good manager of Alloa, took them up 2 leagues. And probably just as controversially I thought he was a good player at Hibs as well. Don't expect many to agree with me, but it's just my opinion.:agree: he's a decent wee chap too. ...my wife and I met him last summer in Alloa. he was just walking along the road, when we pulled up with the car. I rolled down the window and said to him....excuse me mate, is there a B&Q in Alloa? he quickly said, naw, but there's 2 A's and 2 L's. very helpful.

Kaiser_Sauzee
20-01-2014, 12:35 AM
Paul Hartley is my girlfriend's cousin. :protest:

20-01-2014, 07:57 AM
Strange one this resignation. Suspect there will be something brewing with Hearts and he has been advised to free himself up. Even so, bit odd if his contract was up at end of season.

With them just being 2 points off a play off place it is a weird time to resign unless there has been a falling out.

If he has fallen out with them over budget for players that seems poor on Hartley's part as he must understand they are a small club and are not going to bust the bank. Yes, it is good to be ambitious but he would have been better to plod along until end of season. Walking mid season won't go down well with boards of other clubs.

He might be thinking now is a good time to escape before they plummet down the league and his stock plummeted with it but if all he did this season was keep Alloa up he would still be well thought of by other clubs.

While he does appear to be a good young manager, this resignation smacks of someone who has been made a better offer or has a high opinion of themselves and thinks they'll not have long to wait to get a better job.

AK86
20-01-2014, 08:36 AM
Paul Hartley is my girlfriend's cousin. :protest:
He is very " friendly" with my uncle :wink:

20-01-2014, 08:41 AM
Paul Hartley is my girlfriend

20-01-2014, 08:42 AM
Just looked at the championship table and Dumbarton are 4th, though there's only 2pts splitting 4th and 8th place Alloa.
Dumbarton and IM appear to be a good fit, 1-5 as hartleys last contribution has a whiff of irony about it. Pleasing.

GGTTH.

Currently in a play off place! Could IM gets the Sons into the Premier League:thumbsup:

allmodcons
20-01-2014, 11:36 AM
I used to get kids together for football at the astro at the primary school and virtually all of them were hibs fans,or maybe i didnt allow yams in to play !!!

My mistake, wrong Inch, should have registered cos it's spelt differently.
I thought he was from Insch in Aberdeenshire.

nribs
20-01-2014, 11:57 AM
I just read on another forum that supposedly he is to be Danny Lennon's replacement at St Mirren? Would be very surprised if Lennon was to get the bullet tbh.

20-01-2014, 12:00 PM
I just read on another forum that supposedly he is to be Danny Lennon's replacement at St Mirren? Would be very surprised if Lennon was to get the bullet tbh.

He wouldn't have needed to resign from Alloa, if that was the case.

Compensation for his contract will be minimal and well within the reach of SPFL clubs.

Well, most of them...

20-01-2014, 03:06 PM
Paul Hartley is my girlfriend

Hahaha!
Is there not a photo of Scott brown blowing Hartley a kiss or have I made that up?

24-01-2014, 07:42 AM
According to Sky Sports, Skybet have said that Hartley has been backed for the Blackpool job.

On their gossip thing.

24-01-2014, 07:50 AM
According to Sky Sports, Skybet have said that Hartley has been backed for the Blackpool job.

On their gossip thing.

Good mates with Barry Ferguson so not the worst rumour in the world. Not sure how happy I would be if I was a Blackpool fan and our new boss had only managed a very small Scottish lower league team even if he did have them punching above their weight.

More likely to be Ferguson's assistant?

24-01-2014, 08:03 AM
Good mates with Barry Ferguson so not the worst rumour in the world. Not sure how happy I would be if I was a Blackpool fan and our new boss had only managed a very small Scottish lower league team even if he did have them punching above their weight.

More likely to be Ferguson's assistant?

if i was a blackpool fan id be worried our boss hadnt managed any team yet :agree:

Inch Hibs
24-01-2014, 08:09 AM
St Mirren hate Hartley why would he go there?

24-01-2014, 08:20 AM
if i was a blackpool fan id be worried our boss hadnt managed any team yet :agree:

True but Ferguson at least knows the club. I know what you mean though, I like my managers to have managed at a suitable level before taking the job.

Was and still am very unsure of how Sherwood will do at Spurs though he has made a very good start.