View Full Version : Question Primary Education

17-01-2014, 06:50 PM
Due to an administarative error I was punted from primary 6 straight into high school missing out primary 7 altogether.

On the back of the recent court case in which a kids parents were close to going to jail for taking their kid out of school for a week I found it kind of ironic that the education system in the 70s thought it was OK for a kid ( I.E. me ) to miss a whole year of education because somebody had gotten their sums wrong when he was 7.

Based on the fact that I'm convinced that missing this year prevented me from becoming Prime Minister or getting a job where I would have earned £100,000 a year before bonuses I would be interested if any contributers to H.Net ( especially those with a background in education ) could give an opinion as to the importance of the last year of primary school in the education process itsself and a childs social developement in general. Grateful for any replies.

18-01-2014, 11:36 AM
I've never heard of that happening! Just yourself? You grew up with one year group for 6 years then were thrown into the one above for High school?

I find it quite strange that they didn't just correct the error. :greengrin

Does that mean you missed out on the 9 times tables? :wink:

19-01-2014, 10:59 AM
I've never heard of that happening! Just yourself? You grew up with one year group for 6 years then were thrown into the one above for High school?

Yeh just me ..... Pretty traumatic to be honest ... as you can probably guess given that 40 years later it still bugs me.

To this very day I cant count for toffee. In fact my first wife taught me more about arithmetic in 3 hours than I managed to grasp in the whole of high school ..... I've forgotten it all now though, thank goodness for the the electronic calculator :confused:

Jay
19-01-2014, 11:09 AM
Yeh just me ..... Pretty traumatic to be honest ... as you can probably guess given that 40 years later it still bugs me.

To this very day I cant count for toffee. In fact my first wife taught me more about arithmetic in 3 hours than I managed to grasp in the whole of high school ..... I've forgotten it all now though, thank goodness for the the electronic calculator :confused:

My brother was put in the wrong year group when we moved to Edinburgh when he was 10, as a result he had to repeat 2nd year at high school. He was at an annexe and his original year group all moved up to the main building so his friends had all gone. the following year Wester Hailes high school opened and his new year group got moved there for third year! Totally minced his head and finished his education.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

19-01-2014, 01:46 PM

Things were different in the 70s / 80s. We were miles away from the child-centred / league table / audited / rights culture that there is today.

I had a chemistry teacher (in the early 80s) who didn't believe that girls had any place in a chemistry lab. So he didn't teach us or, indeed, communicate with us. My geography teacher hadn't agreed with the introduction of mixed-ability schooling many years previously. So he didn't teach S1 and 2 classes at all, and instead left us to amuse ourselves while he played golf (he said. Actually he went to the pub). I think teachers were pretty much unsackable then.

My S3 history teacher ran away with a man early on in the course, and was never replaced. We sat the O Grade (olden days Standard Grade equivalent) with about 2 months teaching input. We all failed.
Ridiculous things happened, and nobody questioned it. Anyway, Nae Bovril for PM:protest:

19-01-2014, 03:44 PM
We should all put in compensation claims and completely bankrupt the education system. Actually, that's a really bad idea.

19-01-2014, 08:52 PM
If it was Gala, then they did you a favour. :wink:

The ones who were made to sit P7 will be thinking "That's a year I'll never get back". Cannae put a price on that :greengrin

22-01-2014, 09:58 PM
If it was Gala, then they did you a favour. :wink:

The ones who were made to sit P7 will be thinking "That's a year I'll never get back". Cannae put a price on that :greengrin

It wasnt

26-01-2014, 11:30 AM
It wasnt

Selkirk wasn't much better, mind you :greengrin

26-01-2014, 04:29 PM
Things were different in the 70s / 80s. We were miles away from the child-centred / league table / audited / rights culture that there is today.

I had a chemistry teacher (in the early 80s) who didn't believe that girls had any place in a chemistry lab. So he didn't teach us or, indeed, communicate with us. My geography teacher hadn't agreed with the introduction of mixed-ability schooling many years previously. So he didn't teach S1 and 2 classes at all, and instead left us to amuse ourselves while he played golf (he said. Actually he went to the pub). I think teachers were pretty much unsackable then.

My S3 history teacher ran away with a man early on in the course, and was never replaced. We sat the O Grade (olden days Standard Grade equivalent) with about 2 months teaching input. We all failed.
Ridiculous things happened, and nobody questioned it. Anyway, Nae Bovril for PM:protest:

Fair! It's easy to forget that used to be the way of it considering how tight and regimented everything is now! :agree:

They are some crazy stories! I guess they must have unsackable at the time as you said.

27-01-2014, 06:39 PM
Selkirk wasn't much better, mind you :greengrin

Not Selkirk either :greengrin

27-01-2014, 07:49 PM
Not Selkirk either :greengrin

In that case it must have been really bad :greengrin

I was at Selkirk High from 86-91.
headmaster was a great guy, computing teacher was a radge and my guidance teacher turned out to be a kiddy fiddler. :rolleyes: