View Full Version : Craig Thompson bumped

15-01-2014, 10:10 AM
On Radio Scotland they reported that Craig Thompson has not been appointed to referee in the World Cup finals. Only an Englishman will represent the British Isles.

Found out as a **** referee at last. Get it up you, you dirty Hearts *******. Ha ****in ha.

(Sorry appear to have lost it whilst typing)

15-01-2014, 10:16 AM
They must have watched a replay of that penalty which he gave for a player being pushed beside the corner flag.

15-01-2014, 10:18 AM
On Radio Scotland they reported that Craig Thompson has not been appointed to referee in the World Cup finals. Only an Englishman will represent the British Isles.

Found out as a **** referee at last. Get it up you, you dirty Hearts *******. Ha ****in ha.

(Sorry appear to have lost it whilst typing)

That's a sore one for the SFA as Thomson is seen as Scotland's top referee.

He hasn't had a good season and rightly so, doesn't make it.

I don't think Webb should be in there either as he has been awful since 2010.

15-01-2014, 10:21 AM
That's a sore one for the SFA as Thomson is seen as Scotland's top referee.

He hasn't had a good season and rightly so, doesn't make it.

I don't think Webb should be in there either as he has been awful since 2010.Disnae say much for the rest if that clown is their best.

Has he ever?

Edit: forgot tae add http://i40.tinypic.com/kbosg4.gif

15-01-2014, 10:22 AM
Incompetent cheat.

Shouldn't be allowed to referee under 12s games never mind at a World Cup.

Glad FIFA have seen through the SFAs golden boy.

Twa Cairpets
15-01-2014, 11:13 AM
Incompetent cheat.

Shouldn't be allowed to referee under 12s games never mind at a World Cup.

Glad FIFA have seen through the SFAs golden boy.

Incompetent? On some big decisions, undoubtedly.
Cheat? No. I think the no-handball penalty last Friday put that one to bed, didn't it?

15-01-2014, 11:16 AM
Dirty cheating yam giruy Thomson

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

15-01-2014, 11:37 AM
Cheat? No. I think the no-handball penalty last Friday put that one to bed, didn't it?Some of his decisions go beyond incompetency.

Togs91
15-01-2014, 11:42 AM
Absolute roaster of a man! How hes scotlands top ref is beyond me! Girfuy!

Twa Cairpets
15-01-2014, 11:44 AM
Some of his decisions go beyond incompetency.

No, not really.

BTW I'm not a fan of or apologist for Thomson, but think the evidence is he's not good at the big calls, but isn't a cheat.

15-01-2014, 11:44 AM
Cheat? No. I think the no-handball penalty last Friday put that one to bed, didn't it?

Not long after the penalty we should have had ?

15-01-2014, 11:46 AM
He's a laughing stock and not just in Scotland!

15-01-2014, 12:14 PM
No, not really.

BTW I'm not a fan of or apologist for Thomson, but think the evidence is he's not good at the big calls, but isn't a cheat.
He should stick to the Monday to Friday job as he obviously can't handle being a ref.

15-01-2014, 12:16 PM
Did he not ruin the Romania v Netherlands world cup qualifier with his incompetence? That probably had a bearing on the decision.

15-01-2014, 12:22 PM
The guy managed to miss two penalties on Friday, in one match.

One commentator in the Herald suggested that he deliberately ignored the handball, to cancel out his boo-boo at Hibs 'penalty'. I think that's actually being overly generous to the guy. I personally think he just made the wrong decision in both.

There's been a suggestion that somehow the two decisions managed to 'cancel each other out'. I can't really go along with that as, if he'd given Hibs the first we would probably be 1-0 up and playing against ten men for most of the game.

_hucks_
15-01-2014, 12:44 PM
The guy managed to miss two penalties on Friday, in one match.

One commentator in the Herald suggested that he deliberately ignored the handball, to cancel out his boo-boo at Hibs 'penalty'. I think that's actually being overly generous to the guy. I personally think he just made the wrong decision in both.

There's been a suggestion that somehow the two decisions managed to 'cancel each other out'. I can't really go along with that as, if he'd given Hibs the first we would probably be 1-0 up and playing against ten men for most of the game.

Dont think Langfield denied a clear goalscoring opportunity, the angle was against heff

15-01-2014, 01:16 PM
Nae luck you cheating hearts ****!!!!

AllyF
15-01-2014, 02:14 PM
Dont think Langfield denied a clear goalscoring opportunity, the angle was against heff

That didn't seem to matter when Stevenson won his penalty against Hearts.

15-01-2014, 02:25 PM
No, not really.

Lets just say then, for this thread, he takes incompetency to a level hitherto unknown :-)

I'm sure if he ever gets the chance to ref Hibs, or even worse another derby, cheat will once again be in the forefront of our minds. And probably with good cause.

Twa Cairpets
15-01-2014, 02:36 PM
Lets just say then, for this thread, he takes incompetency to a level hitherto unknown :-)

I'm sure if he ever gets the chance to ref Hibs, or even worse another derby, cheat will once again be in the forefront of our minds. And probably with good cause.

I'll not disagree with the former - given the errors he's made in UEFA matches never mind domestically I think he is too often incompetent when it comes to game-critical decisions,but he's refereed us loads of times since the final, and I'm struggling - despite the ever-present "its him, we're doomed" where the allegations of cheating could even begin to be substantiated.

Let's leave the paranoia to over the road and Celtc

15-01-2014, 03:04 PM
That didn't seem to matter when Stevenson won his penalty against Hearts.

The Yam wasn't sent off though IIRC.

JustSimplyHibs
15-01-2014, 03:15 PM

Look at the player he brought down - Hefferman, who is more than capable of scoring from tight angles- therefore it is a clear goalscoring opportunity... If it were Collins i very much doubt he would have even hit the side netting let alone score and would agree.

The two were pens however, if we scored first we would have went on against 10 men and won.

For me, the right decision has been made...

VivaHiberņa
15-01-2014, 03:20 PM
I'll not disagree with the former - given the errors he's made in UEFA matches never mind domestically I think he is too often incompetent when it comes to game-critical decisions,but he's refereed us loads of times since the final, and I'm struggling - despite the ever-present "its him, we're doomed" where the allegations of cheating could even begin to be substantiated.

Let's leave the paranoia to over the road and Celtc

Dodgy penalty:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=u75rpDbIGIg#t=158

Dodgy penalty:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JOMZ5a48Das

Two dodgy bookings/sending off:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKUurjTrevo

That said, he's made some decision that have benefited us but I think those are down to him being semi-blind and after the County game I've stopped giving him the benefit of the doubt.

15-01-2014, 04:13 PM
Dodgy penalty:

That said, he's made some decision that have benefited us but I think those are down to him being semi-blind and after the County game I've stopped giving him the benefit of the doubt.

That Aberdeen one is as blatant a dive as I've seen. A Sunday League ref should be picking that one up.

15-01-2014, 04:17 PM
:giruy: Craig Thomson!

Twa Cairpets
15-01-2014, 04:39 PM
Dodgy penalty:

First one stone waller

Second one - look at the 2nd replay (looking behind the goal, which replicates the refs view. I would have given it from there.

Third one - I agree - incompetence though.

Look, I'm really not defending him, but I don't think he's a cheat. You could go through probably every referees performance in the world and pick up things that are wrong/arguable. With us he cocked up royally in the final with the penalty (but not the red card), and arguably could/should have booked Black - I watched it for the first time the other day and I think it was a yellow, partly as its not obvious and partly as the sneaky we scrote disguised it very well - not many refs would have sent him off, I don't think. That's why the collective "we" think he's a cheat.

Disclaimer - my opinions on this in no way mitigate the clear fact that he does appear to be a fud, is far too theatrical and gets too many important things wrong to be regarded as top class. I in no way would want to have a pint with CT, socialise with him or in any other way validate his existence. I would not complain in the slightest if he never reffed Hibs again.

paul_hfc3
15-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Sounds cruel but..good. He doesn't deserve to referee in a World Cup. Do not rate him as a referee at all. He's arrogant about his confidence in his abilities I think too.

VivaHiberņa
15-01-2014, 05:17 PM
First one stone waller

Second one - look at the 2nd replay (looking behind the goal, which replicates the refs view. I would have given it from there.

Look, I'm really not defending him, but I don't think he's a cheat. You could go through probably every referees performance in the world and pick up things that are wrong/arguable. With us he cocked up royally in the final with the penalty (but not the red card), and arguably could/should have booked Black - I watched it for the first time the other day and I think it was a yellow, partly as its not obvious and partly as the sneaky we scrote disguised it very well - not many refs would have sent him off, I don't think. That's why the collective "we" think he's a cheat.

Disclaimer - my opinions on this in no way mitigate the clear fact that he does appear to be a fud, is far too theatrical and gets too many important things wrong to be regarded as top class. I in no way would want to have a pint with CT, socialise with him or in any other way validate his existence. I would not complain in the slightest if he never reffed Hibs again.

First one: MacKay is fouled outside of the box, he waits until he's in the box to go down by which time Wotherspoon isn't touching him. I also forgot to mention earlier his decision to book both our centre-halves in the first 15 minutes for not very much.

Second: Hmm maybe. Still very soft.

I also forgot the alleged request (and dossier?) Hibs sent to the SFA before the cup final requesting that Thompson does not referee it. I've only heard rumours to be honest but if true it's clear the club think at the very least his incompetence wouldn't have disadvantaged both sides equally.

Up to the County game in the cup I gave him the benefit of the doubt but those are two ridiculous decisions. This all sounds very Celtc, I know, but I'm pretty much convinced.

15-01-2014, 09:54 PM
Glad he is not going to the World Cup. He would have been an embarrassment to the country. I wouldn't come out and call him a cheat as I could be sued however he does seem to be more incompetent towards Hibs.

bob12345
16-01-2014, 12:30 AM
He got his chance on the big stage with the Champions League semi final and was part of the officiating team who let stand one of the most comical high profile goals of the year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsOrvrKHEv8

Yes he was let down by his linesman. But his positioning was fantastic, he should have seen it was clearly offside at least twice.

16-01-2014, 12:12 PM
First one stone waller

Yup. There's clear contact in both the penalty incidents - maybe not a lot, but enough to make it a foul, and a foul in the box is a penalty. I could say that the St Johnstone incident is on the line, but the line's part of the penalty area, so it's a penalty. Against Aberdeen, yup, the reverse angle shot makes it clear - Clancy caught him. Penalty.

The Cairney card? Well, if PC insists on walking off with the ball when it's an opposition free-kick, he can expect to be booked. Not always, but most of the time, with most referees. He'll certainly be spoken to and warned.

The penalty claim? He didn't 'dive' IMO - his legs gave out and the contact was enough to bring him down, but it looked very much as if he 'went down too easily', as they say. I think it could have been given as a penalty, but if the referee has simulation in his mind, that's not going to happen.

Seconding your disclaimer in both spirit and detail, I have to say that there's little or no evidence of cheating there. He's incompetent in that he gets too many important decisions wrong, he struts around as if everyone paid to see him and him alone, and no, I wouldn't drink with him either. He looks the sort of guy who'd let you buy the first round ("double single malt, 30-year-old Glenmorangie, please"), and then nurse it for the rest of the evening and never put his hand in his pocket once.

But he's not as bad as Clive Thomas or Dirty Leeds United. :wink:

bob12345
16-01-2014, 07:40 PM
Even this lad is probably better than Thomson... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABipCTXB6is

16-01-2014, 07:41 PM

16-01-2014, 07:48 PM
He got his chance on the big stage with the Champions League semi final and was part of the officiating team who let stand one of the most comical high profile goals of the year: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XsOrvrKHEv8

Yes he was let down by his linesman. But his positioning was fantastic, he should have seen it was clearly offside at least twice.

That game was probably the one that sealed his fate for world and European games, comical stuff, not really a big game ref - hopefully he will spend a lot of next season down a league or two with his chums. He is just generally incompetent when it comes to the big calls in most games but I do believe he especially doesn't like us and it affects his handling of games involving us. He is more in the spotlight in these games than he was previously, thanks to it being highlighted by forums like this.

16-01-2014, 07:51 PM
First one stone waller

That Black elbow was the most influential decision in the final. Completely deliberate and warranted a red (granted, most other refs wouldn't have sent him off). The Kujabi one doesn't bother me as much as, 2-1 down with 10 men, we wouldn't have had a hope anyway. 0-0 after 10 minutes with their best player off the pitch is a different story, however.

hibbeedavid
17-01-2014, 03:09 PM
So much for the SFA myth that their referees are the most respected in football!