View Full Version : Best ever Hibs supporting yam player

12-01-2014, 10:21 AM
thought I would swap this subject round.

Can think of Nipper ,Alan somebody who played for them , Ralph Callaghan maybe???

think there was a younger player a few years ago but cannot remember who

12-01-2014, 10:40 AM
Maybe not the best ever but Lee Wallace was a hibee.

I've heard wee fat Robbo was a hibs fan as a boy, but not too sure I believe that one.

hhibs
12-01-2014, 10:42 AM

Can think of Nipper ,Alan somebody who played for them , Ralph Callaghan maybe???

Gordon Smith of the Famous Five would be an earlier option?

12-01-2014, 10:43 AM

I've heard wee fat Robbo was a hibs fan as a boy, but not too sure I believe that one.

Yes, much talked about subject as well, he says he was in a Daily Record interview , forgot about him

12-01-2014, 10:51 AM
I thought it was widely accepted that Robbo was a Yam

12-01-2014, 10:52 AM
Gordon Smith of the Famous Five would be an earlier option?

Wrong way round, he was a Hearts fan as a kid and became a Hibs player.

12-01-2014, 11:02 AM

nipper Lawrence perchance? Ex Gracie high.

12-01-2014, 11:07 AM
I thought it was widely accepted that Robbo was a Yam

hasn't there been a running thread on " Open all P*icks", about a player profile of him in the Shoot from the 80's in which he says that he was a Rangers supporter?

12-01-2014, 11:24 AM
nipper Lawrence perchance? Ex Gracie high.

that's him :aok:

12-01-2014, 11:29 AM
hasn't there been a running thread on " Open all P*icks", about a player profile of him in the Shoot from the 80's in which he says that he was a Rangers supporter?

quote from BBC website April 2004 -

But Robertson, who can lay claim to being a Hibs fan as a boy, said: "I had a fantastic time at Hearts, but they no longer pay my mortgage."

12-01-2014, 11:44 AM
For the aulder folk. I remember Arthur Thomson saying the first thing he did when he signed for the Hearts was to throw away his Hibs scarf.

Ghaax
12-01-2014, 02:26 PM
quote from BBC website April 2004 -

But Robertson, who can lay claim to being a Hibs fan as a boy, said: "I had a fantastic time at Hearts, but they no longer pay my mortgage."

His family were all Hibbys but I remember someone at school saying Robbo had claimed at he was a rangers fan at one time. :sick:

12-01-2014, 03:57 PM
His family were all Hibbys but I remember someone at school saying Robbo had claimed at he was a rangers fan at one time. :sick:

His brother George and Dad are Hibs fans, his other brother Chris is a currant bun.

12-01-2014, 04:05 PM
Robbo was a Hibs fan growing up. Was a regular season ticket holder at Easter Road.

12-01-2014, 08:54 PM

Once done some work in JR sisters flat in Dummidykes . She said he was Hibs daft as a laddie ( should have hit the wee runt ob the ankle with a 4 iron was my reply when introduced )

12-01-2014, 08:56 PM
Kevin Thomas anyone?

12-01-2014, 11:42 PM
Certainly seems that Robbo was a Hibs fan. I vaguely remember watching a video(pre DVD) when I was a wee boy and he speaks about supporting Hibs. I'm almost sure of it. Certainly one that got away. Did he not train/have a trial with us before them?

13-01-2014, 06:44 AM
Certainly seems that Robbo was a Hibs fan. I vaguely remember watching a video(pre DVD) when I was a wee boy and he speaks about supporting Hibs. I'm almost sure of it. Certainly one that got away. Did he not train/have a trial with us before them?

He and his auld man went to see Turnbull with a view to signing but wanted a signing on fee, Turnbull refused and the rest is history...

oramhibee
13-01-2014, 07:20 AM
I think we all know, Craig "beast" Thomson was a Hibee. Had a season ticket at Easter Road years ago.

Bill Milne
13-01-2014, 09:22 AM
For my money, it was "The Rebel", Eric Stevenson.

13-01-2014, 10:09 AM
Think Lee Wallace was/is a hibby?

13-01-2014, 10:40 AM
A mate of mine said that Walter Kidd had a Hibs tattoo, but I dinnae ken if that's true or not.