View Full Version : Was Vine The Worst Player Ever To Play For Hibs?

09-01-2014, 07:42 PM
For me, possibly the biggest wage thief and talentless 'player' I have seen in my 30 years supporting the club.

09-01-2014, 07:42 PM
no.

Weststandwanab
09-01-2014, 07:44 PM

Richibee
For me, possibly the biggest wage thief and talentless 'player' I have seen in my 30 years supporting the club.

nothing like the worst

probably but theres a big list to pick from.

Very harsh. No.

Did you just start watching Hibs this season?:confused:

He left his motorbike up here :wink:

09-01-2014, 07:45 PM
no...fact

Kuqi was worse.

Behave.

09-01-2014, 07:47 PM
No and I hate the term 'wage thief'.
Very Yamish.

craigmounthibby
09-01-2014, 07:51 PM
Not a chance. Fenlon probably signed him because he had a blinder for st Johnstone against us last Feb, when we lost 3-1.

I can think of dozens of others for this accolade, before suggesting Vine.

09-01-2014, 07:52 PM
For me, possibly the biggest wage thief and talentless 'player' I have seen in my 30 years supporting the club.Were you sleeping for a lot of it? I ken some of it was pretty boring.

And tae answer the question in the thread title, no!

09-01-2014, 07:54 PM
No it didn't work out but far from the worst!

sixtwo
09-01-2014, 07:57 PM
No. Hurtado, pa kujabi, kuqi, Brian Hamilton, zibby, and Ray Wilkins were all worse in a hibs top.

09-01-2014, 07:57 PM
Not for me. Didn't work for him but mibbe do a job elsewhere.

Sent from my iphone

09-01-2014, 07:58 PM
Ridiculous thread.

dmc1875
09-01-2014, 07:59 PM
Not even close to the worst player to play for Hibs. The boy has talent that has been seen enough over the last 10 or so years. Desire is the biggest problem I think. He just didn't hit it off here.

Badabing
09-01-2014, 08:00 PM
He'll soon be forgotten, our real nightmares live in the memory for years.

SurferRosa
09-01-2014, 08:01 PM
Someone just has to mention Alan O Brien and i`ve got to reach for the Prozac.

09-01-2014, 08:01 PM

No, but probably top 10. Blame those who thought there was a player in there, or couldn't motivate him to one decent performance.

AndySOL1875
09-01-2014, 08:03 PM
Simon Brown

Matt thornhill.

Green Reaper
No, Wilkins for me, deplorable

09-01-2014, 08:05 PM
Absolutely loads worse! Can think of many but will just throw Edwin de graff into the mix

Sent from my iphone

No

Sorry mate ..... a totally unfair thread on a player who barely kicked a ball for us. He was a fixture at St J and seemed to do OK for them. It just didnt work out for him and I hope he goes elsewhere and gets things back on track.

Now if your thread had been 'did he have the worst beard ever at Hibs' I would be agreeing with you.

09-01-2014, 08:06 PM
Nope not by a long way.

09-01-2014, 08:08 PM
Joe harpers beard caused a much bigger stink!

Sent from my iphone

Vine had 4 assists against Stranraer as was pointed out to me after I slagged him off for being pants!

Konte is the worst player I've seen who got a regular gsme.

Amit

Definitely. He was an imposter. Never a footballer. Worst I've ever seen.

09-01-2014, 08:09 PM
It's wrong I know but seeing the OP's username brought to mind a classic Billy Connolly quote from the Crucifixion sketch :wink:

09-01-2014, 08:10 PM

Thats why i didnt mention him in my post . Imagine the massacre :greengrin

Amit
09-01-2014, 08:10 PM

Vine had 4 assists against Stranraer as was pointed out to me after I slagged him off for being pants!

Konte is the worst player I've seen who got a regular gsme.

Konte scored the goal that got us into Europe! Plus his header hit the post at Tynie and Deano smashed in the winner. The Mali Magician still contributed more than AOB.

09-01-2014, 08:11 PM
The worst this season but not ever.

09-01-2014, 08:12 PM
Stuart Turnbell <sp> in the early 80's wins by street.

09-01-2014, 08:13 PM
Konte scored the goal that got us into Europe! Plus his header hit the post at Tynie and Deano smashed in the winner. The Mali Magician still contributed more than AOB.

AOB is a good shout right enough.

09-01-2014, 08:15 PM

Derek Rodier??

09-01-2014, 08:18 PM
Derek Rodier??

He was a youth player who played for the 1st team, hardly bought in goods like Vine/Konte etc

09-01-2014, 08:18 PM
based on appearances, anyone remember how Eamonn Bannon played on his only appearance in our 1st team :dunno:

09-01-2014, 08:20 PM
based on appearances, anyone remember how Eamonn Bannon played on his only appearance in our 1st team :dunno:

He was schecht and bald :greengrin

And IIRC played at Centre Half??

He was a youth player who played for the 1st team, hardly bought in goods like Vine/Konte etc

Ok.

09-01-2014, 08:21 PM
AOB by a country mile.

09-01-2014, 08:22 PM
And IIRC played at Centre Half??

Wore No. 6, we lost 2-0 to Motherwell and David (spit) Syme awarded them a highly dubious penalty

09-01-2014, 08:22 PM
AOB by a country mile.

Paul tosh, Paul power, David Elliot are in the same bracket IMHO

09-01-2014, 08:23 PM

And...

09-01-2014, 08:23 PM
Paul tosh, Paul power, David Elliot are in the same bracket IMHO

You mean Lee Power :greengrin

Paul Power played for Man City and was a very good player, unlike our Power :greengrin

09-01-2014, 08:24 PM
No. Hurtado, pa kujabi, kuqi, Brian Hamilton, zibby, and Ray Wilkins were all worse in a hibs top.

Hurtardo was pants but better than Vine
Brian Hamilton worked hard and did some good unseen (don't laugh) work.
Ray Wilkins was about 60 years past his best but still had more to offer than Vine.

I can remember something good (even if one good move) that each of the above players contributed, but not with Vine.

Sorry guys. He is in my top 5 duds. Forget his performances for other clubs, he was a disgrace for us. 99% no perspiration and 1% no inspiration.

09-01-2014, 08:24 PM
Not even close to being our worst! Not been great at all but 3/4 assists against Stranraer, a cracking assist through at Killie and he was the width of the post away from an absolute screamer away to Malmo. Best all round that he moves on as overall he has been very disappointing but worst ever?!? NAH

09-01-2014, 08:25 PM

Yeh that's true mind. He was worse.

09-01-2014, 08:27 PM
You mean Lee Power :greengrin Paul Power played for Man City and was a very good player, unlike our Power :greengrin

Ash yes sorry Yip Lee Power be his name. :-D

09-01-2014, 08:27 PM
It's wrong I know but seeing the OP's username brought to mind a classic Billy Connolly quote from the Crucifixion sketch :wink:

You've posted that before:wink:

delbert
09-01-2014, 08:29 PM
No it didn't work out but far from the worst!

No Chance, Vine was ****** Pele compared to Ally Scott, Graham Fyfe, Duncan Lambie or the utterly legendary Jas. K Brown, these guys can still make me wake up in a cols sweat !

09-01-2014, 08:37 PM
You've posted that before:wink:

It's an age thing. I keep repeating myself

09-01-2014, 08:38 PM
Some players don't fit with certain clubs and unfortunately for Rowan Vine it just wasn't to be for him at Hibs. Sticking the boot into him when he has just been told he is surplus to requirements is just kicking the man while he is down.

played his only game for the 1st team against Murrawell at ER (0-2) photo below must have been a reserve game against that Defunct club Rangers

http://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.2249425!/image/1637493748.jpg_gen/derivatives/landscape_215/1637493748.jpg

looks like oor Kano below

http://www.francetvinfo.fr/image/74w5cblu3-5c3a/658/370/3004394.jpg

Hurtardo was pants but better than Vine
Brian Hamilton worked hard and did some good unseen (don't laugh) work.
Ray Wilkins was about 60 years past his best but still had more to offer than Vine.

I can remember something good (even if one good move) that each of the above players contributed, but not with Vine.

Sorry guys. He is in my top 5 duds. Forget his performances for other clubs, he was a disgrace for us. 99% no perspiration and 1% no inspiration.

John, how can you saw Vine is/was worse than Hurtado?

09-01-2014, 08:43 PM

Thought Kujabi was half decent for us, just chose the wrong day to give the worst performance of his life and that's what people remember.

StarMan10
09-01-2014, 08:47 PM
Absolute joke of a thread.

scotiaf
09-01-2014, 08:50 PM
Very harsh, he's not set the heather alight but help assist a few goals.

He will go and do a decent job somewhere else

At least 20 players worse than him in the past 5 years

Absolute joke of a thread.

I agree, but the OP likes to fuel controversy

SurferRosa

Definitely. He was an imposter. Never a footballer. Worst I've ever seen.

Thats why i didnt mention him in my post . Imagine the massacre :greengrin

AOB by a country mile.

:agree:..." Ivan Sproule on a motorbike " was the tag they slapped on him. Difference was Ivan could play.

09-01-2014, 08:52 PM
:agree:..." Ivan Sproule on a motorbike " was the tag they slapped on him. Difference was Ivan could play a little bit.

Sorted that for you. :greengrin

09-01-2014, 08:59 PM
for me, possibly the biggest wage thief and talentless 'player' i have seen in my 30 years supporting the club.

no !!!!!!!!!!

DTS
09-01-2014, 09:02 PM
Joe Keenan I remember he managed to put an open goal ore the bar from inside the 6 yard box

09-01-2014, 09:10 PM
I dinnae like to see a guy outnumbered so I'll say he was up there.

EastCalderHibby
09-01-2014, 09:13 PM
Andy Watson mind you i think he was never in losing derby could be wrong

09-01-2014, 09:14 PM
Zarabi

09-01-2014, 09:25 PM
Right, how about the Goalie Trinity of Caig, Zibi and Brown?

Vine may have been fairly pish in most of the games he's played for us, but worst ever? Please.

green.and.white
09-01-2014, 09:31 PM
Zarabi

Tom Soares

09-01-2014, 09:33 PM
no for me,havn't read the thread,but R.V.always tried.

09-01-2014, 09:35 PM
Andy Watson mind you i think he was never in losing derby could be wrong

Played in three. One win, two draws

09-01-2014, 09:35 PM

Utter nonsense. A good player as he showed last season. Just didn't work out here unfortunately. There's been many a worse player than Rowan Vine at ER.

09-01-2014, 09:38 PM

Garbage also. Kujabi has been tainted because of his antics in that game. Brian Hamilton did a tremendous job alongside Pat McGinlay for us. I'll give you the others though.

09-01-2014, 09:38 PM
Looking at some of these players mentioned here its really depressing to think how a lot of them have come to the club during my years supporting (only 20) :greengrin:greengrin.

Born in the wrong era :boo hoo::boo hoo:

09-01-2014, 09:39 PM
Looking at some of these players mentioned here its really depressing to think how a lot of them have come to the club during my years supporting (only 20) :greengrin:greengrin.

Born in the wrong era :boo hoo::boo hoo:

You've got a long future ahead though J :thumbsup:

09-01-2014, 09:42 PM
Tom Soares

scored a couple of goals against killie at rugby park, he actually had a bit of skill about him imo, far FAR worse players above him in the list surely

edwards
09-01-2014, 09:48 PM
By far the worst player ever to wear a hibs strip is Ally Brazil he should have taken up drivin buses years ago.

09-01-2014, 09:49 PM

Absolutely. Truly honking

09-01-2014, 09:51 PM
You've got a long future ahead though J :thumbsup:

Oh the joys! :thumbsup:

09-01-2014, 09:52 PM
How bad was vine in that derby game? Didn't see the match (luckily) due to a uni away game.

Stuarty27
09-01-2014, 09:55 PM
How about Jarko Wiss?

09-01-2014, 09:56 PM
Can't believe Colin Murdoch hasn't been mentioned yet....

patch1875
09-01-2014, 10:01 PM
Paul dalgleish

HibbySpurs
09-01-2014, 10:01 PM
Can't believe Colin Murdoch hasn't been mentioned yet....

I've seen Zibi and brown mentioned.,, doesn't anyone fancy naming Ollie the goalie?

Truly awful keeper or could go for ma-kalamity... Geez our luck with keepers post Rough, Goram, Budgie (legend) and big bandy has generally been honking!!!!!

But Vine? Sorry but no. Think he'll Probo make a decent, honest living when he settles in somewhere else.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

green.and.white
09-01-2014, 10:02 PM
scored a couple of goals against killie at rugby park, he actually had a bit of skill about him imo, far FAR worse players above him in the list surely

There are probably worse, but he has always stuck in my head as being one of the worst ever. He actually annoys me! haha

09-01-2014, 10:25 PM
Garbage also. Kujabi has been tainted because of his antics in that game. Brian Hamilton did a tremendous job alongside Pat McGinlay for us. I'll give you the others though.

Glad to see someone else has a similar opinion of Brian Hamilton, thought he was very underrated.

Worst keeper I've seen in a Hibs jersey was Zibi and for an outfield player I remember Jamie McQuilken being absolutely honking.

09-01-2014, 10:54 PM

Clearly you have missed a lot of games during those 30 years!

portycabbage
09-01-2014, 11:04 PM

Konte's attempt at an overhead kick in the 7-0 Livingston game was also a hilarious surprise! I think one of the most frustrating things about players like him is they have attributes they seem clueless about how to use - like being well over 6ft and unable to head a ball, or having pace like AOB (the SPL's fastest Sh***bag!) but not being able to use it to beat anyone or find space to receive the ball.

Also think Paul Holsgrove and Graeme Smith deserve mentions.

Seekyit
09-01-2014, 11:04 PM
Zarabi

Yep. He was awful. 22 caps for Algeria, who have never been brilliant I know, but even so..

09-01-2014, 11:05 PM
Nope, not even the worst in the last year or two, he really hasn't had much of a chance but showed enough moments of decent quality at St Johnstone to display some level of talent. (Not that I want him to stay, however.)

09-01-2014, 11:09 PM
Paul dalgleish

Scored a peach to win a game late on against Kilmarnock at Easter Road, the first Hibs game I went to. Leave Paul alone! :greengrin

09-01-2014, 11:16 PM
The Miller brothers

09-01-2014, 11:17 PM

Not even close to being the worst!

09-01-2014, 11:18 PM
Not even the worst player at the club just now.

09-01-2014, 11:20 PM
He's up there anyway

Saints fans couldn't wait to get rid of him last year.

09-01-2014, 11:23 PM
Opinions eh? Vine isn't the worst player this season let alone ever. There was another post somewhere where the poster was making comment about the fact that Thomson never gave the ball to Collins as he clearly didn't rate him. when Vine came on the pitch he was Thompson's most likely out ball - which must mean that he at least rated him. Just not working out for him that's all. Terrible beard though :agree:.

I'm in the Brian Hamilton got poor press camp too. The year he broke his leg McGinlay's goals all but dried up as he then had to cover for the missing Hamilton. I put that down to the fact a lot of fans were on Millers back early and Hamilton was usually about first on the team sheet and had followed him from StM. Couldn't then and can't now get my head round fans booing when the team is announced because the scapegoat is playing.

Roddy MacDonald is up there as poorest keeper at ER too......

09-01-2014, 11:40 PM
My candidate for worst has to be Lillian Martin, a French full back signed by Sauzee. He was honestly the slowest player I have ever seen. Even Kuqi would have easily run past him. I think le god signed him as a player he had known maybe 10 years earlier but it was clearly a misjudgement. Played just the once for us and was never seen again.

09-01-2014, 11:42 PM
I can think of Players that were far worse than Rowan Vine. Alan O'Brien is one who springs to mind, I always thought he might one day actually become a player for us - sadly that day never came, although I'm sure that there have been even poorer players than even AOB that have donned the Green and White

09-01-2014, 11:51 PM
I can think of Players that were far worse than Rowan Vine. Alan O'Brien is one who springs to mind, I always thought he might one day actually become a player for us - sadly that day never came, although I'm sure that there have been even poorer players than even AOB that have donned the Green and White

Seen a few paling stabs in my time however, I would pick Alan O'Brien.
... and that's including a traffic cone in the mix.

Torto7062
10-01-2014, 12:04 AM
Allan OBrian saw him at East Stirling
In a friendly and thought....
Ya beauty we have a good un here. ..
Being honest he was fricking rank

cad
10-01-2014, 12:09 AM
Alan O Brien:grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr::grr:

10-01-2014, 12:25 AM
Not much kop but not even the worst in the past couple of years...

And wouldn't feature in my top 10 donkeys in 30 years of watching Hibs..

10-01-2014, 12:33 AM

Don't be silly. We've had MUCH worse than him in my time.

Just think of some of Jim Duffy's signings, or John Collins' signings.

Or Bertie Auld's.

At least Vine didn't play very often, so he didn't do too much harm.

OsloHibs
10-01-2014, 12:52 AM

HibeeMG
10-01-2014, 05:14 AM
I've seen Zibi and brown mentioned.,, doesn't anyone fancy naming Ollie the goalie?

Truly awful keeper or could go for ma-kalamity... Geez our luck with keepers post Rough, Goram, Budgie (legend) and big bandy has generally been honking!!!!!

But Vine? Sorry but no. Think he'll Probo make a decent, honest living when he settles in somewhere else.

For goalies Zibi is, by a mile, the worst. He even pushes for the title of worst player overall.

For 'that' semi-final performance alone (I've never been as angry with an individual player's performance before or since) he would be up there. He was almost as equally *****e in every other game though.

MoscowHibs
10-01-2014, 05:20 AM
A defo no. Ye didnae see Duncan Lambie then? Christ all bloody mighty,he was Gash,wi a capital G tae.

10-01-2014, 09:25 AM
Jamie McQuilken, Paul Tosh, Zibi, Graeme and Greg Miller, many more!

10-01-2014, 10:22 AM
Suprised Andy74 hasen't been on to defend Fenlon's signings record :greengrin :devil:

10-01-2014, 10:31 AM
Zibi

Sent from my *****ty phone

10-01-2014, 10:40 AM
He's up there anyway

Saints fans couldn't wait to get rid of him last year.

i didn't realise he had left st.johnstone on a bit of a sour note

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/striker-rowan-vine-accuses-st-2055618

"There were tentative enquiries from teams in the Championship but when a team like Hibs were interested I jumped on the plane to come up here."

bet he wished his plane had broke down on the runway

10-01-2014, 11:03 AM
Matt Done... :faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:

10-01-2014, 11:12 AM
Another vote for Jamie McQuilken here. Totally pish.

A bit off-topic here but the first team I watched regularly was Miller's Jackson, Wright, McAllister, O'Neill, McGinlay, Harper et al team. I remember thinking at the time that Graeme Mitchell was a wee bit average in that team.

After Rab Shannon, Jimmy Boco, David Elliot, Jamie McQuilken and Andy Dow all toiled at left-back in a short spell after I later came to appreciate that Mitchell was actually very decent.

And bettered only by Murphy and possibly Laursen since.

I may well be the only one but I'm a wee bit disappointed that Vine isn't going to at least get a chance in the new regime. Yes he has been pretty poor, but he has shown (albeit mainly against Stranraer) that his delivery into the box can be very good, and that seems to be something that Butcher and Malpas are very keen on.

10-01-2014, 11:14 AM
Vine - not even close. For me there is only Matt Doherty, I never want to see him anywhere near our club ever again.

10-01-2014, 11:17 AM
i didn't realise he had left st.johnstone on a bit of a sour note

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/striker-rowan-vine-accuses-st-2055618

"There were tentative enquiries from teams in the Championship but when a team like Hibs were interested I jumped on the plane to come up here."

bet he wished his plane had broke down on the runway

Strange to talk about a lack of respect and wishing St Johnston all the best before saying he is glad to be at a 'proper' football club.

It hasn't worked for him at Hibs but I could see him doing ok with a fresh start somewhere else. Don't think he's close to being our worst player but probably up there with those that have had it worse from the boo boys.

10-01-2014, 11:25 AM
Strange to talk about a lack of respect and wishing St Johnston all the best before saying he is glad to be at a 'proper' football club.

It hasn't worked for him at Hibs but I could see him doing ok with a fresh start somewhere else. Don't think he's close to being our worst player but probably up there with those that have had it worse from the boo boys.

i think he was feeling a tad bitter at the time :greengrin but if his version of events are fact then he had every reason to be bitter imo

1959 Hibby
10-01-2014, 11:30 AM
definitely the worst beard - and that makes him look even more hopeless. But (sadly) I can think of a few over the years who looked even less like proper footballers

Groathillgrump
10-01-2014, 11:53 AM
Jamie McQuilken, Paul Tosh, Zibi, Graeme and Greg Miller, many more!

Just reading through this thread and I'm amazed that McQuilken's name didn't appear until the 110th post. I've been watching Hibs since 1970 and Jamie McQuilken is the most inept player I've ever seen in a Hibs jersey and by god there's been a few!!

10-01-2014, 12:08 PM
Another vote for Jamie McQuilken here. Totally pish.

A bit off-topic here but the first team I watched regularly was Miller's Jackson, Wright, McAllister, O'Neill, McGinlay, Harper et al team. I remember thinking at the time that Graeme Mitchell was a wee bit average in that team.

After Rab Shannon, Jimmy Boco, David Elliot, Jamie McQuilken and Andy Dow all toiled at left-back in a short spell after I later came to appreciate that Mitchell was actually very decent.

And bettered only by Murphy and possibly Laursen since.

I may well be the only one but I'm a wee bit disappointed that Vine isn't going to at least get a chance in the new regime. Yes he has been pretty poor, but he has shown (albeit mainly against Stranraer) that his delivery into the box can be very good, and that seems to be something that Butcher and Malpas are very keen on.

Mitchell was a footballer of some quality. He struggled when Miller played himn centre mid though.

Worst ever nominees for me are Andy Watson (softest pro footballer ever, surely?), Peter Welsh, Bobby Flavell, Ally Scott, Miller brothers and everyone signed by Jim Duffy.

10-01-2014, 12:19 PM
Jarko Wiss was the worst EVER. What's worse, some on this very website rated him. Absolutely ganting.

10-01-2014, 12:21 PM
Jarko Wiss was the worst EVER. What's worse, some on this very website rated him. Absolutely ganting.

I'm sure "you're having a Jarko" must have become a saying at Hibs training after that guy was here.....:wink:

E10 Rifle
10-01-2014, 12:44 PM
By far the worst player ever to wear a hibs strip is Ally Brazil he should have taken up drivin buses years ago.

Agree - terrible player (apart from his hat-trick against Celtic in that friendly which was unbelievable!)

10-01-2014, 01:51 PM
Well well, another 'worst player to play for Hibs' thread. Although he was a fine player before he came to us, I was swinging towards Wilkins who was absolutely dreadful in every game he played for us. I don't agree with people who say Brian Hamilton was underrated, to me he just wasn't very good. Not the worst though. Another name from the past that some of the older posters might remember- Jim Blair. He gets my vote.

stevejordan
10-01-2014, 02:04 PM
Mitchell was a footballer of some quality. He struggled when Miller played himn centre mid though.

Worst ever nominees for me are Andy Watson (softest pro footballer ever, surely?), Peter Welsh, Bobby Flavell, Ally Scott, Miller brothers and everyone signed by Jim Duffy.

Jimmy Boco was a no bad signing by Duffy Vine was not one of Paddys greatest signings but Kuqui was worse.

10-01-2014, 02:07 PM
Jimmy Boco was a no bad signing by Duffy Vine was not one of Paddys greatest signings but Kuqui was worse.

Great guy, great hair, but he wasn't very good.

10-01-2014, 02:17 PM
Jamie McQuilken - mentioned in another post is definitely a contender....Joe Keenan also, right up there with my nightmares about Colin Murdoch

A top 10 is easier than a number 1! :)

OsloHibs
10-01-2014, 02:19 PM
Come on, Vine- no way. Absolutely the worst has to be Zibi. I still have nightmares about him..

10-01-2014, 04:02 PM
I thought he was a bit of a style icon personally

Bald head and a beard is a good look on a man

stevejordan
10-01-2014, 04:09 PM
Great guy, great hair, but he wasn't very good.

Chic Charnley was one of Duffys better signings.

10-01-2014, 04:38 PM
Well well, another 'worst player to play for Hibs' thread. Although he was a fine player before he came to us, I was swinging towards Wilkins who was absolutely dreadful in every game he played for us. I don't agree with people who say Brian Hamilton was underrated, to me he just wasn't very good. Not the worst though. Another name from the past that some of the older posters might remember- Jim Blair. He gets my vote.

jim blair got the jail in america did he not for some sort of drug deal, think it was steriods he was peddling, might be wrong on what type but he did get jailed.also never knew he had died back in 2011 .

10-01-2014, 04:47 PM

Boco was honking, the 3-4 game at ER against the Rangers.

10-01-2014, 05:01 PM

naw the goalie olie gotskallson ,he was mince . never knew he got jailed as well for robbery

Prawn Sandwich
10-01-2014, 05:05 PM
Was Vine The Worst Player Ever To Play For Hibs?

Yes. He certainly had the worst beard worn any any Hibs player.

10-01-2014, 05:09 PM
Crap signing who has been garbage for us but defo wouldn't class him as worst hibs player ever.

leithsansiro
10-01-2014, 05:14 PM

I remember the day I found out we were signing Paul Tosh and Lee Power. As an impressionable young 13 year old, my mate told me that Lee Power was going to be awesome because he was good on Championship Manager. :doh:
Pity he was actually rubbish.

10-01-2014, 05:16 PM
He might become the best player in the Hearts team, if gorgie scamological reasoning works on the SPFL.

10-01-2014, 05:27 PM

:grr::grr::grr::grr:Bull!!!!!!!!! :wink:

jimmyboco1875
10-01-2014, 05:51 PM

Bocos a legend lol

10-01-2014, 05:59 PM
Anybody including Benny Brazil in their list of honking Hibs players obviously wasnt at the 1979 Scottish Cup final where Benny was the man of the match in the first game and never let himself down in the replays either that I can remember.

Not anywhere near the best footballer ever to pull on the famous shirt .......... but a hell of a long way from being the worst either.

davieh
10-01-2014, 06:15 PM
vine - no way near the worst.

but can't believe that AOB is a candidate either...? i think it was as much his fee and pre-igning hype that made him so disappointing. can't remember the match, but he also played one blinder at ER - he was cheesing when subbed with the East singing 'there's only one Alan Obrien...'

10-01-2014, 06:37 PM
while we're on the subject of crap Hibs players, who was that guy that the chairman went over to America to sign? It might have been late 80's, think he was Irish, I don't know if he even scored a goal for us. He wasn't the worst player but he was still crap.

10-01-2014, 06:52 PM
AOB was absolutely rank and how he ever made it on to the park as a professional footballer is a puzzle to me. Even if he had signed on a free transfer he would still have been a dud.
However he is only one of many hams who have managed to find their way into a green and white shirt.
Duncan Lambie is one who comes to mind but my vote for worst goes to Andy Watson.
As a player he was honestly hard working but absolutely rank .
My son still harks back to a day at Celtic park when Andy was working as a " coach", warming up Andy Goram in goals before kick off. If a couple of crosses reached Goram you would be lucky. They were either short, over his head, wide or duffed along the ground.
Absolutely hopeless.

10-01-2014, 06:54 PM
while we're on the subject of crap Hibs players, who was that guy that the chairman went over to America to sign? It might have been late 80's, think he was Irish, I don't know if he even scored a goal for us. He wasn't the worst player but he was still crap.
Mark Caughy, been named on page 1

10-01-2014, 06:56 PM
Come on, Vine- no way. Absolutely the worst has to be Zibi. I still have nightmares about him..

Zibi was murder. Remember when we played Livi at Almondvale (possibly about November 2004) and Livi were leading 1-0 well into the second half. Livi got a corner and Zibi ran with the ball and placed it ready for them to take the corner. They took it quickly while Zibi was running back to our goal. Luckily they didn't score. :greengrin

Fortunately we scored two late goals and won 2-1.

10-01-2014, 06:58 PM

He was in the NI 86 World Cup squad and he was signed at their training camp. Think he was an RUC policeman at the time. Mark Caughey. He went to Hamilton after us and banged in a few goals there.

10-01-2014, 07:30 PM
If not for one game vs Aberdeen O'Hanlon would be up there. Looked lost and seriously lightweight at all times and cost us a barrowload of goals.

10-01-2014, 07:35 PM

I'll never forget the cock-up Gottskalsson made against DU in the cup at Tannadice, not least because it was a game we should have won comfortably. If it's purely the worst goalie we're talking about though, I'd probably go for Brown. Worst goalkeeping coach- easy- Gordon Marshall.

10-01-2014, 07:55 PM
Vine isn't even the worst player at ER at the moment never mind ever. He's contributed much more than Zoubir who just isn't a footballer and yet rarely have I seen or heard a word said against Zouby

HFCLEGENDS
10-01-2014, 10:28 PM
Never

10-01-2014, 10:40 PM
naw the goalie olie gotskallson ,he was mince . never knew he got jailed as well for robbery

What with this post and your earlier one about Jim Blair and drug deals I think you have mixed up the Worst Player Ever to Play For Hibs thread with a Most Criminal Player Ever To Play For Hibs thread that no-one has started yet.

10-01-2014, 10:45 PM
Zibi,peace out