View Full Version : Yams Nailing the "Under 20s" lie

03-01-2014, 02:52 PM
Starting XI last night:

A grand total of 2 Yams are eligible under 20s, both in their first full season:

30 McGhee 17y 5m
12 Paterson 19y 3m

Another one is in his first full season in the first team:

16 McKay 20y 9m

Another 4 were first team squad regulars last year but could be regarded as "youngsters" if you stretch it:

03 McHattie 20y 5m
05 McGowan 22y 4m
20 Tapping 20y 6m
14 Walker 20y 6m

... and 4 are "seasoned":

08 Robinson 21y 9m (debut Apr 2008)
01 MacDonald 27y 8m
02 Hamill 27y 5m
07 Stevenson 29y 4m

Average age: 22y 6m

03-01-2014, 03:02 PM
Starting XI last night:

A grand total of 2 Yams are eligible under 20s, both in their first full season:

30 McGhee 17y 5m
12 Paterson 19y 3m

16 McKay 20y 9m

Another 4 were first team squad regulars last year but could be regarded as "youngsters" if you stretch it:

03 McHattie 20y 5m
05 McGowan 22y 4m
20 Tapping 20y 6m
14 Walker 20y 6m

01 MacDonald 27y 8m
02 Hamill 27y 5m
07 Stevenson 29y 4m

They're not young, they're just awful. Our average age was around that in the Mowbray years, and it did us no harm; if their youth system is appalling then it's their fault alone.

03-01-2014, 03:05 PM
They're not young, they're just awful. Our average age was around that in the Mowbray years, and it did us no harm; if their youth system is appalling then it's their fault alone.

Maybe if they paid their bills at their training camp their squad would be better :cb

03-01-2014, 03:10 PM
I've used this for facebook purposes. :aok:

03-01-2014, 03:14 PM
I've used this for facebook purposes. :aok:

Likewise

03-01-2014, 04:13 PM
Sorry but you must be wrong,their players were all under 19 they keep telling us ????

StevieT
03-01-2014, 04:31 PM
How does this stack up against our starting 11?

03-01-2014, 04:36 PM
Wouldnae matter what age they were, they'd still be just as *****.

03-01-2014, 04:39 PM

I imagine Nelson would imbalance the average. He's 60.

03-01-2014, 04:42 PM
I was under the impression that the only reason these barely out of school wonderkids of theirs aren't already being lined up for mega money transfers to Chelsea/Barcelona/etc. was because the SFA were ruining them. If the big bad SFA would let Hearts sign more experienced players, which of course they should, it's Scottish football as well as these wonderkids careers that are being ruined don't you know, then they'd be the best players on the planet. In the galaxy. In the history of all time.

03-01-2014, 05:01 PM
19 or 29, doesn't matter what age you are. If you're pish you're pish!!! Hammil is 29? and is chronic just like the supposed wonder kids. No one in the media seems to mention Cummings, Forster Stanton etc in our team. Fact is that our youngsters seem to be better than theirs but the hearts PR/Scottish media don't and won't mention that

03-01-2014, 05:18 PM
I really hope that heart's aren't forced to play players from thier under-18 team later in the season.

I'd be dissapointed that both clubs in Edinburgh would have a reputation for ****ing 16 year olds.

leithsansiro
03-01-2014, 05:49 PM
This thread is totally unfair. You can't go around stating that the facts aren't facts. End of! Clearly, some Hibs fans have been on Wikipedia editing dates of birth to try to again get the upper hand and the normal high ground. Everyone knows that Jamie Hamill and Ryan Stevenson both turned 20 last week (they had a joint party at a soft play centre)

Tut, tut.

03-01-2014, 05:57 PM
Sorry but you must be wrong,their players were all under 19 they keep telling us ????

My 8 year old has come back from his mates house today who are jambos. I asked if they mentioned the game, and he said, yeah they said it was against their under 19's. :rolleyes:

Galahibby
03-01-2014, 06:07 PM
Even if they were a team of under 19s (which it's clearly been established they're not!) remind me what age Wayne Rooney was when he was playing for Everton? Or what age our own golden generation were when they made up the majority of our team? They're a bunch of fannies who just need to stop talking! Especially Billy Brown, who has none, bumping his gums about credibillity!

03-01-2014, 06:07 PM

Said last night, their age was 22, ours was 25.

03-01-2014, 06:09 PM
This thread is totally unfair. You can't go around stating that the facts aren't facts. End of! Clearly, some Hibs fans have been on Wikipedia editing dates of birth to try to again get the upper hand and the normal high ground. Everyone knows that Jamie Hamill and Ryan Stevenson both turned 20 last week (they had a joint party at a soft play centre)

Tut, tut.

You joke, but it wouldn't surprise me if the yams like hanging around soft play areas.

03-01-2014, 06:18 PM
My 8 year old has come back from his mates house today who are jambos. I asked if they mentioned the game, and he said, yeah they said it was against their under 19's. :rolleyes:

The age of their plays seems to keep dropping,by the end of the season their average age will be 7!

aljo7-0
03-01-2014, 06:22 PM
This thread is totally unfair. You can't go around stating that the facts aren't facts. End of! Clearly, some Hibs fans have been on Wikipedia editing dates of birth to try to again get the upper hand and the normal high ground. Everyone knows that Jamie Hamill and Ryan Stevenson both turned 20 stone last week (they had a joint party at a soft play centre)

Tut, tut.
Corrected that for you.

03-01-2014, 08:34 PM
Said last night, their age was 22, ours was 25.

So the difference was a mere 3 years factoring in the elderly nature of Nelson.

03-01-2014, 08:38 PM
Well we have gone from "best youngsters in the country who will rise to the challenge and be above us by November" to now greetin and moaning, using youth as an excuse for being utterly *****. The reality is that they are utter ***** end of. Nothing to do with age.

Excuses excuses

03-01-2014, 08:42 PM
So the difference was a mere 3 years factoring in the elderly nature of Nelson.

Did we not win the cup in 2007 with an average age of about 22/23?

03-01-2014, 08:48 PM
Can't believe Hamill is only 27. He must have had loads of flats on his paper round.

SmashinGlass
03-01-2014, 08:53 PM
Did we not win the cup in 2007 with an average age of about 22/23?

Yes. Someone (not sure who) posted a comparison on another thread a wee while back. Our 2007 squad average age was a mere 6 months older than the yams current best youngsters in the history of the universe.

03-01-2014, 09:46 PM
Starting XI last night:

30 McGhee 17y 5m
12 Paterson 19y 3m

16 McKay 20y 9m

03 McHattie 20y 5m
05 McGowan 22y 4m
20 Tapping 20y 6m
14 Walker 20y 6m

01 MacDonald 27y 8m
02 Hamill 27y 5m
07 Stevenson 29y 4m

See the average age of the Hibs side that won the CIS in 2007

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=20691

Makes their 'youngsters' claim look even worse :greengrin

Tinribs
03-01-2014, 09:51 PM
This is one of those topics that i feel too strongly about, i could rant on the bullcrap they say about kids team, under 21, under 20 etc.

Average age 22.6 at the NYD game...i will leave, and not hurt my mental health further by thinking about it.