View Full Version : Question Pies at easter rd

MADE IN LEITH
03-01-2014, 08:57 AM
Had a steak pie at Easter Rd for the first time in 33 years.

It was ok but not as good as the mince pies years ago with the gravy with the silver foil around it.

I also remember the pies at Tanadice...they were brilliant.

Question: Best pies and at what ground past and present?

:cb

AndyB_70
03-01-2014, 09:04 AM
That's easy. Killie pies win hands down. Hibs pies are rank and I'll never buy another one.

03-01-2014, 09:11 AM
The golden age for pies was the 60s. Hibs didn't have good pies unfortunately. Our city rivals won that contest, if little else.

Falkirk had great pies. My pal got one full on the back of the head while standing, foolishly, at the front of the Brockville terrace. He had his good suit on too. I think he was going to a dance that evening and decided, again foolishly, to change early to save time.

03-01-2014, 09:15 AM
That's easy. Killie pies win hands down. Hibs pies are rank and I'll never buy another one.

03-01-2014, 09:42 AM
Killie Pies are class and you can buy them at Aldi in Edinburgh.

MADE IN LEITH
03-01-2014, 10:06 AM

Thats it mate, I'm having one for my Tea tonight! :wink:

Who makes them?

03-01-2014, 10:09 AM
Killie pie and empire biscuit with our badge on it is a must at every visit to Rugby Park.

03-01-2014, 10:58 AM
Thats it mate, I'm having one for my Tea tonight! :wink:

Who makes them?

Local Killie bakery Brownings

03-01-2014, 10:59 AM

steak pie and chips and curry sauce in BTG for £3.50 ... very nice pie, maybe not killie pie quality, but good fitba grub.

03-01-2014, 11:03 AM

It was ok but not as good as the mince pies years ago with the gravy with the silver foil around it.

Killie pies are best, followed by the pars steak bakes. Also both at reasonable prices

03-01-2014, 11:03 AM
steak pie and chips and curry sauce in BTG for £3.50 ... very nice pie, maybe not killie pie quality, but good fitba grub.

Yep noticed BTG pies are better than those on sale in the concourse.

03-01-2014, 11:06 AM
I think our Steak Pies are decent

03-01-2014, 11:07 AM
The pies are fine - but they ran out yesterday before half time in the west lower.

southfieldhibby
03-01-2014, 11:09 AM
There's a bit of a myth growing round the killie pie imo...a decent enough pastry product, but nothing compared to the magnificent Dunfie flaky steak bridie, the emperor of football edibles.

03-01-2014, 11:17 AM

They were probably the most unhealthy food items I've ever had, grease would pour down your chin and fingers, but they were delicious. :greengrin

A few pints in the, still independent, Clep before the game and a pie(s) at halftime meant that the trip to Tannadice was always a treat, regardless of the result (usually a gubbing!)

03-01-2014, 11:17 AM

Funnily enough the Aldi's Killie pie has never impressed me nearly as much as the real Killie pie which is dished up at Rugby Park!

03-01-2014, 11:24 AM
Funnily enough the Aldi's Killie pie has never impressed me nearly as much as the real Killie pie which is dished up at Rugby Park!

That's because you can never reproduce the experience of eating a pie at the game in your hoose.

03-01-2014, 03:40 PM
The pies up in Dingwall were quite good.

03-01-2014, 03:41 PM
You can get a chicken and haggis pie from Aldi, made by Brownings who make the Killie Pie. Outstanding!

:yum yum:

03-01-2014, 03:43 PM
Best? Not sure.

worst? Hampden, easily. Terrible.

tartanhibee
03-01-2014, 03:44 PM
Dingwall is a good shout I had a haggis pie there it was very tasty.

03-01-2014, 03:44 PM
The haggis pies at Ross County are the business

03-01-2014, 03:49 PM
I had a brilliant steak pie and chips before the Charlton/Spurs match at Selhurst Park in about 1989. It was during the time Charlton were sharing the ground. Spurs fans were getting seriously wired in (to the pies!) and they came with wee plastic forks.

03-01-2014, 03:53 PM
I scoffed 5 mince pies at one game at Easter Road about 1971.

Is that a record?

03-01-2014, 03:57 PM
That's because you can never reproduce the experience of eating a pie at the game in your hoose.

It's the same with bovril.

sbell1875
03-01-2014, 05:42 PM

Ross County. I got a steak pie and a haggis pie last week and both were excellent, especially the haggis one. It had mashed tattie and turnip on top of the haggis. Honestly, it gave me a mouthgasm.

kaisersmith
03-01-2014, 05:50 PM

Is that a record?

I can match that!! Hamden semi can't remember who it was against but had been drinking a lot all day without eating. Spewed my ringer on way to the game and comforted myself with 5 pies :)

03-01-2014, 05:56 PM

Is that a record?

not even near; all the kids, me included, who worked in catering in those days ate multiple pies before, during and after the game, and could take a few home to our mums as well.

mixumatosis
03-01-2014, 06:17 PM
There's a bit of a myth growing round the killie pie imo...a decent enough pastry product, but nothing compared to the magnificent Dunfie flaky steak bridie, the emperor of football edibles.

They are flaky, steaky perfection. I want 2, immediately.

03-01-2014, 06:37 PM
Ross county and Inverness pies are the biz. Killie not bad but I've found the quality has gotten worse as popularity has grown.

03-01-2014, 06:44 PM
not even near; all the kids, me included, who worked in catering in those days ate multiple pies before, during and after the game, and could take a few home to our mums as well.

Ah but mine was 5 pies in about 20 minutes. Not over a weekend. :na na:

03-01-2014, 06:46 PM
Killie pies are best, followed by the pars steak bakes. Also both at reasonable prices

100% what he said..........

03-01-2014, 06:49 PM
The Pukka pies they sell in a lot of the grounds down south are quality pies.

Our pies and the food in general is rank rotten.

MADE IN LEITH
03-01-2014, 07:31 PM

Nice one Scouse Hibee, never made it to the shop today but will defo get them tomorrow

MADE IN LEITH
03-01-2014, 07:34 PM

They were probably the most unhealthy food items I've ever had, grease would pour down your chin and fingers, but they were delicious. :greengrin

A few pints in the, still independent, Clep before the game and a pie(s) at halftime meant that the trip to Tannadice was always a treat, regardless of the result (usually a gubbing!)

Nice one, your right very greasy but extremely delicious:agree:

03-01-2014, 07:36 PM

Well, going by the picture of you in your avatar, it's certainly done you no harm.

MADE IN LEITH
03-01-2014, 07:47 PM

Is that a record?

LOL 5 mince pies!

You must have been hungry mate.

Hope we won the game that day?