View Full Version : Tamsons Bar
02-01-2014, 06:34 PM
I have just left Tamsons Bar disgusted that they are playing pro IRA songs, encouraging people to join in.
WTF is this all about?
02-01-2014, 06:39 PM
Did people join in?
Don-hibee
02-01-2014, 06:43 PM
Would have never have happened in Willie Murray's days when he was the resident DJ Hibs daft he is.
02-01-2014, 07:47 PM
I thought that sort of nonsense died out in the 70s.
02-01-2014, 08:18 PM
Diving hearts twat
Jonny1875
02-01-2014, 09:00 PM
Many Irish songs are confused with pro-ira songs, not saying your wrong and ive no idea what this bar is like, reputation wise etc but what songs were played? Never experienced any pro-ira songs, chants etc at Easter road or in bars etc on it
02-01-2014, 10:58 PM
Did people join in?No most people were leaving and when the bar staff were asked about it the answer was , :it's on the play list:
Many Irish songs are confused with pro-ira songs, not saying your wrong and ive no idea what this bar is like, reputation wise etc but what songs were played? Never experienced any pro IRA songs, chants etc at Easter road or in bars etc on it Does it really matter? The song's played were glorifying the IRA in a pub full of Hibs supporters before a derby game, It is brutal no place for this in our support.
02-01-2014, 11:00 PM
No most people were leaving and when the bar staff were asked about it the answer was , :it's on the play list:
Does it really matter? the song's played were glorifying the IRA in a pub full of Hibs supporters before a derby game, It is brutal no place for this in our support.
Coodnae wait till tomorrow?
What a ***** thread. You dinnae even know what songs they were supposedly singing.
As a said, ***** thread.
02-01-2014, 11:07 PM
Coodnae wait till tomorrow?
What a ***** thread. You dinnae even know what songs they were supposedly singing.
As a said, ***** thread.
Why wait till tomorrow, :confused: is there any need for any pub to play pro IRA song's before a Hibs game, irrespective of the opposition :rolleyes:
02-01-2014, 11:10 PM
Why wait till tomorrow, :confused: is there any need for any pub to play pro IRA song's before a Hibs game, irrespective of the opposition :rolleyes:
Positivity. About Hibernian.
Thats the order of play tonight surely! BY god we've waited long enough.... good performance and good win... but you concentrate on a boozer full of pissheads, AND you dinnae even ken what was supposedly being sung.
Its a ***** thread H18sry. Just delete if frae the main board eh?
02-01-2014, 11:14 PM
Positivity. About Hibernian.
Thats the order of play tonight surely! BY god we've waited long enough.... good performance and good win... but you concentrate on a boozer full of pissheads, AND you dinnae even ken what was supposedly being sung.
Its a ***** thread H18sry. Just delete if frae the main board eh?
EH NO the thread was started before our win. And just because we have had a win we should wipe out the fact that a pub frequented by .net users play pro IRA song's and will not stop playing them when requested, we should just ignore the fact.
02-01-2014, 11:15 PM
Pro IRA? Behave yourself. Not every Irish folk song is pro-IRA.
Hibby D
02-01-2014, 11:18 PM
EH NO the thread was started before our win. And just because we have had a win we should wipe out the fact that a pub frequented by .net users play pro IRA song's and will not stop playing them when requested, we should just ignore the fact.
Of course we shouldn't ignore it. But move the thread to the Holy Ground Ronnie. This isn't the forum for it.
02-01-2014, 11:18 PM
Ach wallow in yer mud man.
Negative thread mate.... never mind, something will offend you tomorrow. Cant wait:aok:
Great result. Well played Hibernian. Well done fans.
am oot! Only positive thread about the famous greenjerseys for me tonight.
02-01-2014, 11:19 PM
Pro IRA? Behave yourself. Not every Irish folk song is pro-IRA.
Oh right so song's that mention joining the IRA are acceptable pre game music at Easter road.
02-01-2014, 11:20 PM
**** off. We are still in tamsons and the juke box hasnt been that bad
02-01-2014, 11:21 PM
Of course we shouldn't ignore it. But move the thread to the Holy Ground Ronnie. This isn't the forum for it.
Why not ? move it and hide it all you want but it still happened. if we had lost today would it have made a difference?
02-01-2014, 11:22 PM
went in to tamsons after the game for the first time in over a decade to meet a few auld mates but came back out 20 mins later after failing to secure a pint :( place was absolutely packed tae the rafters, they really should have had someone on the door, obviously not very safety conscious :greengrin
Too many bloody Irish!
very old hibby
02-01-2014, 11:23 PM
take it nothing was stopping you leaving the pub and going else where
02-01-2014, 11:25 PM
Too many bloody Irish!
02-01-2014, 11:28 PM
I have just left Tamsons Bar disgusted that they are playing pro IRA songs, encouraging people to join in.
WTF is this all about?
Irish folk songs were being played nae body was promoting the IRA and you sound like the tube who pulled up my misses who doesn't work there and was only collecting glasses.
Oh right so song's that mention joining the IRA are acceptable pre game music at Easter road.
Probably not mate. But who gives a ****** really.
02-01-2014, 11:31 PM
Was in Thamsons till 11pm, can't remember one "pro IRA song" are you just peeved you couldn't get to the bar ?! Twas busy..
vahibbie
02-01-2014, 11:33 PM
Why not ? move it and hide it all you want but it still happened. if we had lost today would it have made a difference?
So what.
Not pro IRA, never have been, never will be. As has been said not all I fish folk songs are IRA but if truth be told even those that are.....no bad tunes.
I really fail to understand why you would even bring this up on a night like tonight.
We finally beat the cheating ****s, played them off the park. Should be the talking point, no this p!sh
Johnny Clash
02-01-2014, 11:37 PM
A few pubs around Easter Road have Irish folk songs on the duke box. We're a football club with an Irish history so no need to get knickers in a twist. If they were playing Mumford & Sons all night then I'd probably leave.
If people don't like the tunes then there's no shortage of alternative boozers within a two minute walk.
Hibby D
02-01-2014, 11:44 PM
I'm not sure what the result has got to do with anything :dunno:
What I'm trying to say is that the main board is for fitba chat; not a debate about a jukebox playing Ira/Irish folk songs. (You can't name these songs so we only have your word that they're pro IRA).
There's plenty space in the Holy Ground to debate the rights and wrongs of whatever it was you heard. Please God an Admin comes along soon and moves it.
03-01-2014, 12:15 AM
The only song that came on the jukebox tonight that might be considered "Deedly-Dee" music was The Wolf Tones "We're on the one road"
Kinda ironic really..
03-01-2014, 04:14 AM
Still no song named??
03-01-2014, 07:46 AM
Still no song named??
No song has been named because I do not know the name of it, but when you have lyrics about picking up your weapons and joining the IRA, I know it's unacceptable.
Jonny1875
03-01-2014, 08:46 AM
One Wolfe Tones song in a bar before a derby against **** who say a lot and do a lot worse doesnt really matter in my opinion.
03-01-2014, 10:55 AM
Still no song named??
It really would be helpful if the playlist was known. I've known people that consider Whisky in the Jar a rebel song.
Not saying the pub should be stopped from playing what music it wants, but I wouldn't go into one playing rebel songs.
03-01-2014, 10:58 AM
One Wolfe Tones song in a bar before a derby against **** who say a lot and do a lot worse doesnt really matter in my opinion.
They started it, eh?
speedy_gonzales
03-01-2014, 10:59 AM
I've never been one to let songs or dittys bother me,,, ignorant to most of it I probably couldn't tell you the difference between "The boys of the old brigade" and " The sash my father wore" but even I had to have a wee chuckle to myself as I passed the Hibs club last night, there was a brief shout of "ooh, ah, up the RA!",,,,,almost felt embarrassed for the young lad as the crowd around him turned and just stared with a "WTF?" look on their faces!
There was a fair bit of high spirits last night so I think the young lad could be forgiven for getting caught up in the moment!
Edit-just to be clear, this happened near the bus stop on ER, just outside Sunnyside, not in the Hibs club itself!
03-01-2014, 12:10 PM
It may have been the Merry Ploughboy by the Wolftones. :dunno:
03-01-2014, 12:27 PM
The only song that came on the jukebox tonight that might be considered "Deedly-Dee" music was The Wolf Tones "We're on the one road"
Kinda ironic really..
03-01-2014, 02:25 PM
FFS, wetting knickers over We're on the one road being played on a juke box, it even mentions our manager in the lyrics :)
03-01-2014, 02:47 PM
I didnae have a clue what the tune was but thoroughly enjoyed myself post match in Tamsons last night, place was bouncing.
WTF is this all about?
Can you name this pro IRA tune that disgusted you?
03-01-2014, 05:12 PM
Can you name this pro IRA tune that disgusted you?
Perhaps read the thread, as your question has already been answered.
I think far too many of you are giving Hi8sry an unnecessary harsh time of it here. I couldn't name most of the IRA/PIRA songs that the Tims sing on a weekly basis but my hearing works well enough to identify Pro-IRA lyrics. The converse of that is also true for The Rangers and their pro-UVF, loyalist songs. I recognise lyrics and tunes but I don't necessarily know what they're called.
I'd concur that Irish folk music does not equate to Pro-IRA music by default but when the lyrics are explicit...
03-01-2014, 06:51 PM
I think far too many of you are giving Hi8sry an unnecessary harsh time of it here. I couldn't name most of the IRA/PIRA songs that the Tims sing on a weekly basis but my hearing works well enough to identify Pro-IRA lyrics. The converse of that is also true for The Rangers and their pro-UVF, loyalist songs. I recognise lyrics and tunes but I don't necessarily know what they're called.
I'd concur that Irish folk music does not equate to Pro-IRA music by default but when the lyrics are explicit...
:top marks As someone who attended the Kirk, married a Catholic and comes from a family background of Catholic Irish immigrants and English COE miners fae Durham, I find it easiest and proper to take offence at both. What place either has in 2014, in Scotland, at the fitbaw is beyond me tbh.
03-01-2014, 07:57 PM
I didnae have a clue what the tune was but thoroughly enjoyed myself post match in Tamsons last night, place was bouncing.
Thanks for moving your seat last night:aok:
03-01-2014, 08:08 PM
As a regular in Tamsons before and after matches, the boozer is a cracking wee pub with fans of many clubs in regularly, not only match days. Celtic, The Rangers, Hearts, and of course ourselves.
I was in last night pre and post match and heard a tune which was commented on in our company about "not hearing that in here before", IRA references etc
I didn't know what the song was but think it might have been The boys of the old Brigade by the Wolfe Tones. It was played once before the game and I didn't hear it after, although it might have been, I was too busy singing Hibs songs. I also remember singing along to Dirty old town which is a regular player from the Jukey.
Got to say that we had a great time before and after the game and then a taxi home. Busiest it's been in there for a while.
03-01-2014, 08:52 PM
The wee laddie sitting under the telly on the wa' opposite the bar was the star of the show! :-)
03-01-2014, 09:08 PM
The wee laddie sitting under the telly on the wa' opposite the bar was the star of the show! :-)
My Grandson:aok::flag:
03-01-2014, 09:10 PM
Best singer in the pub!
04-01-2014, 10:43 AM
The song was the boys from the old brigade, it was played a couple of times before the match and again at least once after the match. I too was a bit dismayed about it and commented about it to a regular poster on here.
I did not see anyone encouraging people to sing it though, and it was on the jukebox.
Perhaps just the one person putting it on a few times? :confused:
Hibby_Paul
04-01-2014, 10:58 AM
The song was the boys from the old brigade, it was played a couple of times before the match and again at least once after the match. I too was a bit dismayed about it and commented about it to a regular poster on here.
I did not see anyone encouraging people to sing it though, and it was on the jukebox.
Perhaps just the one person putting it on a few times? :confused:
Think you are right mate, it's been on a bit after home games. As far as I know there are 1 or 2 regulars who stick it on most weeks. Dont think they are hibs fans prob some pretend celtic fans! As its just a public jukebox not much can do, well other than take it of the selection! Don't think Stewart who runs pub has a playlist set up anyway and songs determined by punters...
04-01-2014, 02:09 PM
I wont support or sing any IRA songs, its you that needs to bolt not H18sry. :rolleyes:
06-01-2014, 08:09 AM
Think you are right mate, it's been on a bit after home games. As far as I know there are 1 or 2 regulars who stick it on most weeks. Dont think they are hibs fans prob some pretend celtic fans! As its just a public jukebox not much can do, well other than take it of the selection! Don't think Stewart who runs pub has a playlist set up anyway and songs determined by punters...
Defiantly Hibs fans putting the tunes on. it's my local and i would be surprised if there was ever any more that 1 or 2 non Hibs supporters in after a game.
Personally have no problem with it.
I did read the thread and didn't see his answer. I don't see where I am giving him a hard time either. I was asking what the tune was as I am surprised that Tamsons would banging out pro IRA tunes. Not an unfair questions far as I reckon.
08-01-2014, 02:23 PM
I did read the thread and didn't see his answer. I don't see where I am giving him a hard time either. I was asking what the tune was as I am surprised that Tamsons would banging out pro IRA tunes. Not an unfair questions far as I reckon.
Post #31 at the top of this page - it's pretty clear but if you missed it, fair enough.
My second point about giving him a hard time was more generic and not aimed at you specifically lEXO. My apologies if that wasn't clear.
HKhibby
08-01-2014, 04:25 PM
WTF is this all about?
If that is the case, whats that all about?, leave that to the **** from Glasgow!...thats their usual thing...although half of them wouldnt even know what IRA means!, anyway if this is true these so called Hibs fans should be rooted out and made to feel unwanted at Hibs because that is not the Hibs way...they have never considered themselves to be an Irish Club like the Glasgow lot do...Hibs are a Scottish club that were started by Irishmen!
08-01-2014, 11:34 PM
If that is the case, whats that all about?, leave that to the **** from Glasgow!...thats their usual thing...although half of them wouldnt even know what IRA means!, anyway if this is true these so called Hibs fans should be rooted out and made to feel unwanted at Hibs because that is not the Hibs way...they have never considered themselves to be an Irish Club like the Glasgow lot do...Hibs are a Scottish club that were started by Irishmen!
Have you discussed it with the ex-pats in the colony yet? You remind me of the ex-pat on Auf Weidersehen Pet in Spain when the boys went skinny dipping in the swimming pool.
09-01-2014, 06:53 AM
As always, your insightful and sensitive posts, bring the balance and diplomacy that we in Scotland lack. How we could do with more of your sort in this country today. Will you come back once Salmond sells out to China?
09-01-2014, 12:24 PM
As always, your insightful and sensitive posts, bring the balance and diplomacy that we in Scotland lack. How we could do with more of your sort in this country today. Will you come back once Salmond sells out to China?
What part of his post do you have a problem with? Not having a go just interested as two posters in a row have had a go at something I would have thought most people would agree with.
09-01-2014, 06:27 PM
Before the 2013 cup final we were booked into a boozer not far from Celtic Park. I cant remember its name, but it was obviously a pub used before home games by celtic fans .... There was about 60 of us and we were outnumbered at least 5 to 1.
Anyway .... we had a wee annex to ourselves and the rest of the boozer was celtic. All you could hear from a couple of massive speakers on the wee dance floor was pro IRA stuff and misty eyed 'dear old Oirland' stuff. It wasnt like being in Scotland at all for about 3 hours and it gave me the boak !!!
I hope that no boozer recognized as a Hibs pub ever goes down that road .. lets leave that stuff to our west coast cousins.
As I've said many times. Proud of our Irish roots ... proud to be a Scottish football club.
09-01-2014, 11:01 PM
Yeah it's all old crap that Irish rebel stuff.
Rooting people out and making them feel unwanted most certainly isn't the Hibs way. There are plenty "so called" Hibs fans who are Irish republicans and plenty others, including myself, who can understand both sides of the argument and are therefore immune to the offence that these songs thrust upon others.
Celtic have never considered themselves an Irish club. Like ourselves, they have always considered themselves a Scottish club with an Irish history and heritage. I see absolutely nothing wrong with that at all and if scots of Irish descent want to fly a tricolour then good on them. If a Scottish sporting team of Asian origin chose to fly certain flags at certain events would anybody object to that? It would probably be applauded as it provided evidence of multi-culturalism. If there was a rival sporting institution that waved union flags I'm their faces I'm sure they would be defended to the hilt by a lot more people, especially on this board.
Anyway, I think the beauty of this club is that as a support, we have all accepted each other and united under the one banner even though there are fierce unionists and republicans within our ranks. A club unlike no other in Scotland...true inclusion.
Forget all these Americans, maybe those who are looking for solutions should look at the Hibees and the way we have evolved as a support over the last forty years.
10-01-2014, 10:10 AM
What part of his post do you have a problem with? Not having a go just interested as two posters in a row have had a go at something I would have thought most people would agree with.
I think the whole sectarian issue needs some diplomacy. If some Hibs fans want to listen to rebel songs, and don't bring it to the ground, I think it's their business.
We need to move on from seeing the Republicans as the enemy within. I don't agree with everything they say, but see no benefit in describing them as ****, and such like.
10-01-2014, 11:33 AM
I think the whole sectarian issue needs some diplomacy. If some Hibs fans want to listen to rebel songs, and don't bring it to the ground, I think it's their business.
We need to move on from seeing the Republicans as the enemy within. I don't agree with everything they say, but see no benefit in describing them as ****, and such like.
If that's the case should they not listen to them in private and not subject the rest of us to them in a public house?
10-01-2014, 12:25 PM
If that's the case should they not listen to them in private and not subject the rest of us to them in a public house?
It is a Public House though. I could see your point if it was your house.
10-01-2014, 12:43 PM
It is a Public House though. I could see your point if it was your house.
Under the 2006 Terrorism Act, the glorification of terrorist organisations, such as the IRA, in public is against the law.
10-01-2014, 01:11 PM
No, if the pub is happy, then people who dont like it can leave. You'll be setting rules about what beer the pub can sell next.
Tolerance, each to their own and all that. Nobody stops the Tartan Army singing some of the stuff they do about the English, though most of us find it embaeassing.
10-01-2014, 01:13 PM
Under the 2006 Terrorism Act, the glorification of terrorist organisations, such as the IRA, in public is against the law.
Yeah, but the law is an ass at times.
10-01-2014, 01:18 PM
Yeah, but the law is an ass at times.
Perhaps it is (particularly when it comes to the Offensive Behaviour and Sectarian laws, which are vague in the extreme) but that doesn't mean it can be flaunted if and when we disagree with it.
10-01-2014, 01:46 PM
Perhaps it is (particularly when it comes to the Offensive Behaviour and Sectarian laws, which are vague in the extreme) but that doesn't mean it can be flaunted if and when we disagree with it.
Could make life hard for publicans, Where would it all end?
10-01-2014, 02:07 PM
Could make life hard for publicans, Where would it all end?
I can't quite get the logic of this FR. Plenty of laws make life difficult for a vast array of individuals/businesses but you adapt or face the potential ramifications of not.
Perhaps the solution is getting rid of the jukebox (which is increasingly a relic of a bygone era in pubs) or ensuring such stuff isn't on the playlist when you order/load it up.
10-01-2014, 02:21 PM
No, if the pub is happy, then people who dont like it can leave. You'll be setting rules about what beer the pub can sell next.
Tolerance, each to their own and all that. Nobody stops the Tartan Army singing some of the stuff they do about the English, though most of us find it embaeassing.
What has that got to do with playing song's glorifying murder?
10-01-2014, 02:37 PM
What has that got to do with playing song's glorifying murder?
I don't think the Boys of the Old Brigade glorifies murder. :confused:
10-01-2014, 02:58 PM
I can't quite get the logic of this FR. Plenty of laws make life difficult for a vast array of individuals/businesses but you adapt or face the potential ramifications of not.
Perhaps the solution is getting rid of the jukebox (which is increasingly a relic of a bygone era in pubs) or ensuring such stuff isn't on the playlist when you order/load it up.
I'm really thinking about how realistic it is to try and control how people express themselves. You also have the issue of how others interpret it. You could just get to the stage where songs are banned in pubs.
I think people should be given the choice what they listen to.
[QUOTE=H18sry;3865921]What has that got to do with playing song's glorifying murder?[/]
This is PC gone mad!
One mans terrorist is another's freedom fighter. This is getting into classic flag debate territory.
If you sing a song about William Wallace, you are doing the same thing as singing about the IRA. It all depends on your perspective on a conflict.
It's about seeing others point of view, respecting their right to feel what they feel, and trying to get on with each other.
Personally, I think any song that glorifies war or conflict is wrong.
10-01-2014, 03:04 PM
'on the one road' is a superb wolfetones folk song, also features a line dedicated to our present manager and one of best ever strikers
Butcher, baker
:whistle:
10-01-2014, 03:34 PM
I'm really thinking about how realistic it is to try and control how people express themselves. You also have the issue of how others interpret it. You could just get to the stage where songs are banned in pubs.
I think people should be given the choice what they listen to.
I don't disagree with your last sentence in all honesty FR but when particular songs are outlawed, the lines become quite clear.
There is a blurring of morality I guess and I agree, I don't like being told what I should and should not listen to - For example, I find it quite odd that the BBC, HMV etc have all decided I should not be listening to the Lostprophets anymore because their singer is a convicted paedophile and sex offender - whether I want to or not is very much my business and I won't let anyone's moral high ground dictate that decision to me, but when we go beyond that into territory where songs are prohibited in written law, it becomes quite black and white IMO.
Music in pubs is a dying artform anyway and I'd be quite happy if any music was a playlist/background CD/licensed audio like you find in most retail establishments. The jukebox is gradually fading out of pubs as people no longer go to pubs to listen to music as a going concern.
10-01-2014, 03:35 PM
Is this thread still going on? Having been present in the pub that evening its got to be said that it wasn't as if the whole pub or anything like that was singing the song, its not particularly my cup of tea, but, if anyone is THAT bothered contact the landlord and ask for the offending CD to be removed.
10-01-2014, 03:58 PM
Is this thread still going on? Having been present in the pub that evening its got to be said that it wasn't as if the whole pub or anything like that was singing the song, its not particularly my cup of tea, but, if anyone is THAT bothered contact the landlord and ask for the offending CD to be removed.
It seems that one person has taken offence at a song and has determined that the pub should change its playlist so that they can have a drink without being offended.
Fair enough, it appears that it could be breaking a law, and that is probably a good enough reason for them not to play it. That said, I feel it's a stupid law, and appears to operate as a tool for the permanently angry to get uptight.
It seems that because a few people think that folk songs are a dangerous weapon, we are being prevented from discussing the sentiments of the songs, and engaging in reasoned debate about the past.
I find the Tartan Army a cringeworthy embarrassment to Scotland and its history, but I would defend their right to be wrong. That's what living in a society should be about.
Not in this country, where people can start a fight about whether plain bead is better than pan. It's a race to the bottom, with the worst informed, the most petty and the least tolerant calling the shots.
I enjoy going to folk pubs. Occasionally someone will sing a song that is anti English. The English people in the pub tend to appreciate its a comment on history. They have the sense to see that we aren't about to take daggers out of our guitars and murder them all.
The biggest irony in all this is that we don't even know what song was played.
10-01-2014, 04:23 PM
It seems that one person has taken offence at a song and has determined that the pub should change its playlist so that they can have a drink without being offended.
Fair enough, it appears that it could be breaking a law, and that is probably a good enough reason for them not to play it. That said, I feel it's a stupid law, and appears to operate as a tool for the permanently angry to get uptight.
It seems that because a few people think that folk songs are a dangerous weapon, we are being prevented from discussing the sentiments of the songs, and engaging in reasoned debate about the past.
I find the Tartan Army a cringeworthy embarrassment to Scotland and its history, but I would defend their right to be wrong. That's what living in a society should be about.
Not in this country, where people can start a fight about whether plain bead is better than pan. It's a race to the bottom, with the worst informed, the most petty and the least tolerant calling the shots.
I enjoy going to folk pubs. Occasionally someone will sing a song that is anti English. The English people in the pub tend to appreciate its a comment on history. They have the sense to see that we aren't about to take daggers out of our guitars and murder them all.
The biggest irony in all this is that we don't even know what song was played.
Not true on 2 counts, its definitely the boys from the old brigade, and i was with 2 others who thought it was out of order. We said so at the time and i also commented on this thread. Others may also think it was not right, but dont have access to Hibs.net or may indeed not want to add flames to the fire?
My personal opinion is its just plain wrong to have music like this on ANY jukebox, and i'd like it removed from that pubs playlist.
Until it is i wont be back there, giving them anymore of my hard earned.
10-01-2014, 04:23 PM
Oh no! I was in the pub that night and see myself as a TA member, I'm doomed FR, doomed! :-)
10-01-2014, 04:25 PM
Not true on 2 counts, its definitely the boys from the old brigade, and i was with 2 others who thought it was out of order. We said so at the time and i also commented on this thread. Others may also think it was not right, but dont have access to Hibs.net or may indeed not want to add flames to the fire?
My personal opinion is its just plain wrong to have music like this on ANY jukebox, and i'd like it removed from that pubs playlist.
I've heard tunes you've played in there that are much more offensive! ;-)
Maybe just to ones ears though!
10-01-2014, 04:27 PM
I've heard tunes you've played in there that are much more offensive! ;-)
Maybe just to ones ears though!
Aye but your dad liked them. :greengrin
10-01-2014, 04:38 PM
Aye but your dad liked them. :greengrin
He'll listen to any old pish though! :-)
10-01-2014, 04:47 PM
He'll listen to any old pish though! :-)
Well he does go around with you a fair bit. :wink:
Sorry i couldn't get over and have a word the other night, we spent all night in the back room.
It was just too busy to move and get anywhere near where you were sitting matey. :aok:
10-01-2014, 04:49 PM
Well he does go around with you a fair bit. :wink:
Sorry i couldn't get over and have a word the other night, we spent all night in the back room.
It was just too busy to move and get anywhere near where you were sitting matey. :aok:
Nae bother, I was too busy singing to notice! :-o
10-01-2014, 05:14 PM
I would have left the pub, but dont agree with censorship. I think banning such songs is far more dangerous than people singing it.
Oh no! I was in the pub that night and see myself as a TA member, I'm doomed FR, doomed! :-)
Well I admire your honesty. :greengrin
10-01-2014, 07:46 PM
Nae dodgy tunes as of 2045, terribly disappointed! Karaoke due to start at FT, so, that'll change!
Jonny1875
10-01-2014, 10:19 PM
Yeah it's all old crap that Irish rebel stuff.
How is the fact that Britain occupied Ireland for their own gain while millions suffered and brave men and women stood up to the mighty British empire "old crap"
10-01-2014, 10:24 PM
How is the fact that Britain occupied Ireland for their own gain while millions suffered and brave men and women stood up to the mighty British empire "old crap"
:duck:
11-01-2014, 11:35 AM
Time to get the popcorn and reclining chair out, this should be fun! :tee hee:
11-01-2014, 11:45 AM
I can see that writing, recording or performing said song(s) might be seen as glorification of a proscribed organisation, but does playing or owning such a recording fall into the same category?
11-01-2014, 12:49 PM
I can see that writing, recording or performing said song(s) might be seen as glorification of a proscribed organisation, but does playing or owning such a recording fall into the same category?
What about thinking about the lyrics, or repeating them to someone else?
Oh, father why are you so sad
On this bright Easter morn’
When Irish men are proud and glad
Of the land that they were born?
Oh, son, I see in mem’ries few
Of far off distant days
When being just a lad like you
I joined the IRA.
Where are the lads that stood with me
When history was made?
A Ghra Mo Chroi, I long to see
The boys of the old brigade.
From hills and farms a call to arms
Was heard by one and all.
And from the glen came brave young men
To answer Ireland’s call.
‘T wasn’t long ago we faced a foe,
The old brigade and me,
And by my side they fought and died
That Ireland might be free.
When history was made?
And now, my boy, I’ve told you why
On Easter morn’ I sigh,
For I recall my comrades all
And dark old days gone by.
I think of men who fought in glen
With rifle and grenade.
May heaven keep the men who sleep
From the ranks of the old brigade.
When history was made?
What a load if sentimental crap, bring tears to a plastic paddys eye, so it would. Remarkably similar to this bit of Scottish cheddar.
Flower of Scotland
O flower of Scotland,
When will we see, your like again,
That fought and died for,
Your wee bit hill, and glen,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,
And sent him homeward, Tae think again.
Those hills are bare now,
And Autumn leaves, lie thick and still,
For land that is lost now,
But oh so dearly held,
We stood against him,
Proud Edward’s army,
Those days are passed now,
And in the past they must remain,
But we can still rise now,
And be the nation again,
That stood against him,
Proud Edward's army,
And sent him homeward, Tae think again.,
Those hills are bare now,
And Autumn leaves, lie thick and still,
For land that is lost now,
But oh so dearly held,…. .
O flower of Scotland,
When will we see, your like again,
That fought and died for,
Your wee bit hill, and glen,
And stood against them,
Proud Edward's army,
Jonny1875
11-01-2014, 02:39 PM
It just annoys me when people make ridiculous statements like that fella did, im sure many on this forum wouldnt like it if I called the whole Scottish independence vote/idea "old crap"
11-01-2014, 03:15 PM
It just annoys me when people make ridiculous statements like that fella did, im sure many on this forum wouldnt like it if I called the whole Scottish independence vote/idea "old crap"
It's new crap. The Wolfe Tones sing about old crap.
hibsway
11-01-2014, 10:23 PM
the song is about the 1916 uprising in which a prominent hibby was executed for his part in which led to the formation of the republic of Ireland.if someone in the pub is irish or even likes the song I don't see why it should be deemed offensive hibsry.think you've got this one wrong ronnie
12-01-2014, 10:40 AM
the song is about the 1916 uprising in which a prominent hibby was executed for his part in which led to the formation of the republic of Ireland.if someone in the pub is irish or even likes the song I don't see why it should be deemed offensive hibsry.think you've got this one wrong ronnie
All about opinion's :wink:
12-01-2014, 04:38 PM
Live and let live. If you don't like the tunes being played in any particular pub then go to another one. I don't like the songs they sing in church (the message they contain not the tunes, some of them are quite catchy) so I don't frequent the church. Easy really!