View Full Version : Greggs Hibernian January Transfer Window thread

Humo
30-12-2013, 06:34 PM
Place to post all Hibs related ins and outs.

Please keep it to just hibs cheers

30-12-2013, 06:44 PM
"Oh no it's not!" ;)

30-12-2013, 06:46 PM
"Oh no it's not!" ;)
It's pantomime season Oh yes it is

30-12-2013, 06:50 PM
Do we not have a Gregg's Winter transfer thread up and running?

30-12-2013, 06:51 PM

"Oh no we've not!"

green glory
30-12-2013, 06:52 PM
If Petrie's willing to fork out 150k there's a bright young prospect at Wolves...

I'll get my coat shall I?

Humo
30-12-2013, 06:52 PM

Yeah buts its too much effort searching that thread for Hibs related stuff

30-12-2013, 06:59 PM
Yeah buts its too much effort searching that thread for Hibs related stuff

Not too much effort. There's not that much tbh.

30-12-2013, 07:00 PM
"Oh no we've not!"
He's behind you

30-12-2013, 07:08 PM
If Petrie's willing to fork out 150k there's a bright young prospect at Wolves...

That's ssooooo last year

cloudy
30-12-2013, 07:22 PM
I'm a big KT Fan but it looks like butcher has told him he won't feature in his plans, makes me wonder could we use him as bait for a good striker or a creative player like Dean shiels

30-12-2013, 07:25 PM
My bro-in-law tells me a deal for Boyd is 100% done. Time will tell.

hibseleven
30-12-2013, 07:27 PM
I'd be dismayed if we couldnt find a place in the squad for Thomson. There are players we should move on before him. In my opinion that is.

30-12-2013, 07:35 PM

would welcome him,could hit the target with his eyes closed but he doesn't have any pace which is what butcher likes in a player,would like to see shinnie in for a right back

30-12-2013, 07:41 PM

If it's 100%, then hopefully he's place for Thursday!

30-12-2013, 07:42 PM
That's ssooooo last year

In fact, it was this year that that didn't happen. :nerd:

30-12-2013, 07:50 PM

Matt Doherty? Not for me, nae respect and only worth £1.50.

30-12-2013, 07:53 PM
would welcome him,could hit the target with his eyes closed but he doesn't have any pace which is what butcher likes in a player,would like to see shinnie in for a right back

Shinnie is a left sided player currently at RB in an emergency. He's a good player but I wouldn't want to see him at RB.

30-12-2013, 08:03 PM

Is your Bro in law Kris Boyd??

30-12-2013, 08:40 PM

Without trying to sound like a bell, who is your brother-in-law? Is he a legitimate source?

30-12-2013, 08:43 PM
Without trying to sound like a bell, who is your brother-in-law? Is he a legitimate source?

Works in Greggs !!!!

30-12-2013, 08:49 PM
Shinnie is a left sided player currently at RB in an emergency. He's a good player but I wouldn't want to see him at RB.

thought he had played there all his life when I seen him against us,oh well,what about lawless at jags he looks pretty decent in cm if thommo goes

30-12-2013, 08:49 PM
I'd be dismayed if we couldnt find a place in the squad for Thomson. There are players we should move on before him. In my opinion that is.

I agree with you but also recognise that Butcher has to stamp his authority on the team. Katie might just have found himself out of the picture.

30-12-2013, 09:31 PM
Sparky to Celtic

Some bloke who scored for Peterborough on the weekend to us.

30-12-2013, 09:38 PM
He does t have work rate or pace butcher is looking for

nribs
30-12-2013, 09:43 PM
Sparky to Celtic

Some bloke who scored for Peterborough on the weekend to us.

Lee Tomlin?.

30-12-2013, 09:46 PM
If sparky goes to them ill cry:(

30-12-2013, 09:48 PM
Lee Tomlin?.

That's him, on loan.

hibseleven
30-12-2013, 09:51 PM
Did Celtic no try and sign the boy Tomlin in the summer?

30-12-2013, 09:53 PM
Sparky to Celtic Some bloke who scored for Peterborough on the weekend to us.

If it's the boy Tomlin did Smellic no have a bid for him turned down in the summer or last Jan?

30-12-2013, 09:54 PM
If it's the boy Tomlin did Smellic no have a bid for him turned down in the summer or last Jan?

Yep, surely this cant be true though?

30-12-2013, 09:57 PM

Surely no. He would be an excellent signing.

30-12-2013, 09:59 PM
Works in Greggs !!!!

He works in the Harvester Broxden :wink:

nribs
30-12-2013, 10:00 PM
Surely no. He would be an excellent signing. looks like he might be a bit chunky??

30-12-2013, 10:01 PM
looks like he might be a bit chunky??

Bad camera lense maybe??

GoldenEagle
30-12-2013, 10:01 PM
Surely no. He would be an excellent signing.

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=41944

9 goals in 21 games, turned down bids from Brighton and three from Celtic..valued at prob £1.5-£2m. Cannae quite see it!

30-12-2013, 10:03 PM
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=41944 9 goals in 21 games, turned down bids from Brighton and three from Celtic..valued at prob £1.5-£2m. Cannae quite see it!

Neither can I. Will just have to wait and see.

nribs
30-12-2013, 10:04 PM
Bad camera lense maybe??
Maybe but his ar*e cheeks look like they could be in different postcodes.

30-12-2013, 10:06 PM

Didnae have a good look at his arse tbh. ;-D

Seems to play every week at Peterborough

Bronson
30-12-2013, 10:07 PM
Haven't seen it mentioned much on here yet but Jamie Murphy has been doing the rounds recently, may have some substance to it seeing as he made his debut for motherwell under Butcher and Malpas.

http://www.thestar.co.uk/sport/sheffield-united/sheffield-united-hibs-may-bid-for-murphy-1-6341534?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=twitterfeed

30-12-2013, 10:07 PM
Have you seen his Wiki page? Looks like he beat off Nade and fat Swally tae the pie stand.......

30-12-2013, 10:10 PM
Have you seen his Wiki page? Looks like he beat off Nade and fat Swally tae the pie stand.......

He's scored more goals than Nade tho. Mind you that wouldn't be too difficult.

Put it this way.... Any player good enough for Tel is good enough for me.

Marsella has been in his travels so we never know. I do wonder if we will sign anyone in Wednesday in time for the derby??

30-12-2013, 10:17 PM

Marsella has been in his travels so we never know. I do wonder if we will sign anyone in Wednesday in time for the derby??

I hope there's a surprise package in the post for the yams on Thursday. Somebody they've not planned for.

30-12-2013, 10:18 PM

I think someone's at the lash.

30-12-2013, 10:19 PM
I think someone's at the lash.

Speedway mentioned it a few posts back?? Ask him mate?

30-12-2013, 10:28 PM
Speeders! What's the sp on Boyd then?

30-12-2013, 11:01 PM

I scored more goals in my career that Nade lol. And I was a sweeper my entire career.....

30-12-2013, 11:10 PM

He's not the source, he just passed on what he was told yesterday from someone else.

31-12-2013, 12:05 AM
He's not the source, he just passed on what he was told yesterday from someone else.
Sorry to be Pedantic but he has been Misinformed It's no going to happen

31-12-2013, 12:10 AM
Sorry to be Pedantic but he has been Misinformed It's no going to happen

Source?

Always wanted to say that.

31-12-2013, 12:16 AM
Source?

Always wanted to say that.
The mouth of the Ganges Always wanted to say that.

s2hart
31-12-2013, 12:23 AM
I hope there's a surprise package in the post for the yams on Thursday. Somebody they've not planned for.

Aye the grim reaper hopefully!

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 12:25 AM
That's him, on loan.

Source might be getting a wee bit mixed up. Right team different player :wink:

Pat 0-7
31-12-2013, 12:29 AM

Aye, looks like he enjoys a pie..........but who doesn't? :aok:

Not been a prolific scorer so far though........???

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 12:32 AM

It's not him. But he's a different class for league 1!

Pat 0-7
31-12-2013, 12:37 AM
It's not him. But he's a different class for league 1!

Boxing Day game: Coventry 4 Peterborough 2

'Former Sky Blues striker Shaun Jeffers stabbed Posh into the lead'

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 12:41 AM
Boxing Day game: Coventry 4 Peterborough 2

'Former Sky Blues striker Shaun Jeffers stabbed Posh into the lead'

Just signed for posh mate. All will become clear pretty soon I imagine! Don't want to get in trouble.

Pat 0-7
31-12-2013, 12:43 AM
Just signed for posh mate. All will become clear pretty soon I imagine! Don't want to get in trouble.

No probs!! :aok:

31-12-2013, 12:59 AM

You do know who Hearts' management team is, right?

"Planning" :rotflmao:

Leishy1995
31-12-2013, 01:21 AM
Speedway also said Leigh was signing for us 100% in the summer so I'll ignore his tips.

Joe
31-12-2013, 01:55 AM
Could this Peteborough player be Danny Swanson? His contract is up in the summer as well.

31-12-2013, 07:32 AM
Ive heard from a good source that we are actively trying to sign boyd but nowhere near a done deal. He mentioned a few names of which Alan Hutton was the most intriguing.

31-12-2013, 07:38 AM
Ive heard from a good source that we are actively trying to sign boyd but nowhere near a done deal. He mentioned a few names of which Alan Hutton was the most intriguing.

Hutton was a name mentioned to me last week as well. Would be a terrific signing imo.

Edit - Now I think about it, it might have been you that mentioned it to me mate, it's fair to say I was kippered when I saw you last week :faf:

31-12-2013, 07:53 AM
Hutton was a name mentioned to me last week as well. Would be a terrific signing imo.

He'd be an unbelievable signing, never understand the stick he gets playing for Scotland, think he's a terrific player.

That said I think there's next to no chance, if he was to consider coming back up north again it'd surely be to the rangers and I'm sure clubs down south could offer him a lot more money than we could.

31-12-2013, 08:19 AM
He'd be an unbelievable signing, never understand the stick he gets playing for Scotland, think he's a terrific player. That said I think there's next to no chance, if he was to consider coming back up north again it'd surely be to the rangers and I'm sure clubs down south could offer him a lot more money than we could.

An excellent signing indeed Bingo.

31-12-2013, 08:32 AM
Hutton wouldn't take a wage drop to go on loan in spain again there's no danger he'd come here. He's on around 60k a week apparently.

31-12-2013, 08:33 AM
this is a bit yammish this thread, with some of the names being banded about.

31-12-2013, 08:35 AM
;3849625"]Hutton wouldn't take a wage drop to go on loan in spain again there's no danger he'd come here. He's on around 60k a week apparently.

60k for playing reserve team football and training with the yoof team. No wonder he doesn't want to leave.

Never say never Slenj! I am sureMr Butcher can be persuasive

He'd be an unbelievable signing, never understand the stick he gets playing for Scotland, think he's a terrific player.

That said I think there's next to no chance, if he was to consider coming back up north again it'd surely be to the rangers and I'm sure clubs down south could offer him a lot more money than we could.
Think the key word here is Unbelievable Petrie brought them in to do what they did at Inverness which was unearth talent from England and else where that are cheaper options but can be sold on for Profit He has to recoup all the money he has cost the club asking and firing .could be wrong maybe he is more ambitious than that let's wait and see

I wouldn't underestimate the pulling power of Terry Butcher. I don't think any of these names are too fanciful at all.

I suspect a good few thousand a week will be freed up as well in the next fortnight with players leaving.

31-12-2013, 08:41 AM
I wouldn't underestimate the pulling power of Terry Butcher. I don't think any of these names are too fanciful at all. I suspect a good few thousand a week will be freed up as well in the next fortnight with players leaving.

There will of course have to be an agreement with these players to leave and a compensation package agreed. but we will have a few extra bob hitting about the biscuit tin for one or two. (I would hope)

livi hibs 1875
31-12-2013, 09:22 AM
Has anyone got a list of players that could be signed on pre contracts in the scottish prem or realistic english league players

31-12-2013, 09:25 AM
Has anyone got a list of players that could be signed on pre contracts in the scottish prem or realistic english league players

I'm sure if you check on soccer base or a similar website it'll show you. I think there might be a few??

TonyStokeprano
31-12-2013, 09:29 AM

Kyle vassell possibly ? Just signed him from non league in November might want to get him game time !

31-12-2013, 09:37 AM

For an SPL club he would be a really good signing, but at the level he has been playing at in more recent years (when he has been playing...) against Premiership teams or better International teams hes looked out of his depth. Brilliant going forward and unbelievable energy/stamina, but I think against anyone decent hes poor defensively and tends to get caught out.

I think wages would be a huge problem for a club like us, but his career is going down the toilet at the moment (he basically just plays for Scotland these days), he maybe needs to re-evaluate his position and go to a smaller club on lower wages to get his playing career back on track.

31-12-2013, 09:45 AM
ir Hutton is still registered with villa they are due us a favour after steeling Des,time to call it in

31-12-2013, 09:52 AM
;3849625']Hutton wouldn't take a wage drop to go on loan in spain again there's no danger he'd come here. He's on around 60k a week apparently.

There is no way Hutton is on 60k per week....20/25k maybe....there are very few players in the EPL on 60k per week +...and certainly no one at Villa...

Anyway, I'm sure he can get a decent move - so outside our price range I'm sure.

Makaveli
31-12-2013, 09:55 AM
this is a bit yammish this thread, with some of the names being banded about.

Hardly "World Cup Stars" we're talking about though, is it?

Murphy is well within our range and Hutton is a Scottish player who essentially failed in England. Money is one thing but he may be in a position where he's comfortable enough that getting his career back on track is what matters. I never thought we had any real chance of signing Liam Miller until we did, and to a lesser extent it was the same with Stokes.

31-12-2013, 10:01 AM
Kyle vassell possibly ? Just signed him from non league in November might want to get him game time !

Tyrone Barnett??

31-12-2013, 10:05 AM
No need for Boyd and no chance of Hutton.

31-12-2013, 10:20 AM
Could this Peteborough player be Danny Swanson? His contract is up in the summer as well.

His name certainly makes the most sense from the Posh website.

Not an out and out striker, but would really help with the supply...

31-12-2013, 10:34 AM
His name certainly makes the most sense from the Posh website.

Not an out and out striker, but would really help with the supply...

Definitely wasn't Swansons name I was given.

31-12-2013, 10:37 AM

Barnett, Tomlin, Vassell and that other dude they paid palace for Asamo or something?

31-12-2013, 10:40 AM

Well what one was it then? :confused: There's a list of a few been mentioned so far so surly it's one of them?

31-12-2013, 10:40 AM
i dont want to :worms:but is it on the PM board?

31-12-2013, 10:41 AM
It was Tomlin.

31-12-2013, 10:42 AM
It was Tomlin.

Cheers. Smellic were after paying over a million for him.

Would be a good signing.

31-12-2013, 10:42 AM
It was Tomlin.

Good lad, cheers mate.

31-12-2013, 10:48 AM
See Steve Marsella.

31-12-2013, 10:53 AM
As an aside, this info came from a Celtic source who also mentioned that Lennon is crapping himself about losing Forster, not least because he's got no real plan B in his sights.

31-12-2013, 10:59 AM

I love the Transfer window! Will just have to wait and see. Would LOVE to get some fresh blood in tomorrow!

31-12-2013, 10:59 AM
It was Tomlin.

So they are prepared to loan out a player that they turned down a million plus bid for in the summer and who plays every week for a team still challenging for promotion and who aren't short of a bob or two.

I'm away down to get his name on the back of my shirt.....................

davhibby
31-12-2013, 11:01 AM
Hopefully we've got at least one in by the united game

crewetollhibee
31-12-2013, 11:03 AM
ir Hutton is still registered with villa they are due us a favour after steeling Des,time to call it in

And a bigger favour for Joe Ward

31-12-2013, 11:55 AM

If only we had a non-exec director that used to work at Villa (you know one of the board guys that should have resigned en-masse after Fenlons departure) ... ;)

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 12:23 PM
As an aside, this info came from a Celtic source who also mentioned that Lennon is crapping himself about losing Forster, not least because he's got no real plan B in his sights.

Not heard anything about Tomlin.

The player has 6 months to prove a contract, and he wants to do it up here! :aok:

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 12:24 PM
Just seen the name has already been mentioned, DS :agree:

31-12-2013, 12:36 PM
I wouldn't underestimate the pulling power of Terry Butcher. I don't think any of these names are too fanciful at all.

I suspect a good few thousand a week will be freed up as well in the next fortnight with players leaving.

Okay Rita, give it a rest.

31-12-2013, 12:38 PM
Heard that we were a stick on for Steve a May and Billy MacKay before Hearts came in with a better offer.

Forever in their shadow.

31-12-2013, 12:42 PM
Just seen the name has already been mentioned, DS :agree:

Ah. real inside info :wink:

Where are you mate, Here or up North? still need to organise that xmas drink!

31-12-2013, 12:49 PM
Would love to see us get swanson or shiels, preferably shiels which could happen.

Also think we will see us trying to get that winger branded from caley or the other young winger greenhalgh.

Think he will try to get a versatile full back that can play left or right back, perhaps a name that some have heard of and would be excited by. Not hutton btw!

On top of that getting goodwillie as he would fit into to butchers style

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 01:02 PM
Ah. real inside info :wink:

Where are you mate, Here or up North? still need to organise that xmas drink!

I'm up north at the minute, how was the boston game?

First time I've had a scoop Hibs related!

Stuarty27
31-12-2013, 01:16 PM
I heard Marsella been looking at Billy Kee Burton Albion striker.

23 years old lost his way after being a good prospect, knows were the back of the net is.

31-12-2013, 01:22 PM
I heard Marsella been looking at Billy Kee Burton Albion striker. 23 years old lost his way after being a good prospect, knows were the back of the net is.

156 appearances scoring 50 goals.

31-12-2013, 01:23 PM
Heard that we were a stick on for Steve a May and Billy MacKay before Hearts came in with a better offer.

Forever in their shadow.

hearing that Stevie May's agent has tipped him off about Hearts interest and as a fail-safe against any confusion, he has changed his name to Stevie Won't.

31-12-2013, 01:25 PM
I'm up north at the minute, how was the boston game?

First time I've had a scoop Hibs related!

Never made the game, a pub and Bruce got in the way :greengrin

Let me know when you are back.

Stuarty27
31-12-2013, 01:39 PM
156 appearances scoring 50 goals.

??

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 01:43 PM
Never made the game, a pub and Bruce got in the way :greengrin

Let me know when you are back.

Haha sounds brilliant!

Will do, depending on how we do in the Paint Trophy Final there is a trip to wembley on the cards if you fancy it? I'll sort out some tickets :thumbsup:

31-12-2013, 01:52 PM
??

Quoted on your Billy Kee post.

31-12-2013, 01:55 PM
Haha sounds brilliant!

Will do, depending on how we do in the Paint Trophy Final there is a trip to wembley on the cards if you fancy it? I'll sort out some tickets :thumbsup:

Could be a laugh - put my name down for it - that'll jinx them.

Back on subject, hope your info is right - good player.

hibeeleicester
31-12-2013, 02:17 PM
Could be a laugh - put my name down for it - that'll jinx them.

Back on subject, hope your info is right - good player.

Yep very good player, actually played more in 2013 than the £1mill rated Tomlin!

Hibby as well, Was in Edinburgh over Xmas. just wait and see if Tel is interested!

Stuarty27
31-12-2013, 02:18 PM
Quoted on your Billy Kee post.

What's your point?

31-12-2013, 02:20 PM
I heard Marsella been looking at Billy Kee Burton Albion striker. 23 years old lost his way after being a good prospect, knows were the back of the net is.

. I quoted the above with

156 appearances with 50 goals.

31-12-2013, 02:21 PM
What's your point?

See my above post. Was just providing a few stats. Won't bother in future

cammy1969
31-12-2013, 02:25 PM
What's your point?

i think his point is hes scored 50 goals in 156 games not to bad a return but i could be wrong

31-12-2013, 02:25 PM
i think his point is hes scored 50 goals in 156 games not to bad a return but i could be wrong

You are indeed correct.

Stuarty27
31-12-2013, 02:27 PM
See my above post. Was just providing a few stats. Won't bother in future

Not at all carry on, just thought you were at it! :)

I believe he won November player of the month, out of contact in the summer is what I was told. Marsella apparently spotted him when he was at Leicester youth team.

Never seen him play myself.

31-12-2013, 02:28 PM
Not at all carry on, just thought you were at it! :) I believe he won November player of the month, out of contact in the summer.

At what mate!!!! You mention Billy Kee I popped onto his website and got his current stats. Nowt intended just trying to be nice :-D

Stuarty27
31-12-2013, 02:29 PM
At what mate!!!! You mention Billy Kee I popped onto his website and got his current stats. Nowt intended just trying to be nice :-D

You were being nice!!

Lol, so he has his own website.... That's a good start :)

itslegaltender
31-12-2013, 02:30 PM
and he plays alongside Rene Howe who we were linked with in the summer.

31-12-2013, 02:30 PM
You were being nice!! Lol, so he has his own website.... That's a good start :)

Well wiki has his stats anyway.

cloudy
31-12-2013, 02:34 PM
Is there a rumour linking us with Templeton? My workmate seems to think it's common knowledge, have I missed something?

31-12-2013, 02:38 PM
Is there a rumour linking us with Templeton? My workmate seems to think it's common knowledge, have I missed something?

I think the rumour is that we all think he is a greeting faced yam barsteward - you heard it here first:thumbsup:

bob12345
31-12-2013, 02:41 PM

???

31-12-2013, 02:45 PM
???

Question - why the question marks?

31-12-2013, 02:52 PM

Someone mentioned him on Pie and Bovril a few weeks back about Templeton joining us on loan. :aok:

31-12-2013, 02:56 PM
Someone mentioned him on Pie and Bovril a few weeks back about Templeton joining us on loan. :aok:

Think the new Huns are looking to decrease their wage bill at the moment so off loading players might be an option.

31-12-2013, 02:58 PM
Think the new Huns are looking to decrease their wage bill at the moment so off loading players might be an option.

Would take Templeton and Shiels from them ;)

31-12-2013, 03:00 PM

Hopefully we will find out in the coming weeks who we are after?

31-12-2013, 03:03 PM

As good as Templeton looked playing for the Yams back in the day, I'd still have my reservations about signing a player a League One club don't want.

31-12-2013, 03:04 PM
As good as Templeton looked playing for the Yams back in the day, I'd still have my reservations about signing a player a League One club don't want.

Yip. Don't even think he's been playing regularly.

31-12-2013, 03:20 PM
No scoop or rumour but the lad Williamson that plays right back for Dunfermline looks a prospect. Take him of their hands for buttons if they like.

31-12-2013, 03:25 PM

Injury prone, stay clear

Slim Shady
31-12-2013, 03:33 PM

Shiels has already been advised to find a new club in the new year in order to reduce wage bill

heidtheba
31-12-2013, 03:47 PM
Shiels has already been advised to find a new club in the new year in order to reduce wage bill

Ok not wishing to fuel anything of which I have no information...it is interesting that on Templeton's wiki page (I know I know) it has this comment...

"Templeton received high praise from Terry Butcher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Terry_Butcher) after Hearts 1–1 draw with Inverness Caledonian Thistle (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverness_Caledonian_Thistle). "The lad Templeton – wow, he's something special," said the Inverness manager. "I would pay money to watch him and he was on the other team. "He's just incredible, full of confidence. He's one of these unique players that pops up every now and then and people liken him to Davie Cooper and lots of other players as well.[6] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Templeton#cite_note-6)"

I didn't realise Tel rated him?

Leighonel
31-12-2013, 03:47 PM

Id rather see harris back in the team when he is fit and stanton given game time.

31-12-2013, 04:01 PM
Not wanting dean shiels or that wee yam fud anywhere near the team

HibeeMG
31-12-2013, 04:10 PM
No scoop or rumour but the lad Williamson that plays right back for Dunfermline looks a prospect. Take him of their hands for buttons if they like.

I agree. I like Andy Millen's kid as well who plays in the same position for the Pars.

31-12-2013, 04:24 PM
Young RB Naismith at St Mirren looks a cracking prospect and he fits the TB mould tall and quick.

RIP Bestie
31-12-2013, 06:21 PM
Nah. We already got them back with De La Cruz

31-12-2013, 08:48 PM
Looks like Tim Clancy is offski...

http://m.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-latest/collins-closes-in-on-clancy-1-5779504

31-12-2013, 08:51 PM

http://m.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city-latest/collins-closes-in-on-clancy-1-5779504

Interesting that they refer to him as 'former' Hibs player :confused:

TBH wouldn't worry me if he were to leave

31-12-2013, 08:54 PM

Do they play a summer league? Might be good for Clancy to play in the league for a bit before signing for someone in the summer

31-12-2013, 08:57 PM
Interesting that they refer to him as 'former' Hibs player :confused: TBH wouldn't worry me if he were to leave

Possibly by mutual consent which will hopefully mean no payoff/compensation thus freeing up a wage for a possible new recruit??

Next

VivaHiberña
31-12-2013, 09:02 PM

Would free up a wage from a player that's always injured and never really showed himself to be SPL standard barring his first couple of months. All the best should he leave but I wouldn't miss him.

31-12-2013, 09:05 PM

Forster has done more at right back the last few games than Clancy has his hibs career. No great lost

31-12-2013, 09:09 PM
No great loss to have clancy leaving, seemed like a decent player but far too injury prone.

Free's up a wage to get another player in the door.

31-12-2013, 09:17 PM
No great loss to have clancy leaving, seemed like a decent player but far too injury prone.

Free's up a wage to get another player in the door.

I wouldn't bet on that.

Clancy will probably seek a pay off to go or he might just sit his contract out and start playing in the Irish League in May.

Hopefully Rodders will sort it.

JCHibby
31-12-2013, 09:41 PM
I wouldn't bet on that.

Clancy will probably seek a pay off to go or he might just sit his contract out and start playing in the Irish League in May.

Hopefully Rodders will sort it.

I believe both Clancy and Thommo are off.

31-12-2013, 09:48 PM
I believe both Clancy and Thommo are off.

Can understand Clancy as i cant even remember what he looks like,sorry to hear about thomson but i have to trust Butchers judgement

Nevi_SOL
31-12-2013, 09:51 PM
Is there anything in this thomo to the arabs?

01-01-2014, 01:38 AM

I can remember saying EXACTLY these things about another "striker" we signed back in the day. Cannae remember his name, though. :devil:

Gave him his very own song, too - if we sign this guy we could revive the old melody ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SfyObUd5e8

01-01-2014, 02:19 AM
So people would take Hutton but not Boyd because he's a Hun or ex hun player?? So was Hutton.

Bobo
01-01-2014, 02:19 AM
I can remember saying EXACTLY these things about another "striker" we signed back in the day. Cannae remember his name, though. :devil:

Gave him his very own song, too - if we sign this guy we could revive the old melody ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9SfyObUd5e8

You're a bad man Doddie, it's a new year and the ghosts of fatties past shouldn't taint it. God knows how much I hate that fat little *****e. ��

01-01-2014, 03:45 AM
You're a bad man Doddie, it's a new year and the ghosts of fatties past shouldn't taint it. God knows how much I hate that fat little *****e. 

I'm actually quite pleased with myself.

2014 not two hours old and already I've got my first dig in at Lardass. :devil:

I can't help thinking that however soft Turnbull was with the wee fat ratbag, Terry and Mo would have had at least a stone and a half of ugly fat off him in days - one way or another.

Starvation, liposuction, decapitation ... :chop:

01-01-2014, 04:11 AM
A guy on the bounce saying griffiths is free to go?

01-01-2014, 04:17 AM
No way would they free him He may be allowed to go for a hearty fee which rules us out sadly

Kaff
01-01-2014, 04:19 AM

Whatever I've drunk tonight will be nothing if he signs on again, Jesus henry Christ what a New Year that would be

01-01-2014, 05:02 AM

Do not shoot the messenger...

Heard yesterday, good source, friend of his brother, done deal, Celtic, £1.5m, arriving in January.

Perhaps someone more ITK could confirm.

01-01-2014, 06:54 AM

Heard yesterday, good source, friend of his brother, done deal, Celtic, £1.5m, arriving in January.

I'd be absolutely gutted if he signed for them and played against us, absolutely gutted! Praying this doesn't happen..

01-01-2014, 07:18 AM
Didn't Neil Lennon say that Griffiths wouldn't get a place in his team when he won that award?

Wouldn't be surprised to see him benched most weeks, Celtic wasting another young Scottish talent.

hibbymick
01-01-2014, 08:07 AM
Hmm I wonder what sort of reception he can expect if he came back to ER as a celtic player.

01-01-2014, 08:56 AM

Same source that told me about the Boyd deal mentioned Sparky going to Celtc for £1.5m a few weeks ago. I stared at him blankly and refused to countenance such a possibility. Cripes.

patch1875
01-01-2014, 09:04 AM
Can't see griffiths going to Celtic they are looking for a striker to replace hooper someone who can maybe get a few at champions league level. That ain't griffiths.

01-01-2014, 09:15 AM
Can't see griffiths going to Celtic they are looking for a striker to replace hooper someone who can maybe get a few at champions league level. That ain't griffiths.

Really!?
Dave MacPherson and iirc Scott Nisbet - scorers in the Champs League. That lazy twonk exiled in Scandinavia even scored against Barça, Milgrew...

01-01-2014, 09:20 AM

Said the exact same thing, however, if they are thinking of moving on Samaras and Stokes, then Griffiths in Jan when league is won and they are out of the CL would make perfect sense and good business IF they then go and sign a 'star' CF in the summer to play with Griffiths.

So gutted if it happened but can understand it if they are offering him good wages and he is back home nearer his family.

01-01-2014, 09:24 AM
Stokes is going nowhere !!

01-01-2014, 09:31 AM
Stokes is going nowhere !!

Always wanted to say this...Source?

I admit, I was speculating about Stokes and Samaras as to somehow justify the Griffiths deal that I had put up earlier.

Never say never in football, Maurice Johnston taught me that.

01-01-2014, 09:38 AM
There was a peice last week about him signing, if not already signed a new contract. !!

01-01-2014, 09:52 AM
Decided to have a wee swatch on Brokeback and boy are the green with envy.

They've commented on who we are apparently after in the transfer window - Boyd, Miller and Hutton and they are wondering where we are getting the cash from.

We've bought Collins and paid compo for Fenlon and Butcher and the gang.

We are apparently mortgaged to the hilt.

If your looking in ya fuds.... This is what happens during a transfer window when you pay your debts and don't rob charities.

You have a brass neck to call us CHEATS.

I hope we do sign the above players as it would defo add quality to the team.

01-01-2014, 10:08 AM

Hooper was a Championship striker with a good scoring record when he came to Celtic, who then developed over time. They cant really afford established CL quality players and therefore its probably a no brainer signing someone like Griffiths who, in my opinion, would be the best striker in the league. It would be a shame to see him go there though.

01-01-2014, 10:10 AM

Nice try. He's just tweeted about looking forward to tranmere away and getting 3 points

01-01-2014, 10:13 AM
Sparky at Celtc would be an off field accident waiting to happen.

01-01-2014, 10:15 AM
Sparky at Celtc would be an off field accident waiting to happen.

Absolute cert. Agree with this.

Bobo
01-01-2014, 10:32 AM
I'm actually quite pleased with myself.

2014 not two hours old and already I've got my first dig in at Lardass. :devil:

I can't help thinking that however soft Turnbull was with the wee fat ratbag, Terry and Mo would have had at least a stone and a half of ugly fat off him in days - one way or another.

Starvation, liposuction, decapitation ... :chop:

I'd have gone with decapitation .... either that or sold him to Chinese Fishermen for his blubber 😈

01-01-2014, 10:39 AM
Always wanted to say this...Source?

I admit, I was speculating about Stokes and Samaras as to somehow justify the Griffiths deal that I had put up earlier.

Never say never in football, Maurice Johnston taught me that.
Stokes has just recently signed a new contract but just because he hasn't scored for a few weeks doesn't mean they will off load him .Samaras ,Ledley and Foster all want away and will potentially go in January if right money is paid Commons has voiced his concern at lack of quality signings and how this has hampered there champions league campaign.So there is pressure on to appease players and fans Lennon has gone out his way to rubbish griffiths at times when with us so it won't be a good move for him I don't think but if he wants to return to Scotland and Celtic feel they need a proven spl goalscorer then they would know that they could sell him on in a year or two for a profit providing he scores goals and let's face it he would do that job for them no problem. But Lennon won't want all the off field antics and press coverage that would hound him .Source. My son

ColintonHibs
01-01-2014, 11:33 AM
Hmm I wonder what sort of reception he can expect if he came back to ER as a celtic player.

Getting loud boos from me. Meant to be a hibby the judas *******

01-01-2014, 11:40 AM
As much as id hate it to see griffiths at celtic it could happen. More wages, playing in champions league etc as a player he wud be mad to not go there. Apparently wolves wont sell though.

01-01-2014, 11:45 AM
They've commented on who we are apparently after in the transfer window - Boyd, Miller and Hutton and they are wondering where we are getting the cash from.

Isn't it a pity they didn't think to ask the same questions of themselves a few years ago. Could have saved themselves a lot of hassle.

If your looking in ya fuds.... This is what happens during a transfer window when you pay your debts and don't rob charities.

Spot on

01-01-2014, 12:02 PM
Is there anything in this thomo to the arabs?

No nothing in that at all.

got an offer from a team abroad on the table.

01-01-2014, 12:10 PM
Really!?
Dave MacPherson and iirc Scott Nisbet - scorers in the Champs League. That lazy twonk exiled in Scandinavia even scored against Barça, Milgrew...

Whilst I agree with your point, I'm not convinced Lierse (in Belgium) counts as scandanavia!!

E10 Rifle
01-01-2014, 12:45 PM
http://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/football/peterborough-united/new-posh-players-unlikely-for-bees-clash-1-5780261

There's the Posh boys. Barnett, Zakuani, Ferdinand and Mendez-Laing. In talks with other clubs...

01-01-2014, 12:46 PM
As much as id hate it to see griffiths at celtic it could happen. More wages, playing in champions league etc as a player he wud be mad to not go there. Apparently wolves wont sell though.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/no-wolves-january-exit-for-leigh-griffiths-1-3252146

Seems pretty clear here that LG is staying where he is.....

01-01-2014, 12:55 PM
Don't think butcher would put up wi LG behaviour. Fenlon put up with it as he was the only thing extending his stay. IMHO

01-01-2014, 01:13 PM
http://www.peterboroughtoday.co.uk/sport/football/peterborough-united/new-posh-players-unlikely-for-bees-clash-1-5780261

There's the Posh boys. Barnett, Zakuani, Ferdinand and Mendez-Laing. In talks with other clubs...

Got a Peterborough Utd fan at work who is really surprised that both Zakuani & Mendez-Laing are heading for the exits.

Both could certainly be worth a shout over here.

Nevi_SOL
01-01-2014, 02:04 PM
No nothing in that at all.

got an offer from a team abroad on the table.

Any fee or big terry just happy to free up wages?

01-01-2014, 02:37 PM

I wouldn't have thought we'd get a fee for him.

Probably happy to free up the wages I would think.

01-01-2014, 02:39 PM

No fee

01-01-2014, 02:58 PM

I'm at Prunton Park right now and Leigh is starting for Wolves.

01-01-2014, 03:00 PM
Heard Lennon on Sportsound and he said there's no foundation to their interest in Griffiths

01-01-2014, 03:03 PM
Don't think butcher would put up wi LG behaviour. Fenlon put up with it as he was the only thing extending his stay. IMHO

Whatever else, Pat did a great job with LG.

01-01-2014, 03:22 PM

Who was butchers captain at ICT...

01-01-2014, 03:25 PM
Who was butchers captain at ICT...

Richie foran

01-01-2014, 03:32 PM
Exactly, Richie foran who gets into a fight then runs away from police and hides under cars. Think TB would put up with Leigh if he can put up with that.

01-01-2014, 03:52 PM
Heard Lennon on Sportsound and he said there's no foundation to their interest in Griffiths

Good.

01-01-2014, 05:56 PM
Got a Peterborough Utd fan at work who is really surprised that both Zakuani & Mendez-Laing are heading for the exits.

Both could certainly be worth a shout over here.

Zakuani going to greece, but i agree. Mendez-laing would be good:agree:

reidy
01-01-2014, 06:36 PM
Clancy going to sign for Derry city

01-01-2014, 07:10 PM
Clancy going to sign for Derry city

Best of luck Tim...

Decent player when he played. Which wasn't enough for us unfortunately!

01-01-2014, 07:21 PM
Best of luck Tim...

Decent player when he played. Which wasn't enough for us unfortunately!

rumour or official?

01-01-2014, 07:22 PM
rumour or official?

Rumour. It has been mentioned a few times that he is expected to leave.

01-01-2014, 07:24 PM
Rumour. It has been mentioned a few times that he is expected to leave.

would make sense i suppose, was happy enough when he signed as he seemed a steady SPL player but you can't win a new contract if you can't play. Good luck to the lad if he gets freed

01-01-2014, 07:27 PM
would make sense i suppose, was happy enough when he signed as he seemed a steady SPL player but you can't win a new contract if you can't play. Good luck to the lad if he gets freed

Yeah, my thoughts exactly. He was what we needed after Hart etc, and when he played he generally done well. But I'd be interested to see the amount of minutes played by Tim in his time at ER!

01-01-2014, 07:36 PM

Yeah, my thoughts exactly. He was what we needed after Hart etc, and when he played he generally done well. But I'd be interested to see the amount of minutes played by Tim in his time at ER!

01-01-2014, 07:45 PM
Jamie Murphy was on the bench for the blades today. I dont know if he got on or not though.

01-01-2014, 07:48 PM
Jamie Murphy was on the bench for the blades today. I dont know if he got on or not though.

He came on for the last 20 mins.

01-01-2014, 07:48 PM

Came on as a sub in 68 mins according to the sky sports app

01-01-2014, 07:49 PM
He came on for the last 20 mins.

Cheers mate:aok:

01-01-2014, 07:49 PM
Came on as a sub in 68 mins according to the sky sports app

Thanks lad.

01-01-2014, 08:00 PM
Thanks lad.

Lad?

TheFamous1875
01-01-2014, 08:20 PM
Lad?

Dad*

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

01-01-2014, 08:23 PM
Dad*

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Dad?

01-01-2014, 08:42 PM
rumour or official?

The Derry Journal ‏@derryjournal 31 Dec (http://www.hibs.net/derryjournal/status/418019981532471297) Collins closes in on Clancy: RODDY COLLINS is on the verge of signing former Hibernians defender, Tim Clancy w...

01-01-2014, 08:49 PM
Dad?

02-01-2014, 03:49 PM
Do not shoot the messenger... Heard yesterday, good source, friend of his brother, done deal, Celtic, £1.5m, arriving in January. Perhaps someone more ITK could confirm.

This is in the pipeline sparkys terms have been agreed in principle just waiting on the clubs agreeing a fee Celtic only want to pay £500,000. Unfortunately it's looking like sparkys going to parkheed :(

Oh and thommos looking like heading to china not Dundee utd.

02-01-2014, 03:52 PM
This is in the pipeline sparkys terms have been agreed in principle just waiting on the clubs agreeing a fee Celtic only want to pay £500,000. Unfortunately it's looking like sparkys going to parkheed :(

No he's no going to China. If he does go abroad it will be closer to home but still a treck to be fair but no china.

02-01-2014, 03:56 PM

With the proceeds of today's bumper crowd could we not hi jack the Celtic bid and pay over 500 000 to get him That would sicken them

Posh Swanny
02-01-2014, 03:59 PM
Zakuani going to greece, but i agree. Mendez-laing would be good:agree:

The Hibees faithful would love him initially - towering strength, blistering pace and an eye for goal. Unfortunately, the owners at Le Monde and Tigerlily would love him even more.

02-01-2014, 04:03 PM
One thing i've learned over the last year is not to believe ANYTHING football related on this site as its mostly always complete horse manure.

Just thought i'd slip that in there!

02-01-2014, 04:25 PM

Bloody hope not - http://www.insidefutbol.com/2014/01/02/celtic-boss-neil-lennon-brushes-off-leigh-griffiths-and-dundee-united-links/117576/#vkyzWsZiY4dkfMy4.99

02-01-2014, 04:28 PM
With the proceeds of today's bumper crowd could we not hi jack the Celtic bid and pay over 500 000 to get him That would sicken them

Petrie, what's the problem? :dunno:

Be nice if it was this simple.

Gordy M
05-01-2014, 02:12 PM
Its been very quiet on the speculation front? Jamie murphy being the only one so far, anyone heard anything about possible transfers?

JimboHibs
14-01-2019, 12:42 PM

14-01-2019, 12:53 PM

What am I missing. :confused:

14-01-2019, 12:57 PM
What am I missing. :confused:

The point :greengrin

Blackfordhibby
14-01-2019, 01:02 PM
A 5 year resurrection, not to be missed.

14-01-2019, 01:15 PM
Don’t see any point in resurrecting a five year old thread. We can happily discuss this years January dealings on the other one.

Thread closed.