View Full Version : Greggs Transfers - Watmore, Haynes & Boateng IN - NO More Pics/Videos On This Thread Please

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

30-12-2013, 04:54 PM
Post all rumours and confirmed transfers here :agree:

First up is Lyle Taylor to Partick thistle on loan.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25547871

30-12-2013, 04:55 PM
Adam campbell (Newcastle striker) confirmed on loan to St. Mirren. No idea if he's any good, but he is cracking on fifa 14!

30-12-2013, 05:10 PM
Hearts will be the team to watch this year. I hear they are really going for broke. :greengrin

30-12-2013, 05:35 PM
Hearts will be the team to watch this year. I hear they are really going for broke. :greengrin

Boom boom :top marks

:greengrin GGTTH

30-12-2013, 05:41 PM
If Dundee utd don't get goodwillie renewed which iv heard their not, I think we should definetley go for him, very direct and scores goals

30-12-2013, 05:47 PM
If Dundee utd don't get goodwillie renewed which iv heard their not, I think we should definetley go for him, very direct and scores goals
I would rather Steve Marsella unearthed a gem of his own rather than spending a bigger wage on the likes of Goodwillie. His wage may be subsidized but he would still cost us a bit.....

30-12-2013, 05:53 PM
I should imagine Kevin Thomson's departure (surely it's odd on) will free up a decent wage for a striker.

30-12-2013, 05:55 PM
I would rather Steve Marsella unearthed a gem of his own rather than spending a bigger wage on the likes of Goodwillie. His wage may be subsidized but he would still cost us a bit.....

Even with Blackburn paying the lions share DG is still costing UTD near 5k a week. Gamble that has not paid off IMO.

30-12-2013, 05:55 PM
I should imagine Kevin Thomson's departure (surely it's odd on) will free up a decent wage for a striker.

Both him and Vine will free up a substantial amount I would say. That's if they both want to leave?

30-12-2013, 05:59 PM
Can imagine this being a big one this year, for us anyway.

nribs
30-12-2013, 06:00 PM
So this thread is turning into the official unofficial winter 2014 transfer window thread

30-12-2013, 06:05 PM

Who's on their list now?

Last I heard it was;

Rudi Skacel
Kris Boyd
David Goodwillie
Ian Black

Have I missed anyone?

They'll overhaul that points deficit in no time. :aok:

JIm
30-12-2013, 06:09 PM
Both him and Vine will free up a substantial amount I would say. That's if they both want to leave?

I'd imagine that saving would be somewhat offset by the compensation package that would be agreed provided they move on.

30-12-2013, 06:10 PM
Who's on their list now?

Last I heard it was;

Rudi Skacel
Kris Boyd
David Goodwillie
Ian Black

Have I missed anyone?

Oh yes you have - "Stevie May and Billy Mackay are realistic targets I reckon."

The bit in bold is an actual quote from Yakbak......

stevie-bee
30-12-2013, 06:14 PM

I read gauld is a realistic target as well

30-12-2013, 06:16 PM

What for kidnapping and ransoming because they certainly aint going to be targeting them to play football.

30-12-2013, 06:16 PM

Please no :no way:

30-12-2013, 06:18 PM
Who's on their list now?

Last I heard it was;

Rudi Skacel
Kris Boyd
David Goodwillie
Ian Black

Have I missed anyone?

Zal , Lasley

30-12-2013, 06:18 PM
I'd imagine that saving would be somewhat offset by the compensation package that would be agreed provided they move on.

Yip sure would.

30-12-2013, 06:19 PM
I read on here that Big Ben may be for the off (it didn't say FACT so of course it may not be true) and that some posters were suggesting we try for Jamie McDonald as a replacement. Would Marian Kello not be better if required? Jambo or not he always impressed me.....

30-12-2013, 06:22 PM
Another of the maroon balloons wants Templeton, Driver and Zal back as well...

BH Hibs
30-12-2013, 06:35 PM
Who's on their list now?

Last I heard it was;

Rudi Skacel
Kris Boyd
David Goodwillie
Ian Black

Have I missed anyone?

Messi and Ronaldo?

30-12-2013, 06:38 PM
Rowan vine to hull or wycombe wanderers

30-12-2013, 06:39 PM
Says who?

Gustavo Fring
30-12-2013, 06:41 PM
kevin thomson to dundee united

jamie murphy to hibs

30-12-2013, 06:43 PM
kevin thomson to dundee united

jamie murphy to hibs
Again - is this from a source or wishful thinking? Don't really understand why you would put these statements up with nothing to back them up.....

Gustavo Fring
30-12-2013, 06:47 PM
Again - is this from a source or wishful thinking? Don't really understand why you would put these statements up with nothing to back them up.....

iv heard a few whispers that we have/are about to stick in a bid for murphy

also that thomson could be heading to tannadice

no reliable source im afraid but watch this space...

30-12-2013, 06:52 PM

Hull's a good one... He cannae even get a game for a mid tabled SPFL never mind a EPL team.

Think Wycombe will be his level.

30-12-2013, 07:55 PM
iv heard a few whispers that we have/are about to stick in a bid for murphy

also that thomson could be heading to tannadice

no reliable source im afraid but watch this space...

I remember reading that utd were keen on him at the end of last season but he chose us.
Will be really sorry to see him go. In Tel we trust I guess.

30-12-2013, 08:02 PM

How long does Thomson have left on his contract? If it's only 6 months it's not going to cost an arm and a leg to buy him out. Subtract that from what we could maybe afford to offer a decent contract to a striker and we could get someone half decent. In any case, Thomson might be so cheesed off with Butcher that he would be willing to find a new club in January. If he wants to hang around in the SPFL, I'm sure he could find a club who could use the undoubted skill that Butcher doesn't appear to appreciate. Imagine him coming back to haunt us. :greengrin

30-12-2013, 08:04 PM
Hull's a good one... He cannae even get a game for a mid tabled SPFL never mind a EPL team.

Think Wycombe will be his level.

Its not the football team, just Hull, he can get a ferry from there ;-)

30-12-2013, 08:05 PM
Its not the football team, just Hull, he can get a ferry from there ;-)

Aaa I see. Forgot Hull had a ferry port.

itslegaltender
31-12-2013, 12:04 PM
Over on sickback, this little peach just posted " Can see Holt going to Liverpool. Just what I predict happening but I can see Rodgers wanting him as he would be a good link between Gerard, Sterling and Suarez. "

Excellent work Agent "JamboFulton". :not worth:not worth:not worth

31-12-2013, 12:29 PM
I read on here that Big Ben may be for the off (it didn't say FACT so of course it may not be true) and that some posters were suggesting we try for Jamie McDonald as a replacement. Would Marian Kello not be better if required? Jambo or not he always impressed me.....

Id say Ben leaving is a stick on, but to me its more likely he will be away in the summer.. I say that based on knowledge gained through my line of work. Cant really say anymore other than id be shocked if he doesnt sign for a club relativley close to the north west of england in the summer.. Nice bloke as well, and deserves the chance to further his career

31-12-2013, 12:35 PM
I'd be gutted if he left. Best keeper we've had for ages.

11-01-2014, 03:05 PM
Everton have signed Aiden McGeady.:cb

11-01-2014, 03:06 PM
Id say Ben leaving is a stick on, but to me its more likely he will be away in the summer.. I say that based on knowledge gained through my line of work. Cant really say anymore other than id be shocked if he doesnt sign for a club relativley close to the north west of england in the summer.. Nice bloke as well, and deserves the chance to further his career

There is a deal on the table for him if he so wishes to sign it.

patch1875
11-01-2014, 03:13 PM
Heard the same. Not happy with the coaching side.

11-01-2014, 03:21 PM
Heard the same. Not happy with the coaching side.
Is it just Marsella doing goalkeeper coaching .As if he is main scout and away a lot this is bound to be an issue . also if offer on table and not signed he is clearly keeping options open .

11-01-2014, 03:27 PM
Well Kenny Miller wont be signing for Hibs today that's for sure

1515:
Broxi Bear and Kenny Miller meet in the Ibrox tunnel

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25695899

Gus Fring
11-01-2014, 03:28 PM
Williams has made it clear as recently as last week that he wants to stay. He's moved his family up here and got them settled in. I believe the talk of him being unhappy was with the old regime and that Marsella has now changed that. For someone who apparently isn't happy with his coach he does a hell of a lot of laughing with him in the pre-match warm ups.

11-01-2014, 03:42 PM
If there is an issue with the goalkeeping coaching we should turn that into a positive and let Williams tell us how to fix it short term and then let him fix it long term by making him player coach.

archiebald
12-01-2014, 12:38 PM
Intrested in Jason Scotland according to news of world

Niffy
12-01-2014, 12:41 PM
Is it 2005 again ?

Penicuik Hibee
12-01-2014, 12:42 PM
Not sure what age he is now but if he is young enough and fit enough then he would be a great addition.

Remember him giving our defense a really tough time in a semi at tynie

12-01-2014, 12:44 PM

Was the article by a ghost writer?

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 12:47 PM
Not sure what age he is now but if he is young enough and fit enough then he would be a great addition.

Remember him giving our defense a really tough time in a semi at tynie

He scored that night too.

He's 34.

12-01-2014, 12:48 PM
Intresting stuff.

Gustavo Fring
12-01-2014, 12:53 PM
surely he's past his best now ?

Ship Hibs
12-01-2014, 01:00 PM
No way, I'm pretty sure him and Robbie Winters were playing with a Junior team a few weeks ago

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 01:03 PM
No way, I'm pretty sure him and Robbie Winters were playing with a Junior team a few weeks ago

He's at Barnsley.

Godsahibby
12-01-2014, 01:08 PM
What's Jamie Cureton up to these days. Won't be long till we are linked with him again. Seems to be one of the names dragged out every window.

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 01:18 PM
I heard in Aberdeen Friday night we are in for James Vincent of Inverness once Thomson leaves.

Bronson
12-01-2014, 01:20 PM

Was The News of the World not shut down over a phone hacking scandal or did i just make that up?

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Was The News of the World not shut down over a phone hacking scandal or did i just make that up?

Aye, changed its name to the sun on Sunday.

12-01-2014, 01:23 PM
No thanks. Another journeyman has been IMO.

yerauldda
12-01-2014, 01:26 PM

That's Colin Samuel at sauchie juniors.

hibseleven
12-01-2014, 01:34 PM
Bumped into Brian McLaughlin last night. Told me we are trying to sign Adam Rooney. Not sure if its true merely passing it on.

Ship Hibs
12-01-2014, 01:44 PM
That's Colin Samuel at sauchie juniors.

Ooops!

Theinsider
12-01-2014, 01:48 PM
19 games and 8 goals for Barnsley. Not too shabby a return.

12-01-2014, 01:55 PM
Try as I might, I just can't find a link to the News of the World website and the local papershop seems to have sold all their hard copies.

What does the article say?

12-01-2014, 02:08 PM
No thanks. Junior Agogo written all over it

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 02:12 PM
No thanks. Junior Agogo written all over it

Racist.

nribs
12-01-2014, 02:20 PM
19 games and 8 goals for Barnsley. Not too shabby a return.
When we're his appearances and goals from though?

12-01-2014, 02:22 PM
Probably the most annoying thread title of all time.

If you want people to be intrested, please give us a clue as to the subject matter in the title. And take more care over your spelling. And facts.

12-01-2014, 02:25 PM

If you want people to be intrested, please give us a clue as to the subject matter in the title. And take more care over your spelling. And facts.

Agre wth thet abuve coment :D

12-01-2014, 02:26 PM
Racist.

Eh ?

E10 Rifle
12-01-2014, 02:26 PM
What's Jamie Cureton up to these days. Won't be long till we are linked with him again. Seems to be one of the names dragged out every window.

Still playing at Cheltenham. League Two is his perfect level nowadays. (must be about 38 or so)

12-01-2014, 02:27 PM
Yes Please :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Pozydns5W8 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Pozydns5W8)

12-01-2014, 02:27 PM
Racist.

Not at all! Michael N'Goo is top of my January wish list as it so happens.

Gus Fring
12-01-2014, 02:41 PM
Eh ?

It's a reference to the fact Hearts fans tried to get Hibs fans in trouble because we sang a song saying Ngoo was worse than Nade. Apparently comparing 2 black players is "racist" according to that lot. So now, whenever someone makes any comparison with a black player we call them a racist.

VivaHiberña
12-01-2014, 02:47 PM
It's a reference to the fact Hearts fans tried to get Hibs fans in trouble because we sang a song saying Ngoo was worse than Nade. Apparently comparing 2 black players is "racist" according to that lot. So now, whenever someone makes any comparison with a black player we call them a racist.

I'm not ginger myself but I do shudder with embarrassment when people compare our last two players to wear the number 10 shirt. Prejudice at its worst.

12-01-2014, 02:59 PM
Bumped into Brian McLaughlin last night. Told me we are trying to sign Adam Rooney. Not sure if its true merely passing it on.

I heard that at the match but assumed it was balls.

12-01-2014, 03:02 PM
The name Im hearing is stephen mcginn. Ex St Mirren and Watford. Dont know if anything in it.

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 03:13 PM

Is the correct answer :)

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 03:14 PM
Not at all! Michael N'Goo is top of my January wish list as it so happens.

Haha.

Green Reaper
12-01-2014, 03:17 PM
I'm not ginger myself but I do shudder with embarrassment when people compare our last two players to wear the number 10 shirt. Prejudice at its worst.

Gingerist! :-)

Theinsider
12-01-2014, 03:18 PM
When we're his appearances and goals from though?

http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=34755

For furture reference Google is your friend:wink:

12-01-2014, 03:19 PM

Yup .......... an annoying thread title.

But not nearly as annoying as pulling folk up about their spelling. There are folk with many levels of education posting on here .. lets not put a fellow Hibby off posting for fear of having his or her spelling and grammar marked as if it was a school exam.

12-01-2014, 03:24 PM
You mean 'let's.' :greengrin

nribs
12-01-2014, 03:31 PM
http://www.soccerbase.com/players/player.sd?player_id=34755

For furture reference Google is your friend:wink:

Ok but originally we were told 8 in 19 or something for Barnsley. The link says 23 games played this season and goals?

12-01-2014, 03:34 PM
Is it just Marsella doing goalkeeper coaching .As if he is main scout and away a lot this is bound to be an issue . also if offer on table and not signed he is clearly keeping options open .

isn't scott thomson still there?

Theinsider
12-01-2014, 03:40 PM
Ok but originally we were told 8 in 19 or something for Barnsley. The link says 23 games played this season and goals?

Was lfited from wiki so may not be accurate, was the first page that came up when I searched. Like I said google is your friend if you are interested in finding out.

Inch Hibs
12-01-2014, 03:43 PM
isn't scott thomson still there?

Yep.

12-01-2014, 03:53 PM
The Staggies might have done some good business bringing in Filip Kiss from Cardiff - two goals and strolled it in midfield apparently - after not playing a first team game in 12 months.
3 goals in 2 games for Lyle Taylor as well.
There is value out there...

12-01-2014, 04:03 PM
Yep.

thanks, so how does that work? are they both the goalie coach? its Marsella who does the warm up on match days i think?

12-01-2014, 06:20 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25704711

Chairman Stephen Thompson has confirmed Dundee United will not extend the loan spell of David Goodwillie.

if the reported 5K/week wages are true then no ta

12-01-2014, 06:37 PM
thanks, so how does that work? are they both the goalie coach? its Marsella who does the warm up on match days i think?

Id expect him to be away quite a bit mate

12-01-2014, 06:47 PM
Looking at Adam Rooney's goal scoring record since leaving ICT - doesn't seem to be great.

one day maybe...
12-01-2014, 06:48 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25704711

Chairman Stephen Thompson has confirmed Dundee United will not extend the loan spell of David Goodwillie.

if the reported 5K/week wages are true then no ta

Sheep pals up here, saying he is destined for Pittodrie. Apparently medical due this coming Tuesday morning. They are getting all excited at the prospect of it..

12-01-2014, 07:02 PM
Sheep pals up here, saying he is destined for Pittodrie. Apparently medical due this coming Tuesday morning. They are getting all excited at the prospect of it..
Wouldn't surprise me as Aberdeen when opperunity to cement 2 nod place will show ambition and go for it Not saying goodwill is is the answer but it's everything we don't do Think we lack ambition Butcher has to be backed just to get us into top six ?Its a measure of how far we are behind.

12-01-2014, 07:13 PM
Wouldn't surprise me as Aberdeen when opperunity to cement 2 nod place will show ambition and go for it Not saying goodwill is is the answer but it's everything we don't do Think we lack ambition Butcher has to be backed just to get us into top six ?Its a measure of how far we are behind.

I'm no lover of Petrie, but we have just spent money on a management team the vast majority of us seem to be happy with. Add to that we paid a transfer for Collins in the summer, as far as I know only Celtic did that as well. Add into the mix pretty low crowds and I think we have to accept it will be the summer before we can expect major changes.

green.and.white
12-01-2014, 07:17 PM
Aberdeen didn't invest or up their budget from last season by all accounts but they got McInnes who has taken them on the same money from 9th to 2nd. We have Butcher who can do the same to us :agree: It's all about getting the right players in, which Butcher showed at ICT he can do.

12-01-2014, 07:22 PM
Looking at Adam Rooney's goal scoring record since leaving ICT - doesn't seem to be great.

He was also in the papers the other day saying he's looking forward to playing for Oldham v Liverpool on Jan 25th in the FA Cup.

Thats an error, Liverpool played Oldham last week, the 5th. Rooney's a logical choice for TB but I think he only joined Oldham in the summer.

12-01-2014, 07:26 PM
Aberdeen didn't invest or up their budget from last season by all accouints but they got McInnes who has taken them on the same money from 9th to 2nd. We have Butcher who can do the same to us :agree: It's all about getting the right players in, which Butcher showed at ICT he can do.
I don't doubt that . Its the frustration of where we could of been if we had appointed right management team earlier ,and now wanting to get on with him bringing in his own player to improve us and push up the league Am impatient I realise that ,just want the best for my club as soon as possible .

12-01-2014, 07:39 PM
Thats an error, Liverpool played Oldham last week, the 5th. Rooney's a logical choice for TB but I think he only joined Oldham in the summer.

Your right - I'm wrong - http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25539775 shows Rooney played and last just over 1 hour then was subbed.

12-01-2014, 07:59 PM

can't blame them trying to get a CL spot, or is that them starting to splash the cash again, it's not all that long ago they were getting shot of the toaster in the changing room to cut costs :greengrin

12-01-2014, 08:21 PM
Inside The SPFL ‏@AgentScotland 2h (http://www.hibs.net/AgentScotland/status/422438325010857984) @onewilliemiller (http://www.hibs.net/onewilliemiller) Heard Aberdeen contacted Blackburn & they gave it the go ahead, not been able to confirm as of yet tho' let you know ASAP

12-01-2014, 08:29 PM
I don't doubt that . Its the frustration of where we could of been if we had appointed right management team earlier ,and now wanting to get on with him bringing in his own player to improve us and push up the league Am impatient I realise that ,just want the best for my club as soon as possible .

Aberdeen have always backed their managers fairly well. This is just the first time since the early period of Jimmy Calderwood that a manager has actually used his budget well. To be fair to Paw Broon he did leave the start of a reasonable squad there in McGinn, Reynolds, Anderson, Consindine and a few of the young boys. McInnes has just added well to it. When we were doing well we did show ambition Petrie through a wad a Collins which he wasted. Mixu got to sign Deek, Nish, Rankin and Bamba. All for cash. Yogi was well backed for Stokes and Miller but didn't get much else. CC and Fenlon did not get much at all. Maybe Terry will be trusted and we will show a bit of ambition.

12-01-2014, 08:46 PM
can't blame them trying to get a CL spot, or is that them starting to splash the cash again, it's not all that long ago they were getting shot of the toaster in the changing room to cut costs :greengrin

Have we not lost the CL spot for 2nd place

12-01-2014, 08:57 PM
Aberdeen have always backed their managers fairly well. This is just the first time since the early period of Jimmy Calderwood that a manager has actually used his budget well. To be fair to Paw Broon he did leave the start of a reasonable squad there in McGinn, Reynolds, Anderson, Consindine and a few of the young boys. McInnes has just added well to it. When we were doing well we did show ambition Petrie through a wad a Collins which he wasted. Mixu got to sign Deek, Nish, Rankin and Bamba. All for cash. Yogi was well backed for Stokes and Miller but didn't get much else. CC and Fenlon did not get much at all. Maybe Terry will be trusted and we will show a bit of ambition.

CC signed Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Sodje, O'Hanlon, O'Connor, Agogo, Sproule, Osbourne and Griffiths (loan)

PF signed Doyle, Francomb (loan), McPake (loan then permanent), Soares (loan), Kujabi, Claros (loan), Doherty (loan), O'Donovan (loan), Clancy, Cairney, Maybury, Deegan, Kuqi, McGivern (loan), Taiwo, Murdoch, Craig (pre contract), Robertson and Done (loan)

To say CC and PF didn't get much financial backing at all is disingenuous in the least!

12-01-2014, 09:01 PM
Have we not lost the CL spot for 2nd place

according to wiki you could be right

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2014%E2%80%9315_UEFA_Champions_League

Second qualifying round
(34 teams)

30 champions from associations 16–46 (except Liechtenstein

Scotland are currently 24th

green.and.white
12-01-2014, 09:13 PM

We are all frustrated at our last 2 or 3 appointments, I get that, but we are on the up now. A lot like Aberdeen actually how after several poor managers they're finally looking like they have a good one:tbgwa:

12-01-2014, 09:22 PM
I just got a text saying Danny Wilson and David Templeton to Hibs

12-01-2014, 09:24 PM

Who from. Wilson just signed for them in the summer. Cannae see Wilson but could see Templeton on loan

Gustavo Fring
12-01-2014, 09:27 PM

please tell me this is a joke

12-01-2014, 09:27 PM
It's from a Celtic fan I know - probably just a rumour on a forum - perhaps Hearts need to get rid of anyone earning anything decent

18/03/07
12-01-2014, 09:31 PM
I heard a while ago that PF was lining up a move to bring Chris Mcguire ex sheep on loan in January,no idea if TB will follow this up, if it was true in the first place

nribs
12-01-2014, 09:35 PM
I heard a while ago that PF was lining up a move to bring Chris Mcguire ex sheep on loan in January,no idea if TB will follow this up, if it was true in the first place
He was playing for and scored for Sheffield Wednesday at the weekend.

12-01-2014, 09:54 PM

Danny Wilson isn't a touch on Hanlon, or Nelson, Or Mcgivern.. Or Forster.. Or an injured Mcpake

12-01-2014, 10:20 PM
Danny Wilson isn't a touch on Hanlon, or Nelson, Or Mcgivern.. Or Forster.. Or an injured Mcpake

Exactly, would be gutted if we signed Wilson, he's truely terrible. Would take Templeton however..

Dunderhall
12-01-2014, 10:23 PM
No decent sources but a few Wilson to Norwich rumours over the last few days.
I don't understand that one either though.

hibseleven
13-01-2014, 08:20 AM
No decent sources but a few Wilson to Norwich rumours over the last few days.
I don't understand that one either though.

I really hope not!!

13-01-2014, 08:55 AM
A wee bird told me Swanson is on the radar and might be signing soon.

13-01-2014, 09:04 AM

Is his injury record any better nowadays?

yerauldda
13-01-2014, 10:27 AM
I'm hearing Jake Taylor, a winger, from Reading.

13-01-2014, 10:35 AM

I don't recall him being that fast but a lot of ability. Injured most of the time though.

Meh :greengrin

13-01-2014, 10:39 AM
CC signed Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Sodje, O'Hanlon, O'Connor, Agogo, Sproule, Osbourne and Griffiths (loan)

PF signed Doyle, Francomb (loan), McPake (loan then permanent), Soares (loan), Kujabi, Claros (loan), Doherty (loan), O'Donovan (loan), Clancy, Cairney, Maybury, Deegan, Kuqi, McGivern (loan), Taiwo, Murdoch, Craig (pre contract), Robertson and Done (loan)

To say CC and PF didn't get much financial backing at all is disingenuous in the least!

You can add Williams, Collins, Heffernan, Nelson, Thomson, Zoubir and OTJ at least to that list!

Twa Cairpets
13-01-2014, 11:15 AM

Again, what is the evidence you have that he's not being backed?
One would have to assume that transfer/player budget funds were an integral part of TB's discussion with Petrie before he left ICT, so given that we're happy with Butcher, certainly so far, I'm prepared to assume that he is happy with the backing he has been promised.
So you think a player who has underperformed everywhere since leaving Utd and is on a healthy wedge and may/may not sign for Aberdeen is a clear indication that we lack ambition? This with a team who're having a good season after, I believe, finishing 9th for the last 4 years? There's plenty of things Hibs and Petrie can be criticised for - negative comparisons with Aberdeen's short term relative success isnt one of them.

13-01-2014, 11:18 AM

Someone's pulling your pisser.

13-01-2014, 11:18 AM

Sorry, what I meant was that they did not get the opportunity to sign players at the quality level that some of the other managers got. Or maybe they chose to use their budgets differently.

Re CC's signings - I would doubt (and hope!) that any of Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Sodje, O'Hanlon, Agogo and Sproule were on wages anywhere near what Riordan, Stokes and Liam Miller were on. G O'C came back for a very low wage - 1k per week I understand - as he was just desparate to play for us again. Griffiiths made massive sacrafices too to make his move happen. I think Osbourne probably did get a decent wage but we made money on him in the end.

Re PF's signings - Suspect only McPake will have got anywhere near the wage levels offered out by Collins, Mixu and Yogi in the past.

CC and PF always gave me the impression they had to wheel and deal as we seemed to be scrabbling around for players during their time at the club. Maybe it was a sign of their incompetence more than anything else.

I do wonder if TB's strategy should be a less is more approach and just sign 3 or 4 quality on decent wages rather than the rafts of rubbish that CC and PF seemed to "swoop" for in a relatively short space of time.

Just thinking of CC and PF makes me want to cry!

13-01-2014, 11:21 AM
Sorry, what I meant was that they did not get the opportunity to sign players at the quality level that some of the other managers got. Or maybe they chose to use their budgets differently.

Re CC's signings - I would doubt (and hope!) that any of Thornhill, Scott, Palsson, Sodje, O'Hanlon, Agogo and Sproule were on wages anywhere near what Riordan, Stokes and Liam Miller were on. G O'C came back for a very low wage - 1k per week I understand - as he was just desparate to play for us again. Griffiiths made massive sacrafices too to make his move happen. I think Osbourne probably did get a decent wage but we made money on him in the end.

Re PF's signings - Suspect only McPake will have got anywhere near the wage levels offered out by Collins, Mixu and Yogi in the past.

CC and PF always gave me the impression they had to wheel and deal as we seemed to be srablling around for players during their time at the club. Maybe it was a sign of their incompetence more than anything else.

I do wonder if TB's strategy should be a less is more approach and just sign 3 or 4 quality on decent wages rather than the rafts of rubbish that CC and PF seemed to "swoop" for in a relatively short space of time.

Just thinking of CC and PF makes me want to cry!

So were we scrabbling around wheeling and dealing or were we swooping quickly because you use both in a short space of time there?

malagahibby
13-01-2014, 11:29 AM
Hearing from a very good source that Ben Williams on the look out for a club in Manchester area and not looking to sign a new deal .

13-01-2014, 11:48 AM
Seen a few folk on twitter saying we are looking to get kyle bennet on loan from doncaster.

13-01-2014, 11:51 AM
Hearing from a very good source that Ben Williams on the look out for a club in Manchester area and not looking to sign a new deal .
Hope not as he said his family and him have settled in really well here. Also, there is a 2 year deal on the table for him. He is a excellent GK so it wouldnt surprise me if clubs are looking at him.

13-01-2014, 11:53 AM
So were we scrabbling around wheeling and dealing or were we swooping quickly because you use both in a short space of time there?

Bit of both but mainly signing pi$$ poor players when that pair were in charge.

Seen a few folk on twitter saying we are looking to get kyle bennet on loan from doncaster.

Blistening pace and good close control. No idea why that'd be a good idea?

Sniff sniff

13-01-2014, 11:59 AM
Bit of both but mainly signing pi$$ poor players when that pair were in charge.

Some yes but Mowbray and McLeish manged a lot of that too. As did Collins, Hughes etc.

Recently Williams, Nelson, Robertson, Craig, Collins, Heffernan are all pretty good sigings.

Thomson, Taiwo, Cairney, Doyle, McGivern, McPake and a few others were genrally better than we had previously.

I don't think we've been too bad in getting the ones we have in, what we've failed to to is address some of the types of players we still miss. Ones with pace and a bit more ability to get behind and get crosses and shots in. We probably thought Zoubir would be that type but we seem to have sucked any opf that early promise out of him!

13-01-2014, 12:02 PM

Cool story.

13-01-2014, 12:08 PM

:thumbsup: Heard from a 100%reliable source that big trudi has been kipping in his car in Edinburgh waiting for the yam to have their transfer embargo lifted so he can milk them for another £10k plus per week, another 110% reliable source says the only club that want him is Alloa because they are now bigger than the yam, yet another source, this time 120% reliable tells me that the embargo ain't getting lifted.

You know what these sources are like though eh?:wink:

13-01-2014, 12:14 PM
Some yes but Mowbray and McLeish manged a lot of that too. As did Collins, Hughes etc.

Recently Williams, Nelson, Robertson, Craig, Collins, Heffernan are all pretty good sigings.

Thomson, Taiwo, Cairney, Doyle, McGivern, McPake and a few others were genrally better than we had previously.

I don't think we've been too bad in getting the ones we have in, what we've failed to to is address some of the types of players we still miss. Ones with pace and a bit more ability to get behind and get crosses and shots in. We probably thought Zoubir would be that type but we seem to have sucked any opf that early promise out of him!

Yes, all managers sign good and bad this is true. Think both CC and PF (to a lesser extent) signed more bad than good though.

One thing PF did that Yogi and CC before him failed to do, was at least leave a squad that does not require a complete overhaul. That's why I'm hoping Butcher just adds 3 or 4 quality players rather than be sat here in a year's time with as big squad turn-over as we have had in recent years.

PF did sign some decent enough SPL level players that TB can work with though the squad he has left is unbalanced and has been for ages. For whatever reason Fenlon failed to sign anything resembling decent attacking and creative pacy threat. I duno if this was coz he was holding out too long on Griffiths, mis-judged James Collins or expected too much from Harris and didn't think it was a priority until he got injured.

Zoubir could be classed as one of Fenlon's many misjudgements. We didn't need some young boy risk from the French second tier on loan. We needed a game ready, seasoned SPL standard player even if Harris had been fit. Zoubir might be a good player one day but not now it seems, not what we need in our league.

If Terry can succeed where Pat failed and get a pacy winger, a creative midfielder and a decent goalscorer then I think we might be almost there. If we do this and succeed then I would acknowledge that Fenlon gets some credit for getting some of the players in place but it will not disguise the fact that his failing was getting pace, creativity and goals into the team.

Purehibee_MYB
13-01-2014, 12:21 PM
Wolves have just signed a striker... :hmmm:

13-01-2014, 12:50 PM
Wolves have signed a striker from Wigan, Nouha Dicko for around 300,000... Coventry Striker Leon Clarke has handed in a transfer request.:cb

Inch Hibs
13-01-2014, 01:03 PM

Could be the reason we are after a former ICT goalie. :wink:

13-01-2014, 01:17 PM
Could be the reason we are after a former ICT goalie. :wink:

I'm guessing (hoping) it is not Mark Brown!

Is it Regeuro - the spanish guy they had who is now at Killie and has not kicked a ball for them. I was quite surprised at that move as Killie signed Craig Samson and Regeuro last summer and would have thought that, if cash is as tight as Killie make out it is, it was a bit of a waste to sign two number 1 goalies from the previous season's top flight. Thought the money would have been better spent elsewhere.

s2hart
13-01-2014, 01:19 PM

Did he not have some beef with us in the past, something to do with not been granted a work permit to play for St Johnstone and lost the appeal by a Hibs influenced SPL committee at the time, I think it was not long after he knocked us out the Scottish cup semi for Utd!

Maybe I dreamt it or it's one of those Celtc conspiracy theories! Can anyone shed any light?

13-01-2014, 01:21 PM
Did he not have some beef with us in the past, something to do with not been granted a work permit to play for St Johnstone and lost the appeal by a Hibs influenced SPL committee at the time, I think it was not long after he knocked us out the Scottish cup semi for Utd!

Maybe I dreamt it or it's one of those Celtc conspiracy theories! Can anyone shed any light?

Yes that was about right. Had his permit or permit appeal turned down and Hibs were well respresented.

He went on to do well but at the time it was about right - he had hardly been played up to then.

hibeeleicester
13-01-2014, 01:28 PM

Which wee bird was that then?

13-01-2014, 01:28 PM
Here we are on the Scotland appeal:

The panel comprised:
Information withheld under s40(3)
Background
The original application was refused because the player had played in 2 of 23 competitive category A international games in the two years preceding the application. Trinidad and Tobago are ranked 60 in the official FIFA world rankings when averaged out over the past two years preceding the application, so that part of the criteria is met. In line with the published criteria, Dundee United sought a review of the application and an independent review panel met to hear and view the additional evidence the club had brought to the hearing. The player had originally been granted permission to play for Dundee United from June 2003, after a positive recommendation from a review panel. The current application is an extension to that permission.
Representing the club were:
Gordon Chisholm – Team manager
Spence Anderson – Club Secretary
Mike Berry – Player’s agent
The panel examined a pack presented by the club, which included details of the player’s international appearances and his playing records and conduct with Dundee United. They also viewed DVD evidence of the player scoring against South Korea in a recent friendly match and moments from a couple of games for Dundee United last season.
Club’s presentation
Spence Anderson began the club’s presentation by stating that, in the club’s opinion, the player had established himself with Dundee United over the two years he had been at the club. He was being offered a two year extension to his current contract.
Gordon Chisholm stated that the player had played in the majority of games during the past two seasons, as a starter or as substitute. Information withheld under s40(3). He stated that the player had come off the bench to score a vital winner in the Scottish league cup semi final against Hibernian which guaranteed the Club a place in European competition next season. This represented a significant financial gain for the club.
Mr Chisholm went on to state that the player was a “model professional”, a favourite with the fans and a person who was fully involved in activities with the local community. He went on to state that, despite interest from some premier league clubs, Dundee United were keen to retain the player’s services. Information withheld under s40(3)
Mike Berry gave details of the player’s international record with Trinidad & Tobago. Mr Berry stated that it was the policy of Trinidad & Tobago not to pick overseas based players for certain qualifying games depending on the quality of the opposition. Information withheld under s40(3). Mr Berry stated that a new manager had recently been appointed to Trinidad & Tobago and had included the player in the current squad.
Mr Chisholm added that the player’s lack of international games had meant that he was available to play for Dundee United, so the situation had been to their advantage.
PM asked the club exactly how many games the player had represented Dundee United in the past two seasons. Spence Anderson stated the player had made 26 starts and had been a named substitute for another 34 games. Mr Chisholm stated that the player actually played some role in the majority of those appearances as sub.
PM asked for details of the player’s contract offer. Information withheld under s40(3)
PM asked the club if the player would be a regular “starter” in the first team. Gordon Chisholm stated that the player would be in his first team squad of 16-18 players. Mr Chisholm went on to state that the club had 4 or 5 strikers to choose from, each with their own attributes. This player was one of that pool.
Panel’s recommendation
The panel voted 5 to 1 to refuse the work permit for Dundee United FC to continue to employ Jason Scotland.

s2hart
13-01-2014, 01:35 PM
Yes that was about right. Had his permit or permit appeal turned down and Hibs were well respresented.

He went on to do well but at the time it was about right - he had hardly been played up to then.

Cheers for that :thumbsup: Looked half decent in his day, getting on a bit now!

E10 Rifle
13-01-2014, 02:17 PM
Wolves have signed a striker from Wigan, Nouha Dicko for around 300,000... Coventry Striker Leon Clarke has handed in a transfer request.:cb

Clarke is on around £4k a week currently - may price us out

13-01-2014, 02:19 PM
I will be absolutely devastated if we loose big ben:boo hoo:

13-01-2014, 02:21 PM
Cheers for that :thumbsup: Looked half decent in his day, getting on a bit now!

Same age as Miller

13-01-2014, 02:24 PM
Here we are on the Scotland appeal:

The panel comprised:
Background
The original application was refused because the player had played in 2 of 23 competitive category A international games in the two years preceding the application. Trinidad and Tobago are ranked 60 in the official FIFA world rankings when averaged out over the past two years preceding the application, so that part of the criteria is met. In line with the published criteria, Dundee United sought a review of the application and an independent review panel met to hear and view the additional evidence the club had brought to the hearing. The player had originally been granted permission to play for Dundee United from June 2003, after a positive recommendation from a review panel. The current application is an extension to that permission.
Representing the club were:
Gordon Chisholm – Team manager
Spence Anderson – Club Secretary
Mike Berry – Player’s agent
The panel examined a pack presented by the club, which included details of the player’s international appearances and his playing records and conduct with Dundee United. They also viewed DVD evidence of the player scoring against South Korea in a recent friendly match and moments from a couple of games for Dundee United last season.
Club’s presentation
Spence Anderson began the club’s presentation by stating that, in the club’s opinion, the player had established himself with Dundee United over the two years he had been at the club. He was being offered a two year extension to his current contract.
Gordon Chisholm stated that the player had played in the majority of games during the past two seasons, as a starter or as substitute. Information withheld under s40(3). He stated that the player had come off the bench to score a vital winner in the Scottish league cup semi final against Hibernian which guaranteed the Club a place in European competition next season. This represented a significant financial gain for the club.
Mr Chisholm went on to state that the player was a “model professional”, a favourite with the fans and a person who was fully involved in activities with the local community. He went on to state that, despite interest from some premier league clubs, Dundee United were keen to retain the player’s services. Information withheld under s40(3)
Mike Berry gave details of the player’s international record with Trinidad & Tobago. Mr Berry stated that it was the policy of Trinidad & Tobago not to pick overseas based players for certain qualifying games depending on the quality of the opposition. Information withheld under s40(3). Mr Berry stated that a new manager had recently been appointed to Trinidad & Tobago and had included the player in the current squad.
Mr Chisholm added that the player’s lack of international games had meant that he was available to play for Dundee United, so the situation had been to their advantage.
PM asked the club exactly how many games the player had represented Dundee United in the past two seasons. Spence Anderson stated the player had made 26 starts and had been a named substitute for another 34 games. Mr Chisholm stated that the player actually played some role in the majority of those appearances as sub.
PM asked for details of the player’s contract offer. Information withheld under s40(3)
PM asked the club if the player would be a regular “starter” in the first team. Gordon Chisholm stated that the player would be in his first team squad of 16-18 players. Mr Chisholm went on to state that the club had 4 or 5 strikers to choose from, each with their own attributes. This player was one of that pool.
Panel’s recommendation
The panel voted 5 to 1 to refuse the work permit for Dundee United FC to continue to employ Jason Scotland.
Wonder why information withheld on who panel members were It was common knowledge in media at time that pat Stanton and tony Higgins were on it and there was a third person with a former hibs background I am sure .The inference. Being this panel wasn't fair as was loaded with people with Hibs connection who had a vested interest not to approve the application better use the word allegedley.

nribs
13-01-2014, 02:26 PM
Clarke is on around £4k a week currently - may price us out I think Wolves are interested in Clarke. Clarke knows about this interest and has now handed in a transfer request. I think people are getting at the fact that Wolves could have 2 New forwards this window meaning Leigh could be on his way out??? Celtic??

13-01-2014, 02:28 PM
I will be absolutely devastated if we loose big ben:boo hoo:
The clocks ticking , so appreciate him while he is still here .Would be a blow as you would think he would want to satay on board to enjoy the success. If he signs a pre contract we get nothing for him .

13-01-2014, 02:31 PM
Wonder why information withheld on who panel members were It was common knowledge in media at time that pat Stanton and tony Higgins were on it and there was a third person with a former hibs background I am sure .The inference. Being this panel wasn't fair as was loaded with people with Hibs connection who had a vested interest not to approve the application better use the word allegedley.

Don't know why the panel would not be relevant to a request?

Anyway, a few weeks later he signed for St Johnstone.

Big difference was that they had told the Home Office he would be a key player as opposed to Chisholm saying he was just another one of five in his position.

United were raging about this at the time but I can see why it happended.

13-01-2014, 02:32 PM
I think Wolves are interested in Clarke. Clarke knows about this interest and has now handed in a transfer request. I think people are getting at the fact that Wolves could have 2 New forwards this window meaning Leigh could be on his way out??? Celtic??
Who else could afford him .you get fed up of them taking any decent player and then not playing them every week depriving other clubs of his Service If you were being cynical you would say wolves signed him on new contract to do exactly this .Make a profit out him

E10 Rifle
13-01-2014, 03:12 PM
I think Wolves are interested in Clarke. Clarke knows about this interest and has now handed in a transfer request. I think people are getting at the fact that Wolves could have 2 New forwards this window meaning Leigh could be on his way out??? Celtic??

Agree with this, I think Jackett will be looking for other options up-front rather than Leigh.

13-01-2014, 03:13 PM
The clocks ticking , so appreciate him while he is still here .Would be a blow as you would think he would want to satay on board to enjoy the success. If he signs a pre contract we get nothing for him .
Is he defo leaving like???? :(

13-01-2014, 03:17 PM

I hope not. The best GK we have had for God knows how long? Did he not say that his family is settled in Edinburgh? I would give him a new player/coach deal similar to Maybury and allow Steve Marsella to do his job that he was brought in to do i.e. scouting.

13-01-2014, 03:18 PM
I would love us to put a bid in Franck Moussa at Coventry, good creative midfielder:agree:

13-01-2014, 03:20 PM
I hope not. The best GK we have had for God knows how long? Did he not say that his family is settled in Edinburgh?

He did mate. I just hope the talk of him leaving just a rumour and nothing more than that. Ben is a class act!

Inch Hibs
13-01-2014, 03:21 PM
I'm guessing (hoping) it is not Mark Brown!

Is it Regeuro - the spanish guy they had who is now at Killie and has not kicked a ball for them. I was quite surprised at that move as Killie signed Craig Samson and Regeuro last summer and would have thought that, if cash is as tight as Killie make out it is, it was a bit of a waste to sign two number 1 goalies from the previous season's top flight. Thought the money would have been better spent elsewhere.

Yep, the Spanish lad.

13-01-2014, 03:26 PM
Don't know but rumours growing .Longer he takes to sign new deal , the more we may up the offer ,.so it's whether he is playing it cute ,or really does want to move back to Manchester area.If it's latter we probably have had it

13-01-2014, 03:58 PM
I will be absolutely devastated if we lose big ben:boo hoo:

You'll get over it if it happens.

haagsehibby
13-01-2014, 03:58 PM

Hmmm !! Joined the board in May 2012 and has a total of 16 posts !!

Forgive me if I doubt the veracity of your "information".

13-01-2014, 04:16 PM
Hmmm !! Joined the board in May 2012 and has a total of 16 posts !!

Forgive me if I doubt the veracity of your "information".

I smell a yam. The yamometer is off the scale on this one.

13-01-2014, 06:29 PM
STV linking us with a pre contract move for James Vincent of Inverness.

nribs
13-01-2014, 06:33 PM
Only signed for a 1 year contract with Inverness in the summer so would be available. Not sure what kind of player he is but it looks like he has only made 8 appearances for Inverness?

13-01-2014, 06:51 PM
Only signed for a 1 year contract with Inverness in the summer so would be available. Not sure what kind of player he is but it looks like he has only made 8 appearances for Inverness?

Attacking mid i think:confused:

13-01-2014, 06:52 PM
Don't know but rumours growing .Longer he takes to sign new deal , the more we may up the offer ,.so it's whether he is playing it cute ,or really does want to move back to Manchester area.If it's latter we probably have had it

Well you keep posting that he's leaving so it's no surprise that rumours are growing! :wink: Like most posters I like Ben & agree he's our best keeper in years but he gets a far easier time on here than many of his predecessors. If Zibi or Maka had made Ben's error vs Yams they would have been slaughtered. I don't think Ben has a great resale value & I would feel confident TB et al would identify a fine replacement if Ben does decide to leave.

13-01-2014, 07:07 PM

From the highlights I seen early season before he was injured - id absolutely take him...looked to be involved in everything Inverness done attacking wise

The below was in Oct13

"INVERNESS will be without James Vincent for up to three months with a fractured tibia.

The former Stockport and Kidderminster Harriers midfielder scored on his debut for the High-flying Highlanders and has continued to impress this season.

Manager Terry Butcher, who otherwise has a full squad for Sunday's Scottish Premiership clash with Partick Thistle, said: "James will be out for two or three months with a chipped tibia.

"It's a micro-fracture so we just have to take it week by week and see what happens. Obviously we are gutted he is out but we have other people who can step in and do very well."
"

13-01-2014, 07:11 PM
Butcher is currently at the Sunderland vs Stoke U21 game.

13-01-2014, 07:14 PM
:tbgwa: any idea who he is looking?

13-01-2014, 07:15 PM
Stefan Johanssen to celtic. They are looking at Falkirk youngster Stephen Kingsley too.

13-01-2014, 07:32 PM

Oh god, will somebody please think of the children!!!

Inch Hibs
13-01-2014, 09:17 PM
Vincent would be a tremendous signing. Easily Inverness best player before he got injured.

13-01-2014, 09:53 PM
You can add Williams, Collins, Heffernan, Nelson, Thomson, Zoubir and OTJ at least to that list!

Listen Andy, at my age my original list was a pretty good feat of memory :greengrin

You're right of course and the additional names just strengthen my point :aok:

13-01-2014, 11:45 PM
Well you keep posting that he's leaving so it's no surprise that rumours are growing! :wink: Like most posters I like Ben & agree he's our best keeper in years but he gets a far easier time on here than many of his predecessors. If Zibi or Maka had made Ben's error vs Yams they would have been slaughtered. I don't think Ben has a great resale value & I would feel confident TB et al would identify a fine replacement if Ben does decide to leave.
Well that's me Telt Rumour officially Ended:lips seal:tsk tsk::shhhsh!::shotdowni

14-01-2014, 08:35 AM

I thought he was more a ball winning, no nonsense but good passing central midfielder? Like a Jim Goodwin but less dirty and one who can actually play football.

Might be a good anchor in a midfield three with Craig and Robertson either side of him.

Heard Terry speak very well of him earlier in the season and he said he was probably ICT's best and most important signing of last summer. Seemed to be the only one of ICT's summer signing who made it into the first XI at the start of the season.

14-01-2014, 08:42 AM
Don't know if its been mentioned but butcher is supposedly looking at jason scotland??......34 years old

14-01-2014, 08:46 AM
Don't know if its been mentioned but butcher is supposedly looking at jason scotland??......34 years old
You said vine was going to Wycombe Wanderers but he is still here Any update on that one 34 is too old for a striker I think .look at Heffs lack of pace .and he is younger than that .

14-01-2014, 08:54 AM
Surprised we haven't been linked with Goodwillie as we need a goal scorer and he would appear to fit the bill though his form at Utd wasn't the best. We'd probably lose out to Aberdeen if they are keen but surely we'd be more appealing than St Johnstone.

I'm hoping Terry has his eye on someone else, a particular target and he is holding out for them hence the reason we have not really been linked with any of the more obvious targets out there.

:tin hat: firmly on here but any thoughts on Andy Driver? Sounds as though he is available and we could do with some natural width. His fitness and form have not been the best for a couple of years now but would he be worth a gamble till the end of the season?

14-01-2014, 08:56 AM
You said vine was going to Wycombe Wanderers but he is still here Any update on that one 34 is too old for a striker I think .look at Heffs lack of pace .and he is younger than that .

Don't think it has anything to do with age really. Kenny Miller is 34 and plenty of us would jump at him coming here. I just wouldn't really want Jason Scotland. Don't know why, it just doesn't fill me with excitement.

Gustavo Fring
14-01-2014, 09:39 AM
daily record sayin motherwell and aberdeen are after scotland too

what a shocker

14-01-2014, 10:05 AM
Don't think it has anything to do with age really. Kenny Miller is 34 and plenty of us would jump at him coming here. I just wouldn't really want Jason Scotland. Don't know why, it just doesn't fill me with excitement.

I agree about Jason Scotland ... Would not get me out of my seat I am afraid. !

14-01-2014, 10:08 AM
In today's Daily Express:-

"Dunfermline boss Jim Jefferies is weighing up a move for Dundee United defender Ross Smith, 21, following a tip-off from friend and Hearts Assistant manager Billy Brown."

I can't for the life of me understand why Billy is not recommending that his own club should sign this guy.

14-01-2014, 10:26 AM

Sweet!

14-01-2014, 10:32 AM

what a shocker

Can see that maybe, given his links with Derek McInnes from their St Johnstone time, there could be something in this. Haven't really followed Jason Scotland's career but it was the sort of signing I would have regarded as decent when we were linked with him in 2007.

Even then, I wasn't that excited as he wasn't that great at Dundee United and was only in the first division with St Johnstone but he did surprise me with how well he did in England. Don't think I've reall heard much about him in the last 3 years or so. That's why I'm not too excited about the prospect of us getting him.

14-01-2014, 10:37 AM
Can see that maybe, given his links with Derek McInnes from their St Johnstone time, there could be something in this. Haven't really followed Jason Scotland's career but it was the sort of signing I would have regarded as decent when we were linked with him in 2007.

Even then, I wasn't that excited as he wasn't that great at Dundee United and was only in the first division with St Johnstone but he did surprise me with how well he did in England. Don't think I've reall heard much about him in the last 3 years or so. That's why I'm not too excited about the prospect of us getting him.

Doesn't get the blood flowing for me either I'm afraid. In fact I feel slightly disappointed with this news.

14-01-2014, 10:48 AM
The way that TBs management team work is to get players whose careers are not going great bring them in build them and get them playing above themselves. We need to get used to signing players who we don't know or have struggled down South. Just look at Billy McKay , Northampton reserves. If we had signed them lots on here would have accused PF and RP of going for a cheap option. We need to trust TB, MM and SM judgement. They have proven they can spot a player and can achieve a level of league success that we have not had in years

14-01-2014, 10:55 AM
The way that TBs management team work is to get players whose careers are not going great bring them in build them and get them playing above themselves. We need to get used to signing players who we don't know or have struggled down South. Just look at Billy McKay , Northampton reserves. If we had signed them lots on here would have accused PF and RP of going for a cheap option. We need to trust TB, MM and SM judgement. They have proven they can spot a player and can achieve a level of league success that we have not had in years

Finally we have a proper management team.

Be patient and sit back, let them build up Hibs.

These are good times, clean slate for all players at the club (can't honestly believe the improvement in Lewis, Hanlon etc)... and I fully trust in TB and the team with any new players coming in.

SM will no doubt find some gems, we just need to have patience with the new players coming in. With a proper manager in place and we can all see improvements though, I am sure players will have time to settle.

14-01-2014, 10:56 AM

By years do you mean about 3?

Hibdan12
14-01-2014, 11:04 AM
here is an article on butcher at the Sunderland u21 game. http://www.hartlepoolmail.co.uk/sport/football/hartlepool-utd/hartlepool-united-boss-colin-cooper-and-hibs-manager-terry-butcher-watch-sunderland-1-6370911#.UtUSQ-x1fMI.twitter

14-01-2014, 11:04 AM
By years do you mean about 3?

Nearly 4 years since we finished anywhere respectable in the league. Could be argued that (in a league minus Rangers and with a half dead Hearts) getting ICT to 4th is the equivalent of getting Hibs to second when you consider resources of both clubs.

Cabbage_Patch
14-01-2014, 11:09 AM
:rolleyes: Not the marquee signing I was hoping for. He did okay in England but forgive me if im not dancing about the room at this link.

Surprised we havent been linked with Billy MacKay how much realistically would Inverness want for him? I suspect it wouldnt be cheap but we could afford it and surely must be seen as an investment

14-01-2014, 11:17 AM
St Joohnstone are after Goodwillie, aswell as Aberdeen & Oldham according to Sky Sports Transfer Centre. Also, former Villa & Swansea striker Luke Moore has been made available for nothing.:cb

14-01-2014, 11:25 AM
:rolleyes: Not the marquee signing I was hoping for. He did okay in England but forgive me if im not dancing about the room at this link.

Surprised we havent been linked with Billy MacKay how much realistically would Inverness want for him? I suspect it wouldnt be cheap but we could afford it and surely must be seen as an investment

Is McKay not on a long-ish term deal? Thought ICT I read somewhere ICT were looking for £1m for him. They might not get that but they could well get 750k. Even if the price 500k I'd say that is out of our reach, especially with 200k (or whatever it was) spent on collins not that long ago.

Our only hope of getting McKay is that ICT need to sell him and he makes it clear he wants to link up with Butcher and Malpass again and Hibs are the only team he'll go to.

GraniteCityHibs
14-01-2014, 11:40 AM
Jason Scotland hasn't exactly fallen off the face of the earth.

20 goals in 87 apps in three years at Ipswich who finished mid table all of those 3 seasons.

8 goals in 19 apps for struggling Barnsley this season.

Maybe not the Scotland of 06/07 but it's all about whether TB thinks he would improve us.

14-01-2014, 11:43 AM
Is there not some sort of history with hibs and JS? Did he not get a work permit rejected and the panel were all ex hibs. Thought he came out with some guff about hibs at the time.

GraniteCityHibs
14-01-2014, 11:47 AM
St Joohnstone are after Goodwillie, aswell as Aberdeen & Oldham according to Sky Sports Transfer Centre. Also, former Villa & Swansea striker Luke Moore has been made available for nothing.:cb

While I'm wiki'ikg stats etc:

231 career apps / 35 goals

14-01-2014, 11:48 AM

Bullsh@t ive heard the opposite and that he wants to stay as his family love it in edinburgh!

14-01-2014, 11:55 AM
I'm hearing we may be back in for Goodwillie on loan. Dons, St. Johnstone and us all interested along with a League one club.

14-01-2014, 11:57 AM
Someone at 34 is obviously going to be a short term fix. If Scotland could come in and score a few goals between now and the end of the season, and possibly into next year, then fair enough. When did we last pick someone up who had been scoring goals quite regularly in the Championship?

The talk of Billy McKay is unrealistic. They knocked back 300k last year and his value has increased since. He's going to be well out of our price range.

Nothing major is going to happen this month. The signings that are for building a team for the future won't happen until the summer.

14-01-2014, 12:06 PM

what a shocker

He was offered to 5 spfl teams

nribs
14-01-2014, 12:10 PM
Jason Scotland hasn't exactly fallen off the face of the earth.

20 goals in 87 apps in three years at Ipswich who finished mid table all of those 3 seasons.

8 goals in 19 apps for struggling Barnsley this season.

Maybe not the Scotland of 06/07 but it's all about whether TB thinks he would improve us.

I don't think he has scored 8 goals in 19 appearances for Barnsley this season? http://www.barnsleyfc.co.uk/team/player-profile/index.aspx?playerid=275674&tcmuri=628704 2 in 23 I make it with 19 of those coming of the subs bench. Could be one of the reasons it's a strugling Barnsley team :confused:

14-01-2014, 12:11 PM
Someone at 34 is obviously going to be a short term fix. If Scotland could come in and score a few goals between now and the end of the season, and possibly into next year, then fair enough. When did we last pick someone up who had been scoring goals quite regularly in the Championship? The talk of Billy McKay is unrealistic. They knocked back 300k last year and his value has increased since. He's going to be well out of our price range. Nothing major is going to happen this month. The signings that are for building a team for the future won't happen until the summer.

Your forgetting one really important thing

Both Mackay and May are going to sign for the yams in the Championship after £300,000 bids are put in and accepted for both.

Both are willing to come and take pay cuts.

Source - Brokeback a while back

14-01-2014, 12:12 PM
I'm hearing we may be back in for Goodwillie on loan. Dons, St. Johnstone and us all interested along with a League one club.

I posted earlier I would take him just to stop him punishing us! At present I believe his first & last career goals were against us!

14-01-2014, 12:37 PM
I agree about Jason Scotland ... Would not get me out of my seat I am afraid. !

What if he was passing you on the way to his seat after going for a Pie and Bovril?

He's a big lad, I would move out his way :wink:

It's in the Daily Record (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/hibs-eye-up-bid-barnsleys-3020668) now, although they probably got the rumour from here.

14-01-2014, 12:43 PM
Hull close to signing shane long and jelavic. They will really improve hull
I'd say

14-01-2014, 12:46 PM
Is there not some sort of history with hibs and JS? Did he not get a work permit rejected and the panel were all ex hibs. Thought he came out with some guff about hibs at the time.

C'mon Paul, keep up. Andy74 covered this on page 5.

14-01-2014, 12:51 PM
Hull close to signing shane long and jelavic. They will really improve hull
I'd say

14-01-2014, 01:11 PM
here is an article on butcher at the Sunderland u21 game. http://www.hartlepoolmail.co.uk/sport/football/hartlepool-utd/hartlepool-united-boss-colin-cooper-and-hibs-manager-terry-butcher-watch-sunderland-1-6370911#.UtUSQ-x1fMI.twitter

Proudly wearing the badge too !! Good on ya Terry :thumbsup:

14-01-2014, 01:22 PM
C'mon Paul, keep up. Andy74 covered this on page 5.

Whoops. I won't let this happen again :)

jae
14-01-2014, 01:27 PM
Adam Mitchell from Sunderlands development squad? Mentioned to me last night via text. Taken with pinch of salt as source is not ITK as far as im aware. But if true remember where you heard it first!!!!!

14-01-2014, 01:30 PM
Adam Mitchell from Sunderlands development squad? Mentioned to me last night via text. Taken with pinch of salt as source is not ITK as far as im aware. But if true remember where you heard it first!!!!!

So it's no Fletcher then

jae
14-01-2014, 01:44 PM
So it's no Fletcher then

Nah I think he is off to the yams. Playing for nothing with a £10 Direct Debit to FOH thrown in

14-01-2014, 01:52 PM
Someone at 34 is obviously going to be a short term fix. If Scotland could come in and score a few goals between now and the end of the season, and possibly into next year, then fair enough. When did we last pick someone up who had been scoring goals quite regularly in the Championship?

The talk of Billy McKay is unrealistic. They knocked back 300k last year and his value has increased since. He's going to be well out of our price range.

Nothing major is going to happen this month. The signings that are for building a team for the future won't happen until the summer.

Id personally find signing Scotland pointless. Hes 35 in February and Im really not sure what he would bring these days. Id much rather see us sticking with what we have at the moment, who whilst not prolific, have been a fairly important part of a much improved team in the recent games.

The idea of scouting the U21 and reserve leagues as suggested in the story above is something that I find much more exciting as we might be able to pick up someone with more of a long term future at the club and more suited to what we need (and arguably the reason we brought in Marsella).

14-01-2014, 02:23 PM
Id personally find signing Scotland pointless. Hes 35 in February and Im really not sure what he would bring these days. Id much rather see us sticking with what we have at the moment, who whilst not prolific, have been a fairly important part of a much improved team in the recent games.

The idea of scouting the U21 and reserve leagues as suggested in the story above is something that I find much more exciting as we might be able to pick up someone with more of a long term future at the club and more suited to what we need (and arguably the reason we brought in Marsella).

I'm just going on the basis that I don't see much happening in this particular window. if he came in and scored a few goals between now and the end of the season then I don't have a problem with that.

In terms of scouting the u21 leagues down south that, I agree, is a more appealing window personally. With it being January I'd think anything we pick up there would be short term again. Long term I'm not so sure we are going to see too much benefit from those type of trips until the summer. Signing the likes of Scotland doesn't particularly excite me, I just think anything we get in this month will just be to help us for the rest of this season with the real stuff be done come the summer.

David_D
14-01-2014, 02:34 PM
Is that possibly Harris. Getting photos after agreeing a new deal?

14-01-2014, 02:34 PM
looks like Messi fae the back :)

14-01-2014, 02:36 PM
I don't think Hibs do media unveilings of new players.

nribs
14-01-2014, 02:38 PM
Hibernian Fans ‏@HibernianFans (https://twitter.com/HibernianFans)2m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFans/status/423099610249580544)
"New signing being unveiled at HFC to the media about an hour ago 👍 pic.twitter.com/87RexCL6m8 (http://t.co/87RexCL6m8)"
Looks like Benji??

14-01-2014, 02:39 PM
Clearly looks like Harris to me. Good news

14-01-2014, 02:41 PM
Alex Harris by the looks of him.

scott7_0(Prague)
14-01-2014, 02:44 PM
Its Harris, promoting something... Scotbet for the weekend, New contract.... time will tell.

14-01-2014, 02:44 PM
TB says we have no interest in Scotland.

14-01-2014, 02:45 PM
Paul Barnes (@PAULiBARNES)
14/01/2014 14:42
Terry Butcher says Hibs are not interested in signing Jason Scotland

Paul Barnes (@PAULiBARNES)
14/01/2014 14:42
Butcher confirms Hibs interest in Inverness midfielder James Vincent but says if a deal goes ahead it would be in the summer

StarMan10
14-01-2014, 03:09 PM
I see the spfl have amended the rule that stopped Mullen being sent on loan to Raith. Obviously doesn't matter now as he clearly wasn't in Butchers plans and was released.

www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/25731627

Leishy1995
14-01-2014, 03:10 PM
That does look like Harris from behind

14-01-2014, 03:13 PM

Ooh er missus.

green.and.white
14-01-2014, 03:17 PM

You would know :wink:

BarneyK
14-01-2014, 03:31 PM
If that's a new signing being unveiled to the media, why are the media not talking about it? More likely it's just a photograph taken to go with a story about how he's glad to be back from injury IMO.

14-01-2014, 03:34 PM
You would know :wink:

14-01-2014, 03:34 PM
It's Harris folks

http://www.snspix.com/image/9176448_400_400_1_0_fit_6_2e245b6d900d763443c543ce 3faedd8b.jpg

14-01-2014, 03:36 PM
110% Harris:agree:

Purehibee_MYB
14-01-2014, 03:55 PM
It's Harris folks

http://www.snspix.com/image/9176448_400_400_1_0_fit_6_2e245b6d900d763443c543ce 3faedd8b.jpg

Thank you for clearing that up Steve.:smug:

Bad Habits
14-01-2014, 04:03 PM
It's Harris folks

The copyright stuff makes it look like he's been eating Nutella

14-01-2014, 04:04 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20140114/butchers-transfer-update_2262950_3620627

14-01-2014, 04:44 PM
Harris has signed a new contract, couldnt tell you till when though, great news :top marks:flag:

Gustavo Fring
14-01-2014, 04:47 PM
Harris has signed a new contract, couldnt tell you till when though, great news :top marks:flag:

probably the most important signing we will make this window

14-01-2014, 04:49 PM
@SkySportsPeteO: Leeds and Wigan are ready to rival Celtic for Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths. #LUFC #WAFC #Celtic #WWFC

Purehibee_MYB
14-01-2014, 04:52 PM

:hyper:

GraniteCityHibs
14-01-2014, 04:59 PM
I don't think he has scored 8 goals in 19 appearances for Barnsley this season? http://www.barnsleyfc.co.uk/team/player-profile/index.aspx?playerid=275674&tcmuri=628704 2 in 23 I make it with 19 of those coming of the subs bench. Could be one of the reasons it's a strugling Barnsley team :confused:

Just checked. You're right it's since January 2013 when he joined.

14-01-2014, 05:02 PM
@SkySportsPeteO: Leeds and Wigan are ready to rival Celtic for Wolves striker Leigh Griffiths. #LUFC #WAFC #Celtic #WWFC
Nooooooooooooo!!!! :boo hoo:

14-01-2014, 05:09 PM
Nooooooooooooo!!!! :boo hoo:

If Leigh's not signing for us (this time around,) then I'd rather he went to Leeds or Wigan as opposed to Celtic!

14-01-2014, 06:13 PM
I've taken my eye off the ball with all the goings on at Tynecastle. Have we actually signed anybody this window yet?

Gustavo Fring
14-01-2014, 06:17 PM
I've taken my eye off the ball with all the goings on at Tynecastle. Have we actually signed anybody this window yet?

no

AllyF
14-01-2014, 06:29 PM

McCormack and Griffiths up front would be a special pairing.

14-01-2014, 06:36 PM

So you don't do multi-tasking?

14-01-2014, 06:39 PM
I find multi tasking difficult but hope to be able to jump up and down and yell at the same time at Tynie on 29th March (and celebrate their relegation and get pi**ed) I look forward to that day of multi tasking!!

14-01-2014, 06:50 PM
The thoughts of SPL club supporters on possible signings are given here:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/25534679

Unfortunately they seem to have missed on club out when compiling the list.

Can't think why?

14-01-2014, 07:05 PM
CFR Cluj want the tattoo'd freak Stevenson, just been said on Sportsound.

14-01-2014, 07:32 PM

Says he has turned it down on ssn

14-01-2014, 07:58 PM
Spoilsport I had forgotten momentarily that we still haven't signed anyone.

14-01-2014, 08:00 PM
So you don't do multi-tasking?

Whats multi tasking?

14-01-2014, 08:02 PM

Fc cluj,has that got something to do with toilets?

14-01-2014, 08:24 PM
Fc cluj,has that got something to do with toilets?

Is that the club managed by ex Yams boss Paulo Sergio? ISTR they got to the Champions' League group stage last season.