View Full Version : Your pre-Derby preparations ?

30-12-2013, 03:52 PM
Thought it would be interesting to see what everyone had planned before Thursday nights massive game.

Anyone travelling back for it ?

Pre-match drinks ? - where and when's everyone starting ?!

Any pre-match rituals?

30-12-2013, 03:55 PM
We're going for Lunch at Ocean terminal, before going for a few games of pool, then heading to the Iona around half 4. Can't wait!!

yeezus.
30-12-2013, 04:02 PM
Not too early a start from Stranraer for me. Now I'm off the drink I don't have to worry about pints so I'll probably have lunch in the hotel on Leith Walk and head to the programme shop (does anyone know if it will be open​)?

30-12-2013, 04:03 PM
Working till 5 then to Four in Hand

30-12-2013, 04:05 PM
Not planned that far ahead, but I'll probably head in for 5 wearing my new lucky scarf ( got my hands on one of the cashmere ones and wore it yesterday and it brought us a 3-0 win)

30-12-2013, 04:11 PM
Meeting my old man about 2pm and will probably start off in the hibs club.

Hibs07p
30-12-2013, 04:16 PM
Was thinking of going to La Favorita on Leith Walk with my son after finishing work at 2.00pm, or Tony Macaronis in Bruntsfield, before heading towards the pubs in Leith. Final arrangements will be made on Wednesday night.

30-12-2013, 04:18 PM
Got my Hibs onesie and raring to go. :greengrin

andy1875
30-12-2013, 04:20 PM
Four in hand for 3ish.

Canny wait.

30-12-2013, 04:29 PM
Taking the bairn so not drinking and working at 9am Friday. So over to the parents for scoff first then down to the game with my old man and the bairn.

30-12-2013, 04:33 PM

Photos of that please! ;-)

Unfortunately cannot make it but will be in the pub in Leven watching the game. Only a few pints as out on the Fri hopefully having a proper celebration.

HibeeSince82
30-12-2013, 04:36 PM
Not too early a start from Stranraer for me. Now I'm off the drink I don't have to worry about pints so I'll probably have lunch in the hotel on Leith Walk and head to the programme shop (does anyone know if it will be open​)?

I spoke to the guy the other day and he said he was gonna be open for the derby

30-12-2013, 04:40 PM
I wasn't even going until about an hour ago as I was originally working until 8:30pm.

Got someone to swap with me though so I now finish at 4:30pm so I'll be home for around 5ish and then heading through to the Leith San Siro. Should hopefully get there about 6:30pm.

Absolutely delighted that I'm going to be there now! :thumbsup:

Bring them on! :thumbsup:

Jay
30-12-2013, 04:41 PM
Working til 7.30 :( quickest change ever then home like a rocket to watch it on the telly box :(

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

30-12-2013, 04:48 PM
First day back at work and finishing about half past five. Will be heading down the road after that.
Pre-game ritual will be the same as always. Not getting my hopes up and not making guesses about how many we will win by.

Kiddo
30-12-2013, 05:34 PM
Up early doors, head to a cafe for a cooked breakfast pub for 1-2ish, head into leith about 6ish.

30-12-2013, 05:39 PM
Sleeping as long as possible as i have to work a night shift right after the game.

30-12-2013, 05:41 PM

One being worn AT match Sunday :rolleyes: he was young but even so...great for the House but outside :confused:

30-12-2013, 05:49 PM
Drinks in the flat then prob 4 in hand late afternoon. Maybe squeeze in some lunch at The Mash Tun

G-Reg
30-12-2013, 05:56 PM
Drinks in the flat then prob 4 in hand late afternoon. Maybe squeeze in some lunch at The Mash Tun

Now Nade knows where you will be eating lunch

HibeeSince85
30-12-2013, 06:27 PM
Missed the last 3 home games through work but off for this one.

I'll be meeting my brother early afternoon, few bottles in his(got a ton of drink left over from Xmas) then onto The Loch Inn for about 5ish to soak up the pre game atmosphere.

First game under Butcher for me so looking forward to a good performance and hopefully a win.

yeezus.
30-12-2013, 06:37 PM
[/B]

I spoke to the guy the other day and he said he was gonna be open for the derby

Excellent thank you, hope that he has a copy of the Hibs Stranraer programme - I missed it when it was on ebay.

30-12-2013, 06:43 PM
Excellent thank you, hope that he has a copy of the Hibs Stranraer programme - I missed it when it was on ebay.

Someone on here will have one.

yeezus.
30-12-2013, 06:45 PM
Someone on here will have one.

I was tempted to put up a thread asking but given how good a game it was I doubted anyone will part with it :greengrin

30-12-2013, 07:19 PM
Travelling from Galway to Belfast, and will hopefully be able to find a pub somewhere nearby our hotel in Belfast for the night to view the game. Disappointed not to be home to see it and with missing the festive fixtures will be bursting to see the Hibs again up at Tannadice on Sunday afternoon.

30-12-2013, 07:20 PM
Now Nade knows where you will be eating lunch

Aww man, this is how it happened last time as well! I'll never learn...

Magnifique
30-12-2013, 07:42 PM
Photos of that please! ;-)

Unfortunately cannot make it but will be in the pub in Leven watching the game. Only a few pints as out on the Fri hopefully having a proper celebration.

What pub Aldo and do they have a big screen?

Will be there for auld years night etc might stick around

OsloHibs
30-12-2013, 08:14 PM
Finish work at 1pm then off on the slopes till 4pm, then home to watch it online.
Nervous, Excited & wishing I was there..

HibeeMcGinn1
30-12-2013, 08:18 PM
Somewhere on Rose Street for about 12/1ish with .Sean. then down to the Nip around 5 ish I'm guessing.

30-12-2013, 08:20 PM
What pub Aldo and do they have a big screen? Will be there for auld years night etc might stick around

I think it will be the Caley Hotel. They do a good pint of Stella. But weather might come into play. If it's pouring might just be boozer round corner The Den (local). Only haying a couple as hopefully out celebrating on the Fri nite.

It has a big F off telly in the wee lounge bit as you go in from the Main Street. Usually sit in there.

Magnifique
30-12-2013, 08:28 PM
I think it will be the Caley Hotel. They do a good pint of Stella. But weather might come into play. If it's pouring might just be boozer round corner The Den (local). Only haying a couple as hopefully out celebrating on the Fri nite.

It has a big F off telly in the wee lounge bit as you go in from the Main Street. Usually sit in there.

Aye I have been in the caley before might well pop in there

30-12-2013, 08:31 PM
Aye I have been in the caley before might well pop in there

Aye go for it. The Windsors got an even bigger Telly but the folk in there like the juke box more than footie so the telly is turned down. Will let you know before the game if your about.

30-12-2013, 08:33 PM
I actually thought you meant the Caley Hotel in Edinburgh, there! I know us Hibbies are a classy bunch, but..... :greengrin

30-12-2013, 08:37 PM
I actually thought you meant the Caley Hotel in Edinburgh, there! I know us Hibbies are a classy bunch, but..... :greengrin

Ha ha. You trying to say The Caley in Leven isn't classy like?? ;-)

Magnifique
30-12-2013, 08:48 PM
Aye go for it. The Windsors got an even bigger Telly but the folk in there like the juke box more than footie so the telly is turned down. Will let you know before the game if your about.

No probs I will keep an eye on .net during the day

30-12-2013, 08:49 PM
No probs I will keep an eye on .net during the day

30-12-2013, 08:56 PM
Leaving Manchester on the Megabus at 9am and arriving in Edinburgh for 2.30pm. Meeting up with my mate for a couple of games of pool and then heading to his apartment to get ready and off to ER to cheer on the Hibees!

30-12-2013, 09:13 PM
Phoenix for 2pm then 12 of us booked into Khushi's for a curry at 4pm. Going to be a cracking day.....and even better night!

30-12-2013, 09:27 PM
I will be in Madrid on holiday missing the match due to the switch from Wednesday to Thursday.

30-12-2013, 10:07 PM
I'll be biting my fingers all day, nervous, twitching.. then pure excitement- to watch it online!!! Miss Leith on days like this. Do us proud Hibs!!!

Wakeyhibee
30-12-2013, 10:15 PM
Midday train from Preston, check in hotel on Pilrig then Persevere, four in hand etc for 4 ish :greengrin

30-12-2013, 10:31 PM
sadly I'm working until 6.30 so won't be able to have a pre-match pint/warm up, will be a rush job as it is to get from work to the stadium.

however, I'm off on friday so when we win (I'm feeling positive) i'll be having 1 or 2 celebratory drinks afterwards :greengrin

TheReg!
30-12-2013, 10:52 PM
Taking the Lizard to Ormni centre around two, then down the walk for a wee pub crawl, after game some scoff at la fravorita, then hame. Back on it on Friday as well.

30-12-2013, 10:55 PM
Heading into town around 12/1. Few boozers on Rose Street, then head to the Nip and Four In Hand via Lloyd's. Cannae wait!

DTS
31-12-2013, 12:15 AM
Cosmos at the omni centre for late lunch around 3 with my girlfriend who is experiencing her first game against the yams then heading to a bar on Rose street

31-12-2013, 12:19 AM
Cosmos at the omni centre for late lunch around 3 with my girlfriend who is experiencing her first game against the yams then heading to a bar on Rose street
Enjoy Am still waiting for your prediction so I can put it on at the bookies

DTS
31-12-2013, 12:28 AM
Enjoy Am still waiting for your prediction so I can put it on at the bookies

For me it's got to be 3-0 so I'd be putting the handicap bets on

31-12-2013, 01:12 PM
Working thursday... home, dinner and settle down in front of TV with some beers

31-12-2013, 01:18 PM
Already started, in pub with a mixture of us and THEM.... Some good banter (we are still sober though) :D

31-12-2013, 01:22 PM
Beer, beer some mair beer, a couple of malts then lots mair beer :cheers:

**** the h****s

31-12-2013, 01:24 PM
Beer, beer some mair beer, a couple of malts then lots mair beer :cheers: **** the h****s

Sounds like a gid nite ma man. And all that before the game. What about after? (Or do I need to ask?)

31-12-2013, 01:26 PM
Sounds like a gid nite ma man. And all that before the game. What about after? (Or do I need to ask?)Got tae stick with the routine mate, it'll be mair beer :cheers:

31-12-2013, 01:32 PM
Got tae stick with the routine mate, it'll be mair beer :cheers:

Ha ha thought that but didn't want to 2nd guess you. But what nae whiskey?

31-12-2013, 01:36 PM
Ha ha thought that but didn't want to 2nd guess you. But what nae whiskey?Nae doubt there'll be some of that in there too. :wink:

31-12-2013, 01:46 PM
Vittorias, Leith Walk. A convivial gathering of Hibees and then onto ER.

31-12-2013, 01:56 PM
Nae doubt there'll be some of that in there too. :wink:

Wish I could of joined you matey to buy you a birthday dram. Sure the rest if the guys will see to that tho?

31-12-2013, 01:59 PM
Wish I could of joined you matey to buy you a birthday dram. Sure the rest if the guys will see to that tho?I'll no hold my breath waiting on that :greengrin I'll just buy my ain and count anything else as a bonus. :greengrin

31-12-2013, 02:01 PM
I'll no hold my breath waiting on that :greengrin I'll just buy my ain and count anything else as a bonus. :greengrin

Ah the deep pocket short arm brigade. :-D

Enjoy it anyway mate and when we get a win you can get pissed and fall hame!

31-12-2013, 03:07 PM
I'll no hold my breath waiting on that :greengrin I'll just buy my ain and count anything else as a bonus. :greengrin

:rolleyes: :greengrin

31-12-2013, 03:11 PM
4IH/Hibs Club for us.

31-12-2013, 05:12 PM
Pint at Preston station before getting the train up. In the two Wetherspoons on George St for half 1 for dinner and booze, check in the hotel then on to Mather's, Mash Tun and Four in Hand.

31-12-2013, 06:06 PM
Pint at Preston station before getting the train up.

The Old Vic or The Railway?

31-12-2013, 06:18 PM
The Old Vic or The Railway?

Will be the one on the station, we've only got 20 minutes between changing trains. Plus I have a discount card!

Seven Zero
31-12-2013, 06:27 PM
Foot of the walk for 12:30. Then pint in the Iona, few pints in the Four and Hand and then onto the Hibs club until Kick off! I expect a messy day and an electric atmosphere all around Leith! GGTTH!

31-12-2013, 07:06 PM
Round of golf in the morning and then off to a pub for some grub a pint and the game.

31-12-2013, 08:01 PM
:rolleyes: :greengrin

Yes, quite SH :rolleyes: :greengrin I'll remember that :agree: :wink:

31-12-2013, 08:05 PM
Drink, lots of. :party:

31-12-2013, 08:08 PM
Yes, quite SH :rolleyes: :greengrin I'll remember that :agree: :wink:Funny the only two (the auld team) that bit :a bite: tae that were the two I wisnae talking about :greengrin

It was for the younger team :fishin: :greengrin

31-12-2013, 08:25 PM
Funny the only two that actually buy the drinks bit :a bite: they were the two I wisnae talking about :greengrin

It was for the younger team i.e. Steve :fishin: :greengrin

Fixed it for you :tee hee:

31-12-2013, 08:26 PM
Fixed it for you :tee hee::greengrin

31-12-2013, 08:29 PM

Percy BH? :wink: :greengrin "He's deid" :faf:

hibbymick
31-12-2013, 08:36 PM

Are you and Dogger up for the game ?

Jonny1875
01-01-2014, 12:59 PM
Travelling from Galway to Belfast, and will hopefully be able to find a pub somewhere nearby our hotel in Belfast for the night to view the game. Disappointed not to be home to see it and with missing the festive fixtures will be bursting to see the Hibs again up at Tannadice on Sunday afternoon.
Should be easy enough if theres no other football on usually have to ask in most places, not to many hibs and hearts fans in Belfast

01-01-2014, 01:03 PM
Best boozer for a sing song pre match ?

01-01-2014, 03:57 PM
Got work tomorrow. Full day in the office. Back home, see the wife and kids, then head over to my Dads to watch the game in glorious HD on his stupidly massive telly.

01-01-2014, 05:16 PM

Persevere :thumbsup:

yeezus.
01-01-2014, 05:24 PM
What time will the Four in Hand be getting busy tomorrow? I know a few folk couldn't get back in after the game last time...

yeezus.
01-01-2014, 05:25 PM
Should be easy enough if theres no other football on usually have to ask in most places, not to many hibs and hearts fans in Belfast

Are you making the trip across mate?

01-01-2014, 05:44 PM
My preparation is to accept that I will miss the whole match flying back to LAX. Might get to watch last 10 mins if it's on FoxSportsPlus or live stream from hibernian tv xtra. Good luck to Hibs, beat the maroon cheats!
:tbgwa:

WellingtonHibby
01-01-2014, 08:22 PM
Ill be getting up an seven. Preparing a breakfast of champions. I think I week acquire done Scottish mooring Ross for the occasion. I'll then be retiring to the study, Still bedressibgowned and enjoying the action courtesy of hibs tv

brisbanehibs
01-01-2014, 11:47 PM
Early to bed, up at 4.00 a.m., wake up my son, get Hibs tops on then watch the game on Setanta before celebratory beers and sing song in the pool from 7.00a.m onwards. Neighbours are on notice. :-)

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

01-01-2014, 11:49 PM

Loch Inn

marti1875
02-01-2014, 07:52 AM
Already on my 3rd bottle of beer!!....but i am in Thailand and it's 3:50pm, :greengrin
My plan is lots of beer this afternoon, back to apartment for some truly awful Thai vodka type of stuff..sleep and wake up and watch the game online at 02:45am with a beer in bed and probably piss off my neighbours with the noise i will be making as the goals rattle in...:greengrin

02-01-2014, 08:13 AM
Vittorias for a nice bit of Scran then the Hibs club. Can't wait.

02-01-2014, 09:19 AM
Are you and Dogger up for the game ?

He's up at his mums now matey, he's been up for a few days.

02-01-2014, 09:47 AM
Over to The Swan at Earlston for 3pm a couple of pints in there. On to the minibus and head for the Loch Inn for a few more. Taking my defacto father in law ... he's a big Crewe fan, but has seen the Hibs quite a few times since I hooked up with his stepdaughter :greengrin

C'mon the Hibees !!!

02-01-2014, 10:32 AM
Disastrous start to the day, I've somehow manage to burst my bag of cans by walking in to a bench in Bolton bus station. Nearly missed our train for having to restock at Morrison's.

hibbymick
02-01-2014, 10:41 AM
Disastrous start to the day, I've somehow manage to burst my bag of cans by walking in to a bench in Bolton bus station. Nearly missed our train for having to restock at Morrison's.

hibbymick
02-01-2014, 10:42 AM
He's up at his mums now matey, he's been up for a few days.

cheers Gaz

02-01-2014, 10:42 AM
Situation retrieved, the bar is open at Preston station so we can get a swift one before the 10:57 to the capital.

02-01-2014, 10:50 AM
Will be retiring shortly to dream of a Hibees victory, before the alarm goes at 0630.

Will then put the kettle on, turn on the telly and watch us consign Hertz to the lower divisions live on Setanta.

Will then put on one of my Hibs strips and sit in the garden searching out passing Jambos again!

Can't be there in body, but will be in spirit.

02-01-2014, 10:56 AM
Got the local in Zurich to put it on and have an afternoon of domestic stuff to do in the flat. Will have beers from about 5 onwards.

Sent from my C1905 using Tapatalk

147lothian
02-01-2014, 11:14 AM
I'll be following the same ritual as any game, in the games room at the Hibs club, working tomorrow though, so I won't drink until after the game, and only one or two as long as its the right result!

02-01-2014, 12:08 PM
Going for a stretch up Arthur Seat shortly (get a guid look at the Holy Ground :-)) before heading into town for Hibs Club.

02-01-2014, 12:41 PM
Going for a stretch up Arthur Seat shortly (get a guid look at the Holy Ground :-)) before heading into town for Hibs Club.

Nice and sunny just now, you might get a good pic to share wi us (ie those of us that can't be ar*ed climbing thon hill..... Ok, ok Its me, I can't be etc etc)

GGTTH!

Godsahibby
02-01-2014, 12:43 PM
Just spent most if the day on the beach, drinking Heiniken (cause it's green) and listening to the proclaimers.

Off for a scran then a few beers before kick off at midnight here.

02-01-2014, 12:45 PM
Anyone else started drinking? Those in different time zones need not apply.

02-01-2014, 01:41 PM
On the bus down to ER now, here we go!

02-01-2014, 04:47 PM
4IH filling up nicely, pity Kano has changed the Strongbow to Magners though! :-(

Persevere80
02-01-2014, 04:57 PM
4IH filling up nicely, pity Kano has changed the Strongbow to Magners though! :-(

Hutchyhibby I know your brother and work with your dad. Are you with them? I might pop in for a pint.

02-01-2014, 05:03 PM
Hutchyhibby I know your brother and work with your dad. Are you with them? I might pop in for a pint.

Check your PMs

02-01-2014, 05:08 PM
Iona already busier than it is 20 minutes before kick off for a normal game

02-01-2014, 05:09 PM
About to cook the clan burgers and spicy wedges followed by a shower and then out to watch the game. Cannot wait tbh.

02-01-2014, 05:10 PM
Just had a text from a friend saying ER and Leith area very busy!

Get there early folk! :tbgwa: