View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 0 v St Johnstone 0

21-12-2013, 11:36 AM
Never started a matchday thread before but can't find one.

Thoroughly miserable weather wise in Leith, wind and rain. Think Hibs can start to improve our home record with a 2-1 win today.

Doubt any injury risk players will be out today with the heavy pitch.

21-12-2013, 11:37 AM
Really looking forward to todays match - it marks the real start of the Christmas Holiday for me

Looks like its going to be a windy one (really need the official Bollah weather feature back)

3-1 Hibs with Cummings getting the first of many goals

Hovehibby
21-12-2013, 11:50 AM
First visit to Scotland in 6 months, can't wait for the game. Going for a scrappy 2-1 with Collins and handling scoring.

21-12-2013, 11:57 AM
Hope to see Cummings start in place of Handling today.

Going for a 2-1 win.

21-12-2013, 12:01 PM
2-0 Cummings Craig

21-12-2013, 12:10 PM
Hope your a lucky thread starter :aok:

MON THE HIBS :tbgwa:

21-12-2013, 12:11 PM
Can't see past Liam Craig scoring. Just bound to happen.

21-12-2013, 12:11 PM
Hope to see Cummings start in place of Handling today.

Going for a 2-1 win.
Agree start Cummings let's see what he can do Honestly not sure what result will be as so used to not winning at home and not sure what big tell has up his sleeve to change that.But for me we must win today to start turning this home form around .Then we will kick on from there.Cant make the game today so no doubt that's when we will win

21-12-2013, 12:17 PM
I really want young cummings to score. Cuqmmings and Robertson.. 2-1.

21-12-2013, 12:18 PM
I agree as well Cummings needs a start. His form in the under 21s suggests that we hae a real goal scorer on our books. Why not try and see if he can up his game to the 1st team. Question is who do you drop? handling has not had a bad game since coming back into the team and Collins got his goal to get us a point.

21-12-2013, 12:20 PM
Sun is out now but till windy and chilly. Just finishing off some work then off for a couple of pints watching Hear7s or should it be Hear10s after today and Liverpool on the tv before going round to the game.

Rain has stopped ..sunshine on Leith..but still windy with blue skies :-) ..

I agree as well Cummings needs a start. His form in the under 21s suggests that we hae a real goal scorer on our books. Why not try and see if he can up his game to the 1st team. Question is who do you drop? handling has not had a bad game since coming back into the team and Collins got his goal to get us a point.
Mate handling has been murder the last 2 weeks!!

21-12-2013, 12:27 PM
Can't see past Liam Craig scoring. Just bound to happen.

Does that mean Spoony will be scoring for them. :greengrin

21-12-2013, 12:33 PM
Does that mean Spoony will be scoring for them. :greengrin

Probably! Would be just our luck.

21-12-2013, 12:33 PM

Think Handling has been off the boil the last 2 games. Pity because he played well in the preceding 2.

I wouldn't call it dropping him, resting a young player to freshen him up.

21-12-2013, 12:35 PM
I hope we give Spoony a good reception, but he ends up on the losing side

Greendub
21-12-2013, 12:40 PM
I'll be in the arabica lounge:smokin in Amsterdam so I'll just have to check updates

3-1 Collins, Cummings and Craig!

GGTTH!!

21-12-2013, 12:43 PM
Mate handling has been murder the last 2 weeks!!

Ridiculous statement.

21-12-2013, 12:49 PM
Ridiculous statement.

Agree. It's been longer than two.

Just don't see it with him. Decent goal against Ross County though but that's been about it.

21-12-2013, 12:50 PM
Ridiculous statement.
Is It ? Really ?

Greenworld
21-12-2013, 01:03 PM
Ridiculous statement.

I dont think he has done anything in the last two mayches either
I would definitely give someone else a chance in that position

21-12-2013, 01:04 PM

Just don't see it with him. Decent goal against Ross County though but that's been about it.

Tend to agree.

21-12-2013, 01:07 PM
Not ridiculous at all...been really poor and had part to play in both goals vonceded in same 2 matches

21-12-2013, 01:08 PM

You just hate him because he burst your 3-0 bet last season!

21-12-2013, 01:43 PM
Setting off soon via the pub. Conditions poor with freezing wind. I'll go 1-0. We really need 3 points.

21-12-2013, 01:51 PM
I dont think he has done anything in the last two mayches either
I would definitely give someone else a chance in that position

I agree , he has been poor last two weeks - will be interesting to see of Butcher keeps him in the starting 11

21-12-2013, 02:07 PM
Ridiculous statement.

Not at all. Was anonymous at Parkhead. Hooked early against Partick too.

21-12-2013, 02:08 PM
You just hate him because he burst your 3-0 bet last season!

I don't think it was that Andy.

21-12-2013, 02:08 PM
Surprise, surprise Alan Preston at ER for the BBC ... Boak !!

TheFamous1875
21-12-2013, 02:11 PM
#Hibs Williams, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern, Cairney, Robertson, Craig (capt), Stevenson, Cummings, Collins #hibees

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

DAVE1875
21-12-2013, 02:11 PM
Williams, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern, Cairney, Robertson, Craig (capt), Stevenson, Cummings, Collins

Subs: Murdoch, Maybury, Handling, Stanton, Zoubir, Caldwell, Thomson

21-12-2013, 02:14 PM
Williams, Forster, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern, Cairney, Robertson, Craig (capt), Stevenson, Cummings, Collins

Subs: Murdoch, Maybury, Handling, Stanton, Zoubir, Caldwell, Thomson

That's what i would have picked.

Maybe Maybury at RB but interesting to see how Forster does.

21-12-2013, 02:15 PM
A start for Cummings ..... Go on son get on the score sheet .. Good luck to the boy !!

21-12-2013, 02:16 PM
That's what i would have picked.

Maybe Maybury at RB but interesting to see how Forster does.

Good to see Stanton on the bench

TheReg!
21-12-2013, 02:25 PM
Off to bookies to put a 10 spot for Cummings to score first goal.....

Hibstrooper
21-12-2013, 02:30 PM
Looks like Taiwo is well out the picture now, him and Vine surely candidates from January exits

21-12-2013, 02:30 PM
Rather have a rb playing than a CH being asked to fill in, do we have noone else after maybury? 1st area of the team that needs addressed in january.

21-12-2013, 02:35 PM
Having to miss today. No happy!

21-12-2013, 02:39 PM
Pitch looking good after all the rain

21-12-2013, 02:44 PM
Pitch looking good after all the rain

I'm near you ;)

21-12-2013, 02:46 PM
I'm near you ;)

Creep :wink:

21-12-2013, 02:46 PM
Creep :wink:

:( :wink:

21-12-2013, 02:48 PM
:( :wink:

I'm sorry. Go get a cuddle from Sunshine and cheer yourself up :greengrin

21-12-2013, 02:51 PM
Looks like Taiwo is well out the picture now, him and Vine surely candidates from January exits

Hahaha, I'd genuinely forgotten tt was a hibs player!

Hoping Nelson can deal with stevie may and hanlon with wee Jimmy Floyd.

21-12-2013, 02:55 PM
Crowd is very em... sparse.

21-12-2013, 02:58 PM

No Tudor Jones either in the squad

21-12-2013, 02:58 PM
St Johnstone playing in red and black - because of the colour clash ??

21-12-2013, 03:00 PM
'Mon the Hibees!

21-12-2013, 03:04 PM

Bit surprised if thats the case with Taiwo but no surprose with vine

21-12-2013, 03:08 PM
Did this last week- and we scored.. So gonna see if it works again!

COME ON HIBS :tbgwa::flag::flag:

21-12-2013, 03:11 PM
Did this last week- and we scored.. So gonna see if it works again!

COME ON HIBS :tbgwa::flag::flag:

No we didn't. :greengrin

WestEndHibee
21-12-2013, 03:12 PM
St Johnstone playing in red and black - because of the colour clash ??

Smells like last minute Christmas sales :blowing:blowing:blowing

21-12-2013, 03:14 PM

Bit surprised if thats the case with Taiwo but no surprose with vine

21-12-2013, 03:17 PM
Collins booked for.. Em, **** all

21-12-2013, 03:19 PM
Collins booked for.. Em, **** all

who is the ref

21-12-2013, 03:22 PM
Reporter says not much to report as far as chances but quite impressed with Hibs and Cummings look like he is going to be a handful for the St. Johnstone defence.

21-12-2013, 03:23 PM
who is the ref

No idea but he's losing it already

21-12-2013, 03:23 PM
Nothing happening whatsoever.

21-12-2013, 03:24 PM
Absolutely spewing (literally) I'm not there today. 2nd home league match I've missed since 2002. On my deathbed!

delighted to see Cummings starting.

21-12-2013, 03:25 PM
Hibs having the better of the possession. So get your money on St.Johnstone :greengrin

21-12-2013, 03:26 PM
Refs hate us.

21-12-2013, 03:26 PM
Absolutely spewing (literally) I'm not there today. 2nd home league match I've missed since 2002. On my deathbed!

delighted to see Cummings starting.

Wild night last night like? :tee hee:

21-12-2013, 03:27 PM
Robertson booked for, em.. **** all

21-12-2013, 03:28 PM
What the hell is the ref on?

Booked Robertson for showing him the wall was 7 yards away??

Forever_Green93
The ref is a tool

This referee is an absolute joker.

I really do wonder.

Collins booked for jumping for a header, St Johnstone player lunges in no free kick, Robertson booked for nothing, wall is about 6 yards away...

21-12-2013, 03:29 PM
Robertson booked for, em.. **** all

So frustrating, guaranteed someone gets sent off for, em.. **** all

21-12-2013, 03:30 PM
Straight red for a shocker of a challenge.

Absolute shocker of a tackle. St Johnstone down to 10

St J's wall nowhere near 10 yards, Robertson walks 10 yards to show this and gets booked.

Cregg sent off?

Cregg sent off about 10 seconds after coming on!

It's that Alan Muir. Complete clown.

21-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Fastest sending off ever?

21-12-2013, 03:32 PM
It's that Alan Muir. Complete clown.

Attention Deficit Disorder

21-12-2013, 03:33 PM
Was it a sending off?

Must be one of the fastest sending offs ever in relation to time on the park

didn't clearly see the tackle to say whether it was the right decision

Judging by how bad the ref has been, i cant say for sure!

31:00DismissalDismissalPatrick Cregg (St Johnstone) is shown the red card for fighting.
30:12James Collins (Hibernian) wins a free kick in the defensive half.
30:12Foul by Patrick Cregg (St Johnstone).
29:38SubstitutionSubstitutionSubstitution, St Johnstone. Patrick Cregg replaces Murray Davidson because of an injury.

21-12-2013, 03:35 PM
Was it a sending off?

Yes 100%.

2 footed, late, over the ball and off the ground.

21-12-2013, 03:36 PM
Nice 1 come on hibs lets doo this lot

21-12-2013, 03:37 PM
Craig Brown used to have a theory that a team having a man sent off was in fact given an unfair advantage as, according to him, ten men try harder and invariably get the better of the play. :rolleyes:

21-12-2013, 03:40 PM
Craig brown is an erse !.

merritthibees
21-12-2013, 03:40 PM

This! :)

21-12-2013, 03:43 PM

sounds like he's crying when he talks

Preston nearly having a baby at the prospect of a St J goal there :rolleyes:

Very unfair. I'm guessing you have never met him. I have, several times and he is an absolute gentleman. Thoroughly nice man and the best Scotland manager in decades.

21-12-2013, 03:44 PM
This is brutal.

21-12-2013, 03:44 PM
1 nil killie

21-12-2013, 03:46 PM
Very unfair. I'm guessing you have never met him. I have, several times and he is an absolute gentleman. Thoroughly nice man and the best Scotland manager in decades.

Hear Hear.

21-12-2013, 03:47 PM
Players too scared to take any responsibility.

No one willing to shoot, beat a man or find a pass that unlocks a defence.

Everyone wanting to pass the buck to someone else.

21-12-2013, 03:48 PM

not the best in decades,smith,McLeish were better

21-12-2013, 03:50 PM
not the best in decades,smith,McLeish were better

Not IMO. Whilst both did well, Brown took us to Euro 96, France 98 and the play offs for 2000, beating England at Wembley on the way.

21-12-2013, 03:52 PM
At the game, not as bad as some people make out, as usual.

We've had the better of the play, but need a goal scorer and a winger, which we knew already.

You can only pish with the cock you've got, and TB's not doing too bad a job with that.

21-12-2013, 03:52 PM
Not IMO. Whilst both did well, Brown took us to Euro 96, France 98 and the play offs for 2000, beating England at Wembley on the way.

he did do ok hopefully we can keep Strachan for as long and we will see those days again

21-12-2013, 03:53 PM
Haven't seen us playing for a couple of weeks, but the German word "stümperhaft" sums up today's performance so far perfectly - and the ref also has it down to a particularly fine art ...

21-12-2013, 03:54 PM
Come on Hibs. Looks bloody freezing in Scotland!

21-12-2013, 03:56 PM
How have we been today? Just in from the golf so wondering if i've missed much? :greengrin

Humo
21-12-2013, 03:57 PM
No one in the team has the confidence to do anything and Mcgivern and Stevenson both need to waken up. But the game isn't too bad and I really want to smack the referee

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

21-12-2013, 03:58 PM
How have we been today? Just in from the golf so wondering if i've missed much? :greengrin

There's been plenty effort again. Had more off the ball. Couple of half chances. Still lack creativity and doesn't look like anyone willing to step up and try and provide it.

21-12-2013, 04:00 PM

hardcore golfer in this weather

21-12-2013, 04:01 PM
There's been plenty effort again. Had more off the ball. Couple of half chances. Still lack creativity and doesn't look like anyone willing to step up and try and provide it.

What about them, they looked dangerous or there for the taking?

21-12-2013, 04:03 PM
What about them, they looked dangerous or there for the taking?

Had one good chance and May looks like the type who can get something from nothing but they are beatable.

10 men for the best part of an hour should takes it's toll as well.

21-12-2013, 04:05 PM
Good play by Cairney. Ball just half a yard behind Collins or it was a goal.

21-12-2013, 04:06 PM
Great reaction save by the keeper.

Better. Much better.

21-12-2013, 04:06 PM
Half chance for Collins ... Not an easy effort missed. . Hibs applying pressure !

21-12-2013, 04:08 PM
Shockaroony Preston saying great play by Hibs !!!

21-12-2013, 04:09 PM
Great ball by Craig.

Any touch and it was in.

Much better tempo.

Stringer
21-12-2013, 04:10 PM
Come on Hibs. Looks bloody freezing in Scotland!

aye. Easter road is freezing

21-12-2013, 04:11 PM
Had one good chance and May looks like the type who can get something from nothing but they are beatable.

10 men for the best part of an hour should takes it's toll as well.
Sounds like I picked the right game to miss Rod needs to back the new management team in Transfer window as it sounds same old same old No one taking responsibility , no one taking a dig at goal , no creativity .the worry for me will be can we utilise the man advantage Perfect game for Zoubir to come on run at defenders and beat his man opening up space for others. Are those at the game confident we can go on and win it ?

21-12-2013, 04:12 PM
A win at home would be nice. Two home league wins in a calendar year is really not something to be proud off.

Surely we can manage that against ten men? (or have I just jinxed it :wink:)

21-12-2013, 04:13 PM
We need a poacher.

I keep saying it but it's true.

21-12-2013, 04:14 PM
Anything less than 3 points now would be completely unacceptable. Our home form needs to improve and it needs to improve now.

Humo
21-12-2013, 04:15 PM
Keep taking too many touches. We need to shoot much quicker.

Just to wind up those there At start of match commentary Biscuits Preston said its a big game for st Johnstone .If they win that's the top and bottom six done and dusted Get that message to the players and make him eat his words it's ridiculous how he gets away with the usual Biases Erse of the worst kind. .

Sounds like I picked the right game to miss Rod needs to back the new management team in Transfer window as it sounds same old same old No one taking responsibility , no one taking a dig at goal , no creativity .the worry for me will be can we utilise the man advantage Perfect game for Zoubir to come on run at defenders and beat his man opening up space for others. Are those at the game confident we can go on and win it ?

He has backed every other manager we have had so reckon he will back Butcher as well.

OsloHibs
21-12-2013, 04:17 PM
:tbgwa::flag:

21-12-2013, 04:17 PM
Callum Booth with an assist for Raith ..playing well by all accounts.

Humo
21-12-2013, 04:19 PM
Everyone is too scared to shot its driving me insane!

21-12-2013, 04:19 PM
Ref gives offside when a St Johnstone player played the ball.

Thomson for Robertson.

21-12-2013, 04:20 PM

Yep. Can't see why Collins didn't have a shot a couple of minutes back.

Can't imagine a Griffith or Boyd trying to pass there.

21-12-2013, 04:21 PM
Sounding like they are there for the taking. C'mon get a goal!

Iceman1875
21-12-2013, 04:21 PM
Will we ever score?! :/

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

21-12-2013, 04:22 PM
Not high on the list of changes needed !

Stevenson offering nothing on left. Would have had Zoubir on or moved Craig over to left and keep Robertson.

21-12-2013, 04:22 PM
Anything less than 3 points now would be completely unacceptable. Our home form needs to improve and it needs to improve now.
The seeds have been sown by others you need to be patient as those that thought all we needed was a change of manager grossly underestimated the strength of the squad and our inability to be creative and score goals That clearly hasn't changed. Is Cummings playing well or is pressure of expectation to score affecting him If so this is worrying .whats in the hibs players psyche that they can't deal with this

OsloHibs
21-12-2013, 04:24 PM
We want a Hibs goal!!!! :grr:

Stringer
21-12-2013, 04:25 PM
James collins

http://i1.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/234/765/b7e.jpg

21-12-2013, 04:26 PM
James collins

http://i1.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/234/765/b7e.jpg

bit harsh but lol

21-12-2013, 04:27 PM
How bad are our corners??

21-12-2013, 04:27 PM
The seeds have been sown by others you need to be patient as those that thought all we needed was a change of manager grossly underestimated the strength of the squad and our inability to be creative and score goals That clearly hasn't changed. Is Cummings playing well or is pressure of expectation to score affecting him If so this is worrying .whats in the hibs players psyche that they can't deal with this

The problem isn't that we're incapable, its that players look too afraid to take a shot on.

We're playing some ok stuff, but we really need to take advantage of this situation and make their goalkeeper work.

Even if we have to resort to pops outside the box. Any shots are better than no shots at all.

21-12-2013, 04:29 PM

Don't go insane your mental health is more important than this team Chill and wait for Marsella s targets to come in then we will see a change Said all along Collins is not a natural scorer and not worth money paid

DAVE1875
21-12-2013, 04:30 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZnYloe5rhw

21-12-2013, 04:32 PM

That said all Butchers league games so far we've had a worse result than the game against those teams first time round.

I believe he will be good for us long term but we should be getting an upturn in results soon I hope.

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 04:33 PM
I shudder to think when we last had such a toothless team. This is going on for three goals in our last ten games.

(There. That should do it... :wink:)

21-12-2013, 04:33 PM
The problem isn't that we're incapable, its that players look too afraid to take a shot on.

We're playing some ok stuff, but we really need to take advantage of this situation and make their goalkeeper work.

Even if we have to resort to pops outside the box. Any shots are better than no shots at all.
I don't disagree but incapable ? I still can't get my head round why this is and why butcher and malpas can't coach them to handle this

21-12-2013, 04:34 PM
2-1 killie

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 04:35 PM
That said all Butchers league games so far we've had a worse result than the game against those teams first time round.

I believe he will be good for us long term but we should be getting an upturn in results soon I hope.

We seem to have developed an ability to never get a boost from an incoming manager.

God knows we've tried often enough

21-12-2013, 04:37 PM
2-1 killie
Yep young Johnston scored again so it can be done except at hibs

21-12-2013, 04:37 PM
Totally run out of ideas.

Stringer
21-12-2013, 04:38 PM
When is Harris back?

DAVE1875
21-12-2013, 04:39 PM
Even Booth has scored

2 wins all year at ER.

Dismal.
Embarrassing.

Booth scores for Raith..

21-12-2013, 04:40 PM
Booth is not good enough.... jesus.

Mon hibs lets get this win.

21-12-2013, 04:40 PM
A wee through ball to Zoubir and we were in.

Craig turns to pass 10 yards back to Thomson.

Sums today up.

Berwickhibby
21-12-2013, 04:41 PM
I cannot see where a goal is going to come from

21-12-2013, 04:41 PM
Booth scores for Raith..

Recall him!

21-12-2013, 04:42 PM
Decent effort by Thomson.

Think i heard the church bells when we had a shot.

21-12-2013, 04:43 PM

Sums today up.

It truly boggles the mind. Just take a shot!! :grr:

007 Mickey Weir
Booth is not the answer. Stanton should be getting more time on the park!

Same **** different saturday

Only conceded 2 goals in 5 games.

21-12-2013, 04:44 PM
Goal!

21-12-2013, 04:44 PM
"One of the worst games I've seen in years"

Hibs manage yet again to keep a clean sheet for their opponents.

21-12-2013, 04:45 PM
Goal!

go away you;-)

21-12-2013, 04:45 PM
Decent effort by Thomson.

Think i heard the church bells when we had a shot.

Another angel got their wings :wink:

21-12-2013, 04:47 PM
Deeks anyone? :wink:

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 04:48 PM
go away you;-)Sad thing is nobody would have believed for an instant that it might be true

21-12-2013, 04:49 PM
Preston going mental, we should have had a penalty

21-12-2013, 04:49 PM
Denied an absolute stonewaller.

Cheated.

21-12-2013, 04:50 PM
Thought I'd add hibs on my coupon this week for a change. Lo n behold it's us that'd letting me down. Will I ever ****in learn

Couldny score in a brothel. Disgusting.

Togs91
Preston going mental, we should have had a penalty

Standard, 2 home wins before christmas and were opening the new year at homeagainst THEM, god help us

21-12-2013, 04:51 PM
I dont think i've seen such a clear penalty not give.

How is the linesman not seeing it?

Shocking decision.

Bottom 6 for us. The road is long

:worms::worms::worms:

Forever_Green93
21-12-2013, 04:53 PM
How the hell was that not a penalty!!??

At least we got a point;-)

TowerHibs
Couldny score in a brothel. Disgusting.

Disgusting???

Berwickhibby
Denied a stone wall penalty right at the end..... The ref has given St Johnstone their Christmas present early..... cheating bar steward. We however are need of players who are not afraid to shoot. Two points lost... no thrown away today. Not good enough again

21-12-2013, 04:54 PM
An hour against 10 men, a poor 10 at that, and we can't score.

New faces needed.

Absolutely brutal....2 wins at ER this year ffs !......who's next ?...oh aye Ross county, another team that couldnt buy a win.....nap 3 points for them then.....

Togs91
By the spunds of it the ref played as bad as we did, not an excuse, need some grit and determination in this squad!

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 04:55 PM
Time to look for positives. At least The Tache will have come to realise that there's more to building a successful team than poaching the management from a smaller club.

That'll make one thing he's learned about football in the twenty years he's been involved with Hibs.

Even if we didn't get an apparent clear penalty, we should still have scored today. This lack of scoring is getting beyond a joke.

Anyone anyone ? :greengrin

21-12-2013, 04:57 PM
Time to look for positives. At least The Tache will have come to realise that there's more to building a successful team than poaching the management from a smaller club.

That'll make one thing he's learned about football in the twenty years he's been involved with Hibs.

Poor comment .. Give Butcher a chance ...it is not his fault but he has steadied the ship !!

21-12-2013, 04:58 PM
The only game in the Scottish leagues with no goals!

Disgusting???

Yup, 2 league wins at ER all year. Lack of ability to hit the back of the net. Disgusting stuff.

Silk purse and sows ear springs to mind.

Gordy M
21-12-2013, 04:59 PM
I always thought we looked more dangerous with heffernan up front, him getting injured as been a big miss for us.

21-12-2013, 04:59 PM
How did Cummings get on?

Looking foward to terry bringing in new faces, glad to see thomson getting more game time every week.

Think first priority is a winger and right back

Togs91
21-12-2013, 05:01 PM
How did Cummings get on?

Looking foward to terry bringing in new faces, glad to see thomson getting more game time every week.

A goalscorer would be nice

Posh Swanny
21-12-2013, 05:03 PM
Two wins all year? Not confident against Killie I take it? (why would you be I guess)

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk

21-12-2013, 05:03 PM
Just not good enough. What is wrong with the players at Hibs that they're so scared to take a shot at goal?

10 goals in 16 games, that is utterly pathetic.

21-12-2013, 05:04 PM
Plenty chances, poor passing at times.

Not the worst display I've seen, need a poacher to score goals.

Their goalie made some great saves and ref denied a stonewalled at the end.

TowerHibs
21-12-2013, 05:05 PM
Yup, 2 league wins at ER all year. Lack of ability to hit the back of the net. Disgusting stuff.

fair do's....i look at it that we're no longer getting gubbed every week, at least playing more football in the opponents half. Harris and heff out injured with 2/3 coming in during January.

Not great, i would say encouraging. (agree, 2 home wins in 2013 is disgusting but we can blame PF for that). I would say very encouraged by Butchers start considering he has same players as PF and missing Harris & Heff (also doesnt have a Griffiths that PF had for 1st 6 months of year)

21-12-2013, 05:06 PM
Why do apparently strong and relatively successful players become shrinking violets when they sign for us?

I'm also of the opinion that the atmosphere in the ground has never been quite so hostile for the opposition since the new East Stand was erected.

21-12-2013, 05:06 PM
fair do's....i look at it that we're no longer getting gubbed every week, at least playing more football in the opponents half. Harris and heff out injured with 2/3 coming in during January.

Not great, i would say encouraging. (agree, 2 home wins in 2013 is disgusting but we can blame PF for that). I would say very encouraged by Butchers start considering he has same players as PF and missing Harris & Heff (also doesnt have a Griffiths that PF had for 1st 6 months of year)

21-12-2013, 05:08 PM
Said it many times, but Fenlon has not left us with the best squad we have had in years. It was never a case of players playing out of position, or just needing a new manager to turn things round.

Fenlon spent fortunes, and changed around 30 players so we can end up with this. :rolleyes:

This is a very poor squad, Butcher has a lot to do in the coming transfer windows.

21-12-2013, 05:08 PM
Poor comment .. Give Butcher a chance ...it is not his fault but he has steadied the ship !!

How long does it take a manager to show a few players how to stick their laces through the ******* ball???

We seem to have players at ER who don't grasp the concept of shooting towards goal in order to try and win the game.

No doubt our lack of creativity is a major concern, but you don't need creativity to stick your boot through a ball.

21-12-2013, 05:09 PM
Think we had the game's best chances and we should have managed to score at least one! While many players may have worked hard we offered little up front by way of movement off the ball. Creativity is a huge deficiency and we only whipped one single cross into the box from which immediately a great chance opened up (squandered of course) - every other cross in to the box was too slow, too high and therefore wasted: they really need to get that sorted (among everything else) ... The ref was abysmal, but he's not the reason we dropped two points here ... thought young Cummings had a decent game for us and things improved when Thompson came on ... Butcher will really need to come up with something special to mold this lot into a decent football team though ...

21-12-2013, 05:10 PM
Said it many times, but Fenlon has not left us with the best squad we have had in years. It was never a case of players playing out of position, or just needing a new manager to turn things round.

Fenlon spent fortunes, and changed around 30 players so we can end up with this. :rolleyes:

This is a very poor squad, Butcher has a lot to do in the coming transfer windows.

marsella may be busy in the morning I think

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 05:10 PM
I'm happy to give Butcher a chance. I expect him to do marginally better than his predecessor, largely because he would have to try really hard to do worse.

But come on. Steadied the ship? We were a lifeless, uninspiring, goal-less bottom-six team playing rubbishy hoofball and showing absolutely no prospects of moving up the league before he arrived, and that is exactly what we continue to be.

21-12-2013, 05:12 PM
2 wins all year at ER.

Dismal.
Embarrassing.
Sadly it's hard to counter that so I won't even try ?Should we play the under 20s team in its entirety and then if they don't score we will have to bring in an Exorcist to drive these anti goal scoring demons away I can't see any logical explanation apart from poor players .

21-12-2013, 05:13 PM
But come on. Steadied the ship? We were a lifeless, uninspiring, goal-less bottom-six team playing rubbishy hoofball and showing absolutely no prospects of moving up the league before he arrived, and that is exactly what we continue to be.

Aye, after what? 5 games or something?

Is that Butchers time up? Who do we get in now?

21-12-2013, 05:14 PM
Possession
Hibernian 59%
St Johnstone 41%
Shots
Hibernian 10
St Johnstone 2
Shots on target
Hibernian 5
St Johnstone 1
Corners
Hibernian 6
St Johnstone 1
Fouls
Hibernian 15
St Johnstone 14

Some stats

21-12-2013, 05:14 PM
I can't wait till we can make some changes to this squad.

21-12-2013, 05:18 PM
How did Cummings get on?

Was impressed with Cummings, he played well and looks a lot stronger than I expected.

Didn't think we played too badly today tbh

21-12-2013, 05:20 PM
Was impressed with Cummings, he played well and looks a lot stronger than I expected.

Didn't think we played too badly today tbh

Think some people post without looking at the game. Just rub their hands together when they see the scoreline.

21-12-2013, 05:25 PM
On a positive i was pleasantly surprised by Forster in an attacking sense.

Got forward quite well, was one of the few to beat a man and put a couple of good crossea in.

21-12-2013, 05:26 PM

Sums today up.
I though that was fenlon s tactics but he is away so we cannae blame him .Your earlier post about run out of ideas is worrying As hear7s will first foot us and look to frustrate us and be hard to breakdown so this was ideal preparation and yet again found wanting The team are now trying the fans patience .Thank goodness the Transfer window is about to open .heff and Harris will take a few games to get match fit so we can't expect miracles from them One bloody goal is that too Mutch to ask of professional footballers .

21-12-2013, 05:26 PM
We need to urgently address our lack of goals.

10 goals in 17 league games is unacceptable.

We're ok defensively, we've got one of the best defensive records in the league but we need to start scoring goals and we need to start winning games at home.

That should be the main priorities for Butcher over the next couple of months.

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 05:27 PM
Is that Butchers time up? Who do we get in now?No. That wasn't my point. I was inviting the previous poster to explain what he meant by "steadied the ship".

We were a 'steady ship' when Butcher arrived, in so far as a listing, rudderless, becalmed hulk could be described as a 'steady ship'. And that is exactly what we remain.

21-12-2013, 05:28 PM
No. That wasn't my point. I was inviting the previous poster to explain what he meant by "steadied the ship".

We were a 'steady ship' when Butcher arrived, in so far as a listing, rudderless, becalmed hulk could be described as a 'steady ship'. And that is exactly what we remain.

I'm seeing signs that we're getting better. My point was that a lot of us, as fans, seem to expect change instantly.

21-12-2013, 05:30 PM
On a positive i was pleasantly surprised by Forster in an attacking sense.

Got forward quite well, was one of the few to beat a man and put a couple of good crossea in.

21-12-2013, 05:31 PM
Possession
Hibernian 59%
St Johnstone 41%
Shots
Hibernian 10
St Johnstone 2
Shots on target
Hibernian 5
St Johnstone 1
Corners
Hibernian 6
St Johnstone 1
Fouls
Hibernian 15
St Johnstone 14

Some stats
But stats don't mean a thing if they ain't got that Swing . The one stat we wanted was one goal for and three points Top six looks beyond us but think by end of Febuary that will have changed but sixth is now the highest we can realistically finish

21-12-2013, 05:35 PM
Plus points. Hanlon was outstanding, Forster excellent and Cummings showed he needs a run in the team.
Negatives. We still don't get enough crosses in and tried to almost walk the ball into the net. McGivern is terrible player and Lewis should be starting at LB. No idea why Cairney was kept on.

21-12-2013, 05:37 PM
A few weeks ago we would have lost this game, the man has had five games with the same players and you would be best to write this season off in terms of climbing the league with this lot unless the purse strings are loosened big time in January.

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 05:39 PM
But stats don't mean a thing if they ain't got that Swing . The one stat we wanted was one goal for and three points Top six looks beyond us but think by end of Febuary that will have changed but sixth is now the highest we can realistically finishYup. Not even half way through the season, and the giddy heights of 5th place in a league with no Hearts and no Rangers are already beyond us.

21-12-2013, 05:41 PM
How did Cummings get on?

Good first half, looked lively and prepared to go forward with the ball. All very positive.

Drifted out of the match in the 2nd and really should have been subbed with 20 to go, but MM & TB had a bad day at the office and got all the subs and tactics wrong today.

Nailrod
21-12-2013, 05:42 PM
A few weeks ago we would have lost this game, the man has had five games with the same players and you would be best to write this season off in terms of climbing the league with this lot unless the purse strings are loosened big time in January.Not that I'm wanting to feed the contrarian Andy 74, but the fact is that "a few weeks ago" we beat St Johnstone in Perth when they had 11 men on the park.

21-12-2013, 05:55 PM
I can't wait till we can make some changes to this squad.

:agree: Butcher's team is just as effective as Fenlon's and the football is just as turgid.

21-12-2013, 05:58 PM
:agree: Butcher's team is just as effective as Fenlon's and the football is just as turgid.

Results would appear to show less effective so far.

21-12-2013, 05:58 PM

Unsurprising when it's the same group of players and I'd hesitate to describe it as "Butcher's team"

21-12-2013, 05:59 PM
Good first half, looked lively and prepared to go forward with the ball. All very positive.

Drifted out of the match in the 2nd and really should have been subbed with 20 to go, but MM & TB had a bad day at the office and got all the subs and tactics wrong today.

I am not sure the subs were that wrong.

You could have thrown Caldwell on and taken McGivern off or something like that but the upshotvis we have limited ways to change things IMO.

21-12-2013, 06:01 PM
Not that I'm wanting to feed the contrarian Andy 74, but the fact is that "a few weeks ago" we beat St Johnstone in Perth when they had 11 men on the park.

Aye but partick thistle would have beaten us under fenlon.

I thought it was minging today, an hour against ten men and their goalie made two saves, one of which was just a massive deflection.

Ryan mcgivern is playing terribly, can't pass or cross.

cairney was once again the only player who looked capable of beating his man, but had no end product today.

Cummings and Collins both worked hard, and I like Cumming's directness, but I didn't think he showed too much. Collins held the ball up well, but got minimal support.

Liam Craig had a shocker and I reckon he didn't want to score against his old team, cant understand why he didn't take one of the manyshootoing opportunities he had.

Stuarty27
21-12-2013, 06:03 PM
That was painful to watch in Baltic conditions again.

What was the crowd? Must of been lucky to get 9000.

The atmosphere at the games these days is crap, I find myself not getting angry anymore just shake my head at some of our rank rotten players.

McGivern is so bad it's not true. Liam Craig is a pain in the erse, if he put the same effort into his play than he does moaning at refs and opposition players he maybe be a player.

On a positive note, thought Foster and Cummings played well.

21-12-2013, 06:12 PM
Aye but partick thistle would have beaten us under fenlon.

I thought it was minging today, an hour against ten men and their goalie made two saves, one of which was just a massive deflection.

Ryan mcgivern is playing terribly, can't pass or cross.

cairney was once again the only player who looked capable of beating his man, but had no end product today.

Cummings and Collins both worked hard, and I like Cumming's directness, but I didn't think he showed too much. Collins held the ball up well, but got minimal support.

Liam Craig had a shocker and I reckon he didn't want to score against his old team, cant understand why he didn't take one of the manyshootoing opportunities he had.

We also beat Partick away to be fair.

21-12-2013, 06:14 PM
Unsurprising when it's the same group of players and I'd hesitate to describe it as "Butcher's team"

A bit surprising when what was wrong was the previous manager.

Anyway , I like Butcher so not having a go at him.

It's all a bit pointless that we keep doing this though. We were 5 points off second place when we were agitating for the change.

21-12-2013, 06:16 PM

This is still Fenlons team. Just set up to actually get the ball forward. We won't see much of an improvement for a while yet. Butcher can't magically turn Stevenson into a quick left winger, same with Cairney on the right. He can't magically make Forster/Mcgivern quick fullbacks who can attack and defend equally well. He won't be able to make Collins a great goalscorer over a couple of weeks either.

21-12-2013, 06:18 PM
We also beat Partick away to be fair.

I know. That was my point. On phone so couldn't post a smiley

21-12-2013, 06:21 PM
I am not sure the subs were that wrong.

You could have thrown Caldwell on and taken McGivern off or something like that but the upshotvis we have limited ways to change things IMO.

TB/MMs tactics, team structure and substitutions were all wrong from the moment St J went down to 10. No change in anything for 40 mins and then he brings on a defensive mid for Robertson, when St J had given up being an attacking force and we desperately needed to put their back line under more pressure by getting players in the box.

It was awful to watch.

21-12-2013, 06:31 PM
This is still Fenlons team. Just set up to actually get the ball forward. We won't see much of an improvement for a while yet. Butcher can't magically turn Stevenson into a quick left winger, same with Cairney on the right. He can't magically make Forster/Mcgivern quick fullbacks who can attack and defend equally well. He won't be able to make Collins a great goalscorer over a couple of weeks either.

I'm just shocked at just how far off the pace we are with this current squad of players. I actually bought into the .net theory we had a decent squad and just needed a more attack minded, tactically aware manager to turn us around. Now looks like many of the current bunch are duds and no amount of good management will change that.

21-12-2013, 06:36 PM
I'm just shocked at just how far off the pace we are with this current squad of players. I actually bought into the .net theory we had a decent squad and just needed a more attack minded, tactically aware manager to turn us around. Now looks like many of the current bunch are duds and no amount of good management will change that.

They are all so slow and one paced. Not one of them has that little bit extra to take on a man and get a cross in. Every ball in comes from deep and is useless.

21-12-2013, 06:44 PM
We need Billy McKay

Bobo
21-12-2013, 06:50 PM
Today was as poor a performance as we've seen this season from these misfits!

The same old failings were there to see with little sign of any improvement, woeful distribution from the back and lack of creation from the middle of the park and wide areas made the whole affair pretty dire!

Considering we played against 10 men for an hour, it didn't look like we had any advantage. There was little urgency and precious little ability from Hibs today, they were far from good enough for my liking!

21-12-2013, 06:51 PM
petrie splashed out on a new management team and he better be prepared to splash out on new players as well, the serious lack of quality is there for all to see yet again, st.johnstone could have played with 9 players and it still wouldn't have made any difference

andy1875
21-12-2013, 07:11 PM
I seen John Collins and Michael O'Neill at the game. Good to see JC back at ER.

As for the game, utterly rank as was the ref. He got almost every decision wrong, and I include the sending off. A booking would have been fair.

Positives were Hanlon and Cummings. I'm one of Hanlons critics but he was solid today, hopefully him and Nelson can form a good partnership.

Now, an Indian takeaway and a beer.

21-12-2013, 07:37 PM
My lad summed it up for me. " I think I'll be a teenager before Hibs score again" He is ten and a half.

21-12-2013, 07:43 PM
My lad summed it up for me. " I think I'll be a teenager before Hibs score again" He is ten and a half.

Incredible optimism from one so young :greengrin

21-12-2013, 08:21 PM
TB/MMs tactics, team structure and substitutions were all wrong from the moment St J went down to 10. No change in anything for 40 mins and then he brings on a defensive mid for Robertson, when St J had given up being an attacking force and we desperately needed to put their back line under more pressure by getting players in the box.

It was awful to watch.

I am not suggesting it was pleasant on the eye.

However, I wouldn't have changed the system at 30 minutes. There's an argument for making a sub at half time and that may have changed things. Stanton might have been a shout for McGivern or Stevenson for example....that would have made us more offensive. I am sure there are other suggestions for subs.

Remember, with this formation you are saying is incorrect, Stevenson got a yellow card when Stevie May was away. A yellow card because Lewis was in his own half? Was there an argument for a red? Where would that have left us?

The issue for me isn't the formation - it's a lack of ability.

21-12-2013, 08:24 PM
I am not suggesting it was pleasant on the eye.

However, I wouldn't have changed the system at 30 minutes. There's an argument for making a sub at half time and that may have changed things. Stanton might have been a shout for McGivern or Stevenson for example....that would have made us more offensive. I am sure there are other suggestions for subs.

Remember, with this formation you are saying is incorrect, Stevenson got a yellow card when Stevie May was away. A yellow card because Lewis was in his own half? Was there an argument for a red? Where would that have left us?

The issue for me isn't the formation - it's a lack of ability.

The Saints players thought so but fouling a player 60 yards from goal ain't denying a clear goal scoring opportunity. Not even in the opinion of Alan 'look at me everybody' Muir

21-12-2013, 08:29 PM
The Saints players thought so but fouling a player 60 yards from goal ain't denying a clear goal scoring opportunity. Not even in the opinion of Alan 'look at me everybody' Muir

That was what I said at the time, it was the fact he was that far away.

However, it does show that moving to a more offensive formation isn't always a clear cut solution! :greengrin

21-12-2013, 08:43 PM
That was what I said at the time, it was the fact he was that far away.

However, it does show that moving to a more offensive formation isn't always a clear cut solution! :greengrin

He could have sacrificed one of our lumbering full backs who were largely redundant after the red card .

Stuarty27
21-12-2013, 09:00 PM
How bad is McGivern these days. Honking.

Anyone else get the feeling that as a crowd he don't give a flying **** anymore. Years of watching dross gas sucked the life out of us...

21-12-2013, 09:11 PM
How bad is McGivern these days. Honking.

Anyone else get the feeling that as a crowd he don't give a flying **** anymore. Years of watching dross gas sucked the life out of us...

21-12-2013, 11:43 PM
He will never be able to turn Collins into a great goal scorer The quicker we accept that the better. He may just get into double figures but wouldn't bet on it It's his work rate that is currently keeping him in the team

22-12-2013, 09:32 AM
Anyway , I like Butcher so not having a go at him.

You might not be having direct digs at Butcher but you compare and contrast him to Fenlon in the majority of your posts that I see. Not that that's necessarily an unflattering comparison though.

delbert
22-12-2013, 09:58 AM
They are all so slow and one paced. Not one of them has that little bit extra to take on a man and get a cross in. Every ball in comes from deep and is useless.

Been saying this for 2 seasons, every time our forwards receive the ball in the box, they are always facing their own goals because the only deliveries come from deep, we have no players with genuine pace and/or crossing ability to get to the goal line and whip a ball in with pace to get defenders turning and give the forwards something to attack. And we do not have one midfielder who is willing to gamble and get beyond our forwards and into scoring positions, I will be interested to see how a team who can't score manage to hand out this much talked about thrashing on 2nd January, I just don't see how this is going to materialise, not with these players.