View Full Version : Last time we picked a gem from scottish lower leagues?

18-12-2013, 06:37 PM
Was thinking after the thread on youngsters past and present who was the last player we picked up from the Scottish lower leagues that was a success?

Chump
18-12-2013, 06:42 PM
Was thinking after the thread on youngsters past and present who was the last player we picked up from the Scottish lower leagues that was a success?

Gordon Durie from East Fife for £65,000

18-12-2013, 06:43 PM
Was thinking after the thread on youngsters past and present who was the last player we picked up from the Scottish lower leagues that was a success?Des Bremner ..Deveronvale..

18-12-2013, 06:45 PM
Were East Fife not in the First Division (as in the top league) at the time?

18-12-2013, 06:50 PM
Paul Fenwick on a freezer from Greenock Morton.

18-12-2013, 06:55 PM
Were East Fife not in the First Division (as in the top league) at the time?

No. A league or two below us when they emptied us out the cup in 84. Not a top league side since the early 70s I reckon.

18-12-2013, 07:11 PM
Sol Bamba

Nevi_SOL
18-12-2013, 07:18 PM
Paul cairney ;)

18-12-2013, 07:25 PM
Jim Leighton ( Dundee ) , Crawford and Dennis ( Raith )
Hartley who imo was unlucky to get punted was another but i cant remember who we signed him from .

18-12-2013, 07:26 PM
Although Leigh came to us on loan from Wolves most of his prior experience was in the Scottish lower leagues. Slightly off topic but Snodgrass, Dorrans, Hoolahan all went from Livi & are now in Premiership. Dundee Utd have probably been most successful club at identifying lower league talent with Andrew Robertson their latest star. Hurts to say it but Yams did ok with Webster, Weir & McCann. Perhaps Cairney will do it for us.

18-12-2013, 07:37 PM
Sol Bamba

Forgot all about him. What a player.

18-12-2013, 07:39 PM
Hartley who imo was unlucky to get punted was another but i cant remember who we signed him from .

Iirc, hartley broke through at raith rovers, got a move to Coventry that didn't work out, then we signed him from there....although it's there to be corrected

18-12-2013, 07:50 PM
IIRC Hartley came direct from Raith after a year or so at Millwall. I mind him being mooted as the next big thing, and possibly could have been wi us. Sadly not to be.

18-12-2013, 07:52 PM
Keith Keith Keith....Raith...skinny winger turner into No9 the like of which I dream of seeing again

18-12-2013, 07:54 PM
Sol Bamba

Who did we sign Sol from again? Honestly can't remember.

18-12-2013, 07:56 PM
Who did we sign Sol from again? Honestly can't remember.

Dunfermline

18-12-2013, 07:57 PM
Were Falkirk in the Premier League when we signed Kevin McAllister from them?

18-12-2013, 07:58 PM
Jim Leighton ( Dundee ) , Crawford and Dennis ( Raith ) Hartley who imo was unlucky to get punted was another but i cant remember who we signed him from . Ggtth

We signed Crawford from Millwall for about £400,000 iirc.

We signed Hartley from Raith as well for £250,000.

18-12-2013, 08:00 PM
Am i right in thinking Hartley was on Hibs books as a youth a fair few years before we signed him from Raith?

18-12-2013, 08:01 PM
Dunfermline

18-12-2013, 08:03 PM
Am i right in thinking Hartley was on Hibs books as a youth a fair few years before we signed him from Raith?

Don't think so. Thought he was at Hamilton and got a move down south before Raith (think Millwall) then us.

Could be wrong though.

18-12-2013, 08:03 PM

Wiki has him as an 'S' Form aye.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paul_Hartley

18-12-2013, 08:04 PM

Hartley was Raith. Crawford came to us from Millwall IIRC.

18-12-2013, 08:06 PM
Keith Keith Keith....Raith...skinny winger turner into No9 the like of which I dream of seeing again

We signed Keith from Dundee, did we no , 400 grand

18-12-2013, 09:10 PM
Didier Agathe - very briefly!

CapitalHibs
18-12-2013, 10:23 PM
Neil Martin - Queen of the South and /or some long distance lorry company:greengrin

18-12-2013, 10:26 PM
Neil Martin - Queen of the South and /or some long distance lorry company:greengrin

And what a signing he was. 114 games, 86 goals :thumbsup:

CapitalHibs
18-12-2013, 10:56 PM
And what a signing he was. 114 games, 86 goals :thumbsup:

Knew you were a big fan mate, so expected I would hear from you! :wink: It is true that Neil was at the point of giving up football and becoming a long distance lorry driver. Hibs went in for him and the rest is history.

18-12-2013, 10:58 PM
Erik Schaedler from Stirling Albion.

Six weeks earlier he was playing amateur football with Melbourne Thistle

18-12-2013, 10:58 PM
Knew you were a big fan mate, so expected I would hear from you! :wink: It is true that Neil was at the point of giving up football and becoming a long distance lorry driver. Hibs went in for him and the rest is history.

Yep he came close to hanging up his boots :agree:

Signed by Douglas Fairbanks Jnr lookalike Walter Galbraith :greengrin

CapitalHibs
18-12-2013, 11:21 PM
Yep he came close to hanging up his boots :agree:

Walter was a real nice guy..stayed at my mum and dad's house while looking for a permanent residence in Edinburgh. Of, course I couldnae resist and kept asking him Hib's quiz questions and I never once got the wrong answer!... in fact he knew more than I did even though he had just joined the club. A total gent.

18-12-2013, 11:44 PM
We signed Keith from Dundee, did we no , 400 grand

:blushie: eh correct - I think because I watched him at Raith for a couple of seasons when he was 17/18 I got mixed up :greengrin

19-12-2013, 12:15 AM
Des Bremner ..Deveronvale..

A big step up. To then go on to win a European Cup, unbelievable!

And a nice guy.

:not worth

stu in nottingham
19-12-2013, 01:13 AM

Yes, both dashing-looking chappies!

19-12-2013, 06:18 AM
I've still got hope for Paul Cairney yet. When he's on form I think he's a joy to watch, and been signs the last few weeks he's getting back to his old self.

19-12-2013, 05:49 PM
Gordon Rae-Whitehill Welfare -scoring at Ibrox the following season.

Paperboy
19-12-2013, 07:31 PM
Slightly off tangent but I'd go for winger Blair Spittal from Queens Park, Livi striker Marc Mcnulty and Hamilton full back Ziggy Gordon from te lower leagues just now...