View Full Version : Ronnie Biggs dies
18-12-2013, 08:47 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-25426914
British criminal Ronnie Biggs, who took part in the 1963 Great Train Robbery, has died aged 84, his spokeswoman has confirmed.
no loss to society imo :agree:
18-12-2013, 08:52 AM
British criminal Ronnie Biggs, who took part in the 1963 Great Train Robbery, has died aged 84, his spokeswoman has confirmed.
:agree: 100%
18-12-2013, 08:59 AM
Yup - nae loss. Straight tae Hell for him.
18-12-2013, 09:36 AM
Good riddance, a horrible man, devoid of any morality whatsoever.
18-12-2013, 11:21 AM
Never understood why some folk sought to idolise him or build him up as a modern day Robin Hood. He was nothing more than a thug, a common criminal. No loss.
southfieldhibby
18-12-2013, 11:35 AM
Was kinda hoping this would be the general response.
good riddance.
18-12-2013, 12:53 PM
Just like him to croak on the day there's a new television drama being screened about the heist.:rolleyes:
18-12-2013, 12:57 PM
Hibs fan though...
18-12-2013, 08:45 PM
One of those people who is inexplicably branded a 'character' or 'loveable rogue' when he's actually a dick.
18-12-2013, 09:15 PM
Went to the same school as me. Not the same year obviously. Most famous thing about that place!
18-12-2013, 09:36 PM
He got a much longer life than the railwayman he murdered. Bye now :bye:
19-12-2013, 01:11 PM
One of those people who is inexplicably branded a 'character' or 'loveable rogue' when he's actually a dick.
I had someone on my Fbook feed brand him a "legend" yesterday??
A legend aye? A robber, a coward and (was it actually him who delivered the blow to the raiLway guard?) potentially a murderer. But because he evaded the "bacon/pigs/rozzers/insert "wannabe pwopa nawty gangsta term for the police" here he is somehow admirable. Gies peace!!
On Swiss TV the news announced as being "the loss of a vestige of a romantic bygone era" or some similar rancid pish.
19-12-2013, 04:50 PM
There are a lot of myths around the Great Train Robbery. No-one was murdered during the robbery - although that's not to trivialise the treatment of the driver who was coshed - and I'm fairly sure that the driver's eventual death was decided to be unrelated by a coroner. Ronnie Biggs was the equivalent of a teaboy on the robbery too - not one of the masterminds as the tabloid press would have you believe.
I agree with the general sentiment that criminals like Biggs shouldn't be lionised though.
19-12-2013, 05:57 PM
Biggs actually only had a small part in planning the robbery but got media attention by escaping prison.
The train driver never returned to work and died prematurely at the age of 56.
Sad for his family but not for society
hibbymick
19-12-2013, 08:01 PM
Hibs fan though...
correct. Im sure the article said he used to look up Arsenals score in the papers and then look for Hibs. I need to try and dig that article oot.
hibbymick
19-12-2013, 08:03 PM
There ye go, that didnt take long
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/ronnie-biggs-dead-day-daily-2942104
hibbymick
19-12-2013, 08:07 PM
And the original
http://www.thefreelibrary.com/The+day+I+met+train+robber+Ronnie+In+a+gay+bar+in+ Rio%3B+DAY+TWO%3A...-a0155637015
20-12-2013, 06:47 PM
The only thing I would say as in support of Ronnie Biggs is that 30 years for what was by general consensus a minor part in the whole affair does seem a bit over the top. These days folk get a lot less than that for murder.
Having said that, the guy was a criminal and it doesnt help society in the slightest when certain parts of the media turn him and folk like him into some sort of folk hero.
21-12-2013, 08:01 AM
There are a lot of myths around the Great Train Robbery. No-one was murdered during the robbery - although that's not to trivialise the treatment of the driver who was coshed - and I'm fairly sure that the driver's eventual death was decided to be unrelated by a coroner. Ronnie Biggs was the equivalent of a teaboy on the robbery too - not one of the masterminds as the tabloid press would have you believe.
I agree with the general sentiment that criminals like Biggs shouldn't be lionised though.
I remember when he did that novelty record "Cosh the Driver " - he said that he was "only the tea boy".
There ye go, that didnt take long
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/ronnie-biggs-dead-day-daily-2942104
What a fanny, the Record going for its usually cringeworthy Jockishness, by giving Biggsy a tartan scarf. I'm sure that if there was a Highland dress shop in Rio, they'd have put a kilt on him too.