View Full Version : Sparky!

derek0762
18-12-2013, 09:44 AM
Griffiths ‘lacks desire’

Ex-Hibs star Leigh Griffiths has been told to up his game after he was taken off at halftime for Wolves.

Boss Kenny Jackett believes that Griffiths showed “a lack of desire” after he failed to score in another loss. (Daily Mail)

Come home to your family Leigh! Please, Please & Thrice Please!

18-12-2013, 09:50 AM
wolves should cancel his contract, total waste of a wage

c'mon back home sparky :)

18-12-2013, 09:51 AM
Griffiths record this season for them has been good so far. Better than a goal every 2 games in the league, by far their top scorer, and only 3 goals off being top scorer in the league. Maybe Jackett is trying to get a response from Griffiths after that specific performance where he was hooked at half time, but I think it could be argued that others should also be chipping in with goals!

derek0762
18-12-2013, 09:53 AM
I think he's homesick, he posted a pic on twitter last night of all his kids, so maybe he wants to come home to his families!

18-12-2013, 09:55 AM
wolves should cancel his contract, total waste of a wage

c'mon back home sparky :)

We can only hope that his goal drought extends for some time yet and he becomes increasingly disillusioned with life down sarf. :wink:

Any oh aye -------- he's willing to accept a huge reduction in wages and come back to the spiritual home.

18-12-2013, 10:00 AM
Who's to say Butcher would take him back.

18-12-2013, 10:03 AM
Total waste of a wage Kenny! Get rid while you can. Luxury you can't afford when you are trying to get out that league!!

Ps come back home sparky... You have some unfinished business! I loved Russell and frank, and then deek and brown and fletch but never have I been so gutted about losing someone as I was when sparky went back down south!

derek0762
18-12-2013, 10:08 AM

He would be daft not to IMHO

18-12-2013, 10:12 AM
Absolute wage thief, Wolves deserve better.

Better to cut their losses now I think.

hibeemikey21
18-12-2013, 10:13 AM

A 28 goal a season international striker? I'd imagine he'd be somewhat interested.

18-12-2013, 10:23 AM
It was only a years extension, is he not free tae talk tae other clubs (Hibs :greengrin ) soon.

Hame time Sparky. :agree:

18-12-2013, 10:24 AM
the girls miss u up in Edin wee man.
come home :)

18-12-2013, 10:25 AM

:agree: Last thing we need is international class striker who scores goals for fun, entertains and is committed to the Hibs cause. It would just upset the dynamic at the club. Petrie would have to start paying out win bonuses again and think of the extra litter caused by the glory-hunters returning to ER.

18-12-2013, 10:26 AM
He will come home to Hibs.

18-12-2013, 10:31 AM
We can only hope that his goal drought extends for some time yet and he becomes increasingly disillusioned with life down sarf. :wink:

Any oh aye -------- he's willing to accept a huge reduction in wages and come back to the spiritual home.

It was only a years extension, is he not free tae talk tae other clubs (Hibs :greengrin ) soon.

just signed a 2 year contract in august past with an option of another 12 months, so no chance :(

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23588659

BH Hibs
18-12-2013, 10:32 AM
Wolves looking to get some cash for him?

ColintonHibs
18-12-2013, 10:32 AM

Sauce?

Scònaldò
18-12-2013, 10:33 AM
We should have signed him when we had the chance for a bargain price of £150k.

18-12-2013, 10:35 AM
We should have signed him when we had the chance for a bargain price of £150k.

Hard to argue with that FACT :)

18-12-2013, 10:35 AM
Heard a quote , second hand , from a Wolves player ( a Scot) yesterday that Kenny Jackett told him on the QT that Griffiths was a " mood player whose personal life governs his football life - he has to get real "

Interesting take given Sparky's lifestyle/problems over the past few years :greengrin:wink:

18-12-2013, 10:36 AM
Come home sparky, you know it makes sense

18-12-2013, 10:37 AM
What a shame. Get the **** back here Leigh.

18-12-2013, 10:38 AM

Trust you :a bite: - trying to start another....'we could have got him for £150K in Jan thread'

18-12-2013, 10:39 AM

Sauce?

Leigh's heart :wink:

18-12-2013, 10:44 AM
just signed a 2 year contract in august past with an option of another 12 months, so no chance :(

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23588659Must have missed that one, oh well.

Mango Man
18-12-2013, 10:45 AM
Seen him in porty yesterday.

Leishy1995
18-12-2013, 01:55 PM

Was he on the 26 bus?

18-12-2013, 02:04 PM
Was he on the 26 bus?

He was coming oot o Greggs :wink:

18-12-2013, 02:09 PM

Hope he wasnt the ****** stealing my kids bikes.

LioNeilMessi
18-12-2013, 03:14 PM
Hope he wasnt the ****** stealing my kids bikes.

Probably not but we now know what The Sun's headline will be tomorrow :greengrin

Mango Man
18-12-2013, 04:08 PM
He was outside a boozer up from the pitz with a couple of girls and a pram, the pram gave it away ;-)

18-12-2013, 04:56 PM
He never lacked desire at Hibs.

I know his record at Wolves looks good but their fans seem a bit split over him. We all love him and i'm very much a believer that sometimes a player and a club just fit. He was wanted and loved at Hibs and maybe that's what he needs.

Purehibee_MYB
18-12-2013, 05:52 PM
Heard Wolves will take 150k in January.. Don't question sources, it's a Fact. :cb

18-12-2013, 05:53 PM
Don't think we could afford him even if he wanted to come back to us. Wolves would be looking for more than 150k and let's be honest he is worth more then 150k. Sadly money talks in this game. Good luck to him wherever his future is.

18-12-2013, 06:16 PM
He WILL play for Hibs again...

The question is when....

Hopefully sooner rather than later :pray:

18-12-2013, 08:15 PM
Wolves can't say they weren't warned. Utter waste of their time trying to reform thus wastrel. Send him back up the road, we'll keep him out of Tesco, er, trouble.

18-12-2013, 08:16 PM
Don't think we could afford him even if he wanted to come back to us. Wolves would be looking for more than 150k and let's be honest he is worth more then 150k. Sadly money talks in this game. Good luck to him wherever his future is.

Yes money's what it's all about right enough, aye...

18-12-2013, 09:43 PM
Heard Wolves will take 150k in January.. Don't question sources, it's a Fact. :cb

If only,this place would be in melt down if he came back

18-12-2013, 11:11 PM
He was outside a boozer up from the pitz with a couple of girls and a pram, the pram gave it away ;-)
was that before or after the bookies :greengrin his mum works in that pub, should go bend her ear :wink:

18-12-2013, 11:38 PM
6 month loan deal in January is possible

TheFamous1875
18-12-2013, 11:43 PM

Seriously?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Leishy1995
19-12-2013, 01:22 AM

That bait looks decent

19-12-2013, 06:48 AM

We have a £200k rated striker, so maybe we can agree a swap deal ... LG plus £50k ?

19-12-2013, 08:45 AM
He never lacked desire at Hibs.

I know his record at Wolves looks good but their fans seem a bit split over him. We all love him and i'm very much a believer that sometimes a player and a club just fit. He was wanted and loved at Hibs and maybe that's what he needs.:agree: I said that tae him at the end of last season :blushie: :love ya!: :greengrin when he presented me with the signed boots from the sponsors evening. I said tae him "This is where you belong, this is where you are wanted, this is where the people love you, hope tae see you next season" Unfortunately Wolves scuppered that by taking that extension option.

19-12-2013, 05:47 PM

Nice try. ;)

19-12-2013, 05:48 PM
That bait looks decent

Exactly what I was thinking :)

19-12-2013, 06:00 PM
Can see Wolves splashing out on Strikers in January.

19-12-2013, 06:06 PM
:agree: I said that tae him at the end of last season :blushie: :love ya!: :greengrin when he presented me with the signed boots from the sponsors evening. I said tae him "This is where you belong, this is where you are wanted, this is where the people love you, hope tae see you next season" Unfortunately Wolves scuppered that by taking that extension option.

Not a dry eye in the house.

19-12-2013, 07:12 PM
Exactly what I was thinking :)

Mmmmmmmmm

19-12-2013, 07:13 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21287460

Done deal :greengrin

19-12-2013, 07:19 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21287460

Done deal :greengrin

Gonnae no. :greengrin

East Coast Hibe
21-12-2013, 11:40 AM
There is a big possibility that griffiths will be put out on loan in January.

Whether it's to ER or not is a different matter.

21-12-2013, 12:15 PM

Don't do this to me haha

21-12-2013, 12:45 PM

Celtc are interested I believe

21-12-2013, 01:03 PM
I hear he's going to Dundee

jimmyboco1875
21-12-2013, 05:07 PM

Wolves game was 3 3 today and he didn't score, was he even picked?

21-12-2013, 05:17 PM
Bench.

21-12-2013, 05:34 PM
Hate that we didnt sign him for 150k when we could have...

21-12-2013, 06:04 PM
He won't sign for another spa team Imo

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2

21-12-2013, 06:19 PM
Hate that we didnt sign him for 150k when we could have...

When could we have got him for that price?

21-12-2013, 06:21 PM
When could we have got him for that price?

It's a Hibs Net thing. (I think)

21-12-2013, 06:22 PM
Would kill to have sparky back.

21-12-2013, 06:24 PM
I think he's homesick, he posted a pic on twitter last night of all his kids, so maybe he wants to come home to his families!

Did he get them all in the picture.

21-12-2013, 06:24 PM
He won't sign for another spa team Imo

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2

They'll be dancing in the streets of Leamington at that news.

21-12-2013, 06:26 PM
We have a £200k rated striker, so maybe we can agree a swap deal ... LG plus £50k ?

We couldnae gie that striker away for nowt

21-12-2013, 06:32 PM

hertz :greengrin

21-12-2013, 06:33 PM
They'll be dancing in the streets of Leamington at that news.

Flanny boy
21-12-2013, 06:57 PM
Think he may be heading to celtic in January :rolleyes:

21-12-2013, 06:58 PM
We couldnae gie that striker away for nowt

I'm sure the team with no shame HoMOFC would take him for nothing........

21-12-2013, 07:02 PM

I reckon this is a strong possibility. He's probably desperate to come back to Scotland and Celtic are desperate for a striker. Much more chance of this than a return to hibs unfortunately.

21-12-2013, 07:04 PM

Cant see that happening. Lennon has never been a fan

Flanny boy
21-12-2013, 07:05 PM
I reckon this is a strong possibility. He's probably desperate to come back to Scotland and Celtic are desperate for a striker. Much more chance of this than a return to hibs unfortunately.
I heard for 1.5m but how true this is
I suppose only time will tell

21-12-2013, 07:07 PM
Cant see that happening. Lennon has never been a fan

Didn't the wee ginger scrotum once say that none of the Hibs players were good enough for Sellick? Might have been after we beat them 1-0 at ER when Leigh scored

21-12-2013, 07:18 PM
If Leigh comes back to Scotland it will be to play for Hibs. Mark my words.

(Gulp)

St.Kristopher
21-12-2013, 07:32 PM
My source said: "If Leigh comes back to Scotland and signs for Hibs. It will be so he can play for Hibs. Mark my words."

21-12-2013, 07:36 PM
Did he get them all in the picture.

Brilliant !!!

21-12-2013, 07:40 PM

Cant see why celtic would buy a striker that isnt getting a game for wolves

21-12-2013, 07:41 PM
Didn't the wee ginger scrotum once say that none of the Hibs players were good enough for Sellick? Might have been after we beat them 1-0 at ER when Leigh scored

yes, and he also said that none of those nominated for the player of the year awards would get a game for him...

SurferRosa
21-12-2013, 09:04 PM
Had a wee look around the net and found these posted on a Celtic site. The usual standard of spelling is in full force here.

" Right here goes was told today from a very very good source lee griffiths to Celtic is almost a done deal fee of 1.5 million.Wold not post this if I thought it was crap trust me this will happen ".

" ....was told there have been a lot of talks this week and deal is almost done Honestly would not post this if it was just pub or taxi talk ".

Doesn`t mean they`re right of course. :wink:

21-12-2013, 09:15 PM
Be heartbreaking to see Leigh in that dirty smeltic shirt. Come home leigh where you belong.

21-12-2013, 09:20 PM
Cant see why celtic would buy a striker that isnt getting a game for wolves

Can't see why Celtic wouldn't want to buy a striker who scored almost 30 goals in one season for an extremely poor spl team. He's proved himself at this level and would likely score more for the best team in the league.

21-12-2013, 09:23 PM
Please not Celtic.

It was bad seeing Derek in that shirt but not Leigh as well.

21-12-2013, 09:55 PM
My source said: "If Leigh comes back to Scotland and signs for Hibs. It will be so he can play for Hibs. Mark my words."

I hate conundrums what can this possibly mean?

21-12-2013, 10:27 PM
Can't see why Celtic wouldn't want to buy a striker who scored almost 30 goals in one season for an extremely poor spl team. He's proved himself at this level and would likely score more for the best team in the league.

Its hardly going to excite there fans though.i dont disagree that he will score goals but just think celtic will be looking for someone bigger and better.
They dont need a striker just now as they will stroll the league,probably buy in the summer
If they sell samaras it may change everything!!

21-12-2013, 10:37 PM
Celtc's signing policy of late seems to be to get young unknowns in on the cheap with a view to a big sale in couple years. Seems to be working well. Not sure if Leigh would suit their policy

21-12-2013, 11:04 PM
I work beside his step-sister and she said that Celtc were sniffing round LG. She then said that he'd never want to go there but added, sadly it has to be said, that "it's all about money." :bitchy:

22-12-2013, 12:18 AM
I think I would cry if Leigh Griffiths was to ever come back to Easter Road as an opposition player.