View Full Version : 200+ Club

15-12-2013, 09:19 PM
What with Lewis now passing the 200 appearances mark I thought I'd compile a list of players that have done that very thing since the 1970's

Some interesting names and some club Lewis has joined!

Figures are appearances/goals scored

Jim Black 234/1
John Blackley 410/11
Ally Brazil 258/10
Des Bremner 287/24
John Brownlie 307/23
Ralph Callachan 275/35
Peter Cormack 291/106
Arthur Duncan 626/114
Alex Edwards 215/12
Gareth Evans 301/38
Brian Hamilton 232/11
Gordon Hunter 409/8
Darren Jackson 206/59
Paul Kane 292/42
Ally MacLeod 276/99
Jim McArthur 296/0
Pat McGinlay 374/79
Jackie McNamara 309/3
Willie Miller 287/3
Graham Mitchell 317/4
Ian Murray 296/17
Garry O’Connor 207/75
Jimmy O’Rourke 325/122
Neil Orr 203/6
Pat Quinn 201/26
Gordon Rae 433/59
Derek Riordan 260/104
Alan Rough 206/0
Erich Schaedler 434/5
Bobby Smith 232/31
Alan Sneddon 372/9
Pat Stanton 617/78
Lewis Stevenson 201/1
Joe Tortolano 257/16
Michael Weir 247/35
Keith Wright 234/76

Out of interest, here’s the figures for Joe Baker and Alex Cropley who almost made the 200+ club

Joe Baker 194/158
Alex Cropley 199/49

GoldenEagle
15-12-2013, 09:22 PM
Joe Bakers goal scoring record!

15-12-2013, 09:24 PM

Astonishing, I know :aok:

15-12-2013, 09:24 PM
All but burridge mcintyre Mcleod and Beaumont from the 13 that won the skol cup final.
edit, also 8 of the 72 league cup winning team too but only lewis from the 07 team. I suppose its much less common for players to stay with one club for so long these days.

15-12-2013, 09:26 PM

Just over 0.8 goals a game. Crazy.

15-12-2013, 09:28 PM

114/86 was Neil Martin's figures. No wonder he was a hero of mine :greengrin

Funkydunc
15-12-2013, 09:31 PM
Gary O's scoring record only slightly worse than O'Rourke. Suprising

15-12-2013, 09:32 PM
The legendary duo of Arthur Duncan + Pat Stanton with both over 600 appearances!

15-12-2013, 09:33 PM
Derek Riordan nuff said.

Legend FACT

15-12-2013, 09:34 PM
That boy Rough must`ve been pish - nae goals in all those appearances??

15-12-2013, 09:34 PM
Pat McGinlays goal return was decent

15-12-2013, 09:35 PM
That boy Rough must`ve been pish - nae goals in all those appearances??

I know. Even Goram scored one!

15-12-2013, 09:36 PM
When you look at the number of substitute appearances made by some of these luminaries it's bloody depressing.

It reminds you both how good we were and how far we have fallen!

15-12-2013, 09:37 PM
Derek Riordan nuff said.

Legend FACT

Certainly is.

Goalscoring record isn't bettered by many.

His career will always be one of 'what ifs?' but when it comes to Hibs he is a legend.

15-12-2013, 09:37 PM

Which Andy Goram lol

15-12-2013, 09:38 PM
Which Andy Goram lol

Good question :greengrin

15-12-2013, 09:45 PM
What with Lewis now passing the 200 appearances mark I thought I'd compile a list of players that have done that very thing since the 1970's

Jim Black 234/1
John Blackley 410/11
Ally Brazil 258/10
Des Bremner 287/24
John Brownlie 307/23
Ralph Callachan 275/35
Peter Cormack 291/106
Arthur Duncan 626/114
Alex Edwards 215/12
Gareth Evans 301/38
Brian Hamilton 232/11
Gordon Hunter 409/8
Darren Jackson 206/59
Paul Kane 292/42
Ally MacLeod 276/99
Jim McArthur 296/0
Pat McGinlay 374/79
Jackie McNamara 309/3
Willie Miller 287/3
Graham Mitchell 317/4
Ian Murray 296/17
Garry O’Connor 207/75
Jimmy O’Rourke 325/122
Neil Orr 203/6
Pat Quinn 201/26
Gordon Rae 433/59
Derek Riordan 260/104
Alan Rough 206/0
Erich Schaedler 434/5
Bobby Smith 232/31
Alan Sneddon 372/9
Pat Stanton 617/78
Lewis Stevenson 201/1
Joe Tortolano 257/16
Michael Weir 247/35
Keith Wright 234/76

Out of interest, here’s the figures for Joe Baker and Alex Cropley who almost made the 200+ club

Joe Baker 194/158
Alex Cropley 199/49

Good work Johnny.

Interestingly, quite a number of these are spread over two spells with us though (bold), I suppose the figures take both into account?

And Pat Quinn would be the 60s before the 70s?

15-12-2013, 09:46 PM
Good work Johnny.

Interestingly, quite a number of these are spread over two spells with us though (bold), I suppose the figures take both into account?

And Pat Quinn would be the 60s before the 70s?

Yes and erm oops :greengrin

15-12-2013, 09:49 PM

Not one of the current lot has ever scored 0.8 goals in a game. Petrie! :grr:

Stax
15-12-2013, 09:53 PM
Baker's goal to game ratio comparable to Ronaldo & Messi's, and Pat and Arthur on over 600 appearances is incredible. Can't imagine anyone making 600 appearances in this era.

15-12-2013, 09:55 PM
How did Brian Hamilton make that many appearances? Dearie me!:dunno:

15-12-2013, 09:57 PM
How did Brian Hamilton make that many appearances? Dearie me!:dunno:

You'd need to address that question to Alex Miller :wink:

cmcd
15-12-2013, 10:07 PM
Hero of mine as well For those who think Riordan and Oconnor are legends Take a look at stats for Neil Jimmy O and Joe B They were and are true legends both on and off the park

15-12-2013, 10:14 PM
Tortolano - legend :agree:

15-12-2013, 10:53 PM
Yes you can see why Thebakerboy is my hero , I also thought Neil Martin and Jimmy O were Hibee heros in there time and I obviously saw all of the above play and many many others.

harry-hibee
15-12-2013, 11:10 PM
Alex Cropley 199/49

Amazing as Alex left the club when he was only 22. The Tornado's were a relatively young team. Oh! Eddie you should have a have kept him and bought George Stewart and Alan Rough instead of buying that wee fat striker we didn't need.

15-12-2013, 11:28 PM
I'm surprised no one's mentioned man of the moment Stevenson's amazing strike rate. Almost 0.005 goals per game!

tartanhibee
16-12-2013, 04:00 AM
Who did he score against?

Nevi_SOL
16-12-2013, 07:05 AM
Inverness I think

davemcbain
16-12-2013, 08:02 AM
Thanks for compiling that.

I'm surprised at how long the list is.

16-12-2013, 08:27 AM
Inverness I think

Yup. Callum booth got the other in a 2-0 win.

Smiggy 7-0
16-12-2013, 08:35 AM
Joe Bakers goal scoring record! Will NEVER be beaten.......unless Griffiths returns

16-12-2013, 08:39 AM
Will NEVER be beaten.......unless Griffiths returns

150K will sort that.

FACT

16-12-2013, 11:57 AM

i remember that v Morton funny as...

16-12-2013, 08:07 PM
150K will sort that.

FACT

The capital letters have provided a great deal of reassurance.

JustSimplyHibs
16-12-2013, 08:18 PM

Jim Black 234/1
John Blackley 410/11
Ally Brazil 258/10
Des Bremner 287/24
John Brownlie 307/23
Ralph Callachan 275/35
Peter Cormack 291/106
Arthur Duncan 626/114
Alex Edwards 215/12
Gareth Evans 301/38
Brian Hamilton 232/11
Gordon Hunter 409/8
Darren Jackson 206/59
Paul Kane 292/42
Ally MacLeod 276/99
Jim McArthur 296/0
Pat McGinlay 374/79
Jackie McNamara 309/3
Willie Miller 287/3
Graham Mitchell 317/4
Ian Murray 296/17
Garry O’Connor 207/75
Jimmy O’Rourke 325/122
Neil Orr 203/6
Pat Quinn 201/26
Gordon Rae 433/59
Derek Riordan 260/104
Alan Rough 206/0
Erich Schaedler 434/5
Bobby Smith 232/31
Alan Sneddon 372/9
Pat Stanton 617/78
Lewis Stevenson 201/1
Joe Tortolano 257/16
Michael Weir 247/35
Keith Wright 234/76

Joe Baker 194/158
Alex Cropley 199/49

Paul Hanlon must be close to the 200 club with most of those appearances coming as starts???.

16-12-2013, 08:27 PM
Paul Hanlon must be close to the 200 club with most of those appearances coming as starts???.

I spoke to PH at the kids panto a couple of Sundays ago . Was saying to him he couldnt be far away from 200 . About 180 was his reply .

wazoo1875
16-12-2013, 08:30 PM
I spoke to PH at the kids panto a couple of Sundays ago . Was saying to him he couldnt be far away from 200 . About 180 was his reply .

Yeah just checked his wiki page, 181 apps 8 goals
150 league apps. Impressive for someone so young.

16-12-2013, 08:34 PM
Hanlon and Lewie have been really good ambassadors for the club - hard working, humble and classy.

Glad we still have both.

JustSimplyHibs
16-12-2013, 08:35 PM

Never knew he was that close. Lets no foget he's only 22 - 23 aswell - some achievement.

Good on the lad :thumbsup:

16-12-2013, 08:38 PM
Hanlon and Lewie have been really good ambassadors for the club - hard working, humble and classy.

Glad we still have both.

Some may say, seen as they've been mainstays, it emphasises Hibs as a lowly SPL side.

16-12-2013, 08:59 PM
I'm surprised no one's mentioned man of the moment Stevenson's amazing strike rate. Almost 0.005 goals per game!

Why can't you just give the guy the credit he deserves ?
Good pro who has gone about his job without complaining over where he has been asked to play or about being dropped :rolleyes:

Well done Lewis here's to the next fifty !!
" Your my favourite "

16-12-2013, 09:00 PM

180 with only 9 of those from the bench. Has also scored 8 goals

16-12-2013, 09:09 PM

And has also missed very few games due to injuries. Looks after himself does Paul, on and off the park. A model professional

16-12-2013, 09:15 PM
And has also missed very few games due to injuries. Looks after himself does Paul, on and off the park. A model professional

Here Here !!!!:thumbsup:

16-12-2013, 10:13 PM

Goram actually scored twice for Hibs. Once from open play v Morton and also from a penalty in a shootout at ER v clydebank in a LC game

16-12-2013, 10:44 PM
Did Andy G not take the pens for a it or did I dream that?

Sent from my brain via Tapatalk

16-12-2013, 10:46 PM

And slaughtered on here for 172 of those games!

16-12-2013, 10:58 PM
Gareth Evans goal return of 38 goals in 301 games played is poor for a forward. Having said that, you could never accuse him of hiding and he always gave 100%. The tactical trend for one up front would have suited him down to the ground. Great winner at Darkheid in a 3-2 win after a 1-2 with defender on the line :greengrin

For all people criticise O'Connor and Riordan, the stats show that they have every right to be counted as Hibs greats. In retrospect, I'm thankful for their off field flaws that meant I saw more of them in a Hibs strip than I would have if they'd been 'model professional'.

16-12-2013, 11:19 PM
Never knew he was that close. Lets no foget he's only 22 - 23 aswell - some achievement.

Good on the lad :thumbsup:

24 in January. Wouldn't be surprised to see them both reach 3/400 games with hibs by the end of their careers.

Smiggy 7-0
17-12-2013, 10:59 AM
150K will sort that.

FACT
Will put on my christmas list and send to SANTA

17-12-2013, 01:15 PM
Some of the players who reached the 200 + appearance milestone are amongst the greatest ever Hibees. The fact that so many fo them are from the early-mid seventies shows how strong we were at the time and how lucky (some of us) we were to witness them.

On the other hand it's amazing that some were ever around long enough to get to a half century. Guys like Brazil and Sneddon played through one of the worst eras for Hibs in my forty odd years of going to games, other like Evans, Hamilton and Tortolano played when we actually managed (short) spells of very good football. WHilst all these guys contributed a shift etc, none were good enough, never mind good enough to be around that long...incredible.

17-12-2013, 03:34 PM
Gareth Evans goal return of 38 goals in 301 games played is poor for a forward. Having said that, you could never accuse him of hiding and he always gave 100%. The tactical trend for one up front would have suited him down to the ground. Great winner at Darkheid in a 3-2 win after a 1-2 with defender on the line :greengrin

For all people criticise O'Connor and Riordan, the stats show that they have every right to be counted as Hibs greats. In retrospect, I'm thankful for their off field flaws that meant I saw more of them in a Hibs strip than I would have if they'd been 'model professional'.

On the other hand, had they both fulfilled their potential, they might have returned to Hibs last summer or next summer and given us another three years or so at the end of their careers. :cb

17-12-2013, 09:54 PM
Some of the players who reached the 200 + appearance milestone are amongst the greatest ever Hibees. The fact that so many fo them are from the early-mid seventies shows how strong we were at the time and how lucky (some of us) we were to witness them.

On the other hand it's amazing that some were ever around long enough to get to a half century. Guys like Brazil and Sneddon played through one of the worst eras for Hibs in my forty odd years of going to games, other like Evans, Hamilton and Tortolano played when we actually managed (short) spells of very good football. WHilst all these guys contributed a shift etc, none were good enough, never mind good enough to be around that long...incredible.

And the same could be said for Stevenson and Hanlon.

17-12-2013, 10:48 PM

Football clubs are not made up of "STARS" they are TEAMS made up of players of varying talents who when put together by a good manager can gel .
You will have played the game at some level and should know there were and still are players who although not brilliant can contribute to the overall success of a club.
I remember when the " famous five" were playing they had at 4 and 6 Willie Finnegan and Sammy Kean who as far as I remember never got a cap between them but were an integral part of that sides success and were genuine pro's
This is as is with players like Evans ,Torto , Hamilton , Lewis and Hanlon all have been /are good pro's who have played / are playing their part as members of a TEAM .
Give some credit - please !!

17-12-2013, 10:50 PM
Football clubs are not made up of "STARS" they are TEAMS made up of players of varying talents who when put together by a good manager can gel .
You will have played the game at some level and should know there were and still are players who although not brilliant can contribute to the overall success of a club.
I remember when the " famous five" were playing they had at 4 and 6 Willie Finnegan and Sammy Kean who as far as I remember never got a cap between them but were an integral part of that sides success and were genuine pro's
This is as is with players like Evans ,Torto , Hamilton , Lewis and Hanlon all have been /are good pro's who have played / are playing their part as members of a TEAM .

Well said Mr ships :aok:

17-12-2013, 10:57 PM

The incredible thing about your comment and the one you quoted is that Stevenson & Hanlon have been picked regularly by the umpteen Hibs managers we have had during their careers.

Whereas guys like you and the poster you quoted, who as far as I know haven't played at or managed at any significant level, can tell that they are not worthy of being picked or were only played amongst the boatload of players we have had in their time because they were the least crap.

200 games for Lewis and approaching that for Paul would tend to suggest otherwise?

The fact that they were both regularly capped at U21 in preference to their peers would also suggest they had something?

A wee bit of credit and appreciation for them surely wouldn't go amiss instead of the constant negativity?

18-12-2013, 03:33 PM
The incredible thing about your comment and the one you quoted is that Stevenson & Hanlon have been picked regularly by the umpteen Hibs managers we have had during their careers.

Whereas guys like you and the poster you quoted, who as far as I know haven't played at or managed at any significant level, can tell that they are not worthy of being picked or were only played amongst the boatload of players we have had in their time because they were the least crap.

200 games for Lewis and approaching that for Paul would tend to suggest otherwise?

The fact that they were both regularly capped at U21 in preference to their peers would also suggest they had something?

A wee bit of credit and appreciation for them surely wouldn't go amiss instead of the constant negativity?

Hey, I was quoted and said nowt about how bad or otherwise Hanlon and Stevenson are. I managed Sciennes to a Meadows Festival five a-side triumph and played at the highest level in the Edinburgh Amateurs, qualification enough for me methinks:greengrin.

In all seriouseness though, guys like Benny and Sneddon sustained long careers at Hibs when we were utter gash and it's testimony to our levels of mediocrity during the late seventies and through to the mid-late eighties, that they had so many games. That's just my opinion. I think I was making some half ersed point about the standards of the 200 plus guys being of a rather different calibre in the sixties and early-mid seventies.

Dobosz83
18-12-2013, 05:27 PM
Great list, I enjoy stats like these. In this day and age it's becoming a rarity for players to last any length of time at club like ours.

Anybody able to complie a list of 100+ goalscorers for the Hibees?

18-12-2013, 05:39 PM

I actually agree with your post.

To qualify my comment slightly, I think both Hanlon and Stevenson fall into the Sam bracket as your Graham Mitchells, Willie Miller, Hamilton etc

I doubt many people will look back too fondly on any of these guys. Which is not to say they aren't great pros or haven't contributed. I think they've racked up games as our club has been a mess for years but that's not to criticise them personally.

18-12-2013, 10:11 PM
Great list, I enjoy stats like these. In this day and age it's becoming a rarity for players to last any length of time at club like ours.

Anybody able to complie a list of 100+ goalscorers for the Hibees?

Joe Baker 158

Bobby Combe 109

Peter Cormack 106

Jock 'Cubby' Cuthbertson 124

Arthur Duncan 114

Jimmy Dunn 103

Bobby Johnstone 142

Jimmy McColl 143

'Lil' Arthur Milne 106

Jimmy O'Rourke 122

Willie Ormond 189

Lawrie Reilly 238

Derek Riordan 104

Gordon Smith 303

Eddie Turnbull 202

Ally MacLeod 99 :wink:

18-12-2013, 10:15 PM
Joe Baker 158

Bobby Combe 109

Peter Cormack 106

Arthur Duncan 114

Jimmy Dunn 103

Bobby Johnstone 142

Jimmy McColl 143

'Lil' Arthur Milne 106

Jimmy O'Rourke 122

Willie Ormond 189

Lawrie Reilly 238

Derek Riordan 104

Gordon Smith 303

Eddie Turnbull 202

Glad you put ally in there. I remember him missing a pen against celtic at ER that would have given him 100. There was also that free kick that he scored twice. My hero growing up!!!

18-12-2013, 11:40 PM
Joe Baker 158

Bobby Combe 109

Peter Cormack 106

Arthur Duncan 114

Jimmy Dunn 103

Bobby Johnstone 142

Jimmy McColl 143

'Lil' Arthur Milne 106

Jimmy O'Rourke 122

Willie Ormond 189

Lawrie Reilly 238

Derek Riordan 104

Gordon Smith 303

Eddie Turnbull 202

Jonnyboy, great info, thanks. So only Deeks in the last 30 years or so

19-12-2013, 01:02 AM

Mine too. When he was at ER we didn't ask whether he'd scored; we asked how many he'd scored. A really cracking player, and a very decent bloke too.

Gary O's scoring record only slightly worse than O'Rourke. Suprising

Jimmy was ill-used by Shankly - he was Shankly's favourite substitute and cursed with the reputation of being a 'utility player'. He only got a proper chance in the first team under Turnbull - and he responded magnificently. Jimmy has the heart of a lion and was a great team player and died-in-the-wool Hibee another of my top all-time favourite Hibs players. Why Turnbull punted Jim to make room for a certain Lazy Lardass Pseudo-Striker of the Yellow-Bellied ****-Stirring variety I will never know.

Or forgive.

Will NEVER be beaten.......unless Griffiths returns

Don't be silly. Talented as he is, Leigh Griffiths isn't fit to lace Joe Baker's boots. Leigh's a good striker, last season the best in the SPL. Joe was an international-class centre-forward at a time when that really meant something. Trust me - Joe Baker was an top-class all-round centre-forward, two-footed, good in the air, strong, fast and incredibly agile.

40+ goals in a season, two seasons in a row. And we transferred him for £65,000 to Torino after he asked for an extra five quid in his wages. Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose .... (as Franck Sauzee would say).

19-12-2013, 01:11 PM
I actually agree with your post.

To qualify my comment slightly, I think both Hanlon and Stevenson fall into the Sam bracket as your Graham Mitchells, Willie Miller, Hamilton etc

I doubt many people will look back too fondly on any of these guys. Which is not to say they aren't great pros or haven't contributed. I think they've racked up games as our club has been a mess for years but that's not to criticise them personally.

I'll give you Hamilton in that category but Mitchell and Miller were way better for us that. Mitchell was a classy player. If he had a bit of pace then his career would have taken him beyond Hibs as it's pinnacle. Oh for a Willie Miller in this current Hibs team. Great SPL standard player and a no-nonsense type. Career nose dived when he left us though.

19-12-2013, 02:29 PM
I'll give you Hamilton in that category but Mitchell and Miller were way better for us that. Mitchell was a classy player. If he had a bit of pace then his career would have taken him beyond Hibs as it's pinnacle. Oh for a Willie Miller in this current Hibs team. Great SPL standard player and a no-nonsense type. Career nose dived when he left us though.

And it would be difficult to argue against the fact that he got what he deserved when it did!

19-12-2013, 06:02 PM
Mine too. When he was at ER we didn't ask whether he'd scored; we asked how many he'd scored. A really cracking player, and a very decent bloke too.

Jimmy was ill-used by Shankly - he was Shankly's favourite substitute and cursed with the reputation of being a 'utility player'. He only got a proper chance in the first team under Turnbull - and he responded magnificently. Jimmy has the heart of a lion and was a great team player and died-in-the-wool Hibee another of my top all-time favourite Hibs players. Why Turnbull punted Jim to make room for a certain Lazy Lardass Pseudo-Striker of the Yellow-Bellied ****-Stirring variety I will never know.

Or forgive.

Don't be silly. Talented as he is, Leigh Griffiths isn't fit to lace Joe Baker's boots. Leigh's a good striker, last season the best in the SPL. Joe was an international-class centre-forward at a time when that really meant something. Trust me - Joe Baker was an top-class all-round centre-forward, two-footed, good in the air, strong, fast and incredibly agile.

40+ goals in a season, two seasons in a row. And we transferred him for £65,000 to Torino after he asked for an extra five quid in his wages. Plus ça change, plus c'est la même chose .... (as Franck Sauzee would say).

Baker was also very brave and could look after himself.So much so that when we beat Airdrie 11-1 he managed to get booked for putting Doug Baillie up in the air-no easy task.