View Full Version : How does Russell Howard make a career as a comedian?

08-12-2013, 11:54 PM
Seriously?

09-12-2013, 07:55 AM
I know. He seems to get by on having a weird eye and making "funny faces" after his wee "funny jokes".

Ranks with Jack Whitehall, in the 'it's not so much I wish they were dead, but if someone could cut out their tongues, I'd not be against it" camp.

09-12-2013, 07:59 AM
**** knows.

09-12-2013, 08:05 AM
It's the shouting that gets me.

If a joke isn't funny at a normal volume, it isn't suddenly funny if you start screaming at the top of your voice.

09-12-2013, 11:31 AM
Glad it's not just me, I think I have heard most of his jokes in Primary School.
How the guy sells out places like the SECC is beyond me.

09-12-2013, 12:39 PM
He is certainly a strange character, always seemed to take offence at any Frankie Boyle gay related jokes on MTW, but, seemed to think a joke about ramming bits of Lego up his wee brothers arse was hilarious!

As I said "Strange".

yeezus.
09-12-2013, 12:48 PM
Seriously?

I agree, he is the last funny person I have ever come across - childish and just not at all funny.

09-12-2013, 12:51 PM
Andy Parsons was always more of a confusion to me. Terribly unfunny.

09-12-2013, 06:03 PM

Correct, he is totally chronic, walks up makes a stupid face then about turn, gives me the actual rage!!, up there with Lenny Henry in the funny stakes, agree about Howard also

09-12-2013, 06:09 PM

Agree completely. I bought a mock the week audiobook a few years ago and a week or so later got an email asking me to write a review. So I wrote "this audio book would be better if they replaced all the Andy Parsons bits with comedy material". I think his whole family must have read it and reviewed my review!

09-12-2013, 06:25 PM
He's pish.

09-12-2013, 06:48 PM
RH must have dirty photos of the bbc director general the amount of time his shows get repeated on bbc3

yeezus.
09-12-2013, 07:49 PM
I have never laughed so much in my life when Frankie Boyle hosted Never Mind the Buzzcocks (with Professor Green), Boyle is intelligent and funny at the same time, a true comedian.

Newhaven
09-12-2013, 09:21 PM
Slight thread hijack but does anyone find Miranda Hart funny? Another one who's success at so called comedy baffles me and my pals.

09-12-2013, 09:25 PM
Slight thread hijack but does anyone find Miranda Hart funny? Another one who's success at so called comedy baffles me and my pals.

Yes, she's easily on a par with Russell Howard :wink:

yeezus.
09-12-2013, 09:55 PM

Absolutely not. She is definitely in the same category as Howard, both absolutely pish. As was her "sitcom". Ricky Gervais' work is to be admired - both the Office and Extra's require a certain level of intelligence.

Casey1875
09-12-2013, 10:02 PM
Yes, she's easily on a par with Russell Howard :wink:

And Sarah Millican. It amazes me how any of them have managed to make a career out of it.

09-12-2013, 10:52 PM
Almost as bad as that ******** Michael McIntyre

Deary me

09-12-2013, 11:35 PM
Almost as bad as that ******** Michael McIntyre

Deary me

Can't stand him although even he's hilarious compared to the totally awful man Alan Partridge

10-12-2013, 06:56 AM
All the folks mentioned would quite easily fit in well on the German comedy circuit. That says it all really!

Over here there is an endless troop of so called comedians who's whole act revolves around some idiotic character they portray by wearing silly clothes or pretending to have mental issues.

10-12-2013, 09:16 PM

No no no no no no.

No I don't find her funny. And who is that one who is - I guess - a 1st generation immigrant, and whose whole act consists of talking pish in an atrocious Nigerian accent.

Women comedians, with the exception of that Sandra Tostvig (spelling issues), are usually chronically unfunny.

That said, there are some appalling male comedians out there. the 2 worst have already been called out here. Lee Mack I just don't get either. Nor Frank Skinner - grizzly accent, just waffles on like the guy in the pub that thinks they are comedy.

Lee Evans also. Shout a lot, have a face made of elastic and sweat like a manky bassa. Not funny in my book.

10-12-2013, 09:58 PM
Russell Howard is as funny as Lee Nelson, canny believe how these guy's are on the telly.

10-12-2013, 11:25 PM
Thought Howard was quite good on Mock the Week.:agree:

10-12-2013, 11:44 PM
No no no no no no.

No I don't find her funny. And who is that one who is - I guess - a 1st generation immigrant, and whose whole act consists of talking pish in an atrocious Nigerian accent.

Gina Yashere?

Traumatic excuse for a comedian.

11-12-2013, 01:08 AM

He wasn't.

11-12-2013, 06:35 AM
As tragically unfunny as Russell Howard is, it can hardly be thought of as a surprise that the bbc hire him given some of the other dross that the bbc try to pass off as comedy.

We Are Klang and Little Miss Jocelyn were so bad they make Andy Parson look like a comedic genius!

11-12-2013, 09:24 AM
It must be something about having Russell as a first name cos Russell Kane is particularly unfunny too.

11-12-2013, 09:31 AM
It must be something about having Russell as a first name cos Russell Kane is particularly unfunny too.

my brothers called Russell too....and theres nowt funny about that wee jambo *******! :greengrin

Sergio sledge
11-12-2013, 10:07 AM
And Sarah Millican. It amazes me how any of them have managed to make a career out of it.

Her voice...... Aaaarrrrgh! Even if what she says is funny, I can't listen to any of it to tell because her voice is so annoying!

11-12-2013, 10:57 AM
No no no no no no.

Women comedians, with the exception of that Sandra Tostvig (spelling issues), are usually chronically unfunny.

That said, there are some appalling male comedians out there. the 2 worst have already been called out here. Lee Mack I just don't get either. Nor Frank Skinner - grizzly accent, just waffles on like the guy in the pub that thinks they are comedy.

Lee Evans also. Shout a lot, have a face made of elastic and sweat like a manky bassa. Not funny in my book.

Agree with most of what you said but I find lee evans hillarious.

Igf im honest im not as keen on his earlier material but the last 3 or 4 dvds he has had have been brilliant. I went to see him a few year baack at the playhouse and my face actually hurt with laughter.

there is many 'comedians' I am amazed that make it, or get air time.

as stated on here:

Andy parson
Russell Howard
Russell Kane
Jack Whitehall
all females - including the exteamly anoying american chick who sneaks onto 8 out of 10 now and again.
That guy wi the beard - again who sneaks on mock the week
andos popodopolous (or whatever his name is)
lee mack
paddy mccguines
Jason Manford to be honest i could go on and on lol pretty much anyone on live at the appolo with the exception of the occasional good 'headliner'

11-12-2013, 11:02 AM
Nearly forgot the one that annoys the **** out of me the now is that wee gerdie lad canny mind his name, chris somthing maybe? seems to be on a celb juice a fair bit. bellend who is so unfunny

Hibee Ryan
11-12-2013, 11:21 AM
Nearly forgot the one that annoys the **** out of me the now is that wee gerdie lad canny mind his name, chris somthing maybe? seems to be on a celb juice a fair bit. bellend who is so unfunny

Chris Ramsay? Comedy standards really have lowered in recent times. The majority just seem to shout and make a face.

Women comedians, maybe apart from Dawn French, just seem to constantly make jokes about how much they need a man or stories of trying to get a man, so cringy it's actually hard to watch

11-12-2013, 11:26 AM
Chris Ramsay? Comedy standards really have lowered in recent times. The majority just seem to shout and make a face.

Women comedians, maybe apart from Dawn French, just seem to constantly make jokes about how much they need a man or stories of trying to get a man, so cringy it's actually hard to watch

Aye thats the one :aok: there is another who has some set of teeth on him who i dont like, and all his jokes seem to be about his teeth.........oh and add daniel sloss to my list haha I would have been easier to just name the few comedians I actually find funny

yeezus.
11-12-2013, 12:37 PM

Igf im honest im not as keen on his earlier material but the last 3 or 4 dvds he has had have been brilliant. I went to see him a few year baack at the playhouse and my face actually hurt with laughter.

as stated on here:

Andy parson
Russell Howard
Russell Kane
Jack Whitehall
all females - including the exteamly anoying american chick who sneaks onto 8 out of 10 now and again.
lee mack
paddy mccguines
Jason Manford to be honest i could go on and on lol pretty much anyone on live at the appolo with the exception of the occasional good 'headliner'

Did you see Christopher Hitchens video on "why woman aren't funny" - he hits the nail on the head, most female comedians are butch.

The best comedians are: Ricky Gervais and Frankie Boyle.

11-12-2013, 03:15 PM

Russell Brand reinforces your point

Barman Stanton
11-12-2013, 03:20 PM
Most of the Uk comedians are pretty poor. I prefer some of the US ones like Doug Stanhope and Louis CK.

11-12-2013, 03:38 PM
John bishop is awful. I find myself watching him wanting to like the lad but he's just not funny

Hank Schrader
11-12-2013, 05:37 PM
Most of the Uk comedians are pretty poor. I prefer some of the US ones like Doug Stanhope and Louis CK.

Louis CK is outstanding. Very funny guy. :aok:

yeezus.
11-12-2013, 07:04 PM
John bishop is awful. I find myself watching him wanting to like the lad but he's just not funny

:agree: another unfunny comedian. I like Micky Flannagan, saw him on the One Show tonight (which I usually only watch because of Alex Jones), he was good.

11-12-2013, 09:03 PM

Really? I think he is complete pish.

11-12-2013, 09:06 PM

He was crap and the sad thing is it was all scripted and he was still crap :greengrin

11-12-2013, 09:57 PM
Russell Brand reinforces your point

:grr::grr: He is such a monumental welt

Another one, that sandy-haired ******** with the terrible goatee that hosts - I think - Celebrity Juice, or at least some show with Holly Boobiloughly.

Someone Merrion or similar I think.

Chronically unfunny weapons grade throbber of a man.

11-12-2013, 10:11 PM
:grr::grr: He is such a monumental welt

Another one, that sandy-haired ******** with the terrible goatee that hosts - I think - Celebrity Juice, or at least some show with Holly Boobiloughly.

Someone Merrion or similar I think.

Chronically unfunny weapons grade throbber of a man.

Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon/Avid Merrion.

12-12-2013, 11:53 AM
Russell Brand is excellent. Very clever and very funny.

Hank Schrader
12-12-2013, 12:08 PM
Really? I think he is complete pish.

I really couldn't give a flying one what you think mate. Hope that clears that up. :aok:

yeezus.
12-12-2013, 01:11 PM
Russell Brand is awful, I have no idea why the BBC let him make a documentary about drugs but Peter Hitchens put him in his place on Newsnight.

12-12-2013, 01:22 PM
Is it just me or are most of the 'comedians' these days, male and female, gay?

12-12-2013, 01:29 PM
Is it just me or are most of the 'comedians' these days, male and female, gay?

Its not just you, its most of the comedians as well, as you alluded to! ;-)

12-12-2013, 01:35 PM
Russell Brand is awful, I have no idea why the BBC let him make a documentary about drugs but Peter Hitchens put him in his place on Newsnight.

Hmm let me see! ex smack head turns his life round and is now a multi millionaire or crackpot daily mail reporter, think id actually rather take smack than listen to Hitchens

12-12-2013, 02:09 PM
I really couldn't give a flying one what you think mate. Hope that clears that up. :aok:

Nowt to clear up.

yeezus.
12-12-2013, 03:00 PM
Hmm let me see! ex smack head turns his life round and is now a multi millionaire or crackpot daily mail reporter, think id actually rather take smack than listen to Hitchens

He was arguing for a more liberal approach than is already in place when it comes to drugs!

12-12-2013, 03:06 PM
He was arguing for a more liberal approach than is already in place when it comes to drugs!

He was saying treating drug users as criminals and locking them up doesnt help and that not many Junkies take notice that drugs are illegal and to try other ideas, he champions abstinence based methods rather than Methedone, id be more inclined to listen to an eloquent person who has been through it than a radge who writes for a hate rag

I actually thought Brand tore him a new one

yeezus.
12-12-2013, 03:07 PM
He was saying treating drug users as criminals and locking them up doesnt help and that not many Junkies take notice that drugs are illegal and to try other ideas, he champions abstinence based methods rather than Methedone, id be more inclined to listen to an eloquent person who has been through it than a radge who writes for a hate rag

I actually thought Brand tore him a new one

I agree with Peter Hitchens on this - we should start introducing laws that will deter people from taking drugs in the first place. Giving people like Brand air time gives off the impression that it's okay to do drugs.

P.S. I don't agree with Peter Hitchens on ANYTHING else.

12-12-2013, 03:15 PM

I'd never heard of the guy until you posted this, then coincidentally I noticed he was on Comedy Central in the early hours today, better than Howard, I'll leave it at that. I prefer Micky F as I'm used to listening to Cockney wide boys when I go down to watch The Hammers, I've even managed to bump into Mr Brand a couple of times when he has been slumming it in the cheap seats! Nae sign of Ray "The Daddy" Winstone in those seats though.

12-12-2013, 03:32 PM
I agree with Peter Hitchens on this - we should start introducing laws that will deter people from taking drugs in the first place. Giving people like Brand air time gives off the impression that it's okay to do drugs.

P.S. I don't agree with Peter Hitchens on ANYTHING else.

Don't want to deviate from the original thread so i will add Omid Djalilli

People who take drugs don't care less if they are legal or not, if you tell a heroin or Crack addict that if they get caught they will get 20 years in jail it won't make the slightest bit of a difference

would also cost a fortune keeping these folk locked up, i have no love for junkies in the slightest but rehabilitation and education is the key here, not substitutes like Methedone or Jail where its just as easy to get the drugs

12-12-2013, 06:45 PM
The best comedians are the one's that never intended to be funny in the first place, but became comedians, because they just have that natural tendency to be funny.

People who aim to become comedians, tend to force their humour onto people more, making the experience less funny.

That's what I find anyway.

SuperAllyMcleod
12-12-2013, 07:23 PM
"Russell Howard" and "comedian" shouldn't even appear in the same sentence.

He's almost as bad as Jim Carey.

yeezus.
12-12-2013, 08:34 PM
Don't want to deviate from the original thread so i will add Omid Djalilli

People who take drugs don't care less if they are legal or not, if you tell a heroin or Crack addict that if they get caught they will get 20 years in jail it won't make the slightest bit of a difference

would also cost a fortune keeping these folk locked up, i have no love for junkies in the slightest but rehabilitation and education is the key here, not substitutes like Methedone or Jail where its just as easy to get the drugs

How do you know? The tough approach on drugs hasn't been tested. The liberal approach of a slap on the wrist for possession of cannabis has been tried and it isn't working.

12-12-2013, 10:13 PM
How do you know? The tough approach on drugs hasn't been tested. The liberal approach of a slap on the wrist for possession of cannabis has been tried and it isn't working.

I know people who take and have taken hard drugs, they really couldn't care less its illegal, even a longer sentence wouldn't stop them

do you generally think in most cases they do it because they want to? its an addiction

keep seeing government bodies and the police congratulating themselves on drug use being down, don't know where they get their stats from as you only have to go out at the weekend to see how much Coke is on the go,.more than I've ever seen in my lifetime

PS the British comedy awards were a farce bar Johnny Vegas, what a rant!

yeezus.
13-12-2013, 10:02 PM
I know people who take and have taken hard drugs, they really couldn't care less its illegal, even a longer sentence wouldn't stop them

do you generally think in most cases they do it because they want to? its an addiction

keep seeing government bodies and the police congratulating themselves on drug use being down, don't know where they get their stats from as you only have to go out at the weekend to see how much Coke is on the go,.more than I've ever seen in my lifetime

PS the British comedy awards were a farce bar Johnny Vegas, what a rant!

Fair enough, I just think we have been too soft on drugs (cannabis in particular) and I know people who don't go a day without smoking it. They have lost their personality.

The best thing about an addiction is to deter people from taking it up. Doesn't Brand advocate legalisation of drugs? I might be wrong (apologies if I am.)

13-12-2013, 10:20 PM
Leigh Francis aka Keith Lemon/Avid Merrion.

Aye him - that numpty.
He's on my "switch the telly off" list along with the likes of Terry Woeful, David Cameron, Bruce For*****e, Noel Edbums, et al.

14-12-2013, 02:43 PM

as stated on here:

Andy parson
Russell Howard
Russell Kane
Jack Whitehall
lee mack
paddy mccguines

I'd agree with all those names (especially that ****ing ******** Russell Kane)except Lee Mack, who's fantastic IMO. His standup stuff is alright, however he really thrives on the panel shows. Him, David Mitchell and Rob Brydon are great on 'Would I Lie to You?'.

I can't mention that show without posting this video :greengrin

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IkXxmMUIx8k

Twa Cairpets
14-12-2013, 05:25 PM
lee evans cant watch him on telly - the sweatiness gies me the severe boak and i cant tell if what he's saying is actually funny
Andy parson hit and miss, sometimes pretty funny
Russell Howard When he's not being self indulgent, gurning or needlessly and unfunnily relying on swearing and jobby type humour can be quite funny. So thats a 95% p!sh rating
Russell Kane In the first handful of people against the wall come the revolution
Jack Whitehall
andos popodopolous (or whatever his name is) utterly, utterly unfunny.Not even a crack of a smile has even ever given me, and in fact has a negative effect on my happiness
lee mack i quite like him
paddy mccguines mince

Can I add...

The tall goth type welt who is on never mind the buzzcocks
Keith Lemon - ahead of Russell Kane for the firing squad.
That big toothed Scouse guy

14-12-2013, 05:39 PM
Can I add...

The tall goth type welt who is on never mind the buzzcocks
Keith Lemon - ahead of Russell Kane for the firing squad.
That big toothed Scouse guy

You may add Noel Fielding, however as a fan of the mighty boosh I feel I have to like him and root for him

14-12-2013, 10:46 PM
Properly dislike Micky Flannigan.

Because of my generally ***** jokes I was dared to do a stand up set for charity - raised £80 for Dnipro at an open mic night (was about a year and a half ago) and **** me, that's genuinely the most difficult thing I've ever done - massive respect to those who do ir well!

15-12-2013, 10:28 AM
Comedy as interpreted by todays comedians has lost its value to me. Far too many folk appearing on the scene trying to use a tired old format.

I generally find about only 1 in 10 jokes/situation/descriptive scenario situations funny anymore, nothing worse than working out the punchline before it is delivered.

21-12-2013, 12:26 AM
I can't stand lee mack, most female comediennes, Ricky gervais or jimmy Carr. I used to love lee Evans but I've gone right off him.

Dylan Moran is terrific IMO. Something in his style of delivery does it for me. Hilarious!