View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Partick Thistle

07-12-2013, 01:37 PM
As nobody else has done it yet, I thought I'd start the Match Thread. So, if the game's not off with the weather......

Big Tel takes charge for his first home game in charge of the Hibees, against the last team we beat in the league, Partick Thistle.

Team News?

Predictions?

Weather?

Sartorial Advice?

07-12-2013, 01:38 PM
Tbgawa!

07-12-2013, 01:39 PM
Damn you, Keekaboo!

Too late

Haha, lothian buses these threads. Two just popped up.

predicting a hard fought win pt are no mugs and better away from home. Still first three points for tbgawa.

07-12-2013, 01:40 PM
You're one minute too slow :wink:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?275273-Hibs-v-Partick-Thistle

07-12-2013, 01:40 PM
Damn you, Keekaboo!

07-12-2013, 01:41 PM
I saw!

Maybe just as well.

I'd hate to be a jinx!

07-12-2013, 01:47 PM
Dear Admins, any chance of a thread merge?

07-12-2013, 01:52 PM
[QUOTE=Antwerphibs;3830395]Haha, lothian buses these threads. Two just popped up.
/QUOTE]

That's why I was beaten to it. Pishy slow Internet connection on the bus!

Nevi_SOL
07-12-2013, 02:05 PM
On the 26 on route to the game no sight of Johan cruyff yet tho. Serious note 2-0 hibs handling and Cummings

07-12-2013, 02:09 PM
Williams, Maybury, Forster, Hanlon, McGivern, Cairney, Jones, Craig (captain), Stevenson, Handling, Collins

07-12-2013, 02:10 PM
Subs Murdoch, Nelson, Taiwo, Zoubir, Caldwell, Cummings, Thomson #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hibs&src=hash)

07-12-2013, 02:11 PM
Robertson out injured, clearly Thompsons not really rated by TB.

aussie_hibee
07-12-2013, 02:14 PM
Butcher said midweek that thomo is injured????

07-12-2013, 02:14 PM
Hopefully OTJ will step in and do his bit today?
Hope Robertson makes a speedy recovery.

07-12-2013, 02:15 PM

Unfortunatly Thomson doesn't fit inot butchers syle of play. Butcher want the ball moved quickly to the attackers, where as Thompson slows play down.

Thomson wont change his gamef for anyone

scott_hfc1875
07-12-2013, 02:21 PM

he's been injured, apparently only been back in training for a couple of days

07-12-2013, 02:29 PM

If that is indeed true it seems to be annoying a lot of people, but if Butcher turns us into a winning team without him who cares?

07-12-2013, 02:38 PM
man utd... hahaha

07-12-2013, 02:41 PM
man utd... hahaha

Newcastle were as good today as they were bad against Swansea.

Excellent result and very much deserved.

07-12-2013, 02:46 PM
Seems really busy around about the ground today.

Certainly much more so than previous weeks.

Glesgahibby
07-12-2013, 02:47 PM
Think we will see Zoubir at some point today:wink:

07-12-2013, 02:54 PM
Crowd is sparse with 7 minutes to kick off. Feel rather old sitting in s43. Despite being in my 20s I'm at least 40 years older than everyone else!

MoscowHibs
07-12-2013, 02:56 PM
In case anybody's interested, game is live on streamhunter.eu:aok:

07-12-2013, 02:57 PM
The minute's silence has started early on Hibs TV! :rolleyes:

07-12-2013, 02:58 PM

Then the sound came back in Gaelic (I think)

hongkonghibee
07-12-2013, 02:59 PM

sound working now!

07-12-2013, 02:59 PM
Still on London Rd. Buses in Town a nightmare :grr:

07-12-2013, 03:00 PM
Then the sound came back in Gaelic (I think)

Hibs agus Partick Thistle :agree:

Ciamar a tha sibh?

07-12-2013, 03:01 PM
I've just worked out the gaelic for "Nelson Mandela"

07-12-2013, 03:02 PM
sound working now!

What language have you got?

07-12-2013, 03:06 PM
Decent effort from Cairney saved.

ArmadaleHibs
07-12-2013, 03:08 PM
Boozy talks all over Martin glancys commentary on hibernian tv.
hilarious

07-12-2013, 03:10 PM
Boozy talks all over Martin glancys commentary on hibernian tv.
hilarious

I'm still in gaelic, and if I put the audio stream on at the same time it's a few seconds out of sync. (which really does my nut in!)

07-12-2013, 03:11 PM
If we could work on scoring from these corners we'd be laughing. Good start, high tempo, good pressing.

patch1875
07-12-2013, 03:11 PM
Killie 1-0 :-)

hongkonghibee
07-12-2013, 03:12 PM
I'm still in gaelic, and if I put the audio stream on at the same time it's a few seconds out of sync. (which really does my nut in!)

im listening in English here In hongkong on HibsTVXtra. I guess HibsTV International are taking the stream from Alba hence the gaelic !

07-12-2013, 03:18 PM
Decent so far (bar Maybury)

07-12-2013, 03:19 PM
1-0 Dundee Utd

1-0 arabs

1-0 Dundee Utd

Pleasing

07-12-2013, 03:20 PM
Paw let put dons one up

07-12-2013, 03:20 PM
1-0 Aberdeen

07-12-2013, 03:23 PM
Penalty hearts 1-1

Brave Hearts, these young lads holding on for a full 20 minutes.

Proud. Very proud.

Butcher still needs to work his magic on our gash throw-ins, but I reckon we'll need him on a 15 year contract for that :rolleyes:

Penalty hearts 1-1

Not pleasing

07-12-2013, 03:24 PM
At least we're not passing it backwards.

HibeeEmma
07-12-2013, 03:25 PM
I hear Boozy's French accent has faded then :rolleyes:

07-12-2013, 03:25 PM
In games I've seen, Hanlon has done that a couple of times at attacking corners. Got free, in a good position then almost ran past the ball before heading it. That was a decent chance. :agree:

07-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Mon Hibs ffs eh?

There. that should up the tempo :greengrin

07-12-2013, 03:32 PM
Penalty hearts 1-1Craig Thomson awards penalty to Hearts.

Its half past two in the morning in Eastern Australia and relying totally on .net for updates so keep them coming.

At least we're not passing it backwards.

At least that would involve some passing!

07-12-2013, 03:33 PM
Danny handling's first touch is dreadful. Not much happening tbh.

07-12-2013, 03:34 PM
Craig Thomson awards penalty to Hearts.

Just to be clear...

Craig Thomson

Penalty to Hearts

beastie
07-12-2013, 03:35 PM
im listening in English here In hongkong on HibsTVXtra. I guess HibsTV International are taking the stream from Alba hence the gaelic !

Hi HKH,

How's ur stream today. Pretty pants here in Perth, Oz, when it's normally pretty flawless.
Wondering if its a problem at this end :(

Nailrod
07-12-2013, 03:35 PM
Not pleasingI would even go so far as to say 'displeasing'.

Yes. I'm definitely displeased.

07-12-2013, 03:36 PM
I would even go so far as to say 'displeasing'. Yes. I'm definitely displeased.

Grammar polis oot the day I see. You ken what I meant.

07-12-2013, 03:39 PM
Nae Hibs player made any effort to help Collins there.

And the crossing from Stevenson, McGivern and Cairney has been *****.

07-12-2013, 03:42 PM
Stevenson isn't much cop at crossing today is he??

Better pass from Cairney and it's 1-0. As it is, too slow and Handling shot is blocked.

07-12-2013, 03:43 PM
Good pressure from Collins

07-12-2013, 03:45 PM
Good save

hongkonghibee
Hi HKH,

How's ur stream today. Pretty pants here in Perth, Oz, when it's normally pretty flawless.

lots of buffering today. sound on and off too....
I have sent message to them

BBC snippets seems Hibs are applying all the pressure ??

07-12-2013, 03:46 PM
McGivern close from range. Good save.

StokePogesHibs
Hi HKH,

It's crap in the US too! wonder if yesterday's improved access note has crippled the stream. Disappointing

BBC snippets seems Hibs are applying all the pressure ??

We are, just can't score.

hibbybrian
07-12-2013, 03:47 PM

Is Norman Collier guesting on the audio today :greengrin

07-12-2013, 03:48 PM
I've got a good video stream but with no commentary.

HiBremian
07-12-2013, 03:49 PM

I'm finding the commentary on "sound only" htv ok, but sound on htvxtra much poorer, and on and off, and gettin buffering on the vid too. htv international picture is steadier and better quality. Best combination = hibstv international + htv sound - more or less in sync right now as well :wink:

07-12-2013, 03:50 PM
It's crap in the US too! wonder if yesterday's improved access note has crippled the stream. Disappointing

Cr*p in Sweden too. Anyone any radio links?

Handling really needs to be stronger.

Bullied off the ball about 8 times so far.

Another corner Hibs, comes to nothing though.

Sadly, no.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQjmqfZX9CA

Corner Partick

07-12-2013, 03:51 PM
Ht 0-0

07-12-2013, 03:51 PM
Maybury getting torn for arse paper time and again. A worrying trend that we have yet to be punished for.

Pretty pish 1st half to be honest.

07-12-2013, 03:52 PM
Fits and starts 1st half.

Too many slack passes and poor choices when it matters. Still trying to get forward far quicker which is a continued improvement.

Hawf time 0-0.

Mostly all Hibs bar a few Partick chances. No end product for us unfortunately.

B____dy _ic__pone _ot wo___ng!

Bobo
07-12-2013, 03:53 PM
Poor, sub standard first half, nothing to write home about

hongkonghibee
07-12-2013, 03:53 PM

HibsTVXtra just sent me message that they will try to fix the connections at half time. Both sound and video connections have been poor all match for me...hope they can fix it for second half.

beastie
07-12-2013, 03:55 PM

Cheers.

Haven't heard from anyone else so perhaps a an issue over this part of the globe.

Fingers crossed for the 2nd half :)

07-12-2013, 03:56 PM
Both teams hardly prolific, 1-0 Hibs hopefully...

Nailrod
07-12-2013, 03:56 PM
Grammar polis oot the day I see. You ken what I meant.Was jist a joke Aldo. :wink:

You're very tetchy. You must be having to watch the game. :flag:

(I'm going to put this flag on future posts. It will mean: I'm flagging up that this was a joke)

07-12-2013, 03:57 PM
Maybury getting torn for arse paper time and again. A worrying trend that we have yet to be punished for.

Pretty pish 1st half to be honest.

What? Alan Maybury? He's done a lot of jockeying, but the boys not beaten him once.

07-12-2013, 04:00 PM
What? Alan Maybury? He's done a lot of jockeying, but the boys not beaten him once.

Jockeying and letting the shot/cross get away unopposed is getting beaten.

And the boy has beaten him - not with skill but for pace, and got the ball across the box on a couple of occasions.

07-12-2013, 04:00 PM

Shhh, if we're not winning at half time we have to complain, learn the rules :cb

07-12-2013, 04:01 PM
Sounds like another borefest at Easter Road, another half off football at home without a goal. I'll be surprised if we shift any Half season tickets as we have only scored four home goals all season. There's only one James collins

07-12-2013, 04:02 PM
Sounds like another borefest at Easter Road, another half off football at home without a goal. I'll be surprised if we shift any Half season tickets as we have only scored four home goals all season. There's only one James collins

07-12-2013, 04:03 PM

07-12-2013, 04:05 PM
Was jist a joke Aldo. :wink: You're very tetchy. You must be having to watch the game. :flag: (I'm going to put this flag on future posts. It will mean: I'm flagging up that this was a joke)

Kent that matey. Ooops Forgot ma wink. ;-)

(No at game. With girls at home) :-(

Kyle A
07-12-2013, 04:06 PM
Butcher out. Mourinho in

07-12-2013, 04:06 PM
2nd half started.

07-12-2013, 04:09 PM
UTD 2 -1 up

Pleasing

Nailrod
07-12-2013, 04:09 PM
(No at game. With girls at home) :-(

Not at the game :greengrin

With girls at home :greengrin

Sorted that one for you :wink:

07-12-2013, 04:10 PM
Good effort from.. someone for hibs.

My streams not very clear.

2nd half started.

Whoopeee!

1-0 Thistle.

Schoolboy stuff from front to back by Hibs there.

Not at the game :greengrin With girls at home :greengrin Sorted that one for you :wink: :flag:

Like it!

hibbybrian
still can't take a throw in :rolleyes:

Go lost fae oor throw - ***ake!

07-12-2013, 04:11 PM
1-0 Thistle. Schoolboy stuff from front to back by Hibs there.

Nooooooo. FFS Hibs

Goal Partick!

Was that an attempted tackle from Hanlon in the lead up to their goal or what??

Pathetic.

Bobo
Absolute ***in murder, handling is a pussy

07-12-2013, 04:12 PM
Let's see if our new manager can utilise substitutes :greengrin

07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
ffs

07-12-2013, 04:13 PM
Ffs

07-12-2013, 04:14 PM
Absolute ***in murder, handling is a pussy

Been bullied today.

Shame because he's looked good last couple of games.

07-12-2013, 04:16 PM
Still 30 + minutes to go.

C'Mon Tel, make an inspired substitution.

07-12-2013, 04:18 PM
This team is so devoid of pace and creativity that I fear that's all folks.

07-12-2013, 04:19 PM
This has been an abject performance so far. :rolleyes:

This team is so devoid of pace and creativity that I fear that's all folks.

Pat Fenlons signing policy has a lot to answer for.

What a team. I'm a season ticket holder and I don't even use the ticket. Just a donation of cash from me to the club. Can't justify the price of the flights to come up and watch a bunch off useless twats kick a ball about, wage theifs the lot of them. Up at Xmas for the three big ones killie saints and county, our fight to finish tenth or above

erskine-hibby
I predict a 2-1 win for hibs...but I'm **** at predictions.

PhoenixHibee
07-12-2013, 04:20 PM
We look so unlikely to score a goal. Nothing good to watch.

07-12-2013, 04:21 PM
Tudor Jones puts the ball into the top tier off the stand with a shot.

Handling replaced by Zoubir.

Handling off, Zouby on.

Will the heads go down a la Fenton days?

Zoubir on Handling off

Nailrod
Like it! FFS. Didn't even get a chance to agree with you that the news from Tannadice was 'pleasing' before it was trumped by events at ER which are 'displeasing', er... 'not pleasing'... :confused:

07-12-2013, 04:22 PM
So KT is bumped 'cos TB likes a quick, direct, attacking style of play...

But we're no playing that way?!

Guid yin

Some of the posts in this thread are hilarious by the way :aok:

With every passing week the "second best squad in the league" comments by many on here over the last few months are becoming even more laughable.:hahaha:

FFS. Whats happening now?

07-12-2013, 04:23 PM
And Jones has another shot that is just scarily bad for a pro footballer.

07-12-2013, 04:23 PM
Listening to Open Mikes. What an insult to the intelligence.

07-12-2013, 04:24 PM
FFS. Didn't even get a chance to agree with you that the news from Tannadice was 'pleasing' before it was trumped by events at ER which are 'displeasing', er... 'not pleasing'... :confused:

Pleasing like it??

Guid yin

No, KT carrying an injury.

And Jones has another shot that is just scarily bad for a pro footballer.

Was about to say. Sclaffed, skewed and *****. As soon as we get 25 yards out, the entire team has a communal brain fart.

07-12-2013, 04:26 PM
Some of the posts in this thread are hilarious by the way :aok:

You love Hibs being ***** eh

07-12-2013, 04:26 PM
Keeper with a great save but Collins should have scored.

07-12-2013, 04:27 PM
Good save Partick goalie from Collins.

Big Tel out.

Moyes in.

You love Hibs being ***** eh
:yawn:

delbert
07-12-2013, 04:28 PM
With every passing week the "second best squad in the league" comments by many on here over the last few months are becoming even more laughable.:hahaha:

If anything will sum up the job TB has on his hands, it will be performances like this, which makes the claim we are a Top 6 side just a joke. The thread about how many players out of contract we should keep appears to be starting to answer itself, not many! I think Butcher will be in the market for at least 2 strikers the moment the transfer window opens, Fenlon has left us in some state !

07-12-2013, 04:29 PM
Big Tel out.

Moyes in.

Cum on feel the Moyes ....

It looks like Tel still has a lot of work to do.

erskine-hibby
Butcher, Butcher get tae f###
Butcher get tae f###!

Kiddin!!!

PhoenixHibee
we're that bad that Man.Utd would give us a good game:wink:

07-12-2013, 04:30 PM
:yawn:

Point us in the direction of the "hilarious" posts then, if you will. From what I can see they are linked to the game unfolding before us, which is very far from hilarious IMO.

Bobo
07-12-2013, 04:30 PM
Shockingly p!ss poor Hibs side, if there's worse players in the Premiership than Stevenson and Tudur-jones I've yet to see them!

Craig, as a captain, has no influence on the team, poor choice IMO, how Thomson doesn't get a game is a mystery?

We've been as poor today as we ever were under Fenlon .... mass clear out required!!!!

07-12-2013, 04:31 PM
The difference between last week and this week is ridiculous.

Really don't understand it.

07-12-2013, 04:32 PM
I keep hearing Collins will come good, the question is when? He can't shoot, he has no power in his shots, he doesn't look sharp, he doesn't move off the ball well he is not a target man. No idea what he offers us. Can some one enlighten me as I don't rate him

07-12-2013, 04:32 PM
Calm doon, FFS.

We will hammer the Yams on the 2nd.

I know because I read it on here.

07-12-2013, 04:33 PM
Why is it that when we play away from home we seem to be sharper, faster, fitter and dangerous looking. Suddenly we play at home and we're pish?

07-12-2013, 04:33 PM
Point us in the direction of the "hilarious" posts then, if you will. From what I can see they are linked to the game unfolding before us, which is very far from hilarious IMO.

Im sure you know how sarcasm works and I'm certain you know I was being sarcastic. Just you lot keep berating the team every chance you get and I'll keep my mouth shut.

Sorry for trying to be a bit more positive after just getting a new manager.

07-12-2013, 04:34 PM
Collins AGAIN should have scored

07-12-2013, 04:34 PM
Collins headers straight at keeper from about 4 yards. Ball was a bit behind him in fairness.

07-12-2013, 04:36 PM
Lee Miller just scored for Carlisle.

We could do worse?

Well, we probably could.

Still time left though.

07-12-2013, 04:36 PM
Should have been 2.

Looked like a handball though.

AllyF
07-12-2013, 04:37 PM
Some of the defending today has been woeful.

erskine-hibby
Boy just needs a wee slice of luck and he will be off and and running, I hope. Though you make your own luck I suppose.

Great play by Cairney.

Our best player today imo.

07-12-2013, 04:38 PM
Anyone know when the transfer window opens ? Is it the 1st Jan or shortly after ?

Cumming ahem.. 'Cumming' on..

Cummings misses a sitter with what would have been his 1st touch.

AJWisme
07-12-2013, 04:39 PM
Absolute sitter.

Nae idea that Cummings had come on - thank you billy Dodds. Misses a sitter as well. What a start that would've been

Shame for the laddie Cummings .. Would have been a great start !

Cummings misses a sitter with what would have been his 1st touch.
Should fit in well with the rest of the team then.

07-12-2013, 04:40 PM
Derby fans witnessed five goals today that's more than what we have witnessed at Easter Road in the league all season. We need a striker asap. Is it worth giving the young lad in the under 20's that is banging the goals in a chance up front?

****ing hell

Guid yin

We're lucky we have so many 'supporters' to support us.

No' like they moanin' ***** all the other clubs have.

_hucks_
07-12-2013, 04:41 PM
Derby fans witnessed five goals today that's more than what we have witnessed at Easter Road in the league all season. We need a striker asap. Is it worth giving the young lad in the under 20's that is banging the goals in a chance up front?

He's on and just missed an open goal

FFS the laddies first senior game, first kick of the ball and you slag him .. Is it any wonder Hibs can't play well at home !!

****ing hell ?????????

07-12-2013, 04:42 PM

Oops I think I've cursed the wee man

07-12-2013, 04:43 PM
...... Is it worth giving the young lad in the under 20's that is banging the goals in a chance up front?

Curse of the first team call-up

07-12-2013, 04:43 PM
FFS the laddies first senior game, first kick of the ball and you slag him .. Is it any wonder Hibs can't play well at home !!

It was a sitter. Doesn't matter how many games he's played.

07-12-2013, 04:44 PM
Off topic I know, but Liverpool fairly banging the goals in.

:cb

Did he not come on vs ICT?

It was a sitter. Doesn't matter how many games he's played.

Bull****... He would be nervous give him a break ffs

07-12-2013, 04:45 PM
FFS the laddies first senior game, first kick of the ball and you slag him .. Is it any wonder Hibs can't play well at home !!Post wisnae meant as a slight on the laddie, more a case of a slight on the rest.

Off topic I know, but Liverpool fairly banging the goals in.

:cb

I know. Does anybody not have Suarez as their fantasy team captain just now??

Post wisnae meant as a slight on the laddie, more a case of a slight on the rest.

Fair enough ... Apologies :greengrin

07-12-2013, 04:46 PM
Bull****... He would be nervous give him a break ffs

Calm yourself down precious.

Nobody is slating the boy.

It was a sitter.

07-12-2013, 04:47 PM
Butcher out - Fenlon in

PhoenixHibee
Just not getting the breaks.

****ing hell

I agree the post you quoted is a step or 2 too far, but that was an absolute sitter that a striker should not be missing.

07-12-2013, 04:48 PM
Ball just won't go in.

Keep saying it but we need a Kris Boyd type poacher who's in right place at the right time.

Cairney gets MOTM.

Hearts now 1-3 at United.

Now come on and equalise you bunch of ****ers!

:brickwall

Are Hibs going to to score today?

Not looking good.

Nailrod
And a goal at Tannadice... And a goal at McDiarmid Park... And a goal at...

07-12-2013, 04:49 PM
Calm yourself down precious.

Nobody is slating the boy.

It was a sitter.

And nobody misses sitters eh!

Hearts now 1-3 at United.

Now come on and equalise you bunch of ****ers!

:brickwall

Whne Hibs are losing yet again at home, I can't get too excited about Hearts getting beat.

BBC has us as 15 shots at goal. I suppose we're doing something right....

Are Hibs going to to score this year?

Not looking good.

Fixed that for you :agree:

Ball just won't go in.

Keep saying it but we need a Kris Boyd type poacher who's in right place at the right time.

Cairney gets MOTM.

Yep.

If Cairney had a bit more pace he'd be excellent.

07-12-2013, 04:50 PM
Zoubir has the heart of a mouse.

Just not getting the breaks.

Fair enough ... Apologies :greengrin
Nae probs mate, my post was more in jest than anything else, but on re-reading it can see how it could be taken as a slight on Cummings, which I did not intend - more that the rest of the current team have been so poor on most occasions - especially in the goal-scoring dept.

07-12-2013, 04:51 PM
And nobody misses sitters eh!

Hmmm...aye they do. And?

07-12-2013, 04:52 PM
Chances don't count as goals.

When will some Hibs fans learn. :rolleyes:

07-12-2013, 04:52 PM
Is this the fans fault?

07-12-2013, 04:53 PM
Is this the fans fault?

Haven't you been paying attention? Of course it is.

Last chance perhaps.

Goallllllllll

Get in!

PhoenixHibee
James Collins:flag:

Goal Collins !!

Goal.

Collins. Good instinctive, dare i say a poachers, finish.

calder45a
07-12-2013, 04:54 PM
First of many I hope.

AJWisme
COLLLLLLLLIIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNSSSSSSSSSSSSSS :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

15 shots on goal, 6 on target and 1 converted...there is progress in TB's short tenure

Yes! Collins! Ya dancer

I'm taking an assist for that :thumbsup:

07-12-2013, 04:55 PM
Just watch Collins go now :wink:

Very far from pretty, but damn effective and they all count.

Edit: FT. Out of jail, but never stopped trying I guess. Still, so much work to be done.

BarneyHibby
Collins!!!:thumbsup:

07-12-2013, 04:56 PM
Have we scored yet :confused:

I keep hearing Collins will come good, the question is when? He can't shoot, he has no power in his shots, he doesn't look sharp, he doesn't move off the ball well he is not a target man. No idea what he offers us. Can some one enlighten me as I don't rate him

:not worth

Can we have a Collins GIRUY smilie? :thumbsup:

Still unbeaten under TB.

Effort is good just the final ball letting us down time and again. Hopefully that starts to improve.

Thank @&£@

kdhibees1
About time, Collins. Hopefully the start of a confidence boost for him!! We will see....

07-12-2013, 04:58 PM
Should do him some good confidence wise - having said that there's nothing from his performances in the last few games that he should be ashamed of.

20 points clear of the merricks! :greengrin

Good result considering the breaks didn't run for us. Hibs should have won. :flag:

Pretty sure Gillette Soccer Saturday never mentioned we had scored, or if they did I wasn't paying attention. Delighted to hear we had equalised!

07-12-2013, 04:59 PM
We kept going and got the goal.

Progress.

07-12-2013, 04:59 PM
See what being positive gets ya bunch o depressing moany gets?! :giruy::giruy:

kdhibees1
07-12-2013, 05:00 PM
Pretty sure Gillette Soccer Saturday never mentioned we had scored, or if they did I wasn't paying attention. Delighted to hear we had equalised!
Came up on screen about 3-4 mins after the goal.

07-12-2013, 05:00 PM
What a team, I always said that James Collins was a player and all he needed was a chance ho ho well done Hibs

07-12-2013, 05:01 PM
What a team, I always said that James Collins was a player and all he needed was a chance ho ho well done Hibs

You need a fire hose for your Pants :greengrin

07-12-2013, 05:01 PM
Had D United -1 and Hibs to win on today :grr:

Good to hear we are scoring late goals though, you get the feeling that if this had been under Fenlon then the game would have probably ended 0-1.

07-12-2013, 05:02 PM

He is some player he just needs a chance haha glad he scored today mate Hail hail

Nailrod
07-12-2013, 05:04 PM
The thing I will always treasure about this goal, small as it is in the overall scheme of things, is that I learned about it on Kackboke, having seen them go 4-1 down and resigned myself to finding my consolation in browsing through the posts of a bunch having an even worse time that us.

Thank you. Thank you Graygo :not worth (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/135389-dundee-united-v-hearts-official-match-thread/page__st__400#entry3939998)

07-12-2013, 05:06 PM

Collins was absolutely dire for 89 minutes today, not quite time for him to be telling us to GIRUY after spending £200k on him.

We shouldn't be celebrating rescuing a draw against Partick, we should have been a couple of goals up in the first half rather than chasing a point in injury time.

07-12-2013, 05:13 PM
He is some player he just needs a chance haha glad he scored today mate Hail hail

Collins was absolutely dire for 89 minutes today, not quite time for him to be telling us to GIRUY after spending £200k on him.

We shouldn't be celebrating rescuing a draw against Partick, we should have been a couple of goals up in the first half rather than chasing a point in injury time.
T'was a joke.

On the bus now...most of that was indistinguishable from life under Fenlon, lets be honest. Hanlon and Forster shaky throughout, Handling absent, Collins was poor again although lets hope the goal gives him some much needed confidence. The goal felt great :flag:

Well rest assured im delighted we scored.we aint gonna turn it roind overnight and its progress

07-12-2013, 05:19 PM
Barry!

07-12-2013, 05:21 PM
I agree that we are still Fenlonesque to a degree, but I took some postives from that game. We're fighting more, creating chances (though still not taking them) Paul Cairney looks like a decent new signing, and Collins goal will do him good.

Under Fenlon, we would have had that game but without the late equaliser. There's a lot more heart in this team. But I doubt we're hammering anyone soon, even Hearts.

07-12-2013, 05:52 PM
We're getting more balls into the box, we're getting forward quicker, so definitely an improvement in the playing style. Unfortunately Collins is not a player to have high balls punted up to him all night. He works very hard but isn't a target man.

07-12-2013, 05:55 PM
I agree that we are still Fenlonesque to a degree, but I took some postives from that game. We're fighting more, creating chances (though still not taking them) Paul Cairney looks like a decent new signing, and Collins goal will do him good.

Under Fenlon, we would have had that game but without the late equaliser. There's a lot more heart in this team. But I doubt we're hammering anyone soon, even Hearts.

That's the way I see it -more effort but not surprisingly still missing a real goal threat -a creative midfielder to dictate the speed of the game plus more...

What I liked today was Butcher changed it and had a plan B / plan C - it wasn't rocket science but he went for it and it could have easily been 0v2 but Partick missed their chance and we finally got a break = 1v1.

We aren't going to hammer anyone anytime soon and I'm still unsure if we will make the top 6.

Positives...finally got a goal at ER...stay unbeaten with TB in charge...Collins scoring..hopefully give him confidence...Cairney -another game = more sharpness.

07-12-2013, 05:57 PM
First played direct and at a tempo with lots of crosse. In second half we huffed and puffed but we kept going. I think there is clearly a better work ethic under. TB

07-12-2013, 06:00 PM

Spot on. Very poor today. Cummings and Handling please.

07-12-2013, 06:21 PM
That's the way I see it -more effort but not surprisingly still missing a real goal threat -a creative midfielder to dictate the speed of the game plus more...

What I liked today was Butcher changed it and had a plan B / plan C - it wasn't rocket science but he went for it and it could have easily been 0v2 but Partick missed their chance and we finally got a break = 1v1.

We aren't going to hammer anyone anytime soon and I'm still unsure if we will make the top 6.

Positives...finally got a goal at ER...stay unbeaten with TB in charge...Collins scoring..hopefully give him confidence...Cairney -another game = more sharpness.

What was the plan B and C?

07-12-2013, 06:33 PM

Fire it long slightly to the left was plan b, plan c was fire it long to the right.

Jonny1875
07-12-2013, 06:48 PM
I know im coming into the thread out of nowhere but I was at the game and the only plan seemed to be hoof it up to Collins and see what happens

07-12-2013, 06:54 PM

I think his plan B was to change the dynamic by taking handling off and playing Zoubir in the gap between the midfield and back 4 - similar to Handling but more freedom to roam.

Plan C was to play 3 strikers -with Cummings / Zoubir on the pitch at the same time - 4-3-3

I am far from satisfied watching that but with these players we will have more games like that - our squad is unbalanced and missing players that can really take hold of a game and dictate the tempo.

The best players on the pitch today were No 23 for Partick - Higginbotham and No 19 - Osbourne who was the best player in midfield - broke up play and was everywhere - basically doing what OTJ (who did ok 1st half) should have been doing.

07-12-2013, 06:58 PM
The only difference today was that unlike Fenlons slow controlled hoofball we are now playing high paced hoofball with the ball getting leathered up the park in the general direction we are playing.
Too many times today players were brushed off the ball by the hard working and pacy Partick midfield and that included the pedestrian Tudor Jones.
Dreadful stuff and underlines the enormity of the task facing the new regime.

Greendub
07-12-2013, 07:16 PM
Had to get a shower for my Xmas party, missed Collins goal, was it as scrappy as the game?