View Full Version : Official Site: Dan McMichael Headstone Ceremony

RSS Bot
06-12-2013, 03:00 PM
Saturday, 11.30am, Eastern Cemetery

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131206/dan-mcmichael-headstone-ceremony_2262950_3565436)

GORDONSMITH7
06-12-2013, 06:52 PM
A big thank you to the Board and Staff of the Hibs for this and their support at every stage since the spark of a idea, when one of St. Patrick's Branch members highlighted this untenable situation at a Branch meeting, the fund raising stage and the fruition, culminating tomorrow, in an event that has brought all elements of the Hibernian Family together. The unbelievable generosity of Hibee punters without whom the £3000 Headstone couldnae have happened, is staggering. Thanks to everyone.

See you tomorrow.

BIG G

06-12-2013, 07:32 PM
Gogs - Has any thought been applied to the off chance that a few hundred may turn up the morn?

My family plot is there and I dinnae want everybody trampling ower my died relatives :greengrin

06-12-2013, 07:45 PM
As I said a couple of weeks back - wouldn't it be great to properly respect the last manager to win the SC......with the next manager to do so in attendance......

Very pleased that Terry will be there to see the great spirit and essence that makes us what we are as Hibernian

06-12-2013, 08:34 PM
looking forward to this tomorrow. And have been for ages.

06-12-2013, 08:43 PM
Proper.

GORDONSMITH7
06-12-2013, 10:07 PM
As I said a couple of weeks back - wouldn't it be great to properly respect the last manager to win the SC......with the next manager to do so in attendance......

Very pleased that Terry will be there to see the great spirit and essence that makes us what we are as Hibernian

I have a feeling.............

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
06-12-2013, 10:12 PM
Gogs - Has any thought been applied to the off chance that a few hundred may turn up the morn?

My family plot is there and I dinnae want everybody trampling ower my died relatives :greengrin

Without a doubt there will be a few hundred there Gogs and I hope that your Hibee descendants are looking on to the next Manager to win the Scottish Cup since Daniel.

BIG G

07-12-2013, 12:00 PM
Excellent ceremony.

hibbybrian
07-12-2013, 12:04 PM
From Hibs Twitter

07-12-2013, 12:16 PM
Just back from this, an excellent appreciation of Dan McMichael's contribution to the Hibernian cause and a big thumbs up to Big G and the rest of the organisers. Photos to follow. :thumbsup:

07-12-2013, 12:35 PM
From Hibs Twitter

Beautiful.

07-12-2013, 01:34 PM
Perfect. Excellent job guys..:thumbsup:

07-12-2013, 02:24 PM
I'm sorry I couldn't be there.

07-12-2013, 03:24 PM
Pics from today's ceremony available here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152494132872481.1073741851.531167480&type=1&l=0d3f0bf181

07-12-2013, 06:54 PM
Pics from today's ceremony available here: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152494132872481.1073741851.531167480&type=1&l=0d3f0bf181

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/top%20marks.gif
Excellent Photos

07-12-2013, 07:44 PM

Fine pictures :agree:

I must have been next to you as my pictures are from a similar spot. It was an honour to attend what was a dignified re-dedication to Dan McMichael.

https://picasaweb.google.com/107310560989985145327/DanMcMichaelRededicationSat7th2013

GORDONSMITH7
08-12-2013, 01:17 AM
Thanks Jamsie. Geat photies as usual mate. Brilliant. Tony McMichael was superb and Terry was spot on. Rod was excellent too.

BIG G

08-12-2013, 01:59 AM
Lovely headstone, and good turnout too. Top marks to everyone involved.

Makes you proud to be a Hibee:top marks

08-12-2013, 02:02 AM
Excellent photos guys. This has been discussed on many occasions here but the photos actually make you realise how important this was and bring it all home to you.

Hats off to St. Pats...and especially Hugh.:not worth

08-12-2013, 07:35 AM

Brilliant photos. How proud must the young descendants of Dan be?

What did Terry amd the other speakers say? Can someone summarise it?

Tom Hart RIP
08-12-2013, 08:13 AM
Fantastic ceremony. Congratulations to everyone concerned, Full account and photos in Edinburgh Reporter http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/12/hibs-fans-emotional-tribute-to-former-manager-dan-mcmichael/

Tom Hart RIP
08-12-2013, 08:16 AM
PS http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/12/hibs-fans-emotional-tribute-to-former-manager-dan-mcmichael/

The photographs are of the McMichael family and Hugh Cockburn

08-12-2013, 09:03 AM
Fantastic ceremony. Congratulations to everyone concerned, Full account and photos in Edinburgh Reporter http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/12/hibs-fans-emotional-tribute-to-former-manager-dan-mcmichael/

Brilliant piece. Every Hibs fan should read that.

08-12-2013, 12:33 PM
what a great day/evening. Had the pleasure of being in the company of Dan's descendents after game and what a great bunch of folk (even if they were of the wrong green persuasion!)

08-12-2013, 12:44 PM
what a great day/evening. Had the pleasure of being in the company of Dan's descendents after game and what a great bunch of folk (even if they were of the wrong green persuasion!)

Isn't it about time you changed your picture?

08-12-2013, 12:46 PM
Well done tae those who organised this tribute tae a great Hibs man. :top marks Good tae see a lot of folk there, glad I went along.

jon paul jones
08-12-2013, 02:05 PM
A lovely ceremony which was conducted in true Hibs class

A huge thank you to all the footsoldiers who gave up their time over the last months to phone, email, pedal, barter and organise fellow hibees to arrange this touching and just tribute to Dan's memory.

08-12-2013, 03:57 PM
Just back after a journey up for the event. Real landmark Hibs occasion, just a well organised and touching event, wonderful speech from Tony McMichael.
Hibs class.

TomTheHibbyBev
08-12-2013, 06:44 PM
Well done to all those who organised this tribute tae a great Hibs man :top marks

A big mention to all at St. Pats...and especially Hugh.http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

Sherlock Jones
08-12-2013, 07:38 PM
A fine service indeed. Well done to everyone who organised it and raised the funds for a fitting tribute to Dan.

I took a few photos...

http://grahamjones.unihosting.co.uk/football/hibs/danmcm/danmcm.html

Sherlock Jones
08-12-2013, 07:41 PM
...and a snippet of Terry Butcher's contribution...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vN8wBflPwdU&feature=youtu.be

wazoo1875
08-12-2013, 07:58 PM
A fine service indeed. Well done to everyone who organised it and raised the funds for a fitting tribute to Dan.

I took a few photos...

Great photos Salty :aok:
And what a remarkable headstone, well done to all those involved :not worth

08-12-2013, 10:27 PM
Just back after a journey up for the event. Real landmark Hibs occasion, just a well organised and touching event, wonderful speech from Tony McMichael.
Hibs class.

Nice to meet you :thumbsup: Even though you freaked me out :wink: :tee hee:

09-12-2013, 07:11 AM
Nice to meet you :thumbsup: Even though you freaked me out :wink: :tee hee:

Likewise Suzy,we were still talking about it with our other family later on, a good experience for us!

GoldenEagle
09-12-2013, 08:21 AM
Father John McFadden, good to see a familiar name and, albeit a Celtic fan, he does have a very soft spot for Hibernian.

Helped me and my family get through some very tough times about ten years ago.

09-12-2013, 11:35 AM
Really pleased that Saturday's memorial service for Dan ran so smoothly. Great to see members of the McMichael clan there and the speech from Dan's Grandson was spot on. Well done to all who were involved in organising the event and to those who participated on the day.
A truly memorable Hibernian family occasion.

GORDONSMITH7
09-12-2013, 12:12 PM
Really pleased that Saturday's memorial service for Dan ran so smoothly. Great to see members of the McMichael clan there and the speech from Dan's Grandson was spot on. Well done to all who were involved in organising the event and to those who participated on the day.
A truly memorable Hibernian family occasion.

Very special day mate.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
09-12-2013, 12:14 PM

I took a few photos...

Thanks for that amigo.

BIG G

09-12-2013, 08:37 PM
Isn't it about time you changed your picture?

aye, I'll get round to that! :-)

GORDONSMITH7
09-12-2013, 11:15 PM

I took a few photos...

You have a PM amigo.

BIG G

10-12-2013, 07:29 AM
Just had an excellent email (with pictures) regarding saturdays unveiling,,well done to author and photographers
Just sorry i couldnt make it
Will defo pop down when im next in the area