View Full Version : Terry Butcher's 1st home game on Saturday

02-12-2013, 05:23 PM
Very impressed with the result at the weekend and the application by the players.

This Saturday is Terry's 1st home game as manager of Hibs as we welcome Partick.

Hopefully a good turnout to welcome him and for us to start picking up points at Easter Road once again :agree:

I'm going plus 3 others :aok:

02-12-2013, 05:28 PM
Am gaun.

02-12-2013, 05:30 PM
I can see there being a good crowd at Easter Road on Saturday and a good atmosphere to match it. Fingers crossed the players respond with a good performance and 3 points!

SO COME ON BUTCHER'S BOYS!

02-12-2013, 05:30 PM
Am gaun.
Me too plus son and daughter

02-12-2013, 05:31 PM
I can't make it due to work.

First game under Butcher that I won't be at. :boo hoo:

02-12-2013, 05:35 PM
Anything less than 14,000 would have to be considered a disappointment.

linlithgowhibbie
02-12-2013, 05:38 PM

I think you will be disappointed then unfortunately

SuperAllyMcleod
02-12-2013, 05:39 PM
I'm sure there will be a few non die hards at the game and a good performance plus 3 points would surely convince them to keep coming back.

Saturdays can't come round quick enough at the moment.

02-12-2013, 05:39 PM

Don't see it being anything like that.

Somewhere around 10-11,000 is my guess.

02-12-2013, 05:41 PM
Don't see it being anything like that.

Somewhere around 10-11,000 is my guess.

That would just be an embarrassment, and a kick in the teeth to the new management team.

02-12-2013, 05:41 PM
Couldn't make the Stranraer game and can't get to this one, so predicting massive win.....

02-12-2013, 05:50 PM
Don't get a sense that many of the stay at homers will be moved to return yet....so circa 10k I expect

02-12-2013, 05:54 PM

1st home game for TB, I would love a bumper crowd, but think we may see 11-12k......

It would be nice for the guys that wouldn't go back, until Fenlon was out, decide to come back....The management team excites and hopefully more start attending.....The more fans that go, the more money the Club has to add to the squad......

02-12-2013, 05:54 PM
I'll be there.

Headstone ceremony, couple of pints then game.

Really looking forward to it.

02-12-2013, 05:56 PM
That would just be an embarrassment, and a kick in the teeth to the new management team.

Don't agree at all.

Our home record over the past few years has been shocking. I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest that Terry Butcher needs to get us playing good football and winning games over a regular basis before a lot of the people who have stayed away recently will come back.

Our average attendance over our seven home games so far this season is just under 10,500.

I think it's unrealistic to expect an extra 3,500 people to turn up on Saturday.

02-12-2013, 05:59 PM
In the current climate and considering the dross that we have been seeing, I would have said that any crowd of over 11,000 would be far from an insult.

02-12-2013, 06:03 PM
Me too plus son and daughter

Snap :greengrin

Blackburn Hibee
02-12-2013, 06:03 PM
I'll be there!

02-12-2013, 06:08 PM

They must have very thick skins then after being insulted every other week up in inverness with crowds of 2k!

02-12-2013, 06:12 PM
They must have very thick skins then after being insulted every other week up in inverness with crowds of 2k!

Aye, right enough :greengrin

Maybe targeting 14K is overly optimistic, but with our last two away games support considerably up in numbers, you would expect that to be reflected at home as well, especially for Terry Butcher`s home debut.

02-12-2013, 06:12 PM
I'll be there.

Good shout PB, a similar day planned, headstone ceremony is 11.30am for anyone looking to attend the Eastern cemetery before the game.

GlenrothesHibee
02-12-2013, 06:15 PM
10k max. Expensive time of year

02-12-2013, 06:16 PM
Aye, right enough :greengrin

Maybe targeting 14K is overly optimistic, but with our last two away games support considerably up in numbers, you would expect that to be reflected at home as well, especially for Terry Butcher`s home debut.

I would think so too and hopefully that is the case.

is it a hibs kids game?? Might add a few!!

007 Mickey Weir
02-12-2013, 06:18 PM
Would love to be wrong. But I think 10k home support will be at game. Still a lot fans to be convinced.

I will be there as always.

Time for Butcher boys to make some noise!!

02-12-2013, 06:23 PM
Snap :greengrin
Crackle and Pop but that's not there names See what advertising does

02-12-2013, 06:31 PM
I would think so too and hopefully that is the case.

is it a hibs kids game?? Might add a few!!
Agree we will see modest increase but the lead up. To Christmas can financially prohibit some that might want to go Given recent averages then any crowd over 10 000 is decent but would hope to nudge nearer 11 000 as Thistle should bring a few but days of Hibs kids swelling numbers are long gone Can remember when under Mowbray they filled the upper tier of away Stand .

02-12-2013, 06:33 PM

02-12-2013, 06:39 PM
How have you arrived at that precise figure.We won't get over 14,000 till we start scoring more goals and playing free flowing football that attracts the stay alway s . :confused:

02-12-2013, 06:48 PM
I'll be there, and I'd like to see a figure north of 10636!

Godsahibby
02-12-2013, 06:54 PM
Taking my nephew to his first ever game. :flag:

02-12-2013, 07:04 PM
I'll be there.

:agree:similar plans, and hope a few from our branch make it to the ceremony. I think Butcher and Petrie will be attending too. for the game, I would hope we get a wee bit more than 11,000. although anything around that figure would be a good first step for the manager, at ER.

02-12-2013, 07:14 PM

14,329 Am gone an a take 2 seats :nade:

02-12-2013, 07:36 PM
I would like to hear this song played when the teams come out of the tunnel...

Butcher Baby....The Plasmatics

http://youtu.be/Q2eynNh5xHM

02-12-2013, 07:39 PM

Where did you dig that one up from

02-12-2013, 07:41 PM
Where did you dig that one up from

i bought their first album in 1980 when i was a young punk on dope

02-12-2013, 07:46 PM

Preferred a pig is a pig:flying:

02-12-2013, 07:47 PM

:greengrin :top marks

02-12-2013, 07:50 PM
At least 6 heading up from the Blackpool area:scarf:

02-12-2013, 07:50 PM
Preferred a pig is a pig:flying:

Even if this was totally accidental, it's a bit insensitive, naw?

02-12-2013, 07:51 PM
Speaking of white punks on dope I remember vaguely seeing a group at Paisley college union called the Hemaroids 1979 I think

02-12-2013, 07:54 PM
Even if this was totally accidental, it's a bit insensitive, naw?
Apologies must of been subliminal ,Liked the track and looked for something different

02-12-2013, 08:14 PM
I'll be going, looking forward to it.

Flanny boy
02-12-2013, 08:14 PM
I,ll be comming up with blackpool hibs
and anyone else who decide to join us
looking forward to it & 3points for the hibees :aok:

02-12-2013, 08:32 PM
Speaking of white punks on dope I remember vaguely seeing a group at Paisley college union called the Hemaroids 1979 I think

the name rings a bell...another obscure punk band from your neck of the woods was 'xs discharge'...not to be confused with stoke on trents 'discharge'...i had their single 'lifted'...brilliant wee ditty about the joys of being 'lifted'

02-12-2013, 08:54 PM
be a big day, what with the Dan McMichael event beforehand.

02-12-2013, 08:55 PM

02-12-2013, 09:08 PM
Don't agree at all.

Our home record over the past few years has been shocking. I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest that Terry Butcher needs to get us playing good football and winning games over a regular basis before a lot of the people who have stayed away recently will come back.

Our average attendance over our seven home games so far this season is just under 10,500.

I think it's unrealistic to expect an extra 3,500 people to turn up on Saturday.

Think that was one of terrys gripes at inverness - Had them second in the league and only about an extra hundred or so extra supporters !!???

02-12-2013, 09:11 PM
10707 ??

02-12-2013, 09:19 PM
10707 ??

02-12-2013, 09:21 PM
Think that was one of terrys gripes at inverness - Had them second in the league and only about an extra hundred or so extra supporters !!???

He won't have that problem at Hibs.

If he gets us winning on a regular basis and we start playing good football again with an emphasis on attacking the opposition, we could easily get around 15 or 16,000 every other week at Easter Road.

02-12-2013, 09:29 PM
He won't have that problem at Hibs.

If he gets us winning on a regular basis and we start playing good football again with an emphasis on attacking the opposition, we could easily get around 15 or 16,000 every other week at Easter Road.

If i wasn't so far away id be at every game.. imo - Terry Butcher has already breathed some fresh life into Hibs..

The training ground vid on youtube was so refreshing....

02-12-2013, 09:39 PM
Really gutted I can't make this game due to work. Hope their is a good turnout to welcome Terry & co and help rally the boys on to 3 points and start bringing the much needed feel good factor back. It's the start of a new chapter at ER and here's hoping it's a successful one!

TBGAWA

02-12-2013, 10:38 PM
I would hope people make the effort as it's an important game but very winnable plus it would show Butcher he made a good choice coming to Hibs.

I do agree about it will take time to bring people back but even though I've been severely pissed off with the club and team this season I want our fortunes to change and have agreed with everything Butcher has done since he has arrived - plus he is unbeaten in his 2 games.

Hopefully a good noise from Section 43 also as the backing on Saturday was excellent plus the boo boys should be quiet Saturday as Fenlon has gone :greengrin

03-12-2013, 07:15 PM
I would hope people make the effort as it's an important game but very winnable plus it would show Butcher he made a good choice coming to Hibs.

I do agree about it will take time to bring people back but even though I've been severely pissed off with the club and team this season I want our fortunes to change and have agreed with everything Butcher has done since he has arrived - plus he is unbeaten in his 2 games.

Hopefully a good noise from Section 43 also as the backing on Saturday was excellent plus the boo boys should be quiet Saturday as Fenlon has gone :greengrin
Yes lest hope we get a response from the fans who have been staying away Am sure those there will give team good vocal support and let's smash this home form

03-12-2013, 08:01 PM
Is Captain Craig suspended?

03-12-2013, 08:08 PM
Is Captain Craig suspended?

Nope.

He missed the Inverness game a few weeks ago and will also miss our first League Cup tie of next season.

03-12-2013, 08:12 PM
Ahm goan! :tbgwa:

03-12-2013, 08:15 PM

Hold the back page!!!

i cannae wait to be honest. Been ringing a few mates and we're all going with our laddies.

03-12-2013, 08:16 PM

Google maps is your friend.

03-12-2013, 08:17 PM
Am gaun.

Hink ill go to the pub prematch anaw as its ma weekend off :cb

jon paul jones
03-12-2013, 08:26 PM
4 fantastic reasons to go on Saturday

1) Headstone ceremony
2) Butchers first home game; lets raise the roof
3) I fancy a wee sing-song on Saturday going through a couple of the old Jambo-numbers. I'm sure it won't take much encouragement for others to join in
4) A hibs player could celebrate 200 appearances for the club; we should respect his dedication to playing for the Hibees irrespective of ones personal opinions on his merits. I like Lewis purely coz he gives 100% for the cause.

Respect is due in my book to Lewis if he makes the pitch

edwards
03-12-2013, 08:28 PM

Anyone know what time this is taking place and what part of the cemetry [ roughly ] to the right, left or at the back wall [ thats were my dad is ].
Fancy a crowd of 12.500 for the game tomorrow any more will be a bonus.

03-12-2013, 08:30 PM
Can cairney play?

"Kommen sie bitte und listen to Kraftwerk!"

03-12-2013, 08:51 PM
Anyone know what time this is taking place and what part of the cemetry [ roughly ] to the right, left or at the back wall [ thats were my dad is ].

It is Saturday! Don't know where about in the cemetery.

03-12-2013, 08:59 PM
Nope.

He missed the Inverness game a few weeks ago and will also miss our first League Cup tie of next season.

Thanks...:greengrin

I meant to write Cairney..is he available or 1 game immediate suspension ?

03-12-2013, 09:01 PM
Thanks...:greengrin

I meant to write Cairney..is he available or 1 game immediate suspension ?

I would imagine that his suspension will apply to the Raith Rovers game in the next round of the cup and will therefore be free for selection on Saturday.

03-12-2013, 09:08 PM
4 fantastic reasons to go on Saturday

1) Headstone ceremony
2) Butchers first home game; lets raise the roof
3) I fancy a wee sing-song on Saturday going through a couple of the old Jambo-numbers. I'm sure it won't take much encouragement for others to join in
4) A hibs player could celebrate 200 appearances for the club; we should respect his dedication to playing for the Hibees irrespective of ones personal opinions on his merits. I like Lewis purely coz he gives 100% for the cause.

Respect is due in my book to Lewis if he makes the pitch

3pm kick off on a Saturday as well - weather shouldn't be too bad also.

Next 4 HOME games are all winnable - 3 taking place in December then the yams on the 2nd Jan.

03-12-2013, 09:47 PM
Really looking forward to it, gonna head to the Nip early doors and make a day of it. Two nil Hibs.

03-12-2013, 10:02 PM

Sorry, no idea exactly where the ceremony will be taking place but I know (coz I asked too :greengrin) that you access it via the cemetary entrance along from the Four In Hand side door :aok: Don't know the name of the street :rolleyes:

Flanny boy
04-12-2013, 05:44 AM
The unveiling of the headstone is at 11.30 mate

07-12-2013, 11:09 AM
Bump - Looking online looks like a decent crowd will be going!

Can't wait! :top marks

07-12-2013, 11:14 AM
Good luck to the boys, sadly I can't make the game today but I'm confident of TB getting his first 3 points and also his first home win.

GGTTH.

07-12-2013, 11:40 AM
I'm making my comeback today now that the dark and dismal days of the Fenlon era are behind us.

SteveG
07-12-2013, 11:53 AM
First time back since opening game, cant wait. Come on the hibees

07-12-2013, 11:59 AM
I'll be there, looking forward to it and the weather seems a bit warmer than yesterday which is. Bonus :-))

07-12-2013, 12:04 PM
Oct 19th the last time we scored at home....against Celtic in the 1v1 game..

Got a feeling Collins will get us a goal today :greengrin

07-12-2013, 12:06 PM
11500 - been averaging 10500 so would expect a few more bums on seats. I won't be one of them unfortunately

07-12-2013, 12:07 PM
Can't afford the tickets:(

HibeeSince82
07-12-2013, 12:34 PM
Can't wait for this one!

07-12-2013, 01:04 PM
For the uninitiated like myself, what does TBGAWA mean?

BarneyK
07-12-2013, 01:06 PM

Terry Butcher's Green and White Army?

nribs
07-12-2013, 01:06 PM
Terry Butchers Green And White Army

07-12-2013, 07:06 PM
Got a feeling Collins will get us a goal today :greengrin[/QUOTE]

:-) a precious point which we would have lost pre Butcher.