View Full Version : Scottish Cup 5th round draw - Hibs v Raith Rovers

30-11-2013, 03:58 PM
When is it?

I'm assuming it isn't right after the games - that would make too much sense.

30-11-2013, 03:59 PM
Monday, 2pm. SSN.

30-11-2013, 04:01 PM
Monday, 2pm. SSN.

Wow, the SFA really know how to organise an event for best exposure.

30-11-2013, 04:04 PM
Strange. Thought they'd have done it after celtc's win tomorrow.

30-11-2013, 04:09 PM
Strange. Thought they'd have done it after celtc's win tomorrow.

Straight from the boutique style John Robertson lounge.

Mellow Hibee
30-11-2013, 04:23 PM
Partick or Aberdeen
Hearts or Celtic
Rangers
Albion
Dumbarton
QoS or St Mirren
Clyde or Stranraer
Stenhousemuir
Aloa
Brechin or Forfar
Raith
St Johnston
Ayr or Dunfermline
Dundee Utd
Inverness

Plenty small teams left in it so hopefully one of them for now.

30-11-2013, 04:24 PM
THE Rangers at Ibrox please!!

30-11-2013, 04:25 PM
I'd like Albion Rovers at Easter Road but I've got a feeling it'll be Inverness.

30-11-2013, 04:25 PM

Would love to get it right up them ;-)

30-11-2013, 04:26 PM
The Rangers at home.

8th February here we come

Brechin, Forfar, Alloa or Stenhousemuir away for me.

The Hibs Scottish Cup roadshow rolls on.

30-11-2013, 04:27 PM
I'd like Albion Rovers at Easter Road but I've got a feeling it'll be Inverness.

It's fate I tell ye.

30-11-2013, 04:28 PM
Alloa at home would be interesting. Get it right up that wee toad Hartley :cb

30-11-2013, 04:29 PM
Brechin, Forfar, Alloa or Stenhousemuir away for me.

The Hibs Scottish Cup roadshow rolls on.

Quite fancy tbat as well.
Is the next round really in February?

30-11-2013, 04:43 PM

Would love to get it right up them ;-)

let somebody else get it right up them
i'd like the lowest league placed team at home please

30-11-2013, 04:47 PM
Alloa at home would be interesting. Get it right up that wee toad Hartley :cb

If he's still in charge.

Lowest ranked team at home please.

Delighted the next round Isn't until February gives TB a window to start making positive changes in the make up of the squad

30-11-2013, 04:54 PM
When is it?

I'm assuming it isn't right after the games - that would make too much sense.

After all is said and done its a load of balls ;)

30-11-2013, 04:54 PM

We will get ICT in the final.

30-11-2013, 04:58 PM
I'd love us to put Sevco out of the cup.

30-11-2013, 08:47 PM
The SFA obviously think the majority of Scottish fitba fans are Unemployed, Pensioners or stay at home mums / dads. Getting fed up of finding out who Hibs have drawn in the cup by text from my big brother.

30-11-2013, 08:56 PM

Nah, New Huns at ER

30-11-2013, 09:03 PM
As luck would have it i have a day off on Monday. But it's still a daft time for a cup draw. Should be after the Yams v Celtc game.

30-11-2013, 09:03 PM
The SFA obviously think the majority of Scottish fitba fans are Unemployed, Pensioners or stay at home mums / dads. Getting fed up of finding out who Hibs have drawn in the cup by text from my big brother.

Celtic and Rangers fans are unemployed, stay and home and most probably have a pensioners bus pass.....and that's all they care about :wink:

jonny
30-11-2013, 09:36 PM
Yams to sneak an unlikely victory against Celtic then a revenge match at ER in the next round. :cb

JMac
30-11-2013, 10:18 PM
Hopefully we get some lower league team with no history at Easter Road

30-11-2013, 10:42 PM
Hopefully we get some lower league team with no history at Easter Road

Like when we got Ross County in 2010?

EDIT: Wait I get it.

Shearer
01-12-2013, 12:11 AM
I actually hope Hearts beat Celtic, thus removing the best team from the competition. Then hearts at Easter Road for a revenge match would be nice! Can't wait to see a Butcher team get stuck into the Jambos

01-12-2013, 01:30 AM
der neue huns at ER danke

HibeeMG
01-12-2013, 03:46 AM
Anything other than The Rangers will be disappointing.

(Although I would take Hearts at home too providing their 'best youngsters in Scotland' get past Celtc)

01-12-2013, 05:59 AM
Gut instinct is Arabs at ER - as we play them in early Jan and these things often happen.

01-12-2013, 06:19 AM
Hibs v Raith

01-12-2013, 07:02 AM
Some lower league garbage at home please.

01-12-2013, 07:33 AM
Hibs v Raith

Ken for a fact Grant Murrays wife wants Hibs ;-)

Weststandwanab
01-12-2013, 07:56 AM
Partick or Aberdeen
Hearts or Celtic
Rangers
Albion
Dumbarton
QoS or St Mirren
Clyde or Stranraer
Stenhousemuir
Aloa
Brechin or Forfar
Raith
St Johnston
Ayr or Dunfermline
Dundee Utd
Inverness

Plenty small teams left in it so hopefully one of them for now.Rangers do not exist.

Jazza
01-12-2013, 08:25 AM
The Rangers tribute act at ER please

01-12-2013, 09:00 AM
Raith rovers away would be a top day out

01-12-2013, 10:04 AM
Any lower league team, preferably the rangers. And hopefully away - you can't beat a SC away day

hibeesboii
01-12-2013, 02:26 PM
What date will these games be played?

01-12-2013, 02:41 PM

Weekend of the 8th and 9th of Feb i think.

hibeesboii
01-12-2013, 02:53 PM

01-12-2013, 06:16 PM
Can see us ending up with Celtic :rolleyes:

01-12-2013, 06:45 PM
Brechin/Forfar away would be nice from a purely selfish point of view. :greengrin

01-12-2013, 06:45 PM
Brechin/Forfar away would be nice from a purely selfish point of view. :greengrin

What do their grounds hold, how many tickets would we get?

01-12-2013, 09:01 PM
The Rangers at ER please.

01-12-2013, 09:20 PM
Rangers away please!

Flanny boy
01-12-2013, 09:25 PM
At home to Albion rovers,stenny or winners of Clyde and Stranraer
think we would settle for a draw like that eh boys.:agree:

01-12-2013, 09:30 PM
Rangers away please!

Was thinking the same, would be great if we got the whole stand again like we did when we destroyed them 3-0.

01-12-2013, 09:31 PM
What's the chances of Celtic v the Rangers?

01-12-2013, 09:34 PM
I reckon we'll get St Johnstone at home.

01-12-2013, 09:43 PM
Was thinking the same, would be great if we got the whole stand again like we did when we destroyed them 3-0.

Aye, that day was brilliant!

One of my favourite away days.

01-12-2013, 09:43 PM
What do their grounds hold, how many tickets would we get?

Been to Brechin for a pre season friendly a few years ago, reckon we'd get about 1/2k tickets. Never been to Forfar's ground but I'd imagine much the same.

I vote tickets should be preferentially allocated based solely on distance from the ground. :wink:

davhibby
01-12-2013, 09:51 PM
I'd take the winners of Ayr/Dunfermline, hopefully away

01-12-2013, 09:57 PM
Home to Albion Rovers please! Failing that Alloa or Forfar away if they win the replay as I've not been to either ground.

01-12-2013, 10:03 PM
The Yams at Easter Road please. I'm sure that the most talented youngsters in Scotland will have breezed past Septic this afternoon.

Stax
01-12-2013, 10:04 PM
This. Especially after The rangers "performance" against Falkirk

01-12-2013, 10:11 PM
Albion Rovers at home, please. In fact, any home tie bar Celtic. New Hun would be good.

01-12-2013, 10:14 PM
Been to Brechin for a pre season friendly a few years ago, reckon we'd get about 1/2k tickets. Never been to Forfar's ground but I'd imagine much the same.

I vote tickets should be preferentially allocated0based solely on distance from the ground. :wink:

Forfar you get about 2000 away tickets. Fairly large terrace behind one if the goals and a bit at the side too. Brechin I reckon about 1500

01-12-2013, 10:28 PM
Dunfy or new huns at ER

hopefully hertz get a tough away tie

01-12-2013, 11:07 PM

I wasn't there :(

I really hope we get them in the draw either Home or Away :agree:

NYHibby
02-12-2013, 09:53 AM
The draw is supposedly being streamed live on Youtube today in addition to being on SSN.

http://www.youtube.com/ScottishCupOfficial

02-12-2013, 09:59 AM
The rangers at ibrox please

02-12-2013, 10:05 AM
Dunfermline away would be a good trip and not too far.

RSS Bot
02-12-2013, 10:10 AM
2pm at Hampden, who will Hibernian face next?

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131202/scottish-cup-fifth-round-draw-today_2262950_3558983)

02-12-2013, 10:21 AM
Albion or the rangers at ER for me

Father Ted
02-12-2013, 11:08 AM
As long as it's no Craig Thomson again we will be in with a shout.

yeezus.
02-12-2013, 11:13 AM
Stranraer at Stair Park :pray:

Eternal Hibbie
02-12-2013, 11:16 AM
Hertz at Easter Road.

Oh wait . . . :)

02-12-2013, 11:16 AM
According to the website our next home game vs Partick is on Saturday 7th November :aok:

02-12-2013, 11:20 AM
According to the website our next home game vs Partick is on Saturday 7th November :aok:

Need to get TB onto that lot too :greengrin

02-12-2013, 11:21 AM
We are still a fragile team being slowly built up again by TB so any lower league team at home will do me and by that I do not mean Sevco Cheats FC.

02-12-2013, 11:27 AM
a nice 'easy' home draw with the ugly sisters drawn together please :agree:

Mac
02-12-2013, 11:30 AM
The Rangers at home please :thumbsup:

02-12-2013, 11:30 AM
a nice 'easy' home draw with the ugly sisters drawn together please :agree:

This. With a 'new firm' derby thrown in as well.

Liams
02-12-2013, 11:36 AM
ICT at home i reckon, take dumbarton

02-12-2013, 11:38 AM
Lower league team and the new buns getting sellik:thumbsup:

02-12-2013, 11:58 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=s26IN8QUAUA

JMac
02-12-2013, 12:04 PM
Anyone except Celtic at Easter Road.
Or Rangers away.

02-12-2013, 12:11 PM
Rangers at home to Celtic and us away to Brechin/Forfar would be great.

02-12-2013, 12:12 PM
The rangers at ibrox please

Not yet! Id like to see them beat Celtic at Ibrox, and then take them at Easter Road in the Quarters (not counting chickens of course..) Otherwise ICT/Aberdeen/DUtd/StJohnstone all to play each other.

02-12-2013, 12:14 PM
would love to see:

D Utd v Celtic
Aberdeen v Rangers
St J v ICT

Hibs v Albion

Asking too much?

TheFamous1875
02-12-2013, 12:15 PM
Anyone except Celtic at Easter Road.

Would be good to knock them out though, as a reparation akin to this:http://youtu.be/k4X4E4inkEg

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Mark79
02-12-2013, 12:20 PM
I predict Dumbarton.

02-12-2013, 12:25 PM
The hairdryer will be getting switched on as we type!

02-12-2013, 12:43 PM
IF we got Celtic, and IF we won, the yams would be well and truly spewing........ But I'll take Albion at ER please, and hope that both OF teams get knocked out.

Yeah yeah I'm dreaming but does anyone think we can make Cup Final 3yrs in a row?

scuttle
02-12-2013, 12:44 PM
would love to see:

D Utd v Celtic
Aberdeen v Rangers
St J v ICT

Hibs v Albion

Asking too much?

Just about perfect that

JHFC
02-12-2013, 12:47 PM
I predict Aberdeen away.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)

andy1875
02-12-2013, 12:48 PM
Albion at home for footballing reasons.

Raith or Dunfermline away for a day out on the lash.

Not been to Kirkcaldy since we won the league and took a huge support in the 1st division days.

02-12-2013, 12:55 PM
Anyone, as long as it is a home draw for us. :flag:

02-12-2013, 12:56 PM
the comments on the youtube live stream are HILARIOUS! :rolleyes:

02-12-2013, 12:56 PM
From the teams left in, the ones we usually end up with in the cup are Celtic, Aberdeen, Dundee Utd or The Zombies. Avoiding all of them with a home draw would be great.

02-12-2013, 12:59 PM
There's no point praying that we don't get a hard draw, because we'd have to face them in the end anyway. So it shouldn't really matter who we draw.

I wasn't there :(

I really hope we get them in the draw either Home or Away :agree:

What a day it was:greengrin

As an edinburger living in Ayr I hope we get ayr away and crush them. Obviously hope not celtc, Dundee United.

02-12-2013, 01:01 PM
Huns away please.

02-12-2013, 01:04 PM
Rather get celtc at home now as oppossed to meeting them at hampden, more chance of a win at ER I'd say.

02-12-2013, 01:05 PM
Hibs v Raith

Hibs v raith

Pleasing

JJP
Home against Raith Rovers

02-12-2013, 01:06 PM
Raith at ER, decent.

I'll take that.

Raith at ER, that'll do

02-12-2013, 01:07 PM
Hibs v raith

Not bad.

02-12-2013, 01:07 PM
Good draw but Raith won't be no mugs, we need to treat with caution

02-12-2013, 01:09 PM
Hibs v Raith

Well as I've said before, I'm always in the know haha ;D

What is a better draw than ours is the fact that Celtic drew Aberdeen. Favourite v Second Favourite. A decent team has to go out.

ulises_trotter

or in other words.. they will be mugs lol

Well as I've said before, I'm always in the know haha ;D

:D :faf:

JJP
A good chance to reach the Quarter Finals if the players approach the game correctly, which I'm sure they will.

Going to be a strong QTR final line-up, but so long as we're part of it !

Nae bad, good opportunity to make the QF three years running.

TAHibby
Kenny scratched his head when hibs were read out, surely that means he's signing?

02-12-2013, 01:10 PM
who did hertz get :hyper:

That Joe Cardle plays for Raith, he's pretty decent. GGTTH

Who did Hearts get??? :greengrin

Celtic v Aberdeen is a good draw. Gets one of the favourites out.

02-12-2013, 01:11 PM
Rangers v Ayr Utd/Dunfermline
Dundee Utd v Queen of South/St Mirren
Celtic v Aberdeen
Brechin City/Forfar v St Johnstone
Albion Rovers v Stenhousemuir
Hibernian v Raith Rovers
Clyde/Stranraer v Inverness CT
Alloa v Dumbarton

Draw in full Mon the Hibees

The return to ER of dancing boy Clum

Also - Dundee United v QoS/St Mirren so get rid of one of Dundee U and St Mirren too. Would be good is QoS could emerge but can't see past United out of that three.

02-12-2013, 01:12 PM
Going to be a strong QTR final line-up, but so long as we're part of it !

There's going to be three teams outwith the top league in the quarters, I'd take the winners of Albion Rovers v. Stenhousemuir should we get through.

02-12-2013, 01:12 PM
Celtic v Aberdeen is a good draw. Gets one of the favourites out.

Here's hoping the winner gets Inversneckie in the next roond! :agree:

JJP
02-12-2013, 01:13 PM
Gutted that Tribute Act FC didn't get an SPL side.

02-12-2013, 01:14 PM
There's going to be three teams outwith the top league in the quarters, I'd take the winners of Albion Rovers v. Stenhousemuir should we get through.

Either that or I'll take winners of Alloa/Dumbarton

02-12-2013, 01:14 PM

Watched Raith play a couple of weeks ago, nothing special about them, Booth and Kevin McCann both playing for them, don't no if Booth will be allowed to play for Raith though, happy with the draw, back to business in the SPL now. :flag:

02-12-2013, 01:15 PM
Celtic v Aberdeen
Hibernian v Raith Rovers
Alloa v Dumbarton

Quarter Finals:-

Dundee United v Celtic
Rangers v ICT
Hibs v Stenhousemuir
St Johnstone v Alloa

Semi Finals:-

Hibs v St Johnstone
ICT v Dundee United

Final

Hibs v ICT

Winner:-

Hibs

Who says there is a long way to go :greengrin:wink:

jakeshibs
02-12-2013, 01:15 PM
its a home tie versus Raith Rovers, that will do nicely, mon the Hibs..

02-12-2013, 01:16 PM
Gutted that Tribute Act FC didn't get an SPL side.

Rangers are left with four SPL sides, three of them being Celtic, Dundee United and Aberdeen, and get the League One tie. Jammy bassas

02-12-2013, 01:16 PM
Home tie, here's hoping for a bumper crowd to cheer us into Quarter's

KdyHby
02-12-2013, 01:18 PM

Dundee United v Celtic
Rangers v ICT
Hibs v Stenhousemuir
St Johnstone v Alloa

Hibs v St Johnstone
ICT v Dundee United

Final

Hibs v ICT

Hibs

Please finish that off with "FACT", then I'll "believe"

green.and.white
02-12-2013, 01:19 PM
A lower league team at home is all you can ask for, come on Hibs!! :flag:

02-12-2013, 01:20 PM
Difficult game but cup top up :greengrin

02-12-2013, 01:20 PM

Dundee United v Celtic
Rangers v ICT
Hibs v Stenhousemuir
St Johnstone v Alloa

Hibs v St Johnstone
ICT v Dundee United

Final

Hibs v ICT

Hibs

So three in a row and third time lucky eh?:thumbsup::thumbsup: That'll do fir me GGTTH:flag::flag:

02-12-2013, 01:22 PM
Argh I hope it's on the 8th and not the 9th feb , that's not a great weekend for me

02-12-2013, 01:23 PM

There should be a decent crowd, particularly as it's likely to be at 3.00pm on a Saturday.

Rovers will bring a good few and if we continue our steady improvement, that plus reduced entrance fees should help our numbers.

It won't be easy though.

Raith have only lost 3 games this season and they'll have a real go.

Could be a good game.

El Gubbz
02-12-2013, 01:24 PM
Now let's just get ER packed and bouncing! Every game in the run up to the last two finals saw us bring big away crowds and a brilliant atmosphere like Ross County on Saturday. Now we need to take that to Easter Road and get our name in the hat for the next round

02-12-2013, 01:26 PM

This game could be televised.

02-12-2013, 01:27 PM
Argh I hope it's on the 8th and not the 9th feb , that's not a great weekend for me

I'm not sure what game sky will take other than Celtic v Aberdeen.
I'm hoping its the 8th at 3pm, as there are no other Scottish Cup games in Edinburgh that day

TheFamous1875
02-12-2013, 01:29 PM
Celtic v Aberdeen
Hibernian v Raith Rovers
Alloa v Dumbarton

Reckon the winners will be:

Rangers
Dundee Utd
Celtic
St Johnstone
Stenhousemuir
Hibernian
ICT
Dumbarton

Then ideally it would go:

Rangers v Celtic
Dundee Utd v ICT
Dumbarton v St Johnstone
Stenhousemuir v Hibernian

Weststandwanab
02-12-2013, 01:30 PM
Who did Hearts get??? :greengrin Their cumuppance !

There should be a decent crowd, particularly as it's likely to be at 3.00pm on a Saturday.

Rovers will bring a good few and if we continue our steady improvement, that plus reduced entrance fees should help our numbers.

It won't be easy though.

Raith have only lost 3 games this season and they'll have a real go.

Could be a good game. What makes you think it will be on a Saturday ? Genuine question.

02-12-2013, 01:32 PM
Their cumuppance !

What makes you think it will be on a Saturday ? Genuine question.

It will be the Saturday unless TV takes it

TheFamous1875
02-12-2013, 01:34 PM
This game could be televised.

I'm not sure, Celtic v Aberdeen a must, but I think Rangers will get shown because they're Rangers and then probably Dundee Utd v St Mirren as it would be two premiership clubs.

Then again, they never showed Dundee Utd v Killie n that was surely a bigger match than Aberdeen and Partick Thistle..? They never even showed proper highlights of it, even though there were seven goals!

02-12-2013, 01:36 PM
Now let's just get ER packed and bouncing! Every game in the run up to the last two finals saw us bring big away crowds and a brilliant atmosphere like Ross County on Saturday. Now we need to take that to Easter Road and get our name in the hat for the next round

02-12-2013, 01:39 PM
It will be the Saturday unless TV takes it

Police could ask for it to moved to Sunday as scotland play England at murrayfield on the Saturday 5pm.

Weststandwanab
02-12-2013, 01:41 PM
I'm not sure what game sky will take other than Celtic v Aberdeen.
I'm hoping its the 8th at 3pm, as there are no other Scottish Cup games in Edinburgh that day Scotland play rugby at 5 p.m. !

Hedlund12
02-12-2013, 01:45 PM
"It won't be easy though."

Totally agree with the above.... watched Hibs play them in a pre season friendly and although theres no comparison between a PSF and a cup tie - they didn't look a bad side at all.... (in fact I remember coming away from that game thinking "**it is this was we can expect this season!!") We've obviously moved on since July but I can't see it being an easy one.... I hope I'm wrong and it ends up being a walk in the park!!

02-12-2013, 01:45 PM
Im a bit disappointed we won't get our annual chance to put the sheep out this year.

02-12-2013, 01:47 PM
Im a bit disappointed we won't get our annual chance to put the sheep out this year.

Be careful what you wish for, we could face them yet!

02-12-2013, 01:50 PM
Be careful what you wish for, we could face them yet!

I hope so, I love it when we knock them out, and I know for a fact that it really gets to them.

02-12-2013, 02:07 PM
Scotland vs England at the rugby on the 8th may have a baring on it

02-12-2013, 02:10 PM

The rugby KO's at 5pm. Don't see that being an issue.

02-12-2013, 02:14 PM
The rugby KO's at 5pm. Don't see that being an issue.

Never has been, in fact almost perfect. Can get home quickly , while all the egg chasers are inside Murrayfield

02-12-2013, 02:17 PM
I'm not sure, Celtic v Aberdeen a must, but I think Rangers will get shown because they're Rangers and then probably Dundee Utd v St Mirren as it would be two premiership clubs.

Then again, they never showed Dundee Utd v Killie n that was surely a bigger match than Aberdeen and Partick Thistle..? They never even showed proper highlights of it, even though there were seven goals!

3 games were shown in the last round. Hear7s, Falkirk and partick. Probably the same amount if games this time round. I reckon we will be the Sunday with celtic being a early Saturday game. Plus the peanut hugging on at 5 pm on the Saturday.

02-12-2013, 02:19 PM
Police could ask for it to moved to Sunday as scotland play England at murrayfield on the Saturday 5pm.

Purely selfish point of view I hope it is as I'm working on the Saturday.

Baker9
02-12-2013, 02:21 PM
So three in a row and third time lucky eh?:thumbsup::thumbsup: That'll do fir me GGTTH:flag::flag:

Could that be some kind of record? A non-OF team in 3 consecutive cup finals?

Greendub
02-12-2013, 02:34 PM
Only other team to do it was Aberdeen if I'm correct, the records at 3.

02-12-2013, 02:36 PM
12.30 saturday ko will do me, then pop along for the rugger old chap.

02-12-2013, 02:48 PM
Been three games shown per round now for a few years.

Two on Sky and BBC usually get one. Two of the thrre likely ties are:-

Celtic v Aberdeen (Celtic are a big draw for telly, two SPL teams, both near top of league, Dons one of the few teams who could give Celtic a game)

Rangers v Ayr/Dunfermline (again Rangers are a big telly audience and the rest of the draw is fairly cr@p)

Beyond that they may go for Dundee United v St Mirren (if Saints get through) as it would be the only other all SPL tie, or Brechin/Forfar v St Johnstone for the potential giant killing/local derby type angle. Clutching at straws with that last one.

Don't think our tie is attractive enough. Potential for a shock is there but it is not huge potential and First Div team beating SPL is not really shock of the century. Had we been away our tie might have been on the telly.

We've played at ER at 3pm against all kinds of different rugby KOs. Can't see any reason why our game won't be on at 3pm on the Sat.

KdyHby
02-12-2013, 02:57 PM
We've played at ER at 3pm against all kinds of different rugby KOs. Can't see any reason why our game won't be on at 3pm on the Sat.

It's now Police Strathclyde, sorry Police Scotland. The way they've been behaving, who knows which way it could go :rolleyes: .

02-12-2013, 03:18 PM
The ficial site now has the Partick game being played on 07 December, why is that?:wink:

02-12-2013, 03:20 PM
Reckon the winners will be:

Rangers
Dundee Utd
Celtic
St Johnstone
Stenhousemuir
Hibernian
ICT
Dumbarton

Then ideally it would go:

Rangers v Celtic
Dundee Utd v ICT
Dumbarton v St Johnstone
Stenhousemuir v Hibernian

Get the ice rink open for our quarters tie

green.and.white
02-12-2013, 03:26 PM
Also just realised that Alloa vs Dumbarton is Paul Hartley vs Ian Murray - Get stuck into him big guy!

02-12-2013, 03:31 PM
Also just realised that Alloa vs Dumbarton is Paul Hartley vs Ian Murray - Get stuck into him big guy!

Doubt Paul Hartley will still be there.

02-12-2013, 03:48 PM

Haha, remember it well, was a bit of a let down to have to go to the ice rink after the pre match bevvy in the Murrayfield Hotel.

02-12-2013, 03:56 PM
Been three games shown per round now for a few years.

Two on Sky and BBC usually get one. Two of the thrre likely ties are:-

Celtic v Aberdeen (Celtic are a big draw for telly, two SPL teams, both near top of league, Dons one of the few teams who could give Celtic a game)

Rangers v Ayr/Dunfermline (again Rangers are a big telly audience and the rest of the draw is fairly cr@p)

Beyond that they may go for Dundee United v St Mirren (if Saints get through) as it would be the only other all SPL tie, or Brechin/Forfar v St Johnstone for the potential giant killing/local derby type angle. Clutching at straws with that last one.

Don't think our tie is attractive enough. Potential for a shock is there but it is not huge potential and First Div team beating SPL is not really shock of the century. Had we been away our tie might have been on the telly.

The Rangers are at home though? Would a televised match not turn people away from the game?

02-12-2013, 04:04 PM

Ha i remember that.

We had 4 STs in the family and got 2 tickets in the ballot. My Grandad and i ended up going to the game and my Mum and Dad went to the ice rink.

Seekyit
02-12-2013, 04:12 PM
Could that be some kind of record? A non-OF team in 3 consecutive cup finals?

Only other team to do it was Aberdeen if I'm correct, the records at 3.

Unless you go back to the very early days....

Queens Park 1874, 1875, 1876
Vale Of Leven 1877, 1878, 1879
Queens Park 1880, 1881, 1882
Vale Of Leven 1883, 1884, 1885
Dumbarton 1881, 1882, 1883

:nerd:

02-12-2013, 04:12 PM

I forgot about that one!

Northern Hibby
02-12-2013, 04:16 PM

The Wife’s told me if I go to a 3rd Final she'll leave me:tsk tsk:

:bye:

02-12-2013, 04:22 PM
The Wife’s told me if I go to a 3rd Final she'll leave me:tsk tsk:

:bye:

Is that a promise? :greengrin

02-12-2013, 05:06 PM
I remember Raith knocked us out when Duff Jimmy was in charge

Northern Hibby
02-12-2013, 05:19 PM
Is that a promise? :greengrin

Fingers crossed ;-)

02-12-2013, 05:32 PM

Scotland play rugby at 5 p.m. !

I can`t see any reason to change. Can remember a couple of years ago attending the Hibs v Hearts derby in a lunchtime kick off and Scotland v Ireland at Murrayfield that same evening.

02-12-2013, 05:36 PM
It's now Police Strathclyde, sorry Police Scotland. The way they've been behaving, who knows which way it could go :rolleyes: .

Many a true word spoken in jest.

02-12-2013, 05:37 PM
I'll settle for that.

Home tie against a team from a lower division.

Could have been easier but fairly happy with the draw and we've got a couple of months plus a transfer window before the match takes place and hopefully Butcher will be well on his way to stamping his authority on the club by then.

02-12-2013, 06:37 PM
I remember Raith knocked us out when Duff Jimmy was in charge

Was it not alex miller who was manager when raith knocked us out?

02-12-2013, 06:45 PM

Nope, it was in January 1998, Lexo left in 1996

02-12-2013, 06:53 PM

It was Duff Jimmy, Jan 1998, Pat McGinlay scored, Darren Dodds sent off, 2-1 to Raith. I'm sure they beat us 2-1 at ER under Miller, maybe the season before, that one must have been in the league.

02-12-2013, 07:07 PM
They gave us a decent game pre season but that was under wee pat Big Tell is a totally different proposition so will be looking to progress against the boys fae the Lang Toun. Am originally fae Fife so was hoping to get them away but Once We start winning at home this should hold no fears

02-12-2013, 08:09 PM
They gave us a decent game pre season but that was under wee pat Big Tell is a totally different proposition so will be looking to progress against the boys fae the Lang Toun. Am originally fae Fife so was hoping to get them away but Once We start winning at home this should hold no fears

How's Eugene?

02-12-2013, 08:11 PM
Nope, it was in January 1998, Lexo left in 1996

I hate to say this, but did Keith Wright not score for them?

02-12-2013, 08:16 PM
How's Eugene?
Jeans fine gan wak yer dug way yer Baffies Neibur

02-12-2013, 08:23 PM

Och, ya hoor surrr !

02-12-2013, 08:27 PM
Och, ya hoor surrr !
It tak s a lang spoon tae sup awe a fifer

147lothian
02-12-2013, 09:05 PM
When do we get to know if its sat 8th or sunday 9th? So that I can request the day off work, cheers

02-12-2013, 09:36 PM

I might be slavering pish but was it not that ex-yam John Millar that scored both?

03-12-2013, 10:21 AM
The Rangers are at home though? Would a televised match not turn people away from the game?

It probably would turn people away from the game if it was on the telly but since when have tv companies bothered about that? They (particularly commercial channels) are only bothered about what would get the biggest viewing figures.

03-12-2013, 10:27 AM
I might be slavering pish but was it not that ex-yam John Millar that scored both?

And I thought it was Dargo?

03-12-2013, 08:32 PM
And I thought it was Dargo?

Maybe that was the game when Miller was manager!? My programmes are buried too far at the back of the cupboard to check...

03-12-2013, 08:42 PM

03-12-2013, 08:53 PM

Cheers FH, for once I wasnae slavering pish :wink:

03-12-2013, 10:10 PM

Punk rock passed you by neebur. Apologies!

03-12-2013, 10:14 PM
Punk rock passed you by neebur. Apologies!
No more hero s anymore although did like Fae Fife. From the Rezillos.

03-12-2013, 10:17 PM

Pish is my forte, but I am certain that Keith scored against us that season for Raith Rovers. Did Keith play against us that season or am I giving myself the beating I deserve?
Like I say I hated to say it, but does anyone have the facts? other than 'yes'?

03-12-2013, 10:55 PM
Pish is my forte, but I am certain that Keith scored against us that season for Raith Rovers. Did Keith play against us that season or am I giving myself the beating I deserve?
Like I say I hated to say it, but does anyone have the facts? other than 'yes'?

"Yes" is a factual reply.

John Millar did score the two goals against us that day and that was the only time we played Raith Rovers that season as we were both in different divisions, however Keith Wright did play in that cup match.

You're thinking about the following season when Keith Wright scored a consolation for them in a 3-1 defeat at Easter Road in September 1998.

03-12-2013, 11:30 PM
"Yes" is a factual reply.

John Millar did score the two goals against us that day and that was the only time we played Raith Rovers that season as we were both in different divisions, however Keith Wright did play in that cup match.

You're thinking about the following season when Keith Wright scored a consolation for them in a 3-1 defeat at Easter Road in September 1998.

Thanks and well looked up. I was posting from the 'hoof'. 'Yes' might or might not be factual but hardly expansive.

I have to assure you, I'm not at all thinking about the following season and I can only imagine my angst was related to Keith performing well against us in the cup game and I am absolutely certain he did. Guaranteed he had an assist at the FF end for one of the goals to my eternal pain. Nodded it down and ran off celebrating. It's coming back to me now. I gave him a nudge about it at the Gyle one Sunday and he gave me his boots.

Does your archive tell us how well he played or if he assisted?

Genuinely interested.