View Full Version : Dan McMichael

St Pats Branch
25-11-2013, 05:49 PM
As you may be aware, St Pats Branch have been raising funds to have a memorial stone erected at Dan McMichaels Grave.

There is an article in tonight's evening news....

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/tribute-to-hibs-scottish-cup-boss-dan-mcmichael-1-3201946

St Pat’s wish to invite all Hibernian Supporters to join us, along with members of the Hibernian F.C. Board, the Hibernian Supporters Association and the McMichael Family, to this event. St. Patrick’s Branch Patron and modern day legend Patrick Gordon Stanton will unveil this stone in honour of Dan. The ceremony will take place in the Eastern Cemetery, Easter Rd, on Saturday 7th December at 11.30 am, prior to the home game against Patrick Thistle.

http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/

Rory

25-11-2013, 06:10 PM
Hats off to St Pat's for this one. Unbelievable that it has taken this long for something to be done to mark a Hibs greats last resting place.

25-11-2013, 07:15 PM
Excellent work. This is definitely something for the whole Hibee family to be proud of :thumbsup: I'll be there :agree:

GORDONSMITH7
25-11-2013, 08:28 PM
Thanks Rory.

BIG G

25-11-2013, 08:56 PM
Well done everyone involved, would love to have attended but don't get into waverley until 12.30. I will get in to see it at a later date. :top marks

GORDONSMITH7
26-11-2013, 08:34 AM
Well done everyone involved, would love to have attended but don't get into waverley until 12.30. I will get in to see it at a later date. :top marks

Pity about the train times amigo. Would have been good to see you there.

BIG G

26-11-2013, 11:39 AM
Certainly intend going along to the Eastern Cemetery for this. Really hope it's well attended.
Congratulations to St. Patrick's Branch for taking this on. Great achievement.

26-11-2013, 03:05 PM
Certainly intend going along to the Eastern Cemetery for this. Really hope it's well attended.

This :agree:

GORDONSMITH7
26-11-2013, 03:05 PM

It promises to be a memorable Hibernian event Harp.

BIG G

26-11-2013, 03:37 PM
Well done to all at St Pat's for making this happen as well as the St Pat's plaque. Will be there on Saturday week.

26-11-2013, 04:55 PM
I'm not a member of St Patrick's branch but attended the unveiling of the plaque in St Patrick's Church in what was a powerful and proud occasion for all in attendance. Will definitely be heading in early next week to attend what should be another special occasion, and to see a long time wrong finally put right.

St Pats Branch
02-12-2013, 03:48 PM
*Shameless Bump*

A reminder that this is taking place on Saturday in what promises to be a special day for the Hibernian Family

02-12-2013, 07:25 PM
*Shameless Bump*

A reminder that this is taking place on Saturday in what promises to be a special day for the Hibernian Family

Looking forward to Saturday Gordon, see you there man.

Bill

02-12-2013, 09:07 PM
Never been to the Eastern Cemetery before. Where is the entrance?

02-12-2013, 09:13 PM

Street to the side of the Four in Hand K

02-12-2013, 09:16 PM
Street to the side of the Four in Hand K

Thanks. Will be there. Didn't fancy climbing the wall at the Hibs shop at my age.

jon paul jones
03-12-2013, 05:45 PM
Green bump !

A long over due acknowledgement of a true Hibby

A special day

03-12-2013, 07:06 PM
Looking forward to Saturday Gordon, see you there man.

Bill

bill
see you Saturday buddy
Mickey

03-12-2013, 07:08 PM

enter along Drum Terrace, off Easter Rd, along from the 4 in Hand :-)

03-12-2013, 07:15 PM
Could this lift the Scottish Cup curse and may'be ....... Nah! better not even think about it. :greengrin

Well done again to St Pats. Branch.

04-12-2013, 08:17 PM
Nice piece in the EH Reporter
http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/12/hibs-fans-invited-to-attend-ceremony-to-unveil-a-gravestone-in-honour-of-former-manager-dan-mcmichael/

04-12-2013, 08:23 PM
http://www.theedinburghreporter.co.uk/2013/12/hibs-fans-invited-to-attend-ceremony-to-unveil-a-gravestone-in-honour-of-former-manager-dan-mcmichael/

Excellent :agree:

04-12-2013, 09:23 PM

Capt Mainwaring
04-12-2013, 10:18 PM
Tremendous effort from the St Pats branch.

GORDONSMITH7
05-12-2013, 11:18 AM
Tremendous effort from the St Pats branch.

Tremendous effort by Hibernian Supporters without whose pennies and pounds this certainly could never have happened Capt.

BIG G

hibbybrian
05-12-2013, 02:40 PM

Nice piece indeed, but they got a couple of things wrong:

Dan lived at 287 Easter Road, not 247; and when Phil Kelso took over as Manager, Dan was appointed as Club Secretary and reinstated when Phil moved to manage Arsenal the next season, and did not "leave his beloved club for a short spell" :wink:

GORDONSMITH7
05-12-2013, 05:32 PM
Nice piece indeed, but they got a couple of things wrong:

Dan lived at 287 Easter Road, not 247; and when Phil Kelso took over as Manager, Dan was appointed as Club Secretary and reinstated when Phil moved to manage Arsenal the next season, and did not "leave his beloved club for a short spell" :wink:

Brian, for some reason Dan's home address in Easter Road has always stuck in my heid as I stayed in the stair next to his. It was amended for Ceremony Card to 287. The card looks braw and will be sending one off tae Qatar amigo.

BIG G

Tom Hart RIP
05-12-2013, 05:43 PM
The article has been amended. The address 247 Easter Road came from the Scotsman.
My apologies.

hibbybrian
05-12-2013, 06:01 PM
Brian, for some reason Dan's home address in Easter Road has always stuck in my heid as I stayed in the stair next to his. It was amended for Ceremony Card to 287. The card looks braw and will be sending one off tae Qatar amigo.

BIG G

Shukran sadeke :aok:

hibbybrian
05-12-2013, 06:03 PM
The article has been amended. The address 247 Easter Road came from the Scotsman.
My apologies.

Nae need fir apologies, we're awe friends here :aok:

GORDONSMITH7
05-12-2013, 10:01 PM
My apologies.

Thanks for your support since this project was conceived J. Your articles in the Edinburgh Reporter and Irish News Review have been excellent. See you Saturday amigo.

BIG G

05-12-2013, 10:30 PM
now looking forward to this, and it could be a memorable occasion for Hibernian and the fans. I have been urging all our branch members to attend, in memory of a very impotant man in the club's history, so c'mon Milton Mowbray ,be there.