View Full Version : It's A Disgrace!

15-11-2013, 12:22 PM
They're reckoning the first Hibee picture is Neil Orr except that it was taken years before Orr signed. I say it's Peter Welsh.

Thoughts?

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/life-style/hearts-and-hibs-moustache-11-can-you-guess-who-1-3190424

15-11-2013, 12:29 PM
They're reckoning the first Hibee picture is Neil Orr except that it was taken years before Orr signed. I say it's Peter Welsh.

Thoughts?

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/life-style/hearts-and-hibs-moustache-11-can-you-guess-who-1-3190424

Could be.

15-11-2013, 12:33 PM
A damned disgrace, I'd cancel my subscription if I had one. Peter (ward 45) Welsh.

15-11-2013, 12:41 PM
I think that the they have the right names for both lists, but in totally the wrong order in both cases.

I KNOW Hearts #1 is Jim Cruikshank and #5 is Pettigrew. I dunno who the rest of them are. Dinnae want to, either.

Hibs (I think) are

1. NOT NEIL ORR
2. Jimmy Boco
3. JT :not worth
4. Tony Higgins
5. Cyclops
6. Colin Harvey ?
7. Dougie Bell
8 & 9. Arfur and MacArfur (a bit like a dad-and-son shot there!)
10. Des Bremner
11. Bobby Smith

I'm pretty sure of the others, but not of 1 and 6. Auld age and failing memory. :greengrin

15-11-2013, 12:54 PM
as ever with the evening news they have made a total jeremy hunt of the order of the players...the names of the players do not match the order given in the answers...if i had a subscription i would now be a cancellee

15-11-2013, 12:58 PM
The names might be correct but most are not in the number order in the answer list. Hibs nos 1 , 4 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 and 11 do not match respective picture nos but I think the quiz might actually be to match the numbers as the Hearts ones are different as well. I think the answers are (but I could be wrong) 1 Neil Orr 2 Jimmy Boco 3 Joe Tortolano 4 Tony Higgins 5 Alan Sneddon 6 Graham Harvey 7 Doug Bell 8 Arthur Duncan 9 Jim MCarthur 10 Des Bremner 11 Bobby Smith. although I could be corrected.

15-11-2013, 01:02 PM
The names might be correct but most are not in the number order in the answer list. Hibs nos 1 , 4 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 and 11 do not match respective picture nos but I think the quiz might actually be to match the numbers as the Hearts ones are different as well. I think the answers are (but I could be wrong) 1 Neil Orr 2 Jimmy Boco 3 Joe Tortolano 4 Tony Higgins 5 Alan Sneddon 6 Graham Harvey 7 Doug Bell 8 Arthur Duncan 9 Jim MCarthur 10 Des Bremner 11 Bobby Smith. although I could be corrected.

That would be the way I would match the photos to the names, but I don't think Hibs #1 is Neil Orr. I remember him as having a craggier face.

http://thumbs.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mhOa1k8K4UxHncZWizRiypA.jpg

15-11-2013, 01:14 PM
That would be the way I would match the photos to the names, but I don't think Hibs #1 is Neil Orr. I remember him as having a craggier face.

Got to agree no1 does not look like Neil Orr , different hairstyle , wonder if it was actually Ally McLeod?

15-11-2013, 01:24 PM
Got to agree no1 does not look like Neil Orr , different hairstyle , wonder if it was actually Ally McLeod?

Don't think so - this is him without the mouser.

http://i.ebayimg.com/t/TOPPS-FOOTBALLERS-SCOTTISH-YELLOW-BACK-ALLY-MacLEOD-HIBERNIAN-No-73-EX-/00/s/MTYwMFgxMTg0/$T2eC16hHJHEE9ny2tlOzBQ-rkLrCTg~~60_35.JPG

15-11-2013, 01:31 PM
Just to show what a sad OG I am had a go at Them as well 1 Cruickshank 2 Mauchlin 3 Van de Ven 4 Whittaker 5 Pettigrew 6 Park 7 Patterson 8 Robertson 9 Shaw 10 Sandison 11 Busby

15-11-2013, 01:32 PM
Don't think so - this is him without the mouser.

http://i.ebayimg.com/t/TOPPS-FOOTBALLERS-SCOTTISH-YELLOW-BACK-ALLY-MacLEOD-HIBERNIAN-No-73-EX-/00/s/MTYwMFgxMTg0/$T2eC16hHJHEE9ny2tlOzBQ-rkLrCTg~~60_35.JPG
Third choice is Willie Irvine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

15-11-2013, 01:33 PM
Just to show what a sad OG I am had a go at Them as well 1 Cruickshank 2 Mauchlin 3 Van de Ven 4 Whittaker 5 Pettigrew 6 Park 7 Patterson 8 Robertson 9 Shaw 10 Sandison 11 Busby

I'm assuming that most of those Yam photos were police mug shots? :greengrin

15-11-2013, 01:51 PM

I'd say that definately is Neil Orr. He certainly had that kind of hair cut :greengrin

15-11-2013, 01:57 PM
I'd say that definately is Neil Orr. He certainly had that kind of hair cut :greengrin

Which one? The one on the EN website or the one on the left of the picture card?

E10 Rifle
15-11-2013, 02:28 PM
Can't believe there's no Kevin McKee in this

15-11-2013, 02:33 PM
Can't believe there's no Kevin McKee in this

I agree. At first glance I thought no 3 was Kevin.

BurghHibby
15-11-2013, 02:52 PM
1) Peter Welsh
2) Jimmy Boco
3) Joe Tortolano
4) Tony Higgins
5) Alan Sneddon
6) Graham Harvey
7) Doug Bell
8) Arthur Duncan
9) Jim McArthur
10) Des Bremner
11) Bobby Smith

Unfortunately I got most of the poppy stealers ones as well but couldn't bring myself to post their names.

15-11-2013, 02:52 PM

Definitely Orr.

15-11-2013, 03:07 PM
Which one? The one on the EN website or the one on the left of the picture card?

The picture card - Sorry, not had time to look at the EN one, which I'm assuming is wildly wrong :greengrin

15-11-2013, 03:12 PM

Definitely Orr.

I think the give away is that the sponsors are Fishers Garage, 1982 version - Peter Welsh only lasted that first season, they stopped sponsoring us in 1985. Neil Orr joined in 1987.

Also the guy in the news has an Umbro strip, while it was Adidas when Orr joined us.

15-11-2013, 03:25 PM
http://i.ebayimg.com/t/PANINI-FOOTBALL-90-422-HIBERNIAN-NEIL-ORR-/00/s/NTUzWDQyNA==/$(KGrHqJHJBoE-dbzEE)QBPsB4Gzbgw~~60_35.JPG

15-11-2013, 03:30 PM
I think the give away is that the sponsors are Fishers Garage, 1982 version - Peter Welsh only lasted that first season, they stopped sponsoring us in 1985. Neil Orr joined in 1987.

Also the guy in the news has an Umbro strip, while it was Adidas when Orr joined us.

That's right.

The strip in the News quiz is from seasons 82/83 or 83/84.

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scottish_Football_League/Hibernian/hibernian.htm

15-11-2013, 03:33 PM
It's Peter Welsh.

And here he is...

http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/m/mfltiSVjmo-5KyxL8za9Aag/140.jpg

Green Man
15-11-2013, 03:40 PM
I can't believe there's no Dirk Lehmann.

15-11-2013, 04:05 PM
It's Peter Welsh.

And here he is...

http://thumbs1.ebaystatic.com/m/mfltiSVjmo-5KyxL8za9Aag/140.jpg

Where did we sign him from?

15-11-2013, 05:05 PM
Where did we sign him from?Leicester City

15-11-2013, 05:48 PM
Leicester City

A central defender with a gammy knee as I recall.

15-11-2013, 05:55 PM
A central defender with a gammy knee as I recall.

I think he was signed as a centre half but played in midfield. Fairly pish but not the worst player we've ever had, shame he couldn't run much due to his massive beer gut.

16-11-2013, 12:06 AM
A central defender with a gammy knee as I recall.To be honest Speeders, I cant remember him at hibs. I remember players from late 70's but I honestly cant remember him. Im getting paranoid now, maybe it was during my botanic days dealing with certain weed ..:eek:...

16-11-2013, 11:17 AM
To be honest Speeders, I cant remember him at hibs. I remember players from late 70's but I honestly cant remember him. Im getting paranoid now, maybe it was during my botanic days dealing with certain weed ..:eek:...

Was it Auld who signed him? If so, it's not surprising it's hard to place him - that was a truly memorably awful Hibs team.

16-11-2013, 11:30 AM
Was it Auld who signed him? If so, it's not surprising it's hard to place him - that was a truly memorably awful Hibs team.He played 19 games Doddie & even managed to score a goal before he was transferred to the mighty Nuneaton Borough :greengrin

16-11-2013, 12:57 PM
He played 19 games Doddie & even managed to score a goal before he was transferred to the mighty Nuneaton Borough :greengrin

It was actually a good goal, driving through midfield, beating a couple of players on the way. Think it may have been vs. QPR, managed by El Tel.

16-11-2013, 04:48 PM
It was actually a good goal, driving through midfield, beating a couple of players on the way. Think it may have been vs. QPR, managed by El Tel.
Was Peter Welsh not signed as Craigie Paterson's replacement?

16-11-2013, 05:46 PM
Was Peter Welsh not signed as Craigie Paterson's replacement?

I seem to remember he was in the same job lot as Bobby Thomson. I do hope we didn't pay a fee for Welsh. He was an absolute waster.

16-11-2013, 07:58 PM
I seem to remember he was in the same job lot as Bobby Thomson. I do hope we didn't pay a fee for Welsh. He was an absolute waster.

Correct FR. Bertie Auld spent some of the Paterson money on Welsh and Bobby Thomson, the latter joining from Middlesbrough

16-11-2013, 09:34 PM
Got most of them for both sides. Forgot that they once had a strip supplied by Admiral though. Thought they went under in the 70's. The Umbro strips for both teams are proper strips though. Colours the way you remember them and would still like to see them and classic simple designs with no fannying around.

17-11-2013, 10:37 AM
Correct FR. Bertie Auld spent some of the Paterson money on Welsh and Bobby Thomson, the latter joining from Middlesbrough

Did we have Willie Irvine at this point, or did he come mid-season. I remember we swapped Bobby Flavell for him with Motherwell.

17-11-2013, 08:51 PM
Did we have Willie Irvine at this point, or did he come mid-season. I remember we swapped Bobby Flavell for him with Motherwell.

:agree: IIRC he arrived shortly before superstars Malcolm Robertson and Mike Conroy :greengrin

18-11-2013, 08:17 AM
:agree: IIRC he arrived shortly before superstars Malcolm Robertson and Mike Conroy :greengrin

Did Malcolm Robertson actually sign? I think he played four games as a trialist. I also remember Ally MacLeod playing as a trialist after Dundee Utd had emptied him. The abuse he took warming up as a sub was priceless.

In fairness, Robertson took his abuse in good spirit too.

18-11-2013, 03:09 PM

I think we did.

18-11-2013, 08:56 PM
Did Malcolm Robertson actually sign? I think he played four games as a trialist. I also remember Ally MacLeod playing as a trialist after Dundee Utd had emptied him. The abuse he took warming up as a sub was priceless.

In fairness, Robertson took his abuse in good spirit too.

Short term deal to cover injuries. Football was sensible in those days although whether Hibs were sensible is another matter :greengrin

Here's Malky's record http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=6288

18-11-2013, 09:14 PM