View Full Version : Pet Peeves III

Pages : 1 [2]

HibeeLR
16-12-2013, 06:58 PM
Soap operas. Worst Tv in my opinion, how anyone can watch shows like Eastenders and coronation street etc is beyond me

17-12-2013, 04:47 PM
Jack Wills gift boxes.

Seriously £40 for a pair of not quite cotton joggers, £40!!!! And they don't even make the box for you.

Bought them for my sisters Xmas and the box is like something of the Krypton Factor.

At least you're organised for the big day... :greengrin

17-12-2013, 06:10 PM
Folk that think their sky box is unlike every other bit of electricall equipment that they own and thus carries an everlasting warranty. :greengrin

As someone who works for Sky, I couldn't agree more with that statement.

You can add broadband routers into the mix as well.

Really winds me up when people phone up and their router of six years has finally given up and you advise them that they need to pay for a new one and then they go absolutely mental.

17-12-2013, 06:13 PM
People on here that under estimate my knowledge of Tennis and actually think Falkirkhibee knows more but he just copys & pastes Tennis news!!

I feel that's a challenge right there.

Bring it on! :na na:

17-12-2013, 06:21 PM
I feel that's a challenge right there.

Bring it on! :na na:

Kent you would read it mate :hilarious

17-12-2013, 07:44 PM
Women in your office who start a Xmas card frenzy by walking briskly round the office, handing them out to every single person in the whole area (or in some cases chucking them at you) no matter if she likes or even knows them, as if to say "well you can't say I never made the effort".

:xsmilesign

17-12-2013, 08:50 PM
As someone who works for Sky, I couldn't agree more with that statement.

You can add broadband routers into the mix as well.

Really winds me up when people phone up and their router of six years has finally given up and you advise them that they need to pay for a new one and then they go absolutely mental.

So how long should a sky broadband router last? Less than six years, I'm guessing.

Another of my peeves is the sky attitude that me giving them around a grand a year means that they are somehow doing me a favour!

17-12-2013, 09:52 PM
So how long should a sky broadband router last? Less than six years, I'm guessing.

Another of my peeves is the sky attitude that me giving them around a grand a year means that they are somehow doing me a favour!

Pet peeve is folk thinking that grand a year is just a donation and not for a service that they get :greengrin

17-12-2013, 10:07 PM
Pet peeve is folk thinking that grand a year is just a donation and not for a service that they get :greengrin

Pet peeve is businesses who continually offer huge discounts to bring in new custom yet won't give same to existing customer, without whom they wouldn't be in a position to offer the deals in the first place!

How about a wee email in January "don't worry about last months bill, we'll pay it for you"

17-12-2013, 10:32 PM
People's terrible walking management destroys my soul.

Seriously, the amount of pish I was getting taught at school up until last year in social education (don't excessively drink, don't do illegal drugs, protect her wrinkle before you sprinkle etc) when really what they should be concentrating on is the people who have no idea how to avoid a socially uncomfortable situation when walking. It seems like I have an awkward walking incident almost everyday of my life, whereas being offered illegal recreational drugs and, wistfully, sex are less regular occurrences.

In six days' time I've got my driving theory test. I'm obliged to complete this before I can sit my practical test and can drive on the roads. This begs the question: Why do people not have to complete walking theory tests before they're allowed to swagger around on paths? It wouldn't require any revision or any five pound IPhone apps for the majority of us, just common sense would be enough to guide us through this course.

If you're walking at a faster pace than the person in front of you, which of the following do you NOT do?

A: Continue at the same pace, overtaking the person in front if necessary

B: Slow down, in order to keep a safe stopping distance from the person in front

C: Continue walking at the same pace, even if you're right behind the person in front, ensuring that they can feel the heat of your breath against the back of their ****ing neck.

This is just one of the many questions that I'd include in this test that would probably be answered incorrectly by the majority of walkers in Aberdeen :grr:

18-12-2013, 12:05 AM
Folk who drive tractors, caravans, horse boxes on the road when I'm going to and from my work.
Dratsabs!

18-12-2013, 07:17 AM
How Costas put an egg hollandaise on their all day breakfast rolls. Give me HP you pricks!

18-12-2013, 07:42 AM
Folks who''ve forgotten that they too were a child at some point in their very important lives.

18-12-2013, 08:11 AM
Folks who''ve forgotten that they too were a child at some point in their very important lives.

Children are rubbish, they're not the future. I've read way more books than them, can beat their hoofball tactics at FIFA and can drive a car. Where's my medal?

18-12-2013, 08:12 AM

The majority of Sky's routers are designed to last exactly 366 days (367 if we're in a leap year) so that the customer's one day outside their warranty period when it needs replaced and then Sky can get even more money out of them.

You should really phone up and offer to pay more for your services if it lasts longer than that.

18-12-2013, 09:22 AM
Pet peeve is businesses who continually offer huge discounts to bring in new custom yet won't give same to existing customer, without whom they wouldn't be in a position to offer the deals in the first place!

How about a wee email in January "don't worry about last months bill, we'll pay it for you"

That's a good idea :agree:

P.s mind you were a new customer too and would have got a deal then.:wink:

18-12-2013, 02:00 PM
That's a good idea :agree:

P.s mind you were a new customer too and would have got a deal then.:wink:

No. it was the missus :greengrin

Kick in the stones when you order sky fibre and then its advertised 3 months later as 6 months half price. bawbags.

18-12-2013, 03:16 PM
No. it was the missus :greengrin

Kick in the stones when you order sky fibre and then its advertised 3 months later as 6 months half price. bawbags.

:agree: Sore one. I remember I bought a pair of jeans that were in a sale a couple of weeks later. Was well annoyed!

18-12-2013, 08:32 PM
People who whistle in communal changing rooms/showers. Do they think they're not naked if they whistle? :confused:

Twa Cairpets
18-12-2013, 09:26 PM
People who whistle in communal changing rooms/showers. Do they think they're not naked if they whistle? :confused:

People who whistle on planes. Seriously, hanging is too good for them.

19-12-2013, 07:39 AM
People who don't acknowledge you when you've held a door open for them.

People whose first reaction to everything is negative.

Pessimists.

Overly patronising positive folk.

Folk who drive right up your erse when you're at the speed limit with no room to let them pass.

When the wife sits quietly until the very point I want to concentrate on or do something at which point she talks more than Alan f****** Carr and then moans that I'm not listening. :greengrin

Idiots.

19-12-2013, 08:07 AM
Folks who try and ram their beliefs down your throat and consider it ok to shout out loud to the world their God's message but then feel insulted when you question the authenticity of their beliefs.

The average Berliner's inability to grasp the basics in manners.

Fat birds in tight leggings.

Fat bald blokes who think they're still 18.

Being treated as a consumer instead of a customer (they can ram me consuming in their shops again).

19-12-2013, 11:25 AM
People who start asking you questions when you start eating your lunch, can you not wait 10 minutes?

19-12-2013, 06:33 PM
Anyone who does the following while im trying to watch the TV or a film:

- tries to have a conversation with me.
- has a conversation over me with someone else in the room drowning out the telly.
- watches the telly with me and tells me how crap the programme is that i am watching.
- watches the telly with me and spends the entire time asking "who is he?", "why did they do that?"
- puts on subtitles.

and the absolute worst:

anyone who blurts out spoilers.

My wife did this to me when i was watching Les Miserable. she had been to see it in the cinema and i hadn't so one afternoon i had to myself i watched it when it was on sky movies.......wife comes home midway through and sits watching the end of it with me and ends up telling me the boy gets killed by the soldiers and while Russell Crowe is doing his big finale on the bridge says: "he should have just kept his gun". :rolleyes:

19-12-2013, 07:52 PM
Anyone who does the following while im trying to watch the TV or a film:

- tries to have a conversation with me.
- has a conversation over me with someone else in the room drowning out the telly.
- watches the telly with me and tells me how crap the programme is that i am watching.
- watches the telly with me and spends the entire time asking "who is he?", "why did they do that?"
- puts on subtitles.

and the absolute worst:

anyone who blurts out spoilers.

My wife did this to me when i was watching Les Miserable. she had been to see it in the cinema and i hadn't so one afternoon i had to myself i watched it when it was on sky movies.......wife comes home midway through and sits watching the end of it with me and ends up telling me the boy gets killed by the soldiers and while Russell Crowe is doing his big finale on the bridge says: "he should have just kept his gun". :rolleyes:

I recorded Les Mis a week or so back, planning to watch it when off over Christmas. I'll maybe not bother now!

19-12-2013, 08:04 PM
I recorded Les Mis a week or so back, planning to watch it when off over Christmas. I'll maybe not bother now!

Had a wee feeling that would upset someone! The guy moans about someone giving away the ending and carries on to do the very same thing, unreal! :-)

19-12-2013, 08:42 PM

Had a wee feeling that would upset someone! The guy moans about someone giving away the ending and carries on to do the very same thing, unreal! :-)

Given that i was talking about giving out spoilers and i had said "my wife did it to me while watching Les Miserable" i would have assumed anyone who was still trying to avoid reading about that particular film or would get upset about knowing what happened would have stopped reading.

Its a bit different when its written down and you have the choice to stop reading to avoid spoilers as opposed to someone sitting beside you telling you what happens when you have no choice to not hear what they are saying.

19-12-2013, 09:55 PM
Given that i was talking about giving out spoilers and i had said "my wife did it to me while watching Les Miserable"

Whilst it makes nae odds to me, surely stopping there would've saved someone else from the same unfortunate situation you found yourself in. :dunno:

Twa Cairpets
19-12-2013, 10:03 PM
I was on the 6.20 edi - gatwick flight this morning, a trip I make fairly regularly. The protocol is board, sleep, recover.

However a guy got on today and sat beside me who utterly reeked of garlic. The boy appeared to have showered in it. And he kept burping.

I cannot adequately explains my loathing for this mingling little selfish *****hawk.

19-12-2013, 11:57 PM
Bad parcel etiquette.

Whenever I get one of these notes through my door telling me that a package for me has been delivered to my neighbours, I'm over there at the first opportunity. I don't want it cluttering up their house and it's my parcel so I'll go and retrieve it.

I've received a few parcels meant for one specific neighbour recently and not once have they come to my door. I've left it a few days, got fed up with it lying around and went over to their house with it.
They always just nod, say thanks as if they knew it was coming and as if I was simply the last leg of their "direct to door" delivery service. I don't believe for a minute that they never receive one of these notes telling them where it is.

Today I received a box for her and this time she can ram it. It's going in the back of the cupboard and if she doesn't come to my door then it's tough turkey. It's forgotten about as far as I'm concerned and I'll only suddenly "remember" if I'm asked about it in the future.

:giruy:

20-12-2013, 06:46 AM
Bad parcel etiquette.

Whenever I get one of these notes through my door telling me that a package for me has been delivered to my neighbours, I'm over there at the first opportunity. I don't want it cluttering up their house and it's my parcel so I'll go and retrieve it.

I've received a few parcels meant for one specific neighbour recently and not once have they come to my door. I've left it a few days, got fed up with it lying around and went over to their house with it.
They always just nod, say thanks as if they knew it was coming and as if I was simply the last leg of their "direct to door" delivery service. I don't believe for a minute that they never receive one of these notes telling them where it is.

Today I received a box for her and this time she can ram it. It's going in the back of the cupboard and if she doesn't come to my door then it's tough turkey. It's forgotten about as far as I'm concerned and I'll only suddenly "remember" if I'm asked about it in the future.

:giruy:

It's a long shot but could it be that she's trying to be considerate to you by allowing the last leg to take place at your convenience rather than hers? In other words if she rings your bell she might be interrupting you doing something important, whereas if she lets you ring her bell then she's the one that risks being interrupted? Not very likely, but possible - remember, wimmin are more sensitive than blokes that way!

20-12-2013, 07:39 AM
When my sex toys arrive when I'm not home. They're always packed in plain brown paper but I'm sure that neighbour of mine knows what's in them judging by his enthusiasm to bring them to me and that creepy look I get when we pass in the stairs.

20-12-2013, 08:08 AM
When my sex toys arrive when I'm not home. They're always packed in plain brown paper but I'm sure that neighbour of mine knows what's in them judging by his enthusiasm to bring them to me and that creepy look I get when we pass in the stairs.

Many years ago, I opened an unexpected package to find what could only be described as a very large-sized set 'kinky' underwear. Bearing in mind this is a family site, I'll leave the details to your imagination.:wink: Puzzled, I checked the front of the envelope, and realised that it should actually have been delivered to our kindly, single (male) upstairs neighbour.

20-12-2013, 08:16 AM
Many years ago, I opened an unexpected package to find what could only be described as a very large-sized set 'kinky' underwear. Bearing in mind this is a family site, I'll leave the details to your imagination.:wink: Puzzled, I checked the front of the envelope, and realised that it should actually have been delivered to our kindly, single (male) upstairs neighbour.

:greengrin Whoops!

20-12-2013, 08:51 AM

So did you just keep and use it yourself, to avoid any embarrassment?

20-12-2013, 09:37 AM
So did you just keep and use it yourself, to avoid any embarrassment?

Not my size, I'm afraid. What I did to avoid embarrassment was buy new brown paper, repackage it, and repost it.
It wasn't even his colour.:rolleyes:

20-12-2013, 10:13 AM
Amateur drinkers who get absolutely smashed and make a tit of themselves on a Christmas night out.

Seriously if you're not a drinker why do you think you suddenly become a cross between George Best and Oliver Reed just because it's Christmas?

Drinking 2 bottles of wine, 8 pints and then making a big fuss because you are 'moving on to shorts' before proceeding to throw up all over the toilets isn't big or clever.

EH6 Hibby
20-12-2013, 12:01 PM

People who whistle on planes. Seriously, hanging is too good for them.

People who whistle full stop. :bitchy:

20-12-2013, 04:05 PM
Amateur drinkers who get absolutely smashed and make a tit of themselves on a Christmas night out.

Seriously if you're not a drinker why do you think you suddenly become a cross between George Best and Oliver Reed just because it's Christmas?

Drinking 2 bottles of wine, 8 pints and then making a big fuss because you are 'moving on to shorts' before proceeding to throw up all over the toilets isn't big or clever.

I bloody hate amateur drinking month.

22-12-2013, 10:35 AM
Folk that laugh and giggle when someone opens a bottle of champagne.

Pilot clappers

22-12-2013, 01:30 PM
People who pass comment to me that 'it must make you mad having to work Christmas'. These are the same people who make smart comments when i'm working and the sun is shining as well. 'Oh what a shame, stuck in here on a nice sunny day' then walk away with a self satisfied smirk on their face.

Yes working Christmas is pretty rubbish but i console myself that i have a week off in January. So when these type of patronising erses are moaning about being back at work i'm having a great time.

22-12-2013, 01:31 PM
Oh and American golf fans.

Whooooooooooooo

Get in the hole

Nice one Tiger whooooooo

You da man Bubba

22-12-2013, 02:11 PM
Oh and Americans

Fixed that for you.

Oh and folks who post "fixed that for you" posts. They're not in the least bit funny.

22-12-2013, 02:12 PM
***** footballers swanning round the toon with their entourage thinking they've made it. Fannies and they'll probably be at the likes of East Stirling in a year or two.

Hollister/ Jack Wills.

Fake Stone Island.

Junkies and scroungers who never have and have no intention of working. That's my number one, some of the lads at work with families graft 40 plus hours in a week and toil to afford a pint with the rest of us on a Friday while societies scabs are living like Kings off handouts. Boils my pish.

Being in a rush/ standing in the pissing rain at the cash machine behind some daft bint with about 63 different cards.

Really posh, ****y students you meet through your mates who are at uni with them who look down their noses at you when you tell them your a tradesman. Maybe so but while they've been getting up to their eyes in debt, living in squalor and working in Poundland for the sake of some ***** and useless degree, I've made a thousand times more than them and still been out every weekend at the same time.

When the old bird who does the wages at work ***** up my overtime and call out money every few weeks without fail. It's numbers, no quantum physics.

Old Firm fans from my hometown. Never hear from them unless it's a big game then all of a sudden they're the biggest supporters in the world. I've probably been to Ibrox and Celtic Park more times than them and they should be embarrassed by that. Fuds.

Folk who proclaim 'Scottish fitba's *****' then proceed to spend all day in the boozer ****ing over Super Sunday. Maybe it wouldn't be as ***** if you got off your arse and put some money into the game.

Festive drinkers in the boozer who dinnae know the difference between a latte and a jäger bomb. Out the way and let the pro's get a drink.

Feel better after that... :greengrin

24-12-2013, 04:23 PM
Am no stayin long............an hour later.

24-12-2013, 08:34 PM
Folk who spell lose with two o's (ie, loose), I mean, it doesn't even look right so you can't even use that excuse, what the hell is wrong with you people?!!!!??!! :greengrin

Oh and folk who just stop, trolley and all, in the middle of a supermarket aisle, what do you want me to do? Fly round and/or over the top of you?

Folk who are so obviously wrong but they refuse to back down, even though you know they know they're wrong, imbeciles.

I'm not a people person, as you can probably tell..... :greengrin

derekHFC
25-12-2013, 02:09 AM
People who try to out-do others by posting pictures of their kids presents all over social media.

25-12-2013, 08:24 PM
Cats, because:

Got my dog a present for Christmas and he was ridiculously grateful. Jumping up and licking my face, trying to climb on my knee then dragging said present (a bison bone) into his corner to get stuck in.

Got my parents cat a present. He looked at it, ignored it then turned away and sat in the corner glaring at us for 10 minutes before going outside.

I've got a niece like that :greengrin

VickMackie
26-12-2013, 12:54 PM
Splitting up with your girlfriend on boxing day after you spent £400 odd quid on her. Major pet peeve!

26-12-2013, 05:02 PM
Folk who start a new thread with the likes of "Leigh coming home" and when you open it it says 'Anybody got any idea if Sparky will ever sign for us again?"
That kind of thing.
Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr - No fair!

27-12-2013, 09:26 PM
Splitting up with your girlfriend on boxing day after you spent £400 odd quid on her. Major pet peeve!

Seems like a bargain to me!

VickMackie
31-12-2013, 01:53 PM
Seems like a bargain to me!

She's back now so I'll keep being skint :greengrin

Flynn
04-01-2014, 09:24 PM
Threads where multiple people reply quoting extremely long posts in full. Its a bit yammish if you ask me. Gonnae no!