View Full Version : Rod Interview on BBC.

hibby rae
13-11-2013, 05:24 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/24920631

Apologies if posted already.

13-11-2013, 05:27 PM

I like how he deals with the media questions with ease and always backs it up with facts

Hibstrooper
13-11-2013, 05:34 PM
I generally don't have a problem with Rod however he comes across as overly defensive at times in that interview.

We all make mistakes Rod, you'll earn more respect for holding your hands up when you are wrong rather than trying to defend what is sometimes the indefensible!

hihohibby
13-11-2013, 05:41 PM

Mr Petrie comes across in a very calm and assured and matter of fact fashion. For this alone he gets my respect. I have been a critic of him on occasion, but am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers. Considering the example of the hierarchy at Tynecastle and the state of that stricken club, how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie if his latest managerial appointment can really move us on from where Pat Fenlon left us.

hibby rae
13-11-2013, 05:43 PM
If I had one criticism of the interview it's perhaps when he mentions every appointment was the right man at the time. Now that's not a dig at Pat (I think that was a good call) but Calderwood is a hard one to defend. On the whole though I think he says a lot of the right things in the interview.

13-11-2013, 06:00 PM
Mr Petrie comes across in a very calm and assured and matter of fact fashion. For this alone he gets my respect. I have been a critic of him on occasion, but am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers. Considering the example of the hierarchy at Tynecastle and the state of that stricken club, how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie if his latest managerial appointment can really move us on from where Pat Fenlon left us.

This :agree:

TheFamous1875
13-11-2013, 06:02 PM
The thing is, after Butcher goes, he should be employing a manager of the same calibre as Butcher is the day he leaves (that's if he leaves successfully of course!!)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

13-11-2013, 06:08 PM
If I had one criticism of the interview it's perhaps when he mentions every appointment was the right man at the time. Now that's not a dig at Pat (I think that was a good call) but Calderwood is a hard one to defend. On the whole though I think he says a lot of the right things in the interview.

Not even going to listen to this interview. Few of his managerial appointments are defendable and most have been woeful. Football is a results business. Thinking you've done the right thing and getting it right are two completely different things and he should have stepped aside or resigned long ago. The malaise around ER and gulf that has grown between the fans and players/team is all to do with the way the club has been run from the top. Petrie is to blame - no one else.

Really hope TB can help reverse this trend.

In stark contrast, there's a piece in one of the papers about TB's first game for the Huns against Hibs at ER when Souness got red and all outfield players were booked. Butcher talks about how fired up the Hibs players and Hibs fans were for that one. Night and day compared to the dreadful atmosphere at ER these days.

13-11-2013, 06:18 PM

Mr Petrie???? You must be a Yam, only yam bams talk like that a la "Mr Romanov"!! No-one calls him Mr Petrie, its:

Petrie
Rod
Rodders
The Tasche

or

PETRIE!!!! followed by a multitude of angry faces!!

hibby rae
13-11-2013, 06:23 PM
Mr Petrie???? You must be a Yam, only yam bams talk like that a la "Mr Romanov"!! No-one calls him Mr Petrie, its:

followed by a multitude of angry faces!!

Mr Petrie out, Petrie, Rod, Rodders, The Tasche or PETRIE!!!! in.

13-11-2013, 06:46 PM
Not even going to listen to this interview. Few of his managerial appointments are defendable and most have been woeful. Football is a results business. Thinking you've done the right thing and getting it right are two completely different things and he should have stepped aside or resigned long ago. The malaise around ER and gulf that has grown between the fans and players/team is all to do with the way the club has been run from the top. Petrie is to blame - no one else.

Really hope TB can help reverse this trend.

In stark contrast, there's a piece in one of the papers about TB's first game for the Huns against Hibs at ER when Souness got red and all outfield players were booked. Butcher talks about how fired up the Hibs players and Hibs fans were for that one. Night and day compared to the dreadful atmosphere at ER these days.

I heard a slightly different interview with Petrie on BBC Radio Scotland last night (first time I have listened to the Sportsound drivel for months).

He was asked a question about mistakes in the past and did he feel any responsibility for wrong decisions taken.

He replied that he did not understand the question!

Came across as arrogant and aloof, quoting facts and statistics like a politician - most of which were irrelevant.

Good luck Terry, you are going to need it.

:pray::pray:

13-11-2013, 06:59 PM

I heard a slightly different interview with Petrie on BBC Radio Scotland last night (first time I have listened to the Sportsound drivel for months).

He was asked a question about mistakes in the past and did he feel any responsibility for wrong decisions taken.

Came across as arrogant and aloof, quoting facts and statistics like a politician - most of which were irrelevant.

And if he said to the Sportsound buffoons "Aye, I am a bit of a radge, and I made some *****y appointments - lets face it its up tae me so the rest of you can go and do one" Would you have been happy?

He is Chief Exec, course he will give a political answer.

p.s. I am no Petrie fanboy, but he still doesnt get my goat as much as the ********s on that show - far as I am concerned, he can keep noising them up forever and a day.

13-11-2013, 07:01 PM

Give it a rest

13-11-2013, 07:04 PM
And if he said to the Sportsound buffoons "Aye, I am a bit of a radge, and I made some *****y appointments - lets face it its up tae me so the rest of you can go and do one" Would you have been happy?

He is Chief Exec, course he will give a political answer.

p.s. I am no Petrie fanboy, but he still doesnt get my goat as much as the ********s on that show - far as I am concerned, he can keep noising them up forever and a day.

Agree 100% with what you say about BBC Scotland and the rest of the Scottish media. The first job TB should undertake is sort those ****s who regularly have a pop at our club - again, especially the BBC.

But as for Petrie? IMHO his arse should have been booted all the way up Leith Walk years ago.

He should be in a back office somewhere counting beans.

13-11-2013, 07:08 PM
Give it a rest

Aye, I will.

Everything is sweetness and light now, and Petrie is the new messiah.

:clapper::clapper::clapper:

13-11-2013, 07:11 PM
I love Rod Petrie and I'll back him to the hilt all day long.

13-11-2013, 07:13 PM
I love Rod Petrie and I'll back him to the hilt all day long.

That must be bloody strong Viagra.

Er, get it on line do ya?

13-11-2013, 07:18 PM
That must be bloody strong Viagra.

Er, get it on line do ya?

Petrie's moustache alone could cure Pele's erectile dysfunction. He makes my winky go from "6 tae midnight" in two seconds flat.

neilmartinrocks
13-11-2013, 07:23 PM
:hibees

13-11-2013, 07:23 PM
Petrie's moustache alone could cure Pele's erectile dysfunction. He makes my winky go from "6 tae midnight" in two seconds flat.

Jings, I've led a sheltered life.

Never heard that one before.

:blushie:

Criswell
13-11-2013, 10:06 PM
I notice on some other threads he is referred to as "God Petrie". I think this is perhaps going a little too far. However his self-proclaimed infallibility in picking the "right" manager every time surely merits him the title "Pope Rod".

13-11-2013, 10:34 PM
I just watched it and I was all set to come on and say how much he talks the talk etc.. Everyone knows I'm no fan of his but I honestly think my views my way have been narrow minded.

Yes our managers have failed recently but looking back most fans were happy with the likes of Mixu, Yogi, McLeish. He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially. Don't get me wrong he does have faults but I think over all he's done a very good job. If he maybe steps back a little I think it would help himself and Hibs as he's achieved a lot.

Maybe he already has I don't know. But I'd just like to thank him for setting us up to be here for many years to come. Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.

Nailrod
13-11-2013, 11:20 PM
am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers.FFS. You read posts like this and you would think the guy went down to B&Q and bought the bricks on his own credit card, then laid each one lovingly with his own fair hand. All he did was spend money that came from player sales and gate money. Give any chairman in the SPL 12 million quids worth of free money and they would probably be capable of building themselves "a wonderful stadium and a state of the art training complex" - even the team you support.
...how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie...As I think someone else has already pointed out, this kind of @rsecreeping honks of yamboidery.

Nailrod
13-11-2013, 11:31 PM
He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially. He hasn't. No really - he hasn't. He got twelve million quids worth of free money from player sales, when the rest of Scottish football was in the doldrums, and he spent it on infrastructure. That's all.

Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.Yup. After six years of serial failure with his own decisions, he's managed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds poaching a successful management team from a much smaller club. Words fail me at the sheer genius of the man. :not worth

JCHibby
14-11-2013, 12:11 AM
I just watched it and I was all set to come on and say how much he talks the talk etc.. Everyone knows I'm no fan of his but I honestly think my views my way have been narrow minded.

Yes our managers have failed recently but looking back most fans were happy with the likes of Mixu, Yogi, McLeish. He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially. Don't get me wrong he does have faults but I think over all he's done a very good job. If he maybe steps back a little I think it would help himself and Hibs as he's achieved a lot.

Maybe he already has I don't know. But I'd just like to thank him for setting us up to be here for many years to come. Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.

Without a doubt the most sensible post on Hibs.net this year. Agree 100% he has his faults, but at the same time cannot under estimate what he has been able to do for the club. Ask any other club out with the old firm and they would bite your hands off in terms of how hibs are managed off the field. I firmly believe we will now see the benefits on field.

Or we could have Romanov, Milne or the boy from Dundee UTD? Only one thing Hibs need to do and thats sort the playing side... Very exciting time

14-11-2013, 12:23 AM
Jings, I've led a sheltered life.

Never heard that one before.

:blushie:

Yes a very subtle way of saying his Blackpool rock stands to attention when he sees the taches tache. He must be loving movember just now :D

14-11-2013, 06:57 AM
Glimpses of The Tache are few and far between; He's like the panda KitKat ad and hardly ever seen..........more follows

14-11-2013, 07:22 AM
For every time he hires a coach his face is full of cheer; And then he disappears again for another flipping year.

14-11-2013, 07:33 AM
" Pat took us to a certain level ", WTF !. Aye the worst result in Scottish football in Europe for a starter, it's a wonder Rod didnae spin himself into the ground in this interview, i think he has made the correct choice of manager this time but to come out with this stuff is just cringeworthy and he must think our heads button up the back , no contrition , no apologies , he should be a politician as he tells you nowt in 5000 words.

14-11-2013, 07:41 AM
For every time he hires a coach his face is full of cheer; And then he disappears again for another flipping year.

He is a poor Santa Claus lookalike with bad timing.

And there the similarity most definitely ends.....

14-11-2013, 07:47 AM
Aye, I will.

I heard Petrie too and I agreed with him. if I employed a guy at work who gave his all every day but we didn't win all the new business I was hoping for but still he kept us in the top 10 agencies in London and we came 2nd in two arduous pitch processes I'd still say it was an alright appointment.

Football is a ridiculous business and all you can hope for in a manager is hard work and motivation (talent scouting etc important too but ultimately we haven't had managers that can't be arsed - perhaps Calderwood to some extent). it's a difficult job and not everyone can win.

hibby rae
14-11-2013, 07:56 AM
FFS. You read posts like this and you would think the guy went down to B&Q and bought the bricks on his own credit card, then laid each one lovingly with his own fair hand. All he did was spend money that came from player sales and gate money. Give any chairman in the SPL 12 million quids worth of free money and they would probably be capable of building themselves "a wonderful stadium and a state of the art training complex" - even the team you support. As I think someone else has already pointed out, this kind of @rsecreeping honks of yamboidery.

That's not all he did though is it? You've missed the bit where he drastically reduced our debt to very managable levels at the same time, perhaps someone could give us the figures? Ensuring we don't get in any admin situations like numerous other clubs, clubs that also received 'free money' and didn't use it so wisely.

14-11-2013, 08:12 AM
Fair enough, somebody should have asked him how many home games have we won this year, that's the kind of thing i'm bothered about, no balance sheets.

14-11-2013, 08:39 AM

Every team in Scotland will be taking note of hibs now!

14-11-2013, 09:14 AM
FFS. You read posts like this and you would think the guy went down to B&Q and bought the bricks on his own credit card, then laid each one lovingly with his own fair hand. All he did was spend money that came from player sales and gate money. Give any chairman in the SPL 12 million quids worth of free money and they would probably be capable of building themselves "a wonderful stadium and a state of the art training complex" - even the team you support. As I think someone else has already pointed out, this kind of @rsecreeping honks of yamboidery.

I thought he was lining his own pocket with the proceeds if the golden gen sales or is that another .net fact we're revising now?

14-11-2013, 10:03 AM
Rodders was on form in his interviews on Tuesday but his defence of more recent appointments was poor.

14-11-2013, 11:15 AM
He hasn't. No really - he hasn't. He got twelve million quids worth of free money from player sales, when the rest of Scottish football was in the doldrums, and he spent it on infrastructure. That's all.
Yup. After six years of serial failure with his own decisions, he's managed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds poaching a successful management team from a much smaller club. Words fail me at the sheer genius of the man. :not worth

Yeah he did get a huge amount of transfers but it's how he used it that I was impressed with. He could have easily banked it! Instead built us our training centre along with a ground that is the best outwith the old firm. Credit where it's due.

14-11-2013, 11:32 AM

WOW!

Everything in the garden's lovely. Everything in the garden's always been lovely.

All the appointments have been the right appointments at the time.

Like you say, best of luck, Terry old son.

I hope you got everything in writing. :bitchy:

14-11-2013, 11:34 AM
In general I thought it was a decent interview, He shouldn't have defended the CC appointment though because that was a total failure. You could make some arguments for Fenlon but that wasn't exactly anything to shout about either.

Stonewall
14-11-2013, 12:36 PM
Fair enough, somebody should have asked him how many home games have we won this year, that's the kind of thing i'm bothered about, no balance sheets.

Well the balance sheet is reality, are you proposing we should just ignore it then?

It's grossly negligent not to budget and run a tight fiscal ship. There are reasons to be critical of RP but on the whole this isn't one of them. (eg managerial appointments, strategy, communication and rumored interference off the top of my head)

14-11-2013, 12:49 PM
Rodders was on form in his interviews on Tuesday but his defence of more recent appointments was poor.

This for me. Justifying PF over his first and last ten games .. jeezo! Clearly a number of appointments have been wrong - and from the start to try and substantiate different is staggering.

I sincerely hope this appointment right works .. God knows what damage will be done if TB doesn't work out! :worried:

14-11-2013, 12:50 PM

In a nut shell. The football stats are the No 1 performance indicator and top priority for any fan. Sitting in a nice comfy stadium is nice but I'd give that up for success on the pitch.

14-11-2013, 12:51 PM
In a nut shell. The football stats are the No 1 performance indicator and top priority for any fan. Sitting in a nice comfy stadium is nice but I'd give that up for success on the pitch.

Yup - miserable in comfort is still miserable.

14-11-2013, 12:57 PM
Well the balance sheet is reality, are you proposing we should just ignore it then?

It's grossly negligent not to budget and run a tight fiscal ship. There are reasons to be critical of RP but on the whole this isn't one of them. (eg managerial appointments, strategy, communication and rumored interference off the top of my head)

What you've described is a decent FD and few if any Hibs fans would argue that RP is good at managing money. The other aspects which drive the business culture, direction, strategy and overall performance are crucial and a key responsibility of the CE & Board.

Stonewall
14-11-2013, 01:13 PM
What you've described is a decent FD and few if any Hibs fans would argue that RP is good at managing money. The other aspects which drive the business culture, direction, strategy and overall performance are crucial and a key responsibility of the CE & Board.

I agree.

14-11-2013, 01:25 PM

He won't step back. Rod said he'd step back from recruitment after the Calderwood debacle but it was fascinating to see him take such a prominent role at TB's unveiling on Tuesday.

It's a shame because I think the club would benefit if others are now given more responsibility. We don't need a finance director (Rod can do the books) but we need people to drive the commercial and communications sides of the business forward.

14-11-2013, 01:28 PM

It was hardly 'free' money though, was it? Certain player's came through the ranks and would have been with Hibs for years.

14-11-2013, 02:42 PM
It was hardly 'free' money though, was it? Certain player's came through the ranks and would have been with Hibs for years.

I think all of the players we brought through would have done a Riordan and left on their own terms at the end of their contracts. RP does deserve credit for extracting good money from fees and reinvesting it in the club - arguably, he could have got the balance between infrastructure and spending money on the squad better, but at least we have something to show for it.

It's easy to mock the stock line about the 'fantastic training facilities' that all new signings trot out, but it seems to be a very genuine attraction for Maurice Malpas. He was speaking yesterday about the joy of stepping out of his office straight onto the training ground.

But as I said above it is possible to acknowledge Petrie's role in this and also think its time for him to step back a bit from the day to day running of the club.

14-11-2013, 05:35 PM
" Pat took us to a certain level ", WTF !. Aye the worst result in Scottish football in Europe for a starter, it's a wonder Rod didnae spin himself into the ground in this interview, i think he has made the correct choice of manager this time but to come out with this stuff is just cringeworthy and he must think our heads button up the back , no contrition , no apologies , he should be a politician as he tells you nowt in 5000 words.He actually presents facts and makes it look very easy, he is also right about Pat, he made us better than we were when he took over.

15-11-2013, 12:12 PM

Yes. And that's where IMO he's been falling down for far too long.

Balancing the books and building the infrastructure are necessary, but only as steps towards the main purpose of a football club - a successful and attractive team on the pitch, and a happy and contented fanbase.

Neither of which we've had for a very long time.

15-11-2013, 12:31 PM

My understanding is that Rod has a part time role now at the club with him busy with other Sir Tom business interests etc? For years I've thought, as have many others, that we have a leadership vaccum at the club. Great to hear Terry Butcher talking of being a leader of not just the team but of our club. Obviously we want every penny possible for the budget for players but we really could do with dynamic CEO leadership.

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 07:09 AM
Yeah he did get a huge amount of transfers but it's how he used it that I was impressed with. He could have easily banked it! Instead built us our training centre along with a ground that is the best outwith the old firm. Credit where it's due.With the best will in the world Cat it's not 'our' training centre and he didn't build 'us' it. Like everything else around the club, 90% of 98% of it belongs to STF, and 10% of 98% of it belongs to Rod. So it would be more strictly accurate to say that he built himself his training centre.

And without wishing to appear too cynical, the fact is that if and when the day comes that somebody else buys out the club, they will be expected to hand over 10% of 98% of several million quid to Rod for his share of a training centre that didn't cost him a brass farthing of his own money.

Contrast this with our jambo neighbours. If and when they manage to get their tangled mess sorted out and buy their club back, one thing that they won't have to pay a penny for is their 2012 Scottish Cup win - since Scottish Cup wins, unlike training centres, have absolutely no balance sheet value whatsoever.

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 07:33 AM
He won't step back. Rod said he'd step back from recruitment after the Calderwood debacle but it was fascinating to see him take such a prominent role at TB's unveiling on Tuesday.

It's a shame because I think the club would benefit if others are now given more responsibility. We don't need a finance director (Rod can do the books) but we need people to drive the commercial and communications sides of the business forward.He won't step back?

He can't step back. Who is he going to step back in favour of? He can hardly step back in favour of the two guys who supposedly ran the Pat Fenlon recruitment process, since neither Fife Hyland nor Scott Lindsay are still at the club. "Give others more responsibility"? What others?

Inadvertently, you touch on one off Petrie's biggest shortcomings, and one that never gets an airing. One of the absolutely critical success factors in good leadership is planning and managing your succession. How's that working for Hibs? Rod's been around for more than two decades. Who is his successor? Well, it's clearly not Hyland or Lindsay. Who then? That beancounty woman? The other guy - wotsisname?

The fact of the matter is that there is nobody else around ER of any stature whatsoever. Which is presumably because that's exactly the way the guy who pulls all the strings likes it.

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 07:35 AM
My understanding is that Rod has a part time role now at the club with him busy with other Sir Tom business interests etc? For years I've thought, as have many others, that we have a leadership vaccum at the club. Great to hear Terry Butcher talking of being a leader of not just the team but of our club. Obviously we want every penny possible for the budget for players but we really could do with dynamic CEO leadership.It's not a leadership vacuum, it's a leadership black hole. The difference is significant.

TheReg!
16-11-2013, 08:10 AM
Yeah he did get a huge amount of transfers but it's how he used it that I was impressed with. He could have easily banked it! Instead built us our training centre along with a ground that is the best outwith the old firm. Credit where it's due.

Yup, i agree Freddie. Although some people have said they would have been happier if we spent the money on the squad, I disagree as that is short sighted and a short term fix, we have now the infrastructure that is the envy of Scottish football and because we have this we got TB/MM and I believe they are the management team to utilise the full potential of the Training ground.

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 08:42 AM
Yup, i agree Freddie. Although some people have said they would have been happier if we spent the money on the squad, I disagree as that is short sighted and a short term fix, we have now the infrastructure that is the envy of Scottish football and because we have this we got TB/MM and I believe they are the management team to utilise the full potential of the Training ground.You do realise that it's not an either/or? There isn't a rule in the SFA handbook that says "If a team spends money on infrastructure, then they're not allowed to spend money on the squad and vice versa."

And just for the record, we have, in fact, "spent money on the squad". Have you any idea how many millions we've spent on the squad in the last five years?

Every manager since Collins has been around just about long enough to bin all the players he inherited from his predecessor, sign a new squad, bin them when they turned out to be rubbish, and sign another new squad just in time for them to be binned by the next manager. Literally hundreds of players have transited ER over the past six years, and with the exception of a number that you could count on the fingers of one hand, they've all been anonymous journeymen who have left us absolutely nothing to remember them by. I'd bet the player turnover at ER in the past six years dwarfs that of every other SPL club.

None of these guys played for free. They all cost money. They all represented money "spent on the squad". If we had paid twice as much money to half as many players then overall we would have spent exactly the same on the squad. We would have had a smaller squad that was more susceptible to injuries, suspensions, and loss of form. But when they weren't all injured, suspended, or out of form they might have given us more than one memorable victory against a team of any stature in six years of football (3-0 v. Rangers early in Calderwood's reign).

16-11-2013, 09:11 AM
He hasn't. No really - he hasn't. He got twelve million quids worth of free money from player sales, when the rest of Scottish football was in the doldrums, and he spent it on infrastructure. That's all.
Yup. After six years of serial failure with his own decisions, he's managed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds poaching a successful management team from a much smaller club. Words fail me at the sheer genius of the man. :not worth

My word.

I guess that's one view. I see it differently.

We had close to £20m debt when McLeish left.

Since then we've won a cup, been to two SC Finals, reduced our debt to a manageable level, built a training centre and completed the stadium.

As a result, and with judicious investment, we've successfully attracted the most successful current manager in Scottish football to come and work for us.

You just don't want to acknowledge that.

16-11-2013, 09:14 AM
If Rod genuinely believes that his appointments have been the right ones, then surely he has to shoulder all of the blame for them not working out for us?

After all, if they were all the right appointments as he says, then he must have done something himself to prevent them all from being a success at ER.

16-11-2013, 09:21 AM
He won't step back?

He can't step back. Who is he going to step back in favour of? He can hardly step back in favour of the two guys who supposedly ran the Pat Fenlon recruitment process, since neither Fife Hyland nor Scott Lindsay are still at the club. "Give others more responsibility"? What others?

Inadvertently, you touch on one off Petrie's biggest shortcomings, and one that never gets an airing. One of the absolutely critical success factors in good leadership is planning and managing your succession. How's that working for Hibs? Rod's been around for more than two decades. Who is his successor? Well, it's clearly not Hyland or Lindsay. Who then? That beancounty woman? The other guy - wotsisname?

The fact of the matter is that there is nobody else around ER of any stature whatsoever. Which is presumably because that's exactly the way the guy who pulls all the strings likes it.

Is this right? :hmmm:

I'm starting to think a lot of your arguments are based on sheer imagination.

16-11-2013, 09:33 AM

I'm starting to think a lot of your arguments are based on sheer imagination.

It's right in that he was involved in STF's rescue of the club.

He formally joined the board in 1996.

16-11-2013, 09:36 AM
It's right.

Then I am an ass, and apologise unreservedly to Nailrod.

I thought Rod got the gig after Lex Gold shot the craw in 1998.

Edit: just realised that was 15 years ago, aaaargh, what's happened to my life?

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 10:15 AM

I'm starting to think a lot of your arguments are based on sheer imagination.Hey guess what! Right now I'm imagining you'll be back shortly to apologise for being a smartass... :wink:

seven nowt
16-11-2013, 10:23 AM
What team did Rod Petrie support as a child ? Comes across as a Hun to me.

16-11-2013, 10:32 AM

lol

Another hibs.net FACT in the making?

I think he "supported" Aberdeen as a boy, but he's a Hibby through and through now.

16-11-2013, 10:48 AM
Hey guess what! Right now I'm imagining you'll be back shortly to apologise for being a smartass... :wink:

I already have,#61but once again: I am an ass ( not even a smart one) and I apologise to you unreservedly.

Will this do, or do you want blood as well?

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 10:57 AM
I already have,#61but once again: I am an ass ( not even a smart one) and I apologise to you unreservedly.

Will this do, or do you want blood as well?Well the least I can do after two such gallant apologies is apologise back to you for not checking the thread properly before I posted.

Some blood would be ok. I'll use it for a black pudding.

16-11-2013, 11:18 AM
Well the least I can do after two such gallant apologies is apologise back to you for not checking the thread properly before I posted.

Some blood would be ok. I'll use it for a black pudding.

Don't worry about it, I regularly have to eat my words on here.

Baker9
16-11-2013, 11:27 AM

Hard to imagine him as a child, though I would guess he had no interest at all in football.

portyhibernian
16-11-2013, 11:41 AM
Sure I remember reading somewhere on here that Petrie has or did have leanings toward Aberdeen?

Nailrod
16-11-2013, 11:44 AM
Hard to imagine him as a child, though I would guess he had no interest at all in football.

:not worth

hibby rae
16-11-2013, 12:09 PM

He still had a tache.

16-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Don't worry about it, I regularly have to eat my words on here.

Hence the user name Filled Rolls, plural. :-)

16-11-2013, 12:27 PM

"probably" being the key word. Hearts brought in more in transfer revenue than us over a similar period and they didnt use it wisely. Rangers brought in a lot more and are now "The" Rangers. Others have done better than us recently without having had any significant impact on either debt or redevelopment.

16-11-2013, 12:45 PM
Hence the user name Filled Rolls, plural. :-)

God, it took me a while to get that one. :doh:

16-11-2013, 07:53 PM
Rod's formal involvement on the Board began 17 years ago

16-11-2013, 10:18 PM
Numbers number and more numbers, he is good at quoting how good the choices of past manager were and how many moved on to manage in the EPL -2 briefly but no mention of the ST holders we have lost over the past few years, very selective in the numbers he talks about.

17-11-2013, 11:25 AM
Numbers number and more numbers, he is good at quoting how good the choices of past manager were and how many moved on to manage in the EPL -2 briefly but no mention of the ST holders we have lost over the past few years, very selective in the numbers he talks about.

Yep, he got lucky with the cup runs, or the picture might not have been as rosy.

17-11-2013, 11:58 AM
Yep anything good that happens to Hibs is luck-anything bad that happens is Rod's fault.

17-11-2013, 02:20 PM
Yep anything good that happens to Hibs is luck-anything bad that happens is Rod's fault.As oppose tae anything good that happens is down tae him and anything bad is always something or somebody else's fault?

jakeshibs
17-11-2013, 09:33 PM

well said!

Gerard
17-11-2013, 09:53 PM
Aye, I will.

He's not the Messiah, He's just a very..... boy