View Full Version : Official Site: ENTER

RSS Bot
13-11-2013, 10:10 AM
The Hibernian Tunnel

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131113/enter_2262950_3535170)

13-11-2013, 10:16 AM
3 posts before someone does a funny one mocking a player, 5 posts before someone has a sense of humour bypass and get uppity about it.

13-11-2013, 10:20 AM
I like this bit, "Your Team Talk will be in fine company as in conjunction with this opportunity, the club is installing the ultimate motivational five in our history on each of the five steps leading up to the pitch – Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull and Ormond." :not worth

I LOVE this bit, "And finally, mounted directly above the tunnel door, a piece of Connemara marble gifted from the original St Patrick’s Church altar with HIBERNIAN FC inscribed into it, bringing our history, our heritage and our future together into one powerful space – The Hibernian Tunnel." :top marks

13-11-2013, 10:21 AM
The Hibernian Tunnel

More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20131113/enter_2262950_3535170)

Giggity.

13-11-2013, 10:22 AM
Really good idea this, I will be getting one of these. Well done whoever thought of it.

13-11-2013, 10:24 AM
Another clever idea. Yes it raises a small amount of cash, but it makes it very personal to the club!

13-11-2013, 10:25 AM
Great idea.

"Get that *****in' beard shaved off!" may be a good idea...

:cb

hibs4thecup1988
13-11-2013, 10:29 AM
Great idea.

"Get that *****in' beard shaved off!" may be a good idea...

:cb

Sorry not allowed....thats 6 words :greengrin

13-11-2013, 10:31 AM
Like this idea a lot.

13-11-2013, 10:41 AM
Get
******ing
In
Tae
Them

worth 50 quid of anyone's money. :cb

13-11-2013, 10:44 AM
I think this is a good idea, not sure if I'll buy one though, unless I can think of something great to say in 5 words!

13-11-2013, 10:45 AM
Just found this :http://www.squidoo.com/5-word-quotes

LioNeilMessi
13-11-2013, 10:56 AM
"boooooooooooo"

13-11-2013, 10:57 AM
Failure is not an option

13-11-2013, 10:58 AM
Failure is not an option

Its a time for heroes.

13-11-2013, 11:01 AM
We are hibs. **** hearts

13-11-2013, 11:03 AM
That tunnel is going to be minging when its finished. and have they not thought that all the signs will also be an encouragement for the other team too? One simple sign is all thats required and ensure its Hibs specific.

13-11-2013, 11:06 AM

Lose
The
Beard
Ya
Diddy

13-11-2013, 11:06 AM
Go
Forward
With
The
Ball

JollyGreenGiant
13-11-2013, 11:34 AM
Someone
Have
A
@@@@ing
Shot

13-11-2013, 11:37 AM
Bring
Back
Claros
And
Griffiths

oregonhibby
13-11-2013, 11:39 AM
This is another brilliant piece of work by John Nicol.

He really understands the Hibernian psyche. The East Stand Stones and the I bleed green were brilliant.

This is just another example of great work by people who don't get the recognition they deserve!

That is quality. Well in Hibs.

Haw,
Vine.
Yer
Taxi's
Ootside.

cookin_on_gaz
13-11-2013, 11:43 AM
Looks like a bit of steel reinforcements in those doors for when Terry Butcher tries to give them a swift boot in rage :not worth

13-11-2013, 11:44 AM
Hibernian
Hibernian
rah
rah
rah

13-11-2013, 11:49 AM
They
Are
A
Pub
Team

TheBruce
13-11-2013, 12:03 PM
You can change this........1902

13-11-2013, 12:11 PM
Another great initiative by our club

Sent from my iphone

13-11-2013, 12:25 PM
Does anyone know if you get a copy with every purchase and you just pay £25 for the frame or dont you get a copy at all and the message just goes into the tunnel?

13-11-2013, 12:33 PM
no sure what i think, can you swear? 5 words. Be better to list club legends ? or important scores dates results and let fans sponser

13-11-2013, 12:34 PM
Goonies never die

Edinburgh Green
13-11-2013, 12:36 PM
Another great initiative by our club

Sent from my iphone

unfortunately that's 1 word too many.

LeithBoozy
13-11-2013, 12:37 PM
Hearts are f%&*ed thanks Vlad. :greengrin

13-11-2013, 12:38 PM
Sorry about the noisy crowd

WeAreHibs
13-11-2013, 12:53 PM
Just done one for my 11 day old son.

YOU
CAN
MAKE
A
DIFFERENCE

I'll be teaching that to him from an early age.

Think this is a great incentive!

13-11-2013, 12:57 PM
Stand on Gary Locke's Heid

13-11-2013, 12:57 PM

Then
pish
on
his
chest

13-11-2013, 01:02 PM
win or don't come back

cookin_on_gaz
13-11-2013, 01:07 PM
My
Old
Mucker
Alan
Shearer

Sproule Three
13-11-2013, 01:08 PM
Gie
the
ba
tae
Vine

13-11-2013, 01:09 PM
Please don´t kick the doors

13-11-2013, 01:16 PM
Shape
Up
Or
Ship
Out

13-11-2013, 01:17 PM
Petrie, Petrie, Get to **** :greengrin

Worth £50 of Desperate Dan's cash surely?

NeilOrrSquareBa
13-11-2013, 01:18 PM
Honesty
+
Integrity
+
Effort
+
Desire
=
Success

13-11-2013, 01:31 PM
Can't swear so:

Some
Have
Initiative
To
Excel

GORDONSMITH7
13-11-2013, 01:36 PM
I think that this is a fabulous initiative by the Hibs. Just one step to compliment the road that Terry and his team will take to making Easter Road a fitba' fortress and when that happens, which I am convinced it will, remind opposition teams as they take the field that it is. Well done Hibs.

BIG G

Crossgates Hibs
13-11-2013, 01:37 PM
Glory
glory
to
the
Hibees

13-11-2013, 01:38 PM
Petrie, Petrie, Get to **** :greengrin

Worth £50 of Desperate Dan's cash surely?They'll only get the 50 quid if he does. :wink:

Hibee_Lisa
13-11-2013, 01:38 PM
Success
is
dependent
on
effort.

13-11-2013, 01:42 PM
Just done one for my 11 day old son.

YOU
CAN
MAKE
A
DIFFERENCE

I'll be teaching that to him from an early age.

Think this is a great incentive!

This is what I dont get. So a Hearts player is standing in the tunnel and reads that. Thats giving him a boost. This doesnt actually work as a concept. The signs should be in the Home changing room.

13-11-2013, 01:45 PM
The tunnel is currently bare and soulless. This initiative will hopefully make it an inspirational place for the players with Hibs based comments. Love the "5 steps to Heaven" being named after the Famous 5 and the stone above the tunnel. Apart from raising some much needed funds it should create a feature in a quite featureless stadium. It can add to the experience on a stadium tour as well. Well done John and Russell. Any more pictures guys?

13-11-2013, 01:46 PM
Current
manager
out
deeks
in

13-11-2013, 01:51 PM
We
Know
Were
You
Live

13-11-2013, 02:02 PM
Has
Anyone
Seen
Brian
Kerr?

13-11-2013, 02:10 PM
Has
Anyone
Seen
Brian
Kerr?

:faf::faf::faf:

13-11-2013, 02:16 PM
This is what I dont get. So a Hearts player is standing in the tunnel and reads that. Thats giving him a boost. This doesnt actually work as a concept. The signs should be in the Home changing room.

Your theory makes no sense. The signs are green, have a Hibs badge on them and are at our home stadium.

That's like saying the Hibs fans applauding the team out will give Hearts players a lift.

Plus Hearts players can't read anyway so no worries there.

13-11-2013, 02:17 PM
Can't swear so:

Some
Have
Initiative
To
Excel

Very clever :wink:

13-11-2013, 02:26 PM
Boooooo
Ooooo
Oooo
Oooo
Ooooo

Manxhibs
13-11-2013, 02:38 PM
Go
Hard
Or
Go
Home

13-11-2013, 02:38 PM

"Shave, ******" ??

13-11-2013, 02:43 PM
Simple
really.
Score
more
goals

green.and.white
13-11-2013, 02:43 PM
Turn
Up
Or
Turn
Around

13-11-2013, 02:48 PM
preparation
practice
prevents
pisspoor
performance

13-11-2013, 02:55 PM
You are Hibernian Fc

LeithBoozy
13-11-2013, 03:09 PM
Who smells pish, hello Gary. :greengrin

13-11-2013, 03:13 PM
George street jäger bombers.

green.and.white
13-11-2013, 03:16 PM
Win
So
Daffy
Duck
Tugs

13-11-2013, 03:38 PM
I actually think this is a pretty terrible idea.

There is going to be a range of stuff put up there, some of it undoubtedly a bit naff. Instead of our team and the opposition getting the 'This is Anfield' single message treatment of intimidation, they are going to get a kaleidoscope of green phrases. Its going to be jumbled, messy and unfocussed.

There should be a single message to our team on the wall of our dressing room and there should be a single message in the tunnel for the opposition.

SmallvilleHibee
13-11-2013, 03:57 PM
Saw this on Twitter :thumbsup:

http://i42.tinypic.com/2ihl4zq.png

tamsonsbairn
13-11-2013, 04:41 PM
we owe it to ourselves. :tbgwa:
thats a quote that will never die Jambo's.

Green Reaper
13-11-2013, 04:56 PM
Be Proud
You
Are
Hibernian

13-11-2013, 04:57 PM
It should be split between our messages for Hibs on one (our) side of the wall

HIBERNIAN is a FOOTBALL CLUB

and for the opposition on the other

You're just a wee jobby.

13-11-2013, 04:58 PM
preparation
practice
prevents
pisspoor
performance

13-11-2013, 04:59 PM
You
Are
Living
My
Dream

13-11-2013, 05:00 PM
preparation
practice
prevents
pisspoor
performanceYou buying two? :greengrin

13-11-2013, 05:01 PM
Get
Focussed.
George
Street
Tonight.

13-11-2013, 05:09 PM
can
we
have
nicer
pies

nic81
13-11-2013, 06:44 PM
Haw,
Vine.
Yer
Taxi's
Ootside.

:top marks:thumbsup:

TheFamous1875
13-11-2013, 07:01 PM
Good intent behind it but any message will be swamped by the countless others and make it just a background. What I would have done is have on the opponents' side 'WE ARE...' and on the Hibs side 'HIBERNIAN' in either green writing with white walls, or maybe even more imposing have the idea we have now, but with this in white on top of it.

Imagine it:

WE ARE...
: : : : : : : : : : :
HIBERNIAN

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

13-11-2013, 07:03 PM
Consistency
Consistency
Consistency
Consistency
Consistency

13-11-2013, 07:11 PM
We'll
support
you
ever
more

done and dusted say no more

13-11-2013, 07:13 PM
Boooooo
Ooooo
Oooo
Oooo
Ooooo :greengrin

My
Families
Team
Since

will hopefully be going on one.

Green forever
13-11-2013, 07:19 PM
Albert
Kidd
3rd
May

Twiglet
13-11-2013, 07:23 PM
Hope
imagine
believe
experience
enjoy!

13-11-2013, 07:25 PM
Great Idea From The Club.
Went With.

Passion
Fight
Commitment
Desire
Success.

13-11-2013, 08:39 PM

My
Families
Team
Since

will hopefully be going on one.

Before you splash out £50, change it to Family's.

Proofreading
Is
Of
Particular
Importance

13-11-2013, 08:49 PM

Proofreading
Is
Of
Particular
Importance

My family is team?

Check
You're
Right
Before
Correcting

13-11-2013, 08:51 PM
My family is team?

Check
You're
Right
Before
Correcting

Possessive.

Look
It
Up
On
Wikipedia

13-11-2013, 08:52 PM
I'm
Returning
My
Season
Ticket

13-11-2013, 08:54 PM
You buying two? :greengrin

haha, the joys of mobile phone's.

13-11-2013, 08:57 PM
Rod
Yer
Tea
Is
Oot

Designed specially for DD and Doddie :greengrin

13-11-2013, 08:58 PM
Remember
Who
Ironed
Yer
Tops

Signed, Tam McCourt

13-11-2013, 09:09 PM
Away
and
ya
dobbers

Use
your
right
foot
Stevenson

Stay
on
your
feet
McPake

This could go on for a while.

13-11-2013, 09:13 PM
Just ordered mine:

DO
IT
FOR
THE
VENGA

13-11-2013, 09:14 PM
Just ordered mine:

DO
IT
FOR
THE
VENGA

TheFamous1875
13-11-2013, 09:27 PM
THE
VENGA
BUS
IS
COMING

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

13-11-2013, 09:28 PM
Rod
Yer
Tea
Is
Oot

Designed specially for DD and Doddie :greengrinCheers John :thumbsup:

now that you've designed it, fancy paying for it? :greengrin

13-11-2013, 09:30 PM
I think this is such a good idea. Making the stadium more personalised is really important IMO. Another step.

13-11-2013, 09:54 PM
Value
For
Money
Is
Supercalifragilisticexpialodocious

13-11-2013, 09:55 PM
I think it`s a great idea. I don`t believe the opposition will be motivated for a second - green tiles, club badge, obviously meant for our own players only. They can read them yes (except the yams) but they will read them knowing the messages are not for them.

I think this is the kind of thing Butcher was talking about when he spoke of everyone "pulling in the same direction". if you don`t think it`s a good idea (and I haven`t found any arguments on that front at all convincing so far on this thread) then don`t buy one, but at least don`t criticise the club for doing something.

I`ll be buying one.

13-11-2013, 10:03 PM
Gie
The
Baw
Tae
Reilly

Hibs History
13-11-2013, 10:13 PM

Then
pish
on
his
chest

:faf::faf::faf:

Winner - well worth £100

(((Fergus)))
13-11-2013, 10:37 PM
I actually think this is a pretty terrible idea.

There is going to be a range of stuff put up there, some of it undoubtedly a bit naff. Instead of our team and the opposition getting the 'This is Anfield' single message treatment of intimidation, they are going to get a kaleidoscope of green phrases. Its going to be jumbled, messy and unfocussed.

There should be a single message to our team on the wall of our dressing room and there should be a single message in the tunnel for the opposition.

True, unfortunately. Would be good if they got a different single message each week 3m x 4m but that would defeat at least part of the purpose (cash)

13-11-2013, 11:09 PM
I dont like it, for me it looks a bit cheap and nasty. I'd prefer both side walls to be huge pictures of victories at Hampden, and above the door when walking out the club crest with some wording underneath.

13-11-2013, 11:30 PM

Proofreading
Is
Of
Particular
Importance

The
Writing
Cant
Include
Apostrophes. :greengrin

13-11-2013, 11:53 PM
I dont like it, for me it looks a bit cheap and nasty. I'd prefer both side walls to be huge pictures of victories at Hampden, and above the door when walking out the club crest with some wording underneath.

I'm not sure we could cover those walls with Hibs Hampden victories, (unfortunately). Also, at this point, conversely you could argue that pictures of the 2007 win, for example, might also serve as a reminder that we haven't repeated that feat in a few years and counting...

It's the personal aspect to it that I like. Reading specifically hibs-related messages of support will be a good psychological thing for the team. (All imho :greengrin)

Northern Hibby
13-11-2013, 11:58 PM
The
hibees
gonna
get
ye!

14-11-2013, 08:00 AM

Stinging criticism when someone from Blackpool calls something 'cheap and nasty'!!

:o)

14-11-2013, 08:08 AM
The
Writing
Cant
Include
Apostrophes. :greengrin

Seriously? FFS.

Hibs
Forcing
People
Into
Errors

14-11-2013, 08:17 AM
I think that this is a fabulous initiative by the Hibs. Just one step to compliment the road that Terry and his team will take to making Easter Road a fitba' fortress and when that happens, which I am convinced it will, remind opposition teams as they take the field that it is. Well done Hibs.

BIG G

No that wont work it is far too long, did you not read the instructions:rolleyes:

14-11-2013, 08:24 AM
Leave
everything
on
the
park

14-11-2013, 08:34 AM
I'm not sure we could cover those walls with Hibs Hampden victories, (unfortunately). Also, at this point, conversely you could argue that pictures of the 2007 win, for example, might also serve as a reminder that we haven't repeated that feat in a few years and counting...

It's the personal aspect to it that I like. Reading specifically hibs-related messages of support will be a good psychological thing for the team. (All imho :greengrin)

Aye you could be right, but personally little messages from the fans like GIRUY and the likes in my opinion will look amateurish.

Stinging criticism when someone from Blackpool calls something 'cheap and nasty'!!

:o)

:agree: :greengrin

14-11-2013, 09:45 AM
Aye you could be right, but personally little messages from the fans like GIRUY and the likes in my opinion will look amateurish.

Hanlon
The
New
Franco
Baresi

:not worth

14-11-2013, 09:57 AM
hanlon
the
new
franco
baresi

:not worth

you
owe
me
quid

14-11-2013, 10:37 AM

Presumably the club will be vetting the entries before either accepting payment or putting anything up on the wall.

Which is a shame, because I don't think my entry of

Kick
Skacel
in
the
face

will make it :boo hoo:

It does seem a bit like trying to manufacture history/an atmosphere from scratch and getting a neat £50 per fan at the same time. Petrie's no daft.

Manxhibs
14-11-2013, 10:57 AM
No
doubts
beyond
this
point

18/03/07
14-11-2013, 11:12 AM
While i think this is a good idea,but what would happen if 2 or 3 people put the same message? would the same message get put up 2 or 3 times? or would it just get put up once and Rod pockets the rest.

GORDONSMITH7
14-11-2013, 12:50 PM
No that wont work it is far too long, did you not read the instructions:rolleyes:

Quality mate.:not worth

BIG G

FifeHibernian
14-11-2013, 02:10 PM
Anything to personalise the club and inspire the players before the game is a good idea. I'm going for "GIVE EVERYTHING YOU CAN GIVE".

1875HFC
14-11-2013, 02:46 PM
You're
One
Of
Our
Own

14-11-2013, 02:49 PM
We
Paid
For
Your
Tiles

18-11-2013, 02:46 PM
Anyone else bought one yet? I still can't come up with a 5 word phrase.

18-11-2013, 06:54 PM
Anyone else bought one yet? I still can't come up with a 5 word phrase.I have a few I was thinking of but haven't decided yet if I'll buy one, what I was wondering is what if lots of people choose the same ones, there can only be some many motivational 5 word phrases, there may end up being lots the same. It's a bit different tae the stones on the east as they are personal.

19-11-2013, 02:38 PM
For
Hibernian
Victory
Is
Decreed

19-11-2013, 02:40 PM
Does anyone know if swearywords are banned?

19-11-2013, 03:19 PM
I have a few I was thinking of but haven't decided yet if I'll buy one, what I was wondering is what if lots of people choose the same ones, there can only be some many motivational 5 word phrases, there may end up being lots the same. It's a bit different tae the stones on the east as they are personal.

Here's my unique take on it:

Just f****** win says jacomoseven.

Feel free to amend as you see fit :thumbsup:

FWIW I'm struggling to see the point of this scheme. A wall littered with random motivational phrases is surely far less effective than something more poignant, or a single, well chosen phrase to motivate the players as they go out onto the pitch.

hibbydog
19-11-2013, 04:47 PM
£50?
You
Think
We're
Mental

19-11-2013, 07:24 PM
Does anyone know if swearywords are banned?

Thats 7.

19-11-2013, 07:33 PM
you
Will
Never
Get

PerfectlyFranck
19-11-2013, 08:01 PM
Although I've not seen the plaque that St. Patrick's donated, I think that & the 'Famous Five steps' is a fantastic change.

The godawful & extortionate plaques will look awful. At the very least, they should have been simple, bold plaques not even close to £50.
The bright green pitch graphic will be overwhelming and the quotes will just be cheesy (if they can be read without getting a headache).
Floor to ceiling is daft too, for the people paying the extortionate price as well as for the players - the opposition probably get more out of those plaques than the players that see them every fortnight!

The plaque idea is clearly a way of milking more out of dedicated supporters after the East Terrace successfully sold.
Simple white plaques with green writing or vice-versa, if the only option is to milk the supporters for more money for almost nothing.

A green & white tunnel with giant Hibs quotes from legends would've looked great.
Perhaps even a mural of a famous Hibs team lining up to go out of the tunnel, mirroring the current players lining up.
The second idea would be expensive and would never happen, but the first really should be happening, in my opinion.

Awful thing to say for the fans that want their own plaque in the tunnel, but I hope it sells miserably and they end up refunding the few that have paid.
I think the plaques sound, look and will be an awful thing in every sense.

19-11-2013, 10:30 PM
Although I've not seen the plaque that St. Patrick's donated, I think that & the 'Famous Five steps' is a fantastic change.

The godawful & extortionate plaques will look awful. At the very least, they should have been simple, bold plaques not even close to £50.
The bright green pitch graphic will be overwhelming and the quotes will just be cheesy (if they can be read without getting a headache).
Floor to ceiling is daft too, for the people paying the extortionate price as well as for the players - the opposition probably get more out of those plaques than the players that see them every fortnight!

The plaque idea is clearly a way of milking more out of dedicated supporters after the East Terrace successfully sold.
Simple white plaques with green writing or vice-versa, if the only option is to milk the supporters for more money for almost nothing.

A green & white tunnel with giant Hibs quotes from legends would've looked great.
Perhaps even a mural of a famous Hibs team lining up to go out of the tunnel, mirroring the current players lining up.
The second idea would be expensive and would never happen, but the first really should be happening, in my opinion.

Awful thing to say for the fans that want their own plaque in the tunnel, but I hope it sells miserably and they end up refunding the few that have paid.

Saved me a post. :agree: :top marks

19-11-2013, 10:45 PM
Keith
Keith
Keith
Keith
Keith

RIP Bestie
19-11-2013, 10:46 PM
Smith
johnstone
reilly
turnbull
ormond

19-11-2013, 10:49 PM
Smith
johnstone
reilly
turnbull
ormond

On the steps already...........

20-11-2013, 08:20 AM

In a word :agree:

The club should just front up and decorate the tunnel with 1 proper imposing mural/painting/whatever on each side. 1 of the Famous 5, 1 of us lifting the league cup in 2007 (or something like that)

16-01-2014, 11:11 PM
So, anyone ordered?
Still looking for inspiration for my words of inspiration.

16-01-2014, 11:18 PM
In a word :agree:

The club should just front up and decorate the tunnel with 1 proper imposing mural/painting/whatever on each side. 1 of the Famous 5, 1 of us lifting the league cup in 2007 (or something like that)

A new club motto on one side or 'Glory, Glory to the Hibees' and a large full size picture of that famous picture of the famous five jogging.

oramhibee
17-01-2014, 12:01 PM
Ooh to be a Hibee

17-01-2014, 12:18 PM
bonuses
for
the
unused
players

PerfectlyFranck
18-01-2014, 10:26 AM