View Full Version : Dan McMichael Headstone Ceremony

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 12:24 PM
While we all anxiously wait and ponder the appointment of Hibs next Manager I am please to be able to announce that we have taken delivery of a magnificent headstone for the legendary Dan McMichael, who held office as Manager, Secretary and Treasurer of our great club. Dan was the last Hibernian Manager to lift the Scottish Cup in 1902 and Scottish League title 1902/3 season and although buried in the Eastern Cemetery, a stone’s throw away from The Holy Ground, it is a sad fact that Dan’s resting place has until now been unmarked, with no gravestone or inscription to him or his unique service to the Club. St. Patrick's Branch of the Hibernian Supporters Association working hard with Hibernian supporters from near and far will now rectify this. It is only through the generosity of Hibernian fans that this has been made possible.

St Pat’s wish to invite all Hibernian Supporters to join us, along with members of the Hibernian F.C. Board, the Hibernian Supporters Association and the McMichael Family, to this event. St. Patrick's Branch Patron and modern day legend Patrick Gordon Stanton will unveil this stone in honour of Dan. The ceremony will take place in the Eastern Cemetery, Easter Rd, on Saturday 7th December at 11.30 am, prior to the home game against Patrick Thistle. Please look out for more details on here, the Hibernian F.C and St. Pat's websites and make this a real Hibernian family celebratory occasion.

http://www.hiberniansaintpatricks.co.uk/donate/

Gordon McKinley

Secretary St. Patrick's Branch

08-11-2013, 12:25 PM
Fantastic work guys, well done.

08-11-2013, 12:30 PM
Fantastic work guys, well done.:agree: seconded.

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 12:40 PM
Fantastic work guys, well done.

Hope to see you there amigo.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 12:58 PM
Well done guys, still cant believe his grave was unmarked for so long !

08-11-2013, 01:04 PM
Well done to all those involved with this extremely worthwhile project. #Hibeefamily :not worth

Backto my roots
08-11-2013, 01:15 PM
Well done to all those involved with this extremely worthwhile project. #Hibeefamily :not worth

Keep up the good work guys!

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 01:18 PM
Well done guys, still cant believe his grave was unmarked for so long !

Aye 94 years mate. It is pretty unbelievable. All's well that end's well though FH.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 02:00 PM
Great stuff, congrats all round. I'm coming up for Partick game so hopefully can attend.

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 02:05 PM

Gives a bell if you pass Terry on his way down, as you make your way up to the Highlands Susan.

BIG G

hibbybrian
08-11-2013, 02:05 PM
Aye 94 years mate. It is pretty unbelievable. All's well that end's well though FH.

BIG G

Tremendous effort G :top marks

Gerard
08-11-2013, 02:07 PM
Tremendous effort G :top marks

good work

08-11-2013, 02:13 PM
fantastic result for a hard project Gordon. congrats to you and St Patrick's branch

08-11-2013, 02:17 PM
Very impressive the work that st pats have done in a short space of time.

08-11-2013, 02:26 PM
Fantastic work and something for the whole Hibernian family to be proud of!

Glory Glory

Flanny boy
08-11-2013, 04:08 PM
Well done to all involved in making this possible
a proud and special day for all connected to hibernian :flag:

08-11-2013, 04:15 PM
It's a terrific thing to do, Gordon. All at the St Pat's branch should be proud. It's so sad for anybody to be in an unmarked grave :not worth

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 04:39 PM
It's a terrific thing to do, Gordon. All at the St Pat's branch should be proud. It's so sad for anybody to be in an unmarked grave :not worth

It's ordinary Hibs fans that should really be proud for enabling us to make this happen H&A.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 04:45 PM
he is in very good company with quite a few of my relations in the Eastern :(

but seriously....good stuff, and as already mentioned amazing that it's went all those years without the proper recognition :agree:

08-11-2013, 05:11 PM
While we all anxiously wait and ponder the appointment of Hibs next Manager I am please to be able to announce that we have taken delivery of a magnificent headstone for the legendary Dan McMichael, who held office as Manager, Secretary and Treasurer of our great club. Dan was the last Hibernian Manager to lift the Scottish Cup in 1902 and Scottish League title 1902/3 season and although buried in the Eastern Cemetery, a stone’s throw away from The Holy Ground, it is a sad fact that Dan’s resting place has until now been unmarked, with no gravestone or inscription to him or his unique service to the Club. St. Patrick's Branch of the Hibernian Supporters Association working hard with Hibernian supporters from near and far will now rectify this. It is only through the generosity of Hibernian fans that this has been made possible.

St Pat’s wish to invite all Hibernian Supporters to join us, along with members of the Hibernian F.C. Board, the Hibernian Supporters Association and the McMichael Family, to this event. St. Patrick's Branch Patron and modern day legend Patrick Gordon Stanton will unveil this stone in honour of Dan. The ceremony will take place in the Eastern Cemetery, Easter Rd, on Saturday 7th December at 11.30 am, prior to the home game against Patrick Thistle. Please look out for more details on here, the Hibernian F.C and St. Pat's websites and make this a real Hibernian family celebratory occasion.

Gordon McKinley

Top campaign Big G....a very fitting tribute :agree: - I hope the next manager to lift the SC for the Hibs will be in attendance :wink: - we need to ensure that those that are current custodians of our great club are fully aware of the history before them

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 05:15 PM
Top campaign Big G....a very fitting tribute :agree: - I hope the next manager to lift the SC for the Hibs will be in attendance :wink: - we need to ensure that those that are current custodians of our great club are fully aware of the history before them

There will be an invite, erm .....whoever the next Manager may be.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 05:50 PM
Gives a bell if you pass Terry on his way down, as you make your way up to the Highlands Susan.

BIG G

Will do! :rolleyes: :greengrin

08-11-2013, 07:38 PM
It's ordinary Hibs fans that should really be proud for enabling us to make this happen H&A.

BIG G

No such thing as an ordinary Hibs fan BIG G.

Superb well done to St Pats.

08-11-2013, 07:52 PM

Gordon McKinley

Fantastic effort G. I will be very proud to attend the ceremony :agree:

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 09:55 PM
Fantastic effort G. I will be very proud to attend the ceremony :agree:

Be great to see you there John.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 10:32 PM
G - after the QF debacle (thanks for the tickets) I couldn't see anyone from South Lincs coming back North til the weather improved!. Someone will be there for this one though :-) apparently there's a fitba match on as well.

Keep doin the right things, Proud to be a Hibby on occasions like this one

08-11-2013, 10:34 PM
Great stuff G. :top marks:

It will be a proud day for Hibernian and the McMichael family:flag:

08-11-2013, 11:24 PM
G - after the QF debacle (thanks for the tickets) I couldn't see anyone from South Lincs coming back North til the weather improved!. Someone will be there for this one though :-) apparently there's a fitba match on as well.

:agree: :not worth

GORDONSMITH7
08-11-2013, 11:26 PM

That's some distance to travel for this Kevin, however it will be worth it mate.

BIG G

08-11-2013, 11:34 PM
That's some distance to travel for this Kevin, however it will be worth it mate.

BIG G

Ach, it's all relative Gordon, you can see us get beat, Win, underperform etc anytime and more often than not the result will be forgotten and we'll move on, this one's a wee bit of modern day History being made. Will get a couple of bodies in a car, unless the train's cheaper! GGTTH

GORDONSMITH7
09-11-2013, 08:44 AM
Ach, it's all relative Gordon, you can see us get beat, Win, underperform etc anytime and more often than not the result will be forgotten and we'll move on, this one's a wee bit of modern day History being made. Will get a couple of bodies in a car, unless the train's cheaper! GGTTH

Been informed of Branch members traveling from Cheshire, County Durham, Lincolnshire and Somerset for the event Kevin.:thumbsup:

BIG G

ruthven_raiders
09-11-2013, 12:21 PM
Great work guys and now once the headstone is up wouldn't it be amazing to go back to Parkhead in May and put this hoodoo to rest GGTTH

GORDONSMITH7
09-11-2013, 07:07 PM
Great work guys and now once the headstone is up wouldn't it be amazing to go back to Parkhead in May and put this hoodoo to rest GGTTH

After the performance today Terry would deserve a Sainthood if that particular miracle occurred.

BIG G

GORDONSMITH7
10-11-2013, 11:12 AM

Gordon McKinley

A big thanks to Hibernian and the lad at half time for reading the above message out as requested (minus the line about the next Manager). Well done.

BIG G

Father Ted
06-12-2013, 09:40 AM
Bump

GORDONSMITH7
06-12-2013, 10:01 AM
Bump

Thanks Ted. If you are coming along mind and bring Fr Dougal and Fr Jack and we'll introduce you to Rod and Terry.

BIG G

06-12-2013, 04:02 PM
Well done to all involved, great effort!